Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Daily Overtime and Maximum Hours Restrictions in Manufacturing Establishments and Canneries
Manufacturing Establishments
 
Employees “employed in” mills, factories, and manufacturing establishments are subject to maximum work hour provisions and a different calculation of overtime than the majority of non-exempt employees performing work in other occupations and industries. Such employees may work no more than 13 hours in any 24-hour period, and any hours worked over 10 in a day or 40 in a workweek are overtime hours.
 
Legislation that became effective August 8, 2017 requires manufacturing employers to calculate both daily and weekly overtime earned and pay the greater of the two. ORS 652.020(1)(b) and (c). All overtime must be paid at time and one-half the employee’s regular rate.
 
A “manufacturing establishment” means an establishment engaged in manufacturing. “Manufacturing” means the process of using machinery to transform materials, substances or components into new products.
 
The maximum hours restrictions and daily overtime requirements do not apply to employees of sawmills, planing mills, shingle mills, and logging camps unless and until similar laws have been enacted in California, Washington, and Idaho. ORS 652.030; OAR 839-001-0127.
 
In addition, the law provides several exemptions for individuals, including:
  • Security guards,
  • Boiler operators,
  • Employees who, as one of their regular duties, are engaged in the transportation of other employees to and from work,
  • Employees whose primary duty is that of making necessary repairs. This includes employees conducting maintenance on buildings, equipment or machinery,
  • Employees whose primary duty is that of supervising and directing work. This includes supervisors, managers, and persons who are temporarily acting in these capacities in the absence of supervisory employees,
  • Employees whose primary duty is the loading and removal of finished forest products, 
  • Employees whose principal duties are administrative in nature,
  • Employees who are not engaged in the direct processing of goods in the usual course of their duties, and
  • Employees engaged in emergency work in which life or property is in imminent danger. (When the normal production process is interrupted by a breakdown of machinery or unexpected absences of employees, life and property are not normally threatened with harm or destruction. For this reason, the exemption is not applicable to normal routine operational occurrences.)
A valid workplace collective bargaining agreement may set aside the provisions of ORS 652.020 if the employee is a party to the collective bargaining agreement, the agreement is in effect at the work site, the agreement contains a limitation on the employees’ required hours of work, and if the agreement contains a provision for the payment of overtime hours of work.
 
Additional amendments to ORS 652.020 effective January 1, 2018 require an employer to provide 10 hours of rest between the end and start of shifts and limit the number of weekly hours employees in manufacturing establishments may work to a maximum of 55 per workweek, unless the employee requests or consents in writing to work up to 60 hours in a workweek.

An employer may be eligible for an “undue hardship” exemption to these maximum hours restrictions if the employer, in the ordinary course of business, processes perishable products. In that case, the employer may permit an employee to work up to 84 hours per workweek for four workweeks; and up to 80 hours per workweek for the remainder of the undue hardship period. Perishable products are defined as any product that may spoil, deteriorate or undergo other material changes that render it unsuitable for the use for which it was produced and includes (but is not limited to) agricultural crops, meat and fish. Employers may be eligible for more than one undue hardship period in a calendar year, however, 21 workweeks in a calendar year is the maximum number of workweeks that an employer may invoke this provision.
 
In order to claim an undue hardship, the employer must provide notice to BOLI and obtain written consent from each employee that the employer intends to schedule to work in excess of 60 hours in the workweek on forms prescribed by BOLI. 

Canneries, Driers and Packing Plants
 
Employees “employed in” canneries, driers and packing plants not located on farms which primarily process products produced on the farm are also required to be paid for any hours worked over 10 in a day or 40 hours in a workweek at one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay. Like the overtime requirements for manufacturing employers, ORS 653.265 was also amended effective August 8, 2017 to require only the greater amount of daily or weekly overtime earned by an employee to be paid.
 
Although there is no daily limit to the number of hours employees may work in canneries, driers and packing plants, effective January 1, 2018, such employees may not work more than 55 hours in one workweek unless the employee requests or consents​ in writing to work more than 55 hours, in which case the employee may be permitted to work up to 60 hours in one workweek.

Like manufacturing employers, employers that employ employees in canneries, driers or packing plants may be eligible for an “undue hardship” exemption to these maximum hours restrictions if the employer, in the ordinary course of business, processes perishable products. In that case, the employer may permit an employee to work up to 84 hours per workweek for four workweeks; and up to 80 hours per workweek for the remainder of the undue hardship period. Perishable products are defined as any product that may spoil, deteriorate or undergo other material changes that render it unsuitable for the use for which it was produced and includes agricultural crops, meat and fish. Employers may be eligible for more than one undue hardship period in a calendar year, however, 21 workweeks in a calendar year is the maximum number of workweeks that an employer may invoke this provision.
 
In order to claim an undue hardship, the employer must provide notice to BOLI and obtain written consent from each employee that the employer intends to schedule to work in excess of 60 hours in the workweek on forms prescribed by BOLI.

Note: The statute handles seafood processors differently than other canneries, driers or packing plants. Unless the employee is working in a facility that fits the definition of manufacturing establishment under ORS 652.020, non-exempt employees of a seafood processor are entitled to overtime after 10 hours in a day and after 40 in a workweek, but they are not limited by hourly maximums. 

