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COVID-19 Temporary Paid Leave Program 
Frequently Asked Questions 

In order to answer frequently asked questions relating to the COVID-19 Temporary Paid Leave 
Program, the Department of Consumer and Business Services is offering guidance about the program. 
 
This $30 million program is intended to bridge the gap left by the Families First Coronavirus Relief Act 
and was established with money received from the federal government to help Oregon respond to 
the COVID-19 pandemic. The program provides a $120 per-day payment to workers who need to 
quarantine/isolate due to COVID-19 exposure or symptoms, but do not qualify for COVID-19-related 
paid sick leave or do not have access to COVID-19-related time off. 
 
The webpage will be updated as more information is available. 
 

GENERAL PROGRAM DETAILS 
Q: What is the COVID-19 Temporary Paid Leave Program? 
The Oregon Legislature’s Emergency Board established the COVID-19 Temporary Paid Leave Program 
in July 2020 to help bridge the gap left by the Families First Coronavirus Relief Act. 
 
The $30 million program was established with money received from the federal government earlier 
this year to help Oregon respond to the COVID-19 pandemic. The program provides a $120 per-day 
payment to workers who need to quarantine/isolate due to COVID-19 exposure or symptoms, but do 
not qualify for COVID-19-related paid sick leave or do not have access to COVID-19-related time off. 
 
Q: When does the program start? 
The program starts Wednesday, Sept. 16, 2020. 
 
Q: How long will the program last? 
The program will end once the funds run out or by Dec. 31, 2020, whichever comes first. 
 
Q: How many times can I use the program? 
You are allowed to use the program for only one quarantine period of up to 10 working days. If you 
work multiple jobs, you can apply for only one set of benefits. 
 
Q: How much will people get? 
People who qualify will receive $120 per day for a maximum of 10 working days (up to $1,200 total) for 
the time they need to quarantine/isolate, but are unable to work (including telework). 
 
Q: When should I file a claim? 
You can file as soon as you need to quarantine/isolate and need to take a leave from work. 

https://oregon.gov/covidpaidleave
mailto:covidpaidleave@oregon.gov
https://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/covid-pl/Pages/faq.aspx
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Q: How long do I have to file a claim? 
You are eligible to file any time starting Sept. 16, 2020, but it can’t be for a quarantine period that 
ended before Sept. 16, 2020. There are limited funds available and claims will be paid on a first-come, 
first-paid basis. The program ends once the funds run out or by Dec. 31, 2020, whichever comes first. 
 

ELIGIBILTY AND QUALIFICATIONS 
Q: Who qualifies for the program? 
The program is for people who need to quarantine/isolate because of potential exposure to COVID-19, 
or who are experiencing related symptoms and are seeking medical diagnosis, and meet at least one 
of the following requirements: 

• Do not receive COVID-19-related time off through their employer 
• Their employer is exempted from the Families First Coronavirus Response Act’s emergency 

paid sick leave requirement 
• They have exhausted available COVID-19-related paid sick leave 

 
Q: What are the exemptions to the Federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act? 
There are two exemptions identified in the Act. The first exemption is for private-sector employers 
with more than 500 employees and for employers with fewer than 50 employees in which imposing 
paid sick leave or paid family and medical leave would jeopardize the viability of their businesses.   
 
The second exemption is for employers who employ health care providers or emergency responders. 
 
Federal guidance establishes that a “health care provider” includes anyone employed in any of the 
following: 

• Doctor’s office 
• Hospital 
• Health care center 
• Clinic 
• Post-secondary educational institution offering health care instruction 
• Medical school 
• Local health department or agency 
• Nursing facility 
• Retirement facility 
• Nursing home 
• Home health care provider 
• Any facility that performs laboratory or medical testing 
• Pharmacy  
• Any similar institution, employer, or entity 

 
“Emergency responders” are defined as anyone necessary for the provision of transport, care, health 
care, comfort, and nutrition of such patients, or others needed for COVID-19 response. This includes, 
but is not limited to: 
 

• Military or national guard 
• Law enforcement officers 
• Correctional institution personnel 
• Firefighters 
• Emergency medical services personnel 
• Physicians 
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• Nurses 
• Public health personnel 
• Emergency medical technicians 
• Paramedics 
• Emergency management personnel 
• 911 operators 
• Child welfare workers and service providers 
• Public works personnel 
• People with skills or training in operating specialized equipment or other skills needed to 

provide aid in a declared emergency 
• People who work for facilities employing these people and whose work is necessary to 

maintain the operation of the facility 
 
An eligibility quiz is available at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/ffcra/benefits-eligibility-webtool. 
 
