
Bankruptcy 101

The Basics of Bankruptcy



Advanced Bankruptcy



Sources of Bankruptcy Law

The United States Constitution provides 

for a uniform system of bankruptcy.

Bankruptcy Act of 1898 

Bankruptcy Code of 1978

BAPCPA:  Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention 

and Consumer Protection Act of 2005 



Oregon Bankruptcies 2004-2016



Some Recent Cases



Life Cycle of Bankruptcy 

Case
Petition filed

Trustee (or DIP) appointed

First meeting of creditors

Administration of estate (varies by 

chapter)

Distribution to creditors

Case closed



Liquidation



The Mean Means Test

Debtor cannot file chapter 7 if he/she can 
repay a certain amount to unsecured 
creditors after taking into account certain 
expenses. 

A presumption of abuse created if:

 Debtor can repay at least $12,850 over 5 years; or 

 Debtor can repay at least $129/month and that 
equals at least 25% of unsecured debt over 5 
years 



Chapter 7 Assets

Car #1

House

HHG
Retirement

Car #2

Car #3

Cash

$1,500

Personal

Injury

Claim



Chapter 7 Equity

Car #1 – no equity

fmv $20,000

GMAC debt $22,000

House--$39,600 

in equity

HHG

$3,000
Retirement

$400,000

Car #2

$4,500 equity: 

fmv is $10,000

GMAC debt is 

$5,500

Car #3: $4,000 

equity: fmv is 

$10,000; GMAC 

debt is $6,000

Cash

$1,500

Personal

Injury

Claim



Oregon Exemptions 2017

Homestead
ORS 18.395 - Real property up to $40,000 ($50,000 if joint owners), including a manufactured 
home (defined by ORS 446.003) or floating home (defined by ORS 830.700) 

Sale proceeds exempt for one year if plan to and actually do purchase another home with them.

Personal Property
ORS 18.345(1)(d) - Motor vehicle to $3,000; 

ORS 18.345(1)(b) - Clothing, jewelry, personal items to $1,800 total; 

ORS 18.345(1)(f) - Household items, furniture, utensils, TVs and radios to $3,000 total and food & 
fuel to last 60 days if debtor is householder;

ORS 18.345(1)(a) - Books, pictures & musical instruments to $600 total; 

ORS 18.345(1)(n) - Earned income tax credit; 

ORS 18.345(1)(e) - Domestic animals & poultry with food to last 60 days up to $1,000; 

ORS 18.345(1)(k) – Personal injury recoveries up to $10,000 for debtor or someone debtor 
depended upon as needed for support;

ORS 18.345(1)(L) - Lost earnings payments for debtor or someone debtor depended upon as 
needed for support; 

ORS 18.345(1)(p) - $400 of any personal property that is not already covered under any other 
exemption;

ORS 18.362 – One pistol and one rifle or shotgun if owned by person over the age of 16, up to 
cumulative total of $1,000. 

Wages
ORS 18.385 - The greater of the following: $218 per week or minimum of 75% of disposable 
wages.* 



Federal Exemptions 2017
Homestead:  §522(d)(1), (5) - Real property, including mobile homes and co-ops, or burial plots up 

to $23,675. Unused portion of homestead, up to $11,850 may be used for other property.

Personal Property:  §522(d)(2) - Motor vehicle up to $3,775.

§522(d)(3) - Animals, crops, clothing, appliances and furnishings, books, household goods, and 

musical instruments up to $600 per item, and up to $12,625 total.

§522(d)(4) - Jewelry up to $1,600.

§522(d)(9) - Health aids.

§522(d)(11)(B) - Wrongful death recovery for person you depended upon.

§522(d)(11)(D) - Personal injury pmt up to $23,675 except for pain & suffering or pecuniary loss.

§522(d)(11)(E) - Lost earnings payments.

Pensions:  §522(b)(3)(C) - Tax exempt retirement accounts 

§522(b)(3)(C)(n) - IRAS and Roth IRAs to $1,283,025.

