
 

Job Safety and Health
IT’S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

�� A safe workplace.

�� Raise a safety or health concern with 
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or illness, without being 
retaliated against. 

�� Receive information and training on 
job hazards, including all hazardous 
substances in your workplace. 

�� Request a confidential OSHA inspection 
of your workplace if you believe there are 
unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have 
the right to have a representative contact 
OSHA on your behalf.

�� Participate (or have your representative 
participate) in an OSHA inspection and 
speak in private to the inspector.

�� File a complaint with OSHA within 
30 days (by phone, online or by mail) 
if you have been retaliated against for 
using your rights. 

�� See any OSHA citations issued to 
your employer.

�� Request copies of your medical 
records, tests that measure hazards 
in the workplace, and the workplace 
injury and illness log.

Employers must:

�� Provide employees a workplace free from 
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate 
against an employee for using any of their 
rights under the law, including raising a 
health and safety concern with you or 
with OSHA, or reporting a work-related 
injury or illness.

�� Comply with all applicable OSHA standards. 

�� Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a 
workplace fatality or within 24 hours of 
any work-related inpatient hospitalization, 
amputation, or loss of an eye.

�� Provide required training to all workers 
in a language and vocabulary they can 
understand. 

�� Prominently display this poster in the 
workplace.

�� Post OSHA citations at or near the 
place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are 
available to small and medium-sized 
employers, without citation or penalty, 
through OSHA‑supported consultation 
programs in every state.

U.S. Department of Labor

Contact OSHA. We can help. 

1-800-321-OSHA (6742)  •  TTY 1-877-889-5627  •  www.osha.gov

This poster is available free from OSHA.

OS
HA

 3
16

5-
04

R 
20

19



DP-29 BWC-1629 (Rev. Jan. 10, 2019)

30 W. Spring St. 
Columbus, OH 43215

Certificate of Ohio Workers' Compensation
This certifies that the employer listed below participates in the Ohio State Insurance Fund as required by law. 
Therefore, the employer is entitled to the rights and benefits of the fund for the period specified. This certificate 
is only valid if premiums and assessments, including installments, are paid by the applicable due date. To 
verify coverage, visit www.bwc.ohio.gov, or call 1-800-644-6292.

This certificate must be conspicuously posted.

Policy number and employer 
80110770

Period Specified Below 
01/01/2023 to 01/01/2024

State of Oregon, Department of Admin
State of Oregon, Department of Administr
PO BOX 12009
SALEM OR 97309-0009

www.bwc.ohio.gov
Issued by: BWC

Administrator/CEO
You can reproduce this certificate as needed.

Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation

Required Posting

Section 4123.54 of the Ohio Revised Code requires notice of 
rebuttable presumption. Rebuttable presumption means an 
employee may dispute or prove untrue the presumption (or 
belief) that alcohol, marihuana or a controlled substance not 
prescribed by the employee's physician is the proximate cause 
(main reason) of the work-related injury. 
 
The burden of proof is on the employee to prove the presence of 
alcohol, marihuana or a controlled substance was not the 
proximate cause of the work-related injury. An employee who 
tests positive or refuses to submit to chemical testing may be 
disqualified for compensation and benefits under the Workers' 
Compensation Act.

You must post this language with the Certificate of Ohio Workers' Compensation.



PERRP
  Public Employment Safety and
Health Protection on the Job

All Ohio public employees have the right to:
o	 A safe workplace.
o	 Raise a safety or health concern with your 

employer or the Public Employment Risk   
Reduction Program (PERRP), or report a 
work-related injury or illness, without fear of 
retaliation.

o	 File a complaint with PERRP about any safety 
or health concerns you may have about your 
workplace. You may have a representative file 
a complaint with PERRP on your behalf.

o	 Receive information and training about job 
hazards, including all hazardous substances 
in your workplace.

o	 Refuse a work assignment if you believe 
it presents an imminent (life-threatening)    
danger to you or your co-workers. You may 
have a representative contact PERRP on your 
behalf.

o	 Participate (or have your representative     
participate) in a PERRP inspection and speak 
in private to the compliance officer.

o	 File a union grievance or file a complaint 
with the State Personnel Board of Review 
within 60 days (by phone, online or by mail) 
if you have suffered retaliation for using your 
rights.

o	 See any citations PERRP issues to your      
employer.

o	 Request copies of your medical records, tests 
that measure hazards in the workplace, and 
the workplace injury and illness log.

All Ohio public employers must:
o	 Provide employees a workplace free from 

recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate 
against employees for using any of their 
rights under the law, including raising a 
health and safety concern with you or with 
PERRP, or reporting a work-related injury or 
illness.

o	 Comply with all adopted PERRP standards.

o	 Report to PERRP all work-related fatalities 
within eight hours, and all incidents resulting 
in a hospitalization, amputation or loss of an 
eye within 24 hours.

o	 Provide required training to workers in a 
manner they can understand.

o	 Prominently display this poster in the      
workplace.

o	 Post PERRP citations at or near the place of 
the alleged violations.

o	 Maintain, post and submit injury and illness 
statistics to PERRP.

Free compliance assistance to identify 
and correct hazards is available to all public 
employers, without citation or penalty.

To request compliance assistance visit our  
website, or send an email to:       
PERRPRequest@bwc.state.oh.us

 

Job Safety and Health
It's the Law!

Contact PERRP at 1-800-671-6858. We can help!
Fax 614-621-5754 • TTY 1-800-750-0750 • www.bwc.ohio.gov

This poster is available free from PERRP. Minimum reproduction size is 8 1/2 x 14 inches.