Q: What if I am already using (or used) a similar COVID-19 quarantine relief program? 
You are not eligible for the COVID-19 Temporary Paid Leave Program if you are using a similar COVID-
19 quarantine relief program. However, if you have used a similar paid leave program for COVID-19 
quarantine, you may still be eligible for this program. 
 
If you are receiving help from the state, county, or a community-based organization for rent, utilities, 
food, or other essentials, this would not disqualify you. 
 
Q: What are the eligibility requirements? 
You must meet all of the following requirements to be eligible for the program: 

• Work in Oregon and required to file an Oregon personal income tax return. 
• Directed to quarantine by a local or tribal public health authority or health care provider 

because of exposure to someone infected or have COVID-19-related symptoms and are 
seeking a medical diagnosis. 

• Not able to work (including telework) because you need to quarantine or isolate. 
• Did not have adjusted gross income of more than $60,000 individually or $120,000 jointly on 

your 2019 Oregon tax return. If you made more than $60,000 individually or $120,000 jointly in 
2019 or if you did not file a 2019 Oregon tax return, you will be eligible if you do not expect to 
earn up to $60,000 individually or $120,000 jointly in 2020. NOTE: The adjusted gross income 
on the 2019 Oregon personal income tax return is on line 7 for Form 40 (full-year residents), 
and line 29F on Forms 40N (nonresidents) and 40P (part-year residents).   

• Your employer does not provide COVID-19-related paid sick leave or you have exhausted your 
available COVID-19-related paid sick leave. 

• Are not applying for or receiving unemployment insurance benefits for the time off due to 
quarantine or isolation. 

• Are not applying for or receiving workers’ compensation claim benefits due to quarantine or 
isolation or experiencing COVID-19 symptoms. 

• Are not seeking or using benefits from similar COVID-19 quarantine relief programs in Oregon 
or another state. 

• Are not applying for or receiving other forms of paid leave from your employer during your 
quarantine or isolation, such as banked sick leave or vacation leave. 

• Are not laid off or furloughed by your employer.  
• Must have notified your employer that you need to quarantine or isolate. 
• Can claim only one quarantine period. 

 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/ffcra/benefits-eligibility-webtool
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Q: Why don’t I qualify? 
The program is only for workers unable to work because they need to quarantine or isolate and their 
employer does not provide COVID-19-related paid time off. You may not qualify if you don’t work in 
Oregon or meet the income requirements; you have available COVID-19-related paid time off; you 
received unemployment benefits for the time off due to quarantine; or you received workers’ 
compensation benefits for the time off due to quarantine. 
 
Q: What do I do if I am not sure I qualify? 
If you are unsure if you qualify for the program, review the list of eligibility requirements and take the 
eligibility quiz. If you are still unsure, call 833-685-0850 (toll-free) or 503-947-0130. 
 
Q: I had to quarantine earlier. Why am I not eligible? 
The COVID-19 Temporary Paid Leave Program was created in July 2020 by the Legislature’s 
Emergency Board and did not become effective until Sept. 16, 2020. Because there are limited funds 
available, it was decided to include only quarantine periods that were in place during or after the 
effective date of the program. 
 
Q: Part of my quarantine was before the start date and part was after. Do I get benefits? 
If you are in quarantine/isolation when the program began Sept. 16, 2020, you can claim the entirety 
of your quarantine period. (For example, the program rolls out Sept. 16, 2020, but a person began 
quarantining Sept. 10, 2020, they could claim the $120 for all of the days they are in quarantine (up to 
10 working days). However, someone whose quarantine ended Sept. 15, 2020, is not able to claim this 
payment.) 
 
Q: I work part time. Will my money be pro-rated? 
If you meet the eligibility requirements, you will receive $120 a day for up to 10 working days of 
quarantine/isolation for the days you were unable to work, regardless if you work full time or part 
time. 
 
Q: What if I don’t have a regular set work schedule, and I am not included on the schedule 
during my quarantine period? 
We may contact your employer to verify the number of days you were scheduled to work or that you 
would have worked if you were not required to quarantine/isolate. 
 
Q: What if my employer did not schedule me to work because I needed to quarantine? 
List the number of working days (up to 10) you normally would have been scheduled to work during 
the 14-day quarantine/isolation period. 
 
Q. If I work split shifts or a compressed workweek, how do I calculate the number of 
working days on the application? 
You can convert the total number of estimated work hours for the quarantine or isolation period into 
working days. Please refer to the application form instructions for more information. 
 
Q. I work for two employers. Can I file a claim for the days I work for both employers? 
Yes, but you are limited to claiming 10 working days.  
 
