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 StatewideHR Policy 

 

POLICY 
STATEMENT: 

Oregon state government provides leave to employees in accordance with the Federal Family 
and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA).  

  

AUTHORITY: Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), as amended, 29 USC § 2601et seq; federal 
regulations 29 CFR Part 825; Oregon Military Family Leave Act, ORS 659A.090 through 
659A.099; Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA), as amended, ORS 659A.150 through 659A.186; 
ORS 659A.306; OAR 839-009-0200 through 839-009-0460; OAR 166-300-0010 through 166-
300-0045; OAR 101-030-0005 through 101-030-0027; the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA), as amended (including the ADA Amendments Act), 42 USC § 12101 et seq; the Fair 
Labor Standards Act (FLSA), as amended, 29 USC § 201 et seq; and the Uniform Services 
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA), as amended, 38 USC §4301 et seq. 

  

APPLICABILITY: All employees (including temporary employees) subject to ORS 240 State Personnel Relations 
Law, except where not in conflict with a collective bargaining agreement. 

  

ATTACHMENTS: Required postings:  
BOLI poster: Oregon Family Leave Act, Notice to Employers and Employees 
U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) poster: Employee Rights Under the Family and Medical 

Leave Act 
Medical or Military Certification (if agency is requiring certification) 

Medical Certification (PD 615A) 
FMLA Military Healthcare Certification (PD 615B) 
Qualifying Exigency Certification (PD 615C) 

Insurance benefits guide 
Public Employees’ Benefit Board FMLA-OFLA Benefit Matrix 

Additional policy requirements by leave-type 
A. Leave for a serious health condition 
B. Parental leave 
C. OFLA Sick Child leave 
D. FMLA Military Caregiver leave  
E. FMLA Qualifying Exigency leave 
F. OFLA Military Family leave 
G. OFLA Bereavement leave 

  

DEFINITIONS: (1) Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and Oregon Family and Medical Leave Act 
(OFLA): Federal and state laws that protect an employee’s absence from work under certain 
conditions. 

 

(2) For the purposes of this policy the Oregon Military Family Leave Act is referred to as 
OMFLA Military Family Leave. 

 

(3) Agency: For the purpose of this policy the word “agency” includes the appointing authority, 
the human resource staff, and individuals designated by the appointing authority to 
administer the agency’s Family and Medical leave program. 

 
 

 
 

SUBJECT: Family and Medical Leave NUMBER:                               60.000.15  
 

DIVISION: Chief Human Resource Office EFFECTIVE DATE:      01/01/14 
 

 

APPROVED:  Signature on file with the Chief Human Resources Office  
 



 
 

Policy: 60.000.15 2 of 10 Effective: 01/01/14  
 

 

StatewideHR Policy 

Family and Medical Leave 60.000.15 

(4) Subsequent sections of the policy include other definitions relevant to the FMLA or OFLA 
leave type. 

 

(5) State HR Policy 10.000.01 Definitions and OAR 105-010-0000. 

POLICY 
 

 

(1) FMLA and OFLA leaves are not optional. Federal and state law prohibit retaliating against an employee with respect 
to hiring or any other term or condition of employment because the employee asked about, requested or used any 
type of FMLA or OFLA leave. An agency grants an eligible employee up to 12 weeks (480 hours for a full-time 
employee who works 40 hours per week) of protected time off under FMLA and OFLA for the purposes listed in the 
chart below. The policy with its attachments, also describe exceptions to the 12-week entitlement. Other than the 
exceptions described in this policy or its policy attachments, an employee’s leave entitlement is limited to 12 weeks 
per leave in a 12 month time period, no matter how many different leave-types are used. 

 

Qualifying purposes under FMLA 
 

Qualifying purposes under OFLA 

To tend to the employee’s own serious health condition  
 

To tend to the employee’s own serious health condition 

To tend to the serious health condition of the employee’s: 
 

 Spouse: husband or wife as defined under Oregon 
      state law and a same sex spouse of an employee if they 

are married in a state that legally recognizes same sex 
marriage  

 

 Parent: the employee’s biological or adoptive mother or 
father, or an individual who stood in loco parentis1 (in 
place of a parent) when the employee was a child 

 

 Child: The employee’s biological, adopted, foster or 
stepchild, a legal ward, or a child of an employee standing 
in loco parentis. The child must be 17 years of age or 
younger. The age limit does not apply if the child is 
incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical 
disability under the ADA as interpreted by the EEOC per 
29 C.F.R. § 825.122(d)(2).  

