

Board of Dentistry 1500 SW 1[#] Ave, Ste 770 Portland, OR 97201-5837 (971) 673-3200 Fax: (971) 673-3202

www.oregon.gov/dentistry

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR

NITROUS OXIDE, MINIMAL SEDATION, MODERATE SEDATION & GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMITS

No dentist or dental hygienist will be granted a permit to administer sedation or general anesthesia **without primary source verification** of training/education in the permit category for which the applicant is applying. In addition to completing an application, verification of training must be sent to the Oregon Board of Dentistry <u>directly</u> by the school or program. Verification of training submitted by the applicant will not be accepted.

Additional requirements may apply depending on the length of time since the applicant completed their sedation training. See below:

- 1. If initial training/education was completed <u>within the immediate two (2) years prior</u> to applying for a sedation or general anesthesia permit, no additional documentation is required.
- 2. If initial training/education was completed **greater than two years prior**, **but within the immediate five (5) years prior** to applying for a sedation or general anesthesia permit, the applicant must provide documentation of all continuing education that would have been required for the permit category in the time period since completing initial training (see Division 26 of the Oregon Dental Practice Act):

Nitrous Oxide - Four (4) hours per biennial cycle (two hours per calendar year for the purposes of this application)

Minimal Sedation - Four (4) hours per biennial cycle (two hours per calendar year for the purposes of this application)

Moderate Sedation - 14 hours per biennial cycle (seven hours per calendar year for the purposes of this application)

General Anesthesia - 14 hours per biennial cycle (seven hours per calendar year for the purposes of this application)

or

Provide documentation of completion of a comprehensive review course approved by the Board in the permit category to which the applicant is applying and must consist of at least one-half (50) % of the hours required by rule for a Nitrous Oxide (7 hours), Minimal Sedation (8 hours), Enteral Moderate Sedation (12 hours), and Parenteral Moderate Sedation (30 hours) Permit. General Anesthesia Permits will require at least 120 hours of general anesthesia training.

3. If initial training/education was completed <u>greater than five (5) years prior</u> to applying for a sedation or general anesthesia permit, the applicant must provide primary source verification from another state that the applicant is actively licensed in that state and holds the level of permit being applied for in Oregon, **and**; Provide chart notes verifying the completion of at least 25 cases in the requested level of sedation or general anesthesia in the 12 months immediately preceding application.

OI

Demonstration of competency to the satisfaction of the Board that the applicant possesses adequate sedation or general anesthesia skill to safely deliver sedation or general anesthesia services to the public.



Board of Dentistry 1500 SW 1st Ave, Ste 770 Portland, OR 97201-5837 (971) 673-3200

Fax: (971) 673-3202 www.oregon.gov/dentistry

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

PLEASE REFER TO THE INFORMATION BELOW TO ADDRESS OUR MOST COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS AS YOU COMPLETE YOUR APPLICATION

Where / how do I send in my completed application?

Permit applications must be mailed along with the applicable fee to the following address: Oregon Board of Dentistry, Unit 23, PO Box

How do I pay for my application and how much does it cost?

The fee amount can be found on the first page of the application. Permit applications fees must be paid in the form of a cashier's check or money order made payable to the Oregon Board of Dentistry. We are not able to accept credit or debit payments at this time. You must mail your payment along with your application to the address indicated above.

How long will it take before I receive my permit?

Sedation and general anesthesia permit applications are reviewed by multiple members of our staff and Board, and the review process is quite extensive. Please anticipate approximately 3-6 weeks for application processing.

How will I know the status of my application, or when my permit has been approved?

You will be notified by email if additional information is required for your application, and once your permit has been issued. Please ensure that you provide a valid email address on your application. You may also submit a 'check status' form, which can be found under the 'applicants' section on our website. Please do not call our office to check the status of your application.

What if I don't have a job yet and don't have an informed consent form, health history form, and medical emergency protocols? You will need to attach these items even if you do not have a job currently. You may use the forms that you used in school, at a previous job, forms found on the internet etc., or you may create your own forms.

If I want to administer minimal /moderate sedation, do I need to apply for a nitrous oxide permit as well?

No. A minimal, moderate or general anesthesia permit will cover the lower levels of sedation.

What type of documentation is required to verify my sedation or general anesthesia training?

Verification of training must be in the form of a letter/email sent *directly* by the school/program, and must verify certain information specific to the level of permit being applied for. <u>Transcripts are not sufficient.</u> See the required language for letters of verification for each permit type below:

NITROUS OXIDE:

- The applicant completed a training course of at least 14 hours of instruction specific to nitrous oxide as part of completion of a CODAaccredited dental school-based degree program, or CODAaccredited dental hygiene degree program, or as a postgraduate in an OBD-approved course.
- Of those 14+ hours, how many hours were didactic, and how many hours were clinical.
- The date on which the applicant completed the training course(s).

MINIMAL SEDATION:

- The applicant completed a comprehensive training program in minimal sedation consisting of at least 16 hours of training including a hands-on component*, and:
- The applicant completed minimal sedation training that satisfies the requirements of the current ADA "Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students" at the time training was commenced or postgraduate instruction was completed, and;
- The date on which the applicant completed this training.
 - *Minimal sedation courses that do not contain a hands-on component will not be accepted

MODERATE SEDATION:

- The applicant completed an ADAaccredited postdoctoral training program (or other comprehensive training program in enteral or parenteral moderate sedation), and;
- As a part of that program, the applicant completed moderate sedation training that satisfies the requirements described in Part V of the current ADA "Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students", and;
- For enteral: The training included a minimum of at least 24 hours of instruction plus management of at least 10 dental patient experiences by the enteral and/or enteral-nitrous oxide/oxygen route, or;
- For parenteral: The training included a minimum of at least 60 hours of instruction plus management of at least 20 dental patient experiences by the intravenous route, and;
- The date on which the applicant completed this training.

GENERAL ANESTHESIA:

- The applicant completed either:
 An ADA-accredited postdoctoral training program (including, but not limited to, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery) which affords comprehensive and appropriate training necessary to administer and manage general anesthesia, or;
- Another advanced training program in general anesthesia and related subjects beyond the undergraduate dental curriculum, and;
- The training satisfies the requirements in the current ADA "Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students", and;
- The date on which the applicant completed this training.

Rev. Code 2135



MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT APPLICATION FORM

FEE \$75:00

Please check the appropriate box(es):

Enteral Moderate Sedation

Parenteral Moderate Sedation

Oregon Board of Dentistry Unit 23 PO Box 4395 Portland, OR 97208 OREGON LICENSE NUMBER: IF NONE, LEAVE BLANK				
NAME:		_ EMAIL:		
MAILING ADDRESS:				
CITY:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:		
BUSINESS ADDRESS:				
		ZIP CODE:		
Please note: Any of the following will res Application must be Copying or duplicat Questions are not a Missing forms, certi	moderate sedation permit you material to the moderate sedation permit ult in automatic rejection of the completed on a typewriter or ing another licensee's applicanswered completely.	e application and delay the application process: a computer.		
I have read and understand th	ne above information:	SIGNATURE		

I. TRAINING

1) Describe and submit evidence of your formal training in the use of moderate sedation, evidence must be submitted directly from program to the Oregon Board of Dentistry (use additional sheets if necessary) and submit a copy of your current Healthcare Provider BLS/CPR level, or its equivalent certification and a copy of your ACLS and/or PALS, whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated.

TITLE OF COURSE	DATE	HOURS (CLINIC)	HOURS (CLASSROOM)	SPONSORING INSTITUTION OR LOCATION

2) Describe the formal education and in-office training your anesthesia assistant(s) has/have:

TITLE OF COURSE	DATE	HOURS (CLINIC)	HOURS (CLASSROOM)	SPONSORING INSTITUTION OR LOCATION

3)	Provide copies of your anesthesia assistant's (s') valid and current Health Care Provider BLS/CPR level, or
	its equivalent certificate.

4) Briefly describe your minimum training standards for personnel who assist you with anest

II. PREOPERATIVE

1) How do	you evaluate a	patient for	or anesthesia

2) What specific preoperative vital signs do you obtain?

3) What is the ASA status of the patients you plan to sedate?

	4) What pre-anesthesia instructions do you give patients? How do you ensure your NPO guidelines follow the current ASA NPC guidelines and standard of care? Attach a copy of an instruction sheet which you give the patient.		
5)	Attach a copy of your informed consent form, pre-anesthesia instruction form and health history form.		
6)	Attach a copy of your anesthesia record.		
7)	Attach a copy of your written emergency response protocols. Provide specific protocols for each of the more probable (approximately 8 – 13) medical emergencies. This written protocol should comprehensively and concisely review what is currently taught in medical emergency lectures.		
	Informed consent attached: Pre-anesthesia instructions attached:		
	Health history form attached: Emergency protocols attached:		
III.	OPERATIVE		
1)	Describe your sedation procedures:		
a)	What drugs will you administer; what doses and route will be used?		
a)	What drugs will you administer, what doses and route will be used:		
b)	What will be the typical duration of sedation cases?		

c)	Describe how you will monitor the patient during sedation:
d)	How will the airway and respiratory function be maintained during sedation?
e) and	How do you perform an airway evaluation? What anatomic variables do you consider a difficult airway during your exan d prior to sedating your patient? When will supplemental oxygen be administered?
f)	What supportive and emergency equipment will be present during sedation?
g)	What personnel will be present and what will their role be during sedation?
h)	What types of procedures will be performed under sedation?

IV. POSTOPERATIVE

1)	De	escribe your post-anesthetic recovery care and monitoring:	
	a)	Where will the patient be recovered and how will he/she be monitored? How is this recovery room equipped? (Suction, lighting, monitors.)	
	b)	What personnel will perform post-sedation monitoring?	
	c)	Who will determine patient readiness for discharge and what standards will be used to make this determination?	
2)	At	tach a copy of the postoperative instructions that you give a patient or a person caring for the patient.	

V. FMFRGENCY

V. EMERGENCY
1) Describe your emergency protocol (i.e., a time line or algorithm) and explain what responsibilities your staff members
have.
Describe your training that relates to the handling of anesthesia related emergencies.

3) Do you have regularly scheduled e Date of most recent drill.	emergency drills?yesno If yes, how often?
4) Describe your emergency kit.	
a) List the drugs it contains and	d what each drug is used for.
b) What airway emergency eqւ	uipment is available?
c) How do you ensure emerge	ncy kit contents are kept current?
I certify that the above statements are consent to the conduct of office evalu Signature	
J	

NOTE: Under ORS 679.170(5), willfully making a material false statement on this application is grounds for discipline.

This page left blank

DIVISION 26

ANESTHESIA

818-026-0000

Purpose

- (1) These rules apply to the administration of substances that produce general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation or nitrous oxide sedation in patients being treated by licensees. These regulations are not intended to prohibit training programs for licensees or to prevent persons from taking necessary action in case of an emergency.
- (2) Nothing in this Division relieves a licensee from the standards imposed by ORS 679.140(1)(e) and 679.140(4).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13

818-026-0010

Definitions

As used in these rules:

- (1) "Anesthesia Monitor" means a person trained in monitoring patients under sedation and capable of assisting with procedures, problems and emergency incidents that may occur as a result of the sedation or secondary to an unexpected medical complication.
- (2) "Anxiolysis" means the diminution or elimination of anxiety.
- (3) "General Anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of consciousness during which patients are not arousable, even by painful stimulation. The ability to independently maintain ventilatory function is often impaired. Patients often require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and positive pressure ventilation may be required because of depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular function may be impaired.
- (4) "Deep Sedation" means a drug-induced depression of consciousness during which patients cannot be easily aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or painful stimulation. The ability to independently maintain ventilatory function may be impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained.
- (5) "Moderate Sedation" means a drug-induced depression of consciousness during which patients respond purposefully to verbal commands, either alone

- or accompanied by light tactile stimulation. No interventions are required to maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained.
- (6) "Minimal Sedation" means minimally depressed level of consciousness, produced by non-intravenous pharmacological methods, that retains the patient's ability to independently and continuously maintain an airway and respond normally to tactile stimulation and verbal command. When the intent is minimal sedation for adults, the appropriate initial dosing of a single non-intravenous pharmacological method is no more than the maximum recommended dose (MRD) of a drug that can be prescribed for unmonitored home use. Nitrous oxide/oxygen may be used in combination with a single non-intravenous pharmacological method in minimal sedation.
- (7) "Nitrous Oxide Sedation" means an induced, controlled state of minimal sedation, produced solely by the inhalation of a combination of nitrous oxide and oxygen in which the patient retains the ability to independently and continuously maintain an airway and to respond purposefully to physical stimulation and to verbal command.
- (8) "Maximum recommended dose" (MRD) means maximum Food and Drug Administration (FDA) recommended dose of a drug, as printed in FDA approved labeling for unmonitored use.
- (9) "Incremental Dosing" means during minimal sedation, administration of multiple doses of a drug until a desired effect is reached, but not to exceed the maximum recommended dose (MRD).
- (10) "Supplemental Dosing" means during minimal sedation, supplemental dosing is a single additional dose of the initial drug that is necessary for prolonged procedures. The supplemental dose should not exceed one-half of the initial dose and should not be administered until the dentist has determined the clinical half-life of the initial dosing has passed. The total aggregate dose must not exceed 1.5x the MRD on the day of treatment.
- (11) "Enteral Route" means administration of medication via the gastrointestinal tract. Administration by mouth, sublingual (dissolving under the tongue), intranasal and rectal administration are included.
- (12) "Parenteral Route" means administration of medication via a route other than enteral. Administration by intravenous, intramuscular, and subcutaneous routes are included.
- (13) American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient Physical Status Classification System.
 - (a) ASA I "A normal healthy patient".
 - (b) ASA II "A patient with mild systemic disease".
- (c) ASA III "A patient with severe systemic disease".

- (d) ASA IV "A patient with severe systemic disease that is a constant threat to life".
- (e) ASA V "A moribund patient who is not expected to survive without the operation".
- (f) ASA VI "A declared brain-dead patient whose organs are being removed for donor purposes".

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10)
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2018, f. 10/4/18,

cert. ef. 1/1/19

818-026-0020

Presumption of Degree of Central Nervous System Depression

- (1) In any hearing where a question exists as to the degree of central nervous system depression a licensee has induced (i.e., general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation or nitrous oxide sedation), the Board may base its findings on, among other things, the types, dosages and routes of administration of drugs administered to the patient and what result can reasonably be expected from those drugs in those dosages and routes administered in a patient of that physical and psychological status.
- (2) The following drugs are conclusively presumed to produce general anesthesia and may only be used by a licensee holding a General Anesthesia Permit:
- (a) Ultra short acting barbiturates including, but not limited to, sodium methohexital, thiopental, thiamylal;
- (b) Alkylphenols propofol (Diprivan) including precursors or derivatives;
 - (c) Neuroleptic agents;
 - (d) Dissociative agents ketamine;
 - (e) Etomidate; and
 - (f) Volatile inhalational agents.
- (3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under any form of sedation or general anesthesia at the same time exclusive of recovery.
- (4) A licensee that does not hold a Moderate, Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Permit may not administer, for purpose of anxiolysis or sedation, Benzodiazepines or narcotics in children under 6 years of age.
- (5) A licensee must ensure a written emergency response protocol is in place for all patients undergoing nitrous oxide, minimal sedation, moderate sedation, deep sedation or general anesthesia.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2018, f. 10/4/18, cert. ef. 1/1/19

818-026-0030

Requirements for Anesthesia Permits

- (1) A permit holder who administers sedation shall assure that drugs, drug dosages, and/or techniques used to produce sedation shall carry a margin of safety wide enough to prevent unintended deeper levels of sedation.
- (2) No licensee shall induce central nervous system sedation or general anesthesia without first having obtained a permit under these rules for the level of anesthesia being induced.
- (3) A licensee may be granted a permit to administer sedation or general anesthesia with documentation of training/education and/or competency in the permit category for which the licensee is applying by any one the following:
- (a) Initial training/education in the permit category for which the applicant is applying shall be completed no more than two years immediately prior to application for sedation or general anesthesia permit; or
- (b) If greater than two years but less than five years since completion of initial training/education, an applicant must document completion of all continuing education that would have been required for that anesthesia/permit category during that five year period following initial training; or
- (c) If greater than two years but less than five years since completion of initial training/education, immediately prior to application for sedation or general anesthesia permit, current competency or experience must be documented by completion of a comprehensive review course approved by the Board in the permit category to which the applicant is applying and must consist of at least one-half (50%) of the hours required by rule for Nitrous Oxide, Minimal Sedation, Moderate Sedation and General Anesthesia Permits. Deep Sedation and General Anesthesia Permits will require at least 120 hours of general anesthesia training.
- (d) An applicant for sedation or general anesthesia permit whose completion of initial training/education is greater than five years immediately prior to application, may be granted a sedation or general anesthesia permit by submitting documentation of the requested permit level from another state or jurisdiction where the applicant is also licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene, and provides documentation of the completion of at least 25 cases in the requested level of sedation or general anesthesia in the 12 months immediately preceding application; or
- (e) Demonstration of current competency to the satisfaction of the Board that the applicant possesses adequate sedation or general anesthesia skill to safely deliver sedation or general anesthesia services to the public.

- (4) A licensee holding a nitrous or minimal sedation permit, shall at all times maintain a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent.
- (5) A licensee holding an anesthesia permit for moderate sedation, deep sedation or general anesthesia at all times maintains a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, and a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) Certificate or Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) Certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated. If a licensee permit holder sedates only patients under the age of 12, only PALS is required. If a licensee permit holder sedates only patients age 12 and older, only ACLS is required. If a licensee permit holder sedates patients younger than 12 years of age as well as older than 12 years of age, both ACLS and PALS are required. For licensees with a moderate sedation permit only, successful completion of the American Dental Association's course "Recognition and Management of Complications during Minimal and Moderate Sedation" at least every two years may be substituted for ACLS, but not for PALS.
- (6) Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) and or Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) do not serve as a substitute for Health Care Provider Basic Life Support (BLS).
- (7) When a dentist utilizes a single oral agent to achieve anxiolysis only, no anesthesia permit is required.
- (8) The applicant for an anesthesia permit must pay the appropriate permit fee, submit a completed Boardapproved application and consent to an office evaluation.
- (9) Permits shall be issued to coincide with the applicant's licensing period.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17; OBD 2-2018, f. 10/4/18, cert. ef. 1/1/19, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020

818-026-0035

Classes of Anesthesia Permit

The Board shall issue the following classes of permits:

- (1) A Nitrous Oxide Permit authorizes a dental hygienist or a dentist to induce nitrous oxide sedation.
- (2) A Minimal Sedation Permit authorizes a dentist to induce minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation.
- (3) A Moderate Sedation Permit authorizes a dentist to induce moderate sedation, minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation.

- (4) A Deep Sedation Permit authorizes a dentist to induce deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation, and nitrous oxide sedation. The Board shall issue a Deep Sedation Permit to a licensee who holds a Class 3 Permit on or before July 1, 2010.
- (5) A General Anesthesia Permit authorizes a dentist to induce general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10

818-026-0040

Qualifications, Standards Applicable, and Continuing Education Requirements for Anesthesia Permits: Nitrous Oxide Permit

Nitrous Oxide Sedation.

- (1) The Board shall issue a Nitrous Oxide Permit to an applicant who:
- (a) Is either a licensed dentist or licensed hygienist in the State of Oregon;
- (b) Maintains a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent; and
- (c) Has completed a training course of at least 14 hours of instruction in the use of nitrous oxide from a dental school or dental hygiene program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, or as a postgraduate.
- (2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use during the procedure and during recovery:
- (a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating table or in an operating chair and to allow delivery of appropriate care in an emergency situation;
- (b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so that the patient's airway can be maintained, quickly alter the patient's position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the administration of basic life support;
- (c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the event of a general power failure;
- (d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction device which will function in the event of a general power failure;
- (e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face masks and appropriate connectors that is capable of

delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an adequate backup system;

- (f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scavenger system; and
- (g) Sphygmomanometer and stethoscope and/or automatic blood pressure cuff.
- (3) Before inducing nitrous oxide sedation, a permit holder shall:
 - (a) Evaluate the patient;
- (b) Give instruction to the patient or, when appropriate due to age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's guardian;
- (c) Certify that the patient is an appropriate candidate for nitrous oxide sedation; and
- (d) Obtain informed consent from the patient or patient's guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of the informed consent shall be documented in the patient's record.
- (4) If a patient chronically takes a medication which can have sedative side effects, including, but not limited to, a narcotic or benzodiazepine, the practitioner shall determine if the additive sedative effect of nitrous oxide would put the patient into a level of sedation deeper than nitrous oxide. If the practitioner determines it is possible that providing nitrous oxide to such a patient would result in minimal sedation, a minimal sedation permit would be required.
- (5) A patient under nitrous oxide sedation shall be visually monitored by the permit holder or by an anesthesia monitor at all times. The patient shall be monitored as to response to verbal stimulation, oral mucosal color and preoperative and postoperative vital signs.
- (6) The permit holder or anesthesia monitor shall record the patient's condition. The record must include documentation of all medications administered with dosages, time intervals and route of administration.
- (7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors in a dental office shall maintain current certification in BLS for Healthcare Providers Basic Life Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) training, or its equivalent, shall be trained and competent in monitoring patient vital signs, in the use of monitoring and emergency equipment appropriate for the level of sedation utilized. ("competent" means displaying special skill or knowledge derived from training and experience.)
- (8) The person administering the nitrous oxide sedation may leave the immediate area after initiating the administration of nitrous oxide sedation only if a qualified anesthesia monitor is continuously observing the patient.
- (9) The permit holder shall assess the patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as normal

guidelines and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:

- (a) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status;
- (b) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning;
- (c) The patient can sit up unaided or without assistance:
- (d) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and
- (e) The patient does not have nausea, vomiting or dizziness.
- (10) The permit holder shall make a discharge entry in the patient's record indicating the patient's condition upon discharge.
- (11) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Nitrous Oxide Permit, the permit holder must provide proof of a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent. In addition, Nitrous Oxide Permit holders must also complete four (4) hours of continuing education in one or more of the following areas every two years: sedation, nitrous oxide, physical evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, may not be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060 and 818-021-0070.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & (10) Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020

818-026-0050

Minimal Sedation Permit

Minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation.

- (1) The Board shall issue a Minimal Sedation Permit to an applicant who:
 - (a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon;
- (b) Maintains a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent; and
- (c) Completion of a comprehensive training program consisting of at least 16 hours of training and satisfies the requirements of the current ADA Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students at the time training was commenced or postgraduate instruction was completed, or the equivalent of that required in graduate training programs, in sedation, recognition and management of complications and emergency care; or

- (d) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equivalent training or experience in minimal sedation anesthesia.
- (2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use during the procedures and during recovery:
- (a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating table or in an operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least two individuals to freely move about the patient;
- (b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team can maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the administration of basic life support;
- (c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the event of a general power failure;
- (d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction device which will function in the event of a general power failure;
- (e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full facemask and appropriate connectors that is capable of delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an adequate backup system;
- (f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scavenger system;
- (g) Sphygmomanometer, stethoscope, pulse oximeter, and/or automatic blood pressure cuff; and
- (h) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the drugs used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, antihistamines, antihypertensives and anticonvulsants.
- (3) Before inducing minimal sedation, a dentist permit holder who induces minimal sedation shall:
- (a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an appropriate candidate for minimal sedation;
- (b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions to the patient or, when appropriate due to age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's guardian;
- (c) Certify that the patient is an appropriate candidate for minimal sedation; and
- (d) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or patient's guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of the informed consent shall be documented in the patient's record.

- (4) No permit holder shall have more than one person under minimal sedation at the same time.
- (5) While the patient is being treated under minimal sedation, an anesthesia monitor shall be present in the room in addition to the treatment provider. The anesthesia monitor may be the dental assistant. After training, a dental assistant, when directed by a dentist permit holder, may administer oral sedative agents or anxiolysis agents calculated and dispensed by a dentist permit holder under the direct supervision of a dentist permit holder.
- (6) A patient under minimal sedation shall be visually monitored at all times, including recovery phase. The record must include documentation of all medications administered with dosages, time intervals and route of administration. The dentist permit holder or anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient's condition.
- (7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors for minimal sedation in a dental office shall maintain current certification in BLS for Healthcare Providers Basic Life Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) training, or its equivalent, shall be trained and competent in monitoring patient vital signs, in the use of monitoring and emergency equipment appropriate for the level of sedation utilized. ("competent" means displaying special skill or knowledge derived from training and experience.)
 - (8) The patient shall be monitored as follows:
- (a) Color of mucosa, skin or blood must be evaluated continually. Patients must have continuous monitoring using pulse oximetry. The patient's response to verbal stimuli, blood pressure, heart rate, pulse oximetry and respiration shall be monitored and documented every fifteen minutes, if they can reasonably be obtained.
- (b) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist permit holder in the patient's record indicating the patient's condition upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the patient was discharged.
- (9) The dentist permit holder shall assess the patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as normal guidelines and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:
- (a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respiratory rate are stable;
- (b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status;
- (c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning;
 - (d) The patient can sit up unaided;
- (e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and
- (f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea or vomiting and has minimal dizziness.

- (g) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient who has undergone minimal sedation except to the care of a responsible third party.
- (10) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Minimal Sedation Permit, the permit holder must provide documentation of a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent. In addition, Minimal Sedation Permit holders must also complete four (4) hours of continuing education in one or more of the following areas every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate, or its equivalent, may not be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10)
Hist.: OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17; OBD 2-2018, f. 10/4/18, cert. ef. 1/1/19, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020

818-026-0055

Dental Hygiene and Dental Assistant Procedures Performed Under Nitrous Oxide or Minimal Sedation

- (1) Under indirect supervision, dental hygiene procedures may be performed for a patient who is under nitrous oxide or minimal sedation under the following conditions:
- (a) A licensee holding a Nitrous Oxide, Minimal, Moderate, Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Permit administers the sedative agents;
- (b) The permit holder, or an anesthesia monitor, monitors the patient; or
- (c) if a dental hygienist with a nitrous oxide permit administers nitrous oxide sedation to a patient and then performs authorized procedures on the patient, an anesthesia monitor is not required to be present during the time the patient is sedated unless the permit holder leaves the patient.
- (d) The permit holder performs the appropriate preand post-operative evaluation and discharges the patient in accordance with 818-026-0050(7) and (8).
- (2) Under direct supervision, a dental assistant may perform those procedures for which the dental assistant holds the appropriate certification for a patient who is under nitrous oxide or minimal sedation under the following conditions:

- (a) A licensee holding the Nitrous Oxide, Minimal, Moderate, Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Permit administers the sedative agents;
- (b) The permit holder, or an anesthesia monitor, monitors the patient; and
- (c) The permit holder performs the appropriate preand post-operative evaluation and discharges the patient in accordance with 818-026-0050(7) and (8).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) Hist.: OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020

818-026-0060

Moderate Sedation Permit

Moderate sedation, minimal sedation, and nitrous oxide sedation.

- (1) The Board shall issue or renew a Moderate Sedation Permit to an applicant who:
 - (a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon;
- (b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, either maintains a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated; and
 - (c) Satisfies one of the following criteria:
- (A) Completion of a comprehensive training program in enteral and/or parenteral sedation that satisfies the requirements described in Part V of the current ADA Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students at the time training was commenced.
- (i) Enteral Moderate Sedation requires a minimum of 24 hours of instruction plus management of at least 10 dental patient experiences by the enteral and/or enteral-nitrous oxide/oxygen route.
- (ii) Parenteral Moderate Sedation requires a minimum of 60 hours of instruction plus management of at least 20 dental patients by the intravenous route.
- (B) Completion of an ADA accredited postdoctoral training program (e.g., general practice residency) which affords comprehensive and appropriate training necessary to administer and manage parenteral sedation, commensurate with these Guidelines.
- (C) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equivalent training or experience in moderate sedation anesthesia.
- (2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use during the procedures and during recovery:
- (a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating table or in an

operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least two individuals to freely move about the patient;

- (b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team can maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the administration of basic life support;
- (c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the event of a general power failure;
- (d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction device which will function in the event of a general power failure;
- (e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask and appropriate connectors that is capable of delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an adequate backup system;
- (f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scavenger system;
- (g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The recovery area can be the operating room;
- (h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter, oral and nasopharyngeal airways, larynageal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration equipment, automated external defibrillator (AED); and
- (i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the drugs used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, antihistamines, antihypertensives and anticonvulsants.
- (3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under moderate sedation, minimal sedation, or nitrous oxide sedation at the same time.
- (4) During the administration of moderate sedation, and at all times while the patient is under moderate sedation, an anesthesia monitor, and one other person holding a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, shall be present in the operatory, in addition to the dentist permit holder performing the dental procedures.
- (5) Before inducing moderate sedation, a dentist permit holder who induces moderate sedation shall:
- (a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an appropriate candidate for moderate sedation;
- (b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions to the patient or, when appropriate due to age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's guardian; and

- (c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or patient's guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of the informed consent shall be documented in the patient's record.
- (6) A patient under moderate sedation shall be visually monitored at all times, including the recovery phase. The dentist permit holder or anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient's condition.
- (7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors for moderate sedation in a dental office shall maintain current certification in BLS for Healthcare Providers Basic Life Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) training, or its equivalent, shall be trained and competent in monitoring patient vital signs, in the use of monitoring and emergency equipment appropriate for the level of sedation utilized. ("competent" means displaying special skill or knowledge derived from training and experience.)
 - (8) The patient shall be monitored as follows:
- (a) Patients must have continuous monitoring using pulse oximetry, and End-tidal CO2 monitors. Patients with cardiovascular disease shall have continuous electrocardiograph (ECG) monitoring. The patient's blood pressure, heart rate, and respiration shall be recorded at regular intervals but at least every 15 minutes, and these recordings shall be documented in the patient record. The record must also include documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital signs, all medications administered with dosages, time intervals and route of administration. If this information cannot be obtained, the reasons shall be documented in the patient's record. A patient under moderate sedation shall be continuously monitored and shall not be left alone while under sedation:
- (b) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored by an individual trained to monitor patients recovering from moderate sedation.
- (9) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient who has undergone moderate sedation except to the care of a responsible third party.
- (a) When a reversal agent is administered, the dentist permit holder shall document justification for its use and how the recovery plan was altered.
- (10) The dentist permit holder shall assess the patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as normal guidelines and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:
- (a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respiratory rate are stable;
- (b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status;
- (c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning:
 - (d) The patient can sit up unaided;

- (e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and
- (f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea or vomiting and has minimal dizziness.
- (11) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist permit holder in the patient's record indicating the patient's condition upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the patient was discharged.
- (12) After adequate training, an assistant, when directed by a dentist permit holder, may dispense oral medications that have been prepared by the dentist permit holder for oral administration to a patient under direct supervision. Pursuant to OAR 818-042-0115 a Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant, when directed by a dentist permit holder, may introduce additional anesthetic agents into an infusion line under the direct supervision of a dentist permit holder.
- (13) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Moderate Sedation Permit, the permit holder must provide documentation of a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a current Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate; Successful completion of a board approved course on minimal/moderate sedation at least every two years may be substituted for ACLS, but not for PALS; and must complete 14 hours of continuing education in one or more of the following areas every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain current ACLS or PALS certification or successful completion of the American Dental Association's course "Recognition and Management of Complications during Minimal and Moderate Sedation" may be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 1-1999, f. 2-26-99, cert. ef. 3-1-99; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-00; OBD 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17; OBD 2-2018, f. 10/4/18, cert. ef. 1/1/19, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020

818-026-0065

Deep Sedation Permit

Deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation, and nitrous oxide sedation.

- (1) The Board shall issue a Deep Sedation Permit to a licensee who holds a Class 3 Permit on or before July 1, 2010 who:
 - (a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; and
- (b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, maintains a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated.
- (2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use during the procedures and during recovery:
- (a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating table or in an operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least two individuals to freely move about the patient;
- (b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team can maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the administration of basic life support;
- (c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the event of a general power failure;
- (d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction device which will function in the event of a general power failure;
- (e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask and appropriate connectors that is capable of delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an adequate backup system;
- (f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scavenger system;
- (g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The recovery area can be the operating room;
- (h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter, electrocardiograph monitor (ECG), automated external defibrillator (AED), oral and nasopharyngeal airways, laryngeal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration equipment; and
- (i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the drugs used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, antihistamines, antihypertensives and anticonvulsants.

- (3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation, or nitrous oxide sedation at the same time.
- (4) During the administration of deep sedation, and at all times while the patient is under deep sedation, an anesthesia monitor, and one other person holding a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, shall be present in the operatory, in addition to the dentist permit holder performing the dental procedures.
- (5) Before inducing deep sedation, a dentist permit holder who induces deep sedation shall:
- (a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an appropriate candidate for deep sedation;
- (b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions to the patient or, when appropriate due to age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's guardian; and
- (c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or patient's guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of the informed consent shall be documented in the patient's record.
- (6) A patient under deep sedation shall be visually monitored at all times, including the recovery phase. The dentist permit holder or anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient's condition.
- (7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors for deep sedation in a dental office shall maintain current certification in BLS for Healthcare Providers Basic Life Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) training, or its equivalent, shall be trained and competent in monitoring patient vital signs, in the use of monitoring and emergency equipment appropriate for the level of sedation utilized. ("competent" means displaying special skill or knowledge derived from training and experience.)
 - (8) The patient shall be monitored as follows:
- (a) Patients must have continuous monitoring using pulse oximetry, electrocardiograph monitors (ECG) and End-tidal CO2 monitors. The patient's heart rhythm shall be continuously monitored and the patient's blood pressure, heart rate, and respiration shall be recorded at regular intervals but at least every 5 minutes, and these recordings shall be documented in the patient record. The record must also include documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital signs, all medications administered with dosages, time intervals and route of administration. If this information cannot be obtained, the reasons shall be documented in the patient's record. A patient under deep sedation shall be continuously monitored;
- (b) Once sedated, a patient shall remain in the operatory for the duration of treatment until criteria for transportation to recovery have been met.

- (c) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored by an individual trained to monitor patients recovering from deep sedation.
- (9) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient who has undergone deep sedation except to the care of a responsible third party. When a reversal agent is administered, the dentist permit holder shall document justification for its use and how the recovery plan was altered.
- (10) The dentist permit holder shall assess the patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as normal guidelines and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:
- (a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respiratory rate are stable;
- (b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status;
- (c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning;
 - (d) The patient can sit up unaided;
- (e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and
- (f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea or vomiting and has minimal dizziness.
- (11) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist permit holder in the patient's record indicating the patient's condition upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the patient was discharged.
- (12) Pursuant to OAR 818-042-0115 a Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant, when directed by a dentist permit holder, may administer oral sedative agents calculated by a dentist permit holder or introduce additional anesthetic agents into an infusion line under the direct visual supervision of a dentist
- (13) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Deep Sedation Permit, the permit holder must provide documentation of a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a current Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate; and must complete 14 hours of continuing education in one or more of the following areas every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain current ACLS and/or PALS certificates may be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) Hist.: OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-

 $2011 (Temp), \, f. \, 5\text{-}9\text{-}11, \, cert. \, ef. \, 6\text{-}1\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 4\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 1\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 1\text{-}11 \, \, thru \, \, 1\text{-}27\text{-}11; \, OBD \, \, 1\text{-}11 \, \,$

2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17; OBD2-2018, f. 10-4-18, cert. ef. 1/1/19, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020

818-026-0070

General Anesthesia Permit

General anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation.

- (1) The Board shall issue a General Anesthesia Permit to an applicant who:
 - (a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon;
- (b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, maintains a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated, and
 - (c) Satisfies one of the following criteria:
- (A) Completion of an advanced training program in anesthesia and related subjects beyond the undergraduate dental curriculum that satisfies the requirements described in the current ADA Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students consisting of a minimum of 2 years of a postgraduate anesthesia residency at the time training was commenced.
- (B) Completion of any ADA accredited postdoctoral training program, including but not limited to Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, which affords comprehensive and appropriate training necessary to administer and manage general anesthesia, commensurate with these Guidelines.
- (C) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equivalent training or experience in general anesthesia.
- (2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use during the procedure and during recovery:
- (a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating table or in an operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least three individuals to freely move about the patient;
- (b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team can maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the administration of basic life support;
- (c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the event of a general power failure;
- (d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction

- device which will function in the event of a general power failure;
- (e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask and appropriate connectors that is capable of delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an adequate backup system;
- (f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scavenger system;
- (g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The recovery area can be the operating room;
- (h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter, electrocardiograph monitor (ECG), automated external defibrillator (AED), oral and nasopharyngeal airways, laryngeal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration equipment; and
- (i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the drugs used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, intravenous medications for treatment of cardiac arrest, narcotic antagonist, antihistaminic, antiarrhythmics, antihypertensives and anticonvulsants.
- (3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation or nitrous oxide sedation at the same time.
- (4) During the administration of deep sedation or general anesthesia, and at all times while the patient is under deep sedation or general anesthesia, an anesthesia monitor, and one other person holding a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, shall be present in the operatory in addition to the dentist permit holder performing the dental procedures.
- (5) Before inducing deep sedation or general anesthesia the dentist permit holder who induces deep sedation or general anesthesia shall:
- (a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an appropriate candidate for general anesthesia or deep sedation:
- (b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions to the patient or, when appropriate due to age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's guardian; and
- (c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or patient's guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of the informed consent shall be documented in the patient's record.
- (6) A patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia shall be visually monitored at all times, including recovery phase. A dentist permit holder who induces deep sedation or general anesthesia or

anesthesia monitor trained in monitoring patients under deep sedation or general anesthesia shall monitor and record the patient's condition on a contemporaneous record.

- (7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors for general anesthesia in a dental office shall maintain current certification in BLS for Healthcare Providers Basic Life Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) training, or its equivalent, shall be trained and competent in monitoring patient vital signs, in the use of monitoring and emergency equipment appropriate for the level of sedation utilized. ("competent" means displaying special skill or knowledge derived from training and experience.)
 - (8) The patient shall be monitored as follows:
- (a) Patients must have continuous monitoring of their heart rate, heart rhythm, oxygen saturation levels and respiration using pulse oximetry, electrocardiograph monitors (ECG) and End-tidal CO2 monitors. The patient's blood pressure, heart rate and oxygen saturation shall be assessed every five minutes, and shall be contemporaneously documented in the patient record. The record must also include documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital signs, all medications administered with dosages, time intervals and route of administration. The person administering the anesthesia and the person monitoring the patient may not leave the patient while the patient is under deep sedation or general anesthesia;
- (b) Once sedated, a patient shall remain in the operatory for the duration of treatment until criteria for transportation to recovery have been met.
- (c) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored, including the use of pulse oximetry, by an individual trained to monitor patients recovering from general anesthesia.
- (9) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient who has undergone deep sedation or general anesthesia except to the care of a responsible third party. When a reversal agent is administered, the dentist permit holder shall document justification for its use and how the recovery plan was altered.
- (10) The dentist permit holder shall assess the patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as normal guidelines and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:
- (a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respiratory rate are stable;
- (b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status;
- (c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning;
 - (d) The patient can sit up unaided;
- (e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and

- (f) The patient does not have nausea or vomiting and has minimal dizziness.
- (11) A discharge entry shall be made in the patient's record by the dentist permit holder indicating the patient's condition upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the patient was discharged.
- (12) Pursuant to OAR 818-042-0115 a Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant, when directed by a dentist permit holder, may introduce additional anesthetic agents to an infusion line under the direct visual supervision of a dentist permit holder.
- (13) Permit renewal. In order to renew a General Anesthesia Permit, the permit holder must provide documentation of a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a current Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate; and must complete 14 hours of continuing education in one or more of the following areas every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain current ACLS and/or PALS certificates may be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060.

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

00; Administrative correction 6-21-01; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17; OBD 2-2018, f. 10-4-18, cert. ef. 1-1-19, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019,

818-026-0080

cert. ef. 1/1/2020

Standards Applicable When a Dentist Performs Dental Procedures and a Qualified Provider Induces Anesthesia

- (1) A dentist who does not hold an anesthesia permit may perform dental procedures on a patient who receives anesthesia induced by a physician anesthesiologist licensed by the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners, another Oregon licensed dentist holding an appropriate anesthesia permit, or a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) licensed by the Oregon Board of Nursing.
- (2) A dentist who does not hold a Nitrous Oxide Permit for nitrous oxide sedation may perform dental procedures on a patient who receives nitrous oxide

induced by an Oregon licensed dental hygienist holding a Nitrous Oxide Permit.

- (3) A dentist who performs dental procedures on a patient who receives anesthesia induced by a physician anesthesiologist, another dentist holding an anesthesia permit, a CRNA, or a dental hygienist who induces nitrous oxide sedation, shall maintain a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate, or its equivalent, and have the same personnel, facilities, equipment and drugs available during the procedure and during recovery as required of a dentist who has a permit for the level of anesthesia being provided.
- (4) A dentist, a dental hygienist or an Expanded Function Dental Assistant (EFDA) who performs procedures on a patient who is receiving anesthesia induced by a physician anesthesiologist, another dentist holding an anesthesia permit or a CRNA shall not schedule or treat patients for non emergent care during the period of time of the sedation procedure.
- (5) Once anesthetized, a patient shall remain in the operatory for the duration of treatment until criteria for transportation to recovery have been met.
- (6) The qualified anesthesia provider who induces moderate sedation, deep sedation or general anesthesia shall monitor the patient until easily arousable and can independently and continuously maintain their airway with stable vital signs. Once this has occurred the patient may be monitored by a qualified anesthesia monitor until discharge criteria is met. The patient's dental record shall document the patient's condition at discharge as required by the rules applicable to the level of anesthesia being induced. A copy of the anesthesia record shall be maintained in the patient's dental record and is the responsibility of the dentist who is performing the dental procedures.
- (7) No qualified provider shall have more than one person under any form of sedation or general anesthesia at the same time exclusive of recovery.
- (8) A dentist who intends to use the services of a qualified anesthesia provider as described in section 1 above, shall notify the Board in writing of his/her intent. Such notification need only be submitted once every licensing period.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & (10)
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020

818-026-0110 Office Evaluations

(1) By obtaining an anesthesia permit or by using the services of a physician anesthesiologist, CRNA, an Oregon licensed dental hygienist permit holder or another dentist permit holder to administer anesthesia, a licensee consents to in-office evaluations by the Oregon Board of Dentistry, to assess competence in central nervous system anesthesia and to determine compliance with rules of the Board.

- (2) The in-office evaluation may include, but is not limited to:
- (a) Observation of one or more cases of anesthesia to determine the appropriateness of technique and adequacy of patient evaluation and care;
- (b) Inspection of facilities, equipment, drugs and records; and
- (c) Confirmation that personnel are adequately trained, hold a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate, or its equivalent, and are competent to respond to reasonable emergencies that may occur during the administration of anesthesia or during the recovery period.
- (3) The evaluation shall be performed by a team appointed by the Board and shall include:
- (a) A permit holder who has the same type of license as the licensee to be evaluated and who holds a current anesthesia permit in the same class or in a higher class than that held by the licensee being evaluated.
- (b) A member of the Board's Anesthesia Committee; and
- (c) Any licensed dentist, deemed appropriate by the Board President, may serve as team leader and shall be responsible for organizing and conducting the evaluation and reporting to the Board.
- (4) The Board shall give written notice of its intent to conduct an office evaluation to the licensee to be evaluated. Licensee shall cooperate with the evaluation team leader in scheduling the evaluation which shall be held no sooner than 30 days after the date of the notice or later than 90 days after the date of the notice.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & (10) Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17

818-026-0120

Reporting of Death, Serious Complications or Injury

If a death, any serious complication or any injury occurs which may have resulted from the administration of any central nervous system anesthesia or sedation, the licensee performing the dental procedure must submit a written detailed report to the Board within five days of the incident along with the patient's original complete dental records. If the anesthetic agent was administered by a person other than the person performing the dental

procedure, that person must also submit a detailed written report. The detailed report(s) must include:

- (1) Name, age and address of patient;
- (2) Name of the licensee and other persons present during the incident;
 - (3) Address where the incident took place;
- (4) Type of anesthesia and dosages of drugs administered to the patient;
- (5) A narrative description of the incident including approximate times and evolution of symptoms; and
- (6) The anesthesia record and the signed informed consent form for the anesthesia when required.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10

818-026-0130

Anesthesia Committee

- (1) The Board hereby creates a committee to be known as the Anesthesia Committee. The chairperson shall be a dentist who is a member of the Board. All other members shall hold a Moderate, Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Sedation Permit. At least one member, other than the chairperson, shall be a practicing specialist who holds a General Anesthesia Permit. Members serve at the pleasure of the Board and shall be appointed by the President of the Board. The Board President shall insure that the committee includes representatives of dental specialty groups including general dentists.
- (2) The Anesthesia Committee shall, upon request of the Board, advise the Board on policies and procedures related to the regulation of general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.280
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10