### N.C. WORKERS' COMPENSATION NOTICE TO INJURED WORKERS AND EMPLOYERS

All employees of this business, except specifically excluded executive officers, suffering work-related injuries may be entitled to Workers' Compensation benefits from the employer or its insurance carrier.

### IF YOU HAVE A WORK-RELATED INJURY OR AN OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE

The Employee Should:

- Report the injury or occupational disease to the Employer immediately.
- Give written notice to the Employer within 30 days.
- File a claim with the Industrial Commission on a Form 18 immediately, but no later than 2 years from injury date or occupational disease. Give a copy to the Employer.
- If medical treatment and wage loss compensation are not promptly provided, call the insurance carrier/administrator <u>or</u> request a hearing before the Industrial Commission using a Form 33 Request for Hearing. Commission forms are available at website <u>www.ic.nc.gov</u> or by calling the Help Line.

•	Your employer's workers' compensation insurance carrier is	Zurich Americ	an Insur	ance Company	
•	The insurance policy number is	WC 9663435-10			
•	Your employer's workers' compensation insurance policy is valid from	7/1/2023	until	7/1/2024	•

### For assistance: Call the Industrial Commission HELP LINE—(800) 688-8349.

### The Employer Should:

- Provide all necessary medical services to the Employee.
- Report the injury to the carrier/administrator and file a Form 19 Report of Injury within 5 days with the Industrial Commission, if the Employee misses more than 1 day from work <u>or</u> if cumulative medical costs exceed \$4,000.00.
- Give a copy of your completed Form 19 to the Employee along with a copy of a blank Form 18 Notice of Accident. Ensure that compensation is promptly paid as required under the Workers' Compensation Act.



NORTH CAROLINA INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

NORTH CAROLINA INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 1235 MAIL SERVICE CENTER RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27699-1235

Website: www.ic.nc.gov

TO EMPLOYER: THIS FORM MUST BE PROMINENTLY POSTED IF YOU HAVE WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE OR QUALIFY AS SELF-INSURED. (N.C. Gen. Stat. §97-93).

### Wage and Hour Notice to Employees and OSH Notice to Employees must be posted together.

# **OSH Notice to Employees**

### **Safety and Health**

### N.C. Department of Labor Responsibilities

The state of North Carolina has a federally approved program to administer the Occupational Safety and Health Act in North Carolina. This program is administered by the N.C. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Division.

The OSH Division has the following responsibilities and powers:

- **Inspections**—The OSH Division conducts workplace inspections that can be triggered by complaints, accidents or because the workplace has been randomly selected for an inspection.
- **Citations**—Following an inspection, the employer may be cited for one or more violations of the OSHA standards. The employer will be given a timetable to correct the violation to avoid further action.
- **Penalties**—The Commissioner shall have the authority to assess penalties against any employer who violates the requirements of the OSH Act. The Commissioner shall adjust minimum and maximum civil penalties in accordance with the requirements set forth in the U.S. Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers published by the U.S. Department of Labor as necessary to comply with federal law. The Commissioner shall have a period of 60 calendar days from the date a final rule is published in the Federal Register to publish the civil penalties in the North Carolina Register under 13 NCAC 07A .0301 or any related or subsequent regulations setting penalty standards in compliance with Part 1903 of Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations, and on its website.
- **OSHA Standards**—The division adopts all federally mandated OSHA standards verbatim or can rewrite them to meet state conditions, as long as the new version is at least as strict as the federal standard.

A copy of any specific standard adopted by the OSH Division is available free of charge. The entire "General Industry" or "Construction Industry" standards are available for a nominal cost by calling **1-800-625-2267** or **919-707-7876**.

### **Employer Rights and Responsibilities**

Public and private sector employers have a "general duty" to provide their employees with workplaces that are free of recognized hazards likely to cause serious injury or death. Employers must comply with the OSHA safety and health standards adopted by the Labor Department.

- **Inspections**—An employer has the legal right to refuse to allow an inspector to enter the workplace without an administrative inspection warrant. If this occurs, the inspector will obtain a warrant to conduct the inspection. The employer has the right to accompany the inspector during the physical inspection.
- **Discrimination**—It is illegal to retaliate in any way against an employee for raising a health or safety concern, filing a complaint, reporting a work-related injury or illness, or assisting an inspector. The department will investigate and may prosecute employers who take such action.
- **Citations**—If an OSH inspection results in one or more citations, the employer is required to promptly and prominently display the citation(s) at or near the place where the violation allegedly occurred. It must remain posted for three working days or until the violation has been corrected or abated, whichever is longer.
- **Contesting Penalties**—Once an employer has been cited, he or she may request an "informal conference" with OSH officials to discuss the penalty, abatement or other issues related to the citation. This request must be made within 15 working days after the citation is received.

The employer may formally contest (by filing a "Notice of Contest") the citation(s) or proposed penalty to the N.C. Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission. The Review Commission is an independent body that hears and decides contestments by employers and employees concerning citations, abatement periods and penalties.

Employers wishing to know more about the procedures for filing a "Notice of Contest" should contact the Review Commission. Telephone: **919-733-3589**. Website: **www.oshrb.state.nc.us**.

- **Injury and Illness Records**—Employers with 11 or more employees, unless specifically exempted, are required to maintain updated occupational injury and illness records of their employees. Recordkeeping forms and information concerning these requirements may be obtained from the Education, Training and Technical Assistance Bureau, N.C. Department of Labor. Call **1-800-625-2267** or **919-707-7876**.
- Accident and Fatality Reporting—An employer must report the following:

Within eight hours: Any work-related fatality.

Within 24 hours:

- Any work-related in-patient hospitalization of one or more employees.
- Any work-related amputation.
- Any work-related loss of an eye.

To report an accident, call the OSH Division at **1-800-625-2267** or **919-779-8560**.

### **Employee Rights and Responsibilities**

Public and private sector employees must comply with occupational safety and health standards, rules, regulations, and those orders issued under OSHA that relate to their own actions and conduct.

• **Complaints**—An employee has a right to make a complaint regarding workplace conditions he or she believes are unsafe, unhealthy or in violation of OSHA standards. When an OSH inspector is in an employee's workplace, that employee has a right to point out unsafe or unhealthy conditions and to freely answer any questions asked by the inspector. When making a complaint, the employee may request that his or her name be kept confidential.

To make a complaint, call 1-800-625-2267 or 919-779-8560. Complaints also can be made online at www.labor.nc.gov.

• **Contesting Abatement**—Employees may contest any abatement period set as a result of an OSH inspection at their workplace. An employee has the right to appear before the Review Commission to contest the abatement period and seek judicial review.

### **Unemployment Insurance**

NCDOL does not handle matters relating to unemployment insurance. If you would like information about unemployment insurance policies or procedures, please contact the Department of Commerce, Division of Employment Security, P.O. Box 25903, Raleigh, NC 27611-5903, 1-888-737-0259; www.ncesc.com.