 

To tend to the serious health condition of the employee’s: 
 

 Spouse or same-sex domestic partner as defined under 
Oregon state law 

 

 Parent: the employee’s biological or adoptive mother or 
father, or an individual who stood in loco parentis (in place 
of a parent) when the employee was a child, and the 
parent of the spouse or same- sex domestic partner 

 

 Child (of any age): The employee’s biological, adopted, 
foster or stepchild, a legal ward, or a child of an employee 
standing in loco parentis, and the child of the same-sex 
domestic partner 

 

 Grandparent or grandchild  
 

Parental leave: to care for the employee’s newborn, newly 
adopted child or newly placed foster child  
 

Parental leave: to care for the employee’s newborn, newly 
adopted child or newly placed foster child   

Qualifying Exigency leave: to attend to qualifying exigencies 
when the employee’s spouse, parent, son, or daughter is on 
active duty or called into active duty in support of a 
contingency operation for the military 
 

Sick child leave: to care for a child 17 years of age or 
younger who has a non-serious health condition and 
requires home care. The age limit does not apply if the child 
is incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical 
disability 
 

Military Caregiver leave: [Up to 26 weeks (1040 hours for a 
full-time employee who works 40 hours per week) in a single 
12-month period] to care for the employee’s spouse, parent, 
son or daughter of any age, or next of kin who is a covered 
service member with a serious injury or illness incurred in 
the line of duty on active duty, or a veteran discharged 
under other than dishonorable conditions within five years of 
receiving medical treatment, recuperation or therapy for a 

An eligible female employee taking any amount of OFLA 
leave for her own pregnancy-related disability may take up 
to 12 more weeks of OFLA leave in the same leave year for 
any OFLA-qualifying purpose. 
____________________________________________________________ 

An eligible employee taking a full 12 weeks of Parental 
leave under OFLA may take up to 12 additional weeks of 
OFLA leave in the same leave year for Sick Child leave.  

                                            
 
1 The Wage and Hour Division of the US Department of Labor issued an Administrator’s Interpretation No. 2010-3 on June 22, 2010 to clarify the definition 
of “son or daughter” under Section 101(12) of the FMLA as it applies to an employee standing “in loco parentis” to a child.  
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Qualifying purposes under FMLA 
 

Qualifying purposes under OFLA 

serious injury or illness.  
 

The single 12 month period is applied on the following basis: 
per covered service member, per injury or illness. This 
includes (is not in addition to) time used for other FMLA-
qualifying purposes during the 12-month period. 
 

____________________________________________________________ 

Military Family leave: [Up to 14 working days per 
deployment] related to the deployment of an employee’s 
spouse or same-sex domestic partner. The 14 days is 
included in the 12-week OFLA entitlement. 

 Bereavement leave: [Up to two weeks per family member, in 
a one year time period to be taken within 60 days of 
notification of the death] to deal with the death of a family 
member by: attending the funeral or alternative to a funeral, 
making arrangements necessitated by the death, or 
grieving.]  

 

(a) An agency prorates the FMLA or OFLA leave entitlement for part-time employees. Examples: (1) The 
entitlement for a part-time employee who works 30 hours a week is up to 12 weeks of leave at 30 hours a week 
or 360 hours of intermittent or reduced-schedule leave in a 12-month period for his or her own serious health 
condition; (2) An employee who uses FMLA Military Caregiver leave and works 30 hours a week is entitled to 
up to 26 weeks of leave at 30 hours a week or 780 hours of intermittent or reduced-schedule leave in a 12-
month period.  

 

(b) An eligible limited duration or temporary employee’s FMLA or OFLA leave ends when the employee’s 
assignment expires regardless of whether the person has exhausted his or her leave entitlement.  

 

(2) Required posting: The agencyAgencies must display the following posters in the worksite: “Oregon Family Leave 
Act, Notice to Employers and Employees” and “Employee Rights Uunder the Family and Medical Leave Act.” These 
posters can be accessed electronically as an attachment to the policy, or through the US Department of Labor and 
the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries.  

