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Checking your license information: You can even 
do this at midnight
Did you know that most of the information related to your license is available to 
you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week?

For example, let’s say that you want to confirm that CCB has received a copy 
of your new insurance certificate from your agent so that your license doesn’t 
get suspended but it’s 6 p.m. on Friday. Just put your license number into the 
search feature on the CCB website, choose your license, then go to the business 
information page.

This page shows details about your business, such as your address, license status, 
endorsement type, and workers’ compensation status. It also shows:
• Additional licenses or certifications, such as lead paint renovation
• Current insurance and bond information, including the expiration date
• Names of individuals associated with the license

As always, customer service representatives are happy to help during regular 
business hours.  

2018 Legislature
The Oregon Legislature passed two bills that touch the contracting industry:

HB4144: The Governor’s Office requested this bill to help turn wage earners into 
job creators/employers. According to Governor Brown, many individuals in the 
construction industry are eager to start their own businesses. At the same time, 
jobs are needed in rural Oregon, where demand for affordable housing is high. This 
bill makes it easier to obtain licenses for construction activities. Key features: 
• Someone with at least eight years work experience in the construction

industry may apply for a new residential contractor’s license without having to
complete the pre-requisite training. (The individual must still pass the test for a
CCB license and must form a business as a sole proprietor.)

• The fee for the initial license, now $250, is also waived. (The fee must be paid
for renewing the license in two years.)

• Opens up an existing fund at Business Oregon to help with up-front costs
like insurance, bonding, and equipment; these funds are only  available for
businesses in rural Oregon who work on affordable, low-, and moderate-
income housing.

The law  takes effect Jan. 1, 2019, and remains in effect until Jan. 2, 2022.  

HB4139: Under current law, heavy equipment that is rented is subject to a personal 
property tax based on where the equipment is located at a certain point in time. 
Since the equipment is moveable and often on trucks en route, owners may not 
know the specific location. The new law replaces that tax with a 2 percent point-of-
sale tax. The bill is designed to be revenue neutral. The tax is passed directly to the 
renter of the equipment. 

OTOOLB   XTOOLB   XO
the

Construction Contractors Board NEWSLETTER

www.oregon.gov/ccb


Key contacts

• Licensing questions:
503-378-4621

• Report unlicensed
activity: 503-934-2229

• Dispute resolution
(mediation) questions:
503-934-2247
Education questions:
503-934-2227

Staff
Licensing Manager 
Laurie Hall 
503-934-2199
laurie.hall@state.or.us

Enforcement Manager 
Stan Jessup 
503-934-2188
stan.m.jessup@state.or.us

Communications/Education 
Manager 
Cheryl Martinis 
Newsletter editor 
503-934-2195
cheryl.martinis@state.or.us

Business Services & HR Manager 
Dana Zeimantz 
503-934-2237
dana.zeimantz@state.or.us

Board members
Jim Kitchin, Chair, Portland  
Kurt Bolser, Vice Chair, Grants Pass 
Dylan Bochsler, Stayton
Andrea Noble, Central Point 
Eric Olson, Salem 
James Patrick, Newport 
Susan Steward, Portland 

How am I supposed to keep up?

Contractors, especially those who may run afoul of a regulation, ask how 
they are supposed to know the laws and rules that affect them. Here are key 
ways you can keep abreast of change:

• Open every piece of mail or email from us, the Construction Contractors
Board (CCB). We don’t send junk mail. We only send updates on
regulatory issues, continuing education opportunities, or license notices/
issues.

• Open and at least skim this - the quarterly Toolbox newsletter. This is
where the CCB explains any changes to construction contracting laws and
rules.

• Your Responsible Managing Individual (RMI) took the prelicense
training and test to understand the regulatory world related
toconstruction. If it has been years since you became an RMI,
you can buy the manual online to refresh your memory. Look
for the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project
Management, Oregon Construction Contractors, 1st edition. (The 2nd
edition will be out in about five months.)

• The CCB posts laws and rules on its website, in a
format that’s easy to use.

• Set at least a couple dates a year to visit our 
website: www.oregon.gov/ccb. You can find the newsletter online if you 
missed it by email. Our contact information is on the website, and this is 
where residential contractors log in to take required CCB classes.

• Take continuing education classes that help. For example: The Course
Catalog on the CCB website includes courses on 2017 residential and
energy code updates as well as the City of Portland’s home energy
performance score system.

