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Introduction 
 

 
DEQ invites public input on proposed permanent rule amendments to chapter 340 of the Oregon 
Administrative Rules. 

 

Background 
DEQ’s Vehicle Inspection Program reduces air pollution by requiring that motorists in the 
Portland and Medford areas maintain their vehicles’ emission control systems before they can 
renew their vehicle registrations.  The Portland vehicle inspection area has six testing stations, 
which in the last biennium, tested more than 1,000,000 vehicles.  The Medford station tested 
over 100,000 vehicles in the last biennium.  DEQ inspects light and heavy duty gasoline 
vehicles, 1975 and newer model years in Portland and 20 year old and newer model years in 
Medford.  DEQ inspects 1996 and newer diesel vehicles up to 8,500 pounds.  About 100 DEQ 
staff support all VIP functions including vehicle inspection, administration and management, 
customer support, equipment and facility operations. 
 
VIP helps Oregon maintain compliance with national air quality standards for pollutants such as 
ozone, nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, and fine particles.  VIP also reduces tons of air toxic 
pollutants each year, like benzene, ethylbenzene, and acetaldehyde.  In 2015, EPA lowered the 
ozone standard from 75 parts per billion to 70 parts per billion and considered values as low as 
60 ppb.  Vehicle miles traveled and population in Oregon are expected to increase over the next 
several years, both of which are likely to increase vehicle emissions.  As well, expected hotter 
summer temperatures and more wildfires may cause ozone concentrations to approach or exceed 
the current standard.  VIP is one of several pollution control strategies, including industrial 
emission controls, which collectively make up Oregon’s EPA-approved State Implementation 
Plan.  
 
DEQ proposal 
DEQ is proposing to revise several sections of the Motor Vehicles rules in Division 256 of 
Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 340.  DEQ is proposing to: 

• remove references to procedures no longer performed, such as the enhanced 
dynamometer emissions test and noise control testing; 

• include references, definitions and procedures that will align rules with current program 
operations;  

• edit for plain language; and 
• raise the fee for a certificate of compliance to the following amounts: 

Portland Vehicle Inspection Area 
$25 effective July 1, 2019 
 
Medford Vehicle Inspection Area 
$15 effective July 1, 2019 
$20 effective July 1, 2021 
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$25 effective July 1, 2023 
 
On-site Testing Auto Dealerships 
$30 effective July 1, 2019 
 

 
More information 
Information about this rulemaking is on this rulemaking’s web page:  
Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 
 
Public Hearings  
DEQ will hold two public hearings on this rulemaking, one in Portland and one in Medford. 
 
Meeting Details: 
Date:  Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019 
Time:  4 p.m. – 7 p.m. 
Location:  DEQ Headquarters 
700 NE Multnomah St., Third Floor Conference Room 
Portland, OR  97232-4100 
 
Date:  Monday, Jan. 28, 2019 
Time:  4 p.m. – 7 p.m. 
Location:  Jackson County Library – Medford Branch 
205 South Central Ave., Carpenter Conference Room 
Medford, OR  97501 
 
 

How to comment on this rulemaking proposal 
DEQ is asking for public comment on the proposed rules. Anyone can submit comments and 
questions about this rulemaking. A person can submit comments through an online web page, by 
regular mail or at a public hearing. 
 
Comment deadline 
DEQ will only consider comments on the proposed rules that DEQ receives by 4 p.m., on 
Monday, February 4, 2019. 
 
Submit comment online 
 
Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 Rulemaking Comment Page 
 
Note for public university students:  
ORS 192.501(29) allows Oregon public university and OHSU students to protect their university 
email addresses from disclosure under Oregon’s public records law. If you are an Oregon public 
university or OHSU student you may omit your email address when you complete the online 
form to submit a comment. 

https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/rvip2019.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/cvip2019.aspx
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By mail 
Oregon DEQ 
Attn: Karen Williams 
700 NE Multnomah St., Room 600 
Portland, OR 97232-4100 
 
At hearing 
Date:  Tuesday, January 15, 2019 
Time:  4 p.m. – 7 p.m. 
Location:  DEQ Headquarters 
700 NE Multnomah St., Third Floor Conference Room 
Portland, OR  97232-4100 
 
Date:  Monday, Jan. 28, 2019 
Time:  4 p.m. – 7 p.m. 
Location:  Jackson County Library – Medford Branch 
205 South Central Ave., Carpenter Conference Room 
Medford, OR  97501 
 
 
You can also participate in the hearing through a teleconference or webinar. 