 

(a) Federal law requires that an agency to giveprovide FMLA information to applicants and employees upon hire. 
To satisfy the first requirement, DAS posted a link to FMLA information on the E-Recruit Applicant Information 
page. The second requirement can be satisfied by the agency giving the newly hired employee a copy of the 
FMLA poster or by using another method of informing newly hired employees about FMLA.  

 

(3) An agency follows this policy for all FMLA and OFLA leave-types. Additional requirements for specific leave-
types are contained in the following policy attachments: 

 

(a) Leave for a serious health condition 
 

(b) Parental leave 
 

(c) OFLA Sick Child leave  
 

(d) FMLA Military Caregiver leave 
 

(e) FMLA Qualifying Exigency leave 
 

(f) OMFLA Military Family leave 
 

(g) OLFA Bereavement leave 
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(4) Eligibility for leave: The agency determines eligibility for leave using the chart below. Eligibility is not pro-rated for 
part-time employees. 

 

Employees Eligible for FMLA 
 

Employees Eligible for OFLA 

To qualify for all FMLA leave-types the employee must have 
worked for Oregon state government for a total of at least 12 
months (if months are non-consecutive there can be no more 
than a seven-year break in service) and worked for at least 
1250 hours during the 12-month period immediately 
preceding the leave. 
 

To qualify for leave for serious health condition Sick Child  
orChild or Bereavement leave the employee must have 
worked for Oregon state government for a period of 180 
calendar days immediately preceding the date leave begins 
and worked an average of 25 hours per week. 
 

 To qualify for Parental leave the employee must have worked 
for Oregon state government for a period of 180 calendar 
days immediately preceding the date leave begins. 
 

 To qualify for OFLA Military Family leave the employee need 
only work for Oregon state government an average of 20 
hours per week. 
 

 

(a) The agency counts only the hours the employee was actually at worked (not on paid or unpaid leave), the hours 
worked in another state agency, hours worked as a temporary employee (state or Qualified Rehabilitation 
Facility temp) for a state agency, and military leave-time (per federal USERRA law and State HR Policy 
60.000.25 Military Leave), to determine an employee’s eligibility for FMLA and OFLA leave. 

 

(b) An agency uses a “rolling backward” year to determine the employee’s total entitlement. This means an agency 
looks backward on the calendar for one year from the first day of the requested leave. The agency reduces the 
employee’s FMLA entitlement by any FMLA leave used in the previous 12 months for the employee’s own or a 
family member’s serious health condition, Parental leave, FMLA Military Caregiver leave or FMLA Qualifying 
Exigency leave. The agency reduces the employee’s OFLA entitlement by any OFLA leave used in the previous 
12 months for the employee’s own or a family member’s serious health condition, Parental leave, Sick Child 
leave, OMFLA Military Family leave and OFLA Bereavement leave. 

 

(c) To determine the amount of an employee’s entitlement to FMLA Military Caregiver leave, the agency uses a 
“rolling forward” leave year. This means the leave year for Military Caregiver leave starts on the first day of the 
first occurrence of Military Caregiver leave. The employee has one year from the first day of the leave to use the 
26-week leave entitlement. If the employee exhausts the leave before the year is over, the employee is not 
eligible for additional FMLA Military Caregiver leave during that year. The agency does not reduce the 
employee’s entitlement to FMLA Military Caregiver leave by the amount of FMLA leave used prior to the start of 
the Military Caregiver leave. 

 

(5) Types of leave schedules: 
 

(a) Continuous leave: Leave taken in a block of time. For example, an employee takes six weeks of leave due to 
illness.  

 

(b) Intermittent leave: Leave taken sporadically. For example, an employee misses five days of work a month due 
to a serious health condition. Conditions for use of intermittent leave are outlined in the policy attachments for 
each specific leave-type, where applicable.  

 

(c) Reduced-schedule leave: Leave taken where the employee is scheduled to work less than the employee’s 
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normal hours in a day or week. For example, an employee scheduled to work eight hours a day, works six 
hours and takes the remaining two hours as FMLA and OFLA due to a serious health condition. Conditions for 
use of reduced-schedule leave are outlined in the policy attachments for each specific leave-type, where 
applicable. 

