Rulemaking

​​Proposed rulemaking

Karen Font Williams, 503-229-5519

The Environmental Quality Commission adopted several revisions to sections of the Motor Vehicles rules in Division 256 of Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 340. Though the EQC adopted rule revisions to Division256 they were never filed with the Oregon Secretary of State and are not enforceable. EQC adopted rules to:

  • remove references to procedures no longer performed, such as the enhanced dynamometer emissions test and noise control testing;
  • include references, definitions and procedures that will align rules with current program operations;
  • edit for plain language; and
    raise the fee for a certificate of compliance to the following amounts:
    • Portland Vehicle Inspection Area
      $25 effective July 1, 2019
    • Medford Vehicle Inspection Area
      $15 effective July 1, 2019
      $20 effective July 1, 2021
      $25 effective July 1, 2023
    • On-site Testing Auto Dealerships
      $30 effective July 1, 2019

DEQ is undertaking a new rulemaking effort which will include these changes as well including changes to OAR 340-256-0300.  

stay connectedSign up for email or text updates on this rulemaking via GovDelivery

DEQ has appointed an advisory committee to review issues and fiscal impacts related to the proposed rules.

Meeting 1
Thursday, Oct. 4, 2018,
 
Meeting materials
 Advisory committee meetings are open to the public. DEQ publishes meeting notices on https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Get-Involved/Pages/Calendar.aspx. Please notify DEQ of any special physical or language accommodations or if you need information in large print, Braille or another format. To make these arrangements, contact DEQ, Portland, at 503-229-5696 or call toll-free in Oregon at 1-800-452-4011, ext. 5696; fax to 503-229-6762; or email to deqinfo@deq.state.or.us. Hearing impaired persons may call 711.
 

 

​P​ublic Involvement

Comment period closed at 4 p.m., Feb. 4, 2019.
 
Includes invitation to comment, notice, proposed rules and any supporting documents. 
 
 

Public hearings

Jan. 15, 2019 4 p.m. - 7 p.m.

DEQ Headquarters
700 NE Multnomah St., Third Floor Conference Room
Portland, OR  97232-4100

Jan. 28, 2019 4 p.m. - 7 p.m.

Jackson County Library – Medford Branch
205 South Central Ave., Carpenter Conference Room
Medford, OR  97501

EQC action

The Environmental Quality Commission adopted these rules at its meeting on Nov. 15, 2019. The adopted rules were not filed with the Oregon Secretary of State so are not law and not enforceable.