Public Benefits:  §522(d)(10)(A) - Public assistance, SocSec, Veteran’s benefits, Unemployment.

§522(d)(11)(A) - Crime victim’s compensation.

Tools of Trade:  §522(d)(6) - Implements, books and tools of trade, up to $2,375.

Alimony and Child Support:  §522(d)(10)(D) Spousal/child support needed for support.

Insurance:  §522(d)(7) - Unmatured life insurance policy except credit insurance.

§522(d)(8) - Life insurance policy with loan value up to $12,625.

§522(d)(10)( C ) - Disability, unemployment or illness benefits.

§522(d)(11)( C ) - Life insurance pmts for a person you depended on, needed for support.

Wildcard:  §522(d)(5) - $1,250 of any property, and unused portion of homestead up to $11,850.



Chapter 7 Estate Liquidation

Car #1 – no equity

House--$39,600 

in equity

$40,000 exempt if 

single;

$50,000 exempt if

married.

HHG

$3,000
Retirement—

entirely exempt

Car #2

$4300 exempt

Car #3

$4,000 not 

exempt

$800 exempt

Personal

Injury Claim

$10,000 exempt

$700 not 

exempt

Excess over 

$10,000 not 

exempt

$200 not 

exempt



What Happens to Assets?

Car #1:  GMAC repossesses

House:  Debtors reaffirm 

Car #2:  Debtors keep, reaffirm debt

Car #3:  Trustee sells, pays off GMAC, keeps 

$4,000 for estate

Cash:  Debtors pay trustee $700

Personal Injury Claim:  Trustee takes over case, 

pays debtor first $10,000

Retirement, HHG:  Debtors keep



Pyramid of Priority

Child Support

Trustee fees, other Administrative

Other Priority

Unsecured

Debtor/Debtor’s Shareholders



Distribution of Cash

Priority debts 

 Child support

 Trustee and other administrative costs

 Wages owed to debtor’s employees

 Taxes

Secured debts

 GMAC gets $6,000 (car #2 debt) from sale 

Unsecured

 Share  remaining cash pro rata



Discharge!
Permanent Injunction

Some debts excepted 
from discharge:
 Child support

 Recent taxes

 Pre-bankruptcy luxury 
purchases and cash 
advances

 Restitution

 Civil penalties

 Loan to pay taxes

 Fraud, intentional 
torts*



Frequent Filers

No discharge in chapter 7

 If received discharge under chapters 7 or 11 
within previous eight years; or

 If received chapter 13 discharge within 
previous six years.

No discharge in chapter 13

 If received discharge under chapters 7 or 11 
within previous four years; or

 If received chapter 13 discharge within 
previous two years.



Chapter 13 Reorganization

--monthly payments of

--net disposable income for

--at least three, up to five years with

--“superdischarge” after all payments made



The PLAN

Chapter 13 plan must:

 Pay all priority debt in full

 Pay secured creditors current value of claim

Chapter 13 plan may:

 “Strip down” some secured debt

 Cure mortgage arrearages

 Allow debtor to sell property



Confirmation of Plan

Minimums under old law:

 Case must be filed in good faith, 

 Plan must pay unsecured creditors at least 

what would have received in chapter 7 (Best 

Interest of Creditors test)

 Plan must be proposed in good faith



Confirmation under BAPCPA

 Plan must pay pre-petition secured 
arrearages in equal monthly installments.

 Plan payments must provide adequate 
protection to creditors with security interest 
in personal property.

 Debtor must have paid all domestic 
support obligations due after filing.

 Debtor must have filed all federal, state, 
and local tax returns.



Duration of Chapter 13 Plans

OLD LAW

Most chapter 13 plans 

lasted three years, but 

could last up to five 

years with court’s 

approval.

NEW LAW

If annual family 

income exceeds 

state annual median 

income, must 

propose five-year 

repayment plan. 



