
 

Job Safety and Health
IT’S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

�� A safe workplace.

�� Raise a safety or health concern with 
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or illness, without being 
retaliated against. 

�� Receive information and training on 
job hazards, including all hazardous 
substances in your workplace. 

�� Request a confidential OSHA inspection 
of your workplace if you believe there are 
unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have 
the right to have a representative contact 
OSHA on your behalf.

�� Participate (or have your representative 
participate) in an OSHA inspection and 
speak in private to the inspector.

�� File a complaint with OSHA within 
30 days (by phone, online or by mail) 
if you have been retaliated against for 
using your rights. 

�� See any OSHA citations issued to 
your employer.

�� Request copies of your medical 
records, tests that measure hazards 
in the workplace, and the workplace 
injury and illness log.

Employers must:

�� Provide employees a workplace free from 
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate 
against an employee for using any of their 
rights under the law, including raising a 
health and safety concern with you or 
with OSHA, or reporting a work-related 
injury or illness.

�� Comply with all applicable OSHA standards. 

�� Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a 
workplace fatality or within 24 hours of 
any work-related inpatient hospitalization, 
amputation, or loss of an eye.

�� Provide required training to all workers 
in a language and vocabulary they can 
understand. 

�� Prominently display this poster in the 
workplace.

�� Post OSHA citations at or near the 
place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are 
available to small and medium-sized 
employers, without citation or penalty, 
through OSHA‑supported consultation 
programs in every state.

U.S. Department of Labor

Contact OSHA. We can help. 

1-800-321-OSHA (6742)  •  TTY 1-877-889-5627  •  www.osha.gov

This poster is available free from OSHA.
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Zurich American Insurance Company

800-987-3373

STATE OF OREGON

931116396

PO BOX 12009

SALEM, OR  97309



MARYLAND
OCCUPATIONAL

SAFETY and HEALTH
ACT

safety
and
health
protection
on the
job

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND COPIES OF THE ACT, SPECIFIC
MARYLAND OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS, AND

OTHER APPLICABLE REGULATIONS MAY BE OBTAINED FROM

THE COMMISSIONER OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

1100 North Eutaw Street

Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Phone: 410-767-SAFE

Complaints about State Program administration may be made to Regional Administrator,
Occupational Safety and Health Administration, The Curtis Center, Suite 740 West,
170 S. Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3309

The Maryland Occupational Safety and Health
Act of 1973 provides job safety and health
protection for workers through the promotion of
safe and healthful working conditions
throughout the State. Requirements of the Act
include the following:

Employers: Each employer shall furnish to each of his or
her employees employment and a place of
employment free from recognized hazards that
are causing or are likely to cause death or
serious harm to employees; and shall comply
with occupational safety and health standards
issued under the Act.

Employees: Each employee shall comply with all
occupational safety and health standards, rules,
regulations and orders issued under the Act that
apply to his or her own actions and conduct on
the job.

The Commissioner of Labor and Industry has
the primary responsibility for administering the
Act and issuing occupational safety and health
standards. MOSH Safety and Health Inspectors
conduct jobsite inspections to ensure
compliance with the Act.

Inspection: The Act requires that a representative
authorized by the employees be given an
opportunity to accompany the MOSH Inspector
for the purpose of aiding the inspection.

Where there is no authorized employee
representative, the MOSH Inspector shall
consult with a reasonable number of employees
concerning safety and health conditions in the
workplace.

Complaint: Employees or their representatives have the
right to file a complaint with the Commissioner
requesting an inspection if they believe unsafe
or unhealthful conditions exist in their
workplace. The Commissioner will withhold
names of employees complaining on request.

The Act provides that employees may not be
discharged or discriminated against in any way
for filing safety and health complaints or
otherwise exercising their rights under the Act.

An employee who believes he or she has been
discriminated against may file a complaint with
the Commissioner and/or the Federal
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Regional Office within 30 days of the alleged
discrimination.

Citation: If upon an inspection the Commissioner
believes an employer has violated the Act, a
citation alleging such violations shall be issued
to the employer. Each citation shall specify a
time period within which the alleged violation
must be corrected.

The MOSH citation must be prominently
displayed at or near the place of alleged
violation for three days, or until it is corrected,
whichever is later, to warn employees of
dangers that may exist there.

Proposed
Penalty: The Act provides for mandatory civil penalties

against employers of up to $7,000 for each
serious violation and for optional penalties of up
to $7,000 for each nonserious violation. Civil
penalties of up to $7,000 per day may be
proposed for failure to correct violations within
the proposed time period. Also, any employer
who willfully or repeatedly violates the Act may
be assessed civil penalties of up to $70,000 for
each such violation.

Criminal penalties are also provided for in the
Act. Any willful violation resulting in death of an
employee, upon conviction, is punishable by a
fine of not more that $10,000 or by
imprisonment for not more than six months, or
by both. Conviction of an employer after a first
conviction doubles these maximum penalties.

Voluntary
Activity: While providing penalties for violation, the Act

also encourages efforts by labor and
management to reduce injuries and illnesses
arising out of employment. The Commissioner
of Labor and Industry encourages employers
and employees to reduce workplace hazards
voluntarily and to develop and improve safety
and health programs in all workplaces and
industries.

Such cooperative action would initially focus on
the identification and elimination of hazards that
could cause death, injury, or illness to
employees and supervisors. There are many
public and private organizations that can
provide information and assistance in this effort,
if requested.

PRIVATE SECTOR

MOSH TRAINING and EDUCATION

10946 Golden West Drive, Suite 160

Hunt Valley, Maryland 21031

Phone: 410-527-2091