Q. I work for an employer, and I also provide freelance work for another business. Can I 
claim the estimated work days for both businesses? 
You can claim estimated work days for just your employer.   

http://dcbs.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_bdYZoYYJ60waR5X
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Q. I work in the gig economy. Do I qualify for this program? 
No. The program is limited to workers whose employers do not provide COVID-19-related paid sick 
leave or have exhausted available COVID-19-related paid sick leave or COVID-19 paid time off. You 
may qualify for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) through the Oregon Employment 
Department. 
 
Q. I am a Washington state resident, but work for an Oregon employer. Do I qualify for the 
program? 
If your worksite is based in Oregon, you qualify for this program. 
 
Q. I am an Oregon resident and work from home, but my employer is based in another state. 
Do I qualify for the program?  
Yes, because your worksite is in Oregon. 
 
Q. I am an Oregon resident, but my worksite is in Idaho. Do I qualify for the program? 
No, because your jobsite/place of work is not based in Oregon. The program is limited to jobsites in 
Oregon. 
 
Q. I am on paid administrative leave from my employer. Can I file an application? 
No. The program prohibits a worker from concurrently taking multiple forms of paid leave. 
 
Q. I have an accepted workers’ compensation claim from a car accident. Do I qualify for the 
program? 
Yes, as the claim is not related to COVID-19 exposure or symptoms.   
 
Q. I have a telework arrangement with my employer and have been advised to quarantine. 
Do I qualify for the program? 
Yes, if you are unable to perform tasks assigned by your employer or work the required hours under 
the arrangement. 
 
Q. I am not sure if my employer provides paid sick leave for COVID-19. If I need to stay 
home, what do I do? 
Contact your employer to tell them you cannot report to work because you have been advised to 
quarantine. They should inform you of available paid leave. If you need help, contact 503-947-0132.  
 
Q. If my employer closes my worksite, but tells me that it will reopen in the future, can I fill 
out an application? 
No. You may qualify for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance through the Oregon Employment 
Department. Go to https://unemployment.oregon.gov/. 
 
Q. If I am eligible for this program, do I have to use it? Can I use my banked paid time off 
instead? 
You can use available paid leave from your employer instead of participating in this program.  
 
 
 

https://unemployment.oregon.gov/


 

 
6 

Q. How long do I have to quarantine/isolate? 
Contact tracers and medical providers should provide this information at the time of providing the 
advice to quarantine. Similar information will be provided if you are advised to isolate. Information 
about quarantine and isolation is available at https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-Contact-
Collaborative. 
 
Q. What if have more than one job and can work from home for one employer, but not for 
the other? 
You are eligible for the days you were scheduled or anticipated to work for the employer that does not 
offer a work-from-home option. You are also eligible for days you did not feel well enough to 
telework, even if your employer allows you to work from home. Fill out the application form and list 
the days that you cannot work, either because the job does not allow telework and the days you felt 
unwell and could not work from home. 
 
Q. I’ve received financial assistance after my home was damaged by wildfire. Do I qualify for 
this program? 
If you meet all of the listed program qualifications, you can apply for benefits. Accepting (or refusing) 
financial assistance is not part of this program. 
 

APPLICATION PROCESS 
Q: What information do I need to sign up? 
You will be asked to provide the following: 

• Your name, address, and contact information 
• Date of birth 
• Social Security number or taxpayer ID number 
• Employer name and contact information 
• Number of days scheduled to work, but unable due to quarantine/isolation 
• The date you needed to quarantine/isolate or the date you were tested if you quarantined 

because you were experiencing COVID-19-related symptoms 
• County health or tribal public health office or health provider and contact information, 

including which county or tribal government contacted you 
 
Q: What information do I need to provide to confirm I am eligible for the program? 

• You anticipate earning an income of no more than $60,000 individually in 2020 or have a 
household income of no more than $120,000 in 2020. 

• A county or tribal public health authority or a health care provider instructed you to 
quarantine, or you have COVID-19-related symptoms and are seeking a medical diagnosis. 

• Your employer does not provide COVID-19-related paid time off. 
• You will not request unemployment benefits for the time off due to quarantine. 
• You are not filing a workers’ compensation claim for the time off due to quarantine. 
• You are not using or have used similar COVID-19 quarantine relief programs. 
• You are not using or seeking to use other paid time off from your employer during the 

quarantine period.  
• You have notified your employer about the need to quarantine/isolate. 
• You are unable to work during the quarantine period. 

 
 

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-Contact-Collaborative
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-Contact-Collaborative
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Q. What is household income? 
A household is all the people who occupy a housing unit, such as a house, an apartment, a mobile 
home, a group of rooms, or a single room that is a separate living quarter. A household can consist of a 
single family, a person living alone, two or more families living together, or any other group of people 
who share living arrangements. A household income is the combined money received on a regular 
basis in the previous year or past 12 months by household members ages 15 years and older. 
Household income does not include noncash benefits such as food stamps, health benefits, or 
subsidized housing. 
 