### N.C. Workers' Compensation Notice to Injured Workers and Employers (Form 17)

NCDOL does not handle matters relating to workers' compensation. If you would like information about workers' compensation policies or procedures, please contact the N.C. Industrial Commission at N.C. Industrial Commission, 4340 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4340; 919-807-2500; www.ic.nc.gov. Form 17 must be prominently posted and must be printed in the same colors and format that appear on the Industrial Commission website. To download and print the current version of Form 17, visit www.ic.nc.gov.

### **Other OSHA Information**

- Federal Monitoring—The OSH Division is monitored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Federal authorities ensure that continued state administration is merited. Any person who has a complaint about the state's administration of OSHA may contact the Regional Office of the U.S. Department of Labor, 61 Forsyth St. S.W., Suite 6T50, Atlanta, GA 30303.
- Additional Information or Questions—Anyone having a question about any of the above information may write or call:

N.C. Department of Labor Occupational Safety and Health Division 1101 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1101 Phone: 1-800-625-2267 Fax: 919-707-7964 E-mail: ask.osh@labor.nc.gov www.labor.nc.gov



Dobson

Josh Dobson Commissioner of Labor

This notice must be posted conspicuously. This poster is available free of charge to all North Carolina workplaces. Call 1-800-625-2267 or 919-707-7876 or order online.

**1-800-NC-LABOR** (1-800-625-2267) www.labor.nc.gov

### Follow NCDOL on



Copyright © 2017 by N.C. Department of Labor

All photographs, graphics and illustrations are property of the N.C. Department of Labor or are used by permission/license of their respective copyright holders.

Printed 9/22

25,000 copies of this public document were printed at a cost of \$7,409.00, or \$.30 per copy.



### Wage and Hour Act

### Minimum Wage: \$7.25 per hour (effective 7/24/09).

Employers in North Carolina are required to pay the higher of the minimum wage rate established by state or federal laws. The federal minimum wage increased to \$7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009; therefore, employers in North Carolina are required to pay their employees at least \$7.25 per hour.

An employer may pay as little as \$2.13 per hour to tipped employees so long as each employee receives enough in tips to make up the difference between the wages paid and the minimum wage. Employees must be allowed to keep all tips, except that pooling is permitted if no employee's tips are reduced more than 15%. The employer must keep an accurate and complete record of tips as certified by each employee monthly or for each pay period. Without these records, the employer may not be allowed the tip credit.

Certain full-time students may be paid 90% of the minimum wage, rounded to the lowest nickel.

### **Overtime**

Time and one-half must be paid to all employees after 40 hours of work in any one workweek with some exceptions. The state overtime provisions specifically do not apply to certain types of employees and do not apply to employees classified as exempt under the FLSA. Exemptions may be found in NCGS § 95-25.14.

### Youth Employment

Rules for all youths under 18 years old are: Youth employment certificates are required. To obtain a YEC, please visit our website at www.labor.nc.gov.

Hazardous or Detrimental Occupations: State and federal labor laws protect youth workers by making it illegal for employers to hire them in dangerous jobs. For example, non-agricultural workers under 18 years of age may not operate a forklift; operate many types of power equipment such as meat slicers, circular saws, band saws, bakery machinery or woodworking machines; work as an electrician or electrician's helper; or work from any height above 10 feet, including the use of ladders and scaffolds. Certain exemptions apply for Supervised Practice Youth Internships. For a complete list of prohibited jobs, please visit our website at www.labor.nc.gov.

Additional rules for 16- and 17-year-olds are: No work between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. when there is school the next day. Exception: When the employer gets written permission from the youth's parents and principal.

Additional rules for 14- and 15-year-olds are: Where work can be performed: Retail businesses, food service establishments, service stations and offices of other businesses. Work is not permitted in manufacturing, mining or construction, or with power-driven machinery. Youths 14 years of age cannot work on the premises of a business holding an ABC permit for the on-premises sale or consumption of alcoholic beverages, except that youths 14 years of age can work on the outside grounds of the premises with written consent from a parent or guardian if the youth is not involved with the preparation, serving, dispensing or sale of alcoholic beverages. (NOTE: Unless action is taken by the N.C. General Assembly, this rule will apply to youths under 16 years of age effective Jan. 1, 2024.).

# **N.C. Department of Labor** Wage and Hour Notice to Employees

.Maximum hours per day: Three on school days; eight if a non-school day.

Maximum hours per week: 18 when school is in session: 40 when school is not in session.

Hours of the day: May work only between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. (9 p.m. from June 1 through Labor Day when school is not in session).

Breaks: 30-minute breaks are required after any period of five consecutive hours of work.

Additional rules for vouths under 14 years old are: Work is generally not permitted except when working for the youth's parents; in newspaper distribution to consumers; modeling; or acting in movie, television, radio or theater production.

These state youth employment provisions do not apply to farm, domestic or government work.

### Wage Payment

Wages are due on the regular payday. If requested in writing, final paychecks must be sent by trackable mail. When the amount of wages is in dispute, the employer's payment of the undisputed portion cannot restrict the right of the employee to continue a claim for the rest of the wages.

Employees must be notified in writing of paydays, pay rates, policies on vacation and sick leave, and of commission, bonus and other pay matters. Employers must notify employees in writing of any reduction in the rate of promised wages at least one pay period prior to such change.

Deductions from paychecks are limited to those required by law and those agreed to in writing on or before payday. If the written authorization that the employee signs does not specify a dollar amount, the employee must receive prior to payday (1) written notice of the actual amount to be deducted, (2) written notice of their right to withdraw the authorization, and (3) be given a reasonable opportunity to withdraw the authorization. The written authorization or written notice may be given in an electronic format, provided the requirements of the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act (Chapter 66, Article 40 of the N.C. General Statutes) are met.

The withholding or diversion of wages owed for the employer's benefit may not be taken if they reduce wages below the minimum wage. No reductions may be made to overtime wages owed.

Deductions for cash or inventory shortages or for loss or damage to an employer's property may not be taken unless the employee receives seven days' advance notice. This seven-day rule does not apply to these deductions made at termination. An employer may not use fraud or duress to require employees to pay back protected amounts.

If the employer provides vacation pay plans to employees, the employer shall give vacation time off or payment in lieu of time off, as required by company policy or practice. Employees must be notified in writing of any company policy or practice that results in the loss or forfeiture of vacation time or pay. Employees not so notified are not subject to such loss or forfeiture.

The wage payment provisions apply to all private-sector employers doing business in North Carolina. The wage payment provisions do not apply to any federal, state or local agency or instrumentality of government.

### **Complaints**

The department's Wage and Hour Bureau investigates complaints and may collect back wages plus interest if they are due to the employee. The state of North Carolina may bring civil or criminal actions against the employer for violations of the law. The employee may also sue the employer for back wages. The court may award attorney's fees, costs, liquidated damages and interest.

Anyone having a question about the Wage and Hour Act may call:

### **1-800-NC-LABOR** (1-800-625-2267)

### **Employee Classification**

Any worker who is defined as an employee by the N.C. Wage and Hour Act (N.C. Gen Stat. 95-25.2(4)), the N.C. Employee Fair Classification Act, the Internal Revenue Code as adopted under N.C. Employment Security laws (N.C. Gen. Stat. 96-1(b)(10)), the N.C. Workers' Compensation Act (N.C. Gen. Stat. 97-2(2)), or the N.C. Revenue Act (N.C. Gen. Stat. 105-163.1(4)) shall be treated as an employee.

