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RULES: 

839-003-0031, 839-004-0001, 839-004-0003, 839-004-0016, 839-004-0021

AMEND: 839-003-0031

NOTICE FILED DATE: 10/31/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to clarify filing options and delete provisions duplicated in other rules.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

839-003-0031 
Filing a Cdiscrimination complaint under the Oregon Safe Employment Act (OSEA) ¶ 
 
(1) An aggrieved person or the aggrieved person's attorney may file a complaint under the Oregon Safe 
Employment Act, ORS 654.001 to 654.295, 654.412 to 654.423, 654.750 to 654.780 and 654.991 (OSEA), in 
person or by mail, with the divisialleging a violation of ORS 654.062(5) online, by mail or in person at any bBureau 
office in the state of Oregon.¶ 
(2) "Complaint" means a written statement signed by the aggrieved person that:¶ 
(a) Gives the name and address of the aggrieved person and the respondent;¶ 
(b) Identifies the protected classactivity that forms the basis of the complaint;¶ 
(c) Is signed by the aggrieved person;¶ 
(d) Describes the actions complained of, including:¶ 
(A) The date(s) of occurrence;¶ 
(B) What the action was and how it harmed the aggrieved person; and¶ 
(C) The causal connection between the aggrieved person's protected class and the alleged harm.¶ 
(3) A person alleging discrimination or retaliation for reporting or opposing unsafe or unhealthy work conditions 
under ORS 654.062 must contact the division within 90 days of having reasonable cause to believe that such 
violation has occurred. An employee would have reasonable cause to believe a violation has occurred on the 
earliest date that the employee:¶ 
(a) Believed retaliation had occurred against the employee for opposing employee health and safety hazards; and¶ 
(b) Knew or should have known of the right to file a complaint with the division and of the requirement that the 
complaint be filed within 90 days of the alleged retaliation.¶ 
(A) If a notice required by OSEA, as provided in OAR 437-001-0275(2)(a), was properly posted in the employee's 
workplace, continuously on and following the date of the alleged retaliation, the division will find that the 
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employee knew or should have known of the 90-day filing requirement.¶ 
(B) If the employer failed to post the required OSEA poster, the 90-day filing requirement will begin on the date 
the employee learned of the right to file a complaint and of the 90-day filing requirement. The employee may 
establish this date based on the employee's own statement or other evidence offered by the employee.¶ 
(C) If the employer disagrees with the employee's presented date as the date the employee learned of the right to 
file a complaint, the burden is on the employer to show that the employee knew or should have known on an 
earlier date.¶ 
(D) If extenuating circumstances exist, the division may extend the 90-day period as provided in 29 CFR �1977.15 
(3)activity and the alleged harm. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651.060, ORS 659A.805 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.062, ORS 659A.800 - 659A.865
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REPEAL: 839-004-0001

NOTICE FILED DATE: 10/31/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Repeals rule that duplicates statute and other rules.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

839-004-0001 
Background, Purpose and Scope of the Oregon Safe Employment Act and these Rules  
(1) The Oregon Safe Employment Act (OSEA) includes the statutes described below:¶ 
(a) ORS 654.001 to .295, providing for safety and health conditions in places of employment, workplace safety 
committees, hazard communication and hazardous substances, and health and sanitation inspections.¶ 
(b) ORS 654.412 to .423, providing for safety of health care employees.¶ 
(c) ORS 654.750 to .780, providing for hazardous chemicals in agriculture.¶ 
(2) ORS 654.062 provides that:¶ 
(a) An employee should notify the employer of any violation of law, regulation or standard pertaining to safety and 
health in the place of employment when the violation comes to the knowledge of the employee.¶ 
(b) Any employee or representative of the employee may complain of such violation to the Oregon Department of 
Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) whether or not the employee notifies the employer. DCBS will follow the 
procedures provided by ORS 654.062(3) and (4).¶ 
(c) The Civil Rights Division (division) of the Bureau of Labor and Industries has jurisdiction to enforce ORS 
654.062(5), which provides that it is an unlawful employment practice for any person to bar or discharge from 
employment or otherwise discriminate against any employee or prospective employee because that individual has 
opposed any practice prohibited by OSEA; made any complaint or instituted or caused to be instituted any 
proceeding under or related to OSEA; testified or is about to testify in any such proceeding or exercised on behalf 
of the employee, prospective employee or others any right afforded by OSEA.¶ 
(3) Employees and prospective employees are also protected from discrimination under ORS 654.062(5):¶ 
(a) By any person, whether or not the person is the employee's or prospective employee's employer;¶ 
(b) If the employee or prospective employee is perceived to take any protected actions described in subsection 
(2)(c) of this rule; or¶ 
(c) If the employee or prospective employee opposed a practice that the employee or prospective employee in 
good faith believed was prohibited under OSEA. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.062(5), 659A.805 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.062(5)
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AMEND: 839-004-0003

