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POLICY 
STATEMENT: 

Oregon state government shall comply with provisions of the Fair Labor 
Standards Act (FLSA) and Oregon Wage and Hour Laws. 

  
AUTHORITY: ORS 240.145(3); 240.235; 240.240; 240.250; 240.551; 653.268; 653.269; OAR 839-

020-0015, 839-020-0115;  839-020-0130, 839-020-0200 through 0830-020-0350 
Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 C.F.R, 201-219, 500-899; FLSA Act Amendments of 
1985; Bureau of Labor and Industries Wage and Hour Laws Handbook 

  
APPLICABILITY: All employees, when not in conflict with collective bargaining agreements, including 

limited duration and temporary employees 
  
ATTACHMENTS:  None. 
  
DEFINITIONS: Also refer to State HR Policy 10.000.01, Definitions 
  
POLICY: 
 

 

(1) Agencies are required to comply with both federal and state laws. When standards under one law 
different from those under the other, the standards most generous to the employee must be met. For 
example, if the state minimum wage is higher than the federal minimum wage, the state minimum 
wage must be paid. Likewise, if an employee qualifies as exempt under state law but no under federal 
law, the agency must comply with federal law. Accordingly: 

 
(a) The appointing authority shall determine the status of each employee, either exempt or non-

exempt from overtime, using Department of Labor (DOL) and Bureau of Labor and Industries 
(BOLI) guidelines, and keep accurate records of FLSA status, work week and overtime. Each 
appointing authority shall conspicuously post notices regarding wage and hour laws as required 
by the DOL and BOLI. 

 
(b) Exempt employees work a professional workweek on a salaried basis and shall not be eligible for 

overtime. An exempt employee may work a flexible and/or alternate work schedule with 
supervisory approval. 
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(c) Appointing authorities shall ensure any deduction made to an exempt employee’s pay is 

appropriate. Unlawful deductions are prohibited. Exempt employees who believe an improper 
deduction has been made from their pay may submit a written complaint to their agency payroll or 
human resources office. The agency shall response to the complaint within 15 calendar days of 
receipt. If the agency finds the deduction to be improper it will reimburse the employee for the 
deduction. If the agency and employee do not agree about the deduction, the agency shall contact 
the CHRO Classification and Compensation unit for assistance. 

 
(d) For exempt employees, accrued leave shall be used for partial day absences due to 

personal reasons or because of illness or injury. If an exempt employee does not have sufficient 
appropriate paid leave accrued to cover the absence, the appointing authority shall reduce the 
employee's salary for that portion of the absence not covered by paid leave. 

 
(e) Non-exempt employees shall be eligible for overtime when time worked is in excess of 40 hours in 

a workweek. Overtime shall be compensated at time and one half if agency budgeted funds 
for the payment of overtime are available. If budgeted funds for the payment of overtime are 
not available, such overtime shall be allowed in compensatory time off at time and one half with 
prior agreement of employee. The maximum number of hours that may be accumulated for 
compensatory time is 240 hours (480 hours for seasonal workers, fire, police and emergency 
response personnel). Overtime must be compensated when the maximum is reached. 
Agencies may establish their own policy setting a lower limit on the number of hours 
employees may accrue. At termination, compensatory time is cashed out at the higher of the 
employee’s final regular rate, or the average regular rate during the last three years of 
employment. 

 
(f) Second job situations in state government: 

 
(A) The state usually must pay overtime for non-exempt employees who work in two or more 

positions in one or more state agencies, if the employee works in excess of 40 hours in a 
workweek. 

 
(i) If a state employee, working full time for one agency, applies for a second state job, the 

second hiring agency shall be responsible for any overtime pay liability. However, the 
second hiring agency may refuse to hire the employee because of potential overtime pay 
liability. 
 

(ii) If a state employee, working part time for one agency, applies for a second state job, the 
two agencies shall mutually agree on the employee's FLSA status and any overtime pay 
obligation. Generally, the state agency employing the employee at the time the employee 
exceeds 40 hours in a work week shall pay the overtime. 

 
(B) For non-exempt jobs, a hiring agency may hire a state employee without overtime pay 

liability if the following exceptions apply: (The exceptions require a fact-specific legal 
analysis. Contact DOJ Labor and Employment if you think these exceptions could apply.) 

 
(i) Under the FLSA, the employee’s second position is in a different capacity than the first 

position, and is undertaken on an occasional or sporadic basis, solely at the employee’s 
option; or 
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(ii) Under the FLSA, the employee’s second job is for a different state agency under 

circumstances where the two state agencies would be considered separate and not joint 
employers; and 

 
(iii) Under Oregon law, the collective bargaining agreement expressly waives application of 

ORS 653.268. 
 

(g) Supervisors and managers are responsible for assigning work and work schedules, ensuring 
any overtime worked is authorized. FLSA requires payment for overtime, even if overtime 
worked is unauthorized. Employees who work unauthorized overtime must be compensated for 
overtime worked but, depending on the circumstances, may be subject to disciplinary action. 

 
(h) If an employee performs work which is the same or similar to their regularly assigned job duties, it 

is considered time worked for computing overtime. State agencies shall not allow employees to 
volunteer to do the same work for which the employee is paid. If an agency allows an employee to 
volunteer time under such circumstances, it will result in an overtime liability. 

 
(2) Policy Clarification: 

 
(a) Availability of budgeted funds means payment for overtime is included in the agency's legislatively 

approved budget; i.e., funds specifically for the purpose of compensating employees from which 
overtime cash payments can be withdrawn, not funds available generally. 

 
(b) Occasional or sporadic means infrequent, irregular or occurring in scattered instances. 
 
(c) Different capacity means employment that does not fall within the same general occupational 

category as regularly assigned duties. 
 


