
 
Fact Sheet 

 

Oregon’s Toxics Use and 
Hazardous Waste Reduction Act 
 
Background  
Oregon’s Toxics Use Reduction and Hazardous 
Waste Reduction Act of 1989 was one of the 
first laws in the nation to mandate pollution 
prevention planning. The Act outlines a 
comprehensive approach to reduce or eliminate 
toxic chemical use and hazardous waste 
generation. In June 2005, the Oregon Legislature 
passed a law (Oregon Revised Statute 465.003 to 
465.037) that streamlined and made other 
significant changes to the Toxics Use and 
Hazardous Waste Reduction Program.  
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Since the Act’s adoption, businesses throughout 
Oregon have reduced their toxic chemicals and 
hazardous wastes. DEQ publishes pollution 
prevention stories to explain how businesses are 
reducing their toxics and hazardous waste. In the 
program’s 21 years, businesses have voluntarily 
reported: reducing more than 31.5 million 
pounds of hazardous waste with savings 
estimated at $5.25 million, and reducing more 
than 56.25 million pounds of toxic chemicals 
with savings at over $15 million.  

www.deq.state.or.us/wmc/h
w/tuwrap.html  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Key requirements  
 Businesses in the program must develop a 

Reduction Plan or an Environmental 
Management System, and report completion of a 
plan or EMS. They also must report reductions 
using an Implementation Summary document, 
and update and keep the plan or EMS on site.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 The law is in Oregon Revised Statutes Chapter 

465.003 to 465.037 and the Oregon 
Administrative Rules is in Division 340-135-
0000 to 340-135-0110. There are internet links to 
these on the main TUHWR Program page.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 Businesses covered  

The Act’s requirements affect three groups:   
  

 Large Toxics Users: Users of toxic chemicals 
who are required to prepare a Form R or Form A 
under the federal Toxics Release Inventory 
program (Superfund Amendments and 
Reauthorization Act, Title III, Section 313).  

 
 
 
 
 
   

Large Quantity Generators: Facilities that 
generate more than 2,200 pounds of hazardous 
waste or more than 2.2 pounds of acutely 
hazardous waste in a calendar month. 

 
 
 
 
 

 

Small Quantity Generators: Facilities that 
generate between 220 and 2,200 pounds of 
hazardous waste in a calendar month.  
 
Exclusions  
The TUHWR law provides exclusions for certain 
businesses. An exclusion applies if a facility:  

• Generates hazardous waste solely as a 
result of an environmental cleanup, such as 
an accidental spill or release  

• Generates hazardous waste due to a one-
time cleanout event, such as storeroom  

• Uses a raw material containing a naturally 
occurring toxic substance used in the 
process where there is no substitute, such as 
lead in wood or concrete  

• Is a conditionally-exempt small quantity 
generator (CEG)  

• Has moved outside of Oregon  
• Is no longer in business  
 
The law no longer requires special forms to 
claim these exclusions. However, DEQ 
encourages businesses to contact their nearest 
DEQ technical assistance provider (listed at the 
end of this fact sheet) to verify that one or more 
exclusions do apply.  

Toxics Use and Hazardous Waste 
Reduction Plan or EMS  
Large toxics users, large quantity generators and 
small quantity generators must prepare a 
Reduction Plan or an Environmental 
Management System, unless the business can 
claim one of the exclusions. The decision to 
complete a plan or EMS is entirely up to the 
business. The purpose of a plan or system is to 
reduce toxic chemical use and hazardous waste 
generation. See DEQ’s Reduction Plan template 
on its Toxics Use and Hazardous Waste 
Reduction Reporting Web page to get started. 
 
A Reduction Plan or Environmental 
Management System                                                             
must include:  
• A policy statement  
• Scope and objectives  
• Internal analysis and assessment, including 

costs  
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• Incorporation of reduction activities into 
facility management practices and 
procedures  

 
The Reduction Plan or Environmental 
Management System is not public information, 
and should remain at the business or facility.  

People who purchase a business may use the 
prior owner’s Reduction Plan or EMS after 
verifying its validity. In this case, the business 
only needs to update the plan or system and 
notify DEQ. The business must complete the 
required reporting via an Implementation 
Summary form.  

Toxics and hazardous wastes to include  
As part of the Reduction Plan or Environmental 
Management System, a facility must evaluate 
options to reduce its toxics and hazardous 
wastes.  
Materials that must be in the plan or EMS 
include:  
• Any toxic substance reported to the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency under its 
Toxics Release Inventory program  

• Hazardous waste that represents 10 percent 
or more by weight of the cumulative 
hazardous waste stream generated in a year; 
this applies to all businesses in the Toxics 
Use and Hazardous Waste Reduction 
Program.  

Reporting  
After completing a Reduction Plan or EMS, 
facilities must submit a Notice of Plan 
Completion or Notice of EMS Completion to 
DEQ. Both of these notices are public record.  

Businesses that are in the Toxics Use and 
Hazardous Waste Reduction Program prior to 
June 9, 2005 and have notified DEQ of a 
Reduction Plan or EMS need to submit only one 
Implementation Summary. Businesses new to the 
program must submit two Implementation 
Summaries for the first and second year after the 
initial Notice of Plan Completion or Notice of 
EMS Completion is due.  

The Implementation Summary is a report that 
describes how a business implemented its Plan 
or Environmental Management System. 
Specifically, the summary describes successes, 
challenges and future opportunities in waste 
reduction. DEQ publishes all Implementation 
Summaries in an Internet-based clearinghouse.  

Penalty provision  
The current law has a $500 penalty provision for 
those businesses that choose not to comply.  The 
reason for issuing this penalty would be for such 
violations as failure to:  

• Complete a Reduction Plan or 
Environmental Management System  

• Notify that the business completed a 
Reduction Plan or EMS with 120 days after 
receiving a DEQ notification to do so  

• Submit the required number of 
Implementation Summaries  

• Update and keep the Reduction Plan or EMS 
on site  

 
Technical assistance resources  
DEQ’s Toxics Use and Waste Reduction 
Assistance Program provides free technical 
assistance. These knowledgeable staff statewide 
can:  
• Help businesses reduce toxic substance use 

and hazardous waste generation  
• Provide compliance assistance or other 

services, such as training   
• Help facilities complete or update their plan 

or system  and assist with DEQ reporting  
• Provide Toxics Use and Hazardous Waste 

Reduction forms or download forms from 
DEQ’s website  

A list of technical assistance providers is on 
DEQ Hazardous Waste Program’s Web page. 

For specific questions about the Toxics Use and 
Hazardous Waste Reduction Program, please 
contact David Livengood in Portland at 503- 
229-5181 or toll-free at 800- 452-4011, ext. 5181 
within Oregon.  

Alternative formats  
Alternative formats (such as Braille and large 
type) of this document can be made available. 
For more information contact DEQ’s Office of 
Communications & Outreach, Portland, at 503- 
229-5696 or toll-free in Oregon at 1-800-452-
4011, ext. 5696.  


