



Job Safety and Health IT'S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

- A safe workplace.
- Raise a safety or health concern with your employer or OSHA, or report a workrelated injury or illness, without being retaliated against.
- Receive information and training on job hazards, including all hazardous substances in your workplace.
- Request a confidential OSHA inspection of your workplace if you believe there are unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have the right to have a representative contact OSHA on your behalf.
- Participate (or have your representative participate) in an OSHA inspection and speak in private to the inspector.
- File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days (by phone, online or by mail) if you have been retaliated against for using your rights.
- See any OSHA citations issued to your employer.
- Request copies of your medical records, tests that measure hazards in the workplace, and the workplace injury and illness log.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact OSHA. We can help.

Employers must:

- Provide employees a workplace free from recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate against an employee for using any of their rights under the law, including raising a health and safety concern with you or with OSHA, or reporting a work-related injury or illness.
- Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.
- Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a workplace fatality or within 24 hours of any work-related inpatient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye.
- Provide required training to all workers in a language and vocabulary they can understand.
- Prominently display this poster in the workplace.
- Post OSHA citations at or near the place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are available to small and medium-sized employers, without citation or penalty, through OSHA-supported consultation programs in every state.



SAFETY AND HEALTH PROTECTION ON THE JOB

ALASKA LAW AS 18.60.010 to .105 – provides safety and health protection for workers through promotion of safe and healthful working conditions throughout the State. Requirements of the law include the following:

EMPLOYERS: Each employer shall furnish to each of his employees, employment, and a place of employment free from recognized hazards that

are causing or are likely to cause death or serious harm to his employees; and shall comply with occupational safety and health

standards issued under the law.

Each employee shall comply with all occupational safety and health standards, rules, regulations, and orders issued under the law **EMPLOYEES:**

that apply to his own actions and conduct on the job.

The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development has the primary responsibility for administering the law. It issues occupational safety and health standards, and its Compliance Officers conduct job site inspections to ensure compliance with the

INSPECTION: The law requires that a representative of the employer and a representative authorized by the employees be given an opportunity to

accompany the Compliance Officer for the purpose of aiding the inspection. Pursuant to AS 18.60.087, time spent by an employee

Employees or their representatives have the right to file a complaint in writing with the nearest Alaska Department of Labor and

aiding the inspection shall be considered as time worked, and the employee shall be compensated accordingly.

Where there is no authorized employee representative, the Compliance Officer must consult with a reasonable number of employees concerning safety and health conditions in the workplace.

COMPLAINT: Workforce Development office requesting an inspection if they believe unsafe or unhealthful conditions exist in their workplace. Their

names will be withheld upon request.

Employees and their representatives have a right to call an inspector's attention to possible violations in writing or orally.

The law provides that employees may not be discharged or discriminated against in any way for filing safety and health complaints or

otherwise exercising their rights under the law.

COMPLIANCE

COMPLAINT:

DISCRIMINATION Pursuant to AS 18.60.089, an employee may not be discharged or discriminated against because they filed a complaint, instituted, or **COMPLAINT:**

caused to be instituted a proceeding related to the enforcement of occupational safety and health standards, or has testified or is expected to testify in a proceeding related to occupational safety and health. An employee who believes they have been discriminated against may file a complaint with the nearest OSHA and/or Alaska Occupational Safety and Health office within 30 days

of the alleged discrimination.

\$145,027.00 for each violation.

CITATION: If upon inspection, the Compliance Officer believes an employer has violated the law, a citation alleging such violations will be issued

to the employer. Each citation will specify a time period within which the alleged violation must be corrected.

The citation must be prominently displayed at or near the place of alleged violation for five days, or until it is corrected, whichever is

later, to warn employees of dangers that may exist there.

PROPOSED The law provides for mandatory penalties against employers of up to \$14,502.00 for each serious violation and for optional penalties **PENALTY:**

of up to \$14,502.00 for any other violations. Penalties of up to \$14,502.00 per day may be proposed for failure to correct violations within the proposed time period. Also, any employer who willfully or repeatedly violates the law may be assessed penalties of up to

Criminal penalties are also provided for in the law. Any willful violation resulting in death of an employee upon conviction is punishable by a fine not more than \$10,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or by both. Conviction of an employer

after a first conviction doubles these maximum penalties.

