
Paid Leave Oregon 
Information Session
Payroll

September 2023



Important!

• This presentation provides information specific to state of Oregon employees and how it relates 
to their employment with the state

• Refer employees to Paid Leave Oregon for questions about the program e.g., eligibility, benefits, 
notifications or appeals
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CHRO Paid Leave Oregon Website

• FAQs
• Resources
• Training 
• Knowledge Articles

www.oregon.gov/das/HR/Pages/Paid-Leave-CHRO.aspx

Please explore and visit often!

https://www.oregon.gov/das/HR/Pages/Paid-Leave-CHRO.aspx


Implementation Phases

• Temporary implementation – 
September 3, 2023 through December 
31, 2023

• Final policies and procedures – 
January 1, 2024

• Collective bargaining agreement may  
refer to policy or have its own 
language.



Use of Accrued Leave

Through December 31, 2023:
• Any amount of paid or unpaid leave may be used, in any combination
• Only on the days they receive Paid Leave Oregon benefits (full-days only)
• Accrued leave may not be used to exceed 100% of state paid wages
• Employees must notify their manager if the day will be covered by Paid Leave 

Oregon

Use of accrued leave while receiving Paid Leave Oregon in 2024 is being discussed.



Use of Accrued Leave

1. I work an 8-hour day. May I use 2 hours of Sick Leave and 6 of leave without 
Pay? – YES

2. I work a 10-hour day. May I use 10 hours of Vacation Leave? – YES
3. I work a 4-hour day. May I use 1 hour of Sick Leave, 1 hour of Comp Time, 1 hour 

Vacation Leave and 1 hour of Leave Without Pay? – YES

This use of accrued leave is only applicable to days covered by Paid Leave Oregon. 
The employee must notify you of benefits to use any amount of accrued leave.



Use of Accrued Leave

• All scheduled hours must be accounted for
• There is not a Paid Leave Oregon leave 

option
• Add “Paid Leave Oregon” in the Comments 

section of the leave request
• There is a calculator available to assist 

employees in determining the amount of 
accrued leave to use.

 



Recording Paid Leave Oregon in Workday

Example



Expanded Definition of Family Member



Paid Leave Oregon and 
Oregon Family Leave Act

• Employees receiving Paid Leave Oregon for a 
pregnancy-related condition receive an 
additional six (6) weeks of leave.

• Employees receiving Paid Leave Oregon for any 
other reason receive an additional four (4) 
weeks of leave. 

• The additional OFLA will be added to Workday.



Recording OFLA in Workday
Expanded Definition of Family Member

Employees 
must use 
OFLA when 
receiving Paid 
Leave Oregon



Job Protections

Eligibility for job protection – Must be employed by the state for more 
than 90 calendar days prior to the start of Paid Leave Oregon.
• Agency will continue to pay its share of the medical, dental, vision and 

basic employee-only life insurance.  Employees must pay your share of 
the premiums.

• Reinstatement rights



Other Information

• Use of leave without pay may affect your PERS time of service
• Paid Leave Oregon benefits are not PERS subject salary
• Paid Leave Oregon does not affect an employee’s seniority, eligibility 

for salary increases or the employee’s recognized service date 
(continuous service date)

• Contact PEBB for information on the use of Standard Disability and 
Paid Leave Oregon

• Contact Paid Leave Oregon for questions about the program



Other Information

• Approval of Paid Leave Oregon will be recorded in the employee’s 
Workday profile under Personal, Disability Insurance. We have 
requested managers have access to this.

• Paid Leave Oregon notifications are in the employee’s Workday profile 
under Documents, Medical –Paid Leave Oregon



Expanded Definition of Family Member 
– Sick Leave

If taking leave for Affinity 
(a person you are 
connected to like a family 
member), employees will 
be asked to complete an 
Attestation Form.

The form is available in 
the Sick Leave Policy 
toolkit.



CHRO Paid Leave Oregon Website

Spread the word!



Questions?


	Paid Leave Oregon Information Session�Payroll
	Important!
	Slide Number 3
	CHRO Paid Leave Oregon Website
	Implementation Phases
	Use of Accrued Leave
	Use of Accrued Leave
	Use of Accrued Leave
	Recording Paid Leave Oregon in Workday
	Expanded Definition of Family Member
	Paid Leave Oregon and �Oregon Family Leave Act
	Recording OFLA in Workday�Expanded Definition of Family Member
	Job Protections
	Other Information
	Other Information
	Expanded Definition of Family Member – Sick Leave
	CHRO Paid Leave Oregon Website
	Questions?

