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Our New Year’s Resolution: Change continuing 
education
The CCB is proposing reforms to the residential continuing education program 
requirements to address your complaints that the program lacks quality courses, 
restricts you from taking courses that are relevant to your business, and costs too much.  
If approved, an agency bill in the 2017 legislative session would make the following 
changes, effective January 2018.  
•	 The CCB would provide its required three hours of courses for free, saving 

contractors $45 every license renewal period.
•	 You would have much more flexibility to take the courses you deem most relevant 

and valuable to your businesses. 
•	 Approved types of education providers will be listed in the law, eliminating the 

CCB provider and course approval processes and fees that pose a barrier to 
participation. 

If the law is approved, these changes would take 
effect on Jan. 1, 2018 

Where could I get courses? What kind of courses 
could I take?  
Trade associations, product manufacturers, government agencies, private education 
businesses, schools and colleges could offer courses for credit. You could take a wide 
range of courses in either trade-specific or business practice topics. All contractors 
would get credit for:
•	 Trade association events with workshops and classes
•	 Lead paint certification classes
•	 OSHA safety training
•	 Certifications taken through other professional organizations, such as the National 

Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI), North American Technician 
Excellence (NATE) or the National Center for Construction Education and Research 
(NCCER).

•	 Product manufacturer and supplier training and certification (for example, how to 
install new products)

•	 A range of courses from colleges, such as the Northwest College of Construction 
(NWCOC) and Small Business Development Centers (SBDCs); anything that improves 
construction business or trade skills.

•	 Private businesses offering many online courses



Working on pre-1978 homes? Do 
you have a lead license?
Older homes and buildings may have paint that contains 
lead. Remodeling or repairing an older building often 
disturbs painted surfaces like walls, flooring, windows, 
window trim, baseboard, gutters and siding. Paint chips 
and dust that contain lead can be toxic, especially for 
young children with developing brains. You can take 
simple, common-sense precautions to protect these 
children. Oregon provides training and a license for this 
purpose.
 
Any licensed contractor working on a home built before 
1978 or a “child-occupied facility,” like a day-care building, 
must be licensed as a lead-
based paint renovation 
(LBPR) contractor.  

How do I get one of those?
1.	 Complete an eight-hour course approved by the 

Oregon Health Authority and obtain proof of 
completion (certificate). The certification is good 
for five years and may be renewed by completing 
a four-hour refresher course. A list of approved 
trainers is available on the Oregon Health 
Authority website. 

2.	 Next, obtain a lead-based paint renovation 
(LBPR) license from the CCB. (You must be a CCB-
licensed contractor to obtain this special license.) 
The license is good for one year and costs $50 
per year. You may renew it each year with proof 
of certification. Information on the license is 
available on the CCB website.   

Keep in mind
•	 You cannot bid to work or work on a pre-1978 

home or a “child-occupied facility” without a 
LBPR license.

•	 You cannot test a building for lead-based paint 
without a LBPR license.

•	 If the work requires an LBPR license, your 
subcontractors must also have LBPR licenses.

•	 Even if you use a subcontractor with a LBPR 
license, you (as the general contractor) must also 
have an LBPR license.

•	 Failing to follow these rules can result in civil 
penalties of up to $5,000 per offense. That can 
add up to several thousands of dollars.

 
Lead questions?
•	 The CCB: 503-378-4621 
•	 The Oregon Health Authority: 971-673-0440  

 

What else do I need to know?
•	 The required number of continuing education hours would remain the same – either eight or 16 hours every 

license renewal period, depending on how long you have been licensed. Contractors licensed at least six years 
need only eight hours.

•	 Of the required eight or 16 hours, three hours will continue to be provided by the CCB. 
•	 The CCB will continue to require proof that a contractor has met the education requirements to renew their 

license. Typically this is a course completion certificate issued by the course provider, or an attendance roster 
uploaded by the provider. 

•	 The CCB will maintain a directory of continuing education providers on its website to help link contractors to 
available education. 
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What do you do when you suddenly lose your 
responsible managing individual?
This is a problem because the law says you need one of these at all times.

2017 Proposed Legislation
The Associated General Contractors (AGC) association will ask the 2017 Legislature 
to give the CCB the authority to adopt rules to give you some time to get a new RMI 
in place. 

