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 State HR Policy 

 
 

POLICY 
STATEMENT: 

Oregon state government shall comply with provisions of the Paid Family and 
Medical Leave Insurance Act (Paid Leave Oregon) administered by the Oregon 
Employment Department. 

  
AUTHORITY: ORS 657B.010 through ORS 657B.040; ORS 657B.060 through ORS 657B.080; 

ORS 657B.120; and ORS 657B.440; OAR 471-070-0001 through 471-070-8540 

  
APPLICABILITY: All employees, when not in conflict with collective bargaining agreements, including 

temporary employees 
  
ATTACHMENTS:  Paid Leave Oregon Model Notice 
  
DEFINITIONS: Also refer to State HR Policy 10.000.01, Definitions 
  
POLICY: 
 
 

 

Paid Leave Oregon is administered by the Oregon Employment Department. The State of Oregon, as an 
employer, shall comply with the provisions of Paid Leave Oregon. 
 

(1) Each state agency director or authorized designee administers State HR Policy 60.000.04 as the 
agency’s policy. Compliance with the Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Act, known as Paid 
Leave Oregon, is mandatory. 

 
(2) All agencies, regardless of the number of employees, will pay the employer contributions to the Paid 

Leave Oregon insurance fund. 
 
(3) Employees will pay the employee contributions to the Paid Leave Oregon insurance fund through a 

payroll deduction. 
 

 
 
SUBJECT: Paid Leave Oregon NUMBER: 60.000.04  

    
DIVISION: Chief Human Resources Office EFFECTIVE DATE:   01/01/2024  

 
 
APPROVED: Signature on file with the Chief Human Resources Office 
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(4) Required posting: Agencies shall post the model notice poster in an accessible location at each 
worksite. 

(a)The model notice must be sent electronically to remote workers upon the start of any 
remote work. 
(b) The model notice poster must be sent to remote workers when updated or changed.  

 
(5) Employee notification requirement: Employees must provide at least 30 calendar days’ notice to the 

agency before commencing family, medical or safe leave under Paid Leave Oregon, when 
foreseeable.  

(a) If the leave is not foreseeable, an employee must give verbal notice within 24 hours of the 
beginning of the leave and written notice within three days of the beginning of the leave. 

(b) Failure to notify the agency timely may result in a reduced Paid Leave Oregon benefit 
payment. 

(c) Employees are generally expected to follow agency call-in procedures. 
 
(6) Paid Leave Oregon will notify the agency of the number of days for which leave is approved. 
 
(7) Employees will notify the agency immediately of any change in Paid Leave Oregon status. 
 
(8) Subject to approval by Paid Leave Oregon, an employee may take up to 12 weeks of Paid Leave 

within a Paid Leave Oregon benefit year. 
(a) An employee may receive an additional two weeks of Paid Leave for pregnancy-related 

conditions. 
(9) An employee may not use more than 16 weeks (18 for pregnancy disability) of leave in any 

combination of Paid Leave and OFLA during a Paid Leave Oregon benefit year. Paid Leave Oregon 
can only be taken in full day increments. 

 
(10) Paid Leave Oregon will run concurrently with FMLA and OFLA, when applicable. 
 
(11)  Employees may choose to use sick, vacation, personal business, compensatory time or straight time 

leave in any increment, up to their normally scheduled hours, while receiving Paid Leave Oregon. 
 

(12) Employees are not eligible to use donated leave on days Paid Leave Oregon benefits are received. 
 

(13) Employees receiving Paid Leave Oregon who do not have 90 calendar days or more of state service 
and whose absences are not protected by FMLA and/or OFLA are not eligible for the job protection 
and continued core insurance coverage provided by Paid Leave as outlined in sections 13 through 16 
of this policy.  
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(14) Reinstatement rights: An agency restores an employee who returns from taking Paid Leave Oregon 
to the position of employment held by the employee when the leave began, regardless if it has been 
renamed or reclassified. If the position no longer exists, an agency must return the employee to a 
vacant or not permanently filled equivalent position within 50 miles of their workplace with equivalent 
pay, benefits and other terms and conditions of employment.  

 
(a) The following exceptions apply:  

i. If an agency eliminates the employee’s position through layoff, the agency treats 
the employee as if the employee had not taken Paid Leave Oregon, in the same 
manner as similarly situated employees, according to the agency’s policy or 
applicable collective bargaining agreement.  

ii. An agency restores an unclassified, temporary or limited duration employee to 
the extent the employee’s placement, appointment or position still exists.  

iii. If an employee does not return from leave or is unable to perform an essential 
function of the position the employee held prior to the commencement of Paid 
Leave Oregon, with or without reasonable accommodation, the employer must 
follow applicable law, rule, policy or collective bargaining agreement to determine 
appropriate action, which may, in some cases, include termination. 

 
(15) Core PEBB insurance: During months when an employee receives Paid Leave Oregon, the agency 

continues the employee’s enrolled core benefits (medical, dental, and vision and basic employee-only 
life insurance).  

(a) The agency pays its share of the core benefits.  
(a) The employee must pay their share of the premium payment and any surcharges related 

to their core benefits.  
 

i. An employee may submit monthly payments to the agency for the employee 
portion of core benefits. A family member may arrange to submit monthly 
payments if the employee is incapacitated.  

 
ii. An employee may choose to have the employee portion of core benefit premiums 

paid by the agency on their behalf during months an employee uses Paid Leave 
Oregon. Payments made by the agency are recoverable upon the first available 
paycheck(s) after the employee returns to work, not to exceed 10% of their gross 
pay of each pay period.  

(b) An employee may be required to reimburse an agency for the employee’s portion if the 
employee fails to return to work, unless the reason for the employee’s failure to return is a 
continuation, recurrence, or onset of a serious health condition of the employee or 
employee’s family member, a continuation, recurrence, or onset of a serious illness or 
injury of a covered service member or other circumstances beyond the employee’s control.  
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(16) Optional PEBB insurances: If an employee works an insufficient number of hours in a month to cover 
their optional insurances receiving Paid Leave Oregon or is in leave without pay status, the employee 
must pay premiums for the optional PEBB insurances that may be continued.  

(a) An employee may submit monthly payments to the agency for the continued optional 
insurance benefits. 

 
(17) PEBB Insurances after exhaustion of Paid Leave Oregon: (a) When an employee’s Paid Leave 

Oregon end, all PEBB insurance coverage terminates when the employee, who is not in a current 
Affordable Care Act (ACA) Stability Period or protected by FMLA/OFLA, does not work enough hours 
in the month, uses insufficient paid leave, or fails to make a premium payment. Should the employee 
wish insurance to continue, they may self-pay some insurance premiums under COBRA. The 
employee receives information about self-paying insurance through a third-party administrator.  

(a) Refer to the “Public Employees’ Benefit Board FMLA-OFLA Benefit Matrix” for the effect on 
an employee’s insurance when returning from leave. 

 

(18) Effect on seniority, salary increases and recognized service date: The receipt of Paid Leave Oregon 
does not affect an employee’s seniority, eligibility for salary increases or the employee’s recognized 
service date. The agency treats the approval of Paid Leave Oregon as if the employee is not on 
leave, up to the point where the employee’s Paid Leave Benefits exhausts. Unpaid leave may affect 
an employee’s PERS retirement benefits. 

 

(19) Paid Leave Oregon does not count as hours worked for accrued leave or overtime purposes, toward 
FMLA/OFLA eligibility or entitlements. 