 
Teleconference call-in number: 888-278-0296 
Participant ID: 8040259 
Webinar login link (webinar has no audio, you must listen on the teleconference): 
https://www.webmeeting.att.com/ 
 
How to join the teleconference or webinar: Teleconference and Webinar instructions 
 
Sign up for rulemaking notices 
Sign up to get email or text updates about this rulemaking through this link:  
Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 Rulemaking Email List 
 
For more information, visit the rulemaking webpage: 
Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 
 
Sign up to get email or text updates about other, future DEQ rulemaking by signing up through 
this link: DEQ Email Notice List. 
 
What will happen next? 
DEQ will include a written response to comments in a staff report DEQ will submit to the 
Environmental Quality Commission. DEQ may modify the rule proposal based on the 
comments.  
 

https://www.webmeeting.att.com/
http://www.deq.state.or.us/regulations/docs/participantlinklog.pdf
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/ORDEQ/subscriber/new?topic_id=ORDEQ_642
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/rvip2019.aspx
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/ORDEQ/subscriber/new?pop=t&topic_id=ORDEQ_548
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Present proposal to the EQC 
Proposed rules only become effective if the Environmental Quality Commission adopts them. 
DEQ plans to present the proposed rules to the commission for a decision at its meeting March 
20 - 21, 2019.  
 
Accessibility information 
You may review copies of all documents referenced in this announcement at: 
 
Oregon Department of Environmental Quality 
700 NE Multnomah St., Room 600 
Portland, OR, 97232-4100 
 
To schedule a review of all websites and documents referenced in this announcement, call Karen 
Williams, Portland, at 503-229-5519 (800-452-4011, ext. 5622 toll-free in Oregon). 
 
Please notify DEQ of any special physical or language accommodations or if you need 
information in large print, Braille or another format. To make these arrangements, contact DEQ, 
Portland, at 503-229-5696 or call toll-free in Oregon at 1-800-452-4011, ext. 5696; fax to 503-
229-6762; or email to deqinfo@deq.state.or.us. Hearing impaired persons may call 711.

mailto:deqinfo@deq.state.or.us


 

6 
 

 
 

Overview 
 

 
Short summary  
DEQ’s Vehicle Inspection Program reduces air pollution and helps Oregon comply with 
national air quality standards by requiring that motorists in the Portland and Medford areas 
maintain their vehicles’ emission control systems.  A motorist must obtain a certificate of 
compliance before they can renew their vehicle registrations.  VIP procedures and fees are 
set in Oregon Administrative Rules.  As vehicle fleet characteristics change and VIP 
incorporates new technology, DEQ must revise and update rules.  DEQ last increased the fee 
for a certificate of compliance in 1997.  VIP program expenses have been increasing over the 
past several biennia and DEQ must increase the certification fee to maintain current staffing 
and customer service levels.  
 
DEQ is proposing to: 

• remove references to procedures no longer performed, such as the enhanced 
dynamometer emissions test and noise control testing; 

• include references, definitions and procedures to align rules with current program 
operations; 

• improve clarity by using plain language where possible; and 
• raise the certification fee to the amounts below to bring program revenue in line with 

current and projected program expenditures: 
 
Portland Vehicle Inspection Area 
$25 effective July 1, 2019 
 
Medford Vehicle Inspection Area 
$15 effective July 1, 2019 
$20 effective July 1, 2021 
$25 effective July 1, 2023 
 
On-site Testing Auto Dealerships 
$30 effective July 1, 2019. 
 

VIP and other control strategies are part of Oregon’s EPA-approved State Implementation Plan.  
With EQC adoption of the revised rules, the actions proposed in this rulemaking will be 
incorporated into and made part of the Oregon SIP. 