NOTICE FILED DATE: 10/31/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to clarify filing options and delete provisions duplicated in other rules.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

839-004-0003 
Definitions: Discrimination for Opposition to Practices Prohibited by Oregon Safe Employment Act (OSEA) ¶ 
 
As defined inused in these rules and ORS 654.00562:¶ 
(1) "Discrimination" includes but is not limited to:¶ 
(a) Barring or discharging an individual from employment;¶ 
(b) Treating an individual differently than others in compensation, terms, conditions or privileges of employment;¶ 
(c) Retaliating against or harassing an individual for participating in activities protected by ORS 654.062(5); or¶ 
(d) Actions described in (a)-(c) of this section taken against individuals by persons that are not the individual'se" or 
"discrimination" means to take an adverse action motivated by an employere or prospective employer, such as, 
but not limited to, labor organizations and employment agencies.¶ 
(2) "Employee" includes:¶ 
(a) Any individual, including a minor whether lawfully or unlawfully employed, who engages to furnish services for 
remuneration, financial or otherwise, subject to the direction and control of an employer;e's conduct described in 
OAR 839-004-0016, including but not limited to:¶ 
(ba) Salaried, elected and appointed officials of the state, state agencies, counties, cities, school districts and other 
public corporations; and¶ 
(c) Any individual including but not limited to a volunteer who is provided with workers' compensation coverage 
as a subject worker pursuant to ORS Chapter 656, whether by operation of law or by election.¶ 
(3) "Employer" includes:¶ 
(a) Any person who has one or more employees;¶ 
(b) Any sole proprietor or member of a partnership who elects workers' compensation coverage as a subject 
worker pursuant to ORS 656.128; andBarring, discharging or constructively discharging an employee or 
prospective employee from employment;¶ 
(cb) Any successor or assignee of an employer. As used in this paragraph, "successor" means a business or 
enterprise that is substantially the same entity as the predecessor employer according to criteria adopted by the 
Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services in OAR 437-001-0015.¶ 
(4) "Person" means one or more individuals, legal representatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, 
corporations (whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, any organized group of persons, the state, 
state agencies, counties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public corporations or subdivisions.¶ 
(5) "Place of employment" includes:¶ 
(a) Every place, whether indoors or out or underground, and the premises and structures appurtenant thereto, 
where either temporarily or permanently an employee works or is intended to work; and¶ 
(b) Every place where there is carried on any process, operation or activity related, either directly or indirectly, to 
an employer's industry, trade, business or occupation, including a labor camp, wherever located, provided by an 
employer for employees or by another person engaged in providing living quarters or shelters for employees.¶ 
(6) "Place of employment" does not include:¶ 
(a) Any place where the only employment involves non subject workers employed in or about a private home; 
and¶ 
(b) Any corporate farm where the only employment involves the farm's family members, including parents, 
spouses, sisters, brothers, daughters, sons, daughters-in-law, sons-in-law, nieces, nephews or grandchildren.¶ 
(7) "Rebuttable Presumption" of an unlawful employment practice occurs when a person bars or 
dischargesTreating an employee or prospective employee worse than others in compensation, terms, conditions 
or privileges of employment;¶ 
(c) Demoting, disciplining, failing to promote, reducing pay, furloughing, reducing force, or otherwise taking action 
that adversely affects the terms, conditions or privileges of employment of an employee or prospective employee; 
¶ 
(d) Retaliating against or harassing an employee or prospective employee from employment or otherwise; or¶ 
(e) Actions diescriminates against an employee or prospective employee within 60 days after thebed in (a)-(d) of 
this section taken against employees or prospective employee has engaged in any of the protected activities 
identified in ORS 654.062(5).¶ 
(a) The person may rebut the presumption by a demonstration of a preponderance of the evidence that the 
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violation did not occur. ¶ 
(b) If a person bars or discharges ans by any person, whether or not the person is the individual's employeer or 
prospective employee from employment or otherwise discriminates against the employee or prospective 
employee more than 60 days after the employee or prospective er, including but not limited to, labor 
organizations and employment agencies.¶ 
(2) "Employee" has engaged in any of the protected activities such action does not create a presumption in favor of 
or against finding that a violation has occurredthe meaning given that term in ORS 654.005¶ 
(3) "Employer" has the meaning given that term in ORS 654.005.¶ 
(A4) WThere such action has occurred more than 60 days after the protected activity, 7(b) does not modify any 
existing rule of case law relating to the proximity of time between a protected activity and an adverse employment 
action "Oregon Safe Employment Act" or "OSEA" has the meaning given that term in ORS 654.001.¶ 
(B4) Where such acti"Person" has occurred more than 60 days after the protected activity, the burden of proof 
remains on the employee or prospective employee to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that a 
violation occurredthe meaning given that term in ORS 654.005.¶ 
(5) "Place of employment" has the meaning given that term in ORS 654.005. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 6541.062(5)0, ORS 659A.805 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.00562, ORS 654.062, Senate Bill 483, 202105
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AMEND: 839-004-0016

