
 

 

 Students and faculty at Pacific University spearheaded a project to study 
Oregon’s rule language relating to discrimination. Their suggested language was 
presented at the November 4, 2022 Board meeting and adopted by Board as 
proposed rules and requested public comment. The rules were made permanent 
at the February 10, 2023 meeting: 
 
Professional & Ethical Standards anti-discrimination: 
OAR 335-005-0015 
Welfare of Clients 
(4) Individuals shall not discriminate in the delivery of professional services on 
the basis of language, dialect, race, color, ethnicity, religion, national origin, 
ancestry, age, sex, gender, gender identity and/or expression, sexual orientation, 
disability, military, veteran status, or any other protected classification recognized 
by applicable law. 
 
OAR 335-005-0020 
Professional Competence 
(7) Individuals shall not discriminate in their relationships with colleagues, 
students, and members of allied professions on the basis of language, dialect, 
race, color, or ethnicity, religion, national origin, ancestry, age, sex, gender, 
gender identity and/or expression, sexual orientation, disability, military, veteran 
status, or any other protected classification recognized by applicable law. 
 
 

(Continued on page 2) 

Winter 2023 Edition 

Rule Updates (cont.) Page 
2 

Past Legislative    
Update 

Page   
2  

SLPA Supervision 
Rules 

Page 
2 

The Boards Role & 
Mission 

Page 
3 

2023 Legislative  
Update 

Page 
3 

BSPA Licensee    
Portal 

Page 
3 

Recent Board        
Actions 

Page     
4-5 

Chair 
Amy Martin, CCC-SLP 
Vice-Chair 
Carrie Slough, Au.D 
 
Professional Members 
Amy Constanza-Smith, CCC-
SLP 
Illia Fong, Au.D 
Christopher Hargunani, M.D. 
Otolaryngologist  
SLPA—Vacant position 
 
Public Members 
Clarence Williams 
Jazzmen Vega-Heath 
 
Executive Director 
Erin K. Haag 
Executive Assistant 
David Linn 
Investigator 
Leslea Smith 

 In This Issue: 

Rules Update— New Rules Adopted 

All Active Speech-Language Pathologists, Speech-Language Pathology         
Assistants, and Audiologists, have a license renewal deadline of December 
31st, 2023 and a license expiration date of January 30th, 2024. Conditional SLP 
and Provisional SLPAs have specific expiration and renewal dates.  
 
The renewal system will open in the Fall of this year and the Board office is 
working with our website development team to possibly open it up as soon as 
September. The professional development required at renewal: 
Speech-Language Pathologists & Audiologists: 20 PD hours*  
Speech-Language Pathology Assistants: 10 PD hours* 
* All renewals must include 1 hour of cultural competency related PD. 
* All supervisors of SLPAs must have 2 hours of supervision training on file. 
 
Licensees can use any hours earned in 2022 or 2023, even if earned prior to  
licensure and/or used to apply for the initial license. All hours must have  
documentation to be accepted. We accept un-official ASHA or AAA CEU  
transcripts and they can be submitted as one single activity titled “ASHA       
transcript.” Otherwise we accept individual certificates of attendance. Certificates 
without a name on them and/or event receipts are not acceptable forms of  
documentation.   

License Renewal Due By End of  2023 
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Healthcare Interpreters  
The 2021 Oregon Legislature passed HB 2359 which 
amended ORS 413.550 through ORS 413.563 regarding 
requirements for health care interpreters. It requires the 
Board to create new rules to comply with the law. 
Section 3 directs providers to utilize healthcare 
interpreters from the Oregon Health Authority’s registry 
or meet an exemption set by OHA or the licensing 
board. After receiving considerable public comment the 
board passed the following: 
 
OAR 335-005-0015  
Welfare of Clients 
(17) Except as provided in subsection (a) of this section, 
a licensee who is reimbursed with public funds shall 
work with a health care interpreter from the health care 
interpreter registry administered by the Oregon Health 
Authority under ORS 413.558 when communicating with 
a patient who prefers to communicate in a language 
other than English, unless the licensee is proficient in 
the patient's preferred language.  
 
