

Job Safety and Health IT'S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

- A safe workplace.
- Raise a safety or health concern with your employer or OSHA, or report a workrelated injury or illness, without being retaliated against.
- Receive information and training on job hazards, including all hazardous substances in your workplace.
- Request a confidential OSHA inspection of your workplace if you believe there are unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have the right to have a representative contact OSHA on your behalf.
- Participate (or have your representative participate) in an OSHA inspection and speak in private to the inspector.
- File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days (by phone, online or by mail) if you have been retaliated against for using your rights.
- See any OSHA citations issued to your employer.
- Request copies of your medical records, tests that measure hazards in the workplace, and the workplace injury and illness log.

Employers must:

- Provide employees a workplace free from recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate against an employee for using any of their rights under the law, including raising a health and safety concern with you or with OSHA, or reporting a work-related injury or illness.
- Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.
- Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a workplace fatality or within 24 hours of any work-related inpatient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye.
- Provide required training to all workers in a language and vocabulary they can understand.
- Prominently display this poster in the workplace.
- Post OSHA citations at or near the place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are available to small and medium-sized employers, without citation or penalty, through OSHA-supported consultation programs in every state.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact OSHA. We can help.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION NOTICE

Employer: **STATE OF OREGON**

has complied with the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act (§34A-2-101, Utah Code Annotated), the Utah Occupational Disease Act (§34A-3-101, Utah Code Annotated), and the rules of the Labor Commission by insuring the liability to pay the compensation and other benefits provided by said Acts through:

Insurance Company: Zurich American Insurance Company

Policy Number: <u>WC 9663435-10</u>

Address for the above insurance company: <u>1299 Zurich Way, Schaumburg, IL 60196-5870</u> Telephone number: <u>800-987-3373</u>

Check here if the employer has been authorized by the Division of Industrial Accidents to self-insure and directly pay workers' compensation benefits.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

Workers' Compensation is insurance which pays medical expenses and helps offset lost wages for employees with workrelated injuries or illnesses. If you have an on-the-job injury or occupational disease, it may pay for: hospital and medical bills, time lost from work, permanent loss of body function, prosthetic devices, and burial and dependent benefits in case of death.

HOW TO REPORT AN ACCIDENT

- 1. Report the injury, no matter how slight, immediately to your supervisor. You may lose your rights if your injury is not reported within 180 days of the injury or work-related illness.
- 2. Ask your employer where you should go for treatment. If your employer has a first-aid room or company designated doctor, go there promptly for treatment. If not, go to a doctor of your choice.
- 3. Tell the doctor HOW, WHEN and WHERE the accident happened. The doctor will fill out a physician's initial report form. A copy of the report is given to you and copies of the report are sent to the insurance company and the Labor Commission within seven (7) days of your doctor visit.
- 4. Your employer shall fill out the employer's first report of injury form. A copy of this report is sent to the insurance company within seven (7) days of the accident. The insurance company will report the injury to the Labor Commission.

HOW TO START COMPENSATION

- 1. Ask your employer which insurance company pays workers' compensation benefits for the company.
- 2. Ask your employer to report the accident to the insurance company and give you the claim number.
- 3. Call the insurance company and ask them to start your workers' compensation benefits. The insurance company will require the employer's report, the physician's report, and may ask you to fill out a request for compensation. Cooperate with the adjuster's investigation of the injury.
- 4. Ask your doctor to send medical reports to the insurance company, including the work status statement.

REHABILITATION

If you cannot return to work, you may be eligible for a rehabilitation program. Contact the insurance company listed above or the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation.

FRAUD STATEMENT: "Any person who knowingly presents false or fraudulent underwriting information, files or causes to be filed a false or fraudulent claim for disability compensation or medical benefits, or submits a false or fraudulent report or billing for health care fees or other professional services is guilty of a crime and may be subject to fines and confinement in state prison."



160 East 300 South 3rd Floor P.O. Box 146610 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6610 Office: (801)-530-6800 Fax: (801)-530-6804 Toll Free: (800)-530-5090 <u>www.laborcommission.utah.gov</u>

If you want copy of an *Employee's Guide to Workers' Compensation* booklet or have questions, contact the Labor Commission or go to the webpage at <u>www.laborcommission.utah.gov</u>.

Note: This notice must be posted and kept continuously in public and conspicuous places in the office, shop or place of business of the employer as per §34A-2-204 and §34A-2-104.5, Utah Code Annotated.

