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Paid Leave Oregon passed into law in 2019 and provides employees easy access to paid leave benefits for 
events that impact their families, health, and safety.  

  
 

  
1. Who administers Paid Leave Oregon?  

Paid Leave Oregon is administered by the Oregon Employment Department.  
  

2. When do contribu�ons begin?  
Contribu�ons began with your Jan. 3, 2023, paycheck. Learn more about contribu�ons to Paid Leave 
Oregon on their website at htps://paidleave.oregon.gov/  

  

3. If contribu�ons began in January 2023, why were they deducted from my December 2022 (paid January 2023) 
wages?  
Paid Leave Oregon contribu�ons are made based on the date of pay (January 2023), not when the hours 
being paid were worked (December 2022).  

  
4. What is the contribu�on rate?  

The contribu�on rate for 2024 is 1% of gross wages up to $132,900. Learn more about contribu�ons to Paid 
Leave Oregon on their website at htps://paidleave.oregon.gov/employees/overview.html  

  

5. How much money is being deducted from my paycheck for Paid Leave Oregon?  
Employees pay 60% of the 1% total contribu�on rate. For example, if your paycheck totals $1,000, you would pay 
$6 for your por�on of the contribu�on rate for that month’s paycheck.  

  
6. What are contribu�ons based on?  

Contribu�ons are based on your gross taxable income (before any pre-tax deduc�ons are made). 
 
7. Are there tax implica�ons when receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits? 

There may be. Please refer to this Taxability Fact Sheet from the Paid Leave Oregon website. 
  

8. I am a seasonal employee; do I make contribu�ons to Paid Leave Oregon?  
Yes, all employees will contribute to Paid Leave Oregon regardless of their appointment type (Limited Dura�on, 
Permanent, Temporary, Seasonal, etc.)  

  
9. Will contribu�ons be deducted even if I don’t receive a full month’s paycheck?  

Yes, contribu�ons are deducted on any wages earned.  
  

10. Can employees opt-out of contribu�ng to Paid Leave Oregon?  
No, employees cannot opt-out of contribu�ng to Paid Leave Oregon.  

  
 
 

 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors657B.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors657B.html
https://paidleave.oregon.gov/
https://paidleave.oregon.gov/
https://paidleave.oregon.gov/employees/overview.html
https://paidleave.oregon.gov/employees/overview.html
https://d1o0i0v5q5lp8h.cloudfront.net/paidleave/live/assets/resources/Taxability-Fact-Sheet-EN.pdf
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11. Is Paid Leave Oregon a program only for State of Oregon employees?  
No, Paid Leave Oregon applies to all employers who have employees working in Oregon. *There are excep�ons 
for those who are self-employed or who work for tribal or federal governments.  

  
12. I work remotely full-�me outside of Oregon; will I contribute to Paid Leave Oregon?  

No, employees who work full-�me outside of Oregon do not contribute to Paid Leave Oregon and are not eligible 
to receive benefits.  

  
13. I rou�nely work remotely two or three days a week outside of Oregon; will I contribute to Paid Leave Oregon?  

Yes, employees who have a set schedule (rou�ne) for days worked both within and outside of Oregon will 
contribute to Paid Leave Oregon on all wages earned in and outside of Oregon. Learn more about remote work 
and out-of-state work on the Paid Leave Place of Performance Fact Sheet.  

  
14. I work mainly from outside of Oregon and occasionally work in Oregon; will I contribute to Paid Leave Oregon?  

No, employees whose work within Oregon is intermitent and irregular (temporary, transitory, or isolated in 
nature) will not contribute to Paid Leave Oregon on any of their wages. Learn more about remote work and out-
of-state work on the Paid Leave Place of Performance Fact Sheet.  

  
15. I work mainly within Oregon but occasionally work in Idaho; will I contribute to Paid Leave Oregon?  

Yes, employees whose work outside of Oregon is intermitent and irregular (temporary, transitory, or isolated in 
nature), will contribute to Paid Leave Oregon on all wages earned in and outside of Oregon. Learn more about 
remote work and out-of-state work on the Paid Leave Place of Performance Fact Sheet.  

  

16. How will Paid Leave Oregon know that I work remotely full �me and am not eligible for contribu�ons? 
Contribu�ons will be deducted in compliance with Paid Leave Oregon rules and remote work agreements housed 
within Workday and Workday �me tracking. See Workday Knowledge Ar�cle to submit or update your Remote 
Work Agreement. 