(a) A licensee who is otherwise required to work with a 
health care interpreter from the health care interpreter 
registry may work with a health care interpreter who is 
not listed on the health care interpreter registry only if 
the provider:  
(A) Is employed by an education provider that provides 
education services to children from birth through age 21 
and the interpreter is provided by the education provider 
in accordance with the education provider’s 
requirements; or  
(B) Verifies, in writing, that the licensee has taken the 
appropriate steps needed to obtain a health care 
interpreter from the health care interpreter registry in 
accordance with the rules adopted by the Oregon Health 
Authority under ORS 413.558; or  
(C) Has offered the patient the services of a health care 
interpreter from the health care interpreter registry and 
the patient declined the offer and chose a different 
interpreter.  
 
Reciprocal Licensing: 
The Board has received input from some licensees 
proposing reciprocal licensing. The concept would 
create a temporary license and eliminate certain 
documentation requirements, like official transcripts if the 
person holds licensure in a state with the same 
requirement. There would also be a reduced license fee. 
These applicants would still be required to complete a 
background check and renew as a regular licensee by 
December 31st of odd numbered years. A statute 
change might be required, and discussion is ongoing. 

(Continued from page 1) 

Rules (Con’t) Past Legislative Update 

In 2019 the Oregon Legislature passed HB 2011 
mandating cultural competence continuing           
education for various licensed professions. The 
Board has proposed adding one hour of              
professional development related to cultural      
competency per renewal.  
 
The Oregon Health Authority Office of Equity and 
Inclusion maintains a list of approved activities you 
can find here: https://www.oregon.gov/oha/OEI/
Pages/CCCE.aspx  
 
As before, as long as it is an acceptable activity 
from an accepted sponsor, you can count it towards 
license renewal. If you have any doubts if an activity 
is acceptable without special approval please check 
with our office.   

SLPA rules were effective 

January 1, 2020 

Rules relating to the utilization of SLPAs were        
updated in 2019 and were effective on 1/1/2020.  
(See them here).  
 
All SLPA/SLP combinations should now be following 
the new rules including preparation of the annual    
supervision plan and maintenance of the monthly   
supervision logs which include at least one hour of 
consultative supervision. 
 
The SLP must be sure to treat or co-treat with their 
supporting SLPA each patient/client/student that the 
SLPA is working with at least every 60 days.  
 
Patients/clients/students must be provided with      
informed consent if they are to receive services from 
an SLPA (this was always the case in statute, now is 
repeated in rule).  
 
Supervisors must have at least 2 hours of professional 
education on file with the Board office prior to         
beginning supervision of SLPAs.  
 
As always, SLPAs do not have caseloads. They assist 
speech-language pathologists with the SLP’s      
caseload. 
 
For all of the details, please read the rules. Here is a 
link to the 2021 SLPA Supervision Guide.  
If you have questions contact the board office via 
email. 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2019R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2011/Enrolled
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/OEI/Pages/CCCE.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/OEI/Pages/CCCE.aspx
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=1416
https://www.oregon.gov/bspa/Documents/SLPAGuide.2021.pdf
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Through the new online portal licensees can: 
• Update any of their contact information 
• Submit name changes 

• Upload professional development certificates or 
ASHA transcript at anytime prior to renewal  

• Print a copy of the license 

• Request official verifications be sent to another state 

 
It is very important to keep your email updated as it is 
the main way we will notify you of renewals, rule   
changes, meeting notices, and general announcements.  
 
* If you have trouble receiving a temporary password, 
check your spam or junk folder prior to contacting our 
office for assistance. 

The Board has received some survey questions about 
the role it serves on behalf of Oregonians. The        
authority and mission of the Board was set in statute 
by the Oregon Legislature in 1973. 
ORS 681.220 Policy. It is declared to be a policy of 
this state that it is necessary to provide regulatory   
authority over persons offering speech-language    
pathology and audiology services to the public in order 
to: 
      (1) Safeguard the public health, safety and       
welfare; 
      (2) Protect the public from being misled by        
incompetent, unscrupulous and unauthorized persons; 
      (3) Protect the public from unprofessional conduct 
by qualified speech-language pathologists and        
audiologists; and 
      (4) Help ensure the availability of the highest   
possible quality speech-language pathology and     
audiology services to people of this state who have 
communication disabilities. 
The Board is comprised of 2 SLPs, 2 audiologists, 1 
otolaryngologist, 2 non-professional members, and 
(recently added) an SLPA. The individuals do not   
represent their respective professions, they represent 
the people of Oregon. However they do bring their 
unique experience to the discussions and subsequent 
votes.  
The Board does not receive funding from any tax 
source and is legislatively mandated to fund its       
operations through licensing fees. The Agency strives 
to only maintain enough reserves to prevent wild    
fluctuations in the biannual renewal fees.  
The Board adopts rules to regulate the professions, 
however there is always a public comment period and 
even opportunities to serve on rule drafting           
committees. If you or someone you know has an     
interest in joining the Board please email the board.  

