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Expert in contractor insurance answers your 
questions
The CCB asked Oregon retired insurance broker Kelly Atwood some questions 
about liability insurance and bonds. Atwood specialized in contractor insurance 
during his 45 years in business. Here are his answers.

(Note: This information is intended to help you develop questions for your agent. 
This information is general; you may have unique circumstances. Always get 
answers to your specific insurance questions from a qualified, licensed agent.)

FINDING INSURANCE

How do I find an agent?
Exclusive agents work for companies like State Farm, Farmers, Allstate, etc., and 
are generally limited to selling their company-specific products. Independent 
insurance brokers, on the other hand, have access to multiple markets and 
multiple companies, including surplus lines carriers that accept risks that other 
companies may not.

Do most agents sell both surety bonds and liability insurance? Wil I 
get a better deal if I buy both from one agent?
Most insurance brokers market surety bonds and liability insurance. There are 
companies that will give a discount on the surety bond if the liability insurance is 
purchased as well. Generally, it benefits the construction contractor to purchase 
from a broker as the broker may get a better rate on both coverages.

Is it important to find an agent who specializes in contractor 
insurance (liability and surety bonds)? 
Over the last 15 years, the construction exposure has been a huge loss item 
for insurance companies. As a result, many companies will not cover exterior 
envelope exposures (windows, doors, siding, roofing, garage doors, etc.). This is 
particularly true in the Pacific Northwest because water intrusion issues are just 
part of living here. Agencies that specialize in construction coverage know the 
types of insurers and the companies that will provide higher-risk policies.



LIABILITY INSURANCE

Under what circumstances does my liability insurance cover workmanship claims?
General liability insurance, as a rule, does NOT cover poor workmanship. However, it DOES cover the 
property damage resulting from negligence or poor workmanship. For example, a plumber mounts 
a sink on a wall and drills through the water line during the installation. Later, the water leak causes 
damage to the wall and floor. A claim is filed with the plumber’s insurance company. The company pays 
for the repair to the wall and floor but does not cover replacing the pipe.

What are exclusions and what are some typical ones in the construction industry?
Exclusions are events or occurrences (losses) that are NOT covered by the insurance policy. There are 
policies to cover some exclusions, but not all. Common exclusions are intentional acts, negligence, 
“exterior installation and finish systems” (EIFs), asbestos, lead-based paint, subsidence (cave-in or sink), 
garage door installation, and window installation. The outer envelope and vapor/moisture barrier risks 
are generally excluded or limited in coverage. An agent experienced in construction insurance can 
explain what is covered and not covered.

I’m retiring soon and want to make sure I have coverage for at least a few years in case 
a client files a claim. What do I need to know?
Oregon’s statute of repose lasts for 10 years from the date of the last completed project. It is highly 
recommended to carry general liability insurance for the 10-year period following the final project. This 
will ensure that if a claim is filed, the contractor has coverage for defense costs involved with sorting out 
who (often which subcontractor) has the completed operations coverage for the work in question.  A 
minimum liability policy will cover defense costs, subject to a deductible.

What is completed operations?
The CCB requires contractors to carry completed operations insurance. This is an occurrence type of 
policy that covers losses based on the date the loss occurred, even if this is years after a project is 
completed.  
In contrast, a claims-made policy requires that specific policy to be in force at the 
time of the loss. Claims-made policies are NOT the best option for the 
construction industry and require a special (tail coverage) policy 
to be purchased to avoid a gap in coverage if changing to an 
occurrence policy.

If I switch insurance companies, 
what do I need to be careful 
about?
If an individual changes companies 
with occurrence-type coverage, there 
is no concern. The companies will 
subrogate to resolve a claim, meaning they 
will work out payment between them.

Normally I paint houses but I’m thinking I might 
learn roofing. Do I need to notify my agent?
Absolutely. Roofing has its own exposures, and 
many insurance companies do NOT like the roofing 
exposure. A qualified agent can walk a 
contractor through the roofing exposures, and 
the insurance carriers that will accept that 
exposure. To avoid claim denials or increased 
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premiums, you must disclose all the types of construction work you perform 
to your agent. If you change anything in your operations, your agent needs 
to know.

