
 

 

Jennie Price 

Speech-Language Pathologist, Board Chair 

 

I’m happy to announce that the Board has issued temporary rules to 

improve clinical training for SLPAs in Oregon. After several months 

of discussion, these rules went into effect on September 13, 2013, and 

are likely to be made permanent as part of proposed permanent rules 

that the Board plans to finalize at our November 8th meeting.  Your 

comments are welcome on these rules—see page 3 for more details! 
 

Since 2006, the Board has encouraged the certification of SLPAs.  As a practicing SLP 

and school administrator in Eastern Oregon, every day I confront the problem of the 

shortage of qualified staff in Oregon schools, especially in rural areas.  SLPAs can be a 

great help in expanding the amount of service time we can provide to our students in need. 

However, there is only one SLPA training program in Oregon—at Chemeketa Community 

College—that provides a clinical practicum course to complete the 100 clinical interaction 

hours needed for SLPA certification.   

 

Many personnel in rural districts would like to advance in their careers, and we want to 

support them in doing so.  Back in 2006, the Board passed a rule that allowed prospective 

SLPAs to complete their clinical interaction hours “on the job”, not just in a practicum 

course. However, when reviewing our rules and statutes this spring, we realized that 

there was a conflict between this “on the job” fieldwork and our licensing law. By 

having individuals perform SLPA duties who are not either licensed as an SLPA or 

exempt from licensure as students in an approved practicum course, these trainees were 

actually engaged in unlicensed practice! This was not the Board’s intent. 

 

The Board recognizes and appreciates the SLPA training at Chemeketa, with its 

theoretical and hands-on courses tailored to SLPA practice, and Chemeketa’s program 

continues to be the main source of newly-certified SLPAs in Oregon.  However, the new 

Provisional SLPA Certificate allows others who have completed at least a year of general 
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education and a year of undergraduate technical credits in speech-language pathology to legally 

complete the clinical fieldwork needed to qualify as an SLPA.  The Provisional SLPA must be directly 

supervised 100% of the time by a qualified SLP who holds their Board license or their ASHA CCCs 

(and an appropriate TSPC SLP license).  The Provisional SLPA Certificate only costs $30, and it is 

valid for up to 180 days, to allow ample time to complete the 100 clinical interaction hours.  

 

While we were discussing the clinical fieldwork requirements, the Board decided to formalize the requirement for assessment and 

consultation by the supervising SLP.   The new rules require prospective SLPAs to log at least 2 hours of assessment/consultation by their 

supervisor for every 25 hours of clinical interaction, for a total of 8 hours.  The SLPA Clinical Competency Checklist has been revised to add 

space for these 3 interim assessments as well as the final assessment of the prospective SLPA’s skills.  This indirect supervision requirement 

holds for all prospective SLPAs, whether they are in a practicum through Chemeketa, or doing their clinical fieldwork while holding a 

Provisional SLPA Certificate. Undoubtedly this supervision is already taking place—this rule just requires it to be documented.   

 

We hope that these revised rules will continue to support SLPAs practicing in Oregon, and the many employers that rely on their services.  
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A Big “Thank You” to Past Board Members and Farewell to Elisa Williams 

At its June 24th meeting, the Board recognized past Board members whose terms ended from 

2008 – 13.  Invited honorees from 2008-12 were:  

 Carol Clupny, SLP Member from July 2005 to May 2010 

 Nancy Dunn, Audiologist Member from July 2001 to June 2008 and Chair from  

October 2005 to June 2008 

 Harold Kim, MD, Otolaryngologist Member from July 2005 to June 2008 

 Charles Murphy, Public Member from December 2007 to December 2010 

 Ashley Northam, SLP Member from July 2005 to June 2011 and Chair from 

July 2008 to June 2011 
It was also the Board’s opportunity to bid farewell to outgoing public member Elisa Williams 

at her last meeting and recognize her for over 5 ½ years of Board service.    

           

Formal recognition ceremonies were not previously conducted for past Board members, and it was a pleasure for all of us to them, and to   

present those present with a framed certificate of appreciation. Those unable to attend will receive their certificates in person at a later date. 