  
17. Who do I contact if I believe contribu�ons are being incorrectly withheld from my paycheck?  

We recommend making sure your remote work agreement is accurate and up to date. If you feel it is, please 
contact your Human Resources Department for further assistance.  

  

18. If I leave state service, are my contribu�ons returned to me?  
No, contribu�ons go into the trust fund that all employees working in Oregon may benefit from.  

  
AGENCY NOTIFICATION  

  
19. Who do I no�fy within my agency that I have a need for leave?  

       Employees may no�fy their manager or HR Department that they have a need for leave.  
 
 
 
 

https://d1o0i0v5q5lp8h.cloudfront.net/paidleave/live/assets/resources/PaidLeave-Place-of-Performance-Fact-Sheet-EN.pdf
https://d1o0i0v5q5lp8h.cloudfront.net/paidleave/live/assets/resources/PaidLeave-Place-of-Performance-Fact-Sheet-EN.pdf
https://d1o0i0v5q5lp8h.cloudfront.net/paidleave/live/assets/resources/PaidLeave-Place-of-Performance-Fact-Sheet-EN.pdf
https://d1o0i0v5q5lp8h.cloudfront.net/paidleave/live/assets/resources/PaidLeave-Place-of-Performance-Fact-Sheet-EN.pdf
https://d1o0i0v5q5lp8h.cloudfront.net/paidleave/live/assets/resources/PaidLeave-Place-of-Performance-Fact-Sheet-EN.pdf
https://d1o0i0v5q5lp8h.cloudfront.net/paidleave/live/assets/resources/PaidLeave-Place-of-Performance-Fact-Sheet-EN.pdf
https://d1o0i0v5q5lp8h.cloudfront.net/paidleave/live/assets/resources/PaidLeave-Place-of-Performance-Fact-Sheet-EN.pdf
https://wd5.myworkday.com/oregon/d/inst/b7a1b2565493010156a6834fd3090000/rel-task/2998$40834.htmld
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20. Why do I have to no�fy my manager that I’m taking a sick day if it will be covered by Paid Leave Oregon? 
If you are eligible for job protec�ons, they need to know. Also, if you are using Paid Leave Oregon you can use 
Leave Without Pay before exhaus�ng all accrued leave. If you were not using Paid Leave Oregon, you would need 
to use your accrued leave as outlined in your collec�ve bargaining agreement or policy. 

  

21. When must I no�fy my agency that I will be taking leave?  
Employees must provide at least 30 calendar days’ no�ce to the agency before commencing family, medical or 
safe leave under Paid Leave Oregon, when foreseeable.   

If the leave is not foreseeable, an employee must give verbal no�ce within 24 hours of the beginning of the leave 
and writen no�ce within three days of the beginning of the leave.  

22. What happens if I don’t no�fy my agency within the established �me frames?  
Failure to no�fy the agency �mely may result in a reduced Paid Leave Oregon benefit payment.  

  

23. Do I s�ll have to follow my call-in procedures while taking Paid Leave Oregon?  
Employees are expected to follow agency call-in procedures.  

24. Do I need to no�fy my agency if my need for Paid Leave Oregon changes a�er I have begun receiving benefits?  
Yes, you must no�fy your agency of any changes in Paid Leave Oregon status.  

  
    
BENEFITS  

 
 

25. Who decides if I’m eligible for benefits?  
Employees apply directly to Paid Leave Oregon - Paid Leave Oregon determines who qualifies for benefits and 
the amount of benefits they receive. Learn more about the program at 
htps://paidleave.oregon.gov/employees/overview.html  

  

26. Do I have to exhaust my accrued leave prior to receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits?  
No, you do not have to exhaust your accrued leave prior to receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits.  

  
27. Am I required to apply for Paid Leave Oregon when taking medical, family, or safe leave?  

No, you are not required to apply for Paid Leave Oregon.  
  

28. How will my agency know I’m approved to receive benefits?  
Paid Leave Oregon will no�fy the agency when an applica�on has been received and again, when an applica�on 
is approved.  

  
29. Will Paid Leave Oregon benefits be considered PERS subject wages?  

No, Paid Leave Oregon benefits are not PERS subject wages.  

  
 

https://paidleave.oregon.gov/employees/overview.html
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30. Will Paid Leave Oregon benefits count as PERS �me of service?  
No, Paid Leave Oregon benefits do not count towards PERS �me of service.  