If I forget to make a payment, do I get a notice before my policy 
is canceled?
All insurance carriers are required to send notice of cancellation 30 days 
prior to a cancellation. In many cases, the agency also sends a delinquent 
notice to the contractor.

What are certificates of insurance and additional insureds?
Certificates of insurance are simply proof that an individual has insurance 
coverage to conduct the business they are conducting. General contractors 
require certificates of insurance from subcontractors to make sure their 
subs are insured and that the subcontractors insurance is primary in the 
event of a claim for the subcontractors work/damage.
Additional insured are individuals or companies that have a financial 
interest in the project and want to have the other parties’ (general 
contractor’s, subcontractor’s, supplier’s) insurance as the primary insurance 
in the event of a loss. They are named as covered (additional) insureds on 
the insurance policy. This is standard business practice in the construction 
industry.

If I have subcontractors, do I need to make sure they have as 
much insurance as me? What happens if my sub turns out not 
to have general liability insurance?

Many insurance companies require the general contractor to only contract 
with subcontractors that carry the same limits of insurance as they do. 
If the general contractor fails to follow through, a claim could be denied. 
Or, contractors that don’t meet that requirement might get paid less on a 
claim because the insurance company will  adjust the settlement  based 
on the difference between  what the subcontractor actually carried and 
was supposed to carry based on terms of the contract. If the subcontractor 
does not having general liability insurance, the general contractor could be 
obligated to pay the claim or pay a bigger premium for liability insurance. 
It is IMPERATIVE that general contractors verify their subs have adequate 
coverage.

SURETY BONDS
What happens if my surety bond is used to pay a claim?
A surety bond is secured by the financial assets of the contractor obtaining 
the bond. Bonds are designed to assist homeowners in getting claims 
resolved although employees, suppliers and others can also access the bond 
if they are not paid. Once a bond is exhausted, the bonding company will go 
to the  contractor to recover its funds. If the contractor does not repay the 
bonding company, the contractor  may find it VERY difficult to obtain a new 
bond, which is required by the CCB  for a contractor’s license.
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Important things to know about bond and insurance certificate 
requirements - share with your agent Licensing Manager Laurie Hall 
While most people know the dollar amounts required for bond and insurance related to construction contractor 
licensing, many people are not aware that Oregon Administrative Rules are also specific about the information 
that is required to be on all surety bonds and insurance certificates.  If your bond and/or insurance don’t meet 
all of these requirements, CCB cannot legally issue, renew, or reinstate your license.

Insurance certificates must include:
1.	 Name, address, phone of insurance agent. 
2.	 The name of insurance company. 
3.	 Individual or entity name EXACTLY as it appears 

on the application. For sole proprietors, this would 
be the licensee’s full legal name, including your 
middle name.  For any business registered with 
the Oregon Corporation Division, this would be 
the entity name EXACTLY as it is filed with the 
Corporation Division.  For partnerships, this would 
be the full legal name, including middle names, 
of all partners, except limited partners.

4.	 Policy number.
5.	 Effective dates of coverage.
6.	 Coverage in at least the amount required.
7.	 A statement that products and completed 

operations coverage is included. 
8.	 CCB listed as certificate holder.

Bonds must be:
1.	 Issued on the form adopted by CCB,  including 

the bond number.  
2.	 Issued on behalf of the individual or entity name 

EXACTLY as it appears on the application. 
For sole proprietors, this would be the licensee’s 
full legal name, including your middle name.  
For any business registered with the Oregon 
Corporation Division, this would be the entity 
name EXACTLY as it is filed with the Corporation 
Division.  For partnerships, this would be the 
full legal name, including middle names, of all 
partners, except limited partners.

3.	 The amount required by law.
4.	 The name of the surety company.
5.	 Signed and dated by an authorized agent and 

include a Power of Attorney. 


