Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

  • New BOLI TA Seminar!
    SOS_Phone.jpg

    Have you heard?

    Beginning July 1, 2018, employers of 500 or more workers in retail, hospitality or food services are obligated to comply with a number of new requirements for scheduling employees.

    Technical Assistance for Employers is rolling out a new ½ day seminar to tackle some of the anticipated issues employers will have with Oregon’s predictive work scheduling law.  ​Visit our registration page and sign up today! 

    Questions? Give us a call: 971-673-0824!


  • Minimum Wage Rate Information

    Take Note!

    Effective July 1, 2018, Oregon's minimum wage rates have increased. Visit our minimum wage rate page​ for the latest information. 

    Still have questions? Call our Employer Help Line: 971-673-0824.

    Note: The minimum wage increases are effective for hours worked beginning July 1, 2018. Any hours worked in June 2018 may be paid at the previous rate.

MAXIMUM HOURS IN MANUFACTURING ESTABLISHMENTS OREGON EMPLOYEE WORK SCHEDULES LAW
Pursuant to Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 652.020 and ORS 653.265, most employers may not require or permit an employee employed in a mill, factory or manufacturing establishment or a cannery, drier or packing plant to work more than 55 hours in any one workweek. However, an employer may permit an employee to work up to 60 hours in one workweek if the employee requests or consents in writing to work more than 55 hours in the workweek. The request/consent form (WH-261) below may, but is not required, to be used for this purpose.
 
The term "workweek" is defined as a fixed period of time established by an employer that reflects a regularly recurring period of 168 hours or seven consecutive 24-hour periods. A workweek may begin on any day of the week and any hour of the day and need not coincide with a calendar week. The beginning of the workweek may only be changed by the employer if the change is intended to be permanent and is not designed to evade overtime requirements.
 
ORS 653.260 and ORS 653.265 also provide qualifying employers with an undue hardship period exemption from the restrictions on the maximum workweek hours established by ORS 653.260 and ORS 653.265 if the employer, in the ordinary course of the employer’s business, processes perishable products. Employers claiming an undue hardship exemption must file a notice (WH-262) with the Bureau of Labor and Industries. When an undue hardship exists, an employee may consent in writing to work up to 84 hours per workweek for four workweeks and up to 80 hours per workweek for any remaining workweeks in the undue hardship period. A separate consent form (WH-263) is to be used for this purpose.

 Forms 

 WH-261 - Written request or consent to work more than 55 hours/workweek
 
WH-262 - Notice of undue hardship period for manufacturing establishments
 
WH-263 - Employee consent to work more than 60 hours in a workweek due to employer’s undue hardship  

EITC NOTICE REQUIREMENTS

Earned Income Tax Credit Notice Requirements
 
In 2017, the Legislature enacted SB 398 which requires employers to provide written notice to each employee about the state and federal earned income tax credits (EITC) and that the notice be sent annually with the employee’s federal form W-2. Employers must send information by regular or electronic mail to employees about the EITC contemporaneously with the sending of the federal form W-2. This information is also included in the minimum wage poster.
 
Here is template notice language:
 
Employees may be eligible for the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC or EIC), a benefit for working people with low to moderate income, particularly those with children. EITC reduces the amount of tax owed and may provide a refund.
 
Visit these websites for additional information about how to qualify:
 
 _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
 
 

​​ ​​​​​​

 Effective July 1, 2018, employees of retail, hospitality or food services establishments that employ 500 or more employees worldwide are covered. You can download and print the required poster HERE.

EMPLOYER SEMINARS

 
 
Click HERE to register for the July - December 2018 Seminars
 

COMPOSITE POSTERS UPDATES 

Effective July 1, 2018, all Oregon employers must post the updated Oregon Minimum Wage poster.  In addition to the new minimum wage rates, the poster will contain information about the Earned Income Tax Credit.  The poster effective July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2019 may be downloaded HERE. 
 
** Online Ordering **
 
The 2018-19 composite posters are available and can be ordered here. We are temporarily out of stock of the Agricultural Composite poster.
____________________________________________________________________________________________
Publications Available:
We offer a variety of handbooks on employment law topics including but not limted to, civil rights law, family leave laws, policy writing guidelines, legal hiring practices, and documentation, discipline & discharge.
 
Workplace posters can also be purchased from Technical Assistance
 
Information on BOLI publications can be found HERE.