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Top 5 Oregon Sick Time Questions

1. We give 40 hours of PTO we are substantially equivalent so we don’t need
to anything right?

2. If we suspect the employees are not sick we can get medical verification
right?

3. Can we continue our use it or lose it sick time plan?

4. How do temporary employees work? Do we have to count their time
before they were hired?

5.  What happens when someone has only accrued four hours of sick time

but they are absent for an eight hour day?
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Finding the law and rules:

http://www.oregon.gov/BOLI/TA/pages/index.aspx

Both the statute and rules are on the BOLI Technical Assistance
website and available for download.

BOLI provided Notification is on this page.

New rules available soon, comment period has ended

BOLI

“Year” defined

“Year” includes any consecutive 12-month period such as a calendar year, a
tax year, a fiscal year, a contract year or the 12 month period beginning on the
anniversary of the date of employment of the employee.

ORS 653.601 (8)
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Employers on the line...

Employers with 10 (ten) or (6 (six) in Portland) or more employees need to
have a per day average number of employees for each of 20 workweeks in the
calendar year or the fiscal year of the employer immediately preceding the
year in which the leave is to be taken.

ORS 653.606 (2)
OAR 839-007-0015
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Qualifying Absences

« Diagnosis, care or treatment, includes preventive

* Family member’s diagnosis, care or treatment, includes preventive
* All OFLA covered absences

* Domestic Violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking

e Public health emergencies which closes school, work or child care

ORS 653.616
OAR 839-007-0020
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Family Members (1)

“Family Member” with Oregon Sick Time is the same as OFLA,
OAR 839-007-0000 (1)

Spouse Grandparent
Same-gender domestic partner Grandchild

Custodial parent In loco parentis
Non-custodial parent Biological child
Adoptive parent Adopted child

Foster parent Foster child
Biological parent Stepchild

Stepparent Child of same gender

Parent in law domestic partner
Parent of employee’s same-gender

# domestic partner B @ L I

Family Members (2)

Family members who are NOT covered:

* Opposite-sex domestic partners
* Siblings*

* Cousins*

¢ Aunts and uncles*

* EXCEPTIONS for in loco parentis relationships.
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Accrual of Oregon Sick Time

Beginning on January 1, 2016, Oregon Sick Time accrues at the rate
of at least one (1) hour for every thirty (30) hours worked or 1 1/3
hours for every 40 hours worked.
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Use of Oregon Sick Time (1)

Pay rate for Oregon Sick Time
Employees are paid at their regular rate of pay.

For commission, piece-rate without a previously established regular
rate of pay, the employer needs to pay at least minimum wage.

ORS 653.606 (5)(c)(B)

BOLI

Use of Oregon Sick Time (2)

An employer may not require an employee to:

. Find a replacement
. Work an alternate shift to make up the use of sick time

Upon mutual consent between employer and employee an
employee can make up the time they were absent without using sick
leave, however, the employer may not require the employee to work
additional hours or shifts.

ORS 653.606(8)
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Absences are Protected

Itis an unlawful employment practice for an employer to deny, interfere with
restrain or fail to pay an eligible employee for Oregon Sick Time.

It is an unlawful employment practice for an employer to retaliate or in any way
discriminate against an employee with respect to any term or condition of
employment because an employee has inquired about or requested Oregon Sick
Time.

Oregon Sick Time absences are protected from attendance policies.
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ORS 653.641(1)(2)(3)

Employees are eligible to use Oregon Sick Time on the 91° calendar day of employment.

An employer may authorize an employee to use accrued sick time prior to the 915t calendar
day of employment.

ORS 653.606 (5) (a) (b)
An employer shall restore previously accrued unused sick time to an employee who is
reemployed by that employer within 180 days of separation of employment. If the employee

leaves before 90 days, and is reemployed within 180 days, their sick leave shall be restored.

ORS 653.606 (11)(a) (b)
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Eligibility and “Carryover”

An employee shall begin to earn and accrue sick time on the first day of
employment and may carry over up to 40 hours of unused sick time from one
year to the next.

However, an employer may adopt a policy:
a. Capping accrual at 80 hours

b. Capping 40 hours of sick leave in a year.

ORS 653.606 (3)(a) and (b)
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No Payout Requirement

Employers are not required to pay out Oregon Sick Time upon separation from
employment.

ORS 653.607 (7)

BOLI

Front—lrdrédm%

Employers can front-load Oregon Sick Time by making the leave available as soon
as the employee is eligible and on the first day of the next year disregarding
accrual.

ORS 653.601 (5) (a)

Carry over not required for employers who front-load.

ORS 653.606 (1) (c)

More on Front-loading Sick Time: OAR 839-007-0007
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PTO needs to be “substantially

equivalent”

Employers with a sick leave policy, vacation policy, paid personal time off or
other paid time off program that is substantially equivalent to Oregon Sick Time
shall be deemed in compliance.

Employees who have exhausted all paid and unpaid leave available to the
employee, the employer is not obligated to provide additional leave for paid or

unpaid Oregon Sick Time.

ORS 653.611 (1) (2),
OAR 839-007-0055 G
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Intersection with other Leave Laws

OFLA/FMLA: Oregon Sick Time may run concurrently
If the employee is eligible for OFLA and/or FMLA
and the absence also qualifies under OFLA and/or FMLA

Oregon Sick Time could intersect with the ADA/State disability law
Worker’s Compensation claim »

A key difference of Oregon Sick Time is pay. Jf

Intersection with CBA
Oregon Sick Time does not apply to an employee whose terms and conditions of
employment are:

a) covered by a collective bargaining agreement,

b) who is hired through a hiring hall or similar referral system operated by the
labor organization or a third party,

c) whose employment-related benefits are provided by a joint multi-employer-
employee trust or benefit plan.

ORS 653.646 (1) (a) (b) & (c),
OAR 839-007-0060

*All three of the a, b, & ¢ terms must apply for
this exemption. B@LI
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Employee Notice

Employers may require reasonable advance notice for use of Oregon Sick Time if
the leave is foreseeable.

Section 7. (3)
ORS 653.621(3)
If the Oregon Sick Time Leave is unforeseeable the employee needs to provide

notice as soon as practicable.

ORS 653.621(4)
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Documentation (1)

If an employee takes more than three consecutive scheduled workdays for Oregon Sick
Time, an employer may require verification from a health care provider of the need for
leave.

ORS 653.626 (1)

Medical verification shall be provided within 15 calendar days.

ORS 653.626 (1) (c) (A)
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Employer needs to pay for any out of pocket costs. g
ORS 653.626(2) #
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* Suspected abuse

* Engaging in a pattern of abuse

An employer may require verification from a health care provider
of the need to use sick time without missing more than three

consecutive scheduled workdays

ORS 653.626 (3) (b)

Quarterly Employer Notice to
Employees

Employers need to provide employees with the amount of accrued and unused
Oregon Sick Time available for use by the employee.

Inclusion of this information in paycheck stubs should be sufficient for
compliance.

ORS 653.631 (1) ocT
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Employer Notice to Employees

Employers need to provide employees with written notice of the requirements
for Oregon Sick Time.

Section 9. (1) (b)

ORS 653.631 (1) (b) N ("l‘l(‘:‘i!

BOLI provided notice on website.
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Safe Harbor

Civil Penalties will be assessed for Oregon Sick Time for violations on or after
January 1, 2017.*

Section 22.

*Does not cover civil suits