The Oregon Legislature is in session and the Board is 
tracking measures that may affect licensees.  
 
• Board’s Budget Bill—HB 5023. There was a fee 

increase effective 7/1/21 and we are not asking for an 
increase this biennium. Licensing numbers continue 
on the pace of increasing about 7% per year.        
Interestingly, from 2020 through current, more than 
half of all new licensees do not live in Oregon and are 
practicing here under our new telepractice rules. We 
continue to see the same or an increased number of 
cases as our license numbers climb, but we are not 
asking for an increase in staffing. 

• Study of caseloads of SLPs, OTs, PTs in           
education—HB 2618. Requires Department of     
Education to conduct study to identify best         
methodology for determining appropriate number of 
students on caseload for certain school-based health 
practitioners.  

• Interpreters in schools—HB 2240 This bill is to fix 
prior legislation requiring interpreters in healthcare, to 
remove exempt school settings. The Board already 
made this change in rule, so this fix will further align 
our rules with statute.   

The Board’s Role & Mission 2023 Legislative Update 

A reminder about events licensees are  
required to report to the Board office:  
 
• Changes in work or home address, email, and phone 

number or name used professionally must be        
reported within 30 days.  

 
• Changes in supervision, whether you are an SLPA or 

a CF holding a Conditional SLP license, must be   
reported within 30 days. 

 
• Any licensee’s conviction for a misdemeanor or     

felony and any arrest for a felony crime must be    
reported within 10 days after the conviction or arrest. 

 
• Prohibited or unprofessional conduct on the part of 

yourself or another licensee must be reported within 
10 working days  

 
• Any adverse action taken against a license by any 

state or federal agency or professional association. 
 
• Any reasonable belief that another individual is     

violating the Board’s Professional and Ethical    
Standards.  

 
• Any suspected Child Abuse (ORS 419b)             

Communicable Disease (ORS 433 & OAR 333-018) 
or Elder Abuse (ORS 124) 

BSPA Licensee Portal  
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Bilderback, Suzanne #016370 
Outcome: Final Order by Default 
A Final Order by Default was issued to Suzanne Bilderback 
imposing a civil penalty of $100 for practicing  as a      
speech-language pathologist without a license for a period of 
less than one month in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Benjamin, Hailey #016422 
Outcome: Final Order by Default 
A Final Order by Default was issued to Hailey Benjamin imposing 
a civil penalty of $1,000 on Licensee. The Board found that   
Benjamin committed one count of making false statements to the 
Board and engaging in dishonesty, fraud, and/or                   
misrepresentation when she submitted an SLPCF Report and    
Rating form to the Board that contained false information, in  
violation of OAR 335-005-0010(2)(b) and OAR 335-005-00125
(8). 
 
Knapstad, Shandra #015899 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On September 9, 2022, Knapstad entered into a Consent Order 
with the Board imposing a civil penalty of $400 for supervising a 
conditional speech-language pathologist whose license had    
expired for approximately four months, in violation of OAR 335-
005-0010(2)(g). 
 
Moss, Talia #16976 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On September 2, 2022, Moss entered into a Consent Order with 
the Board imposing a civil penalty of $300 for practicing as a 
speech-language pathologist without the required license for  
approximately three months in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Parrish, Jessica #17434 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On August 17, 2022, Parrish entered into a Consent Order with 
the Board imposing a civil penalty of $300 for practicing as a 
speech-language pathologist without the required license for  
approximately three months in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Kenyon, Janet #021288 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On July 19, 2022, Kenyon entered into a Consent Order with the 
Board imposing a reprimand and a limitation on her practice. 
Kenyon’s practice is limited to patients over the age of eight 
years until the Board lifts the limitation. The Board will consider 
lifting the limitation when the Board finds that Kenyon has 
demonstrated competence in pediatric care as determined by a 
file review. 
 
