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Introduction
July 1, 2014 marked the 100th anniversary of  the Oregon 
workers’ compensation system. The 1913 Oregon 
Legislative Assembly passed the state’s first workers’ 
compensation law; it became effective July 1, 1914. The 
law set up the State Industrial Accident Commission, 
consisting of  three trustees, to oversee the Industrial 
Accident Fund. 

This report describes Oregon’s workers’ compensation 
system and documents the effects of  the Legislature’s 
more recent legislative changes. This report updates the 
previous report released in January 2015, adding statutory 
changes adopted during the 2015 and 2016 legislative 
sessions, summaries of  recent court decisions, and the 
latest available data.

Numerous commentators have singled out Oregon’s 
system as a national model of  labor-management 
cooperation, leading to innovative programs that produce 
desirable outcomes for workers and affordable costs for 
employers. 

As measured by the Bureau of  Labor Statistics’ employer 
survey, the Oregon total-cases incidence rate was 3.7 cases 
per 100 full-time workers in 2015 – a 67 percent decrease 
from the 1988 rate. The safety and health chapter contains 
more safety data and discussion of  the ways Oregon 
OSHA helps keep incidence rates low.

The medical chapter includes a discussion of  research 
studies about the role of  various care providers in the 
workers’ compensation system. New medical fee schedules 
are aimed at holding costs down and simplifying the way 
costs are determined. Fee schedules now cover ambulatory 
surgery centers; durable medical equipment, prosthetics, 
orthotics, and supplies; and interpreter services.

Oregon has innovative and effective return-to-work 
programs. Injured workers who complete vocational 
assistance plans, use preferred worker benefits, or use 
the Employer-at-Injury Program have higher post-injury 
employment rates and wages than similar workers who 
do not use these programs. Return-to-work programs are 
currently used at a higher rate, 27 percent of  accepted 
disabling claims, than in any previously studied period.

Finally, Oregon has one of  the nation’s least expensive 
workers’ compensation systems. The Department of  
Consumer and Business Services conducts a study every 
two years comparing the premium rates for its major 
industries to the premium rates in other states. Based 
on this methodology, Oregon’s rates in 2016 were 69 
percent of  the national median and ranked 45th out of  
51 jurisdictions. Because of  the system’s successes, such 
as declining injury rates and workers getting back to work 
earlier, the 2017 average pure premium rate will be about 
30 percent of  the 1990 rate.
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OUR MISSION
The Department of  Consumer and Business Services’ mission is to protect and serve Oregon’s consumers and 
workers while supporting a positive business climate in the state.

WHAT WE DO
DCBS is Oregon’s largest business regulatory and consumer protection agency. The department administers state 
laws and rules and protects consumers and workers in the areas of  workers’ compensation; occupational safety and 
health; financial products, services, and institutions; insurance; and, building codes.

OUR GOALS
✓✓ Protect consumers and workers in Oregon
✓✓ Regulate in a manner that supports a positive business climate
✓✓ Be accountable to the public we serve, with excellent service to our customers
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History of  Workers’ Compensation in Oregon 
Early history 
The 1913 Oregon Legislative Assembly gave Oregon its 
first workers’ compensation law; it became effective July 
1, 1914. The law set up the State Industrial Accident 
Commission, consisting of  three trustees, to oversee 
the Industrial Accident Fund. Employers in hazardous 
occupations had to decide whether to be part of  the 
fund. Contributors to the fund could not be sued; 
instead, suits were brought against the commission. 
Employers who did not contribute had no common-law 
defenses, and the Employer Liability Act made them 
vulnerable to unlimited damages for worker injuries or 
illnesses. Employers in nonhazardous occupations also 
could contribute to the fund and get the benefits. 

In 1965, the Legislature overhauled the law. Most 
employers came under the Workmen’s Compensation 
Law, effective Jan. 1, 1966. Two years later, all 
employers that employed subject workers came under 
this law. Employers could buy the commission’s 
insurance, self-insure, or insure with private companies. 
The State Industrial Accident Commission was 
renamed the Workmen’s Compensation Board, 
and its insurance function was given to the State 
Compensation Department, the forerunner of  SAIF 
Corporation.

The federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of  
1970 gave rise to the Oregon Safe Employment Act 
in 1973. Its purpose was to ensure safe and healthful 
working conditions and to reduce the burden — in 
terms of  lost production, lost wages, medical expenses, 
disability compensation payments, and human suffering 
— caused by occupational injury and disease.

The 1977 Legislature created the Workers’ 
Compensation Department, which took on the 
administrative functions previously under the 
Workmen’s Compensation Board. The board continued 
supervising the Hearings Division, functioning as an 
appellate body. Today, the Workers’ Compensation 
Division is part of  the Department of  Consumer 
and Business Services. The department also contains 
other divisions involved in workers’ compensation 
and workplace safety: Oregon OSHA, the Division 

of  Financial Regulation, the Ombudsman for Injured 
Workers, and the Small Business Ombudsman. The 
Workers’ Compensation Board is an independent 
agency that relies on DCBS for administrative support.

Period of major reform: 1987-1995
In 1986, Oregon ranked sixth highest in the nation 
in the average workers’ compensation premium rates 
paid by employers. It also had one of  the nation’s 
highest occupational injury and illness incidence rates. 
To improve the system, the 1987 Legislature enacted 
House Bill 2900. This bill expanded the requirements 
for safety and health loss-prevention programs, 
increased penalties against employers who violate the 
state’s safety and health act, created the Preferred 
Worker Program while limiting other vocational 
assistance, increased benefits, limited the authority 
of  the Workers’ Compensation Board, and created 
the office of  the Ombudsman for Injured Workers. A 
companion bill, HB 2271, limited mental stress claims 
and placed on the worker the burden of  proving that a 
claim is compensable.

Three years later, workers’ compensation costs 
remained high, and SAIF Corporation had canceled 
many small employers’ policies. These conditions 
provided the impetus for further reforms. During 
a May 1990 special session, the Legislature passed 
Senate Bill 1197 and other legislation. SB 1197 
expanded requirements for safety committees, required 
that the department’s disability standards be used 
at claim closure and for all subsequent litigation, 
required that the department create a workers’ 
compensation claims examiner program, limited 
attending physicians and palliative care, allowed 
the use of  managed care organizations, modified 
the Preferred Worker Program, increased benefits, 
created claim disposition agreements, expanded the 
department’s dispute resolution processes, increased 
Oregon OSHA staffing, created the Small Business 
Ombudsman, and established the Management-Labor 
Advisory Committee. To allow insurers more time 
to investigate claims, the bill increased the period for 
claim acceptance or denial from 60 days to 90 days. It 
also redefined compensability by stating that the injury 
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must be the major contributing cause of  the need 
for treatment. In addition, it stated that a claim was 
compensable only as long as the compensable condition 
remained the major contributing cause of  the need for 
treatment. 

Following the passage of  SB 1197, workers’ 
compensation premium rates fell rapidly. Rates declined 
by more than 10 percent each year for three years after 
the special session. In 1994, Oregon had the 32nd 
highest premium rate ranking in the country.

The 1993 legislative session made minor changes to 
the Oregon workers’ compensation system. These 
included HB 2282, which addressed the regulation 
of  employee leasing companies, and HB 2285, which 
dealt with Oregon’s 24-hour health plan, a pilot project 
that combined group health coverage and workers’ 
compensation medical coverage. HB 3069 amended 
the public records law to restrict access to claims 
history information in certain circumstances when 
the information could be used to discriminate against 
injured workers.

By the end of  1994, several court decisions had 
interpreted some of  the legislative provisions. Then, 
in February 1995, the Oregon Supreme Court ruled 
in Errand v. Cascade Steel Rolling Mills that the exclusive 
remedy provision of  workers’ compensation law 
applied only to compensable claims, not to denied 
claims. The exclusive remedy provision states that an 
employee injured on the job is entitled to workers’ 
compensation benefits but may not sue the employer for 
damages. Partly in response to these decisions, the 1995 
Legislature passed SB 369. This bill emerged as an 
80-page reform of  the workers’ compensation system. 
It restated the legislative intent of  SB 1197 by revising 
the definitions of  compensability, disabling claims, and 
objective findings. It stated that the exclusive remedy 
provisions applied to all claims. In addition, the bill 
created the Worksite Redesign Program and expanded 
the Employer-at-Injury Program.

Several years later, the Legislature allocated funds for 
a study of  the effects of  changes in the compensability 
language in SB 1197 and SB 369. Legislators were 
interested in learning the extent to which these reforms 
affected the costs of  the workers’ compensation system 
and the benefits paid to injured workers. A team of  
leading workers’ compensation researchers conducted 

the study and released their report, Final Report, Oregon 
Major Contributing Cause Study, in October 2000. The 
researchers concluded that the effects of  the changes 
in the compensability definition could not be isolated 
but that the overall provisions of  SB 1197 and SB 369 
resulted in benefit reductions of  at least 13 percent. 
This savings was due to the decline in the number of  
claims.

Reform since 1995
The most significant changes to Oregon’s workers’ 
compensation system since 1995 were the reforms to 
the PPD award system in 2003-2007. Although there 
have been many other important court decisions and 
legislative changes, the effect has been one of  overall 
system stability. The major legislation and court 
decisions, including the PPD reform bills are described 
below.

The changes made by the 1997 and 1999 legislatures 
limited the department’s functions and expanded 
insurers’ responsibilities. The 1997 Legislature 
eliminated the State Advisory Council on Occupational 
Safety and Health. In 1999, the Legislature passed 
HB 2830, which required Oregon OSHA to revise 
its method for scheduling workplace inspections and 
to notify certain employers of  an increased likelihood 
of  inspection. The legislature also eliminated the 
department’s claims-examiner program and the 
department’s responsibility to establish medical 
utilization and treatment standards. Both of  these 
responsibilities had been added by SB 1197. The 
1999 Legislature also transferred all claim-closure 
responsibility from the department to insurers and self-
insured employers.

For budgetary reasons, the 2001 Legislature further 
limited the department’s oversight. The numbers 
of  health and safety inspectors and consultants and 
re-employment assistance consultants were reduced. 
Also, funding for the Workplace Redesign Program 
was eliminated. Policymakers decided the functions 
were not needed because of  the decline in disabling 
claims and the availability of  private-sector vocational 
programs.

The 2001 legislative session also saw the passage of  SB 
485. The bill was created partly in response to another 
court decision. In May 2001, the Oregon Supreme 
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Court ruled in Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc., that some 
of  the exclusive-remedy provisions in SB 369 were 
unconstitutional. Workers whose claims were denied 
because their injuries were not the major contributing 
cause of  the disability or need for treatment were 
permitted to pursue civil action against their employers. 
SB 485 created a process for these suits. It also revised 
the definitions of  pre-existing conditions and stated 
that the employer has the burden of  proof  in showing 
that the compensable condition is not the major 
contributing cause of  the need for treatment. Although 
the Legislature was concerned that the Smothers decision 
would have a significant impact on the costs of  the 
system, the impact of  the Smothers decision has been 
negligible. There have been no known cases in which 
workers have prevailed at trial. In 2016, the Supreme 
court overruled its decision in Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, 
Inc.

SB 485 and companion bills included other important 
changes. To address worker concerns, SB 485 expanded 
the calculation of  temporary disability benefits to 
include the wages lost from multiple jobs, added the 
right of  workers to submit depositions during the 
reconsideration process, and added provisions for some 
workers to request medical exams during the claim-
denial appeal process. To lessen the uncertainty of  the 
claims process, the bill clarified time limits in the claims 
process, reduced the time an insurer has to accept or 
deny a claim from 90 days to 60 days, and added the 
responsibility for insurers to pay for some medical 
services before a claim denial.

In 2003, the Legislature significantly changed the 
permanent partial disability award structure for workers 
injured after Jan. 1, 2005. The new structure in SB 
757 simplified the rating system and provided larger 
awards to injured workers who are unable to return 
to work. The benefit award structure was designed to 
avoid increased total costs to the workers’ compensation 
system; this resulted in lowering the benefits to some 
workers who do return to work.

The Legislature revised SB 757 by enacting HB 2408 
in 2005. This bill provided that when a worker is ready 
to return to regular work, the worker receives only 
impairment benefits, not work disability benefits. The 
law applies to claims with dates of  injury on or after 

Jan. 1, 2006. These changes were made permanent in 
2007.

SB 386, also effective Jan. 1, 2006, modified the 
standard for establishing or rescinding permanent total 
disability benefits. The bill set an earnings threshold 
to determine what constitutes gainful employment 
that is linked to the federal poverty guidelines. The 
bill also allows workers to appeal any notice of  closure 
that reverses their permanent total disability benefits; 
workers’ benefits continue while notices of  closure are 
appealed.

The 2005 Legislature also addressed the process for 
insurer-requested independent medical examinations. 
SB 311 required insurers to select an independent 
medical examination provider from a list developed by 
the department.

The 2007 Legislature passed HB 2756, which expanded 
the authority of  chiropractors, podiatrists, naturopaths, 
and physician assistants to act as attending physicians 
and authorize temporary disability and manage the 
worker’s return to work for up to 30 days. 

A streamlining measure, SB 559 (effective July 1, 2009) 
simplified proof  of  coverage for insurers and employers. 
It removed the requirement for guaranty contract 
filing, instead requiring the insurer to provide policy 
information to the department as proof  of  coverage.

Also in 2007, SB 404 allowed for payment of  appeal-
related costs to injured workers, and also allowed 
attorneys to file liens for fees out of  additional 
compensation when the worker had signed a fee 
agreement and the attorney was instrumental in 
obtaining the outcome of  the claim. SB 835 mandated 
an interim study of  death benefits and a report to the 
2009 Legislative Assembly. The result of  that report was 
SB 110, passed in 2009, that expanded death benefits in 
the workers’ compensation system.

Several bills that affected health and safety also passed 
through the 2007 Legislature. HB 2022 mandated data 
collection on assaults to health care employees. HB 
2222 removed specific safety committee requirements 
from statute that exempted certain employers and 
gave the director authority to write rules to require all 
employers to have a safety committee or hold safety 
meetings. HB 2259 increased the time in which a 
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worker can file a retaliation complaint with the Oregon 
Bureau of  Labor and Industries from 30 days to 90 
days.

The 2009 Legislature passed HB 2420, which added 
12 conditions, including a variety of  cancers, to 
the existing presumption for employment-caused 
occupational diseases of  non-volunteer firefighters who 
have completed five or more years of  employment. 
Denial of  the claim for any condition or impairment 
must be on the basis of  clear and convincing medical 
evidence that the condition was not caused or 
contributed to by the firefighter’s employment. The first 
diagnoses by a physician must occur after July 1, 2009. 

HB 2815 created the Interagency Compliance 
Network, charging state agencies with working 
to establish consistency in agency determinations 
relating to the classification of  workers, including the 
classification of  workers as independent contractors. 
Agencies sharing information should ensure that 
workers and employers comply with laws relating 
to taxation or employment, including workers’ 
compensation law. HB 2197 clarified the period that the 
medical service provider who is not qualified to be an 
attending physician may provide compensable medical 
service to an injured worker, and restored chiropractors’ 
ability to make impairment findings if  they are serving 
as the attending physician at the time of  claim closure. 

SB 110 improved the benefits to beneficiaries when a 
worker is killed on the job or dies while permanently 
and totally disabled from a work injury. If  a worker dies 
before his or her permanent partial disability award is 
fully paid, the insurer must pay the full remainder of  
the permanent disability benefit to the worker’s estate.

The 2009 Legislature also passed bills that affected 
return-to-work assistance. HB 2195 replaced 
certification with a registry for vocational assistance 
provider organizations; allowed insurers or self-insured 
employers to voluntarily extend the payment of  
temporary disability compensation to 21 months; and 
modified the vocational assistance dispute resolution 
process. HB 2705 allowed insurers and self-insured 
employers to forego a vocational evaluation if  the 
worker is released for regular work but has not returned 
to work. HB 2197 clarified the duration of  premium 
assessment exemption for preferred workers. 

Two bills passed the 2009 Legislature that affected 
disputes. HB 2197 allowed the parties to resolve 
medical fee disputes informally without requesting 
an administrative review by the director. HB 3345 
provided attorney fees in circumstances in which 
workers’ attorneys were not compensated for services; 
increased statutory caps on claimant attorney fees and 
tied an annual increase in the caps to changes in the 
state average weekly wage; and allowed for penalties 
when an insurer or self-insured employer does not 
respond within 14 days to a claimant request for a 
claim reclassification. 

During the 2011 legislative session, the Legislature 
passed two bills affecting the medical system. HB 2093 
gave DCBS the ability to take administrative action 
against a person or company that is actively managing 
the care of  workers when that person or company 
is not certified as a managed care organization. The 
department can address these violations by imposing 
civil penalties and issuing cease-and-desist orders. The 
bill also provides a process for the person or company 
to appeal the department’s action. The second bill, HB 
2743, gave podiatric physicians and surgeons the ability 
to serve as attending physicians without limitation.

The legislature also passed two bills affecting the 
dispute process. HB 2094 allows a delay of  the 
reconsideration process for up to 45 days when both 
parties are actively engaged in settlement negotiations 
and agree to delay the process. This gives the parties 
more time to reach an agreement, without limiting 
the department’s time to complete the reconsideration 
process if  the negotiations are not successful. SB 173 
allows a worker to agree to settle unpaid medical bills 
related to the claimed condition as part of  the disputed 
claim settlement process. Providers who do not receive 
full reimbursement under the settlement may recover 
amounts owing directly from the worker up to the 
maximum allowable under the fee schedule. SB 173 
requires medical providers to accept this as payment 
in full; providers cannot bill the worker for any charges 
that exceed the workers’ compensation medical fee 
schedule.

The 2011 legislature passed HB 3490. This bill clarified 
coverage responsibility in situations when a county 
requests the services of  another county’s volunteers 
or the volunteers themselves offer their services in 
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an emergency. The bill maintained the requirement 
for mandatory election of  coverage for the otherwise 
non-subject volunteers, but clarified which county must 
provide the coverage.

In 2013, the Legislature extended to 180 days the 
authority for authorized nurse practitioners to treat 
and authorize time-loss (wage replacement) benefits. It 
also allowed an injured worker enrolled in a managed 
care organization (MCO) to be treated by a non MCO-
paneled chiropractor under specified circumstances that 
focus on a current patient-provider relationship. 

The 2013 Legislature also clarified that workers’ 
compensation exclusive remedy protections, which 
generally prohibit an employer from being sued for 
work-related injuries or illnesses, did not apply to 
limited liability corporation members that employed 
an injured worker because the statute did not explicitly 
include those entities. It also clarified that exclusive 
remedy can be negated when an employer’s negligence 
is a substantial factor in causing the injury or illness and 
occurs outside of  the employer’s capacity.

In 2014, the Legislature provided a means for 
employers to make an orderly exit from group self-
insurance, by requiring a one-time vote to exit such 
coverage and, in doing so, limiting the future joint and 
several liabilities of  group members. The measure 
also imposes higher standards for self-insured groups 
that choose to continue to operate, and also expands 
regulatory authority over groups that have decertified 
or will do so in the future, to ensure that workers receive 
benefits to which they are entitled.

In 2015, the Legislature modified the attorney fees for 
workers’ compensation attorneys, who are compensated 
only when the statute allows for a fee. The Legislature 
expanded the circumstances and jurisdictions in which 
some existing fees are awarded. The law changes 
included a number of  modifications to existing attorney 
fees, increased caps on fees in some areas, and required 
the Workers’ Compensation Board to biennially review 
all attorney fee schedules.

The Legislature made several other corrections to the 
law, including clarification of  what is considered a 
timely first payment of  time-loss benefits, how health 
benefit plans and workers’ compensation coverage 
interact before a claim determination is made, allowing 
assessments of  civil penalties against service companies 
in limited circumstances, and allowing beneficiaries 
of  a deceased worker the time and ability to request 
reconsideration of  a Notice of  Closure.
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2016 Report Highlights
The basic measures of  workplace safety and health are 
injury and illness incidence rates and claims rates.

�� The U.S. Bureau of  Labor Statistics uses an employer 
survey to estimate injury and illness frequencies. In 
2015, the Oregon total-cases incidence rate was 3.7 
cases per 100 full-time workers. In general, incidence 
rates have been declining. The 2015 total-cases rate is 
38 percent lower than the 2002 rate.

�� In 2015, the accepted disabling claims rate (the 
number of  compensable disabling claims per 100 
workers) was 1.1, 31 percent below the 2000 figure.

Oregon OSHA provides workplace consultations and 
inspections.

�� Oregon OSHA staff provided 2,536 consultations in 
2015. These consultations help employers identify 
hazards that could lead to workplace injuries or 
illnesses. 

�� There were 4,187 Oregon OSHA inspections in 
federal fiscal year 2015. No violations were found in 
32.7 percent of  the inspections. 

�� The Safety and Health Achievement Recognition 
Program (SHARP) provides incentives for Oregon 
employers to work with their employees to correct 
hazards and to develop effective safety and health 
programs. In 2015, 173 Oregon companies from 
diverse industries had been certified as SHARP 
employers.

The workers’ compensation claims system has been 
fairly steady over the past few years.

�� The denial rate of  disabling claims was 13.4 percent 
in fiscal year 2016; this figure has been generally 
declining over the past seven years. The denial rate 
of  disabling occupational disease claims was 32.2 
percent.

�� Insurers made timely compensability decisions 94 
percent of  the time, and timely first benefit payments 
90 percent of  the time in 2015.

The department provides services for workers, 
employers, medical providers, and others through 
its ombudsman offices and through the Workers’ 
Compensation Division information line.

�� The Office of  the Ombudsman for Injured Workers 
serves as an independent advocate for injured 
workers seeking resolution of  issues concerning 
their claims. There were about 7,500 inquiries to 
the office in 2015. The issues that prompt the most 
inquiries are benefits, medical, claim processing, and 
settlements. 

�� The Office of  Small Business Ombudsman for 
Workers’ Compensation is a resource center for 
employers needing information about the workers’ 
compensation system. The office had 1,645 contacts 
in 2015. 

�� The Workers’ Compensation Division has a 
telephone information line for workers, employers, 
insurers, medical providers, attorneys, legislators, and 
others. In 2015, there were more than 6,400 calls to 
the information line.

The department penalizes employers, insurers, and 
others for federal and state rule violations.

�� During federal fiscal year 2015, Oregon OSHA 
issued 2,814 citations against employers with $1.7 
million in penalties for workplace violations. 

�� In 2015, WCD issued 1,179 citations against insurers 
for failing to meet requirements for payment of  
compensation, claim acceptance or denial, and claim 
closure. The penalties totaled about $837,000. 

Injured workers with disabling claims receive indemnity 
benefits, such as temporary disability payments and 
permanent disability awards, and medical services.

�� The total amount paid for indemnity benefits peaked 
in 2009. With the recession, there were fewer injured 
workers, so the indemnity amounts fell in the years 
2010-2012. They rose slightly in 2013, but fell again 
in 2014 and 2015. In 2015, indemnity benefits were 
about $238 million. 

�� About 47 percent of  paid benefits in 2015 were 
indemnity benefits; in contrast, in 1995, 58 percent 
of  benefits were indemnity benefits. 
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�� In 2015, 40 percent of  indemnity benefits for 
accepted disabling claims were temporary disability 
benefits, 15 percent were permanent partial disability 
benefits, and 35 percent were settlements. 

�� In 2015, the average duration of  temporary disability 
was 67 days. This is the lowest figure since 2007. 

�� In 2015, an estimated $299 million was paid for 
workers’ compensation medical services. Physician 
services, facility services, and pharmaceuticals were 
the three largest groups of  service categories

�� Injured workers are not usually enrolled in managed 
care organizations until their claims are accepted. In 
2015, 48 percent of  injured workers with accepted 
disabling claims were enrolled in MCOs. SAIF 
enrolled 69 percent of  its injured workers, private 
insurers enrolled 10 percent of  their injured workers, 
and self-insured employers enrolled 40 percent.

After the prevention of  injuries, the most important 
goals of  the workers’ compensation system are 
returning injured workers to their jobs quickly and 
restoring them to their pre-injury wages. Oregon’s 
return-to-work programs are effective in achieving these 
goals. Workers who have used the department’s return-
to-work programs have higher employment rates and 
higher wages than workers who have not used these 
programs. 

�� The Preferred Worker Program provides 
incentives for employers to hire workers with 
permanent disabilities who are unable to return 
to regular work. As of  June 2016, 17 percent of  
the workers issued cards in 2013 had used them to 
gain employment. 

�� Use of  the Employer-at-Injury Program, which 
provides benefits to employers who return their 
injured employees to work quickly has had strong 
growth. More than 8,000 workers used the 
program in 2015.

�� Oregon’s traditional vocational assistance 
program was scaled back in 1987. In 2015, about 
47 workers returned to work after completing 
vocational assistance. 

In 2015, the Workers’ Compensation Division and the 
Workers’ Compensation Board resolved nearly 13,000 
disputes through orders, stipulations, agreements, and 
mediation. WCD resolves disputes, involving claims 
closure and awards, medical issues and payment, 
vocational disputes, and similar issues. WCB has 
jurisdiction on insurer claim denials and certain claims-
processing issues. It also hears appeals of  WCD’s 
administrative review cases.

�� In 2015, nearly 14 percent of  claim closures 
were appealed for reconsideration. Nearly 2,600 
reconsideration orders were written; 21 percent of  
these orders were appealed to the WCB Hearings 
Division. 

�� WCD resolved about 2,300 medical disputes in 
2015; 64 percent were medical disputes between 
practitioners and insurers.

�� WCD resolved 126 vocational disputes in 2015. 
Of  these cases, 31 percent were resolved through 
agreements. Another 42 percent of  the disputes 
were dismissed, often because vocational assistance 
benefits were released in claim disposition 
agreements. 

�� There were 7,165 hearing requests in 2015 to the 
WCB Hearings Division. There were an additional 
386 requests for WCB board review. The numbers 
of  requests has been falling as the number of  
claims has declined. 

�� WCB approved more than 3,100 claims disposition 
agreements in 2015. The amount paid to workers 
and their attorneys totaled $67 million. The 
WCB also approved about 3,300 disputed claims 
settlements in the amount of  $34.7 million. About 
$21.9 million was paid to claimant attorneys from 
workers’ compensation disputes. Nearly 69 percent 
of  the money paid to claimant attorneys came 
from claim disposition agreements and disputed 
claim settlements.
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The Oregon workers’ compensation insurance market 
has been growing in recent years.

�� The insurance commissioner approved overall 
pure premium rate changes of  minus 5.3 
percent for 2016 and another minus 6.6 percent 
for 2017. 

�� Workers’ compensation total system written 
premiums in Oregon totaled $907.6 million for 
2015, up 24 percent from 2010.

�� SAIF Corporation’s share of  the market in 2015 
was almost 52 percent. Private insurers’ market 
share was 35 percent. Self-insured employer 
and employer groups had the remainder of  the 
market, 13 percent.

�� Oregon’s assigned risk pool was 6.8 percent of  
the market in 2015. About 9,400 employers 
were in the pool.
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Safety and Health 
The most widely used measures of  workplace safety are 
injury and illness rates and claims rates. These rates are 
now less than one-half  of  what they were in the late 
1980s.

Injury and illness rates and claims 
rates
For more than 40 years, the U.S. Bureau of  Labor 
Statistics has used an employer survey based on OSHA 
recordkeeping requirements to estimate occupational 
injury and illness frequencies. This survey provides 
valuable information about trends in workplace injuries. 
In Oregon, the total-cases incidence rate in the private 
sector, a measure of  all workplace injuries and illnesses, 
was 11.1 cases per 100 full-time workers in 1988. It has 
fallen steadily since then and was 3.7 cases per 100 full-
time workers in 2015.  

Within the workers’ compensation system, the accepted 
disabling claims rate is a measure similar to the 
incidence rate. Like the incidence rate, the accepted 
disabling claims rate has fallen significantly in the 
past three decades. It has declined from 3.8 accepted 
disabling claims per 100 workers in 1988 to 1.1 per 100 
workers in 2015, a decrease of  more than 70 percent.

The number of  accepted disabling claims (ADCs) 
fell most years until 2003. Since then, the number of  
ADCs has increased during periods of  employment 
growth. During the recent recession, however, workers’ 
compensation covered employment fell by 8 percent 
between 2007 and 2010, and the number of  ADCs 
declined more than 23 percent. Compensable fatalities 
have also declined over the years as well; the 27 deaths 
occurring in 2015 are the second fewest recorded.
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Figure 2. Compensable fatality rates per 100,000 workers, 2000-2015
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Oregon’s emphasis on workplace safety and health, 
legislative changes in the definition of  compensability, 
changes in insurer claims-management practices, 
and the evolution of  Oregon’s economy over the past 
three decades have affected both claims volume and 
claims rates. National incidence rates have also fallen, 
indicating that claims rates would have fallen to some 
extent without reforms, but the increased emphasis on 
safety and health, especially by Oregon OSHA, has 
played an important role in the reduction of  workers’ 
compensation costs in Oregon.

Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration
The best way to reduce the costs and suffering 
associated with workers’ compensation claims is to 
reduce workplace injuries, illnesses, and fatalities. 
Oregon OSHA provides leadership and support to 
business and labor through enforcement programs, 
voluntary services, conferences and workshops, 
technical resources, publications, and a resource center. 

Oregon OSHA and Federal OSHA
The federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of  
1970 went into effect in 1971. The Oregon version 
of  this legislation, the Oregon Safe Employment 
Act (OSEA), was passed in 1973. The OSEA is now 
administered through a state-plan agreement with 
federal OSHA. 

In May 2005, through the long-standing efforts of  
Oregon OSHA, Oregon became the 17th state to gain 
final approval for meeting the requirements of  the 1970 
federal act. This approval means federal OSHA has 
formally relinquished enforcement authority in areas 
under Oregon OSHA jurisdiction. Many states that 
have received this recognition employ rules that are 
identical to federal requirements. In contrast, Oregon 
has designed its safety standards based on Oregon’s 
unique working conditions. Therefore, the approval 
of  a plan that differs substantially from the federal 
program is an important achievement. Even with final 
state plan approval, federal OSHA continues to fund 
a portion of  Oregon OSHA’s budget and annually 
monitors its performance through the five-year strategic 
plan.

Legislative reform
Since the passage of  the OSEA, other pieces of  
legislation have affected Oregon OSHA’s programs. 
Between 1987 and 1991, the Oregon Legislature 
significantly increased the emphasis on safety 
and health in the workplace. This was done by 
increasing safety and health enforcement, training, 
and consultative staff; increasing penalties against 
employers who violate state safety and health 
regulations; requiring insurers to provide loss-
prevention consultative services; offering employer 
and employee training opportunities through a grant 
program; requiring joint labor-management safety 
committees; and targeting safety and health inspections 
of  workplaces. 

The 1999 Legislature passed HB 2830, which directed 
Oregon OSHA to notify certain employers of  the 
increased likelihood of  an inspection and to focus 
Oregon OSHA enforcement activities on the most 
unsafe workplaces. In 2005, at Oregon OSHA’s request, 
HB 2093 removed the accepted disabling claims 
rate as one of  the criteria Oregon OSHA uses when 
identifying employers who will receive this notification. 
This legislation provided the director with the authority 
to determine the most unsafe industries and workplaces 
to be notified of  the increased likelihood of  an 
inspection. 

In 1990, SB 1197 required employers with more than 
10 employees, and certain employers with fewer than 
10 employees, to establish safety committees. However, 
in 2007, the Legislature passed HB 2222, which 
removed the specific safety committee requirements 
from the law and gave the department the authority 
to write rules requiring all employers to establish and 
administer safety committees or hold safety meetings. 
HB 2222 also allows for alternate forms of  safety 
committees and meetings to meet the special needs of  
small employers, agricultural employers, and employers 
with mobile work sites.

Many of  the legislative changes affected agriculture. In 
1995, small agricultural employers without any serious 
accidents and who followed specified training and 
consultation schedules were exempted from scheduled 
inspections. In 1997, Oregon OSHA was authorized 
to enforce the law requiring operators of  farmworker 
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camps to provide seven days of  housing in the event 
of  camp closure by a government agency. Before this 
legislative change, the Bureau of  Labor and Industries 
enforced the law. The 1999 Legislature exempted 
corporate farms with only family-member employees 
from occupational safety and health requirements. 
HB 3573 (2001) created the Farmworker Housing 
Development Account and directed that the money 
collected from civil penalties imposed for the non-
registration of  farmworker camps be put into the 
account.

Voluntary Services/Outreach
Consultative services
Oregon OSHA staff members provided 2,536 
consultations in 2015. This function was added to 
the department’s duties through SB 2900 in 1987 
and expanded with the passage of  SB 1197 in 1990. 
Consultative services help Oregon employers identify 
hazards and work practices that could lead to injuries 
or illnesses. Employers are provided recommendations 
for correcting identified hazards and for improving 
their safety and health programs. Consultative services 
also include the time-intensive process of  assisting 
interested employers as they work toward Safety and 
Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP) 
recognition and evaluating worksites for qualification in 
the Voluntary Protection Program.

Safety and Health Achievement 
Recognition Program
The Safety and Health Achievement Recognition 

Program recognizes employers who reach specific 
benchmarks in managing their occupational safety 
and health program. SHARP provides employers 
assistance and tools for effectively managing workplace 
safety, focusing on management commitment, and 
employee participation. Companies that use SHARP 
to implement a safety and health management system 
often experience a reduction in injuries and illnesses 
and, in turn, reduce their workers’ compensation 
insurance premiums. The program was implemented in 
1996 with four employers certified. By the end of  2015, 
the program had grown to 173 employers.

Voluntary Protection Program
Federal OSHA developed the Voluntary Protection 
Program (VPP) as a way to recognize employers 
who demonstrate excellence in safety and health 
management. To be considered for VPP recognition, a 
company’s safety and health management system must 
excel in all areas, including management leadership, 
employee involvement, worksite analysis, hazard 
prevention and control, and safety and health training. 
VPP worksites must also have a three-year average 
injury and illness rate at or below the rates of  other 
employers in the same industry. At the end of  2015, 
there were 21 Oregon worksites participating in VPP.

Oregon OSHA grants
Since 1989, Oregon OSHA has awarded more than 
$3 million in grants to nonprofit organizations and 
associations to develop innovative programs for 
occupational safety and health training. The programs 
are designed to reduce or eliminate hazards in an entire 
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industry or in a specific work process. Examples of  
programs that have received grants are homebuilders’ 
manuals and videos in English, Russian, and Spanish; 
an educational program for nurses to prevent 
ergonomic injuries; a dairy farmers’ checklist and video; 
and lifting guidelines.

In 2008, Oregon OSHA awarded $1.04 million in 
grants to a rural critical care hospital and a long-term 
care facility to develop model sites for safe patient 
handling. This was done in collaboration with the 
Oregon Coalition for Healthcare Ergonomics as a 
means to address the growing problem of  health care 
worker injuries and their associated costs.

In 2010, due to the severe revenue shortfall, the 
department’s director accepted the recommendation of  
the Safe Employment Education and Training Advisory 
Committee (SEETAC) to suspend the training grants 
program. The program remained suspended until 
October 2014. Since being reinstated, the program has 
awarded over $155,000 in grants.

Safety and Health Training 
Programs
Oregon OSHA staff also provide training to both 
employers and employees. Annual attendance at 
public education and conference training sessions 
exceeds 20,000. These educational forums provide an 
opportunity to share ideas on occupational safety and 
health with national experts. 

Most Oregon OSHA conferences are coordinated and 
presented in partnership with businesses, associations, 
labor unions, etc. Every other year, Oregon OSHA 
and the American Association of  Safety Engineers 
work together to present the Governor’s Occupational 
Safety and Health Conference (GOSH). In 2015, in 
addition to the GOSH conference, there were six other 
conferences held around Oregon that addressed safety 
and health issues.

Partnerships with stakeholders
Oregon OSHA collaborates with groups, including 
business organizations and labor unions, to design 
better safety and health programs. Many partnerships 
take the form of  stakeholder advisory committees that 
help develop new rules, provide input on current issues, 

Oregon OSHA Resource Center:  
A one-stop source for workplace safety 

and health information

The Oregon OSHA Resource Center is the 
only library in Oregon that specializes in 
health and safety in the workplace. It is a 
public service the Oregon Department of  
Consumer and Business Services provides to 
Oregon employers and workers.

Videos and DVDs about workplace safety 
and health are available in the free lending 
library maintained by the Resource Center. 
Any employer or worker in Oregon may use 
the video library. The user’s only cost will 
be for sending the item back to the Resource 
Center via a “trackable” carrier (USPS, etc.). 
This is a popular service with about 400 
videos and DVDs going out each month. 

The Resource Center carries a full selection 
of  Oregon OSHA publications at its Labor 
and Industries Building location in Salem 
at 350 Winter St. NE. If  you are not in the 
neighborhood, you can read or order copies 
online at http://osha.oregon.gov/media/
Pages/default.aspx.

Books, journals, and consensus standards 
(NIOSH, ANSI, etc.) are available for use or 
review in the Resource Center.

Library topics include safety and health 
management, industrial hygiene, hazardous 
chemicals, occupational medicine, and 
ergonomics.

A skilled research librarian is available via 
email at osha.resource@oregon.gov or by 
calling 800-922-2689 (toll-free) or  
503-378-3272.

http://www4.cbs.state.or.us/ex/osha/film/av/
http://osha.oregon.gov/media/Pages/default.aspx
http://osha.oregon.gov/media/Pages/default.aspx
http://www4.cbs.state.or.us/ex/osha/film/book/
mailto:osha.resource%40oregon.gov?subject=
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foster outreach and education with specific industries, 
and sponsor conferences. For example, Oregon OSHA 
worked with the Oregon Collaboration for Healthy Nail 
Salons to provide education on environmental health 
hazards in the nail salon industry. The joint effort 
resulted in two informative publications, including one 
translated into Vietnamese that specifically targeted 
workers in the industry, as well as an extensive outreach 
effort to the affected workers.

Oregon OSHA also adopted a formal alliance policy to 
acknowledge some of  the collaborations with industry 
or labor groups. Recent agreements have been signed 
with the Oregon Homebuilders Association, Oregon 
Restaurant Association, and Oregon Coalition for 
Healthcare Ergonomics. 

Oregon OSHA is also participating as a member of  
O[yes] Oregon Young Employee Safety Coalition. The 
mission of  O[yes] is to prevent young worker injuries 
and fatalities. O[yes] educates its constituency of  young 
workers, educators, employers, parents, and labor and 
trade associations through outreach, advocacy, and 
sharing of  resources.

Enforcement
Oregon OSHA inspections
Oregon OSHA staff conducted 4,187 inspections in 
federal fiscal year 2015. More than 6,500 violations 
of  safety and health standards were cited on 2,814 
citations. Penalties assessed for these violations in 

federal fiscal year 2015 were $2.0 million. 

Inspections at employer worksites in Oregon are based 
primarily on inspection targeting lists, complaints, 
accidents (including fatalities), and referrals. Sixty-one 
percent, about 2,500 inspections were initiated from 
several program-planned lists. Complaints received by 
Oregon OSHA about the safety or health conditions 
at Oregon worksites resulted in 944 inspections, 23 
percent of  the total. Accidents and fatalities at Oregon 
worksites resulted in 196 inspections, 5 percent of  the 
total inspections, and approximately 11 percent were 
related to referrals, monitoring, follow-ups and program 
related activities.

Loss-prevention services
From 1989 to 1999, workers’ compensation insurers 
provided mandatory loss-prevention services to 
employers Oregon OSHA identified as having at least 
three accepted disabling claims and a claims rate above 
the statewide average or having at least 20 claims. In 
July 1999, administrative rule changes required insurers 
to identify employers with a claims frequency greater 
than the industry average and offer loss-prevention 
services. Oregon OSHA staff inspect insurers’ and 
self-insured employers’ loss-prevention activities to 
ensure employers are offered loss-prevention services. 
These services include assistance in developing written 
loss-prevention plans, workplace hazard surveys, 
identification of  resources to reduce hazards, and 
assistance in evaluating safety and health training 
needs.
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Figure 4. Oregon OSHA inspections, 2000-2015
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Customer service
One factor in the success of  Oregon OSHA’s 
enforcement activities is the performance of  its 
compliance officers. The department surveys employers 
Oregon OSHA inspected, allowing employers to rate 
the performance of  compliance officers. On average, 
more than 90 percent of  completed questionnaires 
show “good” to “very good” ratings for compliance 
officers in their general knowledge of  the job, 
professional and personal attributes, ability to explain 
the reason for the inspection, and the rights and 
responsibilities of  the inspected employer. In addition, 
the majority of  respondents indicate a belief  their 
inspection will result in a reduction of  workplace 
hazards.

Oregon OSHA’s consultation services also receive 
high marks in customer service. Among employers 
surveyed in FY 2015, over 96 percent rated their 
consultant as “good” or “excellent” in areas regarding 
helpfulness, expertise, timeliness, accuracy, availability 
of  information, and overall service.
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Accepted disabling claims, employment, and claims rates, 1987-2015

Year
Accepted  

disabling claims Employment Claims rate With the recession, employment declined by 7.9 percent, and the 
number of accepted disabling claims declined by 23.1 percent 
between 2007 and 2010. Between 2010 and 2013, the number 
of ADCs remained fairly constant. With strong employment 
growth in 2014, the number of ADCs increased. The number fell 
slightly to 19,572 in 2015.