Workplace Safety and Health in the State of Utah

THIS NOTICE MUST BE POSTED IN THE WORKPLACE

The Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1973 requires Utah employers to provide a safe and healthful workplace, free from recognized hazards that are likely to cause death or serious physical harm to employees. The Utah Occupational Safety and Health (UOSH) Division of the Utah Labor Commission, has the responsibility to administer the Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act.

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

You have the **obligation to comply** with all workplace safety and health rules established by your employer.

You have the right to notify your employer or UOSH about workplace hazards. You may ask to keep your name confidential.

You have the right to request and to participate in a UOSH inspection if you believe that there are unsafe or unhealthful conditions in your workplace.

You have the right to file a complaint with UOSH if you feel that your employer has retaliated against you for making safety or health complaints, or for exercising your rights under the Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act. Such whistleblower complaints must be filed within 30 days of the retaliation.

You have a right to see all UOSH citations issued to your employer. Your employer must post the citations at or near the place of the alleged violation. You may request an informal review of the abatement period granted to the employer.

You have the right to know your employer is obligated to correct workplace hazards by the date indicated on the citation and must certify that these hazards have been reduced or eliminated.

You have the right to copies of your medical records or records of your exposure to toxic and harmful substances or conditions.

NOTICE TO EMPLOYERS

UTAH EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED TO PROVIDE EMPLOYEES A SAFE AND HEALTHFUL WORKPLACE

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

Employers are required to notify UOSH at (801) 530-6901 within 8 hours of occurrence of all fatalities, disabling, significant, and serious injuries or illnesses to workers. You can call in your report 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Tools, equipment, materials, or other evidence that might pertain to the cause of such accidents shall not be removed or destroyed until authorized by UOSH. You are also required to investigate all incidents of worker injuries and occupational illnesses.

REPORTING GUIDANCE

"Disabling and serious" includes, but is not limited to any injury or illness resulting in immediate admittance to the hospital, permanent or temporary impairment where part of the body is made functionally useless or is substantially reduced in efficiency and which would require treatment by a medical doctor, such as amputation, fracture, deep cuts, severe burns, electric shock, sight impairment, loss of consciousness, and concussions; illnesses that could shorten life or significantly reduce physical or mental efficiency inhibiting the normal function of a part of the body, such as cancer, silicosis, asbestosis, hearing impairment and visual impairment.

INSPECTIONS, CITATIONS, ASSESSED PENALTIES

UOSH may enter at reasonable times without delay any work place under its jurisdiction to conduct an inspection, investigation, or interview a reasonable number of employees to determine compliance with the Utah Act, rules and standards. If an employer is in violation of any of those rules or standards UOSH will promptly issue a Citation to notify them of the violation. A serious violation may be assessed a proposed penalty of up to \$7,000. Willful or Repeated violations may be assessed a proposed penalty up to \$70,000. Failure to correct or abate a violation may result in additional penalties not to exceed \$7,000 for each day each violation is not corrected.

CONTESTS, APPEALS, INFORMAL REVIEW

The Utah Labor Commission will provide an adjudicative formal hearing with its Division of Adjudication, when an employer files a written notice of contest within 30 days of receipt of the citation. Upon expiration of that 30 day period, the citation and proposed penalties are final and not subject to review by any court or agency. Employers may also request an informal review of any citation, proposed penalty or abatement period. Informal reviews do not extend the 30 days in which an employer must file a written notice of contest for a formal hearing.

To report a workplace fatality or injury, file a workplace safety complaint, or for assistance please call (801) 530-6901 or (800) 530-5090. To file a safety complaint online or obtain more information about UOSH please visit our website at: www.laborcommission.utah.gov. To obtain more information about safety and health in the workplace, please contact the Consultation Program at (801) 530-6855. Employers and employees may file a complaint about state program administration with the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) at 1244 Speer Blvd., Suite 551 Denver, CO 80204.

State of Utah Labor Commission Utah Occupational Safety and Health 160 East 300 South, Third Floor PO Box 146650 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6650 (801) 530-6901 Fax (801) 530-7606 Toll-Free 1-800-530-5090 www.laborcommission.utah.gov



Reporting Injuries (801) 530-6901 Compliance Program (801) 530-6901 Consultation Program (801) 530-6855



"Helping to ensure a safe and healthy workplace for every worker in the State of Utah"

Rev. 01.15.19