

## **Amusement Ride**

Permit Application

Department of Consumer & Business Services
Building Codes Division

Mail application with payment to:

DCBS Fiscal Services P.O. Box 14610 Salem, OR 97309-0445

Building Codes Division Amusement Ride Safety Program 1525 Edgewater St. NW. Saless Oregon	DEPARTMENT USE ONLY
	Accepted: Yes No
1535 Edgewater St. NW, Salem, Oregon P.O. Box 14470, Salem, OR 97309-0404	Permit no.:
503-373-1298	Issued: Expires:
Web: bcd.oregon.gov	Permit fee (70212/1195):\$25.00
	12% surcharge (70212/1291):\$3.00
A copy of the inspector's report <i>must</i> accompany this application.	Total fee (nonrefundable):
PERMIT TYPE	
New ride/device * If the ride is materially rebuilt or modified	** If applying for a temporary permit, the
Annual renewal changing the original action of the ride, an	owner must demonstrate that a reasonable
Modified/rebuilt* inspection report must accompany this	attempt was made to obtain a timely
Temporary** application.	inspection.
OWNER INFORMATION — ORS 460.330	
Name:	Phone: ( )
Address:	Fax: ( )
City: State: ZIP:	Email:
AMUSEMENT RIDE DEVICE AND INSPECTION INFORMATION — ORS 460.330	
Your Oregon ride identification no. (existing ride): <b>OR-</b>	(One ride per application)
Ride name: Serial no.:	
Manufacturer: Date manufactured:	: Model no.:
Ride type: High ride Kiddie ride Circular ride	☐ Flat ride ☐ Air-supported structure
Ride location: Carnival Fair Amusement park Other	
Copies of any manufacturer <b>safety alerts</b> , <b>service bulletins</b> , or <b>notifications</b> received since last application attached. (Ref. ASTM F853-98)	
INSURANCE CARRIER INFORMATION — ORS 460.320	
Insurance company:	
Policy no.: Policy expiration date:	☐ ACORD© form attached
Owner/operator must notify the Amusement Ride Safety Program if there are changes to ride insurance.	
Comments:	
Owner's signature: Print name:	Date:
By signing, the owner or owner's agent agrees to comply with the Amuse	ement Ride Law on page 2 of this application.
Secure fax for credit card paymen	ts: 503-947-2333
Make check or money order payable to Department of Consumer & Busine sign credit-card information box. Do <i>not</i> send cash.	
☐ Visa ☐ MasterCard ☐ Discover Phone: ()	3S Fiscal use only:
\$	
Cardholder signature Amount	
Name of cardholder as shown on credit card	
/	
Credit card number Expiration date	



## **Amusement Ride Law**

This information is provided as a reminder of your obligation under Oregon law and summarizes some of the key requirements. Oregon's amusement ride program is based on a clear set of requirements for operators, manufacturers, insurance companies, and inspectors to ensure reasonable safeguards for health and safety are in place. Complete information can be found in Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS 460.310 through 460.370) and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR 918-200-0000 through 918-200-0100).

## 1. Permits required:

- a. Operation permits are valid for one year from the date of issuance. These permits are required for new rides and when alterations are made to existing rides that change the manufacturer's original design, function, capacity, or operation in any manner.
- b. Renewal permits are valid for one year beginning on the expiration date of the permit it is replacing. Renewal application should begin within ninety days prior to the expiration of an existing permit.
- 2. **Insurance:** The insurance policy shall insure the public and all persons riding or otherwise in contact with the ride or device against loss or injury, in an amount not less than \$1 million per occurrence and an aggregate total of not less than \$2 million.
- 3. **Valid permits:** No person shall operate an amusement ride without a valid operation permit issued by the Building Codes Division. A permit becomes invalid when insurance requirements are not maintained.
- 4. **Inspections**: Only qualified inspectors may be used by the operator's insurance company to inspect the rides. Oregon law sets out the qualifications and continuing education requirements. Operators should take steps to ensure only person's meeting the qualifications are performing inspections.
- 5. **Daily inspections:** Ride operators are required to perform an inspection of each amusement ride before passengers are allowed to use the ride. The results of the daily inspections are to be kept on file by the operators for at least two years.
- 6. **Ride operators:** These persons must be at least 18 years old and shall be trained to operate the ride, including, but not limited to, use and function of all normal operating controls, signal systems, safety devices, and maximum operating capacities and speed.
- 7. **Operator notifications:** Operators are required to notify the state of an accident when it results in property damage in excess of \$5,000, a serious injury, or death. Operators must contact the state via telephone first (or email) as soon as practicable, and follow-up with a written report within five days. Accidents caused by equipment failure shall not be operated until inspected by an authorized inspector.
- 8. **Ride files:** Operators must maintain a file for each ride that includes copies of the permit inspection reports and other technical information pertaining to the ride. This information must be kept for five years.
- 9. **Public protection:** Rides shall be set up and maintained according to general standards and requirements that will protect the public from dangers associated with normal operation of the rides. These include, but are not limited to, liquid and gas fuels, electrical power, mechanical hazards, pressurized systems (hydraulic and air), welding, cutting, and brazing. Areas around the ride shall be kept clean and a safe means of entering and exiting the ride maintained through the use of stairways, landings, and ramps in compliance with the code.