NOTICE FILED DATE: 10/31/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to allow for implementation of Enrolled Senate Bill 907 (2023) and to clarify terms.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

839-004-0016 
Scope of Protection under ORS 654.062(5) ¶ 
 
(1) ORS 654.062(5) prohibits discrimination against an employee or prospective employee ("individual") because 
the individualbecause the employee or prospective employee:¶ 
(a) Made any complaint or instituted or caused to be instituted any proceeding under or related to the Oregon 
Safe Employment Act (OSEA)OSEA;¶ 
(b) Testified or is about to testify in any such proceeding;¶ 
(c) Exercised on behalf of the individualemployee or prospective employee, or others, any right afforded by 
OSEA;¶ 
(d) Engaged in a practice provided for by OSEA; or¶ 
(e) Opposed any practice prohibited by OSEA or which the individualemployee or prospective employee in good 
faith believed was prohibited by OSEA; or¶ 
(f) Is perceived to take any actions described in subsections (a) through (e) of this rule.¶ 
(2) ORS 654.062(5) does not state to whom or in what manner an individualemployee or prospective employee 
must oppose a practice in order to be protected from discrimination. Protected actions include the 
individualemployee or prospective employee communicating opposition to practices prohibited by OSEA, or 
which the individualemployee or prospective employee in good faith believes are prohibited by OSEA, to anyone, 
including but not limited to:¶ 
(a) Coworkers;¶ 
(b) Employers; and¶ 
(c) Newspapers and other media.¶ 
(3) The protection of ORS 654.062(5) for opposing practices does not generally extend to an individual refusing to 
work or walking off the job. However, an individual would have protection under ORS 654.062(5) for such actions 
if the individual has reasonable cause to believe that:¶ 
(a) The work, work area, equipment or other factors pose an imminent risk of serious injury or death due to 
hazardous conditions not inherent in the job;¶ 
(b) There is insufficient time or opportunity, or it would be futile for the individual to inform the employer of the 
risk factors and request that the employer address them because the employer is not available or denies the risk 
factors exist or refuses to address the risk factors; and¶ 
(c) There is insufficient time or opportunity to seek assistance from regulatory enforcement authorities.¶ 
(4) ORS 654.062(5) does not protect an employee who refuses to comply with OSEA or the employer's legitimate 
safety rules. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.062(5), ORS 659A.805 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.062(5)
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AMEND: 839-004-0021

NOTICE FILED DATE: 10/31/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to clarify filing obligation and to remove OSEA-related provisions. 