• Join a trade association. Industry associations generally stay abreast
of key changes, bring in key speakers on hot topics and provide
opportunities to network with contractors in your line of work.

Tap into billions of dollars of 
public contracts
State hits the road to explain how

There are billions of dollars of public contracting 
opportunities in Oregon, each of which offers 
opportunities for local small businesses in 
communities throughout the state. 

The Governor’s Marketplace Statewide Editions 
break down barriers to public contracting and 
help connect small businesses to an array of 
resources, tools, and networking opportunities to 
make public contracting more accessible.

These events are free to all attendees. Also, 
contractors licensed with the CCB can receive up 
to four hours of continuing education credit for 
learning about public contracting. 

Find all Governor’s Marketplace events here. 
Check back as the list of events grows.  
Questions?

Contact Eloisa Miller, Governor’s Office, at 
eloisa. miller@oregon.gov

CCB education classes: 
BuildRight coming up

The annual conference of the Home Builders 
Association (HBA) of Metro Portland will be held 
April 25-26 this year. The first day of classes is 
held at the McMenamin’s Kennedy School in 
Portland. The second day is at HBA offices in Lake 
Oswego. The CCB offers its three hours of laws, 
regulations and business practices courses on 
the second day. All registration and information 
is through the HBA at this website: http://www. 
buildrightpdx.com/.

Other CCB “live” courses
Additionally, check here for other locations 
around Oregon where the CCB will offer its free 
laws, regulations and business practices courses. 

You’re not alone if you’re 
struggling as a business owner
Upcoming CCB class explains where to get help
If you are struggling to start or grow your 
business, check out the new CCB online class that 
talks about free or low-cost services provided by 
the Small Business Development Centers (SBDCs) 
in Oregon. These centers generally are connected 
with your local community colleges. Contractors 
who use their programs give rave reviews. Our 
class explaining what kind of help you can get at 
SBDCs should be available for viewing by mid-
April.  

This course counts for one of the three CCB laws, 
regulations and business practices hours that 
residential contractors need every license cycle.

See who was fined
Find the latest enforcement actions against 
contractors on our website. The report is updated 
the first of every month.
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OregonSaves: Open to employers of any size

The Oregon State Treasury has opened the OregonSaves retirement program to any employer of any size 
that doesn’t offer a retirement plan of its own. Back in July, the program began with a pilot. Now more than 
480 businesses across Oregon facilitate the program for their employees. These employers range in size from 
a few employees to hundreds and come from a wide range of industries, such as agriculture, construction, 
healthcare, hospitality, foodservice, manufacturing, non-profit, and retail. 

Workers at these companies now have an easy, automatic way to save for retirement with every paycheck, 
helping them take control of their own financial futures. And the savings are starting to add up. Employees in 
the program have already saved more than $1.8 million combined for retirement in just a few months.

As Josh Allison, the owner of Reach Break Brewing in Astoria, puts it, “OregonSaves allows me to offer a 
retirement plan to my employees, which I would have a difficult time providing on my own. As a small family-
owned business, it gives me the tools to recruit and retain good employees. It also gives my employees the 
ability to work for our company as a career. It’s a win-win for all parties involved.”

Employers interested in joining OregonSaves right away can call (844) 661-1256 or email clientservices@ 
oregonsaves.com to get signed up. For more information, please visit www.oregonsaves.com. 

OregonSaves is overseen by the Oregon Retirement Savings Board. Ascensus College Savings Recordkeeping 
Services, LLC (“ACRS”) is the program administrator. ACRS and its affiliates are responsible for day-to-day 
program operations. Participants saving through OregonSaves beneficially own and have control over their 
Roth IRAs, as provided in the program offering set out at saver.oregonsaves.com. 

OregonSaves’ Portfolios offer investment options selected by the Oregon Retirement Savings Board. For more 
information on OregonSaves’ Portfolios go to saver.oregonsaves.com. Account balances in OregonSaves vary 
with market conditions and are not guaranteed or insured by the Oregon Retirement Savings Board, the State 
of Oregon, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) or any other organization. 

OregonSaves is a completely voluntary retirement program. Saving through a Roth IRA will not be appropriate 
for all individuals. Consult your tax or financial advisor if you have questions related to taxes or investments.
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