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Online license renewals hit all-time high
Did you know that most contractors can renew their CCB license online 
through an Online Services account? 

Many contractors have discovered this faster, simpler option. In May 2018, 80 
percent of the renewals were submitted online. This is the highest percentage 
since the program was implemented in July of 2013. In the past, only about 70 
percent of contractors renewed licenses online. 

Most contractors are eligible to renew online unless there is an entity change, 
owner or responsible managing individual change, or any of the owners have 
been convicted of the crimes listed on the renewal form.

While processing time for paper renewals takes 7-10 business days, online 
renewals are normally processed within 2-3 business days.

Check it out next time you renew!  Questions? Contact us: 503-378-4621.
 

Call before you dig!
Summer is the peak season for damage to underground utility lines, in part 
from contractors that dig without calling to locate utility lines.

This is a safety issue as well as a legal issue. The law requires that you locate 
underground utilities before digging.
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To do so, call 811 to reach the Oregon Utility 
Notification Center. Or, the website also has an online 
locate request system that works for Oregon or 
Washington: http://digsafelyoregon.com/.

The notification center contacts affected utility 
companies serving your project. Utility staff then 
visit the site and mark the approximate location of 
underground lines, pipes and cables. This is a free 
service.

By the way, Northwest Natural Gas has a new safety 
app so you can call 811 with a click or submit a locate 
request online. Here’s the link:   https://itunes.apple.
com/us/app/nw-natural/id1336271174?mt=8.

It’s illegal to “rent” your license
Contractors should never allow someone to use their 
license number. Offering to “rent” your license to an 
unlicensed person is specifically addressed in Oregon 
law and rules. This is considered “knowingly assisting 
an unlicensed contractor” (812.005.0800 (15)).

Contractors that allow an unlicensed entity or 
individual to use their license are subject to fines and 
disciplinary actions up to, and including, revocation.

If you are the victim of someone using your license 
number, contact the Compliance section at 503-934-
2246. 

DEQ proposes changes to 
asbestos rules
DEQ is proposing changes to its asbestos regulations. 
One change would require a survey (to determine 
vthe presence and types of asbestos) at residential 
buildings with four or fewer dwelling units. Find 
details here.  

JLC Live registration begins Aug. 
13
What: The JLC LIVE trade show and conference 
offers educational sessions developed specifically 
for residential construction pros. The event includes 
an exhibit hall with 70-plus building product 
manufacturers, live on-floor building clinics, technical 
discussions and continuing education. This is a 
chance to network as well as buy and win tools and 
products.

When: Nov. 28-30, 2018, at the Oregon Convention 
Center in Portland.

Education credits: All classes are eligible for CCB 
credit. Additionally, the CCB will offer one hour of 
CCB Laws, Regulations and Business practices courses 
on each of the three days. 

More information and registration: https://
nw.jlclive.com.  Use promo code CCB to receive a 
free exhibit hall pass and 15 percent off conference 
package costs.   

Contractors in Bend refurbish 
park benches while earning CE 
credit!

Laurel Pocket Park: Before Restoration

 
Park benches after contractors restoration class

Bend’s Laurel Pocket Park was built in 2007 with 
donations and volunteer labor. The volunteerism 
continued recently when six contractors restored 
park benches as a learning experience. The CCB 
granted continuing education credit, and park-goers 
are enjoying  the spruced up results. 

http://digsafelyoregon.com/
https://www.oregon.gov/CCB/Documents/pdf/812-oar.pdf
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/nw-natural/id1336271174?mt=8
http://links.govdelivery.com/track?type=click&enid=ZWFzPTEmbXNpZD0mYXVpZD0mbWFpbGluZ2lkPTIwMTcxMTE0LjgwODY2NTExJm1lc3NhZ2VpZD1NREItUFJELUJVTC0yMDE3MTExNC44MDg2NjUxMSZkYXRhYmFzZWlkPTEwMDEmc2VyaWFsPTE2OTY1NzQzJmVtYWlsaWQ9bGF1cmVuLm1vb3JlQGluZm9ybWEuY29tJnVzZXJpZD1sYXVyZW4ubW9vcmVAaW5mb3JtYS5jb20mdGFyZ2V0aWQ9JmZsPSZleHRyYT1NdWx0aXZhcmlhdGVJZD0mJiY=&&&102&&&https://nw.jlclive.com
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/rAsbestos2018.aspx
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“The cement benches within the interior of the park began to have some issues 
with spalling,” the city’s volunteer coordinator, Cheryl Howard, said. “While 
that did not impact the usability, it did become an eyesore within an otherwise 
beautiful location.”

Contractor Wayne Schatz took a look and figured that he could educate fellow 
contractors about how to fix the deteriorating concrete benches. He put together 
the class, and the City of Bend tracked contractors’ volunteer hours and issued 
course completion certificates.

As Schatz said, “I’d rather give money and time back to my community, and 
have something productive to show than take a class on line which may have no 
relation to my line of work.  Companies like mine, which need extensive continuing 
education credits (32 hours), may find that a model such as this could easily be 
implemented in their own town, benefitting the communities in which they live.”  

CCB grants education credit for Small Business 
Development Center programs

There are 19 small business development centers in Oregon, including the 
Chemeketa SBDC based in Salem but serving Marion, Polk and Yamhill counties.

You can earn CCB continuing education credit by participating in programs that 
are designed to help you succeed in business - whether launching, growing, or 
transitioning.

“Business education and one-on-one advising will help you feel supported and help 
your business thrive,” said Celia Nunez , director of the Chemeketa SBDC.  

SBDC business advisers and instructors statewide have experience running their 
own businesses. Advising is provided at no cost in areas such as:

•	     Business plan development and review 

•	     Finance, access to capital, and business operations 

•	     Online marketing, social media, and web development 

•	     Government contracting assistance and procurement 

The SBDC in Salem is among those offering the Small Business Management 
(SBM) program, a nine-month program that includes monthly interactive learning 
sessions with professional experts and other experienced business owners. The 
program includes monthly one-on-one business coaching tailored to fit your needs 
and designed to encourage you and your business to grow.



Continuing Education: What’s new

A growing number of trade organizations are approved as continuing education providers with the CCB while others 
are expanding their offerings. 

The Oregon Home Builders Association, for example, recently added five Internet marketing classes to its online 
education program and will soon be scheduling in-person code update refresher classes and Safety Day trainings 
statewide.

Members of trade associations typically receive free or discounted classes.

Speaking of code classes, contractors have told us repeatedly that they want more information on code updates. The 
Course Catalog now lists dozens of code classes.

Other:
•	 Asbestos courses that are required to obtain DEQ certification for abatement or survey work are approved for 

continuing education credit with the CCB.  

•	 The CCB is winding down its spring-summer tour of Oregon with its in-person regulatory classes. The next “live”, 
three-hour laws, regulations and business practices classes are Nov. 14 in Salem and Nov. 21 in Wilsonville. Find 
details here.

Commercial contractors
Many commercial contractors ask us if they can get CCB credit for attending conferences. (The CCB is not required to 
approve course content for commercial contractors.)

Conferences can be a great way to get an education AS LONG AS you obtain a course completion certificate that 
includes the date and length of the course. The same is true of webinars. We need proof of course completion!
 

https://www.oregon.gov/CCB/education/Pages/CE/tradecourses.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/CCB/Pages/ccbclasses.aspx