Any employee who believes that he or she has been misclassified as an independent contractor by his or her employer may report the suspected misclassification to the N.C. Industrial Commission's Employee Classification Section by phone, email or fax. When filing a complaint, please provide the physical location, mailing address, and if available, the telephone number and email address for the employer suspected of employee misclassification:

**Employee Classification Section** N.C. Industrial Commission 1233 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-4333 Email: emp.classification@ic.nc.gov Phone: 919-807-2582 Fax: 919-715-0282

### **Employment at Will**

North Carolina is an employment-at-will state. The term "employment-atwill" simply means that unless there is a specific law to protect employees or an employment contract providing otherwise, then an employer can treat its employees as it sees fit and the employer can discharge an employee at the will of the employer for any reason or no reason at all.

### **Right-to-Work Laws**

North Carolina is a "right-to-work" state. Right-to-work applies to collective bargaining or labor unions. The right of persons to work cannot be denied or reduced in any way because they are either members of a labor union (including labor organization or labor association) or chose not to be a member of any such labor union. An employer cannot require any person, as a condition of employment or continuation of employment, to pay any dues or other fees of any kind to a labor union. Also, an employer cannot enter into an agreement with a labor union whereby (1) non-union members are denied the right to work for the employer, (2) membership is made a condition of employment or continuation of employment, or (3) the labor union acquires an employment monopoly in any enterprise.





NCDOL has no enforcement authority regarding labor union laws. For employee concerns regarding labor unions, contact the Regional Office of the National Labor Relations Board. The NLRB is an independent federal agency that protects the rights of private sector employees to join together, with or without a union, to improve their wages and working conditions. Regional office contact:

NLRB—Region 11 Office **Republic Square** 4035 University Parkway, Suite 200 Winston-Salem, NC 27106-3325 336-631-5201

### **Retaliatory Employment Discrimination**

The department's Retaliatory Employment Discrimination Bureau investigates complaints filed by employees against their employers for alleged violations of the N.C. Retaliatory Employment Discrimination Act (REDA). Under REDA, an employer may not retaliate against an employee for engaging in REDAprotected activities, such as filing a claim or initiating an inquiry, related to certain rights under the following:

- Workers' Compensation Claims
- · Wage and Hour Complaints
- · Occupational Safety and Health Complaints
- · Mine Safety and Health Complaints
- Genetic Testing Discrimination
- Sickle Cell or Hemoglobin C Carriers Discrimination
- N.C. National Guard Service Discrimination
- Participation in the Juvenile Justice System
- Exercising Rights Under Domestic Violence Laws
- Pesticide Regulation Complaints
- Drug Paraphernalia Complaints

Employees who believe they have been retaliated against in their employment because of activities under the above statutes, or employers who have questions about the application of REDA, may call:

### **1-800-NC-LABOR** (1-800-625-2267)

A REDA complaint must be filed with the bureau within 180 days of the date of retaliation.

### www.labor.nc.gov



Copyright © 2017 by N.C. Department of Labo

All photographs, graphics and illustrations are property of the N.C. Department of Labor or are used by permission/license of their respective copyright holders.

To find out more information about this poster and to download all of the required state and federal posters, please visit our website at: www.labor.nc.gov/labor-law-posters

Printed 9/22 25,000 copies of this public document were printed at a cost of \$3,750, or \$.15 per copy.

### Certificate of Coverage and Notice to Workers as to Benefit Rights

Employers covered by the Employment Security Law of North Carolina (Chapter 96 of the North Carolina General Statutes) contribute to a special fund set aside for the payment of unemployment insurance benefits. No money is withheld from workers' checks for unemployment insurance purposes.

If your work hours are substantially reduced or your job is eliminated due to lack of work you may qualify for unemployment insurance benefits. If you work less than the equivalent of (3) customary scheduled full time days, during any payroll week because work was not available, you may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits. An employer may file claims for employees through the use of automation in case of partial unemployment. An employer may file an attached claim for an employee only once during a benefit year, and the period of partial unemployment for which the claim is filed may not exceed six consecutive weeks. You must notify the employer of any wages earned from all sources during the payroll week. Unemployment insurance benefit payments are processed in Raleigh, North Carolina. Please be sure that your employer has your correct mailing address.

If you lose your job with this employer, you may contact the Department of Commerce, Division of Workforce Solutions (DWS) at www.nccommerce.com/workforce to assist you in securing suitable work. DWS provides a wide variety of services free of charge. If suitable work is not readily available you may file a claim for unemployment insurance benefits with the Division of Employment Security at des.nc.gov, or by phone at 877-841-9617.

By law, workers who become unemployed for other reasons or who refuse suitable work may be denied unemployment insurance benefits.

If you have any questions about unemployment insurance benefits or need more information, contact the Division of Employment Security at the address shown on the bottom of this poster.

### **During Labor Disputes** [Section 96-14.7(b)]

An individual is disqualified for benefits if the Division determines the individual's total or partial unemployment is caused by a labor dispute at your place of employment or any location owned by the employer within the state of North Carolina. Once the labor dispute has ended, such workers shall continue to be ineligible for unemployment insurance benefits for the period of time that is reasonably necessary to resume operations in the workers' place of employment

### Instructions for Employers

- 1. Post this notice on your premises in such a place that all employees may see it. Additional copies may be obtained online at des.nc.gov.
- 2. You must notify affected workers of a vacation period within a reasonable period of time before

it begins.

3. Benefit claims for attached workers may be filed online at des.nc.gov.

For More Information, Contact:

North Carolina Department of Commerce Division of Employment Security P.O. Box 25903 Raleigh, N.C. 27611 Telephone: (919) 707-1237 des.nc.gov





### Know Your Rights: Workplace Discrimination is Illegal

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces Federal laws that protect you from discrimination in employment. If you believe you've been discriminated against at work or in applying for a job, the EEOC may be able to help.

### Who is Protected?

- Employees (current and former), including managers and temporary employees
- Union members and applicants for membership in a union
- Job applicants

(as employers)

### What Organizations are Covered?

- Most private employers
- Educational institutions (as employers)
- State and local governments • Unions
  - Staffing agencies

### What Types of Employment Discrimination are Illegal?

Under the EEOC's laws, an employer may not discriminate against you, regardless of your immigration status, on the bases of:

- Race
- Color
- Religion
- National origin
- Sex (including pregnancy and related conditions, sexual orientation, or gender identity)
- Age (40 and older)
- Disability

- Genetic information (including employer requests for, or purchase, use, or disclosure of genetic tests, genetic services, or family medical history)
- Retaliation for filing a charge, reasonably opposing discrimination, or participating in a discrimination lawsuit, investigation, or proceeding.