 

Board Chair Evan “Butch” Evans spoke generally about the honorees and the important role that Board members serve.  Here is an excerpt 

from his remarks:   

 

“It is with a great deal of awe and humility that I am allowed to introduce and honor several very special people here this morning. I 

do speak for this present Board of Examiners in that we are “humbled” by following in your footsteps.  Footsteps that have set a 

high standard of public trust, commitment, and dedication! “ 

 

“Each of you has demonstrated a giving spirit and an honest and reflective heart for the protection of Oregon’s public and the    

disciplines of audiology and speech-language pathology.  You have willingly given of your time and talents to read, understand, and 

implement the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules, as protectors of the public’s interests.  Yet, at times you 

have had to apply reason and logic to situations that may have arisen that do not fall easily into rules, or the law. You have made 

choices knowing that not everyone will be happy with your decision; but paramount was your deep and compelling desire to protect 

Oregon’s public and advance our fields.” 

 

“Thank you”—while appropriate—seems but little to say in gratitude for what each of you has contributed to this Oregon Board of 

Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology as well as to the State of Oregon. 

 

Today, we wish to honor each and every one of you personally, and publicly for all that you gave to our profession, Thank you!  For 

all that you gave to the great State of Oregon, Thank you!”   

(Continued on page 3) 

SLPA Provisional License and Fieldwork Changes 
(Continued from page 1) 

Elisa Williams receives her certificate from Chair Evans  
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Proposed Permanent Rules Are on the Table for Your Comments  
 

Licensees, other interested parties, and the public are welcome to provide written com- ments on pro- posed rules that will make 

permanent three sets of temporary rules that went into effect on May 17th, June 28th, and September 13th.  These temporary rule changes were 

communicated in emailed “newsflashes” to licensees and interested parties and were been posted on line as implemented.  Since temporary 

rules are only    effective for 180 days, the Board must engage in another rulemaking process to make them permanent.   Formal comments 

must be submitted to the Board via email or “snail mail” no later than Monday, October 28, 2013 at 5:00 p.m. for consideration.   The 

Board expects to discuss and finalize these rules at their next Board meeting, on November 8 th. 

 

These proposed permanent rules address some key issues: 

 

 Licensing and other fees:  Implements licensing and other fees that were approved by the Legislature as part of our budget package.   

While legislators control our budget and staffing, our rules must spell out the fee amounts.  These fees have been in effect since the beginning 

of the biennium on July 1, 2013, and were supported by the professional associations and other stakeholders.   This fee schedule was already 

adopted in temporary rules filed on June 28th. 
 

 Temporary licenses:  Importantly, applicants obtaining their initial license after May 1st of odd-numbered years now pay a reduced     

licensing fee for a Limited Term License that expires on the next January 30th.  This eliminates the need to pay for a full two-year license 

when only 8 months remain on the license.  This has been in effect since June 28th through temporary rules. 
 

 A new temporary license, the Provisional SLPA Certificate, allows prospective SLPAs to legally engage in their clinical fieldwork 

(sometimes called “100 clinical contact hours”) outside an academic practicum course.   It is valid for 180 days, and costs only $30.  For more 

information, see the Temporary Rules Effective September 13th on our homepage.  Students enrolled in an approved practicum course (such 

as at Chemeketa) do not need to obtain this license. (See the lead article by Jennie Price for more information on these rules—these were also 

sent to all licensees via an email “Newsflash” on September 13th). 
 

 Clinical fieldwork requirements for SLPA certification have changed to include 2 hours of assessment/consultation by the supervising 

SLP for every 25 hours of clinical interaction, or 8 hours total.  This supervision has undoubtedly been taking place, but now it must be   

documented.  The SLPA Clinical Competency Checklist was revised to provide space for the three interim and final assessments. This has 

been in effect since September 13th through temporary rules. 
 
A few tweaks to the professional development rules were included in the May 17th temporary rule filing.  This filing also re-instated the      

pro-rating of PD hours for licensees at their first renewal, so that brand-new licensees do not have to show PD at their first renewal. 

 
The summary of proposed rule changes and the actual edits are available here and on our homepage.   Since our rulemaking hearings have 

been so poorly attended in recent years, we are not scheduling a hearing at this time.  Please call the Board office with any questions, and 

email or mail your written comments before the end of the formal comment period at 5:00 p.m. on Monday, October 28 th.  