The claims rate is the number of accepted disabling claims per 
100 covered employees. The claims rate has fallen over time. 
The rate has been at record lows over the past six years, with 
1.1 ADCs per 100 workers.

Note: Workers’ compensation covered employment figures are 
based on data from the Employment Department. 

The 2015 claims and employment figures will be revised.

1987 41,033 1,105,200 3.7
1988 43,660 1,161,100 3.8
1989 39,170 1,214,900 3.2
1990 35,857 1,258,600 2.8
1991 31,479 1,258,600 2.5
1992 30,786 1,280,500 2.4
1993 30,741 1,317,100 2.3
1994 31,530 1,378,800 2.3
1995 30,564 1,431,600 2.1
1996 28,389 1,487,300 1.9
1997 27,922 1,547,800 1.8
1998 27,020 1,576,100 1.7
1999 25,769 1,602,700 1.6
2000 25,325 1,627,600 1.6
2001 24,607 1,616,400 1.5
2002 23,464 1,596,100 1.5
2003 21,823 1,585,800 1.4
2004 22,319 1,630,500 1.4
2005 22,111 1,677,500 1.3
2006 23,370 1,734,400 1.3
2007 23,431 1,762,700 1.3
2008 21,660 1,746,200 1.2
2009 18,949 1,637,400 1.2
2010 18,011 1,623,300 1.1
2011 18,693 1,641,300 1.1
2012 18,643 1,664,000 1.1
2013 18,633 1,697,600 1.1
2014 19,724 1,748,400 1.1
2015 19,572 1,805,900 1.1
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Compensable fatalities, 1987-2015
Year Compensable fatalities Fatality rate

There were 27 compensable fatalities reported in 2015.

A large rise in yearly fatality counts can occur because of 
multiple-fatality incidents. For example, in 2008, one incident 
resulted in the deaths of eight Oregon workers. 

Compensable fatalities are counted in the year they are reported, 
which will not necessarily correspond to the year of occurrence. 

Occupational fatalities that are denied by insurers for any reason 
or that occur outside of the Oregon workers’ compensation 
system, such as self-employed individuals or federal employees, 
are not represented in this count. 

Notes: The fatality rate is the number of fatalities per 100,000 
workers. The 2014 and 2015 rates may change slightly when the 
employment data are updated.

1987 78 7.1
1988 81 7.0
1989 76 6.3
1990 64 5.1
1991 65 5.2
1992 63 4.9
1993 64 4.9
1994 55 4.0
1995 48 3.4
1996 54 3.6
1997 43 2.8
1998 52 3.3
1999 47 2.9
2000 45 2.8
2001 34 2.1
2002 52 3.3
2003 41 2.6
2004 45 2.8
2005 31 1.8
2006 37 2.1
2007 35 2.0
2008 46 2.6
2009 31 1.9
2010 17 1.0
2011 28 1.7
2012 30 1.8
2013 30 1.8
2014 31 1.8
2015 27 1.5
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Occupational injuries and illnesses incidence rates, Oregon private sector, 1987-2015

Year Total cases IR 
Cases with days 
away from work DART rate These incidence rates are compiled from the Bureau of Labor 

Statistics’ Occupational Injury and Illness Survey, and the data 
come from the employers’ OSHA 300 Log. Beginning with 
the 2002 BLS survey, incidence rates are based on revised 
requirements for recording occupational injuries and illnesses. 
Due to the revised requirements, the rates since the 2002 survey 
may not be comparable with those of prior years. 

The total-cases incidence rate is a measure of all recordable 
workplace injuries and illnesses for every 100 full-time 
employees. The cases-with-days-away-from-work incidence rate 
shows the cases that resulted in absences from work. 

The DART rate is a broader measure that includes days away 
from work, restriction, or job transfer. The DART rate fell about 
34 percent between 2002 and 2015.

1987 10.9 4.8 -
1988 11.1 4.9 -
1989 10.6 4.3 -
1990 10.1 3.9 -
1991 9.1 3.4 -
1992 9.1 3.3 -
1993 9.0 3.3 -
1994 8.7 3.0 -
1995 8.8 2.9 -
1996 7.8 2.6 -
1997 7.8 2.3 -
1998 6.9 2.1 -
1999 7.0 2.1 -
2000 6.3 1.9 -
2001 6.2 1.9 -

-----------------> series break
2002 6.0 1.9 3.2
2003 5.6 1.9 3.1
2004 5.8 1.9 3.1
2005 5.4 1.7 2.9
2006 5.3 1.7 2.8
2007 5.1 1.7 2.8
2008 4.6 1.5 2.5
2009 4.4 1.4 2.3
2010 3.9 1.5 2.2
2011 3.8 1.3 2.1
2012 3.9 1.5 2.2
2013 4.1 1.4 2.2
2014 3.9 1.5 2.2
2015 3.7 1.3 2.1
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Oregon OSHA inspections, federal fiscal years 1988-2015
Federal  

fiscal year Inspections
Workers covered 

by inspections
Percent in 
compliance Inspections are classified in several ways. The broadest category 

identifies each inspection as either a safety inspection or a health 
inspection. In FFY 2015, 78.4 percent were safety inspections.  

Some inspections result in a citation (violations of Oregon or 
federal standards found at the worksite). When there are no 
violations of safety or health rules, the worksite is called “in 
compliance.” The percentage of in-compliance inspections was 
32.7 percent in FFY 2015.

1988 5,697 147,414 23.3%
1989 5,136 167,432 24.2%
1990 4,826 164,052 21.4%
1991 5,506 163,807 18.8%
1992 5,739 206,170 17.7%
1993 5,613 245,929 20.1%
1994 5,022 262,589 20.9%
1995 5,470 227,412 25.2%
1996 5,181 195,375 26.2%
1997 4,555 182,058 28.2%
1998 5,172 152,324 28.0%
1999 5,435 168,258 30.7%
2000 5,069 165,151 28.2%
2001 5,370 197,722 27.8%
2002 5,642 196,193 26.1%
2003 5,355 217,724 26.4%
2004 5,097 207,463 24.9%
2005 4,890 274,457 22.2%
2006 4,873 355,103 26.2%
2007 5,049 244,111 25.5%
2008 5,248 221,994 23.7%
2009 5,542 212,372 24.0%
2010 5,261 132,245 27.3%
2011 4,592 105,395 29.5%
2012 4,101 127,109 28.6%
2013 4,192 101,955 31.5%
2014 4,244 127,150 32.3%
2015 4,187 131,281 32.7%

Oregon OSHA citations, violations, and proposed penalties, federal fiscal years 1988-2015
Federal  

fiscal year Citations Violations
Penalties  

($ millions) Oregon OSHA issues a citation to an employer when one or 
more violations of Oregon or federal standards are found during 
an inspection. The penalties listed here are the initial or proposed 
penalties levied when the citation was issued and do not reflect 
changes made due to the settlement of an appeal.

In recent years, there have been about 2.3 violations per citation. 
There has been an average of about one serious violation per 
citation.

* Revised February 2017.

1988 4,368 15,735 $1.9
1989 3,892 12,364 1.5
1990 3,794 14,009 2.8
1991 4,472 17,118 2.8
1992 4,721 19,424 3.2
1993 4,485 17,611 4.7
1994 3,970 15,292 4.6
1995 4,093 15,302 5.8
1996 3,823 12,434 2.9
1997 3,269 10,359 3.9
1998 3,725 11,366 2.4
1999 3,767 11,433 3.0
2000 3,642 11,094 2.3
2001 3,879 12,701 2.4
2002 4,170 12,703 2.1
2003 3,940 11,700 2.3
2004 3,827 11,805 2.4
2005 3,805 11,376 2.0
2006 3,595 10,020 2.4
2007 3,759 10,495 2.4
2008 4,004 10,623 2.5
2009 4,214 11,582 3.1
2010 3,825 10,311 1.7
2011 3,238 8,605 2.0
2012 2,928 7,676 1.7
2013 2,873 7,310 1.8
2014 2,872 7,123 2.0
2015 2,814 6,573 2.0*
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Safety and health training programs, 1998-2015

Year Attendance at training sessions Oregon OSHA has provided education and training to 
thousands of workers and employers each year. These 
educational forums provide an opportunity to share ideas 
on occupational safety and health with national experts. The 
increases in attendance in odd-numbered years are due to 
the Governor’s Occupational Safety and Health Conference. 
These conferences are coordinated and presented in 
partnership with businesses, associations, labor unions, etc.

In 2015, there were seven conferences held around Oregon. 
They addressed a variety of safety and health issues.  

1998 15,494
1999 27,104
2000 19,069
2001 26,478
2002 15,844
2003 26,290
2004 20,892
2005 27,129
2006 22,751
2007 30,054
2008 19,754
2009 30,874
2010 18,580
2011 29,064
2012 23,212
2013 32,216
2014 24,093
2015 35,402

Oregon OSHA consultations, 1988-2015

Year

Number of 
consulta-

tions
Workers 
reached

Participants in voluntary 
compliance programs: Oregon OSHA’s consultative services help Oregon employers 

identify hazards and work practices that could lead to injuries or 
illnesses. Employers are provided recommendations for correcting 
identified hazards and for improving their safety and health 
programs. Consultative services also include the time-intensive 
process of assisting interested employers as they work toward 
SHARP recognition, and evaluating worksites for qualification in 
the Voluntary Protection Program. There have been more than 
2,500 consultations each year since 2008.  

SHARP is a recognition program that provides guidance and 
tools for developing an effective safety and health program. The 
program focuses on the implementation of a system based on 
management commitment and employee participation.

The Voluntary Protection Program was developed by federal 
OSHA as a way to recognize employers who demonstrate 
excellence in safety and health management. The key areas 
are management leadership, employee involvement, worksite 
analysis, hazard prevention and control; and safety and health 
training.

SHARP VPP
1988 502 N/A - -
1989 671 N/A - -
1990 943 102,739 - -
1991 1,741 250,623 - -
1992 2,491 342,683 - -
1993 2,089 249,387 - -
1994 2,482 256,604 - -
1995 2,153 231,113 - -
1996 1,854 233,732 4 -
1997 1,828 153,922 9 1
1998 2,050 219,565 24 2
1999 2,127 233,665 42 3
2000 2,505 241,965 50 4
2001 2,828 260,695 69 4
2002 2,457 219,418 75 6
2003 2,060 230,245 80 9
2004 2,094 229,130 86 8
2005 2,124 187,449 104 9
2006 2,283 221,157 107 13
2007 2,098 203,369 126 16
2008 2,542 209,525 142 23
2009 2,898 268,631 161 24
2010 2,693 159,305 196 27
2011 2,652 158,535 174 28
2012 2,735 160,682 163 27
2013 2,546 108,628 168 22
2014 2,638 106,361 172 21
2015 2,536 97,753 173 21



22

2016 REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM

Oregon OSHA safety and health grant programs, 1989-2015

Biennium Grants Total awarded
In existence since 1989, Oregon OSHA’s Training and Education 
Grants program awarded 91 grants totaling nearly $2.9 million to 
help organizations develop education and training programs that 
reduce or eliminate hazards in an entire industry or in a specific 
work process. The maximum grant award was $40,000.   

Examples of programs that have received grants are 
homebuilders’ manuals and videos in Russian, Spanish, and 
English; an educational program for nurses to prevent ergonomic 
injuries; a dairy farmers’ checklist and video; and lifting 
guidelines.

Note: No funds were disbursed for several years when DCBS 
followed the Safe Employment Education and Training Advisory 
Committee (SEETAC) recommendation to suspend the program. 
The program was recently reinstated, with the first round of 
funding closing in October 2014.

1989-1991 11 $309,658
1991-1993 9 271,008
1993-1995 12 342,780
1995-1997 12 370,595
1997-1999 9 286,463
1999-2001 9 272,150
2001-2003 11 388,517
2003-2005 8 297,626
2005-2007 2 66,753
2007-2009 8 266,260
2009-2011 0 0
2011-2013 0 0
2013-2015 4 155,218
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Compensability and Claims Processing
The Oregon workers’ compensation system is a no-fault 
system. In other words, the compensability of  a claim 
is not dependent upon demonstrating the employer or 
worker was negligent. One purpose of  a no-fault system 
is to compensate injured workers for work-related 
claims promptly and fairly.

Definition of compensability
When an injury or illness occurs and a claim is 
filed, the insurer’s compensability decision controls 
whether the claim is covered within the system. An 
accepted disabling claim entitles the worker to medical 
services and disability or death benefits. An accepted 
nondisabling claim entitles the worker to medical 
services only.

Workers’ compensation statute governs the standards 
of  compensability. The definition of  a compensable 
claim was revised several times between 1987 and 
1995. These revisions were partly responsible for the 
decrease in the number of  accepted claims in the early 
1990s. Details of  the law changes can be found in 
the Compensability section of  Appendix 1, Workers’ 
Compensation Reform Legislation.

The 1999 Legislature allocated funds to study the 
effects of  the compensability language changes on 
workers’ compensation costs and worker benefits. The 
department contracted for a major study by leading 
academic researchers, which was completed in 2000. 
The study can be found at http://dcbs-reports.cbs.state.
or.us/rpt/index.cfm?fuseaction=version_view&version_
tk=175934&ProgID=CCRA024.

In May 2001, during the legislative session, the 
Oregon Supreme Court issued its opinion for the 
Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc. case. The court ruled 
that when a workers’ compensation claim is denied 
for failure to prove the work-related incident was the 
major contributing cause of  the injury or condition, 
then the exclusive-remedy provisions implemented 
by SB 369 of  1995 are unconstitutional. The 2001 
Legislature addressed this decision by passing SB 485, 
which created a process for worker civil suits against 
employers. It also revised the definitions of  pre-

existing conditions and established that, while a worker 
continues to have the burden of  proving the claim is 
compensable, the employer has the burden of  proof  in 
showing the compensable condition is not the major 
contributing cause of  the need for treatment. Although 
it was estimated at the time that the Smothers decision 
could affect as many as 1,300 cases per year and cost up 
to $50 million per year, there have been no known cases 
in which workers have prevailed at trial; in a few cases 
workers have received settlements.

Modified acceptance decisions
The 1997 Legislature passed HB 2971, which required 
insurers and self-insured employers to modify notices 
of  acceptance when medical or other information 
changes a previously issued notice of  acceptance. At 
the time of  claim closure, insurers are also required to 
issue an updated notice of  acceptance that specifies 
the compensable conditions. If  a medical condition, 
whether omitted from the notice of  acceptance or new, 
is later found to be compensable, then the insurer must 
reopen the claim for that condition. 

The Court of  Appeals, in the 1999 Johansen v. SAIF 
Corporation decision, ruled there are no time limits for 
liability on an omitted or new condition. In SB 485, 
the 2001 Legislature refined the process. A worker 
must request formal written acceptance of  a new or 
omitted medical condition, which the insurer has 60 
days to accept or deny. The period for disabling claims 
aggravation rights extends five years after the first 
closure. If  a new compensable condition arises during 
this period, the insurer pays the claim costs. If  the 
new condition arises after the aggravation period and 
the insurer doesn’t voluntarily accept the claim, the 
worker must pursue the claim through the Workers’ 
Compensation Board’s own-motion process. If  the 
insurer or the board finds the condition compensable, 
then benefits are paid from the Workers’ Benefit Fund, 
Reopened Claims Program.

Claim resolution
Before 1987, only the department could close 
claims and rate permanent disability. That year, the 

http://dcbs-reports.cbs.state.or.us/rpt/index.cfm?fuseaction=version_view&version_tk=175934&ProgID=CCRA024
http://dcbs-reports.cbs.state.or.us/rpt/index.cfm?fuseaction=version_view&version_tk=175934&ProgID=CCRA024
http://dcbs-reports.cbs.state.or.us/rpt/index.cfm?fuseaction=version_view&version_tk=175934&ProgID=CCRA024
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The indicates time frame in which the
action may occur during the process.
The indicates potential path of process.

Figure 6. Claims process flowchart

On-the-job injury or occupational disease

Within 90 days, worker notifies
employer and completes signed,

written documentation or the
Report of Job Injury or Illness claiming

a work-related injury or disease.

Employer reports claim to insurer
within 5 days

of knowledge or notice of claim.

Insurer assigns
disability

classification
based on treating

physician's
findings.

Nondisabling:
No temporary disability

authorized.
(medical only)Worker submits written

notice of new and omitted
medical conditions directly
to the insurer at any time.

Insurer, within 60 days of employer notice or knowledge date,
must classify disability and accept or deny claim. Insurer must
report accepted disabling and all denied claims to WCD within

14 days of decision.

Claim accepted:
Temporary disability

payments, if any, continue
at 14-day intervals for as

long as attending physician
verifies worker's inability to
work or until claim closure.

Worker may request
reclassification of

nondisabling claim.
Worker has 60 days to

appeal the insurer's
refusal to reclassify.

See Disputes flowchart.

Notice of Closure:
Insurer, within 14 days of

receipt of qualifying
closure information,
determines extent

of worker's disability,
including permanent
disability, if any, and

closes claim.
Worker has 60 days to 

appeal closure.

After claim closure, worker
submits written notice of

aggravated medical conditions
directly to the insurer.

Permanent partial or
permanent total disability: 
Insurer, within 30 days of 

notice of closure, must begin 
payment of award, if any.

Death benefits begin within 
30 days of acceptance.

Worker goes to physician and 
completes worker section of

Worker’s and Physician’s Report 
for Workers’ Compensation 

Claims.

Physician reports claim to 
insurer within 72 hours of 

treating worker.

Disabling:
Temporary partial or temporary total disability (time

loss) authorized or likelihood of permanent
disability (indemnity).

Insurer begins interim temporary disability
payments, if authorized by attending physician,

within 14 days of employer's knowledge date and
continues at 14-day intervals unless the claim is

denied.

Claim denied:
Insurer issues denial letter 

and temporary disability 
payments stop. Claimant, 

within 60 days, may request 
a hearing.

Insurer may 
deny 

compensability 
of conditions 
from the time 

of claim 
acceptance 
until claim 

closure.
Claimant, 

within 60 days, 
may request a 

hearing.

Claim 
Disposition 
Agreement: 
Worker and 
insurer may 

agree to settle 
indemnity at 

any time after 
formal claim 
acceptance, 

subject to 
WCB approval.

If a CDA 
occurs before 
claim closure, 
the insurer is 

not required to 
issue a notice 

of closure.

Note: This flowchart provides a general description of the claims 
process. It omits many details. The time frames shown are those 
in statute and rule; exceptions to these time frames are not 
shown. Flowcharts in the return-to-work chapter and the disputes 
chapter provide additional information.
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Legislature passed HB 2900, allowing insurers to 
close permanent disability claims if  the worker had 
returned to work. Passage of  SB 1197 in 1990 allowed 
insurers to close claims upon the attending physician’s 
release of  the worker to return to work, and thereby 
terminate temporary disability payments earlier in the 
life of  a claim. The 1999 passage of  SB 220 shifted 
responsibility for all claim closures from the department 
to insurers. The transition was completed January 2001. 
The department continues to promulgate disability 

standards that insurers must use. Following passage of  
SB 757 in 2003, the standards for claims with dates of  
injury since Jan. 1, 2005, were changed to implement 
the new law. Permanent impairment is now expressed 
as a percent of  the whole person.

Since July 1990, a worker with an accepted claim can 
resolve a claim by agreeing to release rights to workers’ 
compensation benefits, except for medical services 
and the Preferred Worker Program, by means of  a 
Claim Disposition Agreement (CDA). See the chapters 
on indemnity benefits for information about claim 
resolutions and CDAs.

Claim compensability decisions
The prompt determination of  compensability is also an 
aspect of  insurers’ claim processing performance, which 
is an important part of  the workers’ compensation 
system. To enable insurers to make better decisions 
and reduce the number of  appealed denials, SB 
1197 in 1990 changed the statutory time limit for the 
acceptance or denial of  claim compensability from 60 
days to 90 days. The median number of  days to accept 
a disabling claim increased after 1990, peaking at 52 
days in 1998, but this resulted in longer periods of  
uncertainty for workers and medical providers.

In 2001, as part of  SB 485, the Legislature reduced 
the statutory time limit back to 60 days. This affected 
the processing time for compensability decisions. Since 
2002, the median time to accept a disabling claim has 
ranged from 39 days to 44 days. In 2015, about 94 
percent of  the compensability decisions were made 
within the 60-day period.

Workers’ compensation 
information line
Workers’ Compensation Division benefit consultants 
answer workers’ questions about their claims, describe 
workers’ rights and responsibilities, and help people 
understand the workers’ compensation system. In 2015, 
there were 6,443 calls to the line, 3,563 from workers 
and 2,880 from insurers, medical providers, attorneys, 
employers, legislators, and others. Cases requiring 
translation or advocacy are referred to the Office of  the 
Ombudsman for Injured Workers.

Recent significant court decisions 

In December 2013, the Oregon Supreme 
Court issued its opinion for Schleiss v. SAIF 
Corporation. The issue was whether an injured 
worker’s permanent impairment can be 
apportioned to exclude that portion of  
the impairment that is due to conditions 
that have not previously been formally 
acknowledged or identified, either as part of  
the claim processing or resulting litigation. 
The court concluded that no portion of  
permanent impairment can be attributed to 
any condition the worker may suffer from that 
is not formally part of  a combined condition 
or has not been established as a pre-existing 
condition.

In May 2014, the Oregon Court of  Appeals 
issued its opinion for Brown v. SAIF Corporation. 
The issue was whether an insurer, to deny 
a combined condition, must prove it is the 
accepted condition or the accidental work-
related injurious incident that is no longer 
the major contributing cause. The court 
ruled that the compensable injury is the work 
injury resulting from the work action, not the 
condition the insurer accepts. The burden, 
therefore, on an employer or insurer seeking 
to deny a previously accepted combined 
condition is to prove the work-related injury is 
no longer the major contributing cause of  the 
disability or need for treatment. The case was 
appealed, accepted for review, and argued 
before the Oregon Supreme Court. As of  this 
writing, no decision has been issued.
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Civil penalties
The department issues civil penalties to insurers and 
self-insured employers that do not meet acceptable 
performance standards. In 2015, the department issued 
1,179 citations with penalty amounts totaling more than 
$830,000 — record high figures. Stipulated agreements, 
which may encompass various violations of  rules and 
statutes under ORS Chapters 656 and 731 (workers’ 
compensation and insurance law, respectively), and set 
up various performance expectations, are not included 
in these statistics.
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Reported claims (thousands of claims), FY 1989-2016

Fiscal 
year

Accepted  
disabling

Denied  
disabling

Percent  
denied  

disabling
Denied non-

disabling
The department requires insures to report accepted disabling 
and denied claims within 14 days of the compensability decision. 
These counts reflect the initial decisions on those claims, as well 
as data entry patterns for the reports. The number of disabling 
claims has declined by an average of 3 percent per year since 
FY 1989, although there has been considerable year-to-year 
variability. The FY 2016 counts of accepted and denied are 
typical of recent years’ compensability decisions.

The denial rate of disabling claims has generally declined since 
FY 1992, although with some variability. Counts of denied 
nondisabling claims have also declined, again with some 
variability.

Accepted nondisabling claims are not included in this report 
because insurers are not required to report them to the 
department.

1989 40.5 6.6 14.1% 8.0
1990 35.9 9.5 21.0% 10.6
1991 31.2 8.0 20.5% 12.4
1992 28.6 7.5 20.8% 12.9
1993 29.1 6.0 17.1% 13.4
1994 29.7 6.2 17.3% 13.3
1995 29.7 6.5 18.0% 13.4
1996 27.4 6.0 17.9% 14.1
1997 26.9 5.5 17.0% 14.8
1998 26.0 5.4 17.1% 15.0
1999 24.9 5.2 17.4% 14.7
2000 24.4 4.9 16.7% 13.7
2001 23.9 4.7 16.5% 13.9
2002 22.1 4.7 17.5% 13.0
2003 21.5 4.4 17.1% 11.7
2004 20.0 4.1 17.1% 10.2
2005 21.0 4.0 16.1% 9.5
2006 21.4 3.5 14.1% 9.5
2007 22.4 3.9 14.7% 9.1
2008 21.7 3.5 14.0% 8.3
2009 18.9 3.4 15.3% 7.2
2010 17.2 3.1 15.5% 6.5
2011 17.2 2.8 14.1% 5.9
2012 15.9 2.6 13.8% 5.4
2013 19.2 3.2 14.4% 6.7
2014 16.6 2.7 14.1% 5.2
2015 20.3 3.2 13.6% 6.4
2016 18.1 2.8 13.4% 5.5
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Disabling occupational disease claims (thousands of claims), FY 1989-2016
Fiscal 
year Accepted Denied

Percent  
denied The total number of disabling occupational disease claims 

reported to the department has generally declined since 1990, 
although with considerable variability.

Starting Jan. 1, 2013, the department began using the revised 
version of the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Occupational Injury and 
Illness Classification System, 2nd Edition. Data before 2013 use 
the 1st Edition. The coding structures for the two editions are not 
comparable and counts of occupational illnesses before 2013 
should not be compared to subsequent data.

The denial rate of occupational disease claims has declined 
substantially since the peak reached in 1990, and it has been 
generally stable since 2006, although with some variability. 

Historical data are subject to small changes.

1989 4.0 2.0 33.9%
1990 3.5 2.8 44.1%
1991 3.1 2.1 40.8%
1992 3.1 2.3 42.5%
1993 3.2 1.9 37.6%
1994 3.3 2.0 38.1%
1995 3.4 2.1 37.7%
1996 3.4 2.0 36.3%
1997 3.6 2.0 35.7%
1998 3.3 1.8 34.7%
1999 2.9 1.7 36.5%
2000 3.1 1.5 33.2%
2001 3.3 1.6 32.9%
2002 3.2 1.8 35.8%
2003 3.3 1.6 33.0%
2004 3.2 1.8 35.6%
2005 3.4 1.7 33.0%
2006 3.7 1.6 29.7%
2007 3.7 1.6 29.9%
2008 3.4 1.4 29.5%
2009 3.2 1.4 30.9%
2010 2.7 1.3 32.7%
2011 2.5 1.1 30.3%
2012 2.3 1.0 29.8%

1.2 0.6 33.9%
-----------------> series break

1.0 0.4 29.9%
2014 1.6 0.8 33.5%
2015 1.9 0.8 28.2%
2016 1.3 0.6 32.2%

Jul-Dec 2012

Jan-Jun 2013
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Insurer claim acceptance and denial, median time lag days, 1988-2015
Year Accepted Denied

In 1990, SB 1197 extended the time allowed for insurers to 
accept or deny a claim from 60 days to 90 days. SB 485 (2001) 
reduced the allowed time back to 60 days.

Between 2001 and 2002, there were significant drops in the 
median number of days taken to accept and deny claims. Since 
then, the median has remained at or below 44 days for claim 
acceptance and at or below 51 days for claim denial.

Lag days are measured from employer knowledge date to 
original date of acceptance or denial for disabling claims.

1988 33 49
1989 35 43
1990 31 35
1991 35 39
1992 40 45
1993 34 48
1994 40 48
1995 43 50
1996 44 60
1997 50 66
1998 52 64
1999 49 62
2000 49 61
2001 46 60
2002 40 50
2003 40 51
2004 39 45
2005 41 48
2006 41 48
2007 40 47
2008 41 48
2009 41 46
2010 42 49
2011 42 48
2012 41 47
2013 44 49
2014 44 49
2015 44 51

Disabling aggravation claims, CY 1991-2015

Year Accepted Denied
Percent  
denied After a claim has been closed, an injured worker is entitled to 

additional compensation for worsened conditions resulting from 
the original injury. The number of these aggravation claims has 
generally declined during the past two decades. However, the 
number of these claims that have been denied has not declined 
as rapidly. As a result, the denial rate is now 58.8 percent.

Note: The counts are aggravation claims reported to the 
department by insurers. These exclude claims made under board 
own-motion authority for worsened conditions, which can be 
made after the five-year aggravation period expires.

1991 2,042 1,675 45.1%
1992 2,201 1,514 40.8%
1993 2,099 1,337 38.9%
1994 1,915 1,171 37.9%
1995 1,593 907 36.3%
1996 1,565 950 37.8%
1997 1,351 993 42.4%
1998 1,172 763 39.4%
1999 1,038 730 41.3%
2000 876 618 41.4%
2001 902 575 38.9%
2002 773 535 40.9%
2003 717 483 40.3%
2004 563 416 42.5%
2005 549 340 38.2%
2006 523 432 45.2%
2007 518 534 50.8%
2008 506 566 52.8%
2009 447 554 55.3%
2010 438 533 54.9%
2011 340 510 60.0%
2012 361 476 56.9%
2013 285 434 60.4%
2014 254 360 58.6%
2015 229 327 58.8%
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Insurer timeliness of acceptance or denial and of first payments, 1990-2015

Year
Acceptance/ 
denial timely

First payment  
timely Insurer timeliness is measured by the rates at which claims 

are accepted or denied, and indemnity payments are made, in 
accordance with rules and statutes.  

Insurer performance on timeliness of acceptance or denial of 
claims improved between 1990 and 1994, to 96 percent, after 
which it generally declined to a low of 90 percent in 2005. Recent 
performance has been in the 93 to 94 percent range.

Timeliness of first payments has also improved since 1990. Since 
2007, performance has been in the 90 to 92 percent range.

Note: These data are self-reported by the insurers. The reports 
are audited by WCD.

1990 85% 80%
1991 92% 85%
1992 94% 87%
1993 96% 89%
1994 96% 88%
1995 95% 88%
1996 95% 88%
1997 93% 88%
1998 93% 87%
1999 93% 87%
2000 93% 88%
2001 92% 88%
2002 93% 90%
2003 90% 90%
2004 90% 92%
2005 90% 90%
2006 91% 88%
2007 91% 90%
2008 93% 90%
2009 94% 91%
2010 93% 92%
2011 94% 92%
2012 94% 91%
2013 94% 90%
2014 94% 90%
2015 94% 90%

Civil penalties issued, 1990-2015

Year
Number of  
citations

Total penalties  
assessed

Average penalty  
per citation In 2011, the number of citations against insurers 

and total penalties assessed began to increase. 
In 2015, there were $836,875 in penalties, an 
average of $710 per citation, both of which are 
historic peaks.

Stipulated agreements are not included in 
these statistics. These may encompass various 
violations of rules and statutes under ORS 
Chapters 656 and 731 and set up various 
performance expectations. 

1990 407 $158,325 $389
1991 420 156,775 373
1992 506 163,101 322
1993 621 166,650 268
1994 679 197,025 290
1995 525 139,325 265
1996 491 140,850 287
1997 629 244,175 388
1998 813 254,925 314
1999 789 243,375 308
2000 844 248,875 295
2001 738 204,400 277
2002 947 301,900 319
2003 1,241 343,875 277
2004 677 206,675 305
2005 745 360,600 484
2006 951 588,150 618
2007 915 575,800 629
2008 1,140 596,775 523
2009 739 404,525 547
2010 526 286,525 545
2011 661 369,500 559
2012 744 398,700 536
2013 1,290 755,600 586
2014 1,125 768,525 683
2015 1,179 836,875 710
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Calls to the workers’ compensation information line, 1990-2015

Year  Worker calls Other calls Total calls WCD has an information line to help workers and others (800-
452-0288).

Calls for help have declined more steeply than claims, with some 
variation. In 2015, there were more than 3,500 calls from workers 
with questions about their claims, the claims process, or the 
workers’ compensation system. 

The line also received nearly 2,900 calls from insurers, medical 
providers, attorneys, employers, legislators, and others in 2015.

Cases requiring language translation or worker advocacy are 
referred to the Office of the Ombudsman for Injured Workers.

1990 23,263 N/A N/A
1991 21,475 N/A N/A
1992 15,181 N/A N/A
1993 18,243 N/A N/A
1994 19,678 7,575 27,253
1995 17,503 6,699 24,202
1996 16,938 7,701 24,639
1997 15,737 8,425 24,162
1998 14,960 8,098 23,058
1999 13,711 7,930 21,641
2000 12,155 6,490 18,645
2001 11,662 6,936 18,598
2002 10,000 7,056 17,056
2003 9,813 7,397 17,210
2004 10,129 7,703 17,832
2005 9,463 6,270 15,733
2006 7,898 6,056 13,954
2007 7,359 4,947 12,306
2008 6,713 4,715 11,428
2009 5,446 4,214 9,660
2010 4,717 3,750 8,467
2011 2,714 1,918 4,632
2012 3,177 2,086 5,263
2013 3,617 2,997 6,614
2014 3,521 2,589 6,110
2015 3,563 2,880 6,443
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Advocates and Advisory Groups
Injured workers and employers often find the workers’ 
compensation system confusing or inaccessible. Oregon 
has recognized that the comprehensibility of  and 
access to the system are essential features of  success. 
Therefore, a number of  advocates and advisory groups 
provide services and recommend policy.

Ombudsman for Injured Workers
The 1987 Legislature created the Office of  the 
Ombudsman for Injured Workers as an independent 
advocate for injured workers, helping workers by 
accepting, investigating, and attempting to resolve 
complaints concerning matters related to workers’ 
compensation. Recognizing the value of  the office, 
the Legislature increased the staff during the 1990 
special session. Legislation passed in 2003 clarified the 
supervision and control of  ombudsman services and 
required that quarterly reports be submitted to the 
governor. The office consists of  the ombudsman and 
seven staff members.

In 2015, the office recorded about 7,500 inquiries, 9 
percent fewer than in 2014. About 84 percent of  these 
inquiries were from injured workers. Inquiries also 
came from attorneys, insurance companies, employers, 
and others. The issues that prompted the most inquiries 
were claims processing, medical benefits, and accurate 
and timely benefits.

Small Business Ombudsman
The Office of  the Small Business Ombudsman for 
Workers’ Compensation was created during the 1990 
special session to serve as an advocate for and educator 
of  small businesses. The SBO is the resource center 
for employers needing information about the workers’ 
compensation system. It helps resolve disputes between 
employers and insurers, provides educational seminars 
and trade shows, and assists all parties. The office had 
nearly 1,650 contacts in 2015.

Medical Advisory Committee
The members advise the director on matters relating 
to medical care for workers. In 1999, SB 222 
revised the composition and duties of  this statutory 
committee. The statute allows the director to appoint 
medical providers that most represent the health 
care services provided to injured workers, as well as 
representatives of  insurers, employers, and managed 
care organizations.

Recent Medical Advisory Committee Projects

�� In conjunction with WCD, MAC approved a set of  
opioid prescriptions guidelines to assist doctors in 
prescribing, maintaining and withdrawing opioids 
in the treatment of  injured workers.  

Management-Labor Advisory 
Committee
In recognition of  the success of  the governor’s labor-
management committee in crafting the 1990 reforms, 
the Legislature created the Management-Labor 
Advisory Committee (MLAC). The committee has 10 
members, five representing management interests and 
five representing labor interests. The committee advises 
the department on workers’ compensation matters such 
as administrative rules and proposed legislation. Over 
time, the Legislature has mandated that the committee 
review certain things such as the adequacy of  the 
Workers’ Benefit Fund balance and permanent partial 
disability awards.

Recent Management-Labor Advisory 
Committee Activities

�� The committee recommended improvements to 
the electronic billing rules to encourage provider 
participation.

�� The committee studied issues affecting access to 
and continuity of  care for injured workers in the 
system. The committee recommended legislation 
to improve access to treatment by extending the 
authority of  authorized nurse practitioners and 
of  chiropractors who want to continue treating 
workers after enrollment in a managed care 
organization.
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The Workers’ Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) has recognized Oregon’s workers’ compensation 
system as a model that could provide lessons for other states. The 2008 study “Lessons from the Oregon 
Workers’ Compensation System” provided four key lessons. One of  these lessons is the cooperation 
between management and labor that is embodied in the Management-Labor Advisory Committee.

WCRI listed six factors in the design and operation of  MLAC that are associated with its effectiveness in 
bringing about orderly and lasting change in the Oregon system:

�� Labor and management, not other interest groups, 
influence but do not control the system through 
MLAC. MLAC is composed of  five voting 
representatives from business and five from 
labor; the DCBS director is an ex-officio 
member. 

�� The governor vowed to veto any workers’ compensation 
bill that does not gain advisory committee (i.e., labor 
and management) endorsement. This feature has 
been the cornerstone of  Oregon’s advisory-
committee process. In making such a vow, the 
governor effectively said no to other interest 
groups unless management and labor have 
approved.

�� The Legislature usually defered to MLAC. The 
advisory committee enjoys the support of  
legislators. Legislative caucus leaders and 
committee chairs generally understand that 
workers’ compensation bills should first be 
vetted by MLAC. 

�� The state agency actively supports MLAC by 
conducting studies and drafting legislative proposals. 
Most MLAC members said it is critical that 
the state agency conduct special studies to 
provide input to their deliberations.

�� Public input is encouraged through testimony at 
MLAC meetings and other mechanisms. This 
enables all parties to express concern, 
advocate, raise questions, and voice 
opposition.

�� Subcommittees are often used to hear testimony, narrow 
issues, and consider changes to legislative proposals. 
This enables the advisory committee to draw 
on technical experts on technical issues, and it 
allows for the division of  labor among MLAC 
members, who are volunteers.
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Ombudsman for Injured Workers inquiries, 1999-2015
Year Inquiries

The Office of the Ombudsman for Injured Workers was created 
in 1987. Inquiries to the ombudsman come primarily from injured 
workers, but they are also initiated by attorneys, insurance 
companies, employers, and others. There were 7,452 inquiries 
in 2015, an average of about 30 per working day.

1999 9,492
2000 10,581
2001 10,944
2002 12,685
2003 14,730
2004 12,752
2005 12,809
2006 12,257
2007 11,512
2008 11,404
2009 11,624
2010 10,817
2011 9,496
2012 8,664
2013 8,480
2014 8,211
2015 7,452

Small Business Ombudsman contacts, 1991-2015
Year Total contacts

The Office of the Ombudsman for Small Business was created 
in 1990. There were 1,645 contacts in 2015. The number of 
contacts tends to vary widely from year to year.

1991 1,934
1992 3,655
1993 3,731
1994 3,727
1995 3,877
1996 3,545
1997 3,711
1998 4,514
1999 5,164
2000 3,109
2001 2,502
2002 5,209
2003 4,085
2004 3,883
2005 3,153
2006 3,280
2007 3,785
2008 3,258
2009 2,678
2010 2,179
2011 1,819
2012 2,313
2013 1,973
2014 2,527
2015 1,645
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Medical Care and Benefits
In 2015, payments for medical services accounted for 
53 percent of  workers’ compensation system costs in 
Oregon. Between 1999 and 2009, medical payments 
rose at an average of  more than 4 percent annually but 
have held steady since then. The current 2015 estimate 
of  $298 million in payments for medical and related 
services is the lowest since 2008.

Early cost-containment measures
In 1990, Senate Bill 1197 eliminated most palliative 
care for medically stationary injured workers. Palliative 
care is treatment to relieve symptoms rather than to 
improve the worker’s underlying condition. These 
restrictions had an immediate effect on workers who 
had been receiving palliative treatment. SAIF’s medical 
payments for palliative care in the first six months 
after the medically stationary date dropped more 
than 30 percent following the implementation of  SB 
1197. In 1995, SB 369 restored a worker’s right to a 
broader range of  care after being declared medically 

stationary. Workers can now receive continued care if  
they have a permanent total disability, services related 
to a prosthetic device, prescription medication, and 
any services to monitor prescription medication, or 
when the attending physician believes palliative care 
is necessary for continued employment or to attend a 
training program. 

SB 1197 also placed limits on who could be an 
attending physician. The attending physician must 
provide or prescribe care. Under SB 1197, for example, 
a chiropractor outside of  a managed care organization 
could not continue to be a worker’s attending physician 
beyond 12 visits or 30 days after the first service 
date. Data from SAIF showed that the proportion of  
payments to chiropractors dropped from 16 percent 
before 1990 to 3 percent after 1990. House Bill 2756 
(enacted in 2007) relaxed the limitation to 18 visits 
or 60 days from the first service date. HB 2756 also 
changed limits for other provider types acting as 
attending physicians. These changes are discussed in 
more detail later in the report.

Figure 7. Estimated total annual benefits by type
1999-2015
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Medical benefits
Insurers and self-insured employers must pay the cost 
of  medical services for compensable claims. During the 
period before a claim is accepted or denied, however, 
there can be uncertainty about who is responsible for 
medical bills. This uncertainty may lead some medical 
providers to delay treatment until after insurers make 
compensability decisions or make them reluctant to 
treat injured workers at all.

In 2001, the Legislature addressed this problem in 
two ways. First, SB 485 reduced the time allowed for 
insurers to accept or deny a claim from 90 days to 60 
days. Second, it amended the law to require payment 
for some services performed before acceptance or 
denial if  the worker has health insurance. Included 
among these interim medical benefits are pain 
medicine, some diagnostic services, and services to 
stabilize the worker’s condition and prevent further 
disability. For denied claims, medical costs are paid as 
follows:

�� If  the insurer denies the claim more than 14 days 
after the employer knowledge date and the worker 
has health insurance, the health insurer pays for the 
services, subject to the limitations in its policy; the 
workers’ compensation insurer pays any balance up 
to the workers’ compensation fee schedule.

�� If  the insurer denies the claim within 14 days of  the 
employer knowledge date and the worker has health 
insurance, the health insurer pays for the services, 
subject to the limitations in its policy; the worker 
pays any balance.

�� If  the insurer denies the claim and the worker has 
no health insurance, the worker pays the entire bill. 

Fee schedules
The first fee schedules for medical services in Oregon 
were implemented in 1982. Fee schedules now exist for: 
eight physician service categories; pharmacy services; 
hospital services; ambulatory surgery center services; 
durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, 
and medical supplies; transportation; interpreter 
services; dental services; multi-disciplinary services 
and Oregon-specific codes. Insurers pay for medical 
services at the lesser of  the fee schedule or the billed 
amounts. Currently, nearly all payments for medical 

services to injured workers are subject to a fee schedule. 
Compensable services not listed in one of  the fee 
schedules are paid 80 percent of  the provider’s usual 
and customary fee.

In 1997, the department adopted the Federal Resource-
Based Relative Value Schedule (RBRVS) method for 
determining the maximum payment for the physician 
service categories. Since then, enhancements and 
refinements have improved the utility of  the physician 
fee schedule. A maximum allowable payment (MAP) 
for each service is published annually in OAR 436-009 
according to its Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) 
code. 

A new fee schedule methodology was adopted Jan. 
1, 2012, for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, 
orthotics, and medical supplies (often referred to as 
the DMEPOS fee schedule). Among the products and 
services included in the DMEPOS fee schedule are 
mobility aids, such as wheelchairs and crutches, oxygen 
delivery systems, and hearing aids. Providers are paid 
the lesser of  the amount given in the fee schedule or the 
provider’s usual fee. For products that can be purchased 
used, the payment is 75 percent of  the fee schedule 
amount. For products that can be rented, the monthly 
rental fee is 10 percent of  the new purchase price. Any 
product not listed in the fee schedule is paid for at 80 
percent of  the provider’s usual fee. 

Also on April 1, 2012, the department implemented a 
fee schedule based on the CMS Ambulatory Payment 
Classification (APC) system for payment of  services 
performed in ambulatory surgery centers (ASC). 
The department publishes the MAPs according to 
the Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 
(HCPCS) codes. Medical implants are paid at 110 
percent of  the ASC’s actual cost for the implant. 
Facility services without a MAP are paid at 80 percent 
of  the billed amount.

Until April 1, 2011, all services that did not fall under 
one of  the currently applicable fee schedules were to 
be paid as billed, that is, 100 percent of  the amount 
charged. New rules took effect on that date requiring 
a maximum payment of  80 percent of  the amount 
charged. Fee schedules have been adopted in several 
categories to replace the 80 percent rule. Services 
specific to the Oregon’s workers’ compensation system, 
such as reports and depositions of  medical providers; 
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sign-language and foreign language interpreter services, 
and independent medical examinations are included in 
their own fee schedule maintained by the department. 
Seven services relating to transportation (ambulance 
services) are paid at 100 percent of  charges. Interpreter 
services were first included among the Oregon 
Specific Codes (OSCs) in April 2011. Interpreters 
may bill for their services, as well as travel to and from 
appointments. Dental services are paid at 90 percent of  
the provider’s usual fee.

The pharmaceutical fee schedule sets MAPs for 
most pharmaceuticals at 83.5 percent of  the Average 
Wholesale Price (AWP) effective on the date the 
prescription is filled, listed in Medi-Span or another 
nationally published prescription pricing guide, plus a 
$2 dispensing fee. Compounding pharmacies must list 
each individual ingredient in the compound separately 
and each must be paid 83.5 percent of  AWP, plus a $10 
compounding and dispensing fee. Physician dispensed 
pharmaceuticals are only compensable for an initial 10-
day supply. Insurers pay the full retail price for over-the-
counter medications.

The Workers’ Compensation Division implemented 
a hospital payment system using adjusted cost-to-
charge ratios (CCRs) in 1991. Since July 1992, the 
department has published revised CCRs semi-annually 
for all general, acute-care hospitals in the state. The 
calculation is based on information from hospitals’ 
audited financial statements and Medicare cost reports. 
The CCR is the proportion of  the hospital bill that 
insurers reimburse Oregon hospitals for treating 
injured workers. This system allows hospitals to recover 
their cost of  providing services to injured workers, a 
reasonable rate of  return on their capital assets, and an 
allowance for losses due to bad debt and charity care. 

Rural hospitals may be excluded from imposition of  
the CCR. This exclusion is based on designation as 
a critical-access hospital under the Medicare Rural 
Hospital Flexibility Program or on economic need as 
determined from financial reports. In 2015, 25 of  the 
59 hospitals in Oregon were designated as critical-
access hospitals. Three additional rural hospitals qualify 
for the exclusion based on their financial conditions. 
Exempt hospitals are paid 100 percent of  charges.

Managed care organizations
Among several significant changes to the law, SB 1197 
(1990) established regulations regarding workers’ 
compensation insurers’ contracts with department-
certified managed care organizations (MCOs), and 
it set the rules under which covered workers obtain 
treatment from MCO-affiliated providers. MCOs 
contract with medical providers and, in return, MCO-
covered workers are directed to those providers for 
treatment. The terms and conditions differ by MCO, 
but they must include treatment and utilization 
standards and peer review. An MCO must maintain a 
panel including at least three of  each of  eight types of  
medical service providers (chiropractors, naturopaths, 
acupuncturists, osteopaths, dentists, optometrists, 
podiatrists, and medical physicians) within the eight 
regional geographic service areas. 

In 2005, SB 670 made revisions to the statute regarding 
MCOs. The bill clarified that in order for an MCO 
to be certified, the DCBS director must review and 
approve the standards contained in the MCO’s plan. 
The bill also stipulated that the managed care plan 
cannot prohibit an injured worker’s attending physician 
from advocating for medical services and temporary 
disability benefits supported by the medical record. 
This provision addressed concerns that some managed 
care contracts contained provisions limiting the 
attending physician’s role.

As of  2015, four certified MCOs had 111 active 
contracts with workers’ compensation insurers and 
self-insured employers. Forty-eight percent of  workers 
with accepted disabling claims were enrolled in MCOs. 
SAIF has used MCOs more than most other insurers. 
In 2015, SAIF enrolled 69 percent of  its claimants 
with accepted disabling claims, Self-insured employers 
enrolled 40 percent of  their claimants with accepted 
disabling claims, and private insurers enrolled 10 
percent of  their claimants.

Medical payments
The Workers’ Compensation Division requires that 
insurers with a three-year average of  100 or more 
accepted disabling claims report their medical payment 
data. In 2015, an estimated 85 percent of  medical 
payments were reported to the division. Total medical 
payments in 2015 are estimated to be $298.9 million. 
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Physician services made up the largest category of  
medical services in the workers’ compensation system. 
Nearly 58 percent of  the medical dollars spent went to 
physician services. Physical medicine, which includes 
physical and occupational therapy, and wound care 
management, was the largest sub-category, in terms of  
dollars, within physician services. Facility services made 
up the second largest service category at 21 percent of  
total payments.

Among physician services, therapeutic exercises made 
up 11 percent of  costs. Five of  the top 15 physician 
services were physical medicine services. Narcotic 
analgesics (pain relievers) ranked as the top category of  
drugs prescribed to injured workers; 36 percent of  drug 
costs were for this class of  drugs. Anti-convulsants (anti-
seizure medications, 15 percent) and anti-inflammatory 
analgesics (6.4 percent) round out the top three classes. 
The use of  generic drugs increased in 2015 to 85 
percent of  dispenses and 51 percent of  payments. 

Independent medical exams (IMEs) account for a 
significant portion of  medical payments. As many 
as three IMEs may be requested by an insurer per 
claim opening, typically to answer questions regarding 
compensability or the level of  disability at the time of  
closure. IME services, grouped together to include basic 
exams, reports, and specialized IME services (panel 

exams and exams by specialists), totaled 4.2 percent of  
total medical payments.

Recent initiatives and studies
Nurse practitioners
In 2003, HB 3669 relaxed restrictions regarding 
who can be an attending physician by allowing nurse 
practitioners to perform some of  these functions. The 
bill required nurse practitioners to become authorized 
by the department to provide any compensable medical 
services as attending physicians. It allowed authorized 
nurse practitioners to give expanded treatment in 
three significant ways. They may provide compensable 
medical services for 90 days beginning on the date 
of  the first visit on the claim; they may authorize the 
payment of  temporary disability benefits for 60 days; 
and they may authorize workers to return to their jobs. 

In 2005, the department studied the effects of  HB 
3669. The study reviewed the department’s medical 
billing data, claims information provided by SAIF, and 
a survey of  board-certified nurse practitioners. The 
results found no cost increases related to the expanded 
authority for nurse practitioners. In the survey, nurse 
practitioners reported providing more services to 
injured workers after the bill went into effect.

Figure 8. Medical payments by fee schedule,
2015
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Figure 9. Physician fee schedule,
2015
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Care providers
In 2006, the department, at the request of  the 
governor and in conjunction with the Management-
Labor Advisory Committee, completed a study of  
care providers. The study focused on chiropractors, 
naturopaths, podiatrists, and physician assistants, and 
tried to determine if  rules regarding who may treat 
workers and authorize disability benefits facilitated 
accessible, timely, efficient, and effective medical 
treatment. The study included a literature review, an 
analysis of  the types of  care provided within Oregon’s 
workers’ compensation system, employer focus groups, 
and a survey of  injured workers.

Employers and injured workers indicated they were 
generally satisfied with access to quality health care, 
the choice of  available health care providers, and the 
quality of  care received. Both of  these groups requested 
that more restrictions not be added to the current 
system.

The literature review found little information about 
the role of  chiropractors, naturopaths, podiatrists, and 
physician assistants within the workers’ compensation 
system. No data were found to provide sufficient 
evidence in support of  a change in Oregon’s limitations 
on who can treat workers. 

The 2007 Legislature passed HB 2756, which expanded 
the roles and responsibilities of  certain provider types. 
The new law increased the role of  chiropractors, 
podiatrists, naturopaths, and physician assistants to act 
as attending physician. The new time limit for these 
providers to act as attending physician was set at 18 
visits or 60 days from the first date of  service, whichever 
comes first. These providers were also allowed to 
authorize temporary disability for up to 30 days.

The new law also allowed a medical provider who did 
not qualify to be an attending physician to provide 
compensable services for 30 days from the date of  
the first visit on the initial claim or up to 12 visits, 
whichever comes first. Beyond these limits, only a 
doctor of  medicine, osteopathy, or maxillofacial surgery 
can act as attending physician.
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Medical payments by fee schedule category, 2015
Group Fee schedule category Payments ($ millions) Percent of total

Physician Services Physical Medicine 56.31 18.8%
Evaluation & Management 54.21 18.1%
Radiology 19.52 6.5%
Major Surgery1 16.86 5.6%
Medicine 10.87 3.6%
Minor Surgery2 7.76 2.6%
Chiropractic 3.45 1.2%
Laboratory 3.26 1.1%

Total Physician Services 172.38 57.7%
Facility Services Outpatient Facility Fees 26.48 8.9%

Inpatient Facility Fees 24.58 8.2%
ASC Facility Fees 10.29 3.4%
Other Facility Services 0.002 0.001%

Total Facility Services 61.35 20.5%
OSCs, IMEs and IME-Related Services IMEs 11.97 4.0%

Oregon Specific Codes 6.91 2.3%
IME-Related Services 0.60 0.2%

Total OSCs, IMEs and IME-Related Services 19.48 6.5%
Pharmaceuticals Generic 9.48 3.2%

Brand 7.80 2.6%
Brand/w Generic Substitute 0.92 0.3%
Other 0.27 0.09%

Total Pharmaceuticals 18.47 6.2%
Other Services Non-hospital HCPCS3 17.25 5.8%

DME & Supplies 4.10 1.4%
Anesthesiology 4.42 1.5%
Dental 1.35 0.5%
Other/Unknown3 0.23 0.08%

Total Other Services 27.19 9.1%
Total $298.87 100.0%

As set forth in Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 436-009-0040, the insurer pays for medical services at the provider’s usual fee or 
in accordance with the fee schedule, whichever is less. Medical services not covered by a fee schedule are reimbursed at 80 percent 
of the provider’s usual fees. New rules in effect in 2012 created fee schedules for several categories of previously non-fee-schedule 
services.

This table shows total payments and percent of total for fee-schedule-regulated service categories and non-fee-schedule categories. 
Physician services are those covered by the physician fee schedule (OAR 436-009-0040 and Appendix B). Facility Services are paid 
according to the hospital cost-to-charge ratio (OAR 436-009-0020 and Bulletin 290) or the ASC fee schedule (OAR 436-009-0023 
and Appendices C and D). Oregon-specific services accounted for $19.21 million, about two-thirds of which was for independent 
medical examinations (IMEs) and related services

1: Major surgery includes all services with a 90-day global period 
2: Minor surgery includes all services with a global period of less than 90 days 
3: Non-fee-schedule services
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Top 15 workers' compensation physician services, 2015
Service 

code Description of service
Payments
($ millions)

Percent of 
total payments This table shows the top 15 physician 

service codes ranked according to 
total payments.

In 2015, the medical service with 
the largest volume of payments, 
nearly $19 million, was therapeutic 
exercises. The top 15 services 
combined accounted for more 
than 30 percent of all workers’ 
compensation medical payments and 
over half of all physician services.

Five of the top 15 services are 
categorized as physical medicine, 
commonly performed by physical 
therapists. Six are evaluation and 
management services, either office 
or emergency room visits. Three are 
MRI services and one is a surgery. 

97110 Therapeutic exercises $18.98 11.0%
99213 Office/outpatient visit established patient 17.19 10.0%
97140 Manual therapy 1 or more regions 11.08 6.4%
97530 Therapeutic activities 6.75 3.9%
99214 Office/outpatient visit established patient 6.70 3.9%
99203 Office/outpatient visit new patient 5.98 3.5%
99283 Emergency department visit 4.90 2.8%
73721 MRI of a joint of a lower extremity without dye 2.84 1.6%
99204 Office/outpatient visit new patient 2.78 1.6%
73221 MRI of a joint of an upper extremity without dye 2.67 1.5%
99284 Emergency department visit 2.61 1.5%
29827 Arthroscopic rotator cuff repair 2.47 1.4%
97001 PT evaluation 2.20 1.3%
97124 Massage therapy 2.04 1.2%
72148 MRI of the lumbar spine without dye 2.03 1.2%

Subtotal: 91.21 52.9%
Remaining services: 81.17 47.1%
Total: $172.38 100%

Top 15 workers’ compensation non-physician services, 2015
Service 

code Description of service
Payments
($ millions)

Percent of 
total payments This table shows the top 15 non-

physician service codes ranked 
according to total payments. Non-
physician services, designated 
by HCPCS Level II codes, 
include transportation services 
(e.g., ambulances), medical and 
surgical supplies, durable medical 
equipment, and orthotics and 
prosthetics.  

Home health aides and certified 
nursing assistants accounted 
for the largest category of non-
physician services in 2015. 
Transportation services were five 
of the 15 top services; three are 
injections; two are for hearing aids; 
one was a prosthetic and orthotic 
procedure; and the remainder are 
for durable medical equipment and 
surgical medical supplies.

S9122 Home health aide or certified nurses assistant $1.26 1.7%
A0427 Ambulance service, emergency transportation 1.16 1.6%
V5261 Hearing aid, digital, binaural, behind-the-ear 1.10 1.5%
C1713 Anchor/screw, bone-to-bone or tissue-to-bone 1.01 1.4%
L8699 Prosthetic implant, not otherwise specified 0.87 1.2%
A0431 Rotary wing air transport 0.79 1.1%
A0436 Rotary wing air mileage 0.47 0.7%
A0425 Ambulance service, Ground mileage 0.40 0.6%
J0882 Injection, Darbepoetin alfa, 1 μg (for ESRD on dialysis) 0.40 0.6%
J2501 Injection, Paricalcitol, 1 μg 0.34 0.5%
E1399 Durable medical equipment, miscellaneous 0.30 0.4%
C1820 Generator, neurostimulator (implantable), rechargeable 0.26 0.4%
V5257 Hearing aid, digital, monaural, behind-the-ear 0.25 0.4%
A0430 Fixed wing air transport 0.24 0.3%
J0878 Injection, Daptomycin 1 mg 0.22 0.3%

Subtotal: 9.08 12.6%
Remaining services: 62.77 87.4%
Total: $71.85 100%
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Top 15 workers’ compensation pharmaceuticals, 2015

Drug name Drug type Therapeutic class
Payments
($ millions)

Percent of total 
payments

Oxycontin Analgesics - opioid Brand $1.66 9.0%
Lyrica Anticonvulsants Brand 1.33 7.2%
Gabapentin Anticonvulsants Generic 0.67 3.6%
Hydrocodone/Acetaminophen Analgesics - opioid Generic 0.67 3.6%
Oxycodone/Acetaminophen Analgesics - opioid Generic 0.54 2.9%
Oxycodone HCL Analgesics - opioid Generic 0.53 2.9%
Harvoni Antivirals Brand 0.48 2.6%
Morphine Sulphate ER Analgesics - opioid Generic 0.46 2.5%
Lidocaine Dermatologicals Generic 0.42 2.3%
Duloxetine HCL Antidepressants Generic 0.34 1.8%
Celebrex Analgesics - antiinflammatory Generic 0.29 1.6%
Fentanyl Analgesics - opioid Generic 0.24 1.3%
Butrans Analgesics - opioid Brand 0.22 1.2%
Oxycodone HCL ER Analgesics - opioid Generic 0.22 1.2%
Metaxalone Musculoskeletal therapy agents Generic 0.21 1.2%
Subtotal: 8.28 44.8%
Remaining Pharmacy Payments: 10.19 55.2%
Total: $18.47 100.0%

In 2015, the top 15 pharmaceuticals accounted for 45 percent of total pharmacy payments. 

Generic drugs made up 85 percent of the prescriptions dispensed to injured workers and 51.3 percent of pharmacy payments for 
prescription medications. Prescription medications accounted for 98.6 percent of total pharmacy payments. Medical supplies and other 
non-drug services provided by pharmacies made up for the remaining 1.4 percent of total pharmacy payments.

Harvoni is the trade name of Ledipasvir/sofosbuvir, a two-drug combination for the treatment of Hepatitis C. There were only 21  
dispenses of this drug in all of 2015 for an average cost per dispense of nearly $23,000. 

Top 15 workers' compensation revenue codes, 2015
Service 

code Description of service
Payments
($ millions)

Percent of 
total payments This table shows the top 

15 revenue codes ranked 
according to total payments. 
Revenue codes are used 
on hospital bills to indicate 
which department performed 
a service.

360 Operating Room Services $14.95 19.8%
450 Emergency Room 10.32 13.7%
420 Physical Therapy 5.33 7.1%
278 Medical/Surgical Supplies: Other implants 4.80 6.4%
636 Drugs Require Specific ID: Drugs requiring detail coding 2.90 3.8%
250 Pharmacy 2.52 3.3%
370 Anesthesia 2.41 3.2%
610 Magnetic Resonance Tech. (MRT) 2.14 2.8%
710 Recovery Room 2.14 2.8%
120 Room & Board (Semi-Private 2 beds) 2.07 2.7%
272 Medical/Surgical Supplies: Sterile supplies 1.62 2.2%
320 Radiology - Diagnostic 1.58 2.1%
430 Occupational Therapy 1.53 2.0%
121 Medical/Surgical/Gyn 1.39 1.8%
612 Magnetic Resonance Tech. (MRT): Spinal cord (incl. spine) 1.08 1.4%

Subtotal: 56.77 75.4%
Remaining codes 18.55 24.6%
Total: $75.32 100%
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MCO contracts with insurers and self-insured employers, CY 1995-2015
Calendar 

year Insurers
Self-insured 
employers Total At the end of 2015, there were four active certified managed care 

organizations. These four MCOs had 111 active contracts with 
insurers and self-insured employers at some point during 2015. 
In November 2010, a fifth MCO was activated but never began 
business with workers’ compensation insurers or self-insured 
employers and has subsequently been inactivated.  

Note: These figures are based on reports submitted by MCOs 
and may change as new data are reported.

1995 31 46 77
1996 39 46 85
1997 42 52 94
1998 41 55 96
1999 36 50 86
2000 40 52 92
2001 45 56 101
2002 41 58 99
2003 41 61 102
2004 36 58 94
2005 39 66 105
2006 37 63 100
2007 33 55 88
2008 33 60 93
2009 33 68 101
2010 32 72 104
2011 32 77 109
2012 31 81 112
2013 30 83 113
2014 30 79 109
2015 33 78 111

Portion of accepted disabling claims enrolled in MCOs, 1998-2015

Year SAIF
Private 
insurers

Self-insured 
employers Total The percentage of claimants with accepted disabling claims 

(ADCs) who have been enrolled in MCOs has varied between 36 
percent and 48 percent. It had been stable at around 40 percent 
for the period 2006-2011. During those same six years, SAIF’s 
percentage of ADCs enrolled went down while the share of 
private insurers and self-insured employers increased. In 2012, 
SAIF’s share of enrolled claims increased, as did self-insured 
employers. In 2013 and 2014, the percentage of ADCs was close 
to 45 percent, perhaps indicating a leveling off of the recent 
trends.

The percentage of claimants with accepted disabling claims 
(ADCs) who have been enrolled in MCOs has averaged about 
46 percent over the past four years. The recent growth in the 
percentage is in part due to SAIF’s increasing market share.

Note: The 2002 private insurer figure includes estimated data 
from the Liberty group.

1998 76.8% 24.5% 23.2% 39.8%
1999 72.4% 20.9% 21.8% 37.1%
2000 76.3% 20.1% 27.9% 40.1%
2001 70.3% 12.3% 26.8% 35.6%
2002 67.5% 11.7% 27.8% 36.5%
2003 70.3% 8.2% 30.1% 39.1%
2004 69.7% 10.4% 30.7% 40.9%
2005 70.5% 7.8% 32.9% 42.1%
2006 67.0% 5.7% 33.2% 39.6%
2007 65.8% 6.7% 34.0% 39.8%
2008 64.1% 8.4% 33.3% 38.7%
2009 63.3% 8.9% 39.1% 39.5%
2010 62.6% 7.5% 42.6% 39.7%
2011 63.0% 7.7% 42.6% 40.2%
2012 67.5% 7.8% 49.2% 45.7%
2013 67.1% 7.3% 42.6% 44.6%
2014 68.1% 7.6% 38.6% 45.5%
2015 68.7% 10.1% 40.1% 47.9%
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Indemnity Benefits 
Workers’ compensation indemnity benefits are cash 
benefits paid to injured workers that vary with the 
severity of  the worker’s disability. These can include 
benefits for temporary disability (time loss), permanent 
partial disability, permanent total disability, and death. 
Statute sets eligibility criteria and the rate at which 
insurers pay these benefits. In the case of  death from 
work-related causes, indemnity benefits are paid to 
survivors. Indemnity benefits also include vocational 
assistance benefits paid on behalf  of  severely disabled 
workers to get them back to work. There are two types 
of  settlements typically paid as lump sums: claim 
disposition agreements and disputed claim settlements, 
which are negotiated amounts paid to the worker. For 
more details about vocational assistance, see the chapter 
on return to work; for agreements and settlements, see 
the chapter on disputes.

In 2015, about $560 million in total benefits were paid 
by insurers from premiums. Indemnity was 47 percent 
of  total benefits, close to the average over the past five 
years. Accepted disabling claims typically account for 
93 to 95 percent of  indemnity: $238 million was paid 

in 2015 for accepted disabling claims. The average for 
those claims was slightly more than $12,000. 

In addition to indemnity benefits paid from premiums, 
several programs that assist employers and injured 
workers are paid from the Workers’ Benefit Fund. 
The WBF is financed by assessments; its two major 
programs are the Retroactive Program, which pays 
cost-of-living increases for permanent total disability 
and death benefits; and the Re-employment Assistance 
Program, which provides incentives for injured workers 
to return to work through the Employer-at-Injury 
Program and the Preferred Worker Program (see the 
chapter on return to work). Payments in 2015 for those 
programs came to $69.2 million.

Temporary disability
Temporary disability benefits compensate injured 
workers for time lost from work while the injured 
worker recovers from medical restrictions. Workers 
who cannot return to modified duty while they 
recover receive temporary total disability benefits; 

Figure 10.  Benefits paid by insurers and self-insured employers, calendar years 1995 and 2015

Death
1.9%

Vocational
rehabilitation

2.0%

Temporary disability
21.1%

Medical
41.8%

Permanent partial
disability
12.9%

Permanent total
disability

2.9%

Disputed claim
settlements

6.9%Claim disposition
agreements

10.4%

1995 distribution

Death
2.8%

Vocational
rehabilitation

0.7%

Temporary disability
17.5%

Medical
53.2%

Permanent partial
disability

6.7% Permanent total
disability

1.0%

Disputed claim
settlements

6.2%

Claim disposition
agreements

12.0%

2015 distribution



45

2016 REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM

others receive temporary partial disability benefits 
commensurate with the level of  their disability.  Most 
accepted disabling claims have temporary disability 
benefits which may be paid for the initial claim, new or 
omitted medical conditions, aggravation of  accepted 
conditions, or during vocational assistance training. In 
2015, temporary disability benefits were 40 percent 
of  indemnity paid for accepted disabling claims, an 
estimated $96 million. The average paid for accepted 
disabling claims resolved in 2015 was $5,265. Half  of  
all accepted disabling claims resolved in 2015 had 24 
days or fewer days of  paid temporary disability benefits.

The last major legislation affecting temporary 
disability benefits was SB 485 of  2001, which raised 
the ceiling on the rate of  temporary disability benefits 
from 100 percent to 133 percent of  the statewide 
average weekly wage. It also established supplemental 
disability, paid from the Workers’ Benefit Fund, in 
addition to temporary disability (when the worker has 
an accepted disabling claim and is unable to work in 
other jobs held). In 2015, approximately $900,000 in 
supplemental disability was paid.

One goal of  Oregon’s system has been to reduce 
the severity of  disabling claims, and the number 
of  temporary disability days paid is one dimension 
of  severity. The duration of  temporary disability is 
influenced by the impairment, job restrictions, and the 
availability of  return-to-work programs, but it is also 
affected by the actions of  the worker, medical providers, 
employer, and insurer, as well as economic factors. In 
2013, National Council on Compensation Insurance 
Inc. (NCCI) provided comparative duration statistics for 
insured employers (excluding self-insurers) across some 
states for which NCCI provides insurance rate and 
loss cost recommendations. For 20 states with a similar 
three-day waiting period for temporary disability 

benefits, Oregon had the second lowest average 
duration.

Permanent partial disability
In 2003, SB 757 created a new structure for permanent 
partial disability (PPD) benefits. The changes, which 
were made permanent by HB 2244 (2007), apply 
to claims for injuries and illnesses occurring since 
January 2005. Since 2005, permanent impairment 
of  all body parts and systems is rated in relation to 
the whole person. Workers receive an impairment 
benefit based on the statewide average weekly wage 
multiplied by the percentage of  impairment. Benefits 
are adjusted annually in accordance with the change 
in the state average weekly wage. Workers unable to 
return to regular work receive a work disability benefit 
based on the impairment modified by age, education, 
adaptability factors, and earnings at the time of  injury. 
Wage-based work disability rates are limited to a 
range between 50 percent and 133 percent of  the state 
average weekly wage. By HB 2408 (2005), workers 
injured since January 2006 who are released to regular 
work are specifically excluded from work disability 
benefits.

HB 2244 (2007) also required the Workers’ 
Compensation Management-Labor Advisory 
Committee (MLAC) to review permanent partial 
disability benefit amounts on a biennial basis and make 
recommendations to ensure the original policy goals 
continue to be met over time. One of  those goals is to 
allocate PPD award dollars equitably to claims with 
greater economic loss. 

Maximum PPD benefits, for claims with dates of  injury 
between July 2016 and June 2017, are $373,402 per 
claim. Oregon’s maximum indemnity benefit levels 
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are among the more generous nationally. The average 
PPD benefit paid for PPD claims resolved in 2015 
was $9,798. Statutory increases in benefits, such as 
the annual change in the state’s average weekly wage, 
generally increase the benefit levels. Declines in the 
average PPD award, as has happened in several recent 
years, may indicate a declining severity of  PPD claims.

The total amount of  PPD benefits paid in 2015 was 
$35.8 million; the total has been declining since 2008. 
Less than 23 percent of  claims resolved by claim 
closure in 2015 received PPD benefits, continuing a 
downward trend that began in 2009, compared to 
about 30 percent historically. 

One contributing factor to both the decline in total 
PPD awards and the average PPD award may be 
the resolution of  initial claims by claim disposition 
agreements (CDA). In recent years, between 6 percent 
and 7 percent of  resolved claims have been resolved 
by a CDA, and that percentage increased to 8 percent 
in 2015. These claims have no PPD awards; instead, 
CDAs release rights to potential future benefits 
in exchange for a cash award. If  CDAs are more 
aggressively pursued on the more costly claims, both 
the total and average PPD awards will decline.

Permanent total disability  
and death
Permanent total disability (PTD) benefits are paid 
when a worker is totally and permanently disabled due 

to a work injury. The number of  claims receiving these 
benefits declined dramatically between 1988 and 1990, 
when disability rating standards were adopted. The 
creation of  CDAs in 1990 led to further decline. By 
2001, there were 13 grants of  PTD and 14 rescissions 
of  the benefits, for a net negative of  one award. The 
passage of  SB 386 in 2005 provided increased access 
to permanent total disability benefits and protections 
for severely injured workers. There has been only one 
rescission since 2009; in 2015, there were 13 grants of  
PTD.

Death benefits are provided to surviving family 
members of  a worker who dies on the job or while 
permanently and totally disabled. Passage of  SB 110 in 
2009 doubled burial benefits, established new benefits 
for orphans aged 18 to 23 who are attending school, 
and provided for payment of  remaining benefits to 
the deceased worker’s estate in the absence of  legally 
defined beneficiaries.

In 2015, insurers paid an estimated $5.4 million for 
PTD and $15.5 million for death benefits. Together, 
these benefits accounted for almost 9 percent of  
indemnity paid from premium for accepted disabling 
claims. However, the majority of  PTD and death 
benefits are paid from the Workers’ Benefit Fund. 
The WBF reimburses insurers for payments that 
cover cost-of-living increases, $12.4 million for PTD 
and $30.7 million for death benefits in 2015. These 
reimbursements have declined from a peak of  $66.0 
million in 2000 to $43.1 million in 2015.

Figure 12. Insurer-paid and WBF-reimbursed death and PTD benefits,
2015 ($ millions)
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Indemnity and medical benefits paid, CY 1995-2015

Year paid
Total paid 
($ millions)

Indemnity 
percent of total

Medical  
percent of total

Total benefits paid peaked in 2009; they totaled approximately 
$560 million in 2015.

Indemnity benefits paid have generally been less than half of the 
total benefits paid since 2003. Over the past five years, they have 
average 46 percent of the total paid.

Total benefits paid is indemnity benefits plus medical benefits 
for accepted and denied disabling and nondisabling claims. 
Most of this is paid by insurers from premium. A small amount 
is reimbursement from the Workers’ Benefit Fund. Total paid 
does not include cost-of-living adjustments from the Retroactive 
Program or most payments under the Re-employment Assistance 
Program.

Indemnity benefits are temporary disability, permanent partial 
disability, permanent total disability, vocational assistance, and 
death benefits, plus agreements and settlements. Temporary 
disability excludes most payments before compensability denial 
or after a department or court order; this applies to all the tables. 
Medical benefits paid are extrapolated from reported paid bills.

Some indemnity data are also estimated. Historical data are 
subject to small changes.

1995 $465.32 58.2% 41.8%
1996 442.37 56.1% 43.9%
1997 431.22 53.9% 46.1%
1998 436.43 52.0% 48.0%
1999 431.39 52.4% 47.6%
2000 450.55 50.9% 49.1%
2001 476.45 50.6% 49.4%
2002 489.40 50.6% 49.4%
2003 477.97 49.3% 50.7%
2004 505.89 48.6% 51.4%
2005 539.18 46.8% 53.2%
2006 562.92 47.5% 52.5%
2007 573.52 48.4% 51.6%
2008 580.29 50.5% 49.5%
2009 618.54 48.5% 51.5%
2010 596.81 48.2% 51.8%
2011 598.25 46.6% 53.4%
2012 577.82 44.8% 55.2%
2013 583.17 45.9% 54.1%
2014 582.69 45.5% 54.5%
2015 560.12 46.8% 53.2%

Indemnity benefits paid for accepted disabling claims, CY 1995-2015

Year
Benefits paid  
($ millions) Average benefits Total indemnity benefits paid by insurers for accepted disabling 

claims also peaked in 2009, then declined in five of the next six 
years.

After peaking in 2010, average indemnity paid declined in four 
of the past five years. This average is indemnity paid divided by 
the number of claim resolutions in the year. The remaining tables 
provide details about types of benefits paid, claim resolutions, and 
resolved accepted disabling claims.

Some payment data are estimated. Historical data are subject to 
small changes. 

1995 $252.18 $7,559
1996 232.48 7,592
1997 218.87 7,472
1998 212.28 7,441
1999 212.59 7,843
2000 214.24 8,176
2001 225.98 8,682
2002 233.49 9,494
2003 220.54 9,511
2004 232.53 10,018
2005 237.00 10,468
2006 251.07 10,564
2007 261.79 10,698
2008 275.04 11,802
2009 280.41 13,404
2010 267.93 13,949
2011 260.37 13,571
2012 239.91 12,433
2013 246.53 12,764
2014 241.64 12,234
2015 237.92 12,117



48

2016 REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM

Indemnity benefits paid for accepted disabling claims, CY 1995-2015

Year

Temporary 
disability  

($ millions)
PPD 

($ millions)
PTD 

($ millions)
Death 

($ millions)

Claim disposition 
agreements 
($ millions)

Disputed claim 
settlements 
($ millions)

Vocational 
assistance 
($ millions)

Total 
($ millions)

1995 $98.14 $59.72 $13.64 $9.00 $47.58 $15.02 $9.09 $252.18
1996 87.85 59.61 13.12 9.61 43.98 9.14 9.17 232.48
1997 81.98 55.08 12.61 10.33 42.89 8.18 7.79 218.87
1998 82.18 55.01 11.97 10.85 36.28 9.07 6.94 212.28
1999 83.22 53.26 11.45 11.10 38.59 8.74 6.24 212.59
2000 81.95 54.68 11.03 11.81 38.50 10.32 5.95 214.24
2001 91.60 58.60 10.49 12.06 37.78 9.53 5.92 225.98
2002 92.36 57.59 9.98 12.30 43.14 11.92 6.21 233.49
2003 84.24 57.72 9.54 13.14 39.44 10.56 5.90 220.54
2004 91.19 59.91 9.11 13.05 41.99 10.89 6.40 232.53
2005 91.69 63.26 8.94 13.68 42.14 10.96 6.33 237.00
2006 98.00 63.93 8.54 13.68 49.92 10.12 6.88 251.07
2007 104.67 64.46 8.38 14.40 50.83 11.83 7.22 261.79
2008 109.90 61.59 7.86 14.10 61.14 13.46 6.99 275.04
2009 111.24 60.80 7.37 14.56 62.43 16.67 7.34 280.41
2010 104.12 53.88 6.94 14.01 64.37 18.07 6.55 267.93
2011 100.04 49.56 6.57 14.72 64.33 18.60 6.53 260.37
2012 95.27 46.09 6.13 14.30 57.22 15.40 5.50 239.91
2013 99.15 45.21 5.89 14.07 60.03 17.50 4.67 246.53
2014 97.04 41.53 5.70 14.66 60.56 18.18 3.96 241.64
2015 95.98 35.78 5.37 15.45 65.06 17.06 3.21 237.92

In 2015, 40 percent of indemnity benefits for accepted disabling claims were temporary disability payments, 15 percent were permanent 
partial disability (PPD) awards, 35 percent were agreements and settlements, and the remainder were paid for permanent total disability 
(PTD), death, and vocational assistance benefits. Agreements and settlements have accounted for at least 30 percent of indemnity since 
2010.

The trends in the categories of indemnity payments have all generally followed the same trend as accepted disabling claims: falling in the 
late 1990s, rising throughout the early 2000s, and falling again in recent years.  

Data are reported by the year of closure by the insurer or order by the department or court. Temporary disability includes reports by 
insurers at claim closure and following a vocational assistance training plan, and estimates of unreported data such as for initial claims 
resolved by claim disposition agreement. Some death and PTD benefits are estimated and neither includes cost-of-living adjustments paid 
from the Workers’ Benefit Fund. Benefits paid on PTD claims after the worker has died are included in death benefits. Historical data are 
subject to small changes.
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Workers’ Benefit Fund payments by benefit type, CY 1995-2015

Year
PTD

($ millions)
Death

($ millions)

EAIP disabling 
claims

($ millions)

EAIP non-dis-
abling claims 
($ millions)

PWP worker  
initiated 

($ millions)

PWP employer 
initiated

($ millions)

PWP claim 
costs  

reimbursed
($ millions)

Total
($ millions)

1995 $29.39 $31.96 $4.95 $0.01 $6.19 $3.13 $75.62
1996 28.30 32.95 6.28 1.28 7.91 3.03 79.74
1997 28.19 34.72 6.63 3.22 8.87 3.01 84.64
1998 27.99 35.88 7.61 4.05 8.46 3.45 87.45
1999 27.61 36.79 6.78 3.82 7.23 3.71 85.94
2000 27.60 38.42 5.82 3.69 5.86 3.01 84.40
2001 26.28 38.82 7.01 4.01 5.77 3.19 85.09
2002 24.97 39.21 5.72 3.28 4.99 2.56 80.73
2003 23.35 38.22 5.75 3.01 4.41 2.27 77.02
2004 21.94 37.53 6.36 3.34 5.72 2.31 77.21
2005 21.49 36.95 6.74 3.29 5.03 $0.01 2.19 75.70
2006 20.57 36.92 7.91 3.96 4.57 1.05 2.04 77.02
2007 19.85 35.66 9.50 4.36 4.12 1.63 2.28 77.40
2008 19.42 35.80 12.64 5.54 4.56 1.88 2.34 82.17
2009 18.83 36.14 13.09 5.63 3.73 1.86 2.67 81.95
2010 17.70 35.24 11.69 4.82 3.05 1.70 2.68 76.87
2011 16.26 34.30 13.24 5.99 3.14 1.52 2.73 77.19
2012 14.85 32.62 14.37 6.41 2.80 1.67 2.18 74.90
2013 13.86 31.59 16.32 6.48 2.10 1.81 2.37 74.53
2014 12.92 31.06 14.89 5.95 3.02 2.65 1.68 72.17
2015 12.44 30.67 13.95 5.34 2.63 1.80 2.37 69.20

The Workers’ Benefit Fund provides funds for several programs that help employers and injured workers. Assessment revenues, not 
insurance premiums, finance these programs. Employers and workers each pay half the assessment. The two major programs are the 
Retroactive Program and the Re-employment Assistance Program.
The Retroactive Program pays cost-of-living increases to workers or their beneficiaries based on changes in average wages. The two major 
benefits paid are for permanent total disability and death. In 2015, the Retroactive Program provided an estimated $43.11 million for PTD 
and death benefits. Since at least 1995, the majority of PTD and death benefits have been paid from this program.
The Re-employment Assistance Program provides incentives for injured workers to return to work, through the Employer-at-Injury Program 
(EAIP) and the Preferred Worker Program (PWP). Benefits common to both are wage subsidies, worksite modifications, and employment 
purchases. Total payments for EAIP first exceeded PWP in 2000, and, in 2015, total EAIP was nearly three times total PWP payments.
Workers who have not been released to regular work but can return to transitional jobs are eligible for the EAIP. Use of this program allows 
many claims to remain nondisabling even though the workers have medical restrictions. (For more details, see the return-to-work tables.) 
Generally, EAIP payments for nondisabling claims have been somewhat less than half that for disabling claims.
Workers who have a permanent disability and are unable to return to regular work are eligible for the PWP benefits, which may be initiated 
by either the worker or the employer. In addition, claim cost reimbursement is paid for preferred workers who suffer new injuries. PWP claim 
cost reimbursements are included in all tables that have statistics about indemnity or medical benefits paid.
Historical data are subject to small changes. 
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Average temporary disability days paid by type of claim resolution, CY 1995-2015

Year

Initial 
claim,  
CDA

Initial 
claim, 

closure

Aggravation 
and medical 
condition, 
closure

Vocational 
training 
closure

All claim 
resolutions

The average duration of temporary disability for initial claim 
closures was 50 days in 2015, down from the recent peak of 
60 days in 2009.

Temporary disability payments are not reported for initial 
claims that resolve by claim disposition agreement. However, 
insurers provided data in March 2012 that improved our 
estimated averages. For 2015, the estimated average was 
214 days; this figure has been fairly constant the past three 
years.

In 2015, the average number of paid days for all claim 
resolutions was 65 days. When the recession cut jobs, 
reducing claims, the average paid days was based on more 
older and longer-duration claims. With the recovery in jobs, 
the average paid days has declined.

The data are reported for each claim resolution by the year 
of claim closure or claim disposition agreement. The average 
days are calculated per resolution rather than per claim. 

Historical data are subject to small changes.

1995 265 50 117 205 60
1996 251 48 107 207 57
1997 223 45 97 222 54
1998 213 46 86 221 54
1999 215 46 84 208 55
2000 213 45 80 214 53
2001 224 47 92 213 57
2002 254 49 86 243 60
2003 230 48 73 221 58
2004 243 50 79 230 60
2005 259 51 86 209 63
2006 256 50 70 218 61
2007 246 50 96 215 63
2008 264 52 84 213 66
2009 236 60 69 237 74
2010 245 57 91 219 73
2011 241 54 89 260 70
2012 218 53 67 248 66
2013 216 55 87 262 68
2014 219 52 83 297 65
2015 214 50 78 263 65

Claim resolutions, CY 1995-2015

Year

Initial 
claim,  
CDA

Initial claim, 
closure

Aggravation and 
medical 

condition, closure

Vocational 
training 
closure

Total claim 
resolutions

Accepted disabling claims may be resolved 
multiple times. The trend for total claim 
resolutions has  followed the trend in claims.

Claim types are initial claims, aggravation, 
new or omitted medical condition, and 
vocational training. Resolutions are by claim 
closure or full-release claim disposition 
agreement (CDA) on an initial claim. Most 
claim resolutions are closures on initial claims. 

For each of the past 10 years, more than 
1,000 claims have had a CDA rather than an 
initial claim closure. (These counts exclude 
CDAs for nondisabling claims and for closed 
disabling claims.)

Historical data are subject to small changes.

1995 714 30,582 1,822 242 33,360
1996 785 28,187 1,375 273 30,620
1997 854 26,898 1,253 288 29,293
1998 829 26,215 1,242 242 28,528
1999 947 24,739 1,212 207 27,105
2000 892 24,056 1,059 197 26,204
2001 955 23,764 1,106 203 26,028
2002 925 22,471 1,010 188 24,594
2003 927 21,093 962 205 23,187
2004 906 21,106 1,010 189 23,211
2005 953 20,550 938 199 22,640
2006 1,045 21,613 914 194 23,766
2007 1,161 22,230 860 220 24,471
2008 1,240 20,988 882 195 23,305
2009 1,397 18,496 827 199 20,919
2010 1,261 16,993 768 186 19,208
2011 1,268 16,980 757 180 19,185
2012 1,241 17,226 701 128 19,296
2013 1,289 17,269 632 124 19,314
2014 1,308 17,823 539 81 19,751
2015 1,548 17,556 460 72 19,636
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Temporary disability for resolved accepted disabling claims, CY 1995-2015

Year
Resolved 

claims
Average 

days
Average 
dollars

Median 
days The trend for resolved accepted disabling claim counts 

follows the trend for new ADCs. An accepted disabling 
claim is resolved if it has had a claim closure or a claim 
disposition agreement on the initial opening and if it is not 
currently in an open or reopened status.

For claims resolved in 2015, the average number of 
temporary disability days paid per accepted disabling 
claim, counting all resolutions for a claim, was 67 days, 
down from the recent peak of 77 days. The average 
temporary disability payment was $5,265.

The median number of days has remained nearly 
constant at 23 to 24 days for the past seven years. The 
smaller figure for median days of temporary disability 
indicates there are a large number of ADCs that are 
resolved fairly quickly, and a smaller number that take 
much longer to resolve.

The data are reported by the year of the latest claim 
resolution. Historical data will show small changes as 
claims are reopened and closed. 

1995 31,555 65 $3,215 19
1995 31,658 65 $3,200 19
1996 29,168 62 $3,087 17
1997 27,951 58 $3,008 17
1998 27,206 57 $3,069 18
1999 25,778 58 $3,237 19
2000 24,978 56 $3,259 18
2001 24,831 60 $3,681 18
2002 23,326 62 $3,918 18
2003 22,014 61 $3,807 18
2004 22,045 63 $4,095 19
2005 21,536 66 $4,286 19
2006 22,687 64 $4,270 19
2007 23,398 65 $4,464 19
2008 22,270 69 $4,898 20
2009 19,989 77 $5,557 24
2010 18,410 77 $5,698 23
2011 18,335 74 $5,537 23
2012 18,567 70 $5,325 23
2013 18,703 72 $5,531 24
2014 19,220 68 $5,271 24
2015 19,283 67 $5,265 24

Permanent partial disability, CY 1995-2015

Year

Claims 
resolved 

by closure, 
with PPD

Percentage 
of closed 

claims 
with PPD

Average 
PPD 

award

About 23 percent of claims that resolved by closure in 2015 received 
permanent partial disability awards, a historical low that continues the 
recent declining trend. Annual counts of closed claims with PPD have 
decreased from almost 9,500 in 1995 to about 4,000.

In 2015, the average award for those claims was $9,798, continuing a 
recent decline. 

PPD awards have annual statutory increases, so the decline reflects 
declining awards. Closed claims do not include initial claims resolved 
by claim disposition agreement, which do not receive a PPD award but 
which release future PPD liability. The upward trend for claims resolved 
by initial-claim CDA accounts for some of the decline in the number of 
PPD claims. 

These data are reported by the year of the last claim closure. The 
average awards include the initial awards made by insurers and the net 
amounts that were awarded during the appeal process, summed over all 
claim closures. Data will change as claims are opened and closed. 

1995 9,488 30.7% $6,373 
1996 8,918 31.4% 6,606 
1997 8,056 29.7% 7,016 
1998 7,746 29.4% 7,119 
1999 7,319 29.5% 7,336 
2000 6,947 28.8% 7,765 
2001 7,014 29.4% 8,287 
2002 6,716 30.0% 8,571 
2003 6,226 29.5% 9,091 
2004 6,292 29.8% 9,547 
2005 6,281 30.5% 9,977 
2006 6,357 29.4% 9,573 
2007 6,356 28.6% 9,780 
2008 6,030 28.7% 10,160 
2009 5,719 30.8% 10,475 
2010 4,994 29.1% 10,755 
2011 4,755 27.9% 10,844 
2012 4,649 26.8% 10,396 
2013 4,505 25.9% 10,785 
2014 4,321 24.1% 10,296 
2015 4,065 22.9% 9,798 
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Permanent total disability awards, CY 1987-2015

Year Grant Rescind Net awards The number of permanent total disability awards declined 
dramatically between 1988 and 1990, when disability rating 
standards were adopted system-wide. The creation of claim 
disposition agreements in 1990 led to further decline.

PTD grants can be made by insurers or by the department 
through the appeal process. These counts include the 
reinstatement of awards that were rescinded by insurers or 
during earlier appeals. 

Following passage of legislation in 2005, PTD rescissions have 
become rare. Only one PTD award has been rescinded in the 
past five years.

1987 204 27 177
1988 209 14 195
1989 139 15 124
1990 81 36 45
1991 68 22 46
1992 47 5 42
1993 26 13 13
1994 36 9 27
1995 32 17 15
1996 17 6 11
1997 20 5 15
1998 16 6 10
1999 25 11 14
2000 14 6 8
2001 13 14 -1
2002 23 3 20
2003 14 6 8
2004 20 7 13
2005 20 4 16
2006 18 1 17
2007 15 1 14
2008 10 1 9
2009 13 0 13
2010 23 0 23
2011 10 1 9
2012 9 0 9
2013 14 0 14
2014 9 0 9
2015 13 0 13
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Maximum PPD benefits, since July 1986

Dates of injury

Maximum 
scheduled 

PPD

Maximum  
unscheduled 

PPD
Maximum 

PPD
Percentage 

change
In 2003, SB 757 revised the permanent partial 
disability award structure, effective January 
2005. It eliminated the distinction between 
scheduled and unscheduled PPD. The new 
structure reallocated benefits to better reflect 
earnings loss, providing less-generous benefits 
to some workers who can return to regular 
work, and more-generous benefits to those 
who cannot. The maximum PPD award was 
increased, but there has been no increased cost 
to the workers’ compensation system. 

Benefit levels are now associated by formula 
with the change in the state average weekly 
wage. The small decline in benefits beginning 
July 2012 reflects a recession-related decline 
in the average weekly wage. Maximum PPD 
benefit levels are now more than double the 
pre-2005 unscheduled maximum.

July 1986 - June 1987 $24,000 $32,000 -
July 1987 - June 1990 27,840 32,000 -
July 1990 - June 1991 58,560 32,000 -
July 1991 - June 1992 58,577 60,503 -
July 1992 - June 1993 60,601 62,592 -
July 1993 - June 1994 63,631 65,723 -
July 1994 - June 1995 66,722 68,915 -
July 1995 - Dec. 1995 67,402 69,617 -
Jan. 1996 - Dec. 1997 80,640 130,400 -
Jan. 1998 - Dec. 1999 87,168 138,224 -
Jan. 2000 - Dec. 2001 98,168 149,033 -
Jan. 2002 - Dec. 2004 107,328 162,272 -
--------------> Statutory change
Jan. 2005 - June 2005 - - $263,917
July 2005 - June 2006 - - 273,271 3.5%
July 2006 - June 2007 - - 276,517 1.2%
July 2007 - June 2008 290,073 4.9%
July 2008 - June 2009 302,946 4.4%
July 2009 - June 2010 - - 306,862 1.3%
July 2010 - June 2011 - - 314,061 2.3%
July 2011 - June 2012 - - 322,929 2.8%
July 2012 - June 2013 322,447 -0.1%
July 2013 - June 2014 330,500 2.5%
July 2014 - June 2015 340,508 3.0%
July 2015 - June 2016 353,543 3.8%
July 2016 - June 2017 373,402 5.6%
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Return-to-Work Assistance
The fundamental goals of  the workers’ compensation 
system include returning injured workers to their 
jobs quickly and enabling them to earn close to their 
pre-injury wages. Oregon statute does this through 
benefit structures, discrimination protections, and re-
employment programs. 

The first of  these is the structure of  disability benefits. 
Temporary partial disability is used as an alternative 
to temporary total disability, keeping workers on the 
job. Also, the possibility of  payment of  work disability 
benefits for permanent impairment acts as incentive 
for employers and insurers to get injured workers 
back to work. Second, statute prohibits employment 
discrimination and provides re-employment and 
reinstatement rights to injured workers. The Bureau 
of  Labor and Industries enforces those laws, as 
well as other civil rights laws. Third, the workers’ 
compensation system assists injured workers through 
three re-employment programs.

The Employer-at-Injury Program (EAIP) and the 
Preferred Worker Program (PWP) provide incentives 
to employers who re-employ injured workers. The 
Employer-at-Injury Program focuses on workers who 
have medical releases for temporary, restricted work. 
The Preferred Worker Program is for workers who have 
known permanent work restrictions. Both programs 
attempt to provide early diagnosis and accommodation 
of  medical restrictions. 

The costs of  EAIP and PWP benefits and insurer 
administration are paid from the Re-employment 
Assistance Program within the Workers’ Benefit 
Fund. Revenue for the Workers’ Benefit Fund comes 
mostly from assessments paid equally by workers and 
employers. In 2015, benefits paid totaled $19.29 million 
for the Employer-at-Injury Program and $6.80 million 
for the Preferred Worker Program. 

The vocational assistance program is available for the 
most severe disabilities. Insurers and rehabilitation 
professionals provide formal plans and needed 
purchases, usually for retraining, to return disabled 
workers to suitable jobs. For injuries after 1985, 
vocational assistance is funded through employers’ 
insurance premiums. For more information about 
the costs of  vocational assistance since 1995, see the 
indemnity chapter of  this report.

Return-to-work program use
By the first quarter of  2016, about 27 percent of  
the claimants who had accepted disabling claims for 
injuries and illnesses during 2012 had used at least 
one of  the three return-work-programs. This is the 
highest rate of  program use for the eleven years of  
measurement.
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Figure 13. Percent of accepted disabling claims with use of return-to-work programs
by fourth year post-injury, 2006-2016  
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Limited diagnostics, treatment, and
disability stabilization; temporary disability 

may be due and payable.

Claim acceptance and disability 
classification; temporary disability is due 

and payable if classified disabling.

On-the-job injury, occupational disease
or aggravation claim

Note: This flow chart provides a general description of 
return-to-work programs. It omits many details. The time 
frames shown are those in statute and rule; exceptions 
to these time frames are not shown. Flow charts in the 
claims processing chapter and the disputes chapter 
provide additional information.

Complete medical treatment.

Worker is medically stationary.

Claim is closed and worker is not
released to regular work.

Claim is closed and worker is
released to regular work.

 

The                   indicates potential path of process.

Figure 14. Return-to-work flowchart

Employer may use Employer-at-Injury 
Program as soon as worker has 

temporary, restricted release to suitable 
work, until claim closure. Wage subsidy 
may substitute for temporary disability; 

purchases and worksite modifications are 
also available. EAIP assistance is payable 
only while claim is accepted or deferred.

Employer at injury may apply for 
Preferred Worker Program benefits as 
soon as worker’s permanent restrictions 

are known until 180 days after claim 
closure. Benefits include premium 
exemption, wage subsidy, worksite 

modification, and employment purchases.

Insurer does not determine eligibility 
for vocational assistance. Worker is 

not eligible for Preferred Worker 
Program but may request eligibility 

determination.

Insurer must determine eligibility for vocational 
assistance within 35 days of worker’s request; 

knowledge of projected or actual permanent 
limitations; or knowledge that the claim qualifies for 
closure; based on the worker not re-employed or 

reinstated by the employer at injury or aggravation 
and not released to regular work.

Worker is classified as preferred 
worker if worker has a permanent 

disability and is not released to 
regular work, based on an accepted 

medical condition.

Worker has substantial handicap to 
suitable employment and is eligible 

for vocational assistance. 
Selection of provider must occur 

within 20 days of eligibility.

Worker has no substantial handicap 
to suitable employment or is 

otherwise ineligible for vocational 
assistance. Worker may request 
review; see Disputes flowchart.

If worker has the transferable skills to obtain 
suitable new employment, then direct 

employment plan must be developed within 
45 days of plan selection. Insurer must provide 

eligible worker with four months of direct 
employment services.

Preferred worker may offer program benefits 
for three years each to any number of 

prospective employers. Benefits include 
premium exemption, wage subsidy, worksite 
modification, employment purchases, and 

limited placement services.

If worker has no marketable skills, 
training plan must be developed 
within 60 days of plan selection. 

Maximum training is 21 months, plus 
four months of placement services.



56

2016 REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM

Figure 15. Employer-at-Injury Program, placements approved,  
2001-2015 
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The Employer-at-Injury Program
The Employer-at-Injury Program, created in 1993, 
is for Oregon employers and their injured workers 
who have temporary medical releases for return to 
light-duty, transitional jobs. Insurers arrange the job 
placements, for which they receive a flat fee. Employer 
assistance includes a 45 percent wage subsidy for a 
period of  up to three months. Worksite modifications 
and early return-to-work purchases are also available 
and have been made easier to use.

A statutory change in 1995 expanded the program to 
include workers with claims classified as nondisabling 
even though the workers have medical restrictions 
on the kinds of  work they can perform. By getting 
workers back to a job shortly after injury, the 
EAIP has prevented many accepted nondisabling 
claims from becoming disabling claims, because no 
temporary disability benefits are due and payable. An 
administrative rule change in December 2007 extended 
benefits to workers with claims where compensability 
ultimately was denied, but temporary disability benefits 
were due and payable while compensability was 
investigated.

Insurers may reduce or discontinue temporary disability 
benefits if  a worker refuses modified work, including an 
EAIP placement. Effective in mid-2001, SB 485 gave 
injured workers the right to refuse modified work if  
the job requires a commute that is beyond the worker’s 
physical ability, is more than 50 miles away, is not 
with the employer at injury or not at that employer’s 
worksite, or is inconsistent with the employer’s practices 
or a collective bargaining agreement.

In 2015, the department approved payment for 
about 8,000 placements. There were 1,946 employers 
with at least one worker placement approved for 
payment. Statutory and administrative law changes 
have succeeded in improving access and participation. 
Economic conditions have an effect on all of  these 
return-to-work programs. For example, the recession 
resulted in a decline in employment, reducing the 
number of  claims and the number of  EAIP placements. 
Employment growth has resulted in more claims, but 
the impact on placements is less certain. With a strong 
economy, employers may need to use the EAIP less 
often.

Preferred Worker Program
The current version of  the Preferred Worker Program 
is a result of  SB 1197 (1990). Clarifications were 
added in 1995 through SB 369; notably, workers may 
not release these benefits through a claim disposition 
agreement. SB 119 (2005) expanded the program’s 
options by enabling payment for limited placement 
services contracted for on behalf  of  preferred workers.

The program’s objective is to sustain disabled workers 
in modified employment as soon as permanent medical 
restrictions are known. A worker automatically receives 
a preferred worker identification card when the insurer 
reports that the worker has a work-related permanent 
disability preventing return to regular work. The card 
informs prospective employers that the worker may be 
eligible for the program’s benefits. A worker may also 
request qualification as a preferred worker from the 
department. The department, not insurers, delivers 
benefits under the Preferred Worker Program.
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An eligible employer who chooses to hire a preferred 
worker is exempt from workers’ compensation 
premiums on the worker for three years. If  the 
worker moves to another job, premium exemption is 
transferred to the new employer for an additional three 
years. The department reimburses insurers for all claim 
costs, including administrative expenses, for any claims 
preferred workers file during the premium-exemption 
period.

Three other benefits, payable by contract, are available 
for preferred workers and employers. Wage subsidies 
provide 50 percent reimbursement for six months, 
with higher benefits available for exceptional levels of  
disability. Worksite modifications alter worksites within 
Oregon to accommodate the workers’ restrictions. 
Employment purchases provide uniforms, licenses, tools, 
worksite creation, and other benefits required to set up 
the preferred worker for employment. These benefits 
may be used more than once.

Administrative rule changes, effective in July 2005, 
permit use of  the program at the initiative of  the 
employer at injury. A worker’s entitlement to future 
program benefits is not affected if  the worker accepts 
this option. Otherwise, use of  the Preferred Worker 
Program is at the initiative of  the injured worker and at 
the option of  the prospective employer. Administrative 
rule changes effective in December 2007 clarified that 
a preferred worker has no time limit on when they may 
start using the program’s benefits.

Recent benefit use among preferred workers is difficult 
to measure because some workers use benefits shortly 

after becoming eligible, while others wait for years. 
Benefit use remained between 600 and 700 workers for 
the years 2002 to 2007. The number has declined fairly 
steadily since 2008, decreasing to 402 in 2015. 

Vocational assistance
Insurers provide vocational assistance, usually through 
professional rehabilitation organizations, to overcome 
limitations that prevent injured workers’ return to 
suitable work. In 1987, the Legislature passed House 
Bill 2900, which significantly restricted eligibility for 
vocational assistance by introducing a new test, the 
substantial handicap test. This means that injured 
workers are eligible for vocational assistance only if  
a permanent disability prevents re-employment in 
any job paying at least 80 percent of  the job-at-injury 
wage. In 1995, SB 369 further restricted eligibility for 
vocational assistance for aggravation claims. Effective 
January 2010, HB 2705 clarified that insurers no longer 
need to determine eligibility for workers released to 
regular work. Because of  these changes, far fewer 
workers have been eligible for vocational assistance. In 
2015, 285 workers were found eligible for vocational 
assistance, 38 percent as many as in 2007.

Benefits available under vocational assistance include 
professional rehabilitation services such as plan 
development, counseling and guidance, and placement; 
purchases of  goods and services such as tuition; and 
temporary disability while the worker is actively 
engaged in training. Under current law, the typical 
eligible worker is entitled to a training plan followed by 
placement (direct employment) services.
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Eligible workers are not required to use vocational 
assistance benefits. Since at least 1987, less than one-
half  of  eligible workers have begun a plan following 
their eligibility determinations. From 1995 to 2000, 
less than one-third of  workers completed their plans – 
defined as placement in a job or receipt of  maximum 
services. Since then, the percentage of  those completing 
their plans has dropped; in 2015, about 22 percent 
completed their plans. Maximum service will be 18 
months of  training (21 months for exceptional levels of  
disability), plus four months of  placement as of  Jan. 1, 
2017.

In 1990, the claim disposition agreement (CDA) was 
first permitted. With CDAs, workers release their rights 
to vocational assistance programs and other indemnity 
benefits in exchange for lump-sum settlements from 
insurers. Since 2002, around 50 percent of  eligibilities 
have ended with a CDA. In general, workers who 
accept CDAs do not use Preferred Worker Program 
benefits, and they have low post-injury employment 
rates and wages.
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Employer-at-Injury Program placements approved, CY 1995-2015

Year

Disabling 
claim 

placements

Nondisabling 
claim 

placements
Total worker 
placements Employers 

Mean 
cost per 

placement

The Employer-at-Injury Program was created 
to encourage placement of injured workers into 
transitional work while they recover from their 
injuries. Benefits available to employers and 
their workers include wage subsidy, worksite 
modification, and purchases. SB 369 of 1995 
allowed benefits to become available for 
nondisabling claims.

Higher counts of workers and employers with 
placements after 2005 are evidence that recent 
law changes are promoting use and access to 
the program, despite declining claim counts. 
Modifications and purchases are being used 
more often due to administrative rule changes 
in late 2007.

Historical data are subject to small changes. 
Disabling and nondisabling placements are 
counted by current claim status.

1995 3,733 5 3,738 1,190 $1,326
1996 4,287 1,790 6,077 1,348 $1,244
1997 4,454 3,905 8,359 1,513 $1,180
1998 4,981 5,087 10,068 1,791 $1,167
1999 4,385 5,057 9,442 1,837 $1,132
2000 3,580 4,274 7,854 1,579 $1,215
2001 4,223 4,385 8,608 1,657 $1,292
2002 3,306 3,101 6,407 1,236 $1,412
2003 3,101 2,857 5,958 1,334 $1,478
2004 3,512 3,097 6,609 1,499 $1,472
2005 3,491 2,984 6,475 1,494 $1,553
2006 3,901 3,523 7,424 1,626 $1,604
2007 4,327 3,443 7,770 1,800 $1,787
2008 5,053 3,762 8,815 1,993 $2,066
2009 5,067 3,541 8,608 2,005 $2,168
2010 4,476 3,095 7,571 1,866 $2,184
2011 4,885 3,502 8,387 1,932 $2,292
2012 5,137 3,815 8,952 1,990 $2,322
2013 5,474 3,626 9,100 2,146 $2,498
2014 5,205 3,308 8,513 2,074 $2,457
2015 5,002 3,000 8,002 1,946 $2,452

Preferred workers, CY 1991-2015

Year Eligibilities
Eligibilities with 

benefit use

Percent of 
eligibilities 
with benefit 

use

Preferred workers have permanent work restrictions that prevent 
return to unmodified regular work. Preferred worker eligibilities in 
2007 and 2008 were at their highest number since 2001, but the 
numbers have since declined.

Eligibility entitles a preferred worker to many years - unlimited 
since December 2007 - in which to begin using benefits. Counts 
of eligibilities with benefit use do become relatively stable within 
about three years of the eligibility date. The percent of eligibilities 
with benefit use fell below 29 percent in 1998; it averaged 26 
percent for more than a decade. The percent of eligibilities with 
use has averaged around 21 percent over 2008-2012.

The large jump in eligibilities and drop in percentage used in 2013 
was due to a one-time event to find Preferred Worker Program-
eligible claimants missed by the insurers’ closing orders.

Historical data are subject to small changes.

1991 4,189 1,523 36%
1992 3,548 1,116 31%
1993 3,104 990 32%
1994 3,351 981 29%
1995 4,459 1,334 29.9%
1996 3,708 1,107 29.9%
1997 3,120 912 29.2%
1998 2,946 738 25.1%
1999 2,549 645 25.3%
2000 2,267 586 25.8%
2001 2,375 565 23.8%
2002 1,858 501 27.0%
2003 1,821 499 27.4%
2004 1,779 482 27.1%
2005 1,794 476 26.5%
2006 1,733 473 27.3%
2007 1,985 564 28.4%
2008 1,919 404 21.1%
2009 1,590 342 21.5%
2010 1,328 278 20.9%
2011 1,135 255 22.5%
2012 1,177 253 21.5%
2013 1,708 293 17.2%
2014 1,017 Available August 2017
2015 854 Available August 2018
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Preferred Worker Program contracts started, CY 1988-2015

Year

Workers 
starting one 

or more 
contracts

Wage 
subsidies

Worksite 
modifications Purchases

Preferred Worker Program benefits include premium exemption and 
claim cost reimbursement, plus wage subsidy, worksite modification, 
and employment purchase contracts or agreements. Workers may 
use all these benefits more than one time.

Administrative law changes provided for use of program benefits 
at the injury employer’s initiative beginning July 2005, and worksite 
creation purchases in December 2007. The number of workers 
starting contracts in 2015 was among the lowest on record.  

Workers may start contracts in multiple years. Historical data are 
subject to small changes.

1988 312 1,272 293 0
1989 744 1,041 133 2
1990 833 1,000 135 35
1991 1,046 999 201 88
1992 1,043 957 379 215
1993 1,005 965 396 225
1994 979 1,040 513 317
1995 1,379 1,110 418 527
1996 1,448 1,111 515 638
1997 1,380 1,063 448 602
1998 1,273 957 448 668
1999 979 734 293 462
2000 871 673 282 344
2001 718 539 232 310
2002 594 473 200 250
2003 620 517 200 235
2004 620 488 265 249
2005 594 458 245 252
2006 573 482 232 225
2007 604 495 218 237
2008 697 463 231 583
2009 541 342 187 415
2010 493 305 185 382
2011 527 351 162 410
2012 422 277 136 295
2013 433 315 164 293
2014 454 302 173 345
2015 402 248 149 374
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Vocational assistance determinations, CY 1987-2015

Year
Total  

determinations Ineligible Eligible Insurers determine eligibility or ineligibility for vocational 
assistance for workers with permanent partial disability who 
do not return to permanent work with the employer at injury. 
The department audits claim closures to assure that insurers 
determine eligibility.

In general, workers are eligible for vocational assistance if they 
have a substantial handicap that prevents re-employment in 
any job that pays at least 80 percent of the job-at-injury wages. 
Eligible determinations include insurer letters, eligibility orders, 
and eligibility restorations. 

Although the total number of determinations in 2010 was the 
lowest on record at that time (about half the previous year), most 
of the change was among the ineligible workers. HB 2705 (2009) 
allows forgoing a determination when the worker has a regular 
work release.

Data may be reported by the insurer several months after the 
determination.

1987 13,037 3,177 9,860
1988 6,487 3,228 3,259
1989 6,406 3,575 2,831
1990 7,334 5,123 2,211
1991 6,921 5,231 1,690
1992 6,087 4,644 1,443
1993 5,847 4,414 1,433
1994 5,302 4,050 1,252
1995 4,447 3,168 1,279
1996 4,084 2,975 1,109
1997 3,547 2,698 849
1998 3,441 2,647 794
1999 3,299 2,555 744
2000 2,421 1,705 716
2001 2,046 1,291 755
2002 2,046 1,308 738
2003 2,108 1,324 784
2004 2,495 1,723 772
2005 2,668 1,929 740
2006 2,439 1,749 690
2007 2,293 1,539 754
2008 2,665 1,960 705
2009 2,267 1,626 641
2010 1,138 566 572
2011 903 439 464
2012 725 351 374
2013 696 315 381
2014 610 319 291
2015 575 290 285
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Vocational assistance eligibility closures, plans, and outcomes, CY 1995-2015

Year
Total eligibility 

closures
Closed,  
no plan

Closed, direct 
employment 

plan
Closed,  

training plan
Outcome:  

return to work

Outcome:  
maximum 

services or job 
ended

Outcome:  
CDA

Outcome:  
other

1995 1,404 832 51 521 340 87 631 346
1996 1,243 698 39 506 337 58 582 266
1997 993 512 23 458 248 59 441 245
1998 874 455 6 413 208 50 424 192
1999 781 416 7 358 157 41 354 229
2000 725 395 4 326 171 46 323 185
2001 714 387 4 323 154 46 312 202
2002 787 453 7 327 140 70 390 187
2003 735 423 8 304 123 75 371 166
2004 779 449 5 325 128 60 375 216
2005 749 441 4 304 135 48 358 208
2006 743 410 7 326 143 48 368 184
2007 724 394 3 327 152 46 319 207
2008 714 412 5 297 109 45 351 209
2009 689 376 12 301 95 70 314 210
2010 635 336 10 289 81 62 325 167
2011 563 285 10 268 66 64 278 155
2012 456 232 2 222 69 46 222 119
2013 400 222 1 177 63 30 216 91
2014 364 210 3 151 58 16 197 93
2015 313 178 3 132 47 22 161 83

Eligibility closures include insurer eligibility closures and eligibilities in which there is a claim disposition agreement in full, but no 
eligibility closure. No-plan closures continue to account for 50 percent or more of eligibility closures. The claim disposition agreement 
continues to account for about 50 percent of eligibility closure outcomes.

Data may be reported by the insurer several months after the closure.
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Disputes
The purpose of  the Oregon workers’ compensation 
system is to provide fair and timely benefits to injured 
workers. Impartial dispute resolution is an important 
part of  the workers’ compensation system. 

The Oregon system provides two channels for dispute 
resolution. During resolution, workers, employers, 
insurers, and, in some instances, medical service 
providers have legal rights. Workers may contest denials 
and benefits, insurers and employers may defend 
against claims and benefits believed to be unwarranted, 
and medical providers may raise concerns about 
medical services and fees.

The Oregon workers’ compensation system has evolved 
into a two-part dispute resolution system:

�� The Workers’ Compensation Board (WCB) is an 
independent agency that receives administrative 
support from the Department of  Consumer 
and Business Services (DCBS). It has original 
jurisdiction on insurer claim denials and certain 

claims-processing issues, such as temporary 
disability and the temporary disability rate when 
the claim is open. It also hears appeals of  cases 
decided by DCBS Workers’ Compensation 
Division (WCD) administrative review — 
primarily the reconsideration of  claims closures, 
medical services and vocational assistance disputes, 
and nonsubjectivity and noncomplying employer 
determinations. Hearings decisions can be 
appealed to board review, and then to the Court 
of  Appeals. Court of  Appeals decisions can be 
appealed to the Oregon Supreme Court, whose 
review is discretionary.

�� The Workers’ Compensation Division provides 
administrative review for many types of  disputes. 
Within the Resolution Section, the Appellate 
Review Unit resolves disputes involving claim 
closures and classifications, and the Employment 
Services Team resolves vocational disputes. 
The Medical Resolution Team resolves medical 
disputes.

Lessons from the Oregon Workers’ Compensation System: Dispute Resolution

The Workers’ Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) has recognized Oregon’s workers’ compensation system as a model that 
could provide lessons for other states. The study “Lessons from the Oregon Workers’ Compensation System” provided four key 
lessons. 

One of  these lessons covers the system features that work together to increase certainty about the determination and payment of  
permanent partial disability (PPD) benefits and to reduce litigation over the benefit delivery. The goal is to resolve disputes swiftly, 
informally, and with a minimum of  litigation. Following are the six key system features that increase certainty and reduce litigation: 

�� Reliance on the treating provider to offer the information needed to form the basis of  an impairment 
rating when the worker reaches maximum medical improvement.

�� Use of  an Oregon-specific guide to rate permanent impairment, thus allowing rating and compensation concepts 
to be consistent with Oregon statute and established case law.

�� Use of  objective criteria for assessing the factors affecting loss of  earning capacity, such as age, education, 
and occupation, in addition to permanent impairment, at all levels of  decision-making. 

�� Active payer involvement in terminating TTD benefits and determining PPD benefits at initial claim closure. 

�� Use of  a swift and mandatory mechanism for administrative dispute resolution (called reconsideration) 
to address objections to initial claim closure. The reconsideration process includes statutory time frames intended 
to avoid delays and is designed to minimize the need for attorney involvement on both sides. 

�� Use of  a medical arbiter. Instead of  parties spending resources on dueling experts, Oregon provides direct access to an 
impartial physician who is paid for by the insurer or self-insurer.
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The system, however, is more complex than the 
description above suggests. For instance, workers may 
have disputes in different venues at the same time; 
they may be disputing vocational assistance decisions 
while appealing permanent partial disability (PPD) 
awards. In other cases, medical disputes may have two 
issues: whether the proposed treatment is related to 
the accepted conditions and whether it is reasonable 
and necessary. In these cases, after WCB decides 
treatment is related to the accepted condition, the 
WCD Medical Resolution Team decides on necessity 
or appropriateness. As another example, disputes with a 
managed care organization (MCO) may begin with the 
MCO’s review process and then go to WCD. Finally, 
the issue of  insurer penalty for unreasonable conduct, 
and related attorney fees, may be heard by either WCD 
or WCB; WCD has original jurisdiction in proceedings 
involving solely these issues.

Reforming the dispute-resolution 
system
During the 1980s, there were a growing number of  
claims with disputes about the amount of  permanent 
disability benefits payable to injured workers. Workers 
were requesting more hearings at the Workers’ 
Compensation Board. Written standards or rules for 
determining permanent disability benefits had been 
available since 1980, but their use at hearings was 
optional. Parties presented their evidence at hearing 
and at further review by the Workers’ Compensation 
Board and the courts. Dispute resolution was slow and 
inefficient.

In part to reduce litigation and speed up decisions, 
the Legislature enacted House Bill 2900 in 1987 and 
Senate Bill 1197 in 1990. HB 2900 reduced the time 
to request a hearing on a claim closure from one year 
to 180 days, required hearings to be scheduled for a 
date within 90 days of  the request, required that orders 
be issued within 30 days of  the hearing, and required 
that hearings be postponed only in extraordinary 
circumstances. It also required that the Hearings 
Division create an expedited claim service to informally 
resolve small claims for which compensability was 
not at issue. It required fact-finding about disability, 
emphasizing objective medical evidence, with the idea 
that uniform standards for permanent disability would 
reduce litigation. The bill also created the Office of  
the Ombudsman for Injured Workers, which reduces 

litigation by resolving complaints about workers’ 
compensation. 

SB 1197 created new administrative review processes 
and provided for claim disposition agreements (CDAs). 
Before 1990, there were voluntary administrative 
review processes to resolve disputes over claim closure 
and disability classification (disabling or nondisabling), 
but these processes were used infrequently. SB 1197 
made the reconsideration and medical dispute 
processes mandatory. Claim disposition agreements 
reduced litigation by allowing workers to compromise 
and release rights to workers’ compensation benefits, 
other than medical services and the Preferred Worker 
Program.

In 1995, SB 369 produced further changes. First, it 
restored to WCD jurisdiction over disputes involving 
proposed medical treatment. The Legislature also 
tightened the timelines in the reconsideration process, 
limited hearing issues to those raised at, or that arose 
out of, the reconsideration, and limited evidence at 
hearings to that provided at reconsideration. For WCB, 
SB 369 allowed Hearings Division judges and the board 
to impose attorney sanctions for frivolous appeals, those 
made in bad faith, and those intended to harass. 

With SB 485, the 2001 Legislature addressed 
evidentiary concerns by providing for a worker 
deposition to be included as part of  the reconsideration 
process. The insurer-paid deposition is limited to 
testimony and cross-examination about a worker’s 
condition at closure. The bill also provided for a 
medical exam as part of  a hearing on a compensability 
denial. In a denial case in which the worker’s attending 
physician disagrees with the findings of  an independent 
medical examiner, the worker can ask the WCD 
Medical Resolution Team to select a physician to 
conduct a new independent exam. The insurer pays 
the costs of  the exam and physician’s report, which 
becomes part of  the hearing record.

The appeal process has been changed frequently. With 
SB 369 in 1995, the Legislature transferred jurisdiction 
for appeals of  vocational service dispute orders and 
most medical service dispute orders from the Workers’ 
Compensation Board to the Workers’ Compensation 
Division. Some reconsideration orders were also 
appealed to WCD. In 1998, however, a Court of  
Appeals decision, James Jordan v. Brazier Forest Products, 
determined that all Appellate Review Unit decisions 
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were reconsideration orders and had to be appealed 
to the board. HB 2525 in 1999 created a centralized 
Hearing Officer Panel (later renamed the Office of  
Administrative Hearings) and transferred WCD appeals 
to this panel. HB 2091 in 2005 transferred jurisdiction 
from the Hearing Officer Panel back to the Hearings 
Division of  WCB. This dispute resolution process is 
unique: (1) The hearing request is made to WCD; (2) 
WCD refers the dispute to WCB; (3) the WCB judge 
sends to WCD a proposed and final order; (4) if  the 
proposed order is appealed, WCD issues a final order; 
and (5) appeal of  the final order is made to the Court 
of  Appeals (there is no board review).

Disputes resolved by the  
Workers’ Compensation 
Division
Appellate review of claim closures 
and disability classifications
For injuries that have occurred since mid-1990, a party 
disputing a claim closure must seek departmental 
reconsideration before proceeding to hearing. If  the 
extent of  the worker’s impairment is not disputed, the 
process must be completed in 18 working days. When 
impairment is disputed or medical information is 
insufficient to determine impairment, a medical arbiter 
is appointed to examine the worker, and an additional 
60 days is allowed. No additional medical evidence may 
be used in subsequent litigation.

Since 1995, requests for appellate review have 
fallen; reconsideration requests have fallen more 
than classification requests. The long-term trend of  
decreasing numbers of  claim closures has contributed 
to this decline.

In 2001, insurers assumed total responsibility for 
claim closures, and the Legislature amended claims 
processing law. In 2003, SB 757 made changes in claim 
closure for workers injured in 2005, and in 2005, HB 
2408 made changes in claim closure for workers injured 
in 2006. Despite the increased complexity of  claim 
processing, disputes of  closures and classifications have 
leveled off, as measured by the appellate review request 
rate. In 2015, almost 14 percent of  closures were 
appealed.

There has been other legislation concerning the 
reconsideration process. In 2000, the Oregon 
Supreme Court (Koskela v. Willamette Industries, Inc.), 
in an exception to the evidence limitation, ruled that 
in permanent total disability cases, a worker must be 
allowed to testify about willingness to work and efforts 
to obtain employment. In response, SB 485 (2001) 
allowed for worker depositions to be included in the 
records of  the reconsideration process. Through SB 
285 (2003), the Legislature permitted insurers to request 
reconsideration of  their own notices of  closure, when 
they disagree with findings on impairment by attending 
physicians. In 2015, insurers requested reconsideration 
on 114 of  their notices of  closure.

Nearly all appellate review orders are issued timely. The 
median time from request for review of  claim closure 
to date of  order issue was 70 days in 2015 for all review 
requests (including postponed reviews) and only 24 
days for those review requests that did not experience a 
postponement.

Appellate review orders may be appealed to the WCB 
Hearings Division. The overall trend for appealed 
orders is downward. In 2015, the appeal rate was 20.5 
percent. This is down considerably from the almost 50 
percent appeal rates registered in 1991, the first year of  
administrative review of  claim closures and disability 
classifications.

Medical disputes
The medical disputes process has been affected by court 
decisions, legislative changes, and process changes. 
Following the Court of  Appeals’ decision in Jefferson 
v. Sam’s Café in 1993, the department lost jurisdiction 
over disputes involving proposed medical treatment; 
as a result, the number of  requests fell sharply. SB 
369 (1995) restored this jurisdiction, and the number 
of  requests rose. SB 369 also required that disputes 
concerning the actions of  a managed care organization, 
regarding the provision of  medical services, peer review, 
or utilization review, be handled through the medical 
dispute resolution process. In 2015, 8 percent of  the 
requests concerned MCO issues.

With SB 728, the 1999 Legislature specified that 
the Hearings Division had jurisdiction over disputes 
concerning the compensability of  the underlying 
medical condition or the causal relationship between 
the accepted condition and the medical service. 
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Compensability issues are resolved before other medical 
issues, such as medical services or the appropriateness 
of  treatment, are considered. Once compensability or 
causality is determined, a case is sent to the Medical 
Resolution Team  for resolution of  the medical service 
dispute. Compensability cases represented just 4 
percent of  all 2013 medical dispute resolution requests.

In 2008, the number of  medical dispute resolution 
requests nearly doubled to more than 3,300. This 
increase was due primarily to the initiation of  the 
medical disputes alternative dispute resolution, which 
has proven very effective with medical fee disputes. 
Medical fee disputes jumped from 28 percent of  all 
medical dispute issues in 2007 to 63 percent in 2008. 
Of  the 2,159 dispute requests in 2015, 64.5 percent 
were medical fee disputes.

The medical dispute process differs from many of  the 
other dispute processes; sometimes the injured worker 
is not directly involved in the dispute. Most requests 
from the medical provider concern fee disputes and 
disagreements between the provider and insurer about 
services to which the injured worker may have been 
entitled.

With the implementation of  HB 2091 in 2005, medical 
dispute orders could be appealed to the WCB Hearings 
Division; 2 percent were appealed in 2015.

Vocational assistance disputes
The WCD Employment Services Team (EST) strives 
to resolve vocational disputes by mediating agreements 
between the parties. When agreement is not possible, 
EST issues an administrative review order. 

The number of  requests for vocational dispute 
resolution was stable during the four years from 2006 
to 2009. It declined from roughly 460 during this time 
to 121 in 2015. There have been other periods of  
decline. Most of  the downward trend in requests has 
resulted from the decline in the number of  eligibility 
determinations for vocational assistance. About 25 
percent of  vocational eligibility determinations have 
had a vocational dispute. Most disputes follow an 
insurer’s denial of  eligibility for vocational assistance; 
other disputes concern vocational training programs, 
the quality of  professional services, or worker 
purchases.

Figure 18. Medical disputes by issue,
CY 2015
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In 2015, 31 percent of  the vocational disputes were 
resolved through agreement. Another 42 percent were 
dismissed, often due to a claim disposition agreement; 
remaining resolutions required a formal administrative 
order. The insurer prevailed in about 28 percent of  
those orders. With HB 2091, jurisdiction for appeals 
of  these orders was returned to the WCB Hearings 
Division. From 2007 to 2011, a range of  11 percent 
to 20 percent of  vocational dispute review orders, 
including orders of  dismissal, were appealed. From 
2012 to 2014, that number dropped to the 8 percent to 
12 percent range and in 2015 it jumped back up to 17 
percent.

About 89 percent of  vocational disputes were resolved 
timely, as measured by a nonstatutory standard of  60 
days. The median number of  days from request for 
review of  vocational assistance to date of  resolution was 
33 in 2015.

Disputes resolved at the  
Workers’ Compensation Board
The Workers’ Compensation Board’s Hearings Division 
provides a forum for timely and impartial dispute 
resolution. In hearings conducted by administrative law 
judges (ALJs), parties have an opportunity to present 
their case. They have the right to be represented by 
counsel, to have a qualified interpreter, to present 
evidence (lay and expert witnesses, personal testimony, 
medical and vocational reports, etc.), to compel 
testimony by subpoena and under oath, to receive pre-
hearing disclosure of  evidence, to present argument on 
issues of  fact and of  law, to provide cross-examination 
and impeachment evidence, to have the hearing 
postponed or continued, to have the hearing at a 
location not distant from the worker’s home, and to 
request reconsideration of  an order and appeal the 
order.

The Board Review Division hears appeals of  ALJ 
orders, decides WCB own-motion cases (re-openings 
or additional benefits after aggravation rights have 
expired), approves claim disposition agreements, hears 
appeals of  Department of  Justice decisions in the 
crime victim assistance program, and resolves third-
party disputes (distribution of  proceeds from a liable 
third party, between insurer and worker). The board 
is composed of  five governor-appointed members: 
the chair, two members selected because of  their 

background and understanding of  employer concerns, 
and two members with background and understanding 
of  employee concerns. Appeals are heard by at least 
one “worker” member and one “employer” member.

Hearing requests
The number of  requests reached a high of  27,549 in 
1989, then dropped substantially in the early 1990s; in 
recent years (through 2011), the number of  requests 
has declined by about 3 percent per year. In 2015, the 
number of  requests declined to 7,165 requests. The 
primary reasons for the decline are legislative changes, 
and fewer disabling claims.

The creation of  the reconsideration process by SB 1197 
(1990) reduced hearing requests and resulted in a shift 
in the issues involved. Permanent disability decreased 
from being an issue in 32 percent of  hearing orders 
in 1989 to 18 percent of  hearing orders in 1991. This 
percentage has continued to decrease, and was less than 
3 percent in 2015.

SB 369 (1995) also reduced litigation by requiring that 
workers believing that a condition had been omitted 
from a notice of  acceptance must notify the insurer 
before claiming a de facto denial in a hearing request. 

In 2015, the most common issue at hearings was partial 
denial, which was at issue in more than 47 percent of  
hearing orders. Most post-acceptance compensability 
disputes that do not involve aggravation of  the accepted 
condition are classified as “partial denial.” The 
Legislature specifically provided for major-contributing-
cause denials in SB 369. 

The median request-to-order time lag for hearings was 
127 days in 2015, while the median request-to-order 
lag for board review was 174 days. The median lag for 
2015 Court of  Appeals decisions was a near record-
high 658 days, or 1.8 years.

Mediation
Since 1996, the board has offered trained 
administrative law judge mediators and facilities, at no 
cost, to help settle disputes without formal litigation. 
Mediators completed 365 mediations in 2015.  Most 
mediated cases deal with complex issues: mental stress 
claims, occupational disease claims, claims about 
permanent total disability, and claims with additional 
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issues such as employment rights or other civil actions 
(tort, contract, etc.). The average mediation deals 
with 1.2 hearing requests. About 88 percent of  2015 
mediations resulted in settlement. The board also has 
an agreement with the Court of  Appeals to mediate 
cases pending before the court.

Appeal rates
The appeal rate of  reconsideration orders has dropped 
from 53 percent in 1992 to 21 percent in 2015. The 
appeal rate of  hearings orders has been declining 
slowly, from 12 percent in 1997 to less than 6 percent in 
2015. The appeal rate of  board-review orders dropped 
from 30 percent in 1987 to 13 percent the next year, 
mostly in response to HB 2900 (1987), which changed 
the court review standard from de novo to “substantial 
evidence.” In the past seven years, board appeal rates 
have ranged between 12 percent and 19 percent.

Law changes may temporarily increase appeal rates, 
as new and sometimes precedent-setting reform issues 
arise and decisions are appealed.

Claim disposition agreements
In 1990, SB 1197 allowed workers to release their rights 
to claim benefits other than medical services in claim 
disposition agreements. In 1995, SB 369 prohibited 

the release of  preferred worker benefits. Since 1991, 
the board has approved an average of  about 3,200 
CDAs per year. There were 3,129 CDAs in 2015, 
and the average agreement was more than $21,400. 
CDAs significantly reduce subsequent litigation 
because workers relinquish rights for most workers’ 
compensation benefits. Return-to-work studies show 
that workers who negotiate CDAs typically have lower 
rates of  returning to work.

Claimant attorney fees
Fees are awarded to claimant attorneys for (1) finally 
prevailing over a claim denial or obtaining increased 
temporary disability benefits, (2) getting an increase in 
permanent disability benefits, (3) preventing a decrease 
in a compensation award, (4) establishing unreasonable 
claim processing by the insurer, and (5) negotiating 
a disputed claim settlement or claim disposition 
agreement. Fees for (1), (3), and (4) are assessed against 
insurers, while the others come out of  award increases 
or settlement proceeds awarded to injured workers.

The 1990 law change limited penalty-related attorney 
fees to half  of  the penalty amount. Via SB 369, the 
1995 Legislature made three changes that further 
reduced attorney fees. It limited fees in responsibility 
disputes, prohibited the Hearings Division from 
awarding penalties and fees for matters arising under 

Figure 19. Claimant attorney fees, 1987-2015
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the director’s jurisdiction, and limited fees for the 
reversal of  a denial to cases where the denial is based 
on the compensability of  the underlying condition. 

In 2016, consistent with 2015 statutory amendments, 
the board reviewed its attorney fee rules and increased 
fees allowed in disputed claim settlements, CDAs, and 
orders increasing permanent disability awards.

Total claimant attorney fees reached a high of  $22.6 
million in 2010. Fees in 2015 totaled $21.9 million, 
including $309,000 at reconsideration, $11.3 million 
at hearing, $975,000 at board review, and $8.9 million 
for CDAs. Lump-sum settlements (CDAs and disputed 
claim settlements) have accounted for a growing share 
of  total claimant attorney fees, accounting for just less 
than 69 percent of  all claimant attorney fees in 2015.

In 2007, SB 404 made two additions to help claimants 
and their attorneys in recovering costs and fees. First, 
it allows an administrative law judge to order payment 
for a claimant’s reasonable expenses and costs for 
records, expert opinions, and witness fees. Second, if  
an injured worker signs an attorney fee agreement, 
and the attorney was instrumental in obtaining 
additional compensation or settling a worker’s claim, 
the administrative law judge may grant the attorney 
a lien on additional compensation or proceeds from a 
settlement. 

HB 3345, effective January 2010, increased maximum 
attorney fees allowed in disputes about insurer penalty, 
responsibility, and medical and vocational services. 
It also allowed attorney fees in areas for which they 
were not provided for earlier (late-paid disputed claim 
settlement, affirming closure rescission, preventing a 
reduction of  reconsideration awards, and appeal of  
classification orders), but these provisions were not 
expected to greatly increase total claimant attorney fees.

In 2016, consistent with HB 2764 (which became 
effective January 2016), the board conducted a public 
review of  its attorney fee rules and amended those rules 
concerning out-of-compensation attorney fees.  The 
percentages from permanent disability awards and will 
remain the same, but thresholds and caps increased. 
The thresholds for CDAs and DCSs increased from 
$17,500 to $50,000. At Hearings and Board Review, 
the PPD cap has been removed and the PTD cap 
increased from $12,500/$16,300 to $20,000/$30,000, 

respectively. For a more complete overview, see WCB’s 
Laws and rules page, http://www.oregon.gov/wcb/
legal/Pages/laws-and-rules.aspx.

Board own motion
Legislation in 1987 limited worker benefits under own-
motion authority to time-loss and medical services. 
In SB 485, the 2001 Legislature expanded benefits: 
providing for re-openings for treatment provided in lieu 
of  hospitalization to enable return to work, permitting 
claims for new or omitted medical conditions after 
aggravation rights have expired, and allowing 
permanent disability awards in new or omitted medical 
condition cases.

Total own-motion orders peaked in 1991, and then 
decreased steadily to 243 orders in 2002. SB 485, 
passed in 2001, led to an almost doubling in the 
number of  board own-motion orders. The number 
of  own-motion orders declined again after a 2005 law 
change (HB 2294). There were 59 board own-motion 
orders in 2015. 
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Appellate review requests and orders, 1991-2015

Year

Requests 
on 

closures

Percent of 
closures 
appealed

Requests 
on disabling 

classifications

Total 
orders 
issued

Percent 
of orders 

appealed to 
hearings

The WCD Appellate Review Unit provides 
administrative review of decisions made by insurers 
regarding claim closures and classifications of claims 
as disabling or nondisabling. Effective 2004, insurers 
may also appeal claim closures when they disagree 
with findings on impairment by attending physicians.

Since 1995, the trend in the number of requests for 
reconsideration of claim closures has been declining; 
it is currently (2015) at its lowest level. This is largely 
due to the decline in the number of closures overall. 

Requests are a count of the disputed closures, 
regardless of the number of amending closures that 
are disputed. A case is a proceeding to resolve a 
disputed closure or disability classification, regardless 
of the number of amending orders by ARU.

1991 6,014 16.5% 26 5,896 49.0%
1992 6,535 20.0% 73 6,463 53.4%
1993 5,937 18.5% 87 5,954 48.1%
1994 5,839 18.0% 99 5,953 47.8%
1995 6,543 20.1% 152 6,420 44.6%
1996 5,352 18.1% 128 5,857 41.2%
1997 4,306 15.2% 100 4,452 38.8%
1998 4,228 15.3% 123 4,282 38.9%
1999 4,025 15.5% 126 4,263 38.7%
2000 3,833 15.3% 132 3,988 33.7%
2001 3,979 16.0% 142 4,021 30.7%
2002 3,906 16.7% 188 4,122 29.6%
2003 3,749 17.1% 205 4,037 28.2%
2004 3,800 17.2% 186 3,950 29.1%
2005 3,531 16.4% 182 3,824 25.3%
2006 3,424 15.2% 198 3,637 24.1%
2007 3,788 16.4% 186 3,941 23.1%
2008 3,527 16.1% 149 3,743 19.2%
2009 3,409 17.5% 147 3,598 21.6%
2010 2,978 16.6% 167 3,215 22.0%
2011 2,714 15.1% 135 2,844 19.1%
2012 2,669 14.8% 135 2,823 18.8%
2013 2,704 15.0% 148 2,852 17.6%
2014 2,598 14.1% 109 2,693 20.2%
2015 2,454 13.6% 170 2,593 20.5%

Medical dispute requests and orders, 1990-2015

Year Requests Orders
Request-to-order 

median days Medical dispute resolution requests have fluctuated with court 
decisions and legislative changes. They declined sharply 
after a court decision limited the department’s jurisdiction. 
SB 369 (1995) reversed this decision and the numbers 
increased.

In 1999, SB 728 gave authority to the Hearings Division 
to determine the compensability of the underlying medical 
condition or the causal relationship between the accepted 
condition and the medical service. All other medical disputes 
are handled by the WCD Medical Resolution Team.

In 2008, the number of requests nearly doubled; this was 
due primarily to the initiation of alternative dispute resolution, 
which has resolved medical fee disputes quickly. Since then, 
the number of requests has fallen, mainly due to the decline 
in the number of claims.

In 2015, there were 2,269 medical dispute orders. The 
median time from request to order was 14 days.

1990 1,172 310 28
1991 1,386 969 112
1992 1,518 1,412 63
1993 876 987 44
1994 466 467 33
1995 741 469 39
1996 716 856 120
1997 878 816 61
1998 801 816 89
1999 905 819 84
2000 991 948 114
2001 1,181 1,222 69
2002 1,049 918 81
2003 1,362 1,293 88
2004 1,350 1,264 87
2005 1,456 1,548 75
2006 1,651 1,745 41
2007 1,823 1,803 28
2008 3,319 2,740 24
2009 3,047 3,822 16
2010 2,950 2,665 11
2011 2,214 2,255 13
2012 2,076 2,104 13
2013 2,189 2,227 10
2014 2,441 2,446 15
2015 2,159 2,269 14
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Vocational dispute requests and resolutions, 1991-2015

Year Requests Resolutions

Request-to- 
resolution  

median days
The WCD Employment Services Team provides administrative 
review of vocational disputes brought by workers. The number of 
requests has fallen since 1991, chiefly because of the decrease 
in the number of vocational assistance cases.

The median time to resolve a dispute was 33 days in 2015; 82 
percent were done within the standard of less than 60 days.

1991 2,067 2,137 41
1992 1,643 1,725 29
1993 1,493 1,519 25
1994 1,389 1,373 24
1995 1,347 1,304 28
1996 996 1,037 35
1997 877 881 32
1998 716 715 26
1999 630 681 28
2000 549 563 35
2001 511 480 35
2002 512 530 63
2003 504 530 56
2004 551 551 42
2005 492 485 47
2006 456 495 30
2007 468 446 28
2008 469 504 36
2009 451 432 34
2010 306 323 35
2011 200 223 36
2012 176 177 34
2013 174 178 38
2014 125 132 34
2015 121 126 33

Medical dispute issues, by year of request, 2007-2015

Year Fees
Medical 
services Treatments

Palliative 
care MCO issues

Changes of 
attending 
physician

Independent 
medical 
exams

Compen-
sability

Interim  
medical 
benefits

2007 27.8% 40.2% 8.1% 3.1% 7.9% 0.5% 0.4% 11.8% 0.2%
2008 63.3% 21.1% 5.4% 1.5% 5.8% 0.1% 0.2% 2.5% 0.1%
2009 56.2% 23.5% 6.9% 1.2% 8.0% 0.5% 0.4% 3.0% 0.4%
2010 58.6% 19.5% 6.4% 1.3% 9.1% 0.6% 0.4% 4.1% 0.1%
2011 49.1% 25.2% 8.7% 1.9% 9.4% 1.1% 0.3% 4.2% 0.0%
2012 50.4% 22.3% 8.0% 1.1% 12.8% 0.8% 0.3% 4.2% 0.1%
2013 66.3% 14.5% 6.9% 0.8% 6.7% 0.5% 0.3% 3.9% 0.0%
2014 67.1% 14.5% 6.1% 1.3% 6.4% 0.5% 0.2% 3.8% 0.0%
2015 64.5% 15.1% 6.8% 0.8% 8.1% 0.5% 0.3% 4.0% 0.0%

SB 728 (1999) gave responsibility to the Hearings Division for disputes in which the compensability of the underlying medical 
condition is at issue. These cases were 2.6 percent of all 2013 medical-dispute-resolution requests. SB 485 (2001) amended the law 
regarding payment for interim medical benefits (medical services provided before a claim’s initial acceptance or denial). It added a 
process for these disputes.
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Vocational dispute resolutions, by outcome, 2009-2015

Year

Percent of outcomes less dismissals

Dismissals 
% of total 
outcomes

The department strives to resolve vocational 
disputes through agreements. These have ranged 
from 36 percent to 53 percent of the resolutions less 
dismissals.Agreements

Insurer  
prevail 
orders

Worker 
prevail 
orders

Other 
orders

2009 42.4% 36.7% 14.4% 6.4% 38.9%
2010 38.4% 39.5% 16.4% 5.6% 45.2%
2011 36.3% 37.0% 20.7% 5.9% 39.5%
2012 45.4% 36.1% 14.4% 4.1% 45.2%
2013 50.0% 20.7% 20.7% 8.7% 48.3%
2014 40.8% 30.3% 26.3% 2.6% 42.4%
2015 52.7% 28.4% 10.8% 5.4% 41.3%

Hearing requests, orders, time lags, and appeal rates, 1987-2015

Year Requests Orders

Request- 
to-order  

median days Appeal rate
Hearing requests peaked in 1989. The 7,165 requests in 2015 was 
the lowest number on record and 26 percent of the 1989 hearing 
requests. 

Hearing requests have dropped for three primary reasons: fewer 
injuries and accepted disabling claims; law changes that have 
reduced litigation about permanent disability; and other reform 
measures implemented to reduce litigation, including the provision 
for claim disposition agreements. Since the mid-1990s, the decline 
in the number of claims has been the primary cause of the decline 
in hearing requests. 

HB 2900 (1987) required that a hearing be scheduled within 90 
days and an order published within 30 days of the hearing. The 
median time between request and order was 127 days in 2015.

Notes: Counts include settlements received without a prior hearing 
request and cases generated in order to record a mediation 
result. Appeal rates are based on all hearing order types, not just 
appealable orders.

All data exclude safety cases. WCD contested cases are 
considered in only the Requests and Orders columns.

1987 20,397 23,680 224 8.1%
1988 23,316 26,386 114 9.0%
1989 27,549 24,890 116 8.7%
1990 24,018 25,073 147 7.3%
1991 19,673 21,368 133 12.2%
1992 17,490 19,580 125 12.6%
1993 16,422 16,888 119 11.3%
1994 16,527 15,751 121 11.3%
1995 14,862 16,798 124 10.6%
1996 12,351 13,341 120 11.5%
1997 11,266 11,596 122 12.5%
1998 11,059 11,271 121 11.7%
1999 11,084 10,846 124 11.5%
2000 10,654 10,935 128 11.0%
2001 11,074 10,269 126 10.6%
2002 10,679 10,830 128 9.8%
2003 10,177 10,429 136 10.9%
2004 9,980 9,531 127 9.6%
2005 9,297 10,006 146 9.0%
2006 9,130 9,442 143 9.4%
2007 9,355 9,261 138 8.6%
2008 9,173 9,084 133 7.9%
2009 8,568 9,044 141 7.8%
2010 8,183 8,580 134 8.0%
2011 7,631 7,759 127 7.7%
2012 7,638 7,523 123 7.5%
2013 7,581 7,670 121 5.6%
2014 7,373 7,461 119 5.5%
2015 7,165 7,123 127 5.4%
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Workers’ Compensation Board mediations, 1996-2015

Year
Mediations 
completed

Percent 
settled

Percent of  
settlements resolved  

by DCS
The board’s mediation program began in June 1996. 

The 91 percent settlement rate of 2013 mediations was one of 
the highest rates on record.

A mediation is considered settled by a disputed claim settlement 
(DCS) if any included case is closed by a DCS.

Note: Data through 2005 are based on mediation worksheets; 
data for 2006 and after are based on mediation events in the 
board’s data system.

1996 128 84% 81%
1997 250 92% 82%
1998 233 90% 87%
1999 216 90% 84%
2000 280 89% 87%
2001 248 85% 93%
2002 285 86% 85%
2003 241 86% 88%
2004 268 84% 81%
2005 270 87% 82%
2006 356 88% 77%
2007 346 89% 79%
2008 398 90% 76%
2009 487 89% 80%
2010 439 91% 81%
2011 406 90% 82%
2012 387 89% 85%
2013 425 91% 78%
2014 404 87% 77%
2015 365 88% 78%

Percentage of hearing orders involving selected issues, 1987-2015

Year
Permanent 
disability

Claim 
denial

Partial 
denial

Insurer 
penalty Permanent disability was the most frequent hearing issue 

until 1989, when whole claim denial replaced it. Since 2008, 
permanent disability has been an issue in 4 percent or less of 
hearings. Since 1990, partial denial has risen from 9 percent to 
more than 47 percent of hearings orders.

The reasons for the relative frequency change of permanent 
disability were HB 2900 in 1987 (disability standards), SB 1197 in 
1990 (department reconsiderations, medical arbiters, and CDAs), 
and SB 369 in 1995 (limitations on issues and evidence, and the 
definition of “gainful employment”).

Notes: This table does not include all issues. Also, orders may 
deal with multiple cases, and each case may have multiple 
issues. Issues are not recorded for cases that are dismissed or 
withdrawn, so these percentages are based on opinion and order 
cases and settlements.

1987 46.1% 24.5% 9.3% 14.6%
1988 39.7% 24.5% 10.4% 16.4%
1989 31.9% 32.3% 7.3% 16.6%
1990 33.3% 34.8% 8.8% 14.6%
1991 18.2% 43.7% 14.5% 10.0%
1992 15.7% 40.9% 14.7% 7.5%
1993 12.6% 48.7% 14.5% 10.3%
1994 11.6% 44.7% 19.9% 12.5%
1995 10.4% 39.4% 27.5% 12.1%
1996 11.5% 38.2% 34.4% 8.4%
1997 10.1% 46.6% 24.6% 5.9%
1998 7.6% 42.9% 33.4% 7.2%
1999 7.8% 42.5% 33.9% 7.8%
2000 7.5% 40.7% 36.2% 7.4%
2001 6.1% 39.7% 38.7% 8.1%
2002 6.3% 39.7% 38.9% 6.6%
2003 5.6% 40.7% 38.0% 7.2%
2004 6.6% 39.7% 37.8% 7.5%
2005 5.3% 41.5% 38.1% 7.3%
2006 4.5% 39.8% 38.7% 7.7%
2007 4.6% 37.6% 40.6% 8.6%
2008 4.0% 36.3% 43.5% 7.8%
2009 3.9% 35.8% 44.8% 7.3%
2010 3.5% 34.3% 47.3% 6.9%
2011 2.8% 35.8% 47.3% 5.8%
2012 2.5% 36.6% 45.8% 6.7%
2013 1.7% 34.1% 41.1% 5.6%
2014 1.8% 33.0% 42.0% 6.3%
2015 2.7% 38.4% 47.4% 2.8%
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Issues in WCB mediations, 1996-2015

Year Disease Compensability
Non-WCB 

issues
“Disease” means compensability of an occupational disease; it 
includes mental disorder.

“Non-WCB issues” includes employment rights, Workers’ 
Compensation Division issues, torts, contracts, and other civil 
actions.

In 2014, the cases resolved by mediation that included 
compensability as an issue dropped to an all-time low of 70 
percent. In 2015, 76 percent of cases resolved by mediation fell 
into this category. The percentage of mediations that included 
non-WCB issues has ranged from 2013’s record-low 24 percent 
to 55 percent.

In 2006, the mediations went from a paper system to a 
computer system. The percentages from 2006 forward are 
different from those reported in previous reports due to a 
change in computation methods.

1996 50% N/A N/A
1997 50% 90% 40%
1998 44% 98% 47%
1999 63% N/A 46%
2000 41% 97% 43%
2001 49% 99% 51%
2002 42% 95% 55%
2003 41% 99% 45%
2004 31% 97% 50%
2005 67% 94% 47%

-----------------> series break
2006 47% 82% 31%
2007 27% 83% 38%
2008 28% 77% 31%
2009 27% 78% 30%
2010 33% 81% 26%
2011 30% 84% 30%
2012 30% 83% 33%
2013 26% 81% 24%
2014 28% 70% 27%
2015 31% 76% 30%

Board review requests, orders, time lags, and appeal rates, 1987-2015

Year Requests Orders

Request-to- 
order median 

days
Appeal 
rates

The number of requests for board review peaked in 1991. 
Requests have dropped primarily because the number of hearing 
opinion and orders (judge’s decision on the merits) has dropped 
from the high of 7,000 in 1988 to fewer than 900 in 2014.

HB 2900 (1987) required a board review to be scheduled within 
90 days and an order published within 30 days of the review.

The appeal rate of board-review orders dropped immediately from 
the 1987 peak. One reason was that HB 2900 changed the court’s 
review standard from de novo to “substantial evidence.”

Note: Counts exclude crime-victim and third-party cases, 
reconsideration orders, and on-remand orders. Appeal rates are 
based on all board-review order types, not just orders on review.

1987 1,719 1,222 259 29.6%
1988 2,151 991 306 12.8%
1989 1,944 1,576 548 13.6%
1990 1,653 3,067 458 17.2%
1991 2,346 2,064 264 23.8%
1992 2,230 2,487 255 27.9%
1993 1,726 1,931 256 19.5%
1994 1,599 1,814 238 20.1%
1995 1,553 1,655 204 17.4%
1996 1,381 1,676 163 17.9%
1997 1,307 1,229 160 18.2%
1998 1,187 1,358 134 18.5%
1999 1,141 1,147 125 19.1%
2000 1,076 1,166 118 21.2%
2001 966 860 110 22.9%
2002 939 818 209 14.5%
2003 996 1,023 161 19.2%
2004 802 912 162 17.9%
2005 796 770 140 13.8%
2006 782 738 167 14.9%
2007 705 701 170 14.4%
2008 625 721 196 14.6%
2009 601 582 172 12.9%
2010 588 614 187 12.4%
2011 517 551 189 14.0%
2012 492 493 185 17.8%
2013 426 473 167 13.3%
2014 404 395 163 18.7%
2015 386 394 174 18.0%
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Board own-motion orders, 1987-2015
Year BOM orders

In 1987, the Legislature (HB 2900) limited worker benefits by 
own motion. The number of board own-motion orders peaked in 
1991.

The 2001 Legislature (SB 485) provided for benefits when 
curative treatment is in lieu of hospitalization, new and omitted 
medical condition claims, and permanent disability. These 
actions may account for the increase in orders in 2003 to 2005 
over 2002.

Lawmakers in 2005 (HB 2294) required that a condition must be 
compensable before an own-motion claim may be processed, 
reducing numbers of own-motion claims.

Insurers may decide to reopen a claim voluntarily; in this case, 
there is no Board Own Motion order, so the number of orders is 
fewer than the number of claims receiving benefits.

1987 612
1988 724
1989 703
1990 962
1991 1,135
1992 1,003
1993 927
1994 845
1995 751
1996 659
1997 616
1998 639
1999 593
2000 555
2001 431
2002 243
2003 395
2004 496
2005 466
2006 183
2007 179
2008 198
2009 166
2010 213
2011 156
2012 139
2013 120
2014 65
2015 59
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Court of Appeals requests, remands, decisions, and time lags, 1987-2015

Year Requests Remands Decisions
Request-to-decision 

median days Appeals to the court peaked in 1992; in 2015, the 
number of appeals, 71, was just 10 percent of the 
peak number, 695, in 1992.

The primary reasons for the subsequent decline 
are the decreasing numbers of orders on review 
and the change in the court’s review standard.

Time lags for court decisions climbed for six 
straight years between 1996 and 2002. Time lags 
reached a record-high 677 days in 2014.

Notes: Decisions exclude court dismissals. Time 
lags exclude dismissals. 

Series break: 1998 was the first year of the 
“Appeals to Board and Court of Appeals” monthly 
report data. From 1998 and later, the Remands are 
included.

1987 362 287 335
1988 127 283 323
1989 214 108 281
1990 528 178 298
1991 491 332 293
1992 695 247 321
1993 377 285 295
1994 365 239 286
1995 288 172 299
1996 300 175 288
1997 224 160 318

--------------------------->Series break 
1998 251 62 123 330
1999 219 33 102 343
2000 247 44 94 376
2001 197 60 104 426
2002 119 44 101 458
2003 196 26 55 457
2004 163 30 86 441
2005 106 25 60 440
2006 110 27 43 482
2007 101 27 65 453
2008 105 2 36 476
2009 75 1 36 553
2010 76 7 47 573
2011 77 7 40 586
2012 88 5 34 482
2013 63 6 32 654
2014 74 2 22 677
2015 71 12 37 658

Median time lag (days) from injury to order, 1987-2015
Year Hearings Board Court

Times from injury to order at the Hearings and Board Review 
levels have declined substantially since 1987, in large part due to 
the change in the mix of issues. Whole-claim denial is generally 
the first possible issue in a claim and Hearings the first level of 
appeal.

Notes: Data are for all order types except Court of Appeals 
dismissals. The 2015 court lag of 1,904 days equates to around 
5.2 years.

1987 758 1,067 1,496
1988 677 1,098 1,606
1989 602 1,320 1,512
1990 617 1,169 1,770
1991 659 978 1,512
1992 655 1,047 1,549
1993 598 966 1,443
1994 561 870 1,402
1995 574 817 1,490
1996 532 763 1,247
1997 502 723 1,484
1998 488 716 1,330
1999 485 685 1,446
2000 506 721 1,238
2001 496 714 1,281
2002 549 811 1,311
2003 541 780 1,369
2004 535 806 1,481
2005 559 827 1,446
2006 537 831 1,447
2007 533 834 1,440
2008 541 855 1,455
2009 564 890 1,790
2010 581 867 1,570
2011 539 902 1,681
2012 498 862 1,434
2013 650 857 1,894
2014 605 805 1,811
2015 528 841 1,904
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Claim disposition agreements, 1990-2015

Year
CDAs  

approved
Total amount  
($ millions) SB 1197 authorized claim disposition agreements in 1990. 

In 2004, 2,869 CDAs were approved, the fewest since 1991. 
Since that time, the numbers of CDAs approved and total dollar 
amounts have risen. A record and near record of $66.8 million, 
$66.6 million, and $67.0 million was paid in CDAs in 2010, 2011, 
and again in 2015. Total amounts include claimant attorney fees.

1990 362 $6.9
1991 2,840 45.6
1992 3,229 47.0
1993 3,304 42.5
1994 3,260 41.8
1995 3,929 48.6
1996 3,564 45.0
1997 3,268 44.3
1998 3,074 37.7
1999 3,073 39.7
2000 3,144 39.9
2001 3,143 39.3
2002 3,207 44.9
2003 3,040 41.2
2004 2,869 43.8
2005 2,923 43.7
2006 2,958 52.2
2007 3,058 52.6
2008 3,199 62.9
2009 3,473 65.2
2010 3,361 66.8
2011 3,209 66.6
2012 3,039 59.8
2013 3,038 61.5
2014 2,978 62.0
2015 3,129 67.0

Disputed claim settlements, 1987-2015

Year Cases 
Amount 

($ millions)
DCSs with 

CDAs The number of DCSs has remained fairly steady over the past 10 
years, averaging around 3,400 per year. In 2015, DCSs were 46 
percent of all hearing orders.

The DCS settlement amounts exceeded $34 million in 2015; the 
amounts have been fairly constant over the past five years.

Insurers and claimants often negotiate DCSs and CDAs at the 
same time. Over the past decade, 45 percent of the DCSs have 
been accompanied by a CDA issued at approximately the same 
time.

Notes: While most DCSs are issued at the Hearings Division, 
about 1 percent are issued by the board. The figures since 1992 
include the DCSs issued by the board. Since 2000, the figures 
include DCSs approved by the board after a remand or dismissal 
by the Court of Appeals.

The settlement amounts include the claimant attorney fees.

The DCSs with CDA figures are the DCSs with a CDA issued 
within 60 days of the DCS order date. In some cases, the two 
settlements may occur in different years.

1987 3,778 $18.2 -
1988 4,139 21.6 -
1989 4,365 22.5 -
1990 5,374 29.1 90
1991 6,021 32.6 768
1992 5,006 26.7 944
1993 4,784 26.0 1,069
1994 4,164 21.6 1,057
1995 4,507 22.7 1,330
1996 4,056 19.7 1,313
1997 3,895 19.6 1,355
1998 3,956 20.7 1,364
1999 3,761 20.0 1,372
2000 4,074 23.5 1,599
2001 3,967 22.1 1,619
2002 3,999 24.0 1,765
2003 3,774 23.0 1,614
2004 3,281 21.8 1,479
2005 3,461 23.4 1,359
2006 3,221 23.2 1,265
2007 3,324 24.8 1,428
2008 3,379 27.8 1,482
2009 3,652 32.0 1,598
2010 3,394 33.9 1,560
2011 3,351 32.3 1,527
2012 3,253 29.9 1,472
2013 3,578 34.4 1,519
2014 3,570 35.7 1,515
2015 3,306 34.7 1,487
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Defense legal costs, 1989-2015

Year
Defense legal costs 

($ millions) In 2015, Oregon workers’ compensation insurance carriers and self-insured 
employers paid almost $36.1 million for attorney salaries, attorney fees, and 
other legal services for workers’ compensation cases.

Insurer defense costs are primarily for defending the insurer against claims 
or benefits believed to be unwarranted; they may also include costs to 
represent the insurer in responsibility disputes (where outcomes may 
not directly affect workers) and for services outside of litigation (such as 
negotiating claim disposition agreements).

Defense legal costs differ from claimant attorney fees in several ways: They 
are the actual amounts in total paid rather than the amounts in rule; they are 
not reversible on appeal; there may be fees paid to multiple attorneys on a 
single dispute; and the fees reported are the total by firm and not on a per a 
claim basis.

1989 $23.4
1990 26.1
1991 27.0
1992 28.2
1993 27.2
1994 25.7
1995 27.4
1996 25.3
1997 24.3
1998 24.2
1999 24.2
2000 23.9
2001 25.7
2002 25.3
2003 27.1
2004 27.7
2005 29.4
2006 29.7
2007 30.2
2008 32.4
2009 37.9
2010 38.3
2011 36.2
2012 36.0
2013 34.7
2014 35.0
2015 36.1
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Claimant attorney fees, 1987-2015

Year
Hearings 

($ thousands)
Board 

($ thousands)
CDA 

($ thousands)
Reconsideration 
($ thousands)

Other 
($ thousands)

Total
($ thousands) Claimants’ attorneys received 

about $21.9 million in 
compensation in 2015. The 
majority of the money is 
awarded in compensability 
disputes at Hearings and in 
claim disposition agreements. 

Attorney fees are set by statute 
and rule and have changed 
over time. Bills changing fees in 
SB 369 (1995), SB 620 (2003), 
HB 3345 (2009), and HB 2764 
(2015) 

Information about series 
breaks:

Break #1. Beginning with 2004, 
data on fees at the Court of 
Appeals and in department 
medical service and vocational 
assistance disputes were 
available. For 2004-2006, these 
added fees were 1.5 percent to 
1.9 percent of the total.

Break #2. For 2007, data on 
fees for WCD contested cases 
at hearing and board own 
motion were available. Added 
fees in 2007 were 0.4 percent 
of total fees. Own motion fees 
are estimated. Fees are tracked 
on a per claim basis.

1987 $14,187 $226 - - - $14,400
1988 15,967 335 - - - $16,300
1989 15,953 656 - - - $16,600
1990 15,902 1,007 $900 $1 - $17,800
1991 13,796 905 6,429 277 - $21,400
1992 12,505 1,067 7,096 727 - $21,400
1993 11,145 1,165 6,658 858 - $19,800
1994 10,400 1,140 6,511 835 - $18,900
1995 10,859 826 7,315 880 - $19,900
1996 9,100 857 6,677 819 - $17,500
1997 8,518 753 5,999 675 - $16,000
1998 8,863 802 5,664 757 - $16,100
1999 8,537 612 5,908 756 - $15,800
2000 9,128 693 6,118 776 - $16,700
2001 8,540 612 6,115 826 - $16,100
2002 8,914 626 6,880 771 - $17,200
2003 8,989 721 6,540 810 - $17,100

--------------------------->Series break #1
2004 8,886 790 6,787 893 334 $17,700
2005 9,490 762 6,784 976 333 $18,400
2006 9,681 757 7,294 938 288 $19,000

--------------------------->Series break #2
2007 9,647 746 7,692 814 393 $19,300
2008 10,139 951 8,856 707 381 $21,100
2009 11,295 778 9,129 670 314 $22,300
2010 11,603 980 9,008 576 387 $22,600
2011 10,382 900 9,200 494 393 $21,400
2012 10,007 860 7,964 474 370 $19,700
2013 10,771 886 8,277 430 381 $20,700
2014 11,712 797 8,352 521 294 $21,700
2015 11,326 975 8,918 309 404 $21,932
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Claimant attorney fees from lump-sum settlements, 1989-2015

Year
Hearing DCS  
($ thousands)

Board DCS  
($ thousands)

Total Lump Sum  
($ thousands)

Lump sum 
percentage Lump-sum attorney fees are from 

claim disposition agreements and 
disputed claim settlements (CDA 
attorney fees are shown in the 
previous table). Lump-sum fees 
increased from 25 percent of all 
attorney fees in 1989 (before CDAs) 
to 66 percent in 2002, a level 
reached again in 2008. In 2015, 
lump-sum fees were almost 70 
percent of all claimant attorney fees 
and were the third highest recorded.

In 1989, DCSs accounted for 26 
percent of all hearing fees. This 
percentage peaked in 2002 at 50 
percent; it reached 50 percent again 
in 2010, and a record-high 55.4 
percent in 2013.

Note: The 1989-1991 board DCS 
figures are estimates.

1989 $4,049 $98 $4,147 25.0%
1990 5,222 151 6,273 32.5%
1991 6,107 136 12,672 59.2%
1992 4,978 164 12,238 57.2%
1993 4,708 222 11,588 58.4%
1994 4,105 143 10,759 57.0%
1995 4,376 106 11,797 59.3%
1996 3,787 129 10,593 60.7%
1997 3,629 121 9,749 61.1%
1998 3,954 57 9,675 60.1%
1999 3,787 67 9,762 61.7%
2000 4,338 168 10,624 63.6%
2001 4,145 149 10,409 64.7%
2002 4,407 170 11,457 66.6%
2003 4,318 196 11,054 64.8%
2004 3,910 200 10,897 61.6%
2005 4,316 178 11,278 61.5%
2006 4,270 146 11,710 61.7%
2007 4,528 152 12,373 64.1%
2008 4,847 226 13,966 66.3%
2009 5,508 150 14,873 66.8%
2010 5,830 178 15,016 66.6%
2011 5,490 194 14,884 69.7%
2012 5,157 162 13,283 67.5%
2013 5,969 154 14,738 71.0%
2014 6,229 129 14,710 67.9%
2015 6,078 75 15,071 68.7%

Maximum out-of-compensation attorney fees, 1988 to present
Hearings 1/1988 to 2/1999 2/1999 to 10/2016 11/2016 to present

PTD is permanent total disability. PPD is permanent 
partial disability. DCS is disputed claim settlement. 
CDA is claim disposition agreement.

For PTD, PPD, and time loss, attorney fees allowed 
are 25 percent of increased compensation award, 
subject to these limitations. Fees may exceed these 
limitations in extraordinary circumstances. As of 
1/1/2016 time loss was changed to an assessed fee.

CDAs and DCSs 25% to threshold then 10% of 
remainder

PTD $4,600 $12,500 $20,000 

PPD 2,800 4,600 25% no cap 
assessedTime loss 1,050 1,500

DCS 
threshold

$12,500 $17,500 $50,000 

Board 1/1988 to 2/1999 2/1999 to 10/2016 11/2016 to present

PTD $6,000 $16,300 $30,000 

PPD 3,800 6,000 25% no cap 
assessedTime loss 3,800 5,000

CDA 
threshold

$12,500 $17,500 $50,000 
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Insurance and Self-insurance
Oregon law requires that every employer provide 
workers’ compensation coverage for its employees. 
Employers either purchase insurance or become 
self-insured. The Department of  Consumer and 
Business Services’ Division of  Financial Regulation 
provides financial, rate, and trade practices regulation 
of  insurance companies (including SAIF), while the 
Workers’ Compensation Division (WCD) regulates 
benefits, coverage, and claims practices. WCD also 
regulates self-insured employers. 

Every two years, the department studies the workers’ 
compensation insurance rates in other states. An index 
is then created that applies each state’s rates to Oregon’s 
distribution of  occupations. Using this measure, 
Oregon’s average premium rate was 69 percent of  
the national median in 2016. Over the past 20 years, 
Oregon’s rates have generally been between 69 percent 
and 85 percent of  the national median.

History of reform
In the late 1980s, the Oregon workers’ compensation 
insurance market was under financial strain. Premiums 
and system losses were at all-time highs and SAIF 
was losing $1 million each week. As a result, SAIF 
canceled the policies of  thousands of  small employers. 
Many employers were unable to get new policies from 
private insurers and ended up in the assigned risk pool. 
This situation was one of  the principal reasons for the 
Legislature’s 1990 special session.

Before 1990, HB 2900 (1987) allowed employers to 
exclude some claims costs from their loss experience. 
Employers were allowed to pay up to $500 in medical 
costs for nondisabling claims; these costs were excluded 
from their rating experience. HB 3318 (2005) increased 
the exclusionary amount from $500 to $1,500. SB 762 
(2007) added an annual adjustment of  this amount, 
based on the change in the medical services Consumer 
Price Index, rounded to the nearest $100.

The reforms also provided employer incentives to 
lower some claim costs by limiting claim duration. 
Through the Preferred Worker Program, employers 
are encouraged to hire injured workers who have 
not returned to work. HB 2900 excluded claim 
costs incurred as a result of  an injury sustained by a 

preferred worker during the first two years of  hire. SB 
1197 (1990) extended this exemption from two to three 
years. 

HB 2900 also restricted the eligibility for board own 
motion relief  (aggravation more than five years after the 
first claim closure) and directed that these costs be paid 
from the Workers’ Benefit Fund and excluded from the 
employers’ loss experience.

Workers’ compensation  
premiums and rates
Oregon has employed a competitive ratemaking 
system for workers’ compensation insurance since 
July 1, 1982. Under this system, the National Council 
on Compensation Insurance develops pure premium 
rates for each of  more than 500 rating classifications, 
based on expected losses. These rates are subject to the 
approval of  the Oregon insurance commissioner. Pure 
premium covers only benefit costs; it is based on claims 
from recent injuries. 

Oregon had a period of  21 years, from 1991 through 
2011, without an increase in workers’ compensation 
pure premium rates. Small pure premium increases 
were approved for 2012 and 2013 rates. Fairly large 
pure premium decreases were approved for the latest 
four years, 2014 to 2017. The cumulative effect of  these 
pure premium rate changes is that 2017 pure premium 
rates are 77 percent of  the 2013 rates.

Under Oregon’s ratemaking system, each insurer 
develops a loss-cost multiplier, which covers the insurer’s 
operating expenses, taxes, profit, and contingencies. 
This factor is multiplied by the pure premium rate 
for a rating classification to arrive at the manual rate. 
The manual rate is applied to the employer’s payroll 
to determine gross premium. In 2015, the average 
expense-loading factor for SAIF and private insurers 
was 1.296.

Workers’ compensation total system written premiums 
totaled $907.6 million in 2015. Premiums exceeded 
$1 billion in 2007. From 2007 to 2010, the premium 
dropped 31 percent to $729.1 million. With the 
economic recovery, premiums have grown again. 
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The department defines total system written premiums 
as the following:

�� Premiums written by SAIF 

�� Premiums written by private insurers

�� Credits from the large-deductible premium policies 
issued by private insurers

�� Simulated premium that is calculated for each self-
insured employer to set its workers’ compensation 
assessment

Total system written premiums can be used to 
determine workers’ compensation market share. In 
2015, SAIF’s share of  the market was 52 percent. This 
represents SAIF’s largest market share since at least 
1980. 

Although about 450 private insurers are authorized to 
write workers’ compensation insurance in Oregon, only 
208 reported positive premium written in 2015. Private 
insurers had 35 percent of  the market. 

One measure of  an insurer’s financial condition is its 
loss ratio. The loss ratio is defined as incurred losses 
divided by earned premiums. In 2015, SAIF’s loss ratio 
was 43.9 percent, and private insurers’ average loss 

ratio was 67.7 percent. SAIF’s loss ratio was among the 
lowest ratios reported in the past 25 years. 

Another measure of  an insurer’s financial condition 
is the dividends it pays to its policyholders. Dividends 
depend on premiums and insurers’ profitability in 
previous years. SAIF paid about $915 million in 
dividends during the period from 2010 to 2015. Private 
insurers paid $4.9 million over the same period.

Large-deductible premium policies
In 1996, large-deductible premium policies were 
added as an option for Oregon employers. Under these 
policies, insurers administer workers’ compensation 
claims and pay the claims costs. Employers then 
reimburse insurers for claims costs up to the specified 
deductible amount. Employers pay lower premiums 
for these policies. However, insurers and employers 
are assessed on the premium before the deductions. 
A large-deductible premium credit represents the 
difference in premium with and without the reported 
deduction.

Few credits were applied in 1996, but the program grew 
rapidly to $96.9 million in credits in 2007. Although the 
number of  credits fell during the recession, the number 
had returned to $97.0 million in 2013. In 2015, these 
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credits represented 34 percent of  the private-sector 
portion of  the workers’ compensation market. 

Self-insured employers and groups
To become self-insured, an employer must meet specific 
financial criteria and must obtain excess workers’ 
compensation insurance from an authorized company. 
This excess insurance protects the self-insured employer 
in the event of  a catastrophic claim. The self-insured 
employer must also have security deposits, surety bonds, 
or letters of  credit with the Workers’ Compensation 
Division. These deposits protect injured employees in 
the event of  the employer’s default.

Five or more employers may form into a self-insured 
employer group if  the group meets specific financial 
and administrative criteria, and the grouping of  
employers is likely to improve accident prevention, 
claims handling for the employers, and reduce expenses. 
Employers who are members of  the group are jointly 
liable for one another’s workers’ compensation claims. 
Self-insured groups must also provide surety bonds or 
letters of  credit to the department to securitize their 
claim liabilities.

In 2010, there were seven self-insured employer 
groups. In early 2011, one self-insured employer 
group representing the contracting industry filed 
for bankruptcy, the first time a group had become 
insolvent. Another group decertified in 2012, and the 
department came close to decertifying an additional 
group in 2013. 

As a result of  these issues, the Legislature enacted 
SB 1558 (2014). The legislation created a number of  
reforms. It required that the group members vote by 
July 1, 2014, to remain a group. Those groups that 
voted to dissolve or were already out of  operation are 
allowed use of  Workers’ Benefit Fund monies to pay 
claim costs. The legislation also gave the director more 
authority over these decertified groups. The three 
groups in financial trouble were decertified under the 
provisions of  this legislation. 

SB 1558 also set additional requirements for the 
remaining four self-insured employer groups.

Oregon Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance Plan (assigned risk plan)
When the Legislature created SAIF in 1965, it provided 
that, if  requested by either SAIF or the National 
Council on Compensation Insurance, the insurance 
commissioner had to promulgate an assigned risk plan 
to make workers’ compensation insurance available to 
employers unable to obtain coverage in the voluntary 
market. The law was amended in 1979 to implement 
such a plan. In 1980, the commissioner adopted rules 
constituting the Oregon Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance Plan and establishing the state’s assigned risk 
plan (ARP).

In 1991, a tiered rating plan was introduced for ARP 
employers too small to qualify for experience rating 
plans. Under the plan, small employers receive a 
premium discount. Most of  the employers in the ARP 
received a non-experience-rated credit of  11 percent. 
In 1994, a second-tier credit was added to the assigned 
risk plan for new small businesses. The additional credit 
is for 15 percent. The tiered rating plan has resulted in 
savings in premium of  about half  a million dollars a 
year.

In 2007, the department released a report it completed 
with technical expertise and guidance from the National 
Council on Compensation Insurance. The report found 
the Oregon assigned risk plan was working well and did 
not need major changes. Recommendations were made 
in three areas:

�� Improve assigned risk plan operations and pricing.

�� Help ARP employers obtain voluntary market 
coverage where possible.

�� Improve incentives and programs that may keep 
employers from entering the plan.

HB 2250, effective Jan. 1, 2008, addressed one of  
the recommendations by permitting a surcharge to 
ARP members to help pay the costs of  assigned risk 
pool losses when they exceed premiums. Otherwise, if  
ARP members’ losses exceed premiums, the voluntary 
market may be required to make up the difference. To 
date, the this surcharge has not been implemented.

SAIF, Liberty Mutual Insurance Corp., Riverport 
Insurance Company, and Travelers Property & 
Casualty Insurance Co. of  America act as service 
providers. Premium rates paid by ARP employers 
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for coverage reflect state pure premium rates and an 
expense-loading factor recommended by NCCI and 
subject to the commissioner’s approval. The National 
Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance Pool provides 
reinsurance with the cost borne by all insurers in 
proportion to their share of  all Oregon workers’ 
compensation premiums written.

The use of  the assigned risk plan has risen and fallen 
over time. In 2005, the most recent peak, more than 
13,000 employers were in the pool. With an effort to 
encourage employers to enroll in the voluntary market 
and due to the effects of  the recession, the number of  
employers in the pool fell to fewer than 8,000 in 2010. 
With the recent recovery, the number of  employer is 
increasing again. In 2015, there were about 9,400 pool 
members; the premiums paid by these employers were 
6.8 percent of  all written premium.

Oregon Insurance  
Guaranty Association
The Oregon Insurance Guaranty Association (OIGA) 
is an insurance organization that pays claims costs 
when one of  its member insurers becomes insolvent. 
Membership is mandatory for all private insurers. The 
OIGA collects assessments from its members to cover 
these costs.

In 2003, HB 3051 changed the method for generating 
these assessments. It authorizes the insurers to recoup 
the assessments by assessing each policyholder an 
amount based on the policyholder’s premium.

Workers’ compensation  
premium assessment
An assessment on workers’ compensation premium 
funds much of  the regulation of  the Oregon workers’ 
compensation system. Insurers collect the assessment 
revenue based on workers’ compensation premiums 
earned in Oregon. For self-insured employers and 
self-insured employer groups, the assessment is based 
on a simulated premium calculated by the department. 
The revenue is deposited into the Premium Assessment 
Operating Account (PAOA). The PAOA also receives 
some fines and penalties, federal grant money, 
investment income, and other miscellaneous revenue. 
The account funds the department’s programs related 
to workplace safety and workers’ compensation. Senate 
Bill 592 in 1999 established the current rules for 
setting the assessment rate. Some funds are paid to the 
Oregon Institute of  Occupational Health Sciences at 
the Oregon Health and Science University. At times, 
the Legislature has also used the account to fund other 
programs.



86

2016 REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM

Workers’ compensation premiums and rate changes, 1987-2017

Year

Total system 
written 

premiums  
($ millions)

Annual 
change 

in written 
premium

Annual pure 
premium 

rate 
changes

Cumulative 
rate 

changes 
since 1990

Total system written premiums exceeded $1 billion in 2007. 
During the most recent recession and its aftermath, premiums 
fell sharply. The $729.1 million in CY 2010 was 31 percent 
below the CY 2007 high, and the CY 2015 figure is still 13 
percent below the CY 2007 figure. Pure premium rates have 
declined by 19 percent over the same period.

Beginning in 1990, Oregon had a 21-year period without 
an increase in pure premium rates. Small increases were 
approved for 2012 and 2013, followed by fairly large decreases 
for 2014 through 2017. 

Notes: Total system written premiums are defined as the 
premium written by SAIF and private insurers, plus the credits 
for large-deductible premium policies, and the simulated 
premium calculated for self-insured employers.

* SAIF Corporation reported its 2007 written premium amount 
was artificially inflated due to a policy system conversion, which 
now recognizes annual written premium at policy inception. 
SAIF estimated this one-time adjustment inflated 2007’s written 
premium by $143.8 million. This inflated figure is included in the 
total system written premium. It has been removed, however, 
from the calculation of the annual change in written premium in 
2007 and 2008. This was done to better show the real change 
in premium.

1987 $677.0 - 14.5%
1988 735.5 8.6% 0.0%
1989 798.8 8.6% 5.2%
1990 852.6 6.7% 6.2%
1991 748.1 -12.3% -12.2% -12.2%
1992 786.1 5.1% -11.0% -21.9%
1993 739.5 -5.9% -11.4% -30.8%
1994 731.2 -1.1% -4.3% -33.7%
1995 750.3 2.6% -3.2% -35.9%
1996 744.0 -0.8% -1.8% -37.0%
1997 733.2 -1.5% -10.5% -43.6%
1998 675.3 -7.9% -15.6% -52.4%
1999 607.6 -10.0% -4.8% -54.7%
2000 615.5 1.3% -2.2% -55.7%
2001 637.0 3.5% -3.7% -57.3%
2002 728.0 14.3% -0.1% -57.4%
2003 758.4 4.2% 0.0% -57.4%
2004 859.0 13.3% 0.0% -57.4%
2005 907.5 5.6% 0.0% -57.4%
2006 982.6 8.3% 0.0% -57.4%
2007 * 1,192.9 6.8% -2.1% -58.3%
2008 945.7 -9.9% -2.3% -59.2%
2009 766.7 -18.9% -5.9% -61.6%
2010 729.1 -4.9% -1.3% -62.1%
2011 813.1 11.5% -1.8% -62.8%
2012 847.2 4.2% 1.9% -62.1%
2013 880.1 3.9% 1.7% -61.5%
2014 903.7 2.7% -7.6% -64.4%
2015 907.6 0.4% -5.3% -66.3%
2016 N/A N/A -5.3% -68.1%
2017 N/A N/A -6.6% -70.2%

Workers’ compensation average premium rate ranking, 1986-2016
Year Rate ranking % of study median rate

Oregon’s average premium rate ranking was the 45th highest in 
the nation in 2016. The average premium index was 69 percent 
of the national study median (a record low). Oregon’s average 
premium has been between 69 percent and 85 percent of the 
national median in almost every study since 1994.

Note: The premium rate ranking is based on the manual rates in 
the 50 states, applied to Oregon’s mix of occupations. The use of 
other occupational distributions may produce different rankings.

1986 6th 137%
1988 8th 142%
1990 8th 149%
1992 22nd 107%
1994 32nd 85%
1996 34th 89%
1998 38th 85%
2000 34th 85%
2002 35th 85%
2004 42nd 79%
2006 42nd 79%
2008 39th 83%
2010 41st 83%
2012 39th 84%
2014 43rd 74%
2016 45th 69%
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Earned large-deductible premium credits, 1996-2015

Year
Premium credits  

($ millions)
% of private insurer  

written premium Earned large-deductible premium credits are credits on 
employers’ workers’ compensation premium. Participating 
employers repay insurers their claims costs up to the deductible 
amounts. 

The use of these credits reached a peak in dollar volume of 
$96.8 million in 2007. With the recession, the amount of these 
credits dropped by 34 percent from 2007 to 2010. The drop was 
completely reversed by 2013.

The use of these premium credits continued to grow as a 
percentage of private insurer premium, even through the 
recession.

1996 $0.6 0.2%
1997 9.3 2.5%
1998 16.2 4.6%
1999 24.4 7.5%
2000 20.9 6.8%
2001 37.7 12.0%
2002 54.8 16.8%
2003 54.4 16.8%
2004 50.8 14.3%
2005 60.3 16.9%
2006 79.8 20.1%
2007 96.8 21.0%
2008 87.8 22.0%
2009 75.7 23.8%
2010 63.6 23.6%
2011 82.3 26.2%
2012 79.5 25.7%
2013 97.0 31.7%
2014 112.2 34.6%
2015 107.0 33.8%

Workers’ compensation market share, by insurer type, 1987-2015

Year SAIF Private insurers
Self-insured 
employers In 2015, SAIF had over half of the market, as measured by total 

system written premiums. This is its highest recorded value. 
Private insurers’ share was about 35 percent.

* SAIF Corporation reported its 2007 written premiums were 
artificially inflated due to a policy system conversion, which 
now recognizes annual written premium at policy inception. 
SAIF estimated this one-time adjustment inflated 2007’s written 
premium by $143.8 million. This amount was removed from 
SAIF’s premiums in the computation of the 2007 market share.

1987 37.9% 47.7% 14.4%
1988 37.0% 47.1% 15.9%
1989 32.5% 52.8% 14.7%
1990 31.1% 54.8% 14.1%
1991 27.3% 56.9% 15.8%
1992 32.7% 50.5% 16.7%
1993 34.7% 48.0% 17.2%
1994 36.0% 48.1% 15.9%
1995 33.2% 50.4% 16.3%
1996 32.6% 50.4% 17.0%
1997 30.9% 52.3% 16.8%
1998 31.0% 53.2% 15.8%
1999 31.4% 53.7% 14.9%
2000 35.7% 50.2% 14.0%
2001 37.2% 49.3% 13.5%
2002 41.7% 44.9% 13.4%
2003 42.5% 42.8% 14.7%
2004 44.3% 41.4% 14.3%
2005 46.1% 39.3% 14.6%
2006 45.8% 40.4% 13.9%
2007 * 42.4% 44.0% 13.6%
2008 42.6% 42.1% 15.2%
2009 40.8% 41.5% 17.7%
2010 44.9% 37.0% 18.1%
2011 44.9% 38.6% 16.5%
2012 47.2% 36.6% 16.2%
2013 49.6% 34.7% 15.7%
2014 50.1% 35.9% 14.1%
2015 51.7% 34.8% 13.4%
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SAIF Corporation financial characteristics, 1987-2015

Year

Total system 
written premiums  

($ millions)
Loss 
ratio

Loss cost 
multipliers

Dividends 
($ millions)

SAIF’s written premium has grown significantly during two recent 
periods: between 1999 and 2006, written premium grew by about 
13 percent per year; and between 2009 and 2015, growth was 7 
percent per year. 

SAIF’s loss ratio (incurred losses divided by earned premiums) 
was 43.9 percent in 2015.

SAIF’s loss cost multiplier covers operating expenses, taxes, 
profit, and contingencies. This factor is multiplied by the pure 
premium rate and applied to the employer’s payroll to determine 
gross premium. 

SAIF has paid almost $915 million in dividends in the past 
six years (the negative dividend figure in 2002 represented 
uncashed dividend checks credited back to SAIF).

* Note: SAIF Corporation reported its 2007 written premium 
amount was artificially inflated due to a policy system conversion, 
which now recognizes annual written premium at policy 
inception. SAIF estimated this one-time adjustment has inflated 
2007’s written premium by $143.8 million. Therefore, a more 
representative figure for SAIF’s 2007 premium is $445.1 million.

1987 $256.3 114.4 1.190 $0.5
1988 272.2 134.8 1.251 0.6
1989 259.8 104.8 1.270 0.0
1990 265.4 69.3 1.229 20.4
1991 204.6 72.6 1.200 17.7
1992 257.4 3.7 1.211 22.6
1993 256.8 121.0 1.209 32.6
1994 262.9 69.2 1.178 29.7
1995 249.3 82.4 1.206 80.2
1996 242.2 125.6 1.200 50.1
1997 223.6 66.6 1.193 69.8
1998 205.7 40.6 1.130 121.1
1999 191.0 140.4 1.097 211.5
2000 220.0 166.2 1.103 159.4
2001 237.0 94.5 1.108 0.1
2002 303.4 108.9 1.129 -0.6
2003 322.0 109.5 1.149 0.2
2004 380.2 123.3 1.203 2.0
2005 418.3 65.8 1.204 0.0
2006 449.8 92.9 1.208 0.0
2007 * 588.9 86.4 1.211 60.0
2008 403.1 87.5 1.204 0.0
2009 312.9 88.6 1.201 0.0
2010 327.4 98.6 1.195 200.5
2011 365.2 65.5 1.197 150.0
2012 399.8 66.1 1.209 149.9
2013 436.2 55.0 1.213 129.2
2014 452.4 39.4 1.223 164.9
2015 469.5 43.9 1.258 120.0
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Private insurers’ financial characteristics, 1987-2015

Year

Total system 
written premiums  

($ millions)
Loss 
ratio

Loss cost 
multipliers

Dividends 
($ millions)

Private insurers’ written premium (including large-deductible 
premiums) grew at a rate of 5.9 percent per year between 2000 and 
2007. After falling during the recession, it has been in the range 
of $305.8 million to $324.2 million for six of the past seven years.  
During this leveling period for private insurers (2009 - 2015), SAIF’s 
written premium has climbed rapidly. One factor in this different 
recovery between SAIF and the private insurers is that Liberty NW 
has declined from a high of $122.5 million in 2006 down to $6.4 
million in 2015. 

The loss ratio for all private insurers (incurred losses divided by 
earned premiums) was 109.1 percent in 2010. This was the first 
time the loss ratio had been above 100 since 1984. It has now 
dropped to a level of 67.7.

Each private insurer develops a loss cost multiplier to cover 
operating expenses, taxes, profit, and contingencies. These 
factors are multiplied by the pure premium rate and applied to the 
employer’s payroll to determine gross premium. The average 2015 
factor was 1.381.

1987 $323.1 84.6 1.262 $3.0
1988 346.5 80.0 1.264 7.1
1989 421.8 83.3 1.266 8.4
1990 467.0 69.0 1.279 7.6
1991 425.5 61.9 1.308 10.0
1992 397.2 65.6 1.300 14.3
1993 355.2 66.1 1.301 10.1
1994 351.6 72.8 1.289 12.5
1995 378.4 68.2 1.269 12.5
1996 374.8 66.8 1.207 10.3
1997 378.4 62.2 1.213 9.4
1998 353.6 71.3 1.232 10.3
1999 326.0 69.4 1.216 11.6
2000 309.1 78.4 1.238 10.3
2001 314.0 88.7 1.272 8.4
2002 327.0 66.7 1.349 6.0
2003 324.7 91.2 1.384 3.1
2004 355.7 88.0 1.382 2.6
2005 356.7 83.2 1.423 1.4
2006 396.7 81.1 1.413 2.2
2007 461.9 69.7 1.415 1.9
2008 398.5 71.0 1.397 1.1
2009 318.3 66.2 1.362 2.9
2010 269.9 109.1 1.363 1.1
2011 313.7 66.0 1.344 1.2
2012 310.1 50.1 1.339 0.6
2013 305.8 51.2 1.337 0.5
2014 324.2 50.9 1.377 0.6
2015 316.2 67.7 1.381 0.9
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WC Insurance Plan (Assigned Risk Pool) characteristics, 1987-2015

Year
Covered 

employers
Pool premium 

($ millions)
Percent of written 

premium After declining during the late 1990s, the assigned risk pool grew 
rapidly between 2000 and 2003, from 3 percent to 9 percent 
of the total premium. It has again cycled, down to 4 percent of 
written premium in 2010 and 2011 and climbed back up in 2012 
and 2013.

Although the number of employers in the pool stayed roughly 
constant from 2004 through 2007, the pool premium declined 
as a percentage of written premium. From 2008 to 2010, the 
number of covered employers decreased markedly. Fewer than 
8,000 employers were in the pool during 2010-2012. 2013 saw 
a marked increase in covered employers, but still less than the 
2002-2009 range of values.

1987 1,935 $19.4 3.4%
1988 1,872 20.1 3.3%
1989 3,658 28.8 4.2%
1990 12,765 71.9 9.8%
1991 11,970 71.7 11.4%
1992 12,140 50.2 7.7%
1993 16,056 48.6 8.0%
1994 18,008 53.1 8.7%
1995 17,982 49.1 7.9%
1996 13,627 34.5 5.6%
1997 12,771 24.7 4.2%
1998 11,369 21.3 3.8%
1999 9,739 17.3 3.4%
2000 7,414 16.5 3.2%
2001 8,533 25.2 4.9%
2002 10,981 42.4 7.4%
2003 12,421 55.6 9.4%
2004 12,761 57.5 8.4%
2005 13,054 58.9 8.2%
2006 12,799 59.4 7.7%
2007 12,023 55.6 5.8%
2008 10,617 38.2 5.4%
2009 9,242 24.3 4.5%
2010 7,853 21.9 4.2%
2011 7,875 22.3 3.7%
2012 7,956 31.4 5.0%
2013 8,794 43.6 6.8%
2014 9,246 44.6 6.7%
2015 9,383 46.0 6.8%
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Appendices
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Safety and Health
1987
654.086 Increased penalties against employers who 
violate the state safety and health act. (HB 2900)

654.090 (4) Expanded the purposes of  ORS Chapter 
654 to promote more effective safety and health 
educational efforts. (HB 2900)

654.097 Required insurers and self-insured 
employers to provide safety and health loss-prevention 
consultative programs that conform to department 
standards. (HB 2900)

1989
654.191 and 705.145 Established the Occupational 
Safety and Health Grant program to fund organizations 
and associations to develop training programs for 
employees in safe employment practices. (HB 2982)

1990
654.176 (1) Required that all employers with more 
than 10 employees establish a safety and health 
committee. The legislation also required that employers 
with 10 or fewer employees establish safety committees 
if  the employer has had a lost workday cases incidence 
rate in the top 10 percent of  all rates for employers 
in the same industry or is subject to a premium 
classification in the highest 25 percent of  premium 
rates. (SB 1197)

1991
654.086 Mandated penalty increases to federal 
maximums against employers who violate occupational 
safety and health standards. (HB 3017)

1995
654.154 (1) Exempted small agricultural employers 
(10 or fewer employees) meeting certain criteria from 
scheduled inspections by Oregon OSHA. (HB 3019) 
(Now 654.172)

654.176 (1) Exempted small agricultural employers 
(10 or fewer employees) from Oregon OSHA safety 
committee requirements unless the employer has a lost 
workday cases incidence rate in the top 10 percent of  
all rates for employers in the same industry. (HB 2541)

656.622 Established a Worksite Redesign Program, 
including engineering design work and occupational 
health consulting services, to prevent the recurrence of  
on-the-job injuries. (SB 369) (This program’s funding was 
eliminated by the 2001 Legislature by removing the funds 
from the department’s budget in SB 5507.)

1997
656.796 This section was repealed, and the State 
Advisory Council on Occupational Safety and Health 
was abolished. (SB 135)

658.790 Transferred enforcement authority of  the 
law from the Bureau of  Labor and Industries to the 
department. Required farmworker camp operators to 
provide seven days of  housing in the event of  camp 
closure by a government agency. (SB 38)

1999
654.005 Exempted corporate farms from safety and 
health requirements when the farm’s only employees 
are family members. (HB 2402)

654.003, 654.035, 654.067, and 654.071 Provided 
that Oregon OSHA schedule inspections by focusing 
resources on the most unsafe places of  employment. 
(HB 2830)

2001
654.086 (4) & (5) and 658.815 (1) Established 
a Farmworker Housing Development Account and 
directed that money collected from civil penalties 
imposed for the nonregistration of  farmworker camps 
be put in the account. The purpose of  the account is 
to expand the state’s supply of  housing for low-income 
farmworkers. (HB 3573)

Chapter 625, 2001 laws Amended tax law to 
transfer the administration of  the Farmworker Housing 
Tax Credit from Oregon OSHA to the Oregon 
Department of  Housing and Community Services.  
(HB 3172)

Chapter 635, 2001 laws Amended tax law to make 
the Farmworker Housing Construction Tax Program 
permanent. Also amended the program. (HB 3173)

Appendix 1 - Workers’ Compensation Reform Legislation
Major legislative reform of  the Oregon workers’ compensation system began during the 1987 legislative session. A 
chronology of  important legislative changes since then is provided below.
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2003
654.035 (2) Revised the authority for the director 
to adopt rules, regulations, codes, or special orders 
related to worker safety for construction involving steel 
erection. Prohibited the director from requiring the 
use of  fall protection for workers engaged in certain 
steel erection activities at heights lower than the fall 
protection trigger heights for steel erection required 
by federal regulation. (HB 3010) (In 2007, HB 3400 
rescinded this change.)

2005
654.035 (1)(d) Removed the accepted disabling claims 
rate as one of  the criteria used by Oregon OSHA when 
identifying employers who will receive notification of  
the increased likelihood of  having a workplace safety 
inspection. Provided the director with the authority to 
determine which industries and workplaces are most 
unsafe and should receive this notification. (HB 2093)

2007
654.176(2), 654.182, and 654.182 (1)(f) 
Eliminated the 10-employee threshold from statute 
and replaced the safety committee requirement with a 
requirement for all employers to have safety committees 
or use safety meetings under rules adopted by DCBS. 
The bill requires appropriate consideration for the 
unique circumstances of  agriculture, small employers, 
and employers with mobile worksites. (HB 2222)

654.005 (5) Expanded the definition of  “employer” 
for the purposes of  the Oregon Safe Employment Act 
(ORS 654). The bill enables DCBS/Oregon OSHA to 
adopt rules that will hold a successor employer (one that 
is essentially the same as a prior employer) responsible 
for the correction of  hazards to protect workers, for 
determining “repeat” violations, and for the payment of  
civil penalties. (HB 2223)

ORS 654.414, 654.416, 654.418, 654.421, and 
654.423 Required health care employers to address 
assaults of  employees who work in ambulatory surgical 
centers and hospitals. These employers are required 
to conduct periodic security and safety assessments to 
identify assault hazards, develop an assault prevention 
and protection program, provide training, and maintain 
a record of  assaults that result in injury to their 
employees. (HB 2022)

654.062 (6)(a) Increased the length of  time a worker 
has to file a retaliation (discrimination) complaint with 
the Oregon Bureau of  Labor and Industries from 30 

days to 90 days if  the worker believes they have been 
discriminated against for raising workplace health or 
safety issues. (HB 2259)

654.035 (2) Eliminated existing statutory provisions 
that prevent Oregon OSHA from adopting rules 
requiring fall protection in steel erection below the 
federal OSHA trigger height. (HB 3400)

654.078 Extended the appeals deadline for workplace 
health and safety citations from 20 days to 30 days 
and expanded the period before a civil penalty can be 
recorded as a judgment from 10 days to 20 days after 
a final order. This statutory change applies to citations, 
notices, and orders received by an employer on or after 
the effective date of  the bill. (SB 556)

Compensability and 
Claims Processing

1987
656.266 Placed on the worker the burden of  proving 
that an injury or occupational disease is compensable 
and of  proving the nature and extent of  any disability. 
The worker cannot prove compensability simply by 
disproving other explanations. (HB 2271)

656.268 (4)(a) Allowed insurers to close permanent 
disability claims as long as department evaluation 
standards were applied and the worker had returned to 
work. (HB 2900) [Now 656.268 (5)(a)]

656.268 (14) Allowed for insurer offsets against awards 
for overpayments. (HB 2900) [Now 656.268 (13)]

656.726 (3)(f) Allowed the director to provide 
standards for the evaluation of  disabilities and 
altered the criteria for the evaluation of  unscheduled 
disabilities. (HB 2900) [Now 656.726 (4)(f)]

656.802 (3) Restricted mental stress claims to those 
arising out of  real and objective employment conditions 
not generally inherent in every working situation, 
and required “clear and convincing evidence” that 
the mental disorder arose out of  and in the course of  
employment. (HB 2271)

1990
656.005 (7) Required that a compensable injury be 
established by medical evidence supported by objective 
findings. The compensable injury must be the major 
contributing cause of  a consequential condition. If  
the compensable injury combines with a pre-existing 
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condition, the resulting condition is compensable only 
to the extent that the compensable injury is and remains 
the major contributing cause of  the disability or need 
for treatment. Excluded injuries from recreational 
and social activities. Excluded injuries that arose from 
the use of  alcohol or drugs if  it is proven by clear and 
convincing evidence that the drug or alcohol use was 
the major contributing cause. (SB 1197)

656.160 Declared that injured workers are not eligible 
for time-loss benefits for periods during which they are 
incarcerated. (SB 1197)

656.214 (5) and 656.726 (3)(f) Required the 
department’s disability evaluation standards to be used 
for the initial rating and for all subsequent litigation; 
altered the definition of  earning capacity to be used in 
calculating disability. (SB 1197) [656.726 (3)(f) is now 
656.726 (4)(f)]

656.262 (4) Specified situations for which time-loss 
payments are not due or may be suspended by insurers. 
(SB 1197)

656.262 (6) Increased the time for insurer acceptance 
or denial of  a claim from 60 days to 90 days. (SB 1197) 
(SB 485 reduced the time to 60 days in 2001.)

656.262 (6) Allowed insurers to deny a previously 
accepted claim at any time up to two years from the 
date of  claim acceptance if  the claim is accepted 
in good faith, but is later determined not to be 
compensable or that the insurer is not responsible for 
the claim. (SB 1197)

656.268 (4)(a) Expanded insurers’ authority to 
close claims when the worker has become medically 
stationary and has returned to work or the attending 
physician has released the worker to regular or modified 
employment. (SB 1197)

656.726 (3)(f) Mandated that impairment be 
established by a preponderance of  medical evidence 
based on objective findings. Also required that the 
director adopt temporary rules amending the standards 
for the evaluation of  disabilities when the director 
determines that the standards do not adequately 
address the worker’s disability. (SB 1197) [Now 656.726 
(4)(f)]

656.273 Required that claims for aggravation be 
established by medical evidence supported by objective 
medical findings that the worsened condition resulted 
from the original injury. (SB 1197)

656.308 Specified that when a worker sustains a 
compensable injury, the responsible employer shall 
remain responsible for future aggravations unless the 
worker sustains a new compensable injury involving the 
same condition. (SB 1197)

656.780 Required the director to establish a workers’ 
compensation claims examiner certification program. 
(SB 1197) (This was repealed by SB 221 in 1999.)

656.802 (1) & (2) Changed the definition of  
occupational disease, and provided that compensable 
diseases must be caused by substances or activities 
to which an employee is not ordinarily subjected 
or exposed, and that employment be the major 
contributing cause. The existence of  the disease must be 
established by medical evidence supported by objective 
findings. (SB 1197)

1991
656.622 (3) Clarified that a worker may not waive 
eligibility for preferred worker status by entering into a 
claim disposition agreement. (HB 3040) [Now 656.622 
(4)(b)]

1993
192.502 Amended public records law exemptions to 
end access to claims histories by employers, information 
services, commercial interests, and others using that 
information to discriminate against injured workers. 
(HB 3069)

1995
656.005 (7)(a)(B) Stated that a combined condition 
was compensable only as long as and to the extent 
the otherwise compensable injury was the major 
contributing cause of  the combined condition or the 
need for treatment. (SB 369)

656.005 (7)(b)(C) Reduced the standard of  proof  
required to show that the major contributing cause was 
consumption of  alcoholic beverages or a controlled 
substance from “clear and convincing evidence” to 
“preponderance of  evidence.” (SB 369)

656.005 (7)(c) Changed the previous definition of  
“disabling injury” to specifically exclude those injuries 
where no temporary benefits were due and payable, 
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unless there was a reasonable expectation that permanent 
disability would result from the injury. (SB 369)

656.005 (19) Expanded the definition of  “objective 
findings” to be verifiable indications of  injury or 
disease, and excluded physical findings or subjective 
responses to physical examinations that were not 
reproducible, measurable, or observable. (SB 369)

656.012 (3) Declared that provisions of  workers’ 
compensation law be interpreted in an impartial and 
balanced manner. (SB 369)

656.018 (6) Clarified that the exclusive remedy 
provisions and the liability limitations of  this chapter 
apply whether or not the injuries or diseases were 
compensable. (SB 369) (This was struck down in part in 
2001 by the Oregon Supreme Court in the Smothers 
decision.) [Now 656.018 (7)]

656.126 Authorized that the Oregon compensation 
paid for an injury or illness be offset by the out-of-state 
compensation paid for the same injury or illness.  
(SB 369)

656.206 (1)(a) Defined “gainful occupation” as one 
that pays wages equal to or greater than the state-
mandated hourly minimum wage. (SB 369) [SB 386 
revised the definition in 2005; now 656.206 (11)(a).]

656.212 (2) Authorized basing the temporary partial 
disability rate on the wages used to calculate temporary 
total disability. (SB 369)

656.262 (4)(b) Stated that the payment of  wages by a 
self-insured employer shall be deemed timely payment 
of  temporary disability benefits. (SB 369)

656.262 (4)(f) Stated that temporary disability 
compensation is not due and payable unless authorized 
by the attending physician; limited retroactive 
authorization to 14 days. (SB 369) [Now 656.262 (4)(g)]

656.262 (6)(a) Authorized the denial of  an accepted 
claim to be issued at any time when the denial is for 
fraud, misrepresentation, or other illegal activity, to 
be proved by a preponderance of  evidence. Lowered 
the standard of  proof  for a back-up denial based 
on evidence uncovered after acceptance that the 
claim was not compensable or the insurer was not 
responsible from “clear and convincing evidence” to 
“preponderance of  evidence.” (SB 369)

656.262 (6)(d) Required that an injured worker who 
believed that a condition had been incorrectly omitted 
from the acceptance notice, or that the notice was 
otherwise deficient, to first communicate in writing 
to the insurer or self-insured employer the worker’s 
objections. Precluded a worker who failed to comply 
with this requirement from taking up the matter at a 
hearing. (SB 369)

656.262 (14) & (15) Required that injured workers 
cooperate with the insurer or self-insured employer 
in the investigation of  claims for compensation. If  a 
worker does not cooperate, the director is to suspend 
the compensation. (SB 369)

656.265 (1) Increased the time for filing of  a claim 
from 30 days to 90 days. (SB 369)

656.268 (1) Authorized claim closure before the 
worker’s condition becomes medically stationary if  the 
accepted injury ceases to be the major contributing 
cause of  the worker’s combined or consequential 
condition or, if  without the approval of  the attending 
physician, the worker fails to seek medical treatment 
for a period of  30 days or fails to attend a closing 
examination. (SB 369)

656.726 (3)(f)(D) Required that impairment be the 
only factor to be considered in evaluating a worker’s 
disability if  the worker has returned to, or the attending 
physician has released the worker to, regular work at the 
job held at the time of  injury. (SB 369) [Now 656.726 
(4)(f)(E)]

1997 
656.027 Exempted certain landscape contractors 
(sole proprietorships, partnerships, corporations, 
and limited liability companies) from coverage 
requirements. (HB 2038)

656.126 (2) & (7) Exempted extraterritorial coverage 
requirements for workers employed in another state but 
temporarily working in Oregon. (SB 544)

656.262 (6)(b)(F) Required that the insurer or self-
insured employer modify the notice of  acceptance when 
medical or other information changed a previously 
issued notice of  acceptance. (HB 2971)

656.262 (7)(c) Required that when an insurer or 
self-insured employer determines that a claim qualifies 
for closure, the insurer or self-insured employer must 
issue an updated notice of  acceptance that specifies the 
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compensable conditions. If  a condition is later found 
compensable, the insurer or self-insured employer must 
reopen the claim for processing that condition.  
(HB 2971)

1999 
656.212 (2) Eliminated the two-year aggregate 
maximum for receipt of  temporary partial disability 
payments. (SB 729)

656.268 (1) and 656.268 (Note) Made insurers and 
self-insured employers responsible for closing all claims 
and for determining the extent of  permanent disability. 
The department was to phase out its own claim closure 
activities; insurers and self-insured employers were to 
assume responsibility, no later than June 30, 2001, for 
closing all claims. (SB 220) (This was accomplished by 
Jan. 1, 2001.)

656.277 (1) Required that a request by a worker for 
reclassification of  an accepted nondisabling injury 
that the worker believes has become disabling must be 
submitted to the insurer or self-insured employer. Before 
this, these submissions were made to the department.  
(SB 220)

656.630 (Note) Directed the Center for Research on 
Occupational and Environmental Toxicology to provide 
a report on the need for modifying the compensability 
criteria for hepatitis B and C. (HB 3629)

(Budget note) Directed the department to undertake 
a study of  the impact of  the major contributing cause 
and combined conditions on the workers’ compensation 
system and provided funds for the study. (HB 5012)

2001
656.005 (30) For the purposes of  determining the 
entitlement to temporary disability or permanent total 
disability benefits, excluded from the definition of  
“worker” anyone who has withdrawn from the workforce 
during the time period for which the benefits are sought. 
(SB 485)

656.005 (24) and 656.804 Revised the definition of  
pre-existing conditions. It provided separate definitions 
for injury claims and for occupational disease claims. 
(SB 485)

656.017 and 656.126 Amended public contracts and 
purchasing law to state that each public contract must 
include a clause that all subject workers temporarily 
in the state are covered by either Oregon’s workers’ 

compensation law or by the laws of  another state.  
(SB 507)

656.027 (6) Clarified the exemption from workers’ 
compensation law for firefighters and police employees 
for cities with a population of  more than 200,000 that 
provide disability and retirement systems. (HB 3100)

656.027 (26) Exempted from workers’ compensation 
law persons who serve as referees or assistant referees in 
recreational soccer matches whose services are retained 
on a match-by-match basis. (HB 3094)

656.210 (2) Defined how the weekly wage should 
be calculated and the disability status be defined for 
injured workers with multiple jobs. (SB 485)

656.210 (5) Created rules for the payment of  
supplemental temporary disability benefits to workers 
employed in more than one job at the time of  injury. 
(SB 485)

656.262 (6)(a) & (7)(a) and 656.308 (2)(a) 
Reduced the time an insurer has to accept or deny 
a claim from 90 days to 60 days after the employer’s 
knowledge of  the claim. The bill also reduced the 
time the insurer has to accept or deny a claim for 
aggravation or new or omitted conditions to 60 days 
after the insurer receives written notice of  these claims. 
(SB 485)

656.266 (2) For combined condition injury claims, 
stated that once the worker has established that the 
injury is compensable, the employer has the burden of  
proof  to show that the compensable condition is not, 
or is no longer, the major contributing cause of  the 
disability or the need for treatment. (SB 485)

656.267 Directed that for a worker to initiate an 
omitted medical condition claim, the worker must 
clearly request formal written acceptance of  a new or 
omitted medical condition from the insurer. The worker 
may initiate a new or omitted condition claim at any 
time. After aggravation rights have expired, a worker 
must pursue a claim for new or omitted conditions 
through the Workers’ Compensation Board’s own-
motion process. (SB 485)

656.268 (5)(b) Allowed the worker to request a claim 
closure when he or she is not medically stationary.  
(SB 269)
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656.273 (4), 656.277 (1), and 656.277 (2) 
Clarified the time frames for claims. The time frame 
for challenging a nondisabling classification is one year 
from the date of  the claim acceptance. Aggravation 
rights for disabling claims extend five years from the 
date of  the first claim closure. For claims originally 
classified as nondisabling and not reclassified during the 
year following acceptance, aggravation rights extend 
five years from the date of  injury. (SB 316)

410.614 Amended senior and disability services law 
and made 14,000 home care workers subject employees. 
For the purposes of  workers’ compensation, these 
workers are public employees under the Home Care 
Commission. This was part of  the implementation of  
Ballot Measure 99 in 2000. (HB 3816)

2003
626.027 (27) Added translators and interpreters who 
provide services through agents or brokers to the list of  
nonsubject workers. (SB 924)

656.054 (2) and 656.735 (3) Removed the penalty 
against noncomplying employers issued after claim 
closure. (SB 233)

656.210 (5)(b) Provided that if  an insurer or self-
insured employer chooses not to pay supplemental 
disability benefits for a worker employed in more 
than one job, the department will administer and pay 
benefits directly or assign the administration to a paying 
agent. (SB 914)

656.262 (11)(a) Allowed attorney fees when an insurer 
or self-insured employer unreasonably delays or refuses 
to pay compensation or unreasonably delays acceptance 
or denial. The fee is based on the results achieved and 
the time devoted to the case. (SB 620)

656.265 (4)(c) Added an exemption to the 
requirement for reporting claims within 90 days if  the 
worker can establish that he or she had good cause not 
to give timely notice. (SB 932)

705.175 Authorized the department to issue warrants 
for amounts owed to the department and authorized 
the debt to become a lien on real property. (HB 3177)

Chapter 760, section 4, 2003 laws Required 
the department to conduct an evaluation of  its 
claims reporting requirements. The results were to 
be presented to the Management-Labor Advisory 
Committee. (SB 914)

2005
656.027 (15)(d) Provided that owners or leaseholders 
of  motor vehicles used in the transportation of  property 
by a for-hire motor carrier are nonsubject workers for 
purposes of  workers’ compensation statutes. (SB 433)

656.268 (6)(e) Authorized the director to issue civil 
penalties for violation of  statutes regarding reports 
or other requirements needed to administer workers’ 
compensation law. (SB 172)

656.273 (3) and (6) Expedited the processing of  claims 
for aggravation, and clarified that insurers’ and self-
insured employers’ responsibility for timely compensation 
payments does not begin until the physician’s report is 
received. (HB 2405)

2007
656.039 (5)(a) Required the Home Care Commission 
to elect workers’ compensation coverage on behalf  of  
Department of  Human Services clients who employ home 
care workers if  the worker is paid by the state on behalf  
of  the client. Required the home care worker to accept 
appropriate modified employment with any client of  the 
Department of  Human Services who employs a home 
care worker or risk termination of  his or her temporary 
disability benefits. (HB 3362)

656.027(28) Clarified that taxicab drivers are considered 
as nonsubject workers under workers’ compensation 
insurance coverage requirements if  they lease a taxicab by 
the shift or for a longer period or the taxicab used is under 
a contract to a third party for transporting designated 
passengers, to provide errand service, or to provide non-
emergency medical transportation. (SB 688)

656.230 (5) Eliminated the requirement to adopt a rule 
and instead allowed the determination of  impairment to 
be included in an order on reconsideration, which can be 
appealed to the Workers’ Compensation Board. (HB 2218)

656.230 (7)(c)(J) Eliminated the requirement to consult 
a physician if  requested when determining whether 
to approve a worker’s additional change of  attending 
physician. (HB 2218)

656.230 Consolidated the reason an insurer can deny 
a lump-sum payment for a permanent partial disability 
award into one section of  the law and removed the 
director’s review of  a denied request. (HB 2218)
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2009
656.802 (5) Presumes that the death, disability, or 
impairment of  nonvolunteer firefighters who have 
completed five or more years of  employment is an 
occupational disease when the condition is caused by 
certain cancers. Denial of  the claim for any condition 
or impairment must be on the basis of  clear and 
convincing medical evidence that the condition 
was not caused or contributed to by the firefighter’s 
employment. The first diagnoses by a physician must 
occur after July 1, 2009. (HB 2420)

The Legislature created the Interagency Compliance 
Network. State agencies, including the Department 
of  Consumer and Business Services, were charged 
with working to establish consistency in agency 
determinations relating to the classification of  
workers, including but not limited to classification of  
workers as independent contractors. The agencies will 
share information to better ensure that workers and 
employers comply with laws relating to taxation or 
employment, including workers’ compensation law.  
(HB 2815)

2011
656.268 (7) and 656.325 When both parties agree, 
provides for a delay of  up to 45 days in order to reach 
a settlement agreement. Also provides that the worker’s 
permanent disability payments continue throughout the 
settlement negotiations.

2013
656.018 Extended the exclusive remedy protection 
to include an employer’s partners, LLC members, 
and similar corporate entities. The measure also 
clarified that exclusive remedy can be negated when 
an employer’s negligence is a substantial factor in 
causing the injury or illness and occurs outside of  the 
employer’s capacity. (SB 678)

2015
656.005, 656.204, and 656.226 Several statutory 
changes were made to achieve gender-neutral language 
with respect to individuals who are married. Several 
workers’ compensation laws were updated to refer to 
“spouse” in the general provisions, definitions, death 
benefit, and cohabitation statutes. (HB 2478)

656.218 and 656.268 Clarified that if  an injured 
worker is deceased at the time the insurer issues a 
Notice of  Closure of  a workers’ compensation claim, 

the insurer or self-insured employer must mail the 
worker’s copy of  the notice to the worker’s estate at the 
worker’s last known address and may mail copies to any 
known or potential beneficiaries of  the worker’s estate, 
and that the beneficiaries may request reconsideration 
of  the notice. The bill also required the insurer or 
self-insured employer to pay the cost of  interpreter 
services for a worker’s deposition in a reconsideration 
proceeding. (Operative May 21, 2015) (SB 371)

656.262 Clarified when an employer or insurer must 
make its first payment of  time-loss benefits and ties 
the first payment of  benefits to the start of  the worker 
missing work due to the injury. Also required an 
insurer’s first payment of  temporary disability to be 
due within 14 days of  the employer’s knowledge of  the 
claim and of  the worker’s disability, as long as a medical 
provider has authorized the time off work. (HB 2797)

656.265 Addressed situations in which an injured 
worker had not filed a workers’ compensation claim, 
but submitted a related claim to his or her health 
benefit plan. If  the health plan rejects the claim as 
work-related, the bill provided the worker 90 days from 
the date of  the health plan’s denial to file a workers’ 
compensation claim. If  the workers’ compensation 
insurer denies the claim, it must notify the health 
benefit plan of  the denial and the health plan must 
process the worker’s claim subject to its plan’s terms and 
conditions. (HB 3114)

656.745 and 656.780 Added service companies to 
the list of  parties that the director may issue a civil 
penalty against, but only for violations identified in 
an annual audit by DCBS that assesses timeliness of  
payment and claim processing actions. (HB 2211)

Advocates and Advisory Groups
1987
656.709 (1) Created the Office of  Ombudsman for 
Injured Workers. (HB 2900)

1990
656.709 (2) Established the Office of  the Ombudsman 
for Small Business. (SB 1197)

656.790 Created the Workers’ Compensation 
Management-Labor Advisory Committee (MLAC). 
(SB 1197) Established a Joint Legislative Task Force on 
Innovations in Workers’ Compensation to re-examine 
the role of  the workers’ compensation system and to 



99

2016 REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM

develop recommendations to develop a more fair, just, 
and cost-effective system. (SB 1198)

1995
656.790 Reduced the membership of  the Management-
Labor Advisory Committee from 14 members to 
10 members (five representing subject workers, five 
representing subject employers). Mandated that MLAC 
report to the Legislature findings and recommendations 
the committee finds appropriate, including reports on 
court decisions having significant impact on the workers’ 
compensations system, the adequacy of  workers’ 
compensation benefits, medical and system costs, and 
the adequacy of  assessments for reserve programs and 
administrative costs. (SB 369)

1997
656.790 (Note) Required MLAC to study income and 
expenditures of  the Workers’ Benefit Fund. (SB 484)

2001
192.530 (Note) Created the Advisory Committee 
on Privacy of  Medical Information and Records. The 
committee had 17 members. The committee’s purpose 
was to review state and federal laws concerning the 
privacy of  medical information and to see if  state 
laws conflicted with federal laws, such as the Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of  1996. 
The members were to report to the 2003 Legislature. 
(SB 104)

Chapter 865 2001 Laws Directed that MLAC 
recommend to the 2003 Legislature an alternative 
remedy to civil litigation that would allow the 
Legislature to create a constitutionally adequate system 
of  exclusive remedies for workplace injuries. (SB 485)

2003
656.709 (1) & (2) Required the injured worker 
ombudsman and the small business ombudsman to 
provide quarterly written reports to the governor. 
The reports must include summaries of  the services 
provided during the quarter and recommendations for 
improvements. (HB 2522)

656.726 (4)(f)(C) Removed the requirement that the 
department submit its temporary rules on disability 
rating standards to MLAC for review. (SB 234)

2007
Oregon Legislative Note: Required the 
Management-Labor Advisory Committee to conduct an 
interim study of  the adequacy of  death benefits in the 
workers’ compensation system; the report to the 75th 
Oregon Legislative Assembly was required by Jan. 31, 
2009. (SB 835)

Medical Benefits and Care
1987
656.245 (3)(a) Reduced the number of  attending 
physicians an injured worker could select during the 
life of  a claim from five to three, unless otherwise 
authorized by the director. (HB 2900) [Now 656.245 (2)
(a)]

656.245 (4) Allowed the director to exclude from 
compensability any medical treatment deemed to be 
unscientific or unproven. (HB 2900) [Now 656.245 (3)]

656.248 (9) Allowed the director to establish a fee 
schedule for specific inpatient hospital services based on 
diagnostic-related groups. (HB 2900)

656.252 (1) Expanded the scope of  medical rules to 
require insurer audits of  billings for medical services, 
including hospital services. (HB 2900)

656.254 (3) Expanded sanctions against health care 
practitioners who failed to comply with rules adopted 
under the statute. (HB 2900)

656.325 (1) Limited independent medical 
examinations to three per each opening of  the claim, 
unless otherwise authorized by the director. (HB 2900)

656.327 (3)-(5) Allowed the director to establish a 
medical review panel to review medical treatment of  an 
injured worker upon request by any of  the parties. (HB 
2900)

1990
656.005 (12)(b) Limited who could be an attending 
physician to a medical doctor, doctor of  osteopathy, or 
a board-certified oral surgeon. Chiropractors qualify 
as attending physicians for the first 30 days or 12 visits, 
whichever comes first. (SB 1197) [Revised in 2007 to 
include podiatrists, naturopaths, chiropractors, and 
physician assistants to act as attending physician for up 
to 60 days or 18 visits, whichever comes first.  
(HB 2756)]
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656.245 (1)(b) Eliminated palliative care after the 
worker became medically stationary, except when 
provided to a worker determined to have permanent 
total disability, when necessary to monitor the 
administration of  prescription medication required to 
keep the worker in a medically stationary condition, 
or to monitor the status of  a prosthetic device. In 
addition, if  the worker’s attending physician believes 
that palliative care is appropriate to enable the 
worker to continue current employment or to attend 
vocational training, the attending physician may 
seek approval from the insurer for such treatment. 
If  the insurer refuses to authorize the treatment, the 
attending physician can ask the department to resolve 
the dispute. (SB 1197) [Now 656.245 (1)(c)]

656.248 (11) Required the director to establish 
utilization and treatment standards for all medical 
services. (SB 1197) (SB 223 repealed this in 1999.)

656.260 Allowed groups of  medical service providers 
or health care providers to be certified by the 
department as managed care organizations. Insurers 
can contract with MCOs to provide medical services 
to injured workers. (SB 1197)

656.262 (4)(d) Excluded medical services from 
insurer reimbursement until the attending physician 
provides verification of  the worker’s inability to work. 
(SB 1197)

1991
656.248 (Note) Created economic incentives for 
hospitals to participate with certified managed care 
organizations by providing exemptions from the 
hospital cost-to-charge ratio fee schedule. (SB 551)

1993
656.016 (Note) Authorized pilot programs to combine 
the medical component of  workers’ compensation 
with health insurance for nonwork-related illnesses or 
injuries. Exempted insurers that provide combined 
coverage in pilot programs from certain requirements 
for transacting health or workers’ compensation 
insurance. (HB 2285) (This program was phased out in 
1996.)

656.313 Modified the procedure for payment of  
medical services in disputed workers’ compensation 
settlement proceedings. Required insurers to pay 
providers at one-half  the rate established by ORS 
656.248 in amounts not to exceed 20 percent of  the 

total present value of  the settlement amount. Where 
less than one-half  payment can be made, all affected 
providers are to be paid proportionally. (HB 3111) (SB 
369 in 1995 changed the maximum from 20 percent to 
40 percent.)

1995
656.005 (20) Defined “palliative care” as medical service 
rendered to reduce or moderate temporarily the intensity 
of  an otherwise stable medical condition. Excluded 
those medical services rendered to diagnose, heal, or 
permanently alleviate or eliminate a medical condition. 
(SB 369)

656.245 (4) Described conditions under which 
workers are subject to a managed care organization 
contract. An insurer may require an injured worker to 
receive medical treatment in the MCO before claim 
acceptance. However, if  the claim is eventually denied, 
the insurer must cover those services until the worker 
receives notice of  the denial or until three days after the 
denial notice is mailed. (SB 369)

656.248 (1) Changed the medical services fee 
schedule from representing the 75th percentile of  usual 
and customary fees to representing reimbursements 
generally received for the services provided. Identified 
specific criteria upon which it should be based. (SB 369)

1997
656.260 (4)(h) Required an explanation to licensed 
medical providers denied admission to an MCO panel. 
(SB 484)

1999
656.245 (1)(d) Required that medical providers 
receive payment for medical services until they are 
notified by insurers that workers with disabling claims 
are medically stationary. (HB 2021)

656.245 (4)(a) Allowed workers to continue to treat 
with their attending physician when a managed care 
organization contract with an insurer terminates.  
(SB 460)

2001
656.247 Created a procedure under which insurers 
are responsible for some medical costs for some services 
prior to claim denial. (SB 485)

656.252 (2)(a) Directed attending physicians 
to cooperate with insurers to expedite diagnostic 
treatments and procedures and with efforts to return 
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injured workers to appropriate work. (SB 485)

656.268 (3), 656.360, and 656.362 Restricted the 
distribution of  copies of  medical reports and vocational 
rehabilitation reports to injured workers only, rather 
than to workers and employers, unless the worker 
provides consent. (SB 269)

2003
656.005 (12)(c) Included nurse practitioner in the 
definition of  consulting physician. (HB 3669)

656.245 (2)(b)(C) Allowed a nurse practitioner to 
provide medical services for 90 days from the first visit 
on the claim and authorize the payment of  temporary 
disability benefits for a period not to exceed 60 days 
from the date of  the first visit on the claim. The nurse 
practitioner must refer the worker to an attending 
physician for the determination of  impairment. (HB 3669)

656.245 (6) Authorized a nurse practitioner who is not 
a member of  a managed care organization to provide 
the same level of  services as a primary care physician 
to workers enrolled in the MCO, subject to certain 
restrictions. (HB 3669)

Chapter 811, sections 29 & 30, 2003 laws Required 
that the department develop and make available to nurse 
practitioners informational materials about the workers’ 
compensation system. Also required nurse practitioners, 
before providing compensable medical services or 
authorizing temporary disability, to certify that they had 
reviewed the department’s informational materials. (HB 
3669)

Chapter 811, section 31, 2003 laws Required that 
insurers, self-insured employers, and self-insured employer 
groups provide the department with any information 
needed to assess the impact of  HB 3669. (HB 3669)

2005
656.325 (1), 656.328, and 656.780 Required the 
director to develop rules and training applicable to 
independent medical examinations (IME) for workers’ 
compensation claims. Modified the process for insurer-
requested IMEs; insurers must now select an IME provider 
from a department-developed list. Allowed workers to 
appeal the reasonableness of  the location of  exam, subject 
to an expedited review by the department. (SB 311)

656.260 (4)(a) & (4)(i) Required the director to review 
and approve medical treatment standards for care 
provided by managed care organizations. Required MCO 

plans to allow attending physicians to advocate for medical 
services and temporary disability benefits. (SB 670) (SB 
563 revised this section in 2007, removing the requirement 
for the department to review and approve individual 
treatment standards.)

2007
656.245 Allowed authority to the department to issue civil 
penalties against managed care organizations that fail to 
comply with laws or rules. (HB 2218)

656.245 (2)(b)(C) Expanded the role of  nurse 
practitioners to provide compensable medical services 
to injured workers for up to 90 days, authorize time 
loss for up to 60 days, release the worker to work, and 
manage the worker’s return to work during that time 
period. (HB 2247)

656.005 (12)(b)(B) Allowed chiropractic physicians, 
podiatrists, naturopaths, and physician assistants to act 
as attending physicians for injured workers for 60 days 
or 18 visits, whichever comes first. The four provider 
groups can authorize time loss for 30 days and manage 
the worker’s return to work during that period, and are 
to certify they have reviewed informational materials 
developed by the director. (HB 2756)

656.328 Required that the department adopt rules 
to outline the standard of  conduct for independent 
medical examiners that do not have conduct guidelines 
from their regulatory board. Removed the statutory 
reference to the American Board of  Independent 
Medical Examiners guidelines relating to code 
of  conduct for independent medical examination 
providers. The rules may be consistent with the code of  
conduct adopted by the Oregon Independent Medical 
Examination Association. (HB 2943)

656.005 (12)(b)(B) and 656.245 (2)(b)(B) Excludes 
an emergency room physician from the definition of  
an attending physician when the physician refers the 
worker to a primary care physician for follow-up care. 
Allowed the emergency room physician to authorize 
time-loss benefits for a maximum of  14 days. If  a 
physician treats patients in an emergency room but also 
maintains an independent practice, the physician could 
act as the worker’s attending physician if  he or she 
otherwise qualifies to be an attending physician and also 
provides the follow-up care to the injured worker. 
(SB 504)
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656.260 Removed the requirement for the department 
to review and approve all individual treatment 
standards adopted by managed care organizations.  
(SB 563)

2009
656.245 (2)(a) Clarified that the medical service provider 
who is not qualified to be an attending physician may 
provide compensable medical service to an injured worker 
for a period of  30 days from the date of  the first visit on 
the initial claim or for 12 visits, whichever occurs first.  
(HB 2197)

656.245 (2)(b)(C) Restored chiropractors’ ability to 
make impairment findings if  they are serving as the 
attending physician at the time of  claim closure. (HB 2197)

2011
656.260(20) Authorizes the DCBS director to impose 
civil penalties and issue cease-and-desist orders against 
a person or company that actively manages the care of  
injured workers but is not certified as a managed care 
organization. (HB 2093)

656.005 (12)(A) Allows podiatric physicians and surgeons 
to serve as attending physicians without limitations. (HB 
2743)

656.313 Allows a worker to pay unpaid medical bills out 
of  a settlement agreement, but limits the amount to the 
workers’ compensation fee schedule amount and requires 
that providers accept that amount. Previously, workers 
were only allowed to authorize 50 percent of  the fee 
schedule amount to be paid from the settlement agreement 
and the provider could bill the worker for the balance of  
usual and customary charges, which are often substantially 
more than the fee schedule amount. (SB 173)

2013
656.245 and 656.260 Extends authority of  authorized 
nurse practitioners to treat from 90 to 180 days and 
authorize time-loss from 60 to 180 days and allows an 
injured worker enrolled in a managed care organization 
(MCO) to be treated by a non-MCO chiropractor under 
specified circumstances that focus on a current patient-
provider relationship. (SB 533)

2014
656.247 Expands interim medical benefits when an 
injured worker has a health benefit plan while the approval 
or denial of  the workers’ compensation claim is pending. 
(HB 4014)

Indemnity Benefits
1987
656.625 Established the Reopened Claims Reserve 
for reimbursing to insurers the additional amounts of  
compensation payable to injured workers for board 
own-motion cases; excluded own-motion claims costs 
from loss experience. (HB 2900)

1991
656.214 (Note) Established the value for a degree of  
scheduled disability as 71 percent of  the state average 
weekly wage, thus providing annual adjustments to 
the value of  a scheduled degree. Established a tiered 
structure for calculating the value of  a degree of  
unscheduled disability as a function of  the state average 
weekly wage, thus providing annual adjustments to 
the value of  an unscheduled degree and providing a 
structure that compensates the more severely injured at 
higher rates per degree of  disability. (SB 732) (SB 369 in 
1995, SB 757 in 2003, and HB 2408 in 2005 revised the 
PPD structure.)

1995
656.204 Reduced the classes of  beneficiary children 
under 18 years of  age to two: where there is a surviving 
spouse of  a deceased worker, and where there is no 
surviving spouse. (SB 369)

656. 214 (2) & (6) For unscheduled permanent 
partial disability, changed the structure of  the tiers 
and increased the value of  a degree in each tier. This 
eliminated the computation of  the dollar value of  a 
degree of  disability as a percentage of  the statewide 
average weekly wage. (SB 369) (SB 757 in 2003 and HB 
2408 in 2005 revised the PPD structure.)

1999
656.202, 656.204, and 656.206 Changed workers’ 
compensation benefits for spouses and some children of  
fatally injured workers: increased remarriage allowance 
to 36 times the monthly benefit; eliminated reduction 
in benefits for children of  deceased workers who had 
remarried; equalized benefits for PTD and fatal claims 
for beneficiaries in full-time education; and eliminated $5 
weekly beneficiary payment for PTD claims. (HB 2022)

2001
656.210 (1) Raised the maximum temporary total 
disability benefit to 133 percent of  the state average 
weekly wage. (SB 485)
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2003
656.214 (1) Defined impairment as the loss of  
use or function of  a body part or system due to 
the compensable injury or disease, expressed as 
a percentage of  the whole person. Defined work 
disability as impairment modified by age, education, 
and adaptability to perform a given job. Redefined 
permanent partial disability as permanent impairment 
with or without work disability resulting from a 
compensable injury or disease. (SB 757)

656.214 (2) Set permanent partial disability awards. 
If  the worker has returned to work or has been released 
to work, the award is for impairment only. Otherwise, 
the award is for impairment and work disability. The 
impairment award is the product of  100 times the 
impairment value and the state average weekly wage. 
The work disability award is the impairment value, 
modified by the age, education, and adaptability factors 
multiplied by 150 times the worker’s weekly wage. The 
weekly wage is limited to the range of  50 percent to 133 
percent of  the average weekly wage. (SB 757)

656.214 (3) Defined PPD awards in terms of  
impairment percentages rather than degrees. (SB 757))

2005
656.726 (4)(f)(E) and 656.214 (2)(a) Specified that, 
for the evaluation of  a worker’s permanent disability, 
only impairment benefits are awarded if  the worker has 
been released to regular work or has returned to regular 
work at the job held at the time of  injury. (HB 2408)

Chapter 653, section 7, 2005 laws Directed the 
department to collect data and report to the Legislature 
on the impact of  the changes in law from SB 757 and 
HB 2408 on permanent partial disability awards.  
(HB 2408)

656.206 (1) & (5) - (11) and 656.268 (1)(d) 
Provided increased permanent total disability benefits 
and protections for severely injured workers. Authorized 
administrative law judges to request medical arbiter 
examinations. Expanded the description of  “gainful 
occupation” to adjust the worker’s wage rate at the 
lesser of  the poverty level for a family of  three or 66-
2/3 percent of  the worker’s average weekly wages. (SB 
386)

656.605 (2)(g) Provided that insurers and self-insured 
employers be reimbursed from the Workers’ Benefit 
Fund for permanent total benefits paid during appeal if  
the insurer’s decision is upheld. (SB 386)

2007
656.790 (2) Required the Management-Labor Advisory 
Committee (MLAC) to review permanent partial 
disability benefit amounts on a biennial basis and make 
recommendations to ensure the original policy goals 
continue to be met over time. (HB 2244)

656.214 & 656.726 Made permanent the changes to 
the permanent partial disability benefit structure that 
were made by SB 757 in 2003 and HB 2408 in 2005. 
(HB 2244; chapter 274 Oregon Laws 2007)

Oregon Legislative Note: Required the 
Management-Labor Advisory Committee to conduct 
an interim study of  the adequacy of  death benefits in 
the workers’ compensation system; report to the 75th 
Oregon Legislative Assembly required by Jan. 31, 2009. 
(SB 835)

2009
656.204 (1) and (8)(b) Improved the benefits to 
beneficiaries when a worker is killed on the job or dies 
while permanently and totally disabled from a work 
injury. If  a worker dies before his or her permanent 
partial disability award is fully paid, the insurer must pay 
the full remainder of  the permanent disability benefit to 
the worker’s estate. (SB 110)

Return-To-Work Assistance
1987
656.340 (6) Restricted eligibility for vocational 
assistance. (HB 2900)

656.622 (3) Established the Preferred Worker Program 
within the Workers’ Reemployment Reserve. (HB 2900) 
[Now 656.622 (4)]

1990
656.622 (3) Enhanced the Preferred Worker Program 
by exempting an employer who hires a preferred worker 
from premiums or premium assessments for the preferred 
worker for a period of  three years and reimbursing the 
insurer for any claim costs should the preferred worker 
sustain a new injury during the three-year premium 
exemption period. (SB 1197) [Now 656.622 (4)]
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656.628 (Note) Eliminated new claims for 
Handicapped Workers’ Reserve relief. (SB 1197)

659.415 Established injured worker employment 
reinstatement rights, subject to certain conditions 
and restrictions, with employers with more than 20 
employees. (SB 1197) [Now 659A.043]

1995
656.335 Repealed this section; insurers are no longer 
required to provide disability prevention services. (SB 369)

656.340 Clarified when vocational eligibility must be 
determined following aggravation and clarified the 
eligibility criteria. Changed the requirement for insurers 
to request reinstatement or re-employment on behalf  of  
workers to require that insurers inform workers of  their 
opportunity to seek reinstatement or re-employment. 
Provided that workers are not entitled to vocational 
assistance after the expiration of  their aggravation rights. 
Expanded the definition of  the suitable wage that is the 
target for vocational assistance and revised the definition 
of  regular employment to include employment at the 
time of  aggravation. (SB 369)

656.622 Provided for reimbursement of  reasonable 
program administrative costs of  insurers participating 
in the Employer-at-Injury Program, as well as  
reimbursement of  claim administration costs (which 
was existing practice) for injuries to preferred workers. 
Expanded expenditures from the Re-employment 
Assistance Program to include workers with nondisabling 
claims as eligible for the Employer-at-Injury Program, to 
preclude or reduce nondisabling claims from becoming 
disabling. Clarified that the Preferred Worker Program 
may be available to workers with any disability that may be 
a substantial obstacle to employment. (SB 369)

659.415 and 659.420 Added restrictions on when a 
worker may be reinstated to regular employment or re-
employed in suitable and available work. (SB 369) [Now 
659A.043 and 659.046]

1999
656.530 Eliminated the 75 percent reimbursement 
of  workers’ compensation premium for rehabilitation 
facilities from the Workers’ Benefit Fund. (SB 288)

2001
656.268 (4)(c) and 656.325 (5) Provided that a 
worker could refuse an offer of  modified employment 
without losing benefits if  the job requires a commute 
that is beyond the physical capacity of  the worker, is 

more than 50 miles away, is not with the employer 
at injury or not at that employer’s work site, or is 
inconsistent with the common practices of  the employer 
or an applicable collective bargaining agreement.  
(SB 485)

2005
656.206 (7) & (8) Established eligibility for vocational 
benefits when PTD benefits are terminated. Required 
workers who have PTD benefits to attend vocational 
evaluations. (SB 386)

656.262 (6)(b)(E) and 656.622 (3) & (12) Modified 
the statutory purpose of  the Reemployment Assistance 
Act to allow the Workers’ Compensation Division to 
provide direct services through the Preferred Worker 
and Employer-at-Injury programs. (SB 119)

656.313 (1)(a)(D) and 656.605 (2)(g) Provided that 
insurers and self-insured employers be reimbursed from 
the Workers’ Benefit Fund when a denial of  vocational 
benefits is upheld by a final order. (SB 119)

2009
656.340 (9) Moved from the “authorization” of  
vocational assistance provider organizations to their 
“registration.” (HB 2195)

656.340 (1)(b) (B) Allowed insurers and self-insured 
employers to forego a vocational evaluation if  the 
worker is released for regular work but has not returned 
to work. (HB 2705)

656.340 (12) and (16) For workers actively engaged 
in vocational training, allowed insurers or self-insured 
employers to voluntarily extend the payment of  
temporary disability compensation to a maximum of  
21 months; the former length was 16 months. Also 
modified the vocational assistance dispute resolution 
process. (HB 2195)

656.622 (10) Clarified that neither insurance 
premiums nor premium assessments under this chapter 
are payable for preferred workers during the first three 
years from the date they were hired. (HB 2197)

2015
659A.052 Amended labor law to clarify that an 
injured state worker has a right to reinstatement or 
re-employment at any available and suitable position in 
another agency within the same branch of  government, 
when all permanent restrictions are known. (SB 291).
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Disputes
1987
656.268 (4)(f) Provided for penalties if  insurer claim 
closure actions were unreasonable. (HB 2900) [Now 
656.268 (5)(d)]

656.278 Restricted the power and jurisdiction of  the 
Workers’ Compensation Board to use its own-motion 
authority; altered eligibility criteria and excluded 
own-motion claim costs from loss experience, provided 
funding for these costs from the Reopened Claims 
Reserve. (HB 2900)

656.283 (4) and 656.295 (4) Required the board 
to schedule a hearing or board review no later than 
90 days after receipt of  the request. The hearing or 
review shall not be postponed except for extraordinary 
circumstances beyond the control of  the requesting 
party. (HB 2900)

656.291 Required the board to establish an expedited 
claim service to resolve claims where compensability is 
not the issue and other conditions are met. (HB 2900)

656.298 (6) Changed de novo review by the Court 
of  Appeals to substantial evidence review. The court is 
limited to reviewing matters of  law. (HB 2900) [Now 
656.298 (7)]

656.388 (3) Required the board to establish a fee 
schedule for attorneys representing an insurer, self-insured 
employer, or a worker. (HB 2900)

1990
656.236 Allowed for compromise and release settlements 
(claim disposition agreements) of  claims benefits except for 
medical services. (SB 1197)

656.248 (13) Allowed the director to resolve medical fee 
disputes using an administrative review process. (SB 1197) 
[Now 656.248 (12)]

656.262 (10) Gave the director exclusive jurisdiction over 
proceedings regarding solely the assessment and payment 
of  penalties by insurers for unreasonable delay or refusal to 
pay compensation or unreasonable delays in acceptance or 
denial of  a claim. (SB 1197) [Now 656.262 (11)]

656.268 Required the mandatory reconsideration 
of  a disputed insurer notice of  closure or department 
determination order. (SB 1197) 

656.268 (4)(g) Provided for an insurer penalty if  the 
department’s determination of  permanent disability on 
reconsideration of  an insurer notice of  closure is greater 
than the insurer’s award by 25 percent or more. (SB 1197) 
[Now 656.268 (5)(g)]

656.268 (7) Required claim referral to a medical arbiter 
if  impairment findings are disputed. No medical evidence 
subsequent to the medical arbiter report is admissible 
before the department, the board, or the courts. (SB 1197)

656.283 (7) and 656.295 (5) Provided that the 
evaluation of  the worker’s disability by hearings referees 
or the board shall be as of  the date of  the reconsideration 
order. Required the hearings referees and the board to 
apply the same standards for evaluation of  disability as 
used by the department and insurers, but allowed the 
worker or insurer to challenge whether the standards for 
evaluation of  disability were incorrectly applied in the 
reconsideration order. (SB 1197)

656.313 (1) When the employer or insurer appeal, 
payment of  compensation appealed is stayed, except for 
temporary total disability and permanent total disability 
benefits that accrue from the date of  the order appealed. 
Allowed for interest to accrue on the benefits stayed. (SB 
1197)

656.327 (1)(a) Established additional provisions for the 
director’s review of  bona fide medical services disputes, 
and allowed for the delegation of  the review to a panel of  
medical experts. (SB 1197)

656.724 (3)(b) Required the board to conduct an annual, 
anonymous survey of  attorneys to rate the performance of  
hearings administrative law judges. (SB 1197)

1991
656.386 Provided for a reasonable attorney fee when an 
attorney is instrumental in obtaining compensation for a 
claimant prior to a judge’s decision. (SB 540)

1995
656.236 (1)(b) Authorized waiving of  the 30-day waiting 
period for approval of  a claim disposition agreement, if  
the worker was represented by an attorney at the time he 
or she signed the agreement. (SB 369)

656.245 Allowed the worker to request approval for 
palliative care if  the insurer or self-insured employer 
denies the care. Subjected the decision of  the director to a 
contested case review. Also subjected the director’s decision 
regarding additional changes of  attending physician and 
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the director’s decision to exclude from compensability any 
medical treatment that is unscientific or experimental to a 
contested cases review. (SB 369)

656.260 (14)-(19) Subjected any dissatisfaction with 
an action of  a managed care organization regarding the 
provision of  medical services, peer review, or utilization 
review to administrative review by the director. The 
director’s order is then subjected to a contested case 
hearing if  a written request for hearing is filed with the 
director. Subjected additional issues to a contested case 
hearing. (SB 369)

656.268 (4) Changed the appeal period of  a notice 
of  closure or determination order to 60 days for 
departmental reconsideration and another 30 days from 
the reconsideration order for a hearing request. (SB 369) 
[Now 656.268 (5)]

656.278 (2) Removed vocational assistance benefits from 
the board’s own-motion authority. (SB 369)

656.283 (1) & (2) Removed vocational assistance 
disputes from jurisdiction of  hearings. Provided for dispute 
resolution on vocational assistance through nonadversarial 
procedures to the greatest extent possible. Mediated 
agreements are subject to reconsideration by the director, 
but not reviewed by any other forum. Appeals of  director’s 
orders go to contested case hearing before the director and 
then to the Court of  Appeals. (SB 369)

656.283 (7) Prohibited the submission at hearing of  
evidence not submitted on departmental reconsideration. 
(SB 369)

656.307 (6) Provided for resolution of  responsibility 
disputes by a private mediator. (SB 369)

656.308 (2)(d) Authorized claimant attorney fees in 
responsibility disputes in cases where the attorney actively 
and meaningfully participated in finally prevailing. (SB 
369)

656.313 (1)(a) Authorized stay of  payment of  
compensation appealed, on employer or insurer appeal of  
a director’s order on vocational assistance. (SB 369)

656.319 (6) Authorized hearing for failure to process, or 
correctly process, a claim if  the request for hearing was 
made within two years. (SB 369)

656.327 (1) & (2) Gave jurisdiction over all medical 
treatment disputes to the director, including treatment that 
the injured worker has received, is receiving, or will receive. 

Increased the amount of  time allowed to issue a medical 
treatment order from 30 days to 60 days. Subjected the 
director’s medical treatment administrative order to a 
contested case review. (SB 369)

656.385 Mandated payment of  claimant attorney fees 
by insurer in contested case hearings held by the director 
(or an appeal from such a hearing) in which the claimant 
prevails. (SB 369)

656.390 (1) Authorized administrative law judges and 
the Workers’ Compensation Board to impose attorney 
sanctions for requests for hearing or board review that are 
frivolous, in bad faith, or for harassment. (SB 369)

1997
656.262 (10) Stated that an insurer’s or self-insured 
employer’s failure to appeal or seek review of  a 
determination order, notice of  closure, reconsideration 
order, or litigation order does not preclude them from 
subsequently contesting the rated condition in the order, 
unless the condition has been formally accepted. (HB 
2971)

656.268 (6) Allowed only one reconsideration per claim 
closure; time frames for conducting the reconsideration 
begin when all parties request or waive reconsideration 
rights. (SB 118) (This had the effect of  undoing the 
Guardado v. J.R. Simplot Company decision.) 

656.268 (7)(d) Provided procedures for postponement 
of  reconsideration proceedings and suspension of  benefits 
if  the worker fails to attend or cooperate in a medical 
arbiter examination. (SB 119) [Now 656.268 (7)(e)]

1999
656.268 (7)(b) Provided that if  neither party to a 
reconsideration requests a medical arbiter and the 
director determines that there is insufficient medical 
information to determine disability, the department 
may refer the worker to a medical arbiter. (SB 220)

656.268 (7)(e) Provided for the postponement of  the 
reconsideration process for 60 days and the suspension 
of  benefits if  a worker fails to attend a medical arbiter 
examination without good cause or fails to cooperate 
with the medical arbiter. (SB 220)
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656.704 (2) Created a centralized Hearing Officer 
Panel using the administrative law judges of  several 
agencies. Appeals of  the department’s administrative 
orders (contested case hearings) are sent to this panel. 
Board orders and nonsubjectivity determinations 
are excluded from this change. (HB 2525) (HB 2091 
changed this in 2005.)

656.704 (3) Moved jurisdiction to the Workers’ 
Compensation Board when there is a dispute over 
the need for a proposed medical service caused by an 
accepted condition. The board hears the disputes that 
require the determination of  the compensability of  the 
medical condition for which the medical services are 
proposed or that require the determination that a causal 
relationship exists between medical services and an 
accepted claim. (SB 728)

2001
656.019 and Chapter 865, 2001 laws Established 
a procedure for a civil negligence action for a work-
related injury that has been determined to be not 
compensable because it failed to meet the major 
contributing cause standard. Directed that the 
department report to the 2003 Legislature on the 
numbers and outcomes of  these cases; directed insurers 
to cooperate with this data collection. (SB 485)

656.268 (6)(a)(A) Allowed for a deposition arranged 
by the worker to be included as part of  the record for 
the reconsideration process. The deposition is limited 
to the testimony and cross-examination of  the worker 
about the worker’s condition at the time of  the claim 
closure. The insurer pays the cost. (SB 485)

656.268 (7)(i)(A) Allowed the director to appoint 
a medical arbiter during the reconsideration process 
when the worker is not medically stationary. (SB 297)

656.278 Provided that the rules for the board’s own-
motion process apply to new or omitted medical 
conditions after aggravation rights have expired. (SB 
485)

656.325 (1)(b) Created a process for a worker-
requested medical exam that is made part of  a hearing 
on a denial of  compensability. When the worker has 
made a timely request for a hearing of  a compensability 
denial, the worker may request an exam by a physician 
selected by the department. The worker must show that 
the denial was based on the results of  an independent 

medical exam with which the attending physician 
disagreed. The insurer pays the cost of  the exam. (SB 
485) [Now 656.325 (1)(e)]

2003
656.262 (15) Authorized administrative law judges 
to determine what is required of  injured workers to 
reasonably cooperate with the investigation of  a claim 
in which there is more than one potentially responsible 
employer or insurer. In such cases, penalties for untimely 
claim denial cannot be imposed. (SB 63) 

656.268 (5) & (6) Allowed insurers and self-insured 
employers to request the reconsideration of  a claim 
closure. The request for reconsideration must be based on 
disagreement with the findings used to rate impairment. It 
must be made within seven days of  the closure. (SB 285)

656.283 (4) Authorized administrative law judges to 
postpone hearings in which there may be more than one 
responsible employer or insurer. In such cases, penalties for 
untimely claim denial cannot be imposed. (SB 63)

656.385 (1) Allowed attorney fees when a claimant finally 
prevails in a medical dispute or a vocational dispute. (SB 
620)

656.726 (4)(f) Redefined the criteria for the evaluation of  
disabilities in terms of  permanent impairment and work 
disability. (SB 757)

656.740 (2) Changed the appeal period for contesting 
a nonsubjectivity determination from 30 days to 60 days. 
(SB 233)

2005
656.054 (4), 656.170 (3), 656.245 (1)-(3), 656.247 
(3)(a), 656.248 (12), 656.254 (3), 656.260 (6) & 
(16)-(18), 656.262 (11)(a), 656.283 (1) & (2)(c), 
656.327 (1)(a) & (2), 656.385 (1)-(5), 656.440 
(1)-(3), 656.704 (1)-(5), 656.726 (4)(a), and 
183.635 (3) Transferred the responsibility for appeals 
of  director’s administrative review cases (primarily on 
medical, vocational, and some penalty issues) from 
the Office of  Administrative Hearings to the Hearings 
Division of  the Workers’ Compensation Board. (HB 
2091)

656.267 (2)(b), 656.278 (4), and 656.298 (1) 
Clarified that regardless of  when the worker makes a 
claim for an omitted or new medical condition, if  claim 
is denied, the worker may request a hearing on the 
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denial. Clarified that if  a worker’s claim for a new or 
omitted condition is compensable, but was made more 
than five years after the first closure of  the claim, the 
claim is to be processed under the jurisdiction of  the 
board. Provided that any party can appeal an own-
motion order from the board. Established hearing rights 
for orders issued under own-motion authority of  the 
Workers’ Compensation Board. (HB 2294)

656.268 (5)(e) Eliminated penalties assessed against 
an insurer or self-insured employer if  information 
used during the reconsideration of  a closure was not 
reasonably known at the time of  claim closure. (HB 
2404)

656.283 (4) & (5) Required that the board give at 
least 60 days notice of  a scheduled hearing, with some 
exceptions. Postponements are to be rescheduled 
within 120 days of  the original hearing date, with the 
exception of  multiple employer/insurer responsibility 
cases. (HB 2717)

656.319 (7) Required that the appeal of  the rescission 
of  PTD benefits be made within 60 days of  the issuance 
of  the notice of  closure. (SB 386)

2007
656.236 Allowed the administrative law judge who 
mediates a claim disposition agreement to approve the 
agreement. (SB 253)

656.386 (2)(d) Allowed for payment of  reasonable 
costs for records, expert opinions, and witness fees 
associated with appealing a workers’ compensation claim 
if  the claimant prevails. The bill caps reimbursement 
for reasonable costs at $1,500 unless the claimant 
demonstrates extraordinary circumstances justifying 
payment of  a greater amount. (SB 404)

656.388 (3) Allowed an attorney who represents 
an injured worker a lien for recovery of  fees out of  
additional awarded compensation or the proceeds of  
a claim settlement if  the worker signs an attorney fee 
agreement for representation and the attorney was 
instrumental in obtaining the outcome of  the claim.  
(SB 404)

2009
656.248 (12) Allowed the parties to resolve medical fee 
disputes informally without requesting an administrative 
review by the director. (HB 2197)

656.262(11), 656.308(2), and 656.385(1) Increases 
maximum claimant attorney fees as follows: for succeeding 
on an issue of  insurer penalty, from $2,000 to $3,000; 
for prevailing against a responsibility denial, from $1,000 
to $2,500; and for prevailing on medical or vocational 
services denial, from $2,000 to $3,000. Provides for annual 
adjustment of  maximum fees based on increases in the 
state average weekly wage. (HB 3345) 

656.262(12), 656.382(2), and 656.386(3) Adds 
provisions for claimant attorney fees as follows: for a 
penalty for late-paid disputed claim settlements; for 
affirming closure rescissions or preventing a reduction of  
reconsideration awards; for insurer nontimely response 
to reclassification requests; and when insurers appeal 
classification orders and the claim is finally found to be 
disabling. (HB 3345) 

656.386 (3) Allowed for penalties when an insurer or 
self-insured employer does not respond within 14 days to a 
claimant request for a claim reclassification. (HB 3345)

Note: Authorizes the Management-Labor Advisory 
Committee to study the effects of  changes to attorney fees.

2013
656.726 Provides authority to the Workers’ 
Compensation Board to adopt new rules and revise 
existing rules that allow the electronic transmission 
and signature of  filings, notices, and other documents. 
(SB190)

2015
656.012, 656.262, 656.277, 656.313, 656.382, 
656.385, 656.386, and 656.388 Made a number 
of  modifications to the current attorney fees, increases 
caps on fees in some areas, expanded the circumstances 
and jurisdictions in which some existing fees may be 
awarded, and required the Workers’ Compensation 
Board to biennially review all attorney fee schedules. 
(HB 2764)

Insurance
1987
656.262 (5) Allowed employers to pay for medical 
services up to $500 for nondisabling claims. Excluded 
these medical costs from modifying the employers’ 
experience rating. (HB 2900) (In 2005, HB 3018 increased 
this to $1,500; in 2007, SB 762 indexed this to medical 
inflation.)
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656.622 (8) Excluded claim costs incurred as a result 
of  an injury sustained by a preferred worker during the 
first two years of  hire from data used for ratemaking or 
individual employer rating. (HB 2900) [Now 656.622 (10)]

1990
656.052 (4) Increased the liability of  corporations, and 
their officers and directors, as noncomplying employers. 
(SB 1197)

656.427 Enacted amendments to insurance coverage 
termination procedures to better ensure continuous 
coverage availability for employers to minimize the 
magnitude of  noncomplying employers. (SB 1198)

656.622 (8) Extended from two to three years from 
hire the exclusion from ratemaking for the preferred 
worker claim costs arising from injury or occupational 
disease; changed the program to a premium exemption 
program. (SB 1197) [Now 656.622 (10)]

656.730 (1)(a) Mandated a tiered rating scheme for 
insured employers too small to qualify for experience 
rating plans in the assigned risk pool. (SB 1198)

656.752 (2)(b) Amended the statutory purpose of  
SAIF Corporation to make insurance available to as 
many Oregon employers as inexpensively as possible 
consistent with sound insurance principles. (SB 1198)

737.602 Allowed the director to establish a contracting 
classification premium adjustment program. This 
provided employers subject to contractor class premium 
rates the economic incentive to enhance safety in the 
workplace. (SB 1197)

1991
746.230 and 746.240 Subjected the SAIF 
Corporation to that portion of  the Insurance Code 
governing unfair claims settlement practices and 
undefined trade practices. (SB 24)

1993
656.018, 656.403, 656.850, 656.855, and 737.270 
Established the director’s authority to regulate employee 
leasing companies. Specified fees and methods of  
licensure by the director, specified the responsibility 
for workers’ compensation coverage and the basis for 
experience rating, required leasing companies to ensure 
leased workers are properly trained in safety matters 
required under ORS Chapter 654, and required 
reporting of  client employers to the director and other 
statistical information to the appropriate rating bureau. 
(HB 2282)

1997
656.018 (5) and 656.850 (1) Clarified the definition 
of  employees of  temporary employment companies and 
their exclusive remedy provisions. (SB 699)

656.307 (1)(b) Required that insurers submit claim 
closures of  pro rata and paying agent claims to WCD 
for redetermination. All parties have the right to request 
reconsideration. (SB 116)

656.593 (6) & (7) Allowed workers to release insurer 
liability in a third-party action that exceeds $1 million. 
(SB 484)

1999
656.170, 656.172, and 656.174 Allowed for the 
director to establish a process for up to two construction 
trades unions to receive authorization to collectively 
bargain agreements for workers’ compensation 
benefits. This bill was established as a pilot project 
where eligibility for such agreements will end Jan. 1, 
2002. The bill also required a status report to the 2001 
Legislature. (HB 2450)

656.430 (7) Removed the “same industry” 
requirement to be included in a self-insured employer 
group. (SB 591)

737.017, 737.225, 737.265, 737.270, 737.355, 
and 737.560 Authorized the director to license one or 
more rating organizations for workers’ compensation 
insurance under the Insurance Code. The bill 
specified the services to be provided by the workers’ 
compensation rating organization. (SB 280)

746.147 Prohibited an insurer or agent from quoting 
projected net insurance premiums that are not 
guaranteed in the policy. (HB 2021)

2001
656.210 (2)(c) Stated that the supplemental temporary 
disability benefits paid for multiple jobs are not to be 
used for ratemaking or for individual employer rating or 
dividend calculations. (SB 485) 

656.772, 657.774, and 656.776 Required the 
Secretary of  State to conduct an annual audit of  the 
SAIF Corporation, paid for by SAIF. The bill specifies 
the subjects of  the audit. (HB 3980)

656.445, 656.506 (4), 656.605 (2)(a), 734.360, 
734.510, 734.570, 734.630, 734.635, and 
734.695 Established the director’s authority to advance 
payments from the Workers’ Benefit Fund to injured 
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workers when an insurer has defaulted on its obligations 
to pay claims but has not yet been placed in liquidation 
by the court. After liquidation proceedings are 
completed and the insurer placed in receivership, the 
Oregon Insurance Guaranty Association will refund the 
Workers’ Benefit Fund any money advanced. (SB 977)

2003
656.407 (2) & (3) Modified the types of  security 
deposits required by self-insured employers. (SB 233)

646.427 Modified the reporting requirements for an 
insurer’s termination of  a guaranty contract. (SB 233)

Chapter 781, 2003 laws Required SAIF to create a 
reinsurance program for medical liability insurance for 
rural doctors. SAIF was allowed to write off the cost of  
the program as an expense against its assessment.  
(HB 3630)

2005
656.430 (13) Authorized public utilities with 
more than $500 million in assets to obtain workers’ 
compensation excess insurance coverage from eligible 
surplus lines insurers. (HB 2718)

656.262 (5) Increased the amount an employer may 
pay for medical services for nondisabling workers’ 
compensation claims from $500 to $1,500. (HB 3318)

2007
737.322 (1) Allowed a surcharge, if  necessary, on 
assigned risk plan members to help pay the costs 
of  assigned risk pool losses when the losses exceed 
premiums. (HB 2250)

656.427(2) Extended the notice requirement to an 
employer from 30 days to 45 days when an insurer 
terminates the employer’s workers’ compensation 
insurance. Notice was shortened to 10 days in the event 
of  nonpayment of  premiums. (HB 2783)

656.427(1) Removed the requirement that employers 
and insurers provide proof  of  workers’ compensation 
coverage by filing a guaranty contract with DCBS 
and instead requires the insurer to provide insurance 
policy information to DCBS as the proof  of  workers’ 
compensation coverage. The bill streamlines reporting 
requirements for insurers and eliminates an unnecessary 
duplicate filing with the state. (Operative July 1, 2009) 
(SB 559)

656.262(5) Required the department to annually 
set the amount of  nondisabling medical costs that an 
employer can voluntarily pay to minimize the effect on 
the employer’s experience rating. The threshold amount 
is based on the change in the medical services consumer 
price index, rounded to the nearest $100. (SB 762)

2014
ORS 656.407, 656.430, 656.434, 656.443, 
656.506 and 656.614 Provided an orderly exit by 
Sept. 15, 2014, for self-insured employer groups who 
choose to stop operating as a group, if  their members 
vote to do so. Groups that continue would need to meet 
higher standards. The bill helps keep some Oregon 
employers in business and ensure there are adequate 
funds to pay their injured workers’ claims, while 
increasing the department’s ability to regulate self-
insured groups.  
(SB 1558)

2015
656.005, 656.204, and 656.226 Several statutory 
changes were made to achieve gender-neutral language 
with respect to individuals who are married. Several 
workers’ compensation laws were updated to refer to 
“spouse” in the general provisions, definitions, death 
benefit, and cohabitation statutes. (HB 2478)
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1991
Robertson, 43 Van Natta 1505 (1991) The 
Workers’ Compensation Board ruled that “objective 
findings” did not mean solely physically verifiable 
impairments. Such a finding may also be based on 
the physician’s evaluation of  the worker’s subjective 
complaints, in this case a description of  the pain 
she was experiencing. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed 
this decision by requiring that objective findings be 
reproducible, measurable, or observable.)

1992
SAIF v. Herron, 114 Or App 64 (1992) The Court 
of  Appeals ruled that 1990 amendments raising the 
dollar value of  a degree of  PPD were subject to ORS 
656.202 and thus were to be applied based on the 
injury date rather than the award date.

1993
Colclasure v. Washington County School 
District, 317 Or 526 (1993) The Supreme Court 
ruled that when reviewing a director’s decision on a 
vocational dispute, the administrative law judge may 
make independent findings of  fact. (In 1995, SB 369 
reversed the effect of  the decision by placing jurisdiction 
in WCD.)

England v. Thunderbird, 315 Or 633 (1993) The 
Supreme Court ruled that disability rating rules, adopted 
by the department pursuant to 1987 law changes, were 
invalid because they failed to consider all factors used 
to determine loss of  earning capacity. (In 1995, SB 369 
reversed the effect of  the decision.)

Jefferson v. Sam’s Cafe, 123 Or App 464 (1993) 
The Court of  Appeals ruled that the director’s authority 
in medical treatment disputes is limited by statute to 
treatment the claimant is receiving; therefore, disputes 
over proposed treatments must be decided at the 
Hearings Division. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed the effect 
of  the decision by placing jurisdiction in WCD.)

Meyers v. Darigold, 123 Or App 217 (1993) The 
Court of  Appeals ruled that the director has jurisdiction 
in medical treatment disputes only if  a party requests it; 
otherwise, the dispute may go to hearings. (In 1995, SB 
369 reversed the effect of  the decision.)

Safeway Stores v. Smith, 122 Or App 160 (1993) 
The Court of  Appeals ruled that while there is a 
limitation on evidence the director may consider in a 
reconsideration, there is no comparable limitation on 
evidence an administrative law judge may consider at a 
hearing on the same issue. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed the 
effect of  the decision.)

Stone v. Whittier Wood Products, 124 Or App 
117 (1993) The Court of  Appeals ruled that long-
standing department rules basing the computation 
of  temporary partial disability benefits on the actual 
modified work wage were invalid since they failed to 
consider the worker’s “earning power at any kind of  
work” as specified in statute. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed 
the effect of  the decision.)

U-Haul of  Oregon v. Burtis, 120 Or App 353 
(1993) The Court of  Appeals ruled that medical 
treatment for a pre-existing degenerative condition 
was compensable if  a compensable injury caused the 
pre-existing condition to need treatment, as long as the 
injury was the major contributing cause of  the need for 
treatment.

1994
Allen v. SAIF, 320 Or 192 (1994) The Supreme 
Court ruled that a medical bill paid untimely 
constituted a “de facto denial” for which attorney 
fees could be assessed under ORS 656.386(1), rather 
than the provisions of  ORS 656.262(10). Under ORS 
656.262(10), attorney fees had been limited to half  the 
penalty amount on issues of  delay or refusal to pay 
compensation. One intent of  this provision had been 
to ensure that attorney fees did not exceed the value 
of  the interest involved in an issue. The effect of  this 
decision may have been to convert many instances of  
untimely payment to de facto denials, thus increasing 
the potential for large attorney fees. (In 1995, SB 369 
reversed the effect of  the decision.)

Leslie v. U.S. Bancorp, 129 Or App 1 (1994) 
The Court of  Appeals ruled that the law did not 
preclude a party from raising an issue at hearing that 
was not raised in or did not arise out of  the preceding 
reconsideration. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed the effect of  
the decision.)

Appendix 2 - Workers’ Compensation Court Cases
A number of  appellate decisions have modified the legislative reform of  the workers’ compensation system. Some of  
the major decisions since 1991 are as follows:
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Messmer v. Delux Cabinet Works, 130 Or App 
254 (1994) The Court of  Appeals ruled that the failure 
to appeal a determination order barred the later denial 
of  conditions rated in that order. (SB 369 contained 
language stating that the payment of  permanent 
disability did not preclude insurers from contesting 
compensability. The language was intended to reverse 
the effects of  this decision. In 1996, another decision 
was issued [see below], and the 1997 Legislature passed 
new language in HB 2971.) 

1995
Errand v. Cascade Steel Rolling Mills, 320 
Or 509 (1995) The Supreme Court ruled that the 
exclusive remedy provisions of  Oregon workers’ 
compensation law are operative only for claims found 
to be compensable under workers’ compensation 
law. Employers’ immunity from civil suits only 
extends to injuries compensated through the workers’ 
compensation system. Thus, workers whose claims are 
work-related but not compensable are not precluded 
from pursuing civil actions. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed 
the effect of  the decision. In 2001, the decision in 
Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc. modified the effects 
of  SB 369.)

Altamirano v. Woodburn Nursery, 133 Or 
App 16 (1995) The Court of  Appeals held that 
the department had impermissibly interpreted the 
30-day limitation on attending physician status for 
chiropractors as applying to only the initial claim. The 
court reasoned that the meaning of  “claim” included 
requests to reopen a previously closed claim; thus, there 
may be multiple 30-day periods for a single injury. (In 
1995, SB 369 reversed the effect of  the decision.)

Welliver Welding Works v. Farmen, 133 Or 
App 203 (1995) The Court of  Appeals held that the 
Legislature had intended vocational assistance eligibility 
decisions to be based on the claimant’s wage at the 
time of  the original injury. The decision invalidated 
a department rule that used the wage at the time of  
aggravation in reopened claims.

1996
Delux Cabinet Works v. Messmer, 140 Or App 
548 (1996) The Court of  Appeals stated that SB 
369, despite the Legislature’s intent, did not reverse 
the earlier court decision that the failure to appeal did 
preclude later denials. (HB 2971, passed by the 1997 
Legislature, reversed the effect of  the decision.)

SAIF Corporation v. Walker, 145 Or App 294 
(1996) The Court of  Appeals considered the meaning 
of  the change in the definition of  an aggravation in 
SB 369. The court reviewed the legislative history 
and determined that a symptomatic worsening is not 
sufficient to establish an aggravation; instead, proof  of  
pathological worsening is required. The Supreme Court 
affirmed the decision in 2000.

1997
Fister v. South Hills Health Care, 149 Or App 
214 (1997) The Court of  Appeals considered a case 
in which claimant testimony about a closure that was 
not submitted at reconsideration was presented and 
admitted at the hearing. The court ruled that, because 
there was no objection at the hearing, the evidence 
could be considered by the administrative law judge 
and, on review, by the board.

1998
SAIF Corporation v. Shipley, 326 Or 557 
(1998) The Supreme Court vacated a board order 
that a claimant’s claim for medical services was 
compensable. The hearing had initially involved the 
issue of  aggravation, and the claimant argued that 
the medical treatments were related to the original 
accepted condition. The board held that the medical 
services claim was compensable. The court found that 
the proper jurisdiction was the director’s review, not the 
board. Because there was no statutory provision of  the 
board to remand to the director, the only correct board 
action was to dismiss the case.

1999
Johansen v. SAIF Corporation, 158 Or App 672 
(1999) The Court of  Appeals ruled that a claim for a 
new medical condition could be brought at any time. It 
is not limited by the time frames for reclassifying claims 
or for aggravations. 

O’Neil v. National Union Fire, 152 Or App 
497 (1999) The Court of  Appeals ruled that the 
department’s contested case hearing procedures had 
been followed as written. The claimant had argued that 
the department was required to conduct a full-scale 
contested case procedure at a contested case hearing; 
the department had instead followed a more limited 
procedure. The court determined that this procedure is 
consistent with ORS 656.327(2).
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2000
Koskela v. Willamette Industries, Inc., 331 Or 
362 (2000) The Supreme Court ruled that the SB 369 
amendment of  ORS 656.283(7) was an unconstitutional 
deprivation of  a worker’s due process rights. The 
amendment prohibited at hearing any evidence that 
was not a part of  the reconsideration process. The 
court balanced three factors: the claimant’s interest in 
the outcome; the risk of  an erroneous decision and the 
value of  additional safeguards; and the government’s 
interest as well as the administrative burdens that 
additional procedures would entail. Specifically in PTD 
cases, the court found that, at a minimum, a worker 
should have the opportunity to provide oral testimony 
about his willingness to work and his efforts at finding 
work. The existing process did not offer adequate 
safeguards against mistakes.

Robinson v. Nabisco, Inc., 331 Or 178 (2000) 
The Supreme Court ruled that a back injury suffered 
during an independent medical exam arose out of  and 
in the course of  employment. Therefore, it was a new, 
compensable injury.

2001
Lumbermans Mutual v. Crawford, 332 Or 404 
(2001) The Supreme Court ruled that ORS 656.262 
(4)(g) applied to all claims. The statute states that 
attending physicians cannot authorize the payment 
of  temporary disability benefits more than 14 days 
retroactively. This decision vacated board orders 
that found that this section dealt with procedural 
compensation while the claim was open, not to 
substantive compensation after the claim was closed. 

Rash v. McKinstry Company, 331 Or 665 (2001) 
The Supreme Court ruled that when a claim disposition 
agreement “resolves all matters … arising out of  
claims,” all matters are resolved, including insurers’ 
matters. In this case, after a CDA was concluded, 
the insurer was not entitled to recover its claim costs 
after the claimant received a third-party award. The 
language involved was part of  SB 369 and had been 
an attempt to clarify the statute. Before this ruling, the 
interpretation had been that the CDA extinguished just 
the claimant’s right to additional benefits.

Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc., 332 
Or 83 (2001) The Supreme Court ruled that the 
exclusive remedy provisions of  ORS 656.018 were 
unconstitutional. When a workers’ compensation claim 

is denied for failure to prove the work-related incident 
was the major contributing cause of  the injury or 
condition, the claimant could be left without a legal 
remedy. Under these circumstances, the employee 
may take civil action against his employer. (The 2001 
Legislature, in SB 485, set out the process for these 
actions. In 2016, the decision in Horton v. OR. Health 
& Sci. Univ. overturned this decision.)

2002
SAIF Corporation v. Lewis, 335 Or 92 (2002) 
The Supreme Court reversed a Court of  Appeals 
ruling that the requirement for “medical evidence 
supported by objective findings” in determining claim 
compensability meant that the indications of  an 
occupational illness had to be verifiable at the time of  
the claimant’s exam. The court stated that the statute 
means the occupational illness had to be verified at 
some time, not necessarily at the time of  the exam.

Everett v. SAIF Corporation, 179 Or App 112 
(2002) The Court of  Appeals ruled that a claimant 
could not testify about his job duties at hearing because 
he had not offered written testimony about these 
duties at reconsideration. These duties were used in 
determining functional capacity in the computation 
of  the permanent partial disability award. Because 
the evidence should have been but was not submitted 
during the reconsideration process, the claimant could 
not pursue the matter on appeal.

Icenhower v. SAIF Corporation, 180 Or App 297 
(2002) The Court of  Appeals ruled that the Hearings 
Division retained jurisdiction on penalties after all other 
issues in the case had been resolved. (ORS 656.262(11) 
gives the director exclusive jurisdiction over penalty-
only cases.)

Talley v. BCI Coca-Cola Bottling, 184 Or 
App 129 (2002) The Court of  Appeals ruled that 
the Hearings Division had jurisdiction to consider 
a claimant’s request for a hearing concerning the 
employer’s notice of  closure issued after the claimant’s 
authorized training program had ended. The court 
stated that this was a matter concerning a claim, as 
stated in ORS 656.283(1).

Machuca-Ramirez v. Zephyr Engineering, Inc., 
184 Or App 565 (2002) The Court of  Appeals ruled 
that the permanent partial disability award in a notice 
of  closure was not the lower limit on the PPD award 
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and that the employer could appeal an administrative 
law judge’s decision that reinstated the original award 
after an order on reconsideration reduced the award to 
zero. The court said this appeal was not an appeal of  
the notice of  closure.

2003
SAIF Corporation v. Dubose, 335 Or 579 (2003) 
The Supreme Court ruled that the phrase in ORS 
656.262(15), “the worker shall not be granted a hearing 
… unless the worker first requests and establishes at an 
expedited hearing …” means the claimant must request 
a hearing, not that she must request an expedited 
hearing. It is up to the board to set the expedited 
hearing. This ruling reversed the decision of  the Court 
of  Appeals.

Kahn v. Providence Health Plan, 335 Or 
460 (2003) The Supreme Court stated that ORS 
656.260(8) precludes an injured worker from bringing 
an action for damages arising out of  a managed care 
organization’s conclusion that a proposed medical 
treatment is unnecessary. The MCO’s conclusion had 
come out of  its utilization review process. The circuit 
court had not decided the case on that ground, so the 
high court remanded the case. 

French-Davis v. Grand Central Bowl, 186 Or 
App 280 (2003) The Court of  Appeals ruled that the 
board had erroneously dismissed a claimant’s request 
for a hearing to challenge the insurer’s failure to close 
the claim. ORS 656.319(6) states that the request must 
be filed within two years after the inaction occurred. 
The insurer argued that the limitation began on the 
date the claim was accepted. The court agreed with 
the claimant that it began on the date the claimant first 
requested closure.

Basmaci v. The Stanley Works, 187 Or App 337 
(2003) The Court of  Appeals ruled that the submission 
of  Form 827, the first medical report of  a claim, did not 
fulfill the requirements for a request for acceptance of  a 
new medical condition.

Braden v. SAIF Corporation, 187 Or App 494 
(2003) The Court of  Appeals ruled that the board 
erred when reviewing a claim compensability case. The 
board had decided that the claim was for a combined 
condition, that the claim should be accepted for a 
period and then denied after the condition was no 
longer the major contributing cause for the need for 

treatment. The court agreed with the claimant that the 
insurer must first accept a combined condition claim 
before the combined condition could be denied.

2004
Trujillo v. Pacific Safety Supply, 336 Or 349 
(2004) The Supreme Court upheld a Court of  Appeals 
ruling that the claimant did not have the right to give 
oral testimony concerning his basic functional capacity 
at hearing. The functional capacity was used in part 
to determine his PPD award. The Supreme Court 
said the claimant did not have a constitutional right 
to present new evidence at a hearing when he had 
foregone the opportunity to present written evidence at 
reconsideration.

Logsdon v. SAIF Corporation, 336 Or 349 
(2004) The Supreme Court upheld a Court of  Appeals 
ruling that the claimant did not have the right to 
cross-examine doctors at hearing. He wished to cross-
examine them regarding his medically stationary date. 
This date was used in determining time-loss benefits. 
The Supreme Court said that the claimant did not have 
a constitutional right to present new evidence, including 
oral testimony, at a hearing when he had bypassed the 
opportunity to present written evidence during the 
reconsideration process.

Day v. Advanced M&D Sales, Inc., 336 Or 511 
(2004) The Supreme Court ruled that the filing of  a 
workers’ compensation claim and the receipt of  benefits 
does not bar a worker from later claiming that he was 
not a subject worker. The case involved a person who 
was employed part of  the time as a salesperson and 
part of  the time as an independent contractor. He was 
a subject worker while working as a salesperson, but not 
while a contractor. This decision reversed the ruling by 
the Court of  Appeals.

Vsetacka v. Safeway, 337 Or 502 (2004) The 
Supreme Court found that ORS 656.265 does not 
explicitly require a formalistic injury notice. Rather, it 
requires injured workers to include enough information 
so the employer knows there may be a compensable 
injury. In this case, the claimant’s three written entries 
in the employer’s injury log were sufficient.

Cloud v. Klamath County School District, 191 
Or App 610 (2004) The Court of  Appeals upheld the 
board’s finding that the claimant’s accepted condition 
was not solely caused by, and not merely a symptom 



115

2016 REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM

of, the pre-existing degenerative condition. Therefore, 
the degenerative condition was excluded from the 
determination of  whether the accepted condition was 
the major contributing cause for the need for treatment.

Stockdale v. SAIF Corporation, 192 Or App 289 
(2004) The Court of  Appeals ruled that an insurer 
could both accept and deny parts of  a combined 
condition in the same document as long as the denial 
effective date was later than the acceptance effective 
date. It said this practice was consistent with ORS 
656.262(6)(c), which contains the phrase “… later 
denying the combined … condition.”

Lederer v. Viking Freight, Inc., 193 Or App 226 
(2004) The Court of  Appeals ruled that a doctor does 
not need to explicitly authorize temporary disability 
benefits when an “objectively reasonable” insurer 
or self-insured employer would understand that the 
medical reports imply such authorization. 

Freightliner LLC v. Holman, 195 Or App 716 
(2004) The Court of  Appeals concluded that the plain 
meaning of  the statute indicated that an occupational 
disease claim must be filed within one year from the 
latest of  four specified events. The court observed that 
nothing in the language of  the statute indicated that 
the specified event must already have transpired at the 
time of  claim filing. The Court of  Appeals affirmed 
the board’s order, which held that the claimant’s 
occupational disease claim for hearing loss was not void 
because neither of  the events (the date the claimant 
becomes disabled or is informed by a physician that he 
is suffering from an occupational disease) had occurred 
when he filed his claim.

2005
Lewis v. Cigna, 339 Or 342 (2005) The Supreme 
Court ruled that a claim could not be denied because 
the worker refused to submit to an insurer-requested 
independent medical exam. The justices determined 
that the Legislature intended to limit sanctions in such 
cases to the suspension of  benefits.

Morales v. SAIF, 339 Or 574 (2005) The Supreme 
Court determined that SAIF could reduce the time-loss 
rate because the worker was released to modified work, 
even though he couldn’t actually return because he’d 
been terminated for violating work rules. The court 
found that the employer had satisfied the requirements 
of  ORS 656.325(5) by creating a modified job to 

accommodate the worker and by implementing a 
written policy of  offering modified jobs.

Managed Healthcare Northwest v. DCBS, 
338 Or 92 (2005) In this case, the issue was a rule 
prohibiting managed care organizations from using 
past practices as a basis to deny authorization of  
nonmember physicians from treating subject workers. 
The Supreme Court found that the rule did not exceed 
agency authority, nor did it conflict with statute or 
policy.

SAIF v. Drury, 202 Or App 14 (2005) The Court 
of  Appeals held that a worker’s self-reported symptoms 
of  cold intolerance constituted objective findings to 
support a permanent disability award. The court stated 
that the indications did not need to actually be verified; 
they only needed to be verifiable.

Dedera v. Raytheon Engineers & Constrs, 200 
Or App 1 (2005) The Court of  Appeals held that 
an ongoing time-loss authorization by a worker’s prior 
attending physician continues when there is a change 
in attending physician. The insurer is not entitled to 
terminate time loss for that reason.

Ainsworth v. SAIF, 202 Or App 708 (2005) The 
Court of  Appeals held that OAR 436-035-0390(12) 
exceeded the director’s authority. It precluded an 
unscheduled disability for psychiatric disability because 
the claimant had also incurred brain damage from the 
injury. The court decided that the rule failed to provide 
compensation for all of  the injury-caused disability.

Allied Waste Industries v. Crawford, 203 Or 
App 512 (2005) To determine the major contributing 
cause when an otherwise compensable injury combines 
with a pre-existing condition, the Court of  Appeals 
ruled that the contributions of  each cause, including the 
precipitating cause, must be weighed.

2006
Roberts v. SAIF, 341 Or 48 (2006) The Supreme 
Court held that a worker’s injury, which occurred while 
he was riding a motorcycle on his employer’s car lot, 
was not compensable because he was injured while 
performing a recreational or social activity primarily 
for personal pleasure. The worker had stipulated that 
motorcycle riding served no business purpose and that 
the employer gained no benefit from it.
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Merle West Medical Center v. Parker, 207 Or 
App 24 (2006) The Court of  Appeals set aside a 
carrier’s denial of  the claimant’s aggravation claim for 
a bilateral wrist condition. The court reasoned that the 
claimant’s attending physician’s opinion, which was 
based on the claimant’s reports of  her symptoms and 
the physician’s medical knowledge, was sufficient to 
establish that the worsening of  her compensable wrist 
condition was supported by objective findings.

Multnomah County v. Obie, 207 Or App 482 
(2006) The Court of  Appeals affirmed the board’s 
finding that a pre-existing chronic depression was not 
a “pre-existing condition” under ORS 656.005(24)
(a). The insurer contended that the claimant’s 
“vulnerability” was a pre-existing condition, and it 
was not excluded for disease claims. The court found 
that the 2001 Legislature’s intent was to eliminate 
predisposition as a pre-existing condition in both injury 
and disease claims.

United Airlines v. Anderson, 207 Or App 
493 (2006) The Court of  Appeals agreed that the 
claimant’s time-loss rate should be based on her “at-
injury” wage, which was increased retroactively in a 
bargaining agreement that occurred after the injury.

Karjalainen v. Curtis Johnson & Pennywise, 
Inc., 208 Or App 674 (2006) The court held that, 
for the purpose of  determining a pre-existing condition, 
“arthritis or an arthritic condition” refers to joint 
inflammation. The interpretation of  the statutory 
phrase is a matter of  law, so this inexact term must 
be given its common, ordinary meaning; it should 
not be based on case-by-case medical opinion. (ORS 
656.005(24) requires pre-existing conditions, except 
arthritis, be previously diagnosed or treated if  the 
combined condition is to be compensable.)

2008
Sisco v. Quicker-Recovery, 218 Or App 376 
(2008) The court held that the claimant’s injury, which 
occurred when he resisted a police officer’s request to 
exit his employer’s tow truck, was compensable. The 
court reasoned that the worker’s interaction with the 
police officer related to the method of  performing the 
ultimate work, so the injury occurred “in the course 
of ” his employment. The “arising out of ” prong of  the 
compensability question was satisfied because his work 
environment exposed him to the risk of  the interaction 
with police, and the motivation for his conduct 
originated, at least partly, from the workplace.

SAIF v. Terrien, 221 Or App 671 (2008) The 
court ruled that claimant’s attorney was not entitled to 
an assessed fee for prevailing against SAIF’s challenge 
to a finding of  premature closure in an order on 
reconsideration. The court found that the intent of  the 
Legislature was to allow such a fee when compensation 
actually awarded is not disallowed or reduced, not 
just when the attorney’s efforts create the potential for 
benefits. HB 3345, passed in 2009, effectively “reversed” 
this case by specifically allowing assessed fees when 
attorney efforts result in the affirmation of  an order 
rescinding a notice of  closure. 

Murdock v. SAIF, 223 Or App 144 (2008) The 
court ruled that the worker’s diabetic condition was 
not a cause of  his toe infection, but merely rendered 
him more susceptible to infection. Susceptibility cannot 
be considered a cause for the purpose of  determining 
major contributing cause, so the denial must be reversed.

2009
SAIF v. Sprague, 346 Or 661 (2009) The Court 
of  Appeals had ruled that, for the gastric bypass 
surgery to be compensable, the need for the surgery 
for weight loss must be caused by the accepted knee 
condition. The Oregon Supreme Court agreed that 
the surgery is compensable, but based on different 
reasoning. To establish compensability of  the surgery, 
two requirements must be met: (1) the current condition 
(knee) must be caused in major part by the compensable 
knee injury and (2) the bypass surgery must be “directed 
to” that current condition.

2010
Liberty Northwest Insurance Corp. v. Watkins 
347 Or 687 (2010) The Oregon Supreme Court, 
after careful analysis of  the statute text, found that 
an assessed fee in a medical dispute may be awarded, 
despite a CDA that had released all allowable benefits. 
Further, the high court found this interpretation to 
be consistent with the Legislature’s intent to provide 
medical services for the life of  a worker. 

Pilgrim v. Delta Airlines, 234 Or APP 80 
(2010) The court found that when the pre-existing 
condition and the combined condition are both work 
related, compensability requires only that the worker 
establish that “employment conditions” are the major 
contributing case of  the combined condition.
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Merten v. PGE Company, 234 Or App 407 
(2010) A worker’s civil action alleged that the 
employer’s fraudulent inducement not to appeal a 
denial effectively denied him the opportunity for 
remedy within the workers’ compensation system. 
The trial court granted summary judgment, reasoning 
that the Board had exclusive jurisdiction. The Court 
of  Appeals reversed (allowed the action to proceed), 
finding that the fraud claim was not for a “compensable 
injury” and was not within workers’ compensation law. 
The fraud didn’t occur in a workers’ compensation 
hearing.

Hopkins v. SAIF, 349 Or 348 (2010) The Supreme 
Court held that, for the purpose of  defining “pre-
existing condition,” the Legislature intended the 
statutory term “arthritis” to mean the inflammation 
of  one or more joints, due to infectious, metabolic, 
or constitutional causes, and resulting in breakdown, 
degeneration, or structural change. The court found 
that the Legislature had intentionally left “arthritis” 
undefined. Further, it determined that the term should 
not be limited to inflammation of  moveable joints. See 
Karjalainen (2006), above.

2011
Basin Tire Service/Argonaut v. Minyard, 240 
Or App 715 (2011) The Court of  Appeals found 
that, when a worker must file an aggravation claim in 
order to receive medical benefits, the worker is entitled 
to pursue the aggravation claim, despite the earlier 
approval of  a claim disposition agreement.

Sandberg v. JC Penney Co, 243 Or App 342 
(2011) The Court of  Appeals determined that the 
injury to a worker, who was required to work at home, 
arose out of  her employment. The court reasoned that 
home hazards are also employment hazards in this 
situation, despite the lack of  employer control over the 
premises. (The court remanded for the determination 
of  the other prong of  the compensability issue, whether 
the injury happened in the course of  employment.)

2012
SAIF v. DeLeon, 352 Or 130 (2012) The Oregon 
Supreme Court held that under ORS 656.382(2), 
when a claimant obtains an award of  attorney fees and 
the insurer initiates a review, the tribunal has the final 
decision as to whether the award should be disallowed 
or reduced.

2013
Estacada Rural Fire District #69 v. Hull, 
256 Or App 729 (2013) The court held that, 
when a worker who would ordinarily qualify for the 
“firefighter’s presumption” has a mental disorder claim, 
the compensability standard for mental disorders 
under ORS 56.802(3) would apply. Determining that 
the Board had erred in applying the “firefighter’s 
presumption,” the court remanded for application 
of  the mental disorder standard prescribed in ORS 
656.802(3).

Schleiss v. SAIF Corporation, 354 Or 637 
(2013) The Oregon Supreme Court concluded that 
no portion of  permanent impairment can be attributed 
to any condition the worker may suffer from that is not 
formally part of  a combined condition or has not been 
established as a pre-existing condition.

2014
Brown v. SAIF Corporation, 262 Or App 640 
(2014) The Court of  Appeals ruled that, to deny a 
combined condition, an insurer must prove it is the 
accidental work-related injurious incident that is no 
longer the major contributing cause. The court ruled 
that the compensable injury is the work injury resulting 
from the work action, not the condition the insurer 
accepts. The burden, therefore, on an employer or 
insurer seeking to deny a previously accepted combined 
condition, is to prove the work-related injury is no 
longer the major contributing cause of  the disability or 
need for treatment. (Note: The case was appealed, accepted 
for review, and argued before the Oregon Supreme Court. As of  
this writing, no decision has been issued.) 

SAIF v. Carlos-Macias, 262 Or App 629 (2014) 
The Court of  Appeals ruled that diagnostic services 
related to discovery of  the cause of  complaints of  pain 
can be reasonable and necessary expenses, even if  
the results of  the testing reveal that the condition was 
unrelated to the compensable condition.

Francisco Vargas, 66 Van Natta 1777 The 
Workers’ Compensation Board ruled that, once enrolled 
in an MCO, a worker remains subject to the MCO 
contract as long as the claim remains in accepted status. 
However, where a new/omitted medical condition 
claim is in denied status, the MCO requirements do 
not apply to the claim for those particular conditions. 
Moreover, when a denial of  the new/omitted medical 
condition claim is subsequently set aside, the carrier 
becomes obligated to pay temporary disability benefits 
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for that particular claim during the period that the 
claim was in denied status, provided that there was an 
“attending physician’s” authorization during that period 
(regardless of  that physician’s affiliation with an MCO).

Spurger v. SAIF, 266 Or App 183 Under OAR 
436-035-0019, a worker is entitled to chronic condition 
impairment value if  the worker is “significantly 
limited” in the repetitive use of  certain body parts. The 
Court of  Appeals held the board erred in failing to 
provide an adequate explanation of  what it considered 
“significantly limited” to mean. The court remanded 
the decision to the board to correct that deficiency. 
Subsequently, the Workers’ Compensation Division 
issued an industry notice clarifying its interpretation of  
the term “significantly limited” as applied in the context 
of  its rule. 

2015
Sather v. SAIF, 357 Or 122 The Supreme Court 
held that a worker’s estate was a “person” and 
entitled to pursue the appeal of  an unfavorable Board 
compensability decision following the worker’s death.

Corkum v. Bi-Mart Corp., 271 Or App 411 
The Court of  Appeals held that, in determining 
the compensability of  a worker’s injury claim for a 
groin condition, his abdominal wall weakness merely 
rendered him more susceptible to injury (without itself  
contributing to his disability or need for treatment), and 
as such, the weakness did not constitute a “pre-existing 
condition” for purposes of  analyzing the compensability 
of  the injury claim. The court determined that a 
condition merely renders a worker more susceptible to 
injury if  the condition increases the likelihood that the 
affected body part will be injured by some other action 
or process, but does not actively contribute to damaging 
the body part. Applying its understanding of  the term 
“susceptible,” the court concluded that a physician’s 
statement that the worker’s hernia had enlarged “due to 
the weakening of  the tissue” meant that the abdominal 
wall weakness was a passive contributor that merely 
allowed the hernia to enlarge, while the “stresses and 
strains” of  everyday life actively caused the hernia to 
enlarge. Reasoning that the worker’s abdominal wall 
weakness merely rendered him more susceptible to 
injury, the court held that the abdominal wall weakness 
was not a preexisting condition within the meaning of  
ORS 656.005(24).

U.S. Bank v. Pohrman, 272 Or App 31 TA worker 
slipped and fell while walking to a coffee shop in the 
lobby of  the building where her employer’s office was 
located to meet a friend during her paid break. The 
Court of  Appeals ruled that the injury was not excluded 
from compensability because she was not injured while 
performing a social activity primarily for her personal 
pleasure. The court stated the personal nature of  the 
worker’s meeting with her friend was secondary to her 
work-related reason for her break activity. Addressing 
the relationship between the “personal comfort” 
doctrine and the “going and coming” rule, the court 
explained that the going and coming rule generally 
does not apply when the worker, although not engaging 
in an appointed work activity at a specific moment in 
time, still remains in the course of  employment and, 
therefore, has not left work.

2016
Magana-Marquez v. SAIF, 276 Or App 32 The 
Court of  Appeals held that a worker was not entitled 
to a permanent disability award for a low back 
strain injury because the record established that her 
permanent impairment (reduced range of  motion and 
sensory loss) were wholly due to causes other than her 
compensable injury. 

Horton v. Or. Health & Sci. Univ., 359 Or 168 
The Supreme Court overruled its decision in Smothers 
v. Gresham Transfer, Inc., 332 Or 82 (2001). In Smothers, 
the court determined that, if  a workers’ compensation 
claim for an alleged injury is denied because the worker 
has failed to prove that the work-related incident was 
major, rather than merely a contributing, cause of  
the injury, then the exclusive remedy provisions of  
ORS 656.018 (1995) are unconstitutional under the 
remedy clause in Article I, Section 10 of  the Oregon 
Constitution. 

Horton concerned a medical malpractice suit involving a 
state employee doctor and the Tort Claims Act, which 
limited the doctor’s tort liability. The Supreme Court 
held that the act did not violate the remedy clause. 
In reaching that decision, the court explained that, 
contrary to the Smothers rationale, “the remedy clause 
does not protect only those causes of  action that pre-
existed 1857, nor does it preclude the legislature from 
altering either common law duties or the remedies 
available for a breach of  those duties.” The court 
further noted that “[b]ecause we overrule Smothers, 
it follows that its conclusion – that the workers’ 
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compensation statute was unconstitutional as applied – 
cannot stand.”

DeLos-Santos v. Si Pac Enterprises, Inc., 278 
Or App 254 The Court of  Appeals held that, when 
initiating a new or omitted medical condition claim, a 
worker must establish that the claimed condition exists, 
rather than merely showing that symptoms exist.

DCBS v. Muliro, 359 Or 736 The Supreme Court 
held that a worker was not entitled to “supplemental” 
disability benefits because she had not communicated 
to her employer that she had “secondary employment” 
within 30 days of  the insurer’s receipt of  her initial 
injury claim and because the insurer had not otherwise 
received actual notice of  her “secondary employment” 
within the 30-day period. After considering the text and 
context of  the statute, the court found no support for 
the worker’s argument that her supervisors’ knowledge 
of  her “secondary employment” (at some unknown 
point that preceded her compensable injury) should be 
imputed to the insurer.
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