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Dear Employer:

Enclosed are the materials you will need in order to apply for certification as an employer of 16
or 17 year old minors to act as canvassers, peddlers or "outside salesmen" from house to house.

In Oregon, you may employ 16 or 17-year-old minors to work as outside salespersons,
canvassers, or peddlers from house to house provided you are registered with the Bureau of
Labor and Industries. Minors under 16 years of age may not be employed in such work.

How to Register

1. Complete the application form provided with this packet.

2. Mail or fax the completed application to: Bureau of Labor and Industries
Child Labor Unit - Suite 1045
800 NE Oregon Street
Portland, OR 97232-2180
Fax: (971) 673-0769

3. In some cases the Bureau of Labor and Industries may require additional information from
you.

4. Upon approval of your application, you will be sent a registration certificate. After receiving
your certificate, you may employ 16 or 17-year-old minors as outside salespersons,
canvassers, and peddlers to work from house to house.

Requirements When Hiring 16 or 17 Year Old Minors:

1. Review the copy of Oregon Administrative Rules 839-021-0067 and 839-021-0265 enclosed
in the packet. Note the hours and transportation restrictions in the rules.

2. Upon your receipt of the approved Registration Certificate you may hire minors.

3. In the case of a minor who wants to provide his/her own transportation, the employer shall
obtain the written consent of the minor's parents or legal guardian and maintain such written
consent in the employer's files.
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4. No minor may be transported to another state without the express written consent of a parent
or legal guardian of the minor.

5. Before allowing the minor to begin work as an outside salesperson, canvasser, or peddler
from house to house, you must issue an identification card for the minor's use while in your
employ. Pursuant to OAR 839-021-0265(11), the card must include:

(a) A 1-1/4” x 1-1/4” photograph of the employee;
(b) The name of the employee;
(c) The name and local address of the employer;
(d) A statement to the effect that the employee is authorized to represent the employer as a

canvasser, peddler or outside salesperson;
(e) A statement to the effect that the employer is registered with the Bureau of Labor and

Industries, 800 N.E. Oregon #1045, Portland, OR 97232 (971-673-0763);
(f) A statement that the card is not valid for any other employer.

Pre-printed cards will be provided to you upon request.

IMPORTANT: The identification card must be carried by the minor, and shown to any
prospective customers whom the minor solicits for sales.

Other Requirements of the Law:

1. Paid rest periods of at least 15 minutes must be provided during each four-hour work period
or major part thereof.

2. Meal periods of at least 30 minutes must be provided no later than five hours and one minute
after the minor reports to work.

3. If an employee is fired, all wages earned are due no later than the end of the first business day
after discharge. If an employee quits with 48 hours or more notice, wages are due the last
working day. If any employee quits without at least 48 hours notice, wages are due in five
days or on the next payday, whichever occurs first.

For additional information regarding the above, please call any Bureau of Labor and Industries
office.

Sincerely,

Gerhard Taeubel
Administrator
Wage and Hour Division



Application for Registration to
Employ Minors in House-to-House Sales

Date:

Applicant/Employer Name and Permanent Address: ______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________

Telephone Number: (____)_________________________________
Contact Person: ______________________________________

Address: ______________________________________
______________________________________

Telephone Number: (____)_________________________________

Description of contemplated employment and work sites: (Attach separate sheet, if necessary.)

____________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________

Estimate number of 16 and 17 year old minors that may be employed during registration year: ________

Rate of pay: ___________________

Give a brief history and description of Employer's company: ___________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________

Name/Address of Workers' Compensation Insurer: ______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________

Policy/Binder Number: ______________________________________
Expiration Date: ______________________________________

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned applicant or authorized agent of the applicant hereby certifies that the information given
above is true and correct. By signature, the undersigned applicant agrees to comply with the provisions of
ORS 653.305 to 653.545, OAR 839-021-0001 to 839-021-0500 and any terms and conditions specified by
the Bureau of Labor and Industries, Wage and Hour Division.

________________________________________ ___________________________________
Signature of Applicant or Authorized Agent Title

________________________________________ ___________________________________
Printed Name of Applicant or Authorized Agent Date

Complete and mail or Fax to: Wage and Hour Division
Child Labor Unit
Bureau of Labor and Industries
800 N.E. Oregon St., Ste 1045
Portland, OR 97232-2180
Fax: (971) 673-0769
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