Rule Changes to Become Permanent 

Board Recognition (Continued from page 2) 

Chair Evans then honored each of those pre-

sent, making remarks about their Board ser-

vice:  

 

Carol Clupny – “A long time Board member 

and career professional, who will share her story with anyone that 

needs encouragement. Carol is a positive role model and was an out-

standing Board member whose contributions were numerous, starting 

with her  willingness to drive to Portland for each meeting! She is a 

dedicated, proactive, knowledgeable, and involved  individual who is 

guilty of always putting others in front of herself.  I hope she will 

share her story of her 400-mile adventure on the Camino de Santiago 

pilgrimage—a fitting example of what Carol can  do when she puts 

her mind to it.   Carol, thank you for all you have done!” 

 

 

(Continued on page 6) 

http://www.oregon.gov/bspa/pdfs/ProposedRulesWebsite.9.16.13.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/bspa/Pages/index.aspx
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Who’s Who on the Board? 

At the August 23rd meeting, several changes occurred with our Board.  

Here’s what’s new: 

 

Jennie Price, MS, CCC-SLP is our new Board Chair.  Jennie joined 

the Board as an SLP member in June 2010.  

Jennie is the Director of Regional Programs & 

Related Services for InterMountain ESD in   

Pendleton. Her background as an SLP in public 

schools and at a skilled nursing facility, and as 

an administrator, allows her to provide clinical 

expertise and a perspective on rural service   

delivery that is invaluable to the Board. In her 

spare time, Jennie volunteers with the Pendleton 

Children’s Rodeo and the ASHA School       

Finance Committee and enjoys reading, riding 

bikes, and spending time with family and friends. 

 

 

Lyndsay Duffus, Au.D., CCC-A is our new Vice-Chair.  Lyndsay is 

a clinical pediatric audiologist at Doernbecher  

Children’s Hospital.  She represents audiology 

on the Oregon Speech-Language Hearing      

Association (OSHA) board.  She is interested in 

all  aspects of  pediatric hearing  assessment, 

particularly in children with significant         

developmental disabilities or syndromes. In her 

spare time,  Lyndsay enjoys knitting, reading, 

and spending time with her family. 

 

New to the Board is public member Betsy Chase, was appointed by 

the Governor effective July 1, 2013, in the     

position previously held by Elisa Williams.  

Betsy holds a master’s degree in educational 

leadership, and has worked in organizational 

development, training, professional                

development, strategic planning, operations   

systems, and group facilitation in Minnesota and 

Oregon.  She has been employed by non-profits, 

public organizations, and school districts, and as 

a university professor.  Currently Betsy is looking for just the right 

job for the next step in her career, while enjoying spending time with 

her husband at their new home in Wheeler. 

 

Continuing on the Board are: 

 

Audiologist Evan (“Butch”) Evans, who just completed a two-year 

stint as Board Chair.  Butch and his 

audiologist wife Julie recently      

completed an intensive training     

program in tinnitus evaluation and 

treatment, and are bringing this new 

expertise and technology to their   

Corvallis practice. Butch also teaches 

at Western Oregon University. In his 

free time, Butch enjoys fishing and 

RV travels. 

 

 

Wendy Gunter, MS, CCC-SLP,  who provides speech-language  

pathology services via telepractice through The Hello Foundation. 

Currently Wendy serves clients primarily in Wyoming, but she holds 

licenses in several states, which gives her a unique perspective on 

Oregon rules and practices.  Her expertise  in telepractice will be very 

useful as the Board develops rules around this 

issue.  Wendy has worked in public school dis-

tricts in Oregon and Washington, and at OHSU.  

She teaches   students in the SLPA program at 

Chemeketa, and at Portland State.  Wendy previ-

ously served as President of OSHA, and she is 

active in several ASHA interest groups on clinical 

and professional issues.  In her spare time, she 

enjoys  gardening, hiking, and boating. 

 

 

 

 

Public member Ralph Blanchard, a resident of Dallas, Oregon.  Now 

retired, Ralph held both employed and elected 

positions as a surveyor and was elected to the 

Polk County Board of Commissioners.  He 

held a Professional Land Surveyor’s license 

for many years, and worked closely with the 

Oregon State Board of Engineering            

Examiners. Thus he has valuable experience 

as a licensee, and working with public bodies.  

In his free time, Ralph enjoys his grandkids 

and the family farm. 

