
Understanding 
Family and 
Medical 
Leave 

 

Requesting 
Family and 
Medical Leave 

Federal and state laws protect an  

employee’s absence from work under 

certain conditions.  

An employee must follow agency 

procedures to request leave. 

 

Thirty (30) days advance notice 

is generally required for a  

planned absence under FMLA 

and OFLA. In the event of  an  

emergency, an employee should 

contact his or her supervisor or 

the agency’s human resources 

office as-soon-as-possible. 

 

Depending on the leave type, an 

agency may require an employee 

to provide certification verifying 

the need for leave. 

Contact Us 

Agency Contact Information 
Human Resources Office 

Resources 

 State HR Policy - Family and Medical Leave 

(60.000.15) 

 Collective Bargaining Agreement (when appli-

cable) 

Posted in your work area 

 Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) -   

Oregon Family Leave Act, Notice to Employ-

ers and Employees 

 US Department of Labor - Employee Rights 

Under the Family and Medical Leave Act 

 

 

 

 

 



Under OFLA 

OFLA also allows an employee to use his or her 

twelve (12) week entitlement to tend to the serious 

health condition of his or her child (any age), par-

ent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, same-sex do-

mestic partner and the child or parent of the em-

ployee’s same-sex domestic partner, or to tend to 

the employee’s child under  18 with a non-serious 

health condition requiring home care. 

An eligible female employee who takes any amount 

of OFLA leave for pregnancy disability may take 

up to twelve (12) weeks additional OFLA leave for 

any OFLA purpose. 

An eligible employee using twelve (12) weeks of 

OFLA Parental Leave may take up to another 

twelve (12) weeks of leave under OFLA to care for 

a sick child with a non-serious health condition. 

OFLA also allows an employee to use his or her 

twelve (12) week entitlement for OFLA Military 

Family Leave (up to 14-days per deployment) 

which is leave an employee may take when his or 

her spouse or domestic partner is notified of an 

impending call; order to active  military duty or on 

active duty; before deployment; or during respite 

from active duty during deployment. 

Under FMLA and OFLA 

Under most circumstances, an eligible employee is 

allowed up to twelve (12) weeks of FMLA and 

OFLA for parental leave, or to tend to the employ-

ee’s own serious health condition , or the serious 

health condition of the employee’s spouse, parent, 

or child (under 18 years of age).  

Under FMLA 

An employee may use the twelve (12) week entitle-

ment for FMLA Qualifying Exigency Leave result-

ing from an employee’s spouse, parent, or child 

(no age limit) call to active duty in the military. 

An employee is allowed up to twenty-six (26) 

weeks of Military Caregiver Leave to care for the 

employee’s spouse, parent, child or next of kin 

who is a covered service member who has a seri-

ous illness or injury incurred in the line of duty on 

active duty.  

“An eligible employee is allowed up to 

twelve (12) weeks of FMLA and OFLA leave 

per rolling calendar year.” 

In addition, OFLA allows an employee to take 

two (2) weeks of  bereavement leave for the 

death of a covered family member.  The leave 

can be for attending the funeral, making arrange-

ments, or grieving. 

Eligibility 

Federal Family and Medical Leave 
Act (FMLA) 

An employee must work for the State of Oregon 

for twelve (12) months (with no more than a 

seven year break in service) and work 1,250 

hours during the 12-month period immediately 

preceding the leave. 

Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) 

Parental Leave: employee must be employed for 

the State of Oregon at least 180 calendar days 

immediately preceding the date the leave begins. 

Serious Health Condition or Sick Child leave: 

employee must be employed for the State of Or-

egon at least 180 calendar days immediately pre-

ceding the date the leave begins AND work an 

average of 25-hours per week. 

Military Family Leave: employee must be em-

ployed for the State of Oregon an average of 20-

hours per week (no 180 day requirement). 