  
31. If I use leave without pay while receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits, will I s�ll receive that �me as PERS �me 

of service?  
Possibly.  If the greater por�on of the month (11 days or more) is leave without pay, the month will not count 
towards PERS �me of service.  

  
32. Does Paid Leave Oregon replace FMLA and OFLA?  

No, Paid Leave Oregon does not replace FMLA and OFLA.  Paid Leave Oregon runs concurrently with FMLA and 
OFLA, when applicable.  
  

33. *If I’m approved for Paid Leave Oregon benefits, will I automa�cally be approved for FMLA/OFLA by my agency? 
If you are eligible for FMLA and OFLA and the condi�on qualifies you will be automa�cally designated for FMLA 
and/or OFLA based on applica�on for or approval of Paid Leave Oregon for a continuous leave. If your leave is 
intermittent you will need to follow your agency’s normal process for applying for protected leave.   

  
34. May I submit the same documenta�on to the agency for FMLA/OFLA that I submited to Paid Leave Oregon 

suppor�ng the need for leave?  
   Yes, you may submit the same documenta�on. If more informa�on is needed, your agency will no�fy you.  

     
35. Will the agency con�nue to pay for my insurance benefits while I receive Paid Leave Oregon benefits?  

For employees who have 90 days or more of con�nuous state employment, the agency will con�nue to maintain 
an employee’s core insurances – Health, Dental and Basic Life Insurance. Employees are responsible for paying the 
employee por�on of the insurance premiums.  

 
36. How will employees pay their por�on of insurance benefits (medical, dental, vision) while on leave? 

Employees will follow their agency’s normal procedure for paying for benefits while on leave.  
  

37. Will taking Paid Leave Oregon affect my seniority, salary increases and recognized service date?   
No, the receipt of Paid Leave Oregon does not affect an employee’s seniority, eligibility for salary increases or the 
employee’s recognized service date.  

  
38. Will I accrue �me off when receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits?  

Paid Leave Oregon benefits do not count as �me worked towards your accruals.  
  

39. Will I receive holiday pay while receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits?  
You will receive holiday pay as outlined in your collec�ve bargaining agreement or statewide policy while receiving 
Paid Leave Oregon.  
  

40. How does receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits impact my ability to request donated hardship leave?  
Under policy employees are not eligible for donated leave while receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits. Please be 
sure to confirm under your specific CBA. 
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41. If a seasonal employee applied and is approved for Paid Leave Oregon benefits while in season, and the season 

ends while on receiving benefits do their Paid Leave Oregon benefits end?  
Paid Leave Oregon benefits will end when the seasonal employment ends.  

 
42. What if I work on a day that I’ve been approved to use Paid Leave Oregon? 

If an employee works on a day that they also received Paid Leave Oregon benefits, the employee will be 
inaccurately paid by Paid Leave Oregon. Paid Leave Oregon will work out the overpayment with the employee. 
 

43. Is there a reconcilia�on between Paid Leave Oregon and the agency? 
Yes, details are s�ll being determined however there will be a reconcilia�on as to the dates Paid Leave is taken 
and days that are worked. 
  

USE OF ACCRUED LEAVE  
  
44. Am I required to use my accrued leave while receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits?     

No, you are not required to use your accrued leave while receiving Paid Leave Oregon.   
  

45. *May an employee “top off” their Paid Leave Oregon payments by using their own accrued leave?  
Yes, employees may use their accrued leave in any amount (up to their scheduled hours) on the dates they 
receive Paid Leave Oregon.  

  
46. *May an employee use their own accrued leave �me to receive more than 100% of their wages between the 

accrued leave and Paid Leave Oregon?  
 Yes, employees may use their accrued leave in any amount on the dates they receive Paid Leave Oregon (up to 
their full normal hours). Please note you cannot be paid more than your normal salary by the agency, however; 
when combined with Paid Leave Oregon benefits you may receive more than 100% of your normal wages. 

   
47. *May an employee use their own accrued leave �me while their applica�on for Paid Leave Oregon is pending?  

          Yes, employees may use their accrued leave in any amount (up to their full normal hours) while their applica�on 
for Paid Leave Oregon is pending.  