 

(6) Dual entitlement: If the reason for the leave qualifies under both FMLA and OFLA, an agency designates both 
FMLA and OFLA leave to an eligible employee, except in the following circumstance:  

 

(a) An agency does not designate OFLA if an employee is absent due to a disabling compensable injury (ORS 
656.005(7)) or pending a determination of a workers’ compensation claim. If the claim is denied or if an 
employee refuses an offer of transitional work (see State HR Policy 50.020.05 Early Return to Work of Injured 
Workers), an agency immediately designates OFLA leave if the employee meets eligibility and purpose 
requirements. If the denial is reversed upon appeal, an agency restores the designated OFLA hours to the 
employee.  

 

(7) Entitlement when spouses and family members work for Oregon state government:  
 

(a) Spouses who are both employed by Oregon state government share the FMLA entitlement for Parental leave, 
leave to care for a parent with a serious health condition, and FMLA Military Caregiver leave. An agency (or 
agencies) may choose to lift the requirement that spouses share the entitlement when the absence of both 
employees does not cause a hardship for the agency.  

 

(b) Family members who are employed by Oregon state government may not take OFLA leave at the same time 
unless: 

 

(A) One employee needs to care for the other employee who is suffering from a serious health condition. 
 

(B) One employee needs to take care of a child with a serious health condition while the other employee is 
suffering from a serious health condition. 

 

(C) Both employees have a serious health condition 
 
(D) The employees are taking OFLA Bereavement leave. 

 

(E) An agency (or agencies) chooses to grant permission to use leave at the same time when the absence of 
the family members does not cause a hardship for the agency. 

 

(8) Employee requirements to request FMLA or OFLA leave: An employee makes a request to the agency at least 
30 calendar days in advance for a planned or foreseeable absence2. The employee is not required to use the words 
FMLA or OFLA, but he or she must give enough information that the agency can determine if the reason for the 
leave might qualify as FMLA, OFLA or both. If the employee does not give enough information, the agency may ask 
questions as to the nature of the leave.  Exceptions: 
 

(a) For medical emergencies, other unforeseeable events or short-notice situations, an employee, or his or her 
family member if the employee is medically unable, must notify the agency as soon as possible. 

 

(b) For unplanned absences of OFLA Sick Child leave or pre-approved intermittent leave, an employee follows 
agency call-in procedures and states the leave is to care for his or her sick child or for pre-approved FMLA or 
OFLA leave. 

 

(c) For OFLA Military Family leave, an employee notifies the agency within five business days of the employee’s 
spouse or same-sex domestic partner receiving official notice of an impending call or order to active duty or of a 
leave from deployment, or as soon as possible in situations where official notice is provided less than five days 
from commencement of the leave.  

                                            
 
2 The penalty for failure to give a 30 day notice is located in 29 CFR § 825.302 for an employee using exclusively FMLA and in ORS 659A.165 for an 
employee using exclusively OFLA. 
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(9) Agency’s response to a request for OFLA Sick Child leave: When initially designating OFLA Sick Child leave, 

the agency sends written notification to the employee stating whether the employee is eligible for OFLA Sick Child 
leave, the employee’s rights and responsibilities under OFLA including coding time appropriately, and any 
requirement to provide medical certification after the third occurrence of OFLA Sick Child leave in a 12-month 
period. 

 

(10) Agency’s initial response to a request for FMLA or OFLA leave and eligibility determination3: Under most 
circumstances an agency provides an initial written response to the employee within five business days telling the 
employee whether he or she is eligible for FMLA or OFLA leave, that the leave may count as FMLA, OFLA or both, 
and:  

 

(a) If the employee is not eligible for one or both leaves, the agency provides at least one reason for the 
determination. For example, the employee has not worked enough hours to qualify.  

 

(b) If the employee is eligible for one or both leaves, the agency may provisionally designate the leave until the 
employee provides further information. Additionally, the agency notifies the employee of his or her rights and 
responsibilities listed in Section (12), and whether the employee must provide medical or military certification or 
military orders (in order for the agency to determine if the employee’s reason for the leave qualifies as FMLA, 
OFLA or both). If the agency requires medical or military certification or military orders, the agency must also 
notify the employee of the consequence for failing to provide the information.  
 

(11) Agency’s determination if leave qualifies as FMLA, OFLA or both: Within five business days of receiving 
information such as a medical or military certification or military orders, the agency provides the employee with a 
written response that states, whether the reason for the employee’s leave qualifies as FMLA, OFLA or both, and:  

 

(a) If the employee’s reason or purpose for the leave does not qualify for FMLA, OFLA or both, the agency provides 
at least one reason for the determination. For example, the leave did not qualify as a serious health condition.  