 

 

 

 

Mark Wax, MD, our otolaryngologist Board member, is a professor 

of Otolaryngology and OHSU’s Director of 

the Residency Program. He also directs the  

Microvascular Reconstruction   Fellowship 

program.  His clinical interest is                  

reconstruction and rehabilitation of head and 

neck    patients who have had surgical       

procedures for head and neck cancers. He 

works closely with SLPs and audiologists in 

that role.  He also specializes in treating    

snoring and sleep apnea.  Originally from 

Canada, Dr. Wax now makes his home in 

Lake Oswego, where he enjoys running,    

skiing, and hiking in his free time. 
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BSPA 2012-13 Customer Survey Results 

OVERALL RESULTS 

For July 2012-June 2013, BSPA’s overall agency customer           

satisfaction rating was 86%, up from 83% in 2012. Ratings for the 

separate dimensions measured were:  

 Timeliness (85% , up 2% from 2012) 

 Accuracy (90%, up 3%) 

 Helpfulness (83%, same as 2012) 

 Expertise (88%, same) 

 Availability of Information (79%, same) 

 Comparison to Others (81%, same).    

 

These results were based on 168 total responses (about 8% of active 

licensees), a significantly lower number than 2012, which had 294 

responses, or 15% of licensees.   

 

Please help us get more accurate feedback by responding to our 

survey!! Click here or go to http://bspa.oregonsurveys.com.  

 

HOW WE COMPARE 
The American Customer Satisfaction Index reported customer       

satisfaction with all surveyed federal government agencies at 68.4% 

for 2012.  Ratings were somewhat higher for public administration/

government (68.8 %) and local government (garbage/police) at 

69.1%.   

 

BSPA well exceeds these averages with an 86% overall satisfaction 

rating.  

 

YOUR COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS 

We want to maintain the anonymity of your comments, so these are 

not exact quotes, but represent some of your comments and         

questions. We will put additional comments in future newsletters.   

 

 “I got my SLP license in November 2012 and later learned that it 

was only good for a year and that I would have to submit 30 PD 

hours to renew it.  This is not fair—PD hours should be          

prorated.” 

 

Staff reply:  PD requirements for renewal are pro-rated. For licensees  

initially licensed after August 1st of an even numbered year, only 15 

hours are required for SLPs/Auds and 7.5 for SLPAs. To renew a  

license initially issued after August 1st of an odd-numbered year there 

is no PD required upon renewal. See our PD page for details. 

 

 “When compared to other states OR Board of Examiners for 

SLP and AuD is way above! Thank you for quick turnaround 

and helpful attitude!” 

 

Staff reply:  THANK YOU!  We appreciate positive comments, 

and hope you will put them in our survey. You can put questions 

or complaints there, too, but since the surveys are anonymous, we 

can’t resolve your problem unless you bring it to our attention 

personally by phone or email.   

 

 “The Board appears to be punitive to its members.” the fees 

are too high.” 

 

Staff reply:  The Board is not a professional membership        

organization, as is ASHA or OSHA. The Board’s mission is   

public protection.  All disciplinary action is voted on by the Board, 

which consists of two licensed SLPs, two licensed audiologists, an        

otolaryngologist, and two public members.  These individuals review 

the results of investigations of complaints or compliance issues,    

consult with the Board’s attorney, and determine whether disciplinary 

action is warranted or appropriate.   

 

 “It would be helpful if someone would let me know when a PD 

Special Approval Request Form is received. I sent 2 requests, and 

never heard back.  Also, please post the ones that have been   

approved.  The ones posted were either past or the date was so 

close that I couldn't schedule attending.  SpeechPathology.com is 

fine, but it doesn’t allow for networking with other                  

professionals.” 

 

Staff reply:  The PD offerings on our website only reflect those     

submitted by licensees or sponsors for special approval by the Board, 

so we are not responsible for what is available.  We encourage       

licensees and sponsors to submit applications for special approval of 

PD as early as possible to ensure time for review and to allow folks 

looking for a PD program to sign up and attend.    

 

Due to repeated turnover in 2012 in the one (then part-time)          

administrative assistant position, there were delays in responding to 

inquiries and in processing and posting PD approvals. Since          

December, the position has been filled permanently, and since July it 

has been full-time. We try to respond to all inquiries within 24 hours, 

and the approved PD listings are now up to date on our PD page.   

 

 “I don’t know what BSPA offers to me besides a continued stamp 

of approval for the renewal of licensure.” 

 

Staff reply:  Basically, that is exactly what the Board does. By       

licensing professionals, the State of Oregon ensures that only      

qualified and experienced persons deliver speech-pathology and  

audiology services to Oregonians. Of course, it’s not just issuing the 

piece of paper that allows you to work, it is through the Board’s    

policy, enforcement, and compliance work that we ensure a level of 

professionalism and assure consumers that anyone claiming to be an 

SLP, audiologist or SLPA has the proper training and education.   

 

Thank you for the feedback!  We look forward to further improving 

our services—please let us know how we can serve you better! 
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Board Recognition  (Continued from page 3) 

Charles (“Murph”) Murphy – “Murph is a generally quiet, but thoughtful man, who listened to everything being said. And when the time 

was right, he would quietly restate the issue in a very logical and systematic manner befitting a man who had given the matter deep thought 

and consideration from all available angles. He brought a background of engineering and international marketing experience. He too was a 

consumer as he wore hearing aids. The protection of the public was always      

foremost in his mind.  Murph, thank you!” 

 

Elisa  Williams – “Elisa is thoughtful and 

reflective. She always is asking questions 

that clarify the matter at hand.  Then she 

may add her viewpoint to fairly look at a 

case from all sides. Elisa is a public     

member and takes that role very seriously. 

Having been a consumer for over 30 years, 

she knows many areas of concern to     

consumers. She has been a very diligent 

and dedicated board  member, who has 

been involved, intelligent, and proactive.  

Elisa, thank you!” 

 

 

Board members take an oath to serve the state and to support the Board’s mission of protecting the public through the regulation of the     

practice of speech-language pathology and audiology.  Members are appointed by the Governor for a three-year term, and may be                  

re-appointed once. There are seven Board members:  two audiologists, two SLPs, two public members, and an otolaryngologist.  

   

Board members take time out of their professional and personal lives to attend day-long meetings at least four times a year as well as special 

telephone meetings that typically are called another 2-3 times per year.  In addition, they review documents and answer questions to support 

the Board office between meetings. Most are volunteering their time; only members not employed by a public employer receive a nominal 

$30 stipend per day for meetings. It is truly a gift to the state and the professions that these individuals give! 

 

Professional Development—Make Sure It Counts  

It is the licensee’s responsibility to make sure all of your professional development meets the Board’s PD rules. You can do this by checking 

our professional development page. All activities must be accepted by Board rule or have been specially approved.  Asserting that you did not 

know if an activity was approved or not is not considered a mitigating factor and can possibly result in a late renewal, late fees, and possible 

disciplinary action by the Board. You can see if an activity was specially approved by viewing our list of specially approved activities on our 

professional development page.   

 

The quickest and easiest was to obtain professional development is to make sure it is ASHA approved or from an ASHA approved provider. 

Courses approved by ASHA can always be used for your license renewal and never need special approval from the Board.  There are many 

online PD providers with activities that can be taken at any time and anywhere. You can verify ASHA approved PD by visiting their website.  

 

If an activity is not ASHA approved, then you should consult our Triple Test Guide, to ensure an activity is approved by rule. This means it 

must be an approved activity, on an approved topic, by an approved sponsor. If an activity meets all three, then 

it can be counted and no special approval from the Board is necessary. If an activity does not meet all three or 

if there is any doubt about the activity, topic, or sponsor, than you should seek special approval.  

 

Our PD rules changed on May 1, 2013. The new rules removed study groups as an approved activity, but   

expanded the list of approved sponsors to include Universities, home healthcare companies, and skilled     

nursing facilities.  

 

One large change was that with the new rules, 100% of your professional development activities must be   

related to Speech Pathology and Audiology.  The old rules allowed 50% of unrelated activities.  

 

PD already obtained and approved in 2012 & 2013 under the old rules will be honored when you report PD on 

your renewal application on or before December 31, 2013. 

 

The Board no longer reviews activities submitted for special approval more than 30 days after the activity.  

If you attended activities more than 30 days ago that required special approval, you may not count these hours for renewing your license.       

(Continued on page 7) 

http://www.oregon.gov/bspa/Pages/PDPage08-10.aspx
http://www.asha.org/eweb/ashadynamicpage.aspx?site=ashacms&webcode=coursesearch
http://www.oregon.gov/bspa/pdfs/TripleTestFillable.pdf
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8/8/13 
Wyatt, Terri L.  Applicant for Certification as 
Speech-Language Pathology Assistant 
Outcome:  Consent Order:  $500 Civil Penalty 
Violation:  A Consent Order was issued 8/8/13, imposing a 

$500 civil penalty.  Wyatt represented or implied that she was 
an SLPA when she applied for employment as a full-time SLPA 
in the Medford (Oregon) School District on or about June 18, 
2008 for the 2008-09 school year, and when she accepted an 
offer of employment as an SLPA on or about August 19, 2009.  
This conduct is a violation of ORS 681.230(2) and ORS 
681.360(1).  Wyatt was employed as an SLPA without a valid 
Board license beginning on or about August 31, 2009 until her 
employment was terminated on or about March 31, 2010, in 
violation of ORS 681.360(1).   
 
 

7/23/13 
Mete, Antonia M.  
Speech-Language Pathologist # 15004   
Outcome:  Consent Order:  Reprimand and $200 Civil Penalty 
Violation:  A Consent Order was issued 7/23/13,              
reprimanding Licensee and imposing a $200 civil penalty.  
Mete was employed in a private SLP practice without a valid 
license for more than four months in violation of ORS 681.250.   
 
 
7/8/13 
Remington, Sarah M.  

Speech-Language Pathologist # 13255   
Outcome:  Final Order by Default:  $250 Civil Penalty 
Violation:  A Final Order by Default was issued on July 8, 
2013, imposing a civil penalty of $250.  Remington was      
employed as an SLP without a valid license for more than 
three months in violation of ORS 681.250(2).  Remington    
represented herself as an SLP without holding a valid license 
for more than three months in violation of ORS 681.250(2) 
and OAR 335-005-0025(1).  
 
 

6/11/13 
Strayer, Jacquelyn S.   
Speech-Language Pathology Assistant # A0028 
Outcome:  Probation Reinstated Upon License Reactivation  
Strayer allowed her license to lapse on January 30, 2012, 
while on probation that the Board imposed on December 14, 
2011.  The probation was to have been completed on August 
1, 2012 after meeting specific conditions.  However, certain 
terms of her probation cannot be completed unless Strayer is 
licensed and working in Oregon as an SLPA.  Strayer’s license 
was reactivated on June 11, 2013, and her probation was    
reinstated. The Board advised Strayer that she has 8 months 

after she begins employment as an SLPA to complete the   
requirements of her probation.   

 LICENSE RENEWAL –  
AVAILABLE IN NOVEMBER  AND 
DUE BEFORE DEC. 31st 

All licenses (except conditional SLPs and provisional SLPAs) will 

expire on January 30, 2014.   These licenses must be renewed before 

December 31, 2013 to avoid a late fee of $100.  

 

The online renewal system will open in November, and you will be 

able to pay online by credit or debit card.  Or you can complete your 

renewal online, then mail a check for your licensing fees. SLPs and 

audiologists will pay a license fee of $210 and SLPAs $65 for a two-

year license.  Renewals submitted after 11:59 p.m. on December 31st 

will also be charged a late fee of $100. Make sure your email address 

and mailing address are up to date so you receive our renewal notices 

and instructions. 

 

To renew your license, you must have completed sufficient profes-

sional development hours earned in calendar 2012 and 2013.          

Generally, for SLPs & AUDs, 30 hours is required; for SLPAs, 15 

hours must be completed.  Individuals initially licensed since August 1, 

2012 have pro-rated hour requirements.  

 

Make sure all of your professional development meets the Board’s PD 

rules by checking our professional development page. All activities 

must be accepted by Board rule or have been specially approved. You 

can see if an activity was specially approved by viewing our list of 

specially approved activities on our professional development page.  

 

Every year the Board randomly audits  5-15% of licensees. A licensee 

selected for random audit must supply the Board with verification of 

all professional development activities. This means certificates of at-

tendance or official transcripts. We will also accept a copy of your 

ASHA CE registry. Whether you are selected for an audit or not, you 

must maintain your PD verification for up to four years.  

 

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact our office at 971-

673-0220 or speechaud.board@state.or.us 

Professional Development—Make 

Sure It Counts (Continued from page 6) 

To request special approval for a PD activity in the future or completed 

up to 30 days ago, go to our forms page or professional development 

page and submit a Request for Special PD Approval form. 