### What Employment Practices can be Challenged as Discriminatory?

All aspects of employment, including:

- Discharge, firing, or lay-off Harassment (including
- unwelcome verbal or physical conduct)
- Hiring or promotion
- Assignment
- Pay (unequal wages or compensation)
- Failure to provide reasonable accommodation for a disability or a sincerelyheld religious belief, observance or practice
- Benefits

- Job training
- Classification
- Referral
- Obtaining or disclosing genetic information of employees
- Requesting or disclosing medical information of employees
- Conduct that might reasonably discourage someone from opposing discrimination, filing a charge, or participating in an investigation or proceeding.

### What can You Do if You Believe Discrimination has Occurred?

Contact the EEOC promptly if you suspect discrimination. Do not delay, because there are strict time limits for filing a charge of discrimination (180 or 300 days, depending on where you live/ work). You can reach the EEOC in any of the following ways:

**Submit** an inquiry through the EEOC's public portal: https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx

- Call 1-800-669-4000 (toll free) 1-800-669-6820 (TTY) 1-844-234-5122 (ASL video phone)
- Visit an EEOC field office (information at www.eeoc.gov/field-office)
- E-Mail info@eeoc.gov

Additional information about the EEOC, including information about filing a charge of discrimination, is available at www.eeoc.gov.



### **EMPLOYERS HOLDING FEDERAL CONTRACTS OR SUBCONTRACTS**

The Department of Labor's Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) enforces the nondiscrimination and affirmative action commitments of companies doing business with the Federal Government. If you are applying for a job with, or are an employee of, a company with a Federal contract or subcontract, you are protected under Federal law from discrimination on the following bases:

### Race, Color, Religion, Sex, Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, National Origin

Executive Order 11246, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination by Federal contractors based on race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, or national origin, and requires affirmative action to ensure equality of opportunity in all aspects of employment.

### Asking About, Disclosing, or Discussing Pay

Executive Order 11246, as amended, protects applicants and employees of Federal contractors from discrimination based on inquiring about, disclosing, or discussing their compensation or the compensation of other applicants or employees.

### Disability

Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, protects qualified individuals with disabilities from discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and other aspects of employment by Federal contractors. Disability discrimination includes not making reasonable accommodation to the known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue hardship to the employer. Section 503 also requires that Federal contractors take affirmative action to employ and advance in employment qualified individuals with disabilities at all levels of employment, including the executive level.

### **Protected Veteran Status**

The Vietnam Era Veterans' Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212, prohibits employment discrimination against, and requires affirmative action to recruit, employ, and advance in employment, disabled veterans, recently separated veterans (i.e., within three years of discharge or release from active duty), active duty wartime or campaign badge veterans, or Armed Forces service medal veterans.

### Retaliation

Retaliation is prohibited against a person who files a complaint of discrimination, participates in an OFCCP proceeding, or otherwise opposes discrimination by Federal contractors under these Federal laws.

Any person who believes a contractor has violated its nondiscrimination or affirmative action obligations under OFCCP's authorities should contact immediately:

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) U.S. Department of Labor 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20210 1–800–397–6251 (toll-free)

If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 7–1–1 to access telecommunications relay services. OFCCP may also be contacted by submitting a question online to OFCCP's Help Desk at *https://ofccphelpdesk.dol.gov/s/*, or by calling an OFCCP regional or district office, listed in most telephone directories under U.S. Government, Department of Labor and on OFCCP's "Contact Us" webpage at *https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ofccp/contact*.

### PROGRAMS OR ACTIVITIES RECEIVING FEDERAL FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE

### Race, Color, National Origin, Sex

In addition to the protections of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color or national origin in programs or activities receiving Federal financial assistance. Employment discrimination is covered by Title VI if the primary objective of the financial assistance is provision of employment, or where employment discrimination causes or may cause discrimination in providing services under such programs. Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of sex in educational programs or activities which receive Federal financial assistance.

### **Individuals with Disabilities**

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of disability in any program or activity which receives Federal financial assistance. Discrimination is prohibited in all aspects of employment against persons with disabilities who, with or without reasonable accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the job.

If you believe you have been discriminated against in a program of any institution which receives Federal financial assistance, you should immediately contact the Federal agency providing such assistance.

# **EMPLOYEE RIGHTS UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT** FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE 44 **PER HOUR BEGINNING JULY 24, 2009**

### The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

At least 1½ times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek. **OVERTIME PAY** 

- CHILD LABOR An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs and at least 18 to work in non-farm jobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 years old may work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, non-mining, non-hazardous jobs with certain work hours restrictions. Different rules apply in agricultural employment.
- Employers of "tipped employees" who meet certain conditions may claim a partial wage credit TIP CREDIT based on tips received by their employees. Employers must pay tipped employees a cash wage of at least \$2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If an employee's tips combined with the employer's cash wage of at least \$2.13 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference.

### NURSING **MOTHERS**

The FLSA requires employers to provide reasonable break time for a nursing mother employee who is subject to the FLSA's overtime requirements in order for the employee to express breast milk for her nursing child for one year after the child's birth each time such employee has a need to express breast milk. Employers are also required to provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by the employee to express breast milk.

### ENFORCEMENT

The Department has authority to recover back wages and an equal amount in liquidated damages in instances of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Department may litigate and/or recommend criminal prosecution. Employers may be assessed civil money penalties for each willful or repeated violation of the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law. Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations of the FLSA's child labor provisions. Heightened civil money penalties may be assessed for each child labor violation that results in the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments may be doubled when the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits retaliating against or discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the FLSA.

### ADDITIONAL ORMATIO

 Certain occupations and establishments are exempt from the minimum wage, and/or overtime pay provisions.

- Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
- Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both.
- Some employers incorrectly classify workers as "independent contractors" when they are actually employees under the FLSA. It is important to know the difference between the two because employees (unless exempt) are entitled to the FLSA's minimum wage and overtime pay protections and correctly classified independent contractors are not.
- Certain full-time students, student learners, apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be paid less than the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the Department of Labor.



1-866-487-9243 TTY: 1-877-889-5627 www.dol.gov/whd



# EMPLOYEE POLYGRAPH PROTECTION ACT

The Employee Polygraph Protection Act prohibits most private employers from using lie detector tests either for pre-employment screening or during the course of employment.

### PROHIBITIONS

Employers are generally prohibited from requiring or requesting any employee or job applicant to take a lie detector test, and from discharging, disciplining, or discriminating against an employee or prospective employee for refusing to take a test or for exercising other rights under the Act.

### **EXEMPTIONS**

Federal, State and local governments are not affected by the law. Also, the law does not apply to tests given by the Federal Government to certain private individuals engaged in national security-related activities.

The Act permits polygraph (a kind of lie detector) tests to be administered in the private sector, subject to restrictions, to certain prospective employees of security service firms (armored car, alarm, and guard), and of pharmaceutical manufacturers, distributors and dispensers.

The Act also permits polygraph testing, subject to restrictions, of certain employees of private firms who are reasonably suspected of involvement in a workplace incident (theft, embezzlement, etc.) that resulted in economic loss to the employer.