 

(b) If the employee’s reason or purpose for leave qualifies as FMLA, OFLA or both, the agency designates the 
leave as such and notifies the employee of: 

 

(A) His or her rights and responsibilities listed in Section (12)  
 

(B) The amount of weeks, days or hours of leave that will count against the employee’s FMLA and OFLA 
entitlements if the leave is taken in a block of time or as a predictable reduced schedule 

 

(C) If the FMLA leave is intermittent or it is not possible to provide the specific amount of time that will counts 
against the employee’s FMLA entitlement, the employee may request that the agency provide a notice of 
the amount counted against FMLA. The request can be no more than every 30 days and only when the 
employee has FMLA during those 30 days. 

 

(12) Employee’s rights and responsibilities under FMLA and OFLA:   
 

(a) Employees are entitled to receive a description of the rolling backward leave year used to calculate FMLA and 
OFLA. 

 

(b) Employees must use paid leave according to this policy or a collective bargaining agreement. 
 

(c) Employees are entitled to insurance premium information, including the requirement to repay insurance 
premiums paid by the agency if the employee does not return to work. 
 

(d) An employee who requests leave for his or her own serious health condition is entitled to know whether the 
agency will require a fitness-for-duty certification before returning to work. The fitness-for-duty certificate must 

                                            
 
3 An agency may designate or deny FMLA or OFLA leave in the initial written response if the agency has enough information to make the determination if 
the employee is eligible and his or her need for leave qualifies. The agency’s response must include (where applicable) the provisions in Sections (10)(a), 
(11) and(12). 
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verify whether the employee is able to return to work, whether the employee has any job-related restrictions, 
and the duration of any restrictions.  

 
(13) Core Insurance: During months when an employee uses FMLA FMLA or OFLA, the agency pays its share of 

health care contributions for the a benefit eligible employee’s enrolled core benefits (medical, dental, and vision and 
basic employee-only life insurance) for an employee otherwise qualified for insurance. An employee must continue 
to pay his or her share of the premium payment and any surcharges related to his or her core benefitsinsurance 
plan. An employee in a leave without pay is required to make arrangements with the agency to pay for his or her 
share of the premium payments and surcharges associated with the employee’s core benefitsplan. A family 
member may make arrangements to make premium payments if the employee is incapacitated. Core benefit 
Ppremium payments made by the agency on an employee’s behalf may be recovered by the agency.  

 
(a) An employee may be required to reimburse an agency for the employer’s portion of insurance premiums paid 

on the employee’s behalf if the employee fails to return to work, unless the reason for the employee’s failure to 
return is a continuation, recurrence, or onset of a serious health condition of the employee or employee’s family 
member, a continuation, recurrence, or onset of a serious illness or injury of a covered servicemember or other 
circumstances beyond the employee’s control.  

 

(b) If an employee works an insufficient number of hours in a month or uses an insufficient amount of leave to 
cover his or her optional insurances while on FMLA and OFLA, the employee must pay premiums for the 
optional insurances that may be continued. 
 

(c) When leave does not qualify under FMLA or OFLA, Aall insurance coverage terminates when the employee, 
who is not in an current Affordable Care Act (ACA) Stability Period, does not work enough hours in the month, 
or uses insufficient paid leave, or fails to make a premium payment. Should the employee wish the insurance to 
continue, he or she may self-pay some insurance premiums under COBRA. The employee receives information 
about self-paying insurance through a third-party administrator.    

(b)(d)  
 

(c) When the leave qualifies only under OFLA, the employee must work enough hours or use sufficient paid leave 
in a month for insurance coverage to continue in the next month. All insurance coverage terminates when the 
employee does not work enough hours in the month or uses insufficient paid leave. If the employee wishes the 
insurance to continue, he or she may self-pay some insurance premiums under COBRA. The employee 
receives information about self-paying insurance through a third-party administrator.  

(d)(e)  

(e)(f) Donated leave received from other employees applies first to the payment of the employee’s insurance 
premiums for medical, dental and basic employee-only life insurance when the employee is on OFLA 
onlyunpaid unprotected leave.4  

 

(f)(g) Refer to the attached “Public Employees’ Benefit Board FMLA-OFLA Benefit Matrix” for the effect on an 
employee’s insurance when returning from FMLA or OFLA leave. 
 