Specifically, the CCB could adopt rules to establish the notification process between 
the contractor and CCB, and, the maximum period of time that a contractor may 
operate after a sole Responsible Managing Individual (RMI) unexpectedly leaves the 
business. 

Meanwhile, here’s how to avoid problems:
•	 When possible, replace an RMI before they leave, or 
•	 Have more than one RMI! 

Renew online in 2017
Most licensees can renew online. The exception is partnerships or businesses that 
are making these changes to the license: 
•	 Change in entity type.
•	 Change in any owners/officers/members.
•	 Change in your Responsible Managing Individual (RMI).
•	 Any owner/officer/member has been indicted or convicted of certain 

crimes.
•	 Any owner/officer/member has construction-related unpaid debt.

 
Note: If you want to change your workers’ compensation status (from exempt 
to non-exempt or vice versa), you can’t do that while renewing. You can do that 
separately through your Online Services Account (click on Business Activities) or 
by filling out a form on our website. Call Licensing for help: 503-378-4621.  

Ready to renew?
All you need is your CCB Online Services login (at least your email address – you can 
always get a new password if you forgot yours) and a credit card. A printer is also 
helpful to print your Summary Page and your credit card receipt. Now that you’re 
ready:
•	 Eight weeks prior to your license expiration date, go to our website, www.

oregon.gov/CCB. 
•	 Click on Contractor login at the top of the page.
•	 Log into your Licensee Services account.
•	 Click on the Am I Ready to Renew tab at the top of Manage CCB License screen.



•	 Follow the instructions.  
•	 The CCB processes license renewals in 3-5 business 

days. 

Residential continuing education: 
Survival tips
•	 You must complete continuing education before you 

renew your license, assuming you renew your license 
as an “active” contractor.  

•	 Approved courses are found in two locations. To find 
the required three of CCB classes, log into your Online 
Services Account on the CCB website: www.oregon.
gov/ccb. To find Series A and Series B classes, look in 
the Course Catalog on the CCB website (you don’t have 
to log into your account). 

•	 If you like in-person CCB classes, contact Education 
for dates: 503-934-2227. We are now scheduling 
2017 classes throughout Oregon. We have already 
scheduled three-hour classes at our Salem offices on 
Feb. 23, June 22, and Nov. 9. Registration is required.

You’ll be sorry if you don’t open 
CCB emails: Stay in touch in 2017
Even though we love to stay in touch, we can’t send 
a letter to 36,000 contractors every time we have an 
important update or tip to help keep your license in good 
standing. Instead, we share key updates in the quarterly 
Toolbox newsletter. We email the newsletter to addresses 
we have on file. You can also subscribe using any address 
you want.  

Visit our website to subscribe (www.oregon.gov/ccb). Look 
for the orange envelope. Our emails are mobile friendly, 
allowing you to scroll in just seconds to find license-saving 
tidbits. 

Repeat offender in prison
A Portland area man who repeatedly worked as an 
unlicensed contractor ended 2016 in the Oregon 
State Penitentiary. Monte Rex Vandeventer II landed 
in prison in early November as a result of Multnomah 
County burglary and theft convictions. 

Over the years, the CCB investigated multiple cases where 
victims said they paid money up front to Vandeventer only 
to have him disappear without even starting the project. 
One such victim paid $1,300 to Vandeventer to pave and 
restripe a Southeast Portland parking lot.

Vandeventer owes the state nearly $41,000 from 
multiple CCB-issued fines for working without a license. 
Additionally, the Department of Justice has permanently 
barred him from working as an unlicensed contractor in 
Oregon. The sentencing means he will remain in prison 
until at least Dec. 27, 2018.

Dig safely!
If your work risks damaging underground facilities, 
you may want to get on a new email list that delivers 
summaries of enforcement actions against contractors 
and others that violate rules governing the 

notification, location, 
marking and excavating 

safely around 
underground 

facilities. 

The intent of 
the email list is 
to promote safe 
work practices by reminding you of the 
Oregon Administrative Rules (Chapter 
952 Division 1) for the Oregon Utility 
Notification Center. 

To get on this list, send an email to Kay Barnes of the 
Oregon Public Utility Commission. Her address is kbarnes@
puc.state.or.us. In the subject line put “NC Enforcement 
Summaries request.”