The law does not preempt any provision of any State or local law or any collective bargaining agreement which is more restrictive with respect to lie detector tests.

### EXAMINEE RIGHTS

Where polygraph tests are permitted, they are subject to numerous strict standards concerning the conduct and length of the test. Examinees have a number of specific rights, including the right to a written notice before testing, the right to refuse or discontinue a test, and the right not to have test results disclosed to unauthorized persons.

**ENFORCEMENT** The Secretary of Labor may bring court actions to restrain violations and assess civil penalties against violators. Employees or job applicants may also bring their own court actions.

### THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER WHERE EMPLOYEES AND JOB APPLICANTS CAN READILY SEE IT.





WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 1-866-487-9243 TTY: 1-877-889-5627 www.dol.gov/whd



WH1462 REV 07/16

# EMPLOYEE RIGHTS UNDER THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

### THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

### LEAVE ENTITLEMENTS

•

Eligible employees who work for a covered employer can take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month period for the following reasons:

- The birth of a child or placement of a child for adoption or foster care;
- To bond with a child (leave must be taken within one year of the child's birth or placement);
- To care for the employee's spouse, child, or parent who has a qualifying serious health condition;
- For the employee's own qualifying serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the employee's job;
- For qualifying exigencies related to the foreign deployment of a military member who is the employee's spouse, child, or parent.

An eligible employee who is a covered servicemember's spouse, child, parent, or next of kin may also take up to 26 weeks of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to care for the servicemember with a serious injury or illness.

An employee does not need to use leave in one block. When it is medically necessary or otherwise permitted, employees may take leave intermittently or on a reduced schedule.

Employees may choose, or an employer may require, use of accrued paid leave while taking FMLA leave. If an employee substitutes accrued paid leave for FMLA leave, the employee must comply with the employer's normal paid leave policies.

While employees are on FMLA leave, employers must continue health insurance coverage as if the employees were not on leave.

Upon return from FMLA leave, most employees must be restored to the same job or one nearly identical to it with equivalent pay, benefits, and other employment terms and conditions.

An employer may not interfere with an individual's FMLA rights or retaliate against someone for using or trying to use FMLA leave, opposing any practice made unlawful by the FMLA, or being involved in any proceeding under or related to the FMLA.

### ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

BENEFITS & PROTECTIONS

An employee who works for a covered employer must meet three criteria in order to be eligible for FMLA leave. The employee must:

- Have worked for the employer for at least 12 months;
- Have at least 1,250 hours of service in the 12 months before taking leave;\* and
- Work at a location where the employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles of the employee's worksite.

\*Special "hours of service" requirements apply to airline flight crew employees.

REQUESTING LEAVE Generally, employees must give 30-days' advance notice of the need for FMLA leave. If it is not possible to give 30-days' notice, an employee must notify the employer as soon as possible and, generally, follow the employer's usual procedures.

Employees do not have to share a medical diagnosis, but must provide enough information to the employer so it can determine if the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. Sufficient information could include informing an employer that the employee is or will be unable to perform his or her job functions, that a family member cannot perform daily activities, or that hospitalization or continuing medical treatment is necessary. Employees must inform the employer if the need for leave is for a reason for which FMLA leave was previously taken or certified.

Employers can require a certification or periodic recertification supporting the need for leave. If the employer determines that the certification is incomplete, it must provide a written notice indicating what additional information is required.

### EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES

Once an employer becomes aware that an employee's need for leave is for a reason that may qualify under the FMLA, the employer must notify the employee if he or she is eligible for FMLA leave and, if eligible, must also provide a notice of rights and responsibilities under the FMLA. If the employee is not eligible, the employer must provide a reason for ineligibility.

Employers must notify its employees if leave will be designated as FMLA leave, and if so, how much leave will be designated as FMLA leave.

### **ENFORCEMENT**

Employees may file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, or may bring a private lawsuit against an employer.

The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective bargaining agreement that provides greater family or medical leave rights.



# **EMPLOYEE RIGHTS** FOR WORKERS WITH DISABILITIES

PAID AT SUBMINIMUM WAGES

This establishment has a certificate authorizing the payment of subminimum wages to workers who are disabled for the work they are performing. Authority to pay subminimum wages to workers with disabilities generally applies to work covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), McNamara-O'Hara Service Contract Act (SCA), and/or Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act (PCA). Such subminimum wages are referred to as "commensurate wage rates" and are less than the basic hourly rates stated in an SCA wage determination and/or less than the FLSA minimum wage of \$7.25 per hour. A "commensurate wage rate" is based on the worker's individual productivity, no matter how limited, in proportion to the wage and productivity of experienced workers who do not have disabilities that impact their productivity when performing essentially the same type, quality, and quantity of work in the geographic area from which the labor force of the community is drawn.

Employers shall make this poster available and display it where employees and the parents and guardians of workers with disabilities can readily see it.

### WORKERS WITH DISABILITIES

Subminimum wages under section 14(c) are not applicable unless a worker's disability actually impairs the worker's earning or productive capacity for the work being performed. The fact that a worker may have a disability is not in and of itself sufficient to warrant the payment of a subminimum wage.

For purposes of payment of commensurate wage rates under a certificate, a worker with a disability is defined as: An individual whose earnings or productive capacity is impaired by a physical or mental disability, including those related to age or injury, for the work to be performed.

Disabilities which may affect productive capacity include an intellectual or developmental disability, psychiatric disability, a hearing or visual impairment, and certain other impairments. The following do not ordinarily affect productive capacity for purposes of paying commensurate wage rates: educational disabilities; chronic unemployment; receipt of welfare benefits; nonattendance at school; juvenile delinquency; and correctional parole or probation.

### WORKER NOTIFICATION

### KEY ELEMENTS OF COMMENSURATE WAGE RATES

Each worker with a disability and, where appropriate, the parent or guardian of such worker, shall be informed orally and in writing by the employer of the terms of the certificate under which such worker is employed.

- Nondisabled worker standard—The objective gauge (usually a time study of the production of workers who do not have disabilities that impair their productivity for the job) against which the productivity of a worker with a disability is measured.
- Prevailing wage rate-The wage paid to experienced workers who do not have disabilities that impair their productivity for the same or similar work and who are performing such work in the area. Most SCA contracts include a wage determination specifying the prevailing wage rates to be paid for SCA-covered work.
- Evaluation of the productivity of the worker with a disability-Documented measurement of the production of the worker with a disability (in terms of quantity and quality).

The wages of all workers paid commensurate wages must be reviewed, and adjusted if appropriate, at periodic intervals. At a minimum, the productivity of hourly-paid workers must be reevaluated at least every six months and a new prevailing wage survey must be conducted at least once every twelve months. In addition, prevailing wages must be reviewed, and adjusted as appropriate, whenever there is a change in the job or a change in the prevailing wage rate, such as when the applicable state or federal minimum wage is increased.

The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 (WIOA) amended the Rehabilitation Act by adding section 511, which places limitations on the payment of subminimum wages to individuals with disabilities by mandating the completion of certain requirements prior to and during the payment of a subminimum wage.

