
 

Job Safety and Health
IT’S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

�� A safe workplace.

�� Raise a safety or health concern with 
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or illness, without being 
retaliated against. 

�� Receive information and training on 
job hazards, including all hazardous 
substances in your workplace. 

�� Request a confidential OSHA inspection 
of your workplace if you believe there are 
unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have 
the right to have a representative contact 
OSHA on your behalf.

�� Participate (or have your representative 
participate) in an OSHA inspection and 
speak in private to the inspector.

�� File a complaint with OSHA within 
30 days (by phone, online or by mail) 
if you have been retaliated against for 
using your rights. 

�� See any OSHA citations issued to 
your employer.

�� Request copies of your medical 
records, tests that measure hazards 
in the workplace, and the workplace 
injury and illness log.

Employers must:

�� Provide employees a workplace free from 
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate 
against an employee for using any of their 
rights under the law, including raising a 
health and safety concern with you or 
with OSHA, or reporting a work-related 
injury or illness.

�� Comply with all applicable OSHA standards. 

�� Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a 
workplace fatality or within 24 hours of 
any work-related inpatient hospitalization, 
amputation, or loss of an eye.

�� Provide required training to all workers 
in a language and vocabulary they can 
understand. 

�� Prominently display this poster in the 
workplace.

�� Post OSHA citations at or near the 
place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are 
available to small and medium-sized 
employers, without citation or penalty, 
through OSHA‑supported consultation 
programs in every state.

U.S. Department of Labor

Contact OSHA. We can help. 

1-800-321-OSHA (6742)  •  TTY 1-877-889-5627  •  www.osha.gov

This poster is available free from OSHA.
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NOTICE
State of Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Commission

The Workers’ Compensation Act (Connecticut General Statutes Chapter 568) requires your employer,

to provide benefits to you in case of injury or occupational disease in the course of employment.

Section 31-294b of the Workers’ Compensation Act states “Any employee who has sustained an injury 
in the course of his employment shall immediately report the injury to his employer, or some person 
representing his employer. If the employee fails to report the injury immediately, the commissioner 
may reduce the award of compensation proportionately to any prejudice that he finds the employer 
has sustained by reason of the failure, provided the burden of proof with respect to such prejudice 
shall rest upon the employer.”

An injury report by the employee is NOT an official written notice of claim for workers’ compensation 
benefits; the Workers’ Compensation Commission’s Form 30C is necessary to satisfy this requirement.

NOTE:	 You must comply with P. A. 17-141 (see next box, below) when filing a compensation claim.

The INSURANCE COMPANY or SELF-INSURANCE ADMINISTRATOR is:

Name

Address Telephone

City/Town	 State	 Zip Code

Approved Medical Care Plan	 Yes	 No

The State of Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Commission office for this workplace is located at:

Address Telephone

City/Town	 State	 Zip Code

Public Act 17-141 allows an employer the option to designate and post – “in the workplace location 
where other labor law posters required by the Labor Department are prominently displayed” and on 
the Workers’ Compensation Commission’s website [wcc.state.ct.us] – a location where employees 
must file claims for compensation.

If your employer has listed a location below, you MUST file your compensation claim there.
When filing your claim, you are also required – by law – to send it by certified mail.

If blank below, ask your employer where to file your claim.

Employer Name

Address Telephone

City/Town	 State	 Zip Code

TO EMPLOYEES

THIS NOTICE MUST BE IN TYPE OF NOT LESS THAN TEN 
POINT BOLD-FACE AND POSTED IN A CONSPICUOUS 
PLACE IN EACH PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT. FAILURE 
TO POST THIS NOTICE WILL SUBJECT THE EMLOYER 
TO STATUTORY PENALTY (Section 31-279 C.G.S.).

Date Posted:

Any questions as to your rights under the 

law or the obligations of the employer or 

insurance company should be addressed 

to the employer, the insurance company, or 

the Workers’ Compensation Commission 

(1-800-223-9675).

Revised 10-01-2017

Schaumburg IL 60196-5870
800-987-3373

STATE OF OREGON

Zurich American Insurance Company
1299 Zurich Way
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