Q: Where do I find the application? 
The easiest option is to fill out the online form at oregon.gov/covidpaidleave. The form is available in 
English, Spanish (Oregon.gov/covidausenciatemporalpagada), and Russian 
(Oregon.gov/Covidpaidleave-ru). For those who are unable to fill out the online form (or the online 
form is not in their language), they can call 503-947-0131. They will be helped with their application 
through a translation service. 
 
Q: Where can I find instructions to fill out the application? 
Please refer to the COVID-19 Temporary Paid Leave Program instructions at 
oregon.gov/covidpaidleave. 
 
Q: Why was my application denied? 
Applications can be denied for different reasons. For example, your application will be denied if you 
do not qualify for the program. Also, if you were asked to provide additional information about your 
application and you did not respond within 7 calendar days after we contacted you to provide the 
information, your application will be denied. 
 
Q: What happens if I do not fill out the application correctly or more information is needed? 
We will suspend any incomplete applications or those needing more information. We will contact you, 
and you have 7 calendar days to provide the information or the claim will be denied. 
 
Q. Can I appeal a denied claim? 
If your application is denied, you can reapply. If you are denied again, you have the right to request an 
appeal. Due to the nature of the program, the program may be closed before your appeal process is 
completed. 
 
Q. I work 40 hours per week, but I work four days a week. Do I receive just eight working 
days of benefits?   
Employees with nonstandard workweeks (eight-hour workdays, five days per week) can convert the 
total number of estimated work hours for the quarantine or isolation period into working days. Please 
refer to the application form instructions for more information. 
 
Q. The number of days I work varies from week to week. What if I do not know my work 
schedule for the next couple of weeks? 
Enter your estimated number of work days for the quarantine period. 
 
Q. I typically work four hours per work day. Will I receive $60 for each day I am scheduled to 
work? 
No. The payment is based on a working day, and is not prorated for the number of hours you are 
scheduled or estimated to work. 

https://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/covid-pl/Pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/covid-pl/Pages/index-s.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/covid-pl/Pages/index-r.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/covid-pl/Pages/index.aspx
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Q. If one employer provides COVID-19-related paid sick leave and another doesn’t, what do 
I do? 
Report only the days when you would be working for the employer that does not provide COVID-19-
related paid time off. 
 
Q. I am currently not living at my home due to a wildfire. Will I be able to apply and receive 
benefits? 
If you meet program qualifications and your residence is affected by wildfire, you can apply for the 
program. The application asks for your mailing address for purposes of delivering your check. If your 
mail is temporarily forwarded to a different address, you may experience a delay in delivery. If your 
check is returned to the Department of Consumer and Business Services, we will contact you for 
alternative delivery arrangements. Information regarding U.S. Postal Service residential service 
disruptions are available at https://about.usps.com/newsroom/service-
alerts/residential/welcome.htm. Directions for temporarily forwarding mail to another address are 
located at https://moversguide.usps.com. 
 

RECEIVING PAYMENT 
Q: How long will it take to for me to receive my money? 
Since this is a new program and we don’t know the volume of applications we will receive each day, 
we are not sure how long it will take to process these claims. Our goal is to have claims processed as 
soon as possible, but that could be dependent on how quickly we can verify your information. 
 
Q: How will I get my money? 
You will receive a check in the mail. 
 
Q: What happens if someone receives money, but did not qualify for the program or 
provided incorrect information to qualify? 
The state has a process to verify the provided information. This may include reviewing tax records or 
employment data maintained by the state, contacting your employer, or verifying the justification for 
your quarantine. We may also review unemployment claims and workers’ compensation records. If it is 
determined that you did not meet eligibility requirements or provided false information, you will be 
responsible to repay all funds received. 
 
Q: Will I have to pay taxes on the money I receive from the program? 
Yes, any money you receive from the program is taxable. 
 
Q: Why do I need to give you my Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer 
Identification Number? 
These payments are taxable, so we need your Social Security number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer 
Identification Number (ITIN) to issue a Form 1099 at the end of the year. Also, the Department of 
Revenue will use your SSN or ITIN to make sure you meet the income requirements. Finally, if it is later 
determined that you were not eligible to receive this payment, we may use your SSN or ITIN to help 
collect those funds. 

Contact us 
oregon.gov/covidpaidleave  
833-685-0850 (toll-free) or 503-947-0130 
For help in another language, call 503-947-0131 

https://about.usps.com/newsroom/service-alerts/residential/welcome.htm
https://about.usps.com/newsroom/service-alerts/residential/welcome.htm
https://moversguide.usps.com/
https://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/covid-pl/Pages/index.aspx
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