
 

 

 

 

Date: March 29, 2019      

To: Management and Labor Advisory Committee (MLAC)  

From: Katie Bruns, Return to Work Policy Analyst 

Subject: Seasonal workers and earned income 

 
1. You asked how a seasonal/temporary worker’s weekly wage is calculated for the 

purpose of determining a suitable wage under the vocational assistance rules, and if 
the changes being discussed for suitable wage would impact their eligibility 
differently.  
 
A seasonal or temporary worker’s wage is based on an average of earned income and 
unemployment benefits. Earned income includes: gross wages, salary, tips, commissions, 
incentive pay, bonuses, and the reasonable value of other considerations. Earned income 
also means gross earnings from self-employment.  
 
Compared to calculating a permanent worker’s wages, there are a differences for 
calculating a seasonal or temporary worker’s weekly wage. For example, the number of 
jobs held at the time of injury and whether or not the worker received unemployment 
benefits in the 52 weeks prior to the date of injury. Regardless if the worker is seasonal or 
permanent, the calculation is still an averaging method.  
 
A change in what may be considered a suitable wage under the vocational statute for 
eligibility purposes wouldn’t change how a seasonal/temporary worker’s average weekly 
wage is calculated. The change would not impact a seasonal/temporary worker’s 
eligibility any more than a permanent worker.   
 
Example: Mr. Jones was employed as a seasonal clerk at the time of injury. He worked 
for seven weeks earning a total of $2,900. Prior to that employment, Mr. Jones received 
$3,300 in unemployment benefits for 10 weeks.  
 
Combine Mr. Jones’ earned income with his unemployment benefits: 
     $2,900 
     $3,300 
     $6,200 
Divide the total earned income ($6,200) by the total number of weeks (17) 
     $6,200/ 17 weeks = $364.71 weekly wage 



 
  

2. You had asked SAIF to provide examples of wage calculation. I have included a 
chart with some examples of hourly wage and the 80% calculation as well . I also 
included the minimum wage currently in Oregon and the increase over the next few 
years.  

 

    
  

 
 
 
 
 

 
  

Oregon min. 
wage 

(Portland) 

Oregon 
min. wage 
(Standard) 

Oregon 
min. wage 

(Non-urban) 

Year 
(changes 
July 1) 

$12.00 $10.75 $10.50 current 
$12.50 $11.25 $11.00 2019 
$13.25 $12.00 $11.50 2020 
$14.00 $12.75 $12.00 2021 
$14.75 $13.50 $12.50 2022 

Hourly 
wage 

Suitable 
wage 

$12.00 $9.60 
$12.50 $10.00 
$14.00 $11.20 
$16.00 $12.80 
$18.00 $14.40 