Q. Do I need to pay both daily and weekly overtime when manufacturing employees work in excess of the daily limit and more than 40 hours in a week?
 
A. Not as of August 8, 2017. When employees who are entitled to and have worked daily overtime have also worked more than 40 hours in the workweek, the employer should calculate overtime wages earned for hours worked on both a daily basis and a weekly basis and then pay the greater of the two.
 
Example 1:
 
Day
Hours
​Daily OT
Weekly OT
Monday
12
2
0
Tuesday
8
0
0
Wednesday
5
0
0
Thursday
5
0
0
Friday
11
1
1
Total
41
3
1
 
If the employee's regular rate of pay is $24 per hour, the employee will have earned:
41 straight time hours at $24 = $984.00, plus EITHER
3 hours of daily overtime at $12 (1/2 the employee’s regular rate) = $36.00, OR
1 hour of weekly overtime at $12 (1/2 the employee’s regular rate) = $12.00

Because the employee would receive a greater amount of overtime if the daily overtime were paid ($36.00 as opposed to $12.00), the employee should receive $1,020.00 for the week ($984 plus $36).
 
Example 2:
 
Day
Hours
Daily OT
Weekly OT
Monday
13
3
0
Tuesday
13
3
0
Wednesday
10
0
0
Thursday
12
2
8
Friday
11
1
11
Total
59
9
19

If the employee's regular rate of pay is $20 per hour, the employee will have earned:
59 straight time hours worked at $20 = $1,180.00, plus EITHER
9 hours of daily overtime x $10.00 (1/2 the employee’s regular rate) = $90.00, OR
19 hours of weekly overtime x $10.00 (1/2 the employee’s regular rate) = $190.00
 
Because in this scenario the employee would receive a greater amount of overtime if the weekly overtime were paid ($190.00 as opposed to $90.00), the employee is entitled to straight time wages plus the weekly overtime for a total of $1,370.00.
 
Q. We have an employee who performs work on our manufacturing floor part of the week and also as a security guard two to three evenings a week. Since security duties are exempt, do we need to include that time in daily overtime computations?
 
A. It depends. The exempt status of an employee is determined by the type of work the individual performs and for that reason, the exempt status of individual employees may vary from day to day. Employees performing exempt and nonexempt work are exempt from the provisions of ORS 652.020 only when they are engaged in exempt work more than 50 percent of their working time in any one day. Stated another way, if exempt duties do not constitute more than 50 percent of the work period, all hours worked that day would be included in daily overtime computations.
 
Q. Our bookkeeper and some other administrative staff work onsite – are they subject to daily overtime or maximum hours restrictions?
 
A. No, under revisions to ORS 652.020, an employee employed in a mill, factory or other manufacturing establishment whose principal duties are administrative in nature is not subject to daily overtime or maximum hours restrictions.

Q. We operate a seasonal cannery – would my employees be subject to daily overtime?

A. Again, the answer depends on the facts and circumstances. Canneries are potentially subject to more than one overtime rule:
 
Employees who work more than 10 hours per day in canneries, driers and packing plants (excluding such establishments that are located on farms and which primarily process products produced on such farms) must be paid for any hours worked over 10 at one and one-half times their regular rate of pay under ORS 653.265.
 
During the 2017 legislative session, ORS 653.265 was amended to make clear that employees employed in canneries or driers or packing plants (excluding such establishments that are located on farms and primarily processing products produced on such farms) are entitled to time and a half for all hours worked over 10 hours per day and over 40 hours per week. Effective August 8, 2017, these types of employers should calculate an employee’s overtime entitlement on both a daily basis (any hours worked over 10 hours in a day) and a weekly basis (over 40 hours worked in a workweek). ORS 653.261(1). After calculating both amounts, the employer is required to pay the greater of the two amounts.
 
Agricultural employers should note that even when a cannery, drier or packing plant is located on a farm, employees must be paid daily overtime if the cannery does not primarily process products produced on such farm. Likewise, employees of such plants may also be subject to state and federal overtime requirements for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek.
 
Finally, all employers should note that the provisions of ORS 652.020 may also require the payment of daily overtime and impose a maximum limit on hours worked each day and workweek when operations of the establishment constitute “manufacturing,” i.e., the process of using machinery to transform materials, substances or components into new products (such as turning fish into dogfood kibble or fertilizer).

Updated March 2019.

DISCLAIMER 
Nothing on this website is intended as legal advice.  Any responses to specific questions are based on the facts as we understand them, and not intended to apply to any other situations.  This communication is not an agency order.  If you need legal advice, please consult an attorney.  We attempt to update the information on this website as soon as practicable following changes or developments in the laws and rules affecting Oregon employers, but we make no warranties or representations, express or implied, about whether the information provided is current.  We urge you to check the applicable statutes and administrative rules yourself and to consult with legal counsel prior to taking action that may invoke employee rights or employer responsibilities or omitting to act when required by law to act.
 
TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE FOR EMPLOYERS
800 NE OREGON STREET, STE 1045
PORTLAND, OR  97232
971-673-0824
 
 
THIS INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE IN AN ALTERNATE FORMAT​​​