CHANGES TO RULE: 

839-004-0021 
Procedures for Complaints; Statutes of Limitation; Private Right of Action; Statutory Construction; Remedies ¶ 
 
(1) Employees or prospective employees alleging violations of ORS 654.062(5) of the Oregon Safe Employment 
Act (OSEA) may file a complaint with the Civil Rights Division (division) of the Bureau of Labor and Industries as 
aggrieved persons as provided in ORS 659A.820 and OAR 839-003-0031.¶ 
(2) Aggrieved persons alleging violations of ORS 654.062(5) must contact the division within one year after the 
date on which the aggrieved person has reasonable cause to believe they have been discriminated against. An 
aggrieved person would have reasonable cause to believe a violation has occurred on the earliest date that the 
aggrieved person:¶ 
(a) Believed discrimination had occurred against the aggrieved person for opposing practices prohibited by OSEA; 
and¶ 
(b) Knew or should have known of the right to file a complaint with the division and of the requirement to contact 
the division within one year after the alleged discrimination.¶ 
(A) If a notice required by OSEA, as provided in OAR 437-001-0275(2)(a), was properly posted inmay file a 
complaint with the Bureau of Labor and Industries.¶ 
(2)(a) The complaint must be filed with the Bureau within one year after the date on which the employee or 
prospective employee has reasonable cause to believe they have been discriminated against. The employee or 
prospective employee may establish the date on which the employee's workplace, continuously on and following 
the date of the alleged retaliation, the division will find that the employee knew or should have known of the 
requirement to contact the division within one year after the alleged discrimination.¶ 
(B) If the employer failed to post the required OSEA poster, the requirement to contact the division within one 
year after the alleged discrimination will begin on the date the employee learned of the right to file a compl or 
prospective employee had reasonable cause to believe they have been discriminated against and of the one year 
requirement. The employee may establish this date based on thbased on the employee's or prospective 
employee's own statement or other evidence offered by the employee or prospective employee.¶ 
(Cb) If the employer disagrees with the date the employee's presented date as the date the employee learned of 
the right to file a compl had reasonable cause to believe they have been discriminated against, the burden is on the 
employer to show that the employee knew or should have known on an earlier date.¶ 
(D) If extenuating circumstances exist, the division may extend the one year period as provided in 29 CFR 
�1977.15(3).¶ 
(3) Upon receipt of a complaint the commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries (commissioner)had 
reasonable cause to believe they have been discriminated against at an earlier date.¶ 
(3) Upon receipt of a complaint the Bureau will process the complaint under the procedures, policies and remedies 
established by ORS chapter 659A and the policies established by ORS 654.001 to 654.295, 654.412 to 654.423 
and 654.750 to 654.780SEA in the same way and to the same extent that the complaint would be processed if the 
complaint involved allegations of unlawful employment practices under ORS 659A.030(1)(f).¶ 
(4)(a) If the commissioner dismisses the complaint, the commissioner will issue a notice to the aggrieved person 
pursuant to ORS 659A.880 that a civil action may be filed within 90 days of the dismissal.¶ 
(b) The aggrieved personb) The employee or prospective employee may appeal the dismissal to the Oregon 
Occupational Safety and Health Division within 15 calendar days of issuance of the determination.¶ 
(54) Provisions of OSEA are to be construed to the extent possible in a manner that is consistent with any similar 
provisions of the federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, 29 USC ch.15 �651-678 as amended 
(OSHA).¶ 
(6) An affected employee or prospective employee may bring a civil action in any circuit court of the State of 
Oregon against any person alleged to have violated ORS 654.062(5). The civil action must be commenced within 
one year after the employee or prospective employee has reasonable cause to believe a violation has occurred, 
unless a complaint has been timely filed under ORS 659A.820.¶ 
(7) The commissioner or the circuit courtBureau may order all appropriate relief including rehiring or 
reinstatement to the employee's former position with back pay. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 6541.062(5)0, ORS 659A.805 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.062(5), ORS 659A.030(1)(f), House Bill 2420, 2021
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