The Not-So-Super Discharge

OLD LAW

Debtors who completed a plan 

received a

“super discharge”

 Fraud 

 Breach of fiduciary duty 

 Willful and malicious injury 

 Some otherwise non-

dischargeable taxes

 Civil restitution

 Civil penalties

NEW LAW

No discharge for debts 

arising out of

 Fraud

 Breach of fiduciary duty

 Willful and malicious    

injury, including civil      

restitution

May discharge some 

taxes, civil penalties



How It Used to Work

Debtors were offered incentives to file 

chapter 13:

 Interest stopped on all priority debt

 Superdischarge was available

 Strip down vehicle loans to value of collateral

Even with incentives, only 30% of chapter 13 

cases reached the goal line of discharge.



How It Works Now

It’s still a mystery!

 There are at least seven different ways to calculate 

net disposable income;

 No statistics on success rates;

 Many more marginal debtors are in chapter 13 cases;

 Interest continues to accrue on non-dischargeable 

debt

The cost of chapter 13, both to debtors and 

creditors, has skyrocketed.

In short, it’s a 





What is disposable income?

 If debtor’s annual income is less than state annual 

median income ($80,170 for four-member family):

Debtor’s current monthly income

Minus debtor’s actual, reasonably necessary expenses for 

maintenance and support

= Disposable Income

 If debtor’s annual income is more than state annual 

median income:

Debtor’s current monthly income

Minus debtor’s actual, reasonably necessary expenses for 

maintenance and support as established by strict IRS 

guidelines

= Disposable Income



Automatic Stay



What is the Automatic Stay?

Forbids efforts to:

collect pre-petition debt

continue court or administrative proceedings

control property of the bankruptcy estate

create, perfect or enforce a lien against 

property 

The automatic stay applies to governmental 

units just as it does to private creditors.



Exceptions to Automatic Stay



Paternity and Child Support



Tax Audit and Assessment



Chapter 11 

(Business Reorganization)
Voluntary/Involuntary 

Petition

Filed

First Day 

Orders

U.S.T. Appoints 

Creditors Committee

Court approves disclosure 

statements.  Ballots sent out.

Plan Confirmed

Chapter 11 Plan governs relations between re-organized debtor and creditors.

• Debtor files monthly operating 

reports. 

• Filing of disclosure statement and 

plan.



Chapter 11: 

Convert or Dismiss For Cause
OLD LAW

Courts could dismiss case for cause:

 Loss to estate and unlikelihood of rehabilitation.

 Inability to effectuate plan.

 Unreasonable delay.

 Failure to propose plan.

 Denial of confirmation of proposed plan.

 No payment of fees.



Chapter 11: 

Convert or Dismiss For Cause
NEW LAW 

Courts MUST convert or dismiss case if cause 
exists.  Adds new further grounds for cause:

Failure to maintain insurance.

Unauthorized use of cash collateral.

Unexcused failure to file a document.

Failure to attend first meeting of creditors or Rule 
2004 examination.

Failure to pay taxes.

Failure to pay domestic support obligation.



Proofs of Claim



Proofs of Claim



Avoidable Transfers

Preferences

Fraudulent Conveyances

Post-Petition Transfers



Preferences

Preferences are transfers of property of the debtor:

Made for the benefit of a creditor;

Made on account of an antecedent debt;

Made while the debtor was insolvent;

Made within 90 days before the filing of the 

bankruptcy (one year, if transfer is to insider);

That allow the creditor to receive more than it would 

have if the transfer had not occurred and the creditor 

had received a distribution under a chapter 7. 



Fraudulent Transfers

Transfers of property of the debtor:
Within two years before the filing of the 
bankruptcy;

Made either 
 with actual intent to hinder, delay, or defraud a creditor; 

or

 for less than reasonably equivalent value

while the debtor was insolvent or

when the debtor was engaged in business with 
unreasonably small capital; or

intended to incur debts he couldn’t pay; or

to an insider under an “employment contract” not in 
the ordinary course of business.



Post-Petition Transfers

Post-Petition transfers are transfers of property 

of the estate:

Made after the commencement of the case;

That are not authorized by the bankruptcy code 

or the bankruptcy court.