Executive Order 13658, Establishing a Minimum Wage for Contractors, established a minimum wage that generally must be paid to workers performing on or in connection with a covered contract with the Federal Government. Workers covered by this Executive Order and due the full Executive Order minimum wage include workers with disabilities whose wages are calculated pursuant to certificates issued under section 14(c) of the FLSA.

FRINGE BENEFITS

**EXECUTIVE ORDER** 

Neither the FLSA nor the PCA have provisions requiring vacation, holiday, or sick pay nor other fringe benefits such as nealth insurance or pension plans. SCA wage determinations may require such tringe benefit payments (or a cash equivalent). Workers paid under a certificate authorizing commensurate wage rates must receive the full fringe benefits listed on the SCA wage determination.

### WIOA

13658

OVERTIME

### CHILD LABOR

### PETITION PROCESS

Generally, if a worker is performing work subject to the FLSA, SCA, and/or PCA, that worker must be paid at least 1 1/2 times their regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

Minors younger than 18 years of age must be employed in accordance with the child labor provisions of the FLSA. No persons under 16 years of age may be employed in manufacturing or on a PCA contract.

Workers with disabilities paid at subminimum wages may petition the Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division of the Department of Labor for a review of their wage rates by an Administrative Law Judge. No particular form of petition is required, except that it must be signed by the worker with a disability or his or her parent or guardian and should contain the name and address of the employer. Petitions should be mailed to: Administrator, Wage and Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor, Room S-3502, 200 Constitution Avenue NW, Washington, D.C. 20210.







# EMPLOYEE RIGHTS UNDER THE DAVIS-BACON ACT

# FOR LABORERS AND MECHANICS EMPLOYED ON FEDERAL OR FEDERALLY ASSISTED CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS

PREVAILING WAGES	You must be paid not less than the wage rate listed in the Davis-Bacon Wage Decision posted with this Notice for the work you perform.
OVERTIME	You must be paid not less than one and one-half times your basic rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a work week. There are few exceptions.
ENFORCEMENT	Contract payments can be withheld to ensure workers receive wages and overtime pay due, and liquidated damages may apply if overtime pay requirements are not met. Davis-Bacon contract clauses allow contract termination and debarment of contractors from future federal contracts for up to three years. A contractor who falsifies certified payroll records or induces wage kickbacks may be subject to civil or criminal prosecution, fines and/or imprisonment.
APPRENTICES	Apprentice rates apply only to apprentices properly registered under approved Federal or State apprenticeship programs.
PROPER PAY	If you do not receive proper pay, or require further information on the applicable wages, contact the Contracting Officer listed below:

or contact the U.S. Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division.



WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 1-866-487-9243 TTY: 1-877-889-5627 www.dol.gov/whd



WH1321 REV 10/17

# EMPLOYEE RIGHTS ON GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS

THIS ESTABLISHMENT IS PERFORMING GOVERNMENT CONTRACT WORK SUBJECT TO: (CHECK ONE)

# SERVICE CONTRACT ACT (SCA) PUBLIC CONTRACTS ACT (PCA)

### **MINIMUM WAGES**

Your rate must be no less than the federal minimum wage established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

A higher rate may be required for SCA contracts if a wage determination applies. Such wage determination will be posted as an attachment to this notice.

FRINGE BENEFITS	SCA wage determinations may require fringe benefit payments (or a
	cash equivalent). PCA contracts do not require fringe benefits.

**OVERTIME PAY** You must be paid 1.5 times your basic rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a week. There are some exceptions.

CHILD LABOR No person under 16 years of age may be employed on a PCA contract.

**SAFETY & HEALTH** Work must be performed under conditions that are sanitary, and not hazardous or dangerous to employees' health and safety.

**ENFORCEMENT** Specific DOL agencies are responsible for the administration of these laws. To file a complaint or obtain information, contact the **Wage and Hour Division** (WHD) by calling its toll-free help line at

1-866-4-USWAGE (1-866-487-9243), or visit **www.dol.gov/whd** 

Contact the **Occupational Safety and Health Administration** (OSHA) by calling 1-800-321-OSHA (1-800-321-6742), or visit **www.osha.gov** 



1-866-487-9243 TTY: 1-877-889-5627 www.dol.gov/whd



WH1313 REV 04/09 page 1 of 2

### **U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR**

The purpose of the discussion below is to advise contractors which are subject to the Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act or the Service Contract Act of the principal provisions of these acts.

### WALSH-HEALEY PUBLIC CONTRACTS ACT

**General Provisions** — This act applies to contracts which exceed or may exceed \$10,000 entered into by any agency or instrumentality of the United States for the manufacture or furnishing of materials, supplies, articles, or equipment. The act establishes minimum wage, maximum hours, and safety and health standards for work on such contracts, and prohibits the employment on contract work of convict labor (unless certain conditions are met) and children under 16 years of age. The employment of homeworkers (except homeworkers with disabilities employed under the provisions of Regulations, 29 CFR Part 525) on a covered contract is not permitted.

In addition to its coverage of prime contractors, the act under certain circumstances applies to secondary contractors performing work under contracts awarded by the Government prime contractor.

All provisions of the act except the safety and health requirements are administered by the Wage and Hour Division.

**Minimum Wage** – Covered employees must currently be paid not less than the Federal minimum wage established in section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

**Overtime**—Covered workers must be paid at least one and one-half times their basic rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 a week. Overtime is due on the basis of the total hours spent in all work, Government and non-Government, performed by the employee in any week in which covered work is performed.

**Child Labor**—Employers may protect themselves against unintentional child labor violations by obtaining certificates of age. State employment or age certificates are acceptable.

**Safety and Health**—No covered work may be performed in plants, factories, buildings, or surroundings or under work conditions that are unsanitary or hazardous or dangerous to the health and safety of the employees engaged in the performance of the contract. The safety and health provisions of the Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act are administered by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

**Posting**—During the period that covered work is being performed on a contract subject to the act, the contractor must post copies of Notice to Employees Working on Government Contracts in a sufficient number of places to permit employees to observe a copy on the way to or from their place of employment.

**Responsibility for Secondary Contractors**—Prime contractors are liable for violations of the act committed by their covered secondary contractors.

### SERVICE CONTRACT ACT

**General Provisions** — The Service Contract Act applies to every contract entered into by the United States or the District of Columbia, the principal purpose of which is to furnish services in the United States through the use of service employees. Contractors and subcontractors performing on such Federal contracts must observe minimum wage and safety and health standards, and must maintain certain records, unless a specific exemption applies.