Staniewicz, Jamie #17436 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On July 29, 2022, Staniewicz entered into a Consent Order with 
the Board imposing a civil penalty of $1,000 for practicing as a 
speech-language pathologist without the required license for  
approximately ten months in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Watts, Annabelle #16960 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On July 29, 2022, Watts entered into a Consent Order with the 
Board imposing a civil penalty of $400 for practicing as a speech-
language pathologist without the required license for             
approximately four months in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Sippl, Tracy #016091 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On June 22, 2022, Sippl entered into a Consent Order with 
the Board imposing a civil penalty of $500 for negligently 
engaging in misrepresentation about supervision of the    
clinical experience of her supervisees, in violation of OAR 335
-005-0010(2)(b). 
 
 
 
 
 

Tang, Amy #016174 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On May 6, 2022, Tang entered into a Consent Order with the 
Board imposing a civil penalty of $610 for practicing as a speech
-language pathologist without the required licensed for         
approximately six months in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Green, Katlyn #17335 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On April 18, 2022, Green entered into a Consent Order with the 
Board imposing a civil penalty of $150 for practicing as a speech
-language pathologist without the required license for           
approximately one month in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Erskine, Barbara #010792 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On April 11, 2022, Erskine entered into a Consent Order with the 
Board imposing: a Reprimand for failing to maintain records in 
accordance with OAR 335-010-0070(2) and OAR 335-010-0070
(3)(a); and a civil penalty of $200 for failing to allow a patient 
access to records in violation of OAR 335-005-0015(9). 
 
 
Lawry, Elizabeth #16831 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On April 7, 2022, Lawry entered into a Consent Order with the 
Board imposing a civil penalty of $100 for practicing as a speech
-language pathologist without the required license for           
approximately one week in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Narayanan, Taylor #16921 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On April 4, 2022, Narayanan entered into a Consent Order with 
the Board imposing a civil penalty of $100 for practicing as a 
speech-language pathologist without the required license for one 
month in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Ross-Kennedy, Abby #16781 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On April 4, 2022, Ross-Kennedy entered into a Consent Order 
with the Board imposing a civil penalty of $500 for practicing as 
a speech-language pathologist without the required license for 
more than four months in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
Pentzer, Kristi #A0771 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On March 4, 2022, Pentzer entered into a Consent Order with 
the Board imposing a civil penalty of $275 for practicing as a 
speech-language pathology assistant (SLPA) without a valid 
SLPA certificate for more than 2.5 months in violation of ORS 
681.360(1) and OAR 335-095-0030(2).  
 
Penrod, Alison #016419 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On March 4, 2022, Penrod entered into a Consent Order with the 
Board that imposes a Reprimand for failing to immediately    
report an action taken against her by a professional association 
in violation of OAR 335-005-0010(2)(n). 
 
Foote, Adrianne #015611 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On February 18, 2022, Foote entered into a Consent Order with 
the Board imposing a civil penalty of $200 for failing to maintain 
records in violation of OAR 335-010-0070(1). 
 
Finke, Hillary #A0774 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On February 17, 2022, Finke entered into a Consent Order with 
the Board imposing a civil penalty of $300 for performing speech
-language pathology assistant (SLPA) fieldwork without a       
provisional SLPA certificate in violation of ORS 681.360(1) and 
OAR 335-095-0030(2).  

Board Actions 



 

 

Page 5 Winter 2023 Issue 

12/14/21 
Vestal, Kimberly #13594 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On December 14, 2021, Vestal entered a Consent Order with 
the Board that imposes a Reprimand for one count of       
misrepresenting her supervision of a speech-language      
pathology provisional certificate-holder in violation of OAR 
335-005-0025(8). 
 

