

# Job Safety and Health IT'S THE LAW!

## All workers have the right to:

- A safe workplace.
- Raise a safety or health concern with your employer or OSHA, or report a workrelated injury or illness, without being retaliated against.
- Receive information and training on job hazards, including all hazardous substances in your workplace.
- Request a confidential OSHA inspection of your workplace if you believe there are unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have the right to have a representative contact OSHA on your behalf.
- Participate (or have your representative participate) in an OSHA inspection and speak in private to the inspector.
- File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days (by phone, online or by mail) if you have been retaliated against for using your rights.
- See any OSHA citations issued to your employer.
- Request copies of your medical records, tests that measure hazards in the workplace, and the workplace injury and illness log.

# **Employers must**:

- Provide employees a workplace free from recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate against an employee for using any of their rights under the law, including raising a health and safety concern with you or with OSHA, or reporting a work-related injury or illness.
- Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.
- Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a workplace fatality or within 24 hours of any work-related inpatient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye.
- Provide required training to all workers in a language and vocabulary they can understand.
- Prominently display this poster in the workplace.
- Post OSHA citations at or near the place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are available to small and medium-sized employers, without citation or penalty, through OSHA-supported consultation programs in every state.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact OSHA. We can help.

Form AR-P

Ark. Code Ann. §11-9-403, 407 AWCC Rule7 Updated: 06-16-14

#### ARKANSAS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION

324 Spring Street, Little Rock, AR 72201 Mail: P. O. Box 950, Little Rock, AR 72203-0950 Little Rock Office - 1-800-622-4472 / 501-682-3930 Springdale Office - 1-800-852-5376 / 479-751-2790

# WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSTRUCTIONS TO EMPLOYERS AND EMPLOYEES

All employees of this establishment entitled to benefits under the provisions of the Arkansas workers' compensation laws are hereby notified that their employer has secured the payment of such compensation as may at any time be due employees or their dependents. This employer is required by state law to provide workers' compensation coverage or this employer has waived the exclusion or exemption from the operation of the workers' compensation laws, and the employer certifies by the display of this poster that workers' compensation coverage is now provided by a workers' compensation insurance policy or by enrollment in the Arkansas Self-Insurance Program or by the Public Employee Claims Division of the Arkansas Insurance Department.

> Zurich American Insurance Company 1299 Zurich Way Schaumburg, IL. 60196-5870 Policy # WCC 9663435-10 Exp. 7/1/2023

### IN CASE OF JOB-RELATED INJURIES OR OCCUPATIONAL DISEASES

#### The Employer Shall:

- 1. Provide all necessary medical, surgical and hospital treatment, as required by law, following the injury and for such additional time as ordered by the Workers' Compensation Commission.
- 2. Provide compensation payments in accordance with the provisions of the law. The first installment of compensation becomes due on the 15<sup>th</sup> day after the employer has notice of the injury or death, except in those cases where liability has been denied by the employer.
- 3. Provide prompt reporting of accidents to appropriate parties.
- 4. Keep a record of all injuries received by its employees.

#### The Employee Shall:

The employee shall report the injury to the employer on Form N and to a person or at a place specified by the employer, unless the injury either renders the employee physically or mentally unable to do so, or the injury is made known to the employer immediately after it occurs. The employer shall not be responsible for disability, medical, or other benefits prior to receipt of the employee's notice of injury. All reporting procedures specified by the employer must be reasonable and shall afford each employee reasonable notice of the reporting requirements. The foregoing shall not apply when an employee requires emergency medical treatment outside the employer's normal business hours; however, in that event, the employee shall cause a report of the injury to be made to the employer on the employer's next regular business day.

Failure to give such notice shall not bar any claim (1) if the employer had knowledge of the injury or death, (2) if the employee had no knowledge that the condition or disease arose out of and in the course of employment, or (3) if the Commission excuses such failure on the grounds that for some satisfactory reason such notice could not be given. Objection to failure to give notice must be made at or before the first hearing on the claim.

#### **Statutory Information:**

Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-514(b) states: "Treatment or services furnished or prescribed by any physician other than the ones selected according to the foregoing, except emergency treatment, shall be at the claimant's expense."

Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-514(f), however, indicates: When compensability is controverted, subsection (b) shall not apply if:

- (1) The employee requests medical assistance in writing prior to seeking the same as a result of an alleged compensable injury; and
- (2) The employer refuses to refer the employee to a medical provider within forty-eight (48) hours after such written request as provided above; and
- (3) The alleged injury is later found to be a compensable injury; and
- (4) The employer has not made a previous offer of medical treatment.

If you have any questions regarding your rights under the Arkansas workers' compensation laws, you may call an Arkansas Workers' Compensation Commission legal advisor at our toll-free number listed above.

All employers who come within the operation of the Arkansas workers' compensation laws and have complied with its provisions must post this notice in a **CONSPICUOUS** place in or about their place or places of business.

#### AWCC Form P (Posting Notice)

A posting notice is mentioned in Ark. Code Ann. §11-9-403, Ark. Code Ann. §11-9-407 and AWCC Rule 7. AWCC Form P satisfies all requirements.

Form P:

- 1. Is to be on display in a conspicuous place;
- 2. Tells employers what to do when an employee is injured;
- **3.** Instructs employees to notify the employer immediately (or no later than the close of the next business day) when injured;
- 4. Lists the claims office that will be handling the insurance aspects of the case;
- 5. Gives the claims office telephone number;
- 6. Announces the expiration date of the insurance policy; and
- 7. Provides telephone numbers for Arkansas Workers' Compensation Commission legal advisors if either party needs assistance.

Employers without Form P may lose the use of Form N as a defense in litigation. Employees disobeying instructions on Form P may delay their benefits or jeopardize the awarding of any benefits in a contested case.

The AWCC furnishes samples, not supplies, of **Form P**. Carriers are to send their insureds an adequate number, and self-insureds must arrange with a printer for the supply they need. Carriers and employers may enlarge **Form P** for posting purposes.

Information about Form P is available from the Support Services Division (1-800-622-4472 or 501-682-3930).

**Ark. Code Ann. §11-9-106(a):** "Any person or entity who willfully and knowingly makes any material false statement or representation, who willfully and knowingly omits or conceals any material information, or who willfully and knowingly employs any device, scheme, or artifice for the purpose of: obtaining any benefit or payment; defeating or wrongfully increasing or wrongfully decreasing any claim for benefit or payment; or obtaining or avoiding workers' compensation coverage or avoiding payment of the proper insurance premium, or who aids and abets for any of said purposes, under this chapter shall be guilty of a Class D felony. Fifty percent (50%) of any criminal fine imposed and collected under .... this section shall be paid and allocated in accordance with applicable law to the Death and Permanent Total Disability Trust Fund administered by the Workers' Compensation Commission."