   
48. *Who is responsible for determining the amount of accrued an employee needs to use each day to make them 

whole?  
The employee is responsible for determining the amount of accrued leave they would like to use on the dates 
they receive Paid Leave Oregon.  

    
49. *Is there a Paid Leave Oregon op�on on the leave request in Workday?              

Yes, there is a Paid Leave Oregon reason when you submit your request for protected leave.  
 

50. *How do I enter Paid Leave Oregon on my �mesheet?  
Employees record Paid Leave Oregon by submi�ng a leave request in Workday. When doing so the employe will 
select Protected Leave as the leave type and then select Paid Leave Oregon (or a combina�on of FMLA/OFLA 
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and Paid Leave Oregon) as the reason. Be sure to submit another leave request for your accrued leave or Leave 
Without Pay usage in order to account for your work �me. 
 

51. *I don’t see any available FMLA, OFLA, or Paid Leave hours in my bank of leaves. Why not? 
The FMLA and OFLA banks of leave are no longer displayed because they are no longer used. Because of changes 
to the OFLA law we are unable to automa�cally display this informa�on they way we used to. Employees can see 
some balance informa�on on the Addi�onal Data tab of their Workday profile. They can also run a report from 
their Time Off (Absence) worklet. Click into Protected Leave, then on the right-hand side there should be a list of 
reports under Requested and Remaining Hours.  

  
52. Are there tools available to help employees in determining the amount of accrued leave they need to use to get 

to the amount of their salary they want to be paid?  
   Yes, a calculator is available on the CHRO Paid Leave Oregon website.  
  

53. Are agencies required to produce off-cycle checks when an employee uses accrued leave while receiving Paid 
Leave Oregon?  
No, there is no requirement to produce off-cycle checks. Agencies follow their standard prac�ces for producing 
off-cycle checks.  

   
54. *Are employees allowed to retroac�vely enter accrued leave for dates they receive Paid Leave Oregon?  

If an employee chooses to use Leave Without Pay while their claim is pending or while receiving benefits and later 
changes to use accrued leave, the agency will apply accrued leave and provide payment to the employee within 
three business days unless that falls within payroll blackout dates.  

 
55. *Are employees allowed to retroac�vely enter Leave Without Pay when they had previously entered accrued 

leave? 
If the employee chooses to use accrued leave while their claim is pending or while receiving benefits and later 
wishes to change to Leave Without Pay, their request will not be accepted. Employees cannot retroac�vely change 
to LWOP a�er being paid by using their accrued leave.   
  

PAID LEAVE OREGON AND SHORT-TERM DISABILITY  
  

56. Will there be changes to The Standard’s Disability Coverage with the start of Paid Leave Oregon?  
Yes. To learn about changes to disability coverage and your op�ons for coverage, please contact PEBB or view the 
PEBB August news release, or contact The Standard. 
  

57. How do I find out if I have Short-Term Disability with PEBB?  
There are several ways:  
a View your pay slip in Workday  
b Log into your PEBB benefit account at htps://pebbbenefits.oha.oregon.gov/bms_web/!pb.main  
c Contact PEBB Member Services  

  
GENERAL  

  

https://www.oregon.gov/oha/pebb/Pages/index.aspx
https://content.govdelivery.com/accounts/ORDHS/bulletins/36b2bad
https://content.govdelivery.com/accounts/ORDHS/bulletins/36b2bad
https://sites.standard.com/mybenefits/pebb2
https://wd5.myworkday.com/oregon/d/inst/2acefcc24bdf1001f25148d527b00000/rel-task/2998$40834.htmld
https://wd5.myworkday.com/oregon/d/inst/2acefcc24bdf1001f25148d527b00000/rel-task/2998$40834.htmld
https://pebbbenefits.oha.oregon.gov/bms_web/!pb.main
https://pebbbenefits.oha.oregon.gov/bms_web/!pb.main
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/pebb/pages/contact_us.aspx#:%7E:text=Most%20PEBB%20staff%20work%20remotely,calling%20503%2D373%2D1102.
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/pebb/pages/contact_us.aspx#:%7E:text=Most%20PEBB%20staff%20work%20remotely,calling%20503%2D373%2D1102.
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/pebb/pages/contact_us.aspx#:%7E:text=Most%20PEBB%20staff%20work%20remotely,calling%20503%2D373%2D1102.
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58. Where can I learn more about Paid Leave Oregon?  
To learn about Paid Leave Oregon, please visit the Paid Leave Oregon website: htps://paidleave.oregon.gov/  

  

59. Who do I contact with ques�ons about Paid Leave Oregon?  
You may contact Paid Leave Oregon at:  
Form: Contact Paid Leave  
Email: paidleave@oregon.gov 
Call: 833-854-0166 (toll-free)  
  

60. Who do I contact for ques�ons about how to record my leave or other topics affec�ng my employment when 
receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits?  
For anything related to your employment with the State of Oregon, please direct ques�ons to your agency human 
resources staff or you can email your ques�ons to chro.paidleaveOR@das.oregon.gov. 
 

