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 State agencies are authorized to conduct drivers’ license checks on their employees¹. 
This is a DAS Risk Management recommended practice.   

 These checks may be conducted prior to hiring as part of the applicant screening 

process, at any time during an employee’s tenure, routinely or periodically, or as 
part of an investigation process for a vehicle crash/incident.   

 The process may vary. Agencies may require applicants or employees to provide 

copies of their driving records or agencies may secure records through the appropri-
ate states’ department of motor vehicles. Some of these departments may not re-
lease those records to employers. 

 Oregon’s Department of Motor Vehicles provides options for state agencies to se-

cure employee driving records.² As a government entity, state agencies may have 
access to driving records online, over the phone or by receipt of routine reports. 
State agencies must pay for these services. 

Resources 

Risks to Agencies 

 Unmitigated auto liability exposures. 

 Unmitigated auto or other property costs. 

 Unmitigated exposure to Motor Vehicle Accident workers’ compensation costs. 

Best Practices 

 ¹OAR 125-155-0000 - State Vehicle Use and Access 

 ²ORS 802.179 - Exemptions from prohibition on release of personal information 

from motor vehicle records; rules 

 ²Oregon DMV - Records-Related FAQs  

If the agency is establishing a new requirement for drivers’ license checks, it is recom-
mended to: 

 Notify labor relations. 

 Inform employees of the change and when it takes effect. 

 Allow employees an opportunity to bring 

their records into compliance. 

Establish the criteria the agency will use for 
determining a satisfactory driving record.  
The following is DAS Risk Management’s 
recommended threshold for an unacceptable 
driving record: 

 A major traffic offense in the last 24 

months. This includes reckless driving, 
driving under the influence of intoxicants, 
failing to perform the duties of a driver, criminal driving while suspended or    re-
voked, fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer, and others;  

 Felony revocation of driving privileges or felony or misdemeanor driver license sus-

pension within the last 24 months;  

 More than three moving traffic violations in the last 12 months;  

 A careless driving conviction in the last 12 months; or 

 A Class A moving traffic infraction in the last 12 months.  
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