Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

About Us


The State Board of Licensed Social Workers was created in 1979 by the Legislature, and is authorized by ORS 675.510-675.510.600.


Address Hours of Operation Contact
3218 Pringle Road SE, Suite 240
Salem, OR   97302-6310
The Board Office is located in the
Morrow Crane building in Southeast Salem, Oregon
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone: 503-378-5735
Toll Free: 866-355-7050
Fax: 1-888-252-1046
Mission Statement
The mission of the Board is to protect the citizens of Oregon through the licensing and regulation of social workers.
Annual Performance Measures

The Board of Licensed Social Workers (Board) is statutorily responsible to protect the citizens of Oregon through the regulation of social workers. This is accomplished by setting policy, establishing standards of practice and ethical conduct, establishing standards for certification and licensure, including renewals thereof, and monitoring continuing education requirements and disciplined licensees to safeguard the public. The Board is comprised of seven members, appointed by the Governor, and confirmed by the Senate. Four members are licensed clinical social workers and the other three are public members. The Board licenses and regulates approximately 4,300 social workers. The Boards licensure program covers two clinical licenses (CSWA and LCSW), and (as of January 1, 2011) two new non-clinical license types (LMSW and RBSW). The Boards compliance program expanded on January 1, 2011 to cover cases alleging the unlicensed practice of clinical social work, and education and enforcement related to the new title protection for the term social worker (use of that title requires a social work degree and licensure from the Board). The Boards licensure and compliance programs are administered by a staff of six. The Boards 2011-2013 biennial budget is $1,244,968, and is supported almost exclusively through fees paid by licensees (100% Other Funds Budget).

Affirmative Action Plan for the Board 2011-2013
Affirmative Action Plan Appendix A
Affirmative Action Plan Appendix B


Meet the Board Members


Ebony Sloan Clarke, LCSW                  07/01/2016 - 06/30/2020
Board Chair                                                   2nd Term
Portland, Or

Rachel Jensen, LMSW                         07/01/2015 - 06/30/2019
Vice Chair                                                       2nd Term
Eugene, Or                                                 

Kathy Outland, LCSW                          07/01/2015 - 06/30/2019
Salem, Or                                                   2nd Term

Donna Hirt, LCSW                               07/01/2015 - 06/30/2019
Salem, Or                                                        1st Term

Brenda Dennis, Public Member           07/01/2015 - 06/30/2019
Salem, Or                                                        2nd Term

JohnFant, Public Member                   03/15/2017 - 06/30/2020
McMinnville, Or                                                1st Term

Stephanie Manriquez                           11/17/2017 - 06/30/2021
Public Member                                               1st Term
Bend, Or

Board Office


Board Front Desk - All Licensing Inquiries
(503) 378-5735

Consumer Complaint Contact


Randy Harnisch, Executive Director


Mindy Tucker, Compliance Specialist
(503) 378-2042


Troy Clinton, Investigator
(503) 373-1165


Kimberly Sommer, Licensing Manager
(503) 373-1161

Wende Thatcher
Licensing Specialist
(503) 373-1159