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Bureau of Labor and Industries 
Wage and Hour Division 

Labor Contracting Unit 

 

Application Information Sheet  
Labor Contractor License 

 
Who Must Apply?  Any person who bids or submits prices on contracts, or any person who for compensation, recruits or 

supplies workers in construction, for the production of farm crops or the reforestation of lands must apply for a 

Construction, Farm or Farm / Forest Labor Contractor license, depending on the type of work performed. 

 

License fees:   $150.00  CONSTRUCTION LABOR CONTRACTOR LICENSE 

$150.00  FARM LABOR CONTRACTOR LICENSE 

 $350.00  FARM / FOREST LABOR CONTRACTOR LICENSE 

 

The Following Entities are Eligible to Receive a License:  
1. Sole Proprietor 

2. Partnership or Limited Liability Partnership – Note that each partner must apply separately 

3. Corporations – Note, each of the shareholders owning a majority of the corporation must submit an 

application unless there are 10 or more shareholders and more than two shareholders collectively own the 

majority of the corporation 

4. Limited Liability Company (“LLC”) – Note each of the members owning a majority of LLC must submit an 

application unless the LLC has 10 or more members and more than two members collectively own the majority 

of the LLC 

5. Cooperative Corporation 

6. Private non-profit corporation 

7. Agricultural Association 
8. Publicly-held corporation (or Limited Liability Company) 

9. Employee(s) of a licensed labor contractor – Note, any person acting as a contractor (if different than a licensed 

sole proprietor, partner, shareholder, or LLC manager or member) must be licensed. 

 

To Obtain a License, Each Applicant is Required to Submit: 
1. Appropriate license fee (note that under Oregon law, the fee is nonrefundable) 

2. Completed Application (WH-37) 

3. Four (4) current colored 2" x 2" passport photographs 

4. IRS Tax Compliance Certification 

5. Oregon Department of Revenue Tax Compliance Certification 

6. Oregon Employment Department Tax Compliance Certificate  

7. Vehicle Information Sheet (WH-150) if applicable 

8. Certificate of Insurance issued by your auto insurance carrier which lists the Bureau of Labor and Industries as 

the certificate holder and provides a 30-day cancellation notice, for all vehicle(s) used in the operation of this 

business and used to transport workers  It must also list all vehicles and their Vehicle Identification 

number* 

9. If renewal application, copy of WH-151 and WH-153 or equivalent used in your contracting business 

10. Certificate of Insurance issued by your Worker's Compensation carrier and which lists the Bureau Labor and 

Industries as certificate holder and provides a 30-day cancellation notice*  

11. Proof of Financial Responsibility documentation* 

12. Certificate WH-56, if applying for exempt license 

13. Sponsorship statement (WH-36), if applicable (for employee applicants) 

14. Certified Statement (WH-35) and proof of IRS 501(c)(3) exemption for private non-profit corporation 

applicants 

 

*If applying as an employee of a labor contractor for an employee indorsement, you do not need to submit proof of 

financial responsibility, or certificates of insurance for vehicles or worker's compensation. 
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ALL assumed business names and corporations MUST be registered with the Corporation Division in Salem PRIOR to a 

license being issued.  To register, please contact: Oregon Secretary of State - Corporation Division, Public Service 

Building, Suite 151, 255 Capitol Street NE, Salem, OR  97310.  Or call (503) 986-2200. 

  
Proof of Financial Responsibility:  Proof of financial responsibility is a Corporate Surety Bond of a company licensed to 

do business in Oregon, or a cash deposit.  All financial responsibility documents are to be submitted on forms that are 

provided by the Licensing Unit.  The proof of financial responsibility shall be in the following amounts: 

 

$10,000 if employing no more than 20 employees  

$30,000   if employing 21 or more employees; or for agricultural associations or  non-profit corporations 

 

If you are also applying for a camp operator indorsement, the minimum amount of the proof of financial responsibility 

document acceptable is $15,000, regardless of the number of employees employed. 

 

Contractors who employ 21 or more employees and who have been licensed as a labor contractor for at least two years 

may apply to the Bureau for a bond reduction.  There is no bond reduction available for contractors with 20 or fewer 

employees.  In addition, application may be made to aggregate bonding requirements when a business entity with more 

than one licensee has been licensed as a labor contractor for at least one year and all licensees engage in activities of a 

labor contractor solely for that business. 

 

When the contractor elects to make a cash deposit as proof of financial responsibility, the cash deposit is required to be: 

 1.  Issued payable to the "Commissioner, Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries" exclusively; AND 

 2.  Immediately payable to the Commissioner upon demand; AND 

 3.  Held in trust through the current license year, PLUS six months. 

 

Exemption from Financial Responsibility and Record Keeping Requirements:  Applicants for a Farm Labor 

Contractor License who will be engaged in forestation/reforestation activities may request an Application for Exemption 

from Bond.  FOR THIS EXEMPTION, THE APPLICANT MUST BE:  a sole proprietor; engage in 

forestation/reforestation contracts for under $25,000; and employ two or fewer individuals in the performance of work on 

all contracts performed in the license year. 

 

License Renewal:  The license shall be good for one year from date of issue.  Renewal applications are sent to all 

licensed contractors prior to the expiration of the current license. 

 

Temporary Permit:  A temporary permit may be issued prior to taking the exam.  It shall be valid for 60 days, however, 

arrangements must be made to SCHEDULE and TAKE the exam within 45 days of issue.  It shall be the contractor's 

responsibility to contact the Salem office to arrange for an appointment to take the exam.  It is suggested that you do not 

wait until the end of the 45 days to schedule your exam in the event you fail the exam and need to reschedule.  The permit 

may NOT be extended beyond 60 days.  A contractor is allowed only one temporary permit within any 12-month period. 

 

THE PERMIT WILL BE GRANTED ONLY IF ALL MATERIALS REQUIRED FOR LICENSING ARE 

SUBMITTED IN ONE PACKAGE AND IT IS COMPLETE.  OTHERWISE, YOUR APPLICATION WILL BE 

RETURNED TO YOU FOR COMPLETION.  NO ACTION WILL BE TAKEN UNTIL YOU SUBMIT A 

COMPLETE APPLICATION.  
 

The Bureau of Labor and Industries will assist you in any way possible in order to complete the licensing process.  Please 

contact us at 503-373-1463 if you have further questions or wish to make an appointment for an office visit. 

 

Completed applications may be submitted to: 

 

Bureau of Labor and Industries, LCU  

3865 Wolverine St. NE, #E-1 

Salem, OR 97305-1268 

 

 