**Wages and Fringe Benefits**—Every service employee performing any of the Government contract work under a service contract in excess of \$2,500 must be paid not less than the monetary wages, and must be furnished the fringe benefits, which the Secretary of Labor has determined to be prevailing in the locality for the classification in which the employee is working or the wage rates and fringe benefits (including any accrued or prospective wage rates and fringe benefits) contained in a predecessor contractor's collective bargaining agreement. The wage rates and fringe benefits required are usually specified in the contract but in no case may employees doing work necessary for the performance of the contract be paid less than the minimum wage established in section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act. Service contracts which do not exceed \$2,500 are not subject to prevailing rate determinations or to the safety and health requirements of the act. However, the act does require that employees performing work on such contracts be paid not less than the minimum wage rate established in section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act. Service contracts which do not exceed \$2,500 are not subject to prevailing rate determinations or to the safety and health requirements of the act. However, the act does require that employees performing work on such contracts be paid not less than the minimum wage rate established in section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

**Overtime**—The Fair Labor Standards Act and the Contract Work Hours Safety Standards Act may require the payment of overtime at time and one-half the regular rate of pay for all hours work on the contract in excess of 40 a week. The Contract Work Hours Safety Standards Act is more limited in scope than the Fair Labor Standards Act and generally applies to Government contracts in excess of \$100,000 that require or involve the employment of laborers, mechanics, guards, watchmen.

**Safety and Health**—The act provides that no part of the services in contracts in excess of \$2,500 may be performed in buildings or surroundings or under working conditions, provided by or under the control or supervision of the contractor or subcontractor, which are unsanitary or hazardous or dangerous to the health or safety of service employees engaged to furnish the services. The safety and health provisions of the Service Contract Act are administered by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

**Notice to Employees**—On the date a service employee commences work on a contract in excess of \$2,500, the contractor (or subcontractor) must provide the employee with a notice of the compensation required by the act. The posting of the notice (including any applicable wage determination) contained on the reverse in a location where it may be seen by all employees performing on the contract will satisfy this requirement.

**Notice in Subcontracts**—The contractor is required to insert in all subcontracts the labor standards clauses specified by the regulations in 29 CFR Part 4 for Federal service contracts exceeding \$2,500.

**Responsibility for Secondary Contractors**—Prime contractors are liable for violations of the act committed by their covered secondary contractors.

**Other Obligations** — Observance of the labor standards of these acts does not relieve the employer of any obligation he may have under any other laws or agreements providing for higher labor standards.

Additional Information – Additional Information and copies of the acts and applicable regulations and interpretations may be obtained from the nearest office of the Wage and Hour Division or the national office in Washington, D.C. Information pertaining to safety and health standards may be obtained from the nearest office of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration or the national office in Washington, D.C.

# Notice

### Migrant and Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act

This federal law requires agricultural employers, agricultural associations, farm labor contractors and their employees to observe certain labor standards when employing migrant and seasonal farmworkers unless specific exemptions apply. Further, farm labor contractors are required to register with the U.S. Department of Labor.

### Migrant and Seasonal Farmworkers Have These Rights

- To receive accurate information about wages and working conditions for the prospective employment
- To receive this information in writing and in English, Spanish or other languages, as appropriate
- To have the terms of the working arrangement upheld
- To have farm labor contractors show proof of registration at the time of recruitment
- To be paid wages when due
- To receive itemized, written statements of earnings for each pay period
- To purchase goods from the source of their choice
- To be transported in vehicles which are properly insured and operated by licensed drivers, and which meet federal and state safety standards
- For migrant farmworkers who are provided housing
  - \* To be housed in property which meets federal and state safety and health standards
  - \* To have the housing information presented to them in writing at the time of recruitment
  - \* To have posted in a conspicuous place at the housing site or presented to them a statement of the terms and conditions of occupancy, if any

Workers who believe their rights under the act have been violated may file complaints with the department's Wage and Hour Division or may file suit directly in federal district court. The law prohibits employers from discriminating against workers who file complaints, testify or in any way exercise their rights on their own behalf or on behalf of others. Complaints of such discrimination must be filed with the division within 180 days of the alleged event.

# Aviso

### Ley de Protección de Trabajadores Migrantes y Temporales en la Agricultura

Esta ley federal exige que los patrones agrícolas, las asociaciones agrícolas, los contratistas de mano de obra agrícola (o troqueros), y sus empleados cumplan con ciertas normas laborales cuando ocupan a los trabajadores migrantes y temporales en la agricultura, a menos que se apliquen excepciones específicas. Los contratistas, o troqueros, tienen además la obligación de registrarse con el Departamento del Trabajo.

### Los Trabajadores Migrantes y Temporales en la Agricultura Tienen los Derechos Siguientes

- Recibir detalles exactos sobre el salario y las condiciones de trabajo del empleo futuro
- Recibir estos datos por escrito en inglés, en español, o en otro idioma que sea apropiado
- Cumplimiento de todas las condiciones de trabajo como fueron presentadas cuando se les hizo la oferta de trabajo
- Al ser reclutados para un trabajo, ver una prueba de que el contratista se haya registrado con el Departamento del Trabajo
- Cobrar el salario en la fecha fijada
- Recibir cada día de pago un recibo indicando el salario y la razón de cualquier deducción
- Comprar mercancías al comerciante que ellos escojan
- Ser transportados en vehículos que tengan seguros adecuados y que hayan pasado las inspecciones federales y estatales de seguridad, y conducidos por choferes que tengan permisos de manejar
- Las garantías para los trabajadores migrantes a quienes se les proporcionen viviendas o alojamiento
  - Viviendas que satisfazcan los requisitos federales y estatales de seguridad y de sanidad
  - \* Al ser reclutados, recibir por escrito informes sobre las viviendas y su costo
  - Recibir de su patron un aviso escrito explicando las condiciones de ocupación de la vivienda, o que tal aviso esté colocado en un lugar visible de la vivienda

Los trabajadores que crean haber sufrido una violación de sus derechos pueden presentar sus quejas a la División de Salarios y Horas o pueden presentar una demanda directamente a los tribunales federales. La ley prohibe cualquier discriminación o sanción hacia los trabajadores que presenten tales quejas, que hagan declaraciones, o que reclamen de cualquier manera sus derechos, sea a beneficio de sí mismos o a beneficio de otros. Hay que presentar las quejas de discriminación o de sanción a la división dentro de 180 días del suceso.

For further information, get in touch with the nearest office of the Wage and Hour Division, listed in most telephone directories under the U.S. Government, Department of Labor. En caso de que necesite más información, comuníquense con la oficina de la División de Salarios y Horas más cercana, que aparece en la mayoría de los directorios telefónicos bajo el título U.S. Government, Department of Labor.

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 1-866-487-9243 www.dol.gov/whd

The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

DIVISIÓN DE HORAS Y SALARIOS DEPARTAMENTO DE TRABAJO DE LOS EE.UU. 1-866-487-9243 www.dol.gov/whd



La ley exige que los patrones fijen este aviso en un lugar donde puedan verlo fácilmente los trabajadores. WH13

WH1376 REV 0483 PRINT 0718













### YOUR RIGHTS UNDER USERRA THE UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT

USERRA protects the job rights of individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave employment positions to undertake military service or certain types of service in the National Disaster Medical System. USERRA also prohibits employers from discriminating against past and present members of the uniformed services, and applicants to the uniformed services.

#### **REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS**

You have the right to be reemployed in your civilian job if you leave that job to perform service in the uniformed service and:

- you ensure that your employer receives advance written or verbal notice of your service;
- ☆ you have five years or less of cumulative service in the uniformed services while with that particular employer;
- ☆ you return to work or apply for reemployment in a timely manner after conclusion of service; and
- ☆ you have not been separated from service with a disqualifying discharge or under other than honorable conditions.