61. Will my manager or employer track how much Paid Leave Oregon I take? 
Yes, your leave requests will indicate use of Paid Leave Oregon. 

 
62. Can my manager extend my trial service if I use Paid Leave Oregon? 

Extension of trial service is outlined in the Collec�ve Bargaining Agreement or statewide policy. 
 

63. Will taking Paid Leave Oregon affect my next annual salary increase? 
The receipt of Paid Leave Oregon does not affect an employee’s seniority, eligibility for salary increases or 
recognized service date. 

 
64. Where in Workday can I see what FMLA/OFLA or Paid Leave Oregon I have been approved for? 

You can see your Family and Medical Leave events by naviga�ng to your profile in Workday, then clicking Personal 
on the le�-hand side, then clicking into the Addi�onal Data tab along the top. Here is a link to a tutorial in Workday. 

 
65. *What Paid Leave Oregon informa�on is added to the Addi�onal Data fields in Workday?   

Informa�on that Paid Leave Oregon is pending, approved, or closed is documented in the Addi�onal 
Data field in Workday. This sec�on may also contain the Paid Leave benefit year start and end date, 
eligibility for job protec�on, and number of days approved. All no�ces received can be saved in the Paid 
Leave Oregon document type in Workday as well.  

 
66. *Does Paid Leave count as �me worked for over�me purposes? 

No, it does not. If you use accrued leave, that does count as �me worked for over�me.  
 

67. *How long do I have to use my Paid Leave Oregon benefits? 
Your Paid Leave Oregon benefit year will begin the Sunday immediately preceding the first day you use leave. It 
will run for 52 weeks from that date.  
 

68. *Do I have to take FMLA and OFLA if I’m using Paid Leave Oregon? 

https://paidleave.oregon.gov/
https://paidleave.oregon.gov/
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Flnks.gd%2Fl%2FeyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJidWxsZXRpbl9saW5rX2lkIjoxMTgsInVyaSI6ImJwMjpjbGljayIsImJ1bGxldGluX2lkIjoiMjAyMjA3MTguNjA5MzI0MjEiLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwczovL3BhaWRsZWF2ZWNvbnRhY3Qub3JlZ29uLmdvdi9oYy9lbi11cy9yZXF1ZXN0cy9uZXcifQ.9OKietOaCQbEX-cLA8bGaqQADdC4l_uHGVtiTo5qOFI%2Fs%2F2184280250%2Fbr%2F141216334423-l&data=05%7C01%7CCarol.WILLIAMS%40das.oregon.gov%7C7995d2b75f6745bfdb1208daa557f0da%7Caa3f6932fa7c47b4a0cea598cad161cf%7C0%7C0%7C638004094360581517%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=yXM%2B8hFFZ5F9WMh39y35q2Itvkt7Sa0g8AWoy5JDWKs%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Flnks.gd%2Fl%2FeyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJidWxsZXRpbl9saW5rX2lkIjoxMTgsInVyaSI6ImJwMjpjbGljayIsImJ1bGxldGluX2lkIjoiMjAyMjA3MTguNjA5MzI0MjEiLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwczovL3BhaWRsZWF2ZWNvbnRhY3Qub3JlZ29uLmdvdi9oYy9lbi11cy9yZXF1ZXN0cy9uZXcifQ.9OKietOaCQbEX-cLA8bGaqQADdC4l_uHGVtiTo5qOFI%2Fs%2F2184280250%2Fbr%2F141216334423-l&data=05%7C01%7CCarol.WILLIAMS%40das.oregon.gov%7C7995d2b75f6745bfdb1208daa557f0da%7Caa3f6932fa7c47b4a0cea598cad161cf%7C0%7C0%7C638004094360581517%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=yXM%2B8hFFZ5F9WMh39y35q2Itvkt7Sa0g8AWoy5JDWKs%3D&reserved=0
mailto:chro.paidleaveOR@das.oregon.gov
https://wd5.myworkday.com/oregon/email-universal/inst/17816$8829/rel-task/2998$29489.htmld
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If the condi�on qualifies and you are eligible for OFLA, you must use your OFLA en�tlement while on Paid Leave 
Oregon. FMLA and OFLA also run concurrently when the condi�on qualifies for both and the employee is eligible 
for both. 
 

69. *How long do I have to use my FMLA and OFLA en�tlements? 
Star�ng in January 2024 the FMLA and OFLA leave years have moved to a 52-week rolling forward schedule. Your 
leave year will begin the Sunday immediately preceding the first day you use leave and will run for 52 weeks from 
that date. 
 

70. *Are there any limita�ons to the amount of leave I can use in one year? 
Yes, during a Paid Leave benefit year you are limited to 16 weeks of total leave in any combina�on (FMLA, OFLA, 
Paid Leave), or 18 weeks if your condi�on is pregnancy related. This means if you start a Paid Leave benefit year 
and use 16 (or 18 weeks) of leave you cannot use more un�l your Paid Leave benefit year resets, even if you have 
addi�onal OFLA en�tlements available.  

 
FRAUD  

  
Unfortunately like any benefit program, Paid Leave Oregon is experiencing fraudulent claims, across all employers. 
Every claim goes through ID verifica�on. Every �me a claim is filed, the Employment Department will send a 
confirma�on to the applicant and no�fy the employer.  

 
71. What do I do if someone has filed a fraudulent claim under my name? 

Please no�fy Paid Leave Oregon and your absence partner (HR). Report the fraud to the Employment Department 
through Report fraud (oregon.gov)  You can also use the Contact Us form at Home - Paid Leave Oregon.   
 
Be sure to no�fy your absence partner/HR so that they can respond accordingly to the no�fica�on that they 
receive and to assist in preven�ng the further processing of leave.  
 

72. What can I expect the Employment Department to do when I report a fraudulent claim? 
When you report fraud, you can expect the Employment Department to gather your informa�on to ensure fraud 
is detected and flagged. However, don’t be surprised if the department is not able to share further informa�on 
about how the fraud may have occurred with you. The Employment Department representa�ves also will not 
know where or how your iden�fica�on informa�on was stolen and won’t share details because doing so may 
increase the threat and risk of fraud atempts.  

 
73. Where can I find more informa�on on Fraud and Iden�ty the�? 

We all must be on the lookout for our potentially stolen identification information being bought, sold, and used 
fraudulently. The Employment Department adjusts fraud prevention and intervention in preparation and 
response, and you can too. 
 
The Employment Department’s website has addi�onal informa�on on Fraud and Iden�ty The�: Protect Yourself 
from Fraud | OED Unemployment Insurance (oregon.gov) 
 
The Department of Jus�ce’s website also has addi�onal informa�on on Iden�ty The�: Iden�ty The� - Oregon 
Department of Jus�ce : Consumer Protec�on (state.or.us) 

https://paidleave.oregon.gov/resources/fraud
https://paidleave.oregon.gov/
https://unemployment.oregon.gov/fraud
https://unemployment.oregon.gov/fraud
https://www.doj.state.or.us/consumer-protection/id-theft-data-breaches/identity-theft/
https://www.doj.state.or.us/consumer-protection/id-theft-data-breaches/identity-theft/
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74. Will HR ever place an employee on Paid Leave Oregon without telling the employee? 

No, the employer cannot grant Paid Leave Oregon benefits. Only the Employment Department can grant or start 
Paid Leave benefits. Separate from the Paid Leave Oregon approval for paid leave benefits, the agency HR requires 
documenta�on from a doctor sta�ng the employee cannot work. Otherwise, the employer agency will allow the 
employee to con�nue working.  

 
75. What will happen to my available OFLA or FMLA balance if a fraudulent Paid Leave Oregon claim goes forward 

under my name? 
Generally, the employee enters their request for FMLA/OFLA protec�on in Workday and another leave request for 
any accrued leave they wish to use. In some cases, the manager or HR may need to submit the FMLA/OFLA request 
for you. If it is confirmed that it was a fraudulent claim, and no FMLA/OFLA should have been used, your HR staff 
can help to rescind any requests and reinstate any FMLA/OFLA balances. 
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