Advice to Agencies

After the debtor has filed for bankruptcy, you may:

• Continue administrative process under “police power” 

exception in § 362(b)(4)

• Address license issues and assess civil penalties 

and/or costs on any orders issued post-petition

• File proofs of claim for already-assessed debts

• Where nothing is final yet, give estimate and say “estimated” 

after amount

• Amend proofs of claim to include additional debts once 

orders are entered 

• Start counting 60 days to finality of any not-yet-final 

order – when final, you can collect civil penalties



After debtor has filed for bankruptcy, you may 

NOT:

• Include bankruptcy as factor in your proceedings 

because it would violate §525

• Undertake any collection efforts on any debts during 

bankruptcy because it would violate automatic stay

Certain costs and penalties are discharged

• If debtor receives any kind of discharge, costs in pre-

petition final orders are discharged

• If debtor receives full discharge under §1328(a) in ch. 

13, civil penalties are discharged

• If debtor receives hardship discharge under §1328(b), 

then civil penalties are NOT discharged                            



Agency Questions
Effect of automatic stay on collection efforts

• Multiple parties responsible on single account

• Automatic stay protects ONLY debtors in bankruptcy and 

property of the estate

• If debtor is corporation, debtor’s owners are NOT protected

• If debtor is individual:

• LLC member files for bankruptcy, LLC is not debtor in that 

bankruptcy, so LLC is NOT protected

• Corporation’s shareholder/officer files for bankruptcy, corporation is 

not debtor in that bankruptcy, so corporation is NOT protected

• Partnership’s partner files for bankruptcy, partnership is not debtor 

in that bankruptcy, so partnership is NOT protected

• Sole proprietor of business files for bankruptcy, business IS 

included in that bankruptcy, so business IS protected

• Chapter 13 co-debtor stay only applies to consumer debts, 

which agency does not collect, so agency can go and collect



Secured portion of proof of claim with recorded 

warrant

• Value of property minus amount of any senior liens = 

secured portion of proof of claim

• Example: Property value = $500,000.  1st, 2nd and 3rd trust deeds 

ahead of agency = $450,000 total.  Agency’s secured claim = 

$50,000.

• Example: Property value = $500,000.  Agency recorded warrant 

before 3rd trust deed.  Agency’s secured claim = $150,000 and 

3rd trust deed may be completely unsecured.

• Unsecured portion of agency’s proof of claim is likely 

unsecured, though possibly priority, depending on facts 

and timing of claim   



Notice of debtor’s bankruptcy to agency

• Debtors are required to notify each state agency 

separately, but they often fail to do this

• If your agency is not listed as a creditor in debtor’s 

bankruptcy schedules, but you find out about it from 

sources other than debtor and his/her attorney:

• Proceed as if your agency had been listed in bankruptcy 

schedules

• Debt to your agency is NOT discharged if you received notice 

too late to file non-dischargeability complaint

• Debt to your agency is NOT discharged if you received notice 

too late to participate in distribution to unsecured creditors

• Debt to your agency is discharged if you received notice in time 

to participate in bankruptcy but did not (and debt is of type that is 

dischargeable)



Efforts to collect on pre-petition vs. post-petition 

debt

• Is debt really post-petition debt?  (Were the actions 

taken by debtor giving rise to the debt post-petition?)

• What kind of bankruptcy is it?  (Chapter 7 has different 

result than chapter 13 or chapter 11)

• What actions do you want to take?  (Administrative?  

Collection?  Recording a warrant?)

• Remember that debtor’s assets and bankruptcy estate’s 

assets are off-limits

• Contact DOJ to work through these questions



Be careful!  Before taking any collection action, be 
sure you are not violating the automatic stay. 

Be vigilant to protect your rights under chapters 7, 11, 
or 13 
 Review plans carefully and call DOJ if you think the debtor is 

trying to impair your claim. 

 File proof of claims early. 

 Give notice to the debtor and court about where you want 
notices to be filed.

Most important, if you have any question about 
bankruptcy, call DOJ for help!  

REMEMBER