(14) Use of paid leave: FMLA and OFLA are unpaid leave entitlements. However, this policy requires an employee to 
use available paid leave prior to using leave without pay with some exceptions listed in the chart below. The agency 
counts all paid and unpaid leave used during FMLA and OFLA leave toward the employee’s FMLA and OFLA 
entitlement. An employee chooses whether to use compensatory time (unless required by a collective bargaining 
agreement).  

                                            
 
4 See the OSPA Reference Manual, Family and Medical Leave Handbook; State HR Policy 60.025.01; and an applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement 
for more information about an employee’s eligibility to receive donated leave and how an agency administers donated leave.  
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Leave situation  Represented Employees  
(The column below is the employee’s 

requirement to use or reserve leave in the 
leave situation listed in 
the left-hand column) 

 Management Service, Unclassified 
Executive Service or Unrepresented 

Employees  
(The column below is the employee’s 

requirement to use or reserve leave in the 
situation listed in the far left-hand column) 

     

Employee is on any FMLA, 
OFLA or both leaves-types in 
a block of time, and, 
employee is not on OFLA 
Military Family leave, 
workers’ compensation or 
receiving payments from a 
disability provider.   

 Employee must use paid leave but may be 
able to reserve leave according to an 
applicable collective bargaining agreement. 
Employee may not reserve accrued paid 
leave when on intermittent or reduced-
schedule leave.  

 Employee must use paid leave but may reserve 
40 60 hours of sick or vacation leave or a 
combination of both. Employee may not reserve 
accrued paid leave when on intermittent or 
reduced-schedule leave. 

Employee receives payments 
from a disability provider at 
the same time that he or she 
is on FMLA only or FMLA and 
OFLA. 

 Employee chooses if he or she will use paid 
leave. Employee resumes use of accrued paid 
leave when disability payments end. 

 Employee chooses if he or she will use paid 
leave. Employee resumes use of accrued paid 
leave when disability payments end. 

Employee is on OFLA Military 
Family leave. 
 

 Employee chooses if he or she will use paid 
leave. If the employee chooses to use 
accrued paid leave, the employee chooses 
the order in which to use the leave. 

 Employee chooses if he or she will use paid 
leave. If the employee chooses to use accrued 
paid leave, the employee chooses the order in 
which to use the leave. 

Employee is on time loss 
through workers’ 
compensation while on FMLA 
leave. 

 Employee can only use accrued paid leave to 
supplement the workers’ compensation 
payment to equal the difference between the 
workers’ compensation payment and his or 
her normal salary. (A collective bargaining 
agreement may have further requirements or 
different provisions.) 

 Employee chooses whether he or she will 
supplement the workers’ compensation 
payment with accrued paid leave to equal the 
difference between the workers’ compensation 
payment and his or her normal salary. 

Employee is on OFLA 
Bereavement Leave 

 The first few days are paid by the employer, if 
the employee is eligible per thespecified in a 
relevant collective bargaining agreement. and  
the employee meets the eligibility requirement 
under the collective bargaining agreement. 
Employee uses his or her own accrued paid 
leave for time that is not employer paid. 
Employee may request donated hardship 
leave if addressed in a collective bargaining 
agreement. 

 Eligible employees are paid for Tthe first three 
days (24 hours), prorated for part time 
employees), are paid by the employer per 
occurrence if the employee meets the eligibility 
requirement under State HR Policy 60.000.10 
Special Leaves with Pay. The employee is 
required to use his or her own accrued paid 
leave for the remainder of the period. The 
employee may request donated hardship leave 
if the employee will be in leave without pay 
during bereavement leave. The employee may 
receive up to 40 hours of donated leave per 
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Leave situation  Represented Employees  

(The column below is the employee’s 
requirement to use or reserve leave in the 

leave situation listed in 
the left-hand column) 

 Management Service, Unclassified 
Executive Service or Unrepresented 

Employees  
(The column below is the employee’s 

requirement to use or reserve leave in the 
situation listed in the far left-hand column) 

occurrence.  

