Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

The coronavirus pandemic is impacting every aspect of daily life in Oregon and around the world. Find tools here for questions you may have regarding Oregon workplaces. The Bureau of Labor and Industries is here to support you in these uncertain times.

We are here to answer your questions.
Our offices are closed to the public but staff are working remotely to continue operations and answer questions you may have.
  • If you’re a worker, please call 971-673-0761 or email mailb@boli.state.or.us
  • If you’re an employer, please call 971-673-0824 or email bolita@boli.state.or.us
  • If you’re a member of the press, please call Jenny Smith at 503-805-3853 or email jenny.smith@state.or.us.

  • Oregon law gives all employees sick time – including part time workers. If your employer has 10 or more employees or 6 or more if they have operations in Portland, you get PAID sick time.
  • You can use sick time for many reasons, including if you or a family member is sick, injured, experiencing mental illness, or need to visit the doctor.
  • You can also use sick time if your child's school is closed by order of a public official for a public health emergency.
  • Part time workers get sick time. Workers whose company is headquartered out of state get sick time.
  • You get at least 1 hour of sick time for every 30 hours you work OR your employer can front-load 40 hours.
  • You are eligible to use sick time on your 91st day of employment, but your employer can let you take leave sooner.
  • If you run out of sick time, you may be able to use Oregon Family Leave time (see below).
  • ​The Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) provides for time off for you to care for a sick child for an illness, injury, or condition that is not serious, and now after emergency rulemaking​ by Commisioner Val Hoyle, time off for school closures by order of a public health official for a public emergency even if the individual child is not sick.
  • It also provides for time off if you or a family member has a serious health condition, to grieve the death of a family member or to bond with a new child.
  • OFLA time is protected but unpaid. You can use any accrued paid time you have.
  • You are eligible for OFLA if you work for an employer with at least 25 employees and you have worked for your employer for 180 days before taking leave. For most purposes you must also have worked an average of at least 25 hours per week in the 180 days before taking leave.
  • Frequently Asked Questions on OFLA
Final Pay
  • Employers must pay workers by the close of the next business day during a layoff expected to last more than 35 days.
  • Employers do not have to pay out unused sick time or vacation time upon termination unless they’ve committed to doing so in their policies. However, employees have a right to their previous unused sick time bank if they’re re-hired within 180 days.
New federal protections for COVID-19/coronavirus take effect April 2nd​



Discrimination
  • We continue to hear anecdotal reports of people experiencing discrimination because of fears of coronavirus, particularly around race or national origin.
  • A business cannot turn you away (and your employer can’t ask you to leave work) simply because they think your race or national origin make you more likely to have or spread coronavirus.
  • Discrimination based on race, national origin, age, sex, religion, sexual orientation, disability, and other characteristics is illegal and wrong.

Unemployment Benefits
(please note that BOLI does not handle these benefits)
  • The quickest way to file a claim or get help is to use their online services at www.workinginoregon.gov
  • Unemployment benefits are available in a lot of circumstances to help Oregonians who are being laid off or are temporarily out of work, especially in times like these.
  • If you have been laid off or your hours have been cut, you should file your claim with the Oregon Employment Department.
  • File a Claim to get benefits​
  • Questions? Email OED_COVID19_Info@oregon.gov
  • Portland Area: (503) 292-2057
  • Salem Area: (503) 947-1500
  • Eastern/Central Oregon/Bend: (541) 388-6207
  • TOLL FREE: (877) 345-3484
Emergency Rulemaking

Press Releases

It may take additional time to fulfill public records requests, but we will communicate any delays to you.

We are here to answer your questions.
If you’re a worker, please call 971-673-0761 or email mailb@boli.state.or.us
If you’re an employer, please call 971-673-0824 or email bolita@boli.state.or.us
If you’re a member of the press, please call Jenny Smith at 503-805-3853 or email jenny.smith@state.or.us.


Our offices are closed to the public but staff are working remotely to continue operations and answer questions you may have.

​​
​​​