STATE VEHICLE CRASH CHECKLIST STATE VEHICLE CRASH CHECKLIST

O Move your vehicle to a safe location and do not O Move your vehicle to a safe location and do not
obstruct traffic, if possible obstruct traffic, if possible

O Remain calm & Turn off your engine O Remain calm & Turn off your engine

O Check for personal, passenger, and citizen injuries O Check for personal, passenger, and citizen injuries

O If anyone injured, seek medical assistance O If anyone injured, seek medical assistance

O Ininjury and/or death - CALL 911 O In injury and/or death - CALL 911

O Engage safety measures to prevent road hazards O Engage safety measures to prevent road hazards

O Aid the injured, if no immediate risk O Aid the injured, if no immediate risk

O Contact your supervisor to report accident O Contact your supervisor to report accident

O Take photos of all vehicle damage and of scene O Take photos of all vehicle damage and of scene

O Use the Vehicle Crash Packet OO0 Use the Vehicle Crash Packet

O To contact a Fleet/Motor Pool Representative
in order to secure a tow and/or another vehicle

O To fill out the State Vehicle Crash Sheet
O To secure witness information - if available
O To fill out the DMV Oregon Traffic Accident
& Insurance Report (turn into DMV within 72 hours)

To distribute Risk Management informational
claim cards to citizen drivers

To reference Certificate of Coverage for Insurance

O

Insurance Company: State of Oregon
Policy Number: Self-Insured, DMV24
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officers, your agency’s Risk Coordinator/Safety Manager, or

Do not give statements to anyone, except law enforcement

DAS Risk Management representative.

Do not give statements to anyone, except law enforcement
officers, your agency’s Risk Coordinator/Safety Manager, or
DAS Risk Management representative.

O

Secure a copy of Police Report and submit with

State Vehicle Crash Sheet (turn into your agency

Supervisor and/or Risk Coordinator or Safety Manager)

Gather all written and photo documentation, then
make three (3) copies and submit to the following:

[1 State Vehicle’s Owner (DAS Fleet/ Agency’s Motor Pool)

O Your Supervisor/Risk Coordinator/Safety Manager

[0 Keep a copy for your records
Replace State Vehicle Crash Packet

O Secure a copy of Police Report and submit with
State Vehicle Crash Sheet (turn into your agency
Supervisor and/or Risk Coordinator or Safety Manager)

O Gather all written and photo documentation, then
make three (3) copies and submit to the following:
[0 State Vehicle’s Owner (DAS Fleet / Agency’s Motor Pool)
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[0 Keep a copy for your records

O Replace State Vehicle Crash Packet

Available online or contact your Risk Coordinator / Safety Manager

Available online or contact your Risk Coordinator / Safety Manager
http://www.oregon.gov/DAS/EGS/Risk/pages/vehicleaccidentreportpacket.aspx

http://www.oregon.gov/DAS/EGS/Risk/pages/vehicleaccidentreportpacket.aspx

If any questions regarding this process or have
a State Vehicle/Property claim exceeding your
Agency’s $2500 deductible,

Contact DAS Risk Management
* By phone (503) 373-7475

® By email Risk.Management@oregon.gov

® By address DAS EGS Risk Management
PO Box 12009
Salem, OR 97309-0009
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