If you are eligible to be reemployed, you must be restored to the job and benefits you would have attained if you had not been absent due to military service or, in some cases, a comparable job.

### **RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION**

#### If you:

- $\Rightarrow$  are a past or present member of the uniformed service;
- ightarrow have applied for membership in the uniformed service; or
- ightarrow are obligated to serve in the uniformed service;

then an employer may not deny you:

- ☆ initial employment;
- ☆ reemployment;
- $\stackrel{}{\propto}$  retention in employment;
- $\Rightarrow$  promotion; or
- lpha any benefit of employment

because of this status.

In addition, an employer may not retaliate against anyone assisting in the enforcement of USERRA rights, including testifying or making a statement in connection with a proceeding under USERRA, even if that person has no service connection.

#### **HEALTH INSURANCE PROTECTION**

- If you leave your job to perform military service, you have the right to elect to continue your existing employer-based health plan coverage for you and your dependents for up to 24 months while in the military.
- Even if you don't elect to continue coverage during your military service, you have the right to be reinstated in your employer's health plan when you are reemployed, generally without any waiting periods or exclusions (e.g., pre-existing condition exclusions) except for service-connected illnesses or injuries.

### **ENFORCEMENT**

- ☆ The U.S. Department of Labor, Veterans Employment and Training Service (VETS) is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints of USERRA violations.
- ☆ For assistance in filing a complaint, or for any other information on USERRA, contact VETS at 1-866-4-USA-DOL or visit its website at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/. An interactive online USERRA Advisor can be viewed at https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/vets/userra
- ☆ If you file a complaint with VETS and VETS is unable to resolve it, you may request that your case be referred to the Department of Justice or the Office of Special Counsel, as applicable, for representation.
- $\Rightarrow$  You may also bypass the VETS process and bring a civil action against an employer for violations of USERRA.

The rights listed here may vary depending on the circumstances. The text of this notice was prepared by VETS, and may be viewed on the internet at this address: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/programs/userra/poster Federal law requires employers to notify employees of their rights under USERRA, and employers may meet this requirement by displaying the text of this notice where they customarily place notices for employees.





**U.S. Department of Justice** 



**Office of Special Counsel** 



**1-800-336-4590** Publication Date — May 2022

### This Organization Participates in E-Verify

### Esta Organización Participa en E-Verify

### Sample Only

This employer participates in E-Verify and will provide the federal government with your Form I-9 information to confirm that you are authorized to work in the U.S.

If E-Verify cannot confirm that you are authorized to work, this employer is required to give you written instructions and an opportunity to contact Department of Homeland Security (DHS) or Social Security Administration (SSA) so you can begin to resolve the issue before the employer can take any action against you, including terminating your employment.

Employers can only use E-Verify once you have accepted a job offer and completed the Form I-9.

### **E-Verify Works for Everyone**

For more information on E-Verify, or if you believe that your employer has violated its E-Verify responsibilities, please contact DHS.

### Sólo muestra

Este empleador participa en E-Verify y proporcionará al gobierno federal la información de su Formulario I-9 para confirmar que usted está autorizado para trabajar en los EE.UU..

Si E-Verify no puede confirmar que usted está autorizado para trabajar, este empleador está requerido a darle instrucciones por escrito y una oportunidad de contactar al Departamento de Seguridad Nacional (DHS) o a la Administración del Seguro Social (SSA) para que pueda empezar a resolver el problema antes de que el empleador pueda tomar cualquier acción en su contra, incluyendo la terminación de su empleo.

Los empleadores sólo pueden utilizar E-Verify una vez que usted haya aceptado una oferta de trabajo y completado el Formulario I-9.

### **E-Verify Funciona Para Todos**

Para más información sobre E-Verify, o si usted cree que su empleador ha violado sus responsabilidades de E-Verify, por favor contacte a DHS.





E-VERIFY IS A SERVICE OF DHS AND SSA The E-Verify logo and mark are registered trademarks of Department of Homeland Security. Commercial sale of this poster is strictly prohibited.

# IF YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO WORK



# DON'T LET ANYONE TAKE IT AWAY

f you have the skills, experience, and legal right to work, your citizenship or immigration status shouldn't get in the way. Neither should the place you were born or another aspect of your national origin. A part of U.S. immigration laws protects legally-authorized workers from discrimination based on their citizenship status and national origin. You can read this law at

#### <u>8 U.S.C. § 1324b</u>. The <u>Immigrant and Employee Rights Section</u> (IER) may be able to help if an employer treats

you unfairly in violation of this law.

The law that IER enforces is 8 U.S.C. § 1324b. The regulations for this law are at 28 C.F.R. Part 44.

Call IER if an employer:

Does not hire you or fires you because of your national origin or citizenship status (this may violate a part of the law at 8 U.S.C. § 1324b(a)(1))

Treats you unfairly while checking your right to work in the U.S., including while completing the Form I-9 or using E-Verify (this may violate the law at 8 U.S.C. § 1324b(a)(1) or (a)(6)) Retaliates against you because you are speaking up for your right to work as protected by this law (the law prohibits retaliation at 8 U.S.C. § 1324b(a)(5)) The law can be complicated. Call IER to get more information on protections from discrimination based on citizenship status and national origin.

Immigrant and Employee Rights Section (IER)				
1-800-255-7688	TTY 1-800-237-2515			
www.justice.gov/ier IER@usdoj.gov				

U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Immigrant and Employee Rights Section, January 2019



This guidance document is not intended to be a final agency action, has no legally binding effect, and has no force or effect of law. The document may be rescinded or modified at the Department's discretion, in accordance with applicable laws. The Department's guidance documents, including this guidance, do not establish legally enforceable responsibilities beyond what is required by the terms of the applicable statutes, regulations, or binding judicial precedent. For more information, see "Memorandum for All Components: Prohibition of Improper Guidance Documents," from Attorney General Jefferson B. Sessions III, November 16, 2017.



### Paycheck Checkup Can Prevent a Tax-Time Surprise

It's important to check your federal income tax withholding now to avoid an unexpected tax bill or penalty with next year's return. The IRS Tax Withholding Estimator can help.

### Everyone should check their withholding. It's especially important to check now if you:

- · Had a large tax refund or tax bill the last time you filed
- Are a two-income family
- · Have two or more jobs at the same time
- · Work a seasonal job or only work part of the year
- · Claim the child tax credit
- · Have dependents age 17 or older
- · Previously itemized your deductions
- · Have high income or a complex tax return

### Use the IRS Tax Withholding Estimator to do a Paycheck Checkup

- The IRS Tax Withholding Estimator helps figure out if you should submit a new Form W-4 to your employer or make estimated tax payments to the IRS before the end of the year.
- Have your most recent pay stub and federal tax return on hand.
- The estimator's results are only as accurate as the information you enter.
- Find the IRS estimator at *IRS.gov/withholding*.