 

(15) Returning from leave:  
 

(a) An agency has the option to require an employee who returns from leave for his or her own serious health 
condition to provide a fitness for duty statement from a health care provider. The statement must certify that the 
employee is able to return to work, whether the employee has any job-related restrictions, and the duration of 
any restrictions. (The agency must communicate this requirement when it initially responds to the employee’s 
request for leave.)  
 

(b) Reinstatement rights:  
 

(A) An agency restores an employee who returns from OFLA only, or OFLA and FMLA used at the same time 
to the position of employment held by the employee when the leave began. If the position no longer exists, 
or if the employee returns from FMLA only, an agency returns the employee to an equivalent position with 
equivalent pay, benefits and other terms and conditions of employment. The following exceptions apply: 

 

(i) If an agency eliminates the employee’s position through layoff, the agency treats the employee as if the 
employee was not on FMLA, OFLA or both, in the same manner as similarly situated employees, 
according to the agency’s policy or applicable collective bargaining agreement. 

 

(ii) An agency restores an unclassified, temporary or limited duration employee to the extent the 
employee’s placement, appointment or position still exists.   

 

(iii) If an employee does not return from leave or is unable to perform an essential function of the position 
that the employee held prior to the commencement of FMLA, OFLA or both, with or without reasonable 
accommodation, the employee may be subject to termination under applicable law, rule, policy or 
collective bargaining agreement. 

 

(B) An agency has no obligation to continue to employ an employee who has exhausted his or her FMLA and 
OFLA leave if the employee cannot return to the position he or she held prior to FMLA and OFLA, or cannot 
perform an essential function of the position, with or without reasonable accommodation.5 The following 
exceptions apply: 

 

(i) An employee who cannot return to work after exhausting his or her FMLA and OFLA leave entitlement, 
who still has sick leave, must notify the agency of the need to continue his or her absence using 
accrued sick leave according to State HR Policy 60.000.01 Sick Leave with Pay, an applicable agency 

                                            
 
5 An employee has reinstatement rights under FMLA and OFLA as long as the employee returns immediately (the next business day for an employee on 

full-day leave) after the employee’s leave entitlement ends and can perform all essential functions of the position. An agency may still have an obligation to 
employ the person but it is no longer under FMLA and OFLA. 
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policy, or an applicable collective bargaining agreement.  
 

(ii) An agency has the option to grant an employee’s request to extend an absence when continuing the 
leave does not impose an undue hardship on the agency and it complies with law, policy, applicable 
collective bargaining agreement, and reasonable accommodation provisions of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act Amendments Act (ADAAA). An agency may request that the employee provide medical 
certification that verifiesverifying the need for continued leave. 

 

(16) Effect on seniority, salary increases and recognized service date: Use of FMLA and OFLA does not affect an 
employee’s seniority, eligibility for salary increases or the employee’s recognized service date. The agency treats 
an employee using FMLA or OFLA leave as if the employee is not on leave, up to the point where the employee’s 
FMLA and OFLA entitlement ends. Unpaid leave affects an employee’s PERS retirement benefits. 

 

(17) FMLA and OFLA recordkeeping:  An agency maintains records of the FMLA and OFLA leave taken by its 
employees according to the recordkeeping requirements and purging schedules of OAR 166-300-0035(3)(5)(6). An 
agency keeps FMLA and OFLA medical records in a locked file, separate from an employee’s personnel file. If an 
employee who is on FMLA or OFLA transfers to another agency, the sending agency does not send the employee’s 
medical file, instead the sending agency provides number of hours worked in the past 12 months and any FMLA or 
OFLA taken in the past 12 months. At the employee’s request, the agency may provide a copy of the medical file to 
the employee. The employee may choose to provide a copy of the file to the receiving agency. 

 
(18) An agency may send all Eligibility and Ddesignation letters to the employee’s throughwork email at work 

before and after the time the employee is on FMLA or OFLA leave. The agency may send eligibility and 
designation letters throughto the employee’s personal email if the employee wants to provide their 
personal email address during the time the employee in on FMLA or OFLA leave. Otherwise, Eeligibility and 
Ddesignation letters are delivered in person or sent through the US mail. An agency may not send an 
employee’s completed medical certification in an unprotected manner through email. However, the agency 
is not prohibited from receiving medical documentation via email if the employee chooses to provide it in 
this manner.  

 

(19) Refer to the appropriate federal and state laws for situations regarding family and medical leave not covered in the 
policy. 