12/13/21 
Gonzalez Hiltner, Magaly #16462 
Outcome: Consent Order 
Gonzalez Hiltner entered a consent order with the Board on 
December 13, 2021. The Order imposes a civil penalty of 
$810 on Gonzalez Hiltner for working without the required 
license at Portland State University at various times from 
2017 to 2019 in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 

5/18/21 
Sarycheva Gonzales, Lada, SLP #15610 
Outcome: Consent Order 
On May 18, 2021, Sarycheva Gonzales entered a Consent 
Order with the Board which imposes a $610 civil penalty. 
Sarycheva Gonzales failed to renew her license and worked 
from January 31, 2018 to May 16, 2018 without a valid    
license in violation of ORS 681.250(2).  
 

5/12/21 
Jacobs, Lauren, SLP #16689 
Outcome: Consent Order 
Jacobs entered a Consent Order with the Board on May 12, 
2021, imposing a civil penalty of $235. Jacobs began working 
as a clinical fellow in August, 2019 without first obtaining her 
conditional license, in violation of ORS 681.250(2). Her    
conditional license was issued on September 24, 2019.  
 

4/7/21 
Gill, Jennifer, SLP #16545 
Outcome: Consent Order 
Gill entered a Consent Order with the Board on April 7, 2021, 
imposing a civil penalty of $200. Gill was issued a conditional 
license on June 28, 2019. The license expired on June 28, 
2020 and was renewed on August 12, 2020. Gill practiced at 
The Wellness Group without the required license for         
approximately six weeks in violation of ORS 681.250(2). 
 
4/2/21 
Moran, Mark, SLP #13522 
Outcome: Final Order by Default 
A Final Order by Default was issued to Mark Moran imposing 
a civil penalty of $200 on Licensee. The Board found that 
while employed with Comphealth and working at Douglas 
Education Service District, licensee violated ORS 681.370(3) 
and OAR 335-095-0050(5)(b) by failing to verify that the 
SLPA he was supervising for at least two months did not have 
a Board license (certification). 
 

3/19/21 
Tate, Taylor, SLPA #A0727 
Outcome: Consent Order 
Tate entered a Consent Order with the board on March 29, 
2021, imposing a civil penalty of $100. While working at 
Douglas Education Service District, Tate violated ORS 
681.360(1) and OAR 335-095-0030(2)(a) by doing SLPA 
fieldwork without the required license (provisional certificate) 
for at least two months.  
 

 
 
 
 

3/19/21 
Taylor-Bowen, Melissa, SLP # 15631 
Outcome: Final Order by Default 
A Final Order by Default was issued to Taylor-Bowen imposing a 
civil penalty of $300 for practicing without a license while      
employed at Douglas Education Service District. Taylor-Bowen 
August 21, 2015. On 01/30/2020, Taylor-Bowen’s license     
expired due to non-renewal. The Board found that Taylor-Bowen 
was unlicensed for more than two months in violation of ORS 
681.250(2). She failed to apply for renewal of her license on a 
timely basis, in violation of ORS 681.320(1)(a) & (b), OAR 335-
0060-0030(1) and OAR 335-060-0030(3)(a) &(b).  
 

3/19/21 
Pringle, Jordan, SLP #15339 
Outcome: Consent Order 
Pringle entered a Consent order with the Board on March 19, 
2021, imposing a civil penalty of $200 on licensee. The Board 
found that while employed with Douglas Education Service    
District, licensee violated ORS 681.360(4) and OAR 335-095-
0050(5)(b) when supervising an unlicensed Speech-Language 
Pathology Assistant for about two months.  
 
2/18/21 
Bouchard, Rebecca, Speech-Language Pathology Assis-
tant, #A0541 
Outcome: Consent Order 
Bouchard entered a Consent Order with the Board on February 

18, 2021, imposing a civil penalty of $200 on licensee. The 

Board finds that while employed by Pediatric Therapy Services, 

licensee violated OAR 335-095-0050(1)(e) by having a caseload, 

and ORS 681.375 and OAR 335-095-0060(1) by exceeding her 

scope of practice. SLPA did not receive appropriate supervision 

in violation of OAR 335-095-0010(5) and OAR 335-095-0010(5). 

Licensee failed to report to the Board misconduct of herself and 

other licensees in violation of ORS 676.150(2) and OAR 335-005

-0015(14). 

Board Actions 