VOLUNTARY While providing penalties for violations, the law also encourages efforts by labor and management, before an inspection, to reduce injuries and illnesses arising out of employment. **ACTIVITY:**

> The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development encourages employers and employees to reduce workplace hazards voluntarily and to develop and improve safety and health programs in all workplaces and industries.

> Such cooperative action would initially focus on the identification and elimination of hazards that could cause death, injury, or illness to employees and supervisors. Upon request of employer, the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development will furnish

a consultant who will inspect the premises and identify hazards without assessing penalties.

Additional information and copies of the law, specific safety and health standards, and other regulations may be obtained from the MORE **INFORMATION:**

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Division of Labor Standards & Safety, Alaska Occupational Safety and Health at the addresses shown at the bottom of this page.

Under a plan approved July 31, 1973, by the U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), the **PROGRAM**

State of Alaska is providing job safety and health protection for workers throughout the State. OSHA will monitor the operation of this plan to assure that continued approval is merited. Any person may make a complaint regarding the State administration of this plan directly to the U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA, Region X, 300 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1280, Seattle, WA 98104, Phone (206) 757-6700.

IT'S YOUR RIGHT TO KNOW

About toxic and hazardous substances and physical agents

AS 18.60.068 requires this information be displayed in a prominent place on business premises.

- Employers must inform employees about the locations and nature of operations, which could result in exposure to toxic or hazardous substances or physical
- Employers must train employees in the health effects of the toxic or hazardous substances and physical agents to which they are exposed and in the purpose, proper use, and limitations of personal protective equipment.
- Employers must keep on file and make available during the work-shift, Safety Data Sheets (SDS) for each toxic or hazardous substance or physical agent to which employees may be exposed. Employers must remove employees from exposure to the substance or physical agent if an SDS cannot be obtained and provided to employees within 15 calendar days of a request.

The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development will provide assistance to employers in the form of SDS program development aids, on-site program review, and safety seminars.

For more information, employers, employees and concerned citizens may contact the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Labor Standards and Safety Division, Occupational Safety and Health, http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/oshhome.htm.

♦ Consultation & Training 1-800-656-4972

♦ Enforcement 1-800-770-4940

◆ 24-hour OSHA hotline 1-800-321-6742

1111 West 8th Street, Suite 304 P.O. Box 111149 Juneau, AK 99811-1149 (907) 465-4855

1251 Muldoon Road, Ste 109 Anchorage, AK 99504 (907) 269-4940

675 7th Avenue, Station J Fairbanks, AK 99701-4596 (907) 451-2890 Or (907) 451-2888

AS 18.60.058 (a) requires that employers must notify either AKOSH or OSHA within eight hours of an in-patient hospitalization, loss of an eye, amputation, or fatality. AKOSH 1-800-770-4940 or 24-hour OSHA hotline 1-800-321-6742



EMPLOYER'S NOTICE OF INSURANCE

TO THE EMPLOYEES OF THE UNDERSIGNED:

Your employer is insured by:

Zurich American Insurance Co	ompany			
1299 Zurich Way				
Street and Number				
Schaumburg		IL	60196-5870	
City		State	Zip Code	
For the period from 7/1/2023	Through	Through <u>7/1/2024</u>		
Zurich Claims Services				
Adjusting Company				
PO Box 49547 Street and Number				
Colorado Springs	<u>CO</u>	<u>80949-</u>	<u>800-987-3373</u>	
City	State	Zip Code	Telephone	
STATE OF OREGON Employer				
Ву				
Title				
Witness				
Witness				
mmediately (not later than 30 days from i Compensation Division written notice of a njury or Illness" form from your employer	job-related injury, illness			
f you have questions about your rights or	benefits under the Alask	ka Workers' Compen	sation Act, contact the	

ANCHORAGE FAIRBANKS JUNEAU
3301 Eagle Street 675 7th Ave PO Box 115512
Suite 304 Station K 1111 W 8th St Rm 305
Anchorage AK 99503 Fairbanks AK 99701-4531 Juneau AK 99811-5512
(907) 269-4980 (907) 451-2889 (907) 465-2790

NOTICE TO EMPLOYER: AS 23.30.060 requires that you post this notice in three conspicuous places on the employer's premises.

insurer at the above address and the Alaska Workers' Compensation Division at the nearest office listed below: