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2017 Legislative Changes

The 2017 Oregon legislature passed several laws that may impact you. For details, visit
the Legislature’s website: https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/list/. The bill
number and session chapter are listed at the end of each law.

Highlights:

Temporary Responsible Managing Individual

Under current law, most construction contractors must have at least one responsible
managing individual (RMI) associated with their license. An RMl is an owner or
supervisory employee of the business. Ordinarily, an RMI qualifies by completing the
training and testing required for the license.

When an RMI leaves the business, the business has to appoint a new RMI and notify
CCB. Unfortunately, a business may not always have a qualified individual immediately
available. If the business does not appoint a new RMI, CCB may suspend its license.
The legislature changed the law to allow a construction contractor to operate with

a temporary RMI for up to 14 days, provided that the business notifies CCB of the
temporary appointment. CCB will adopt rules to implement the new law, which takes
effect Jan.1, 2018. (SB 336; Or Laws 2017, ch 483).

Prohibits Dividing Public Works Projects to Avoid Prevailing Wage Law

This law prohibits anyone (not just public agencies) from dividing public works projects
into more than one contract to avoid prevailing wage laws. The law clarifies the factors
that the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) may consider in
determining when a project was improperly divided. BOLI may inspect the contractor’s
records at any time to determine whether the prevailing wage is actually being paid.

The law also clarifies the requirement that every public works contract and subcontract
must specify that every contractor and subcontractor (unless exempt) must file a bond
with CCB. Exempt contractors that violate prevailing wage requirements may be required
to subsequently file a bond with CCB. The law also provides that a failure to pay a
required prevailing wage rate and a failure to pay required fringe benefits are separate
violations. This law contained an emergency clause and took effect June 14, 2017. (SB
416; Or Laws 2017, ch 334).
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Cities May Require Permits to Demolish Buildings that Proposed CCB ru Ies WOUld
Contain Lead or Asbestos

This new law allows a city to establish a program for the eliminate Series A/B in continuing
demolition of certain residential buildings. If the person 2

demolishing the building is a contractor and the building ed ucation
was built before 1978, the contractor must submit proof
that it is certified, by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA),
to engage in lead-based paint activities.

The CCB is proposing rules to allow all residential
contractors to get continuing education credit for
trade-specific courses (called Series B). Currently, only
contractors licensed less than six years get credit for
these Series B classes. If finalized, this means:

e Residential contractors would no longer have
to worry about Series A vs. Series B classes.
Contractors would simply need the three CCB
laws, regulations and business practices classes
plus five or 13 hours of other approved classes.

The person performing the demolition must also follow
best practices developed by OHA, the Department of
Environmental Quality and the CCB. (These requirements
do not apply if a qualified person determines that the
building does not contain lead-based paint.) The person
performing the demolition will also need to provide a

copy of an asbestos survey. e These five or 13 hours of other classes could be

about how to run your business or how to improve
your craft. Most residential contractors need the
five other hours; only those licensed less than six
years need the 13 other hours.

The law takes effect on Jan.1, 2018. (SB 871; Or Laws
2017, ch 739).

Certain Contractors Must Employ Apprentices to
Perform Work

This new law requires state contracting agencies (other
than the Oregon Department of Transportation) that
award contracts in excess of S5 million, or subcontracts
in excess of $S1 million or 25 percent of the contract price,
to require contractors to employ apprentices to perform
at least 10 percent of the work. Apprentices must be
paid the hourly rate provided by the apprenticeship
agreement or the apprenticeship training program.

e The CCB still must approve all providers and
courses. Check the Course Catalog on the CCB

(continued on next page)

The requirement changes in 2022 to apply to contracts
in excess of $3 million. Apprentices must then perform
at least 12 percent of the work. The requirement for
subcontractors does not change.

The new law takes effect on Oct. 5, 2017, and becomes
operational Jan.1, 2018. (HB 2162; Or Laws 2017, ch
416).

Construction Standards for “Tiny” Houses

This new law requires the Building Codes Division to
adopt construction standards for “small homes,” meaning
a dwelling of not more than 600 square feet. The new
standards must include allowing sleeping lofts and
allowing the use of ladders (or alternative tread devices)
as the primary means of egress from a sleeping loft.

(HB 2737; Or Laws 2017, ch 394).



e website to see if a course is approved or contact the CCB in advance.

e The proposed rules approve accredited education institutions and other
government agencies as continuing education providers. This means that
any community college or four-year college course in approved topic areas
would qualify for CCB continuing education credit, even though they may
not appear in the Course Catalog. Approved topic areas include: Marketing,

Key contacts customer service, accounting, business law, bidding, building codes, safety,

environmental hazards (lead, asbestos, radon, etc.) energy efficiency, and

* Licensing questions: trade-specific topics like how to install roofing or siding.

503-378-4621

+ Report unlicensed These rule changes would be effective Dec. 1, 2017. The proposal is part of a series

activity: 503-934-2229 of changes to continuing education to address concerns about course quality,
- Dispute resolution variety and relevance.
(mediation) questions:
503-934-2247 The CCB already eliminated fees it once charged to education providers, opening
. Education questions: the door to more providers. Eliminating the restriction on who can take Series B
503-934-2227 courses will allow you to take advantage of the increasing number of education

STAFF providers, including product manufacturers.
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Where to send course completion certificates
Business Services & HR Manager The CCB has a new email box for course completion certificates. Please send these
Dana Zeimantz to cecerts@state.or.us. If your CCB number is not on the certificate, please include
503-934-2237 it in the email or we will not be able to assign the credit to your account!
dana.zeimantz@state.or.us

Who needs to send course completion certificates? If your education provider
BOARD MEMBERS doesn’t send course completion information to the CCB, you must do so. Ask the
Jim Kitchin, Chair, Portland organization providing the class if it plans to send the information electronically to
Jerry Jones, Vice Chair, Beaverton the CCB. Always keep a copy for your files.

Dylan Bochsler, Stayton

Kurt Bolser, Grants Pass OSHA courses

Not every class on the OSHA website is approved for CCB credit. Courses must be
Eric Olson, Salem at least an hour in length for CCB credit. Some OSHA classes are shorter. The CCB
James Patrick, Newport Course Catalog lists all approved OSHA classes and the hours of credit for each.
Susan Steward, Portland The OSHA website also provides a chart that shows which classes the CCB has
Sandi Warren, Portland approved, and for how many credits.

Andrea Noble, Central Point



Updating your business
information

As you know, all business names must be registered with
the Secretary of State Corporation Division. While the
Corporation Division doesn’t require all owners of the
business to be listed on the registry, Oregon law does
require that all owners be listed on your CCB license.

In addition, if your business or owner information
changes, such as a new address or LLC member, Oregon
law requires that you notify the CCB as well as the
Corporation Division. Making the changes with one of
these agencies does not fulfill the requirement for you
to notify the other agency. The same is true with the
Building Codes Division or any other state agency.

If you have questions about who you need to notify
about business changes, please contact the CCB
Customer Service Unit at 503-378-4621.

Do you want to become an
asbestos surveyor or abatement
contractor?

Accredited surveyors

Interested in becoming an accredited asbestos surveyor
who can legally conduct/produce asbestos surveys in
Oregon? If so, there are accredited asbestos training
providers in Oregon who teach the three-day class.

Here is the list of DEQ accredited asbestos training
providers

Abatement contractors

Interested in becoming a licensed asbestos abatement
contractor who can legally handle (abate) friable
asbestos in Oregon? If so, review the Oregon asbestos
abatement contractor license application prior to
contacting Oregon DEQ.

Questions? Email degnwrasbestos@deq.state.or.us or

call at 503-229-5982. In addition to DEQ requirements,
it is also recommended that you consult with OR-OSHA
for worker safety requirements for asbestos abatement
http://osha.oregon.gov/consult/Pages/index.aspx

Link to the DEQ, asbestos webpage

Here’s a link to the DEQ asbestos webpage: http://www.
oregon.gov/deq/Hazards-and-Cleanup/Pages/Asbestos-
Information.aspx.

Due dates for W-2, W-3 & 1099-
Misc.

Employers: W-2/W-3 filings are now due by Jan. 31.

In addition, the Form 1099Misc. with nonemployee
compensation in Box 7 is also required to be filed by
Jan. 31. This was mandated by Congress, effective with
the 2017 filing season.

OregonSaves update

The Oregon State Treasury is launching OregonSaves,
a simple and convenient way for workers to save for
retirement.

The program allows employees to save a part of each
paycheck through payroll deductions facilitated by
their employer. Savings are invested in professionally-
managed investment options in a Roth individual
retirement account. The account is portable, allowing
employees to take it with them from job to job.

Any business with employees that does not provide

an employer-sponsored retirement plan will need to
register to facilitate OregonSaves for its employees.
The registration process is designed to be simple to limit
any burden on employers. Employers can choose to
offer their own retirement plans to some or all of their
employees instead of participating in the program.

Registration deadlines:

e An employer employing 100 or more employees:
November 15, 2017

e An employer employing 50 to 99 employees:
May 15, 2018

e Anemployer employing 20 to 49 employees:
December 15, 2018

e Anemployer employing 10 to 19 employees:
May 15, 2019

e An employer employing 5 to 9 employees:
November 15, 2019

e Anemployer employing 4 or fewer employees:
May 15, 2020

The state will notify employers approximately six months
before their registration deadline and one month before
the deadline with instructions about how to register.

Questions?
e Visit www.oregonsaves.com.
e (all (844) 661-1256.
e Email: clientservices@oregonsaves.com.