 

Examples of activities that cannot be counted as PD: 

 Staff meetings 

 Reading or studying journals (unless a formal program with an 

exam) 

 In-service trainings unrelated to speech pathology or audiology 

 Supervising students, fellows, or other trainees 

 Teaching or giving lectures or presentations 

 Engaging in research 

 Serving on professional committees or boards 

 Volunteer work 

 Peer reviewing articles for a professional journal 

 

http://www.oregon.gov/bspa/Pages/PDPage08-10.aspx
mailto:speechaud.board@state.or.us
http://www.oregon.gov/bspa/Pages/AllForms.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/bspa/Pages/PDPage08-10.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/bspa/Pages/PDPage08-10.aspx
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Help us save paper! 
As of May 1, 2013, the Board 
REQUIRES licensees to submit 
a current email address for all 

Board correspondence. Our 
website: 

www.oregon.gov/bspa 

Before you request to convert your active SLP, audiologist or SLPA 

license to inactive status, make sure that you do not require a license 

to do whatever professional activities you intend to do in Oregon.  

Generally, you must hold an active license if you are working as an 

SLP, audiologist or SLPA, or calling yourself any of those titles (or 

similar titles). 

 

Remember, the Board’s practice act (ORS Chapter 681) clearly spells 

out who needs to hold a Board license.  ORS 681.250(2) states: 

  

No person shall practice speech-language pathology or   

audiology or purport* to be a speech-language pathologist 

or audiologist in this state unless the person is licensed in 

accordance with the provisions of this chapter.  

 

*The dictionary defines purport as “appear to be, intend or claim 

something, including something implied or inferred”.   

 

And ORS 681.360 states: “A person may not perform the duties of a 

speech-language pathology assistant or use the title speech-language 

pathology assistant without a certificate to do so issued under this 

section.” 

 

Also, before you request to convert to inactive status, make sure 

you are aware of what is required to reactivate your Oregon     

license if you need or want to do so.      

 

Professional Development 

The Board requires licensees to demonstrate current competency in 

their professional roles by completing and documenting professional 

development (PD) activities. See ORS 335-070-0080.  

 

Individuals seeking to reactivate their Oregon license up to 23 months 

after going inactive must show that they completed the PD required 

for the PD period in which they were last active.   

 

Individuals seeking to reactivate their Oregon license more than 23 

months after going inactive must show that they completed half of the 

required number of PD hours in the 12 months prior to applying for 

reactivation. 

 

Examples: 

A person who goes inactive on January 30, 2014 and       

reactivates before December 31, 2016 will need to show 

their full PD hours (30 for SLPs/Auds, 15 for SLPAs)    

completed during calendar years 2012 and 2013. 

 

A person who goes inactive on January 30, 2014 and       

reactivates after December 31, 2016, will need to show half 

of their PD hours (15 for SLPs/Auds, 7.5 for SLPAs)      

completed during the 12 months prior to their reactivation 

application.  

  

 

Caution:  If you are likely to reactivate within the next two years, 

make sure you have completed your required PD in the current cycle 

before you go inactive. 

 

Why Go Inactive? 

There are advantages to going inactive rather than letting your license 

expire.  Consider these reasons:  

 

Under the current fee structure (2013) it is cheaper to renew as 

inactive rather than letting your license lapse, if you plan to      

reactivate it within the next four years.  The inactive license fee is 

only $50 for SLPs/Auds, and $30 for SLPAs.  An inactive license 

expires on January 30th of the next even-numbered year (as do active 

licenses).  If you let your active license expire, you will need to pay a 

delinquent fee (currently $100 for all licensees) to get it reactivated.  

Reactivation of an expired license is essentially like a late renewal, so 

a delinquent fee is charged.  Reactivation of an inactive license only 

requires paying the regular license fee (no application fee or          

delinquent fee).  

 

If you will be away from Oregon for longer than 4 years, but 

think you may return to practice at a later date, it is easier to  

remain inactive than to let your license lapse.  If your active license 

has been expired for more than four years, you are required to       

reapply, including paying a new application fee, requesting copies of 

your transcripts, and meeting all licensing requirements then in effect.  

Reactivating from inactive status does not require providing all of the 

credentials originally needed to obtain your license.   

 

After you have been on inactive status for more than 23 months, 

you do not have to document PD requirements until you wish to 

reactivate. 

 

If you wish to convert your license to inactive status, we now have a 

form available on the Forms page of our website, or click here. 

ABOUT CONVERSION TO INACTIVE LICENSE STATUS – 
AND ITS EFFECT ON PD 

http://www.oregon.gov/bspa
http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/681.html
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_300/oar_335/335_070.html
http://www.oregon.gov/bspa/Pages/AllForms.aspx

