
 

Template for Quarterly Notification of Sick Time Accrual Required by  
Oregon’s Sick Time Law (OAR 839-007-0050) 

Effective January 1, 2016, employers that employ employees in the state of Oregon are required to implement 
sick time policies and provide sick time to employees. The full text of the law and administrative rules adopted 
by the Bureau of Labor and Industries are available at www.oregon.gov/boli . 

Pursuant to OAR 839-007-0050, employers are required to provide to each employee written notice of the 
requirements of the provisions of the law. A template that meets the required notice provisions of this provision 
in the law is available at www.oregon.gov/boli. 

In addition, employers are required to provide written notification to each employee at least quarterly of the 
amount of accrued and unused sick time available for use by the employee. This information may be included 
on the statement of earnings provided to the employee on regular paydays, or may be provided separately. 

The law requires that all required notices to employees be provided in the language the employer typically uses 
to communicate with the employee. 

The information provided in the templates below complies with the notice of sick time accrual provisions of 
OAR 839-007-0050. 

In each of the examples, the employee worked 16 days in September and used 32 hours for vacation time 
and 8 hours for sick time. (Although in these examples the employer provides vacation time, the law does not 
require this. If, however, an employer allows employees to use accrued vacation leave to cover absences for 
reasons provided under the sick time law, all time available for an employee to use for absences covered by 
the law should be included in the written notification, including accrued vacation leave.) 

Example where both sick time and vacation time are accrued: 

Leave Type 
Beg Bal 
09-01-16 

Accrued Taken 
End Bal 

09-30-16 
SICK 24.66 4.27 8.00 20.93 

VACATION 110.00 6.67 32.00 84.67 
16 days worked X 8 hours/day = 128 hours worked ÷ 30 hours (1 hour of sick time accrued for every 30 hours worked) = 
4.27 ST hours accrued and 6.67 hours of vacation time accrued at the rate of 80 hours/year. 

Example where both sick time and vacation are “front loaded” annually by the employer: 

Leave Type 
Beg Bal 

09-01-16 
Accrued Taken 

End Bal 
09-30-16 

SICK 32.00 0.00 8.00 24.00 

VACATION 110.00 0.00 32.00 78.00  

Example where employer combines all types of paid time off (“PTO”): 

Leave Type 
Beg Bal 

09-01-16 
Accrued Taken 

End Bal 
09-30-16 

PTO 142.00 0.00 40.00 102.00  

Note: Employers may adopt policies that limit employees to accruing no more than 80 hours of sick time or 
using no more than 40 hours of sick time in a year. 

http://www.oregon.gov/boli/Pages/legal/H_OAR.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/boli/WHD/OST