Brief history 
When Oregon began implementing requirements of the Clean Air Act, in the 1970s and 
1980s, air quality in the Portland and Medford areas of the state did not meet federal 
standards for ozone and carbon monoxide.  DEQ had to develop plans to reduce these 
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pollutants.  Once the areas were attaining standards, DEQ had to submit plans to EPA that 
described how Oregon’s pollution control strategies would allow the Portland and Medford 
areas to maintain compliance with air quality standards.   
 
The vehicle inspection program which began in Portland in 1975 and Medford in 1986, is an 
important pollution control strategy in both the Portland and Medford maintenance plans.  
VIP requires motorists to maintain and repair their vehicles’ emission control systems before 
they can renew their vehicle registration.    DEQ established vehicle inspection boundaries 
based on established Portland and Medford air quality maintenance areas, census data and 
commuter patterns.  DEQ expanded the Portland area vehicle inspection boundary in 1994 to 
include areas within Washington, Clackamas, Columbia and Yamhill Counties.   
 
Between 1996 and 2006, in Portland, DEQ tested vehicles with an enhanced test that used 
dynamometers to simulate loaded driving conditions and allowed the Portland area to 
achieve greater emission reductions.  To have funds for the construction, equipment and 
staffing necessary to run the enhanced dynamometer program in 1997, DEQ raised the fee 
for a certificate of compliance to $21 in Portland and $10 in Medford.  Beginning in 1996, 
vehicles became equipped with onboard diagnostic systems able to precisely indicate faulty 
elements of a pollution control system.  As OBD testing became standard for a larger 
percentage of the fleet and relatively fewer vehicles aged 1981 - 1995 came in for testing, 
DEQ decided to phase out enhanced dynamometer testing.  When the dynamometer test 
ended, DEQ reduced VIP staffing and removed dynamometer equipment.  
 
Over the last 12 years, DEQ VIP staff have performed more tests each year, while reducing 
the average customer wait times.  DEQ VIP has also invested in new technology to increase 
efficiency, reduce operating costs and improve customer service.  In the Portland and 
Medford vehicle inspection areas combined, DEQ inspects about one-third of cars registered 
in Oregon.  VIP has also accommodated increasing personnel costs but has not raised the 
certification fee since 1997.  
 
Revenue met program expenses until 2015.  Even with technological advances and careful 
spending that allowed VIP to accrue ending balances, VIP had to eliminate 7 full time 
equivalent positions in 2017 to attain a balanced budget.  With these proposed rule revisions, 
DEQ is proposing to increase the fee for a certificate of compliance to $25 in both the 
Portland and Medford inspection areas, and to $30 for auto dealerships.  This fee increase 
will allow DEQ to maintain quality and customer service levels in the vehicle inspection 
program. 
 

Regulated parties  
DEQ implements the vehicle inspection program and the rules contained in Division 256 – 
Motor Vehicles - apply to and regulate DEQ.  These rules also apply to: 

• Motorists, public agencies and businesses with vehicles registered in Oregon; 
• Businesses that participate in DEQ’s mobile on-site testing program; 
• Public and private fleet owners and their employees who test and certify vehicle 

emission systems; 
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• Motorists and businesses that use VIP testing stations or remote testing to obtain 
certificates of compliance required before renewing vehicle registration. 

 
The proposed amendment of Oregon Administrative Rule 340-200-0040 to incorporate these 
revisions into the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan does not change the 
regulated parties. 
 

Request for other options  
During the public comment period, DEQ requests public comment on whether to consider 
other options for achieving the rules’ substantive goals while reducing the rules’ negative 
economic impact on business.
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Statement of need 
 
What need would the proposed rule address? 
 
Descriptions of VIP test methods, criteria and standards in Division 256 do not align with current 
operations and procedures and need to be updated.  Beginning in the 2015 biennium, VIP 
program expenses exceeded revenue and DEQ must increase the certification fee to maintain 
current staffing and customer service levels. 

 
How would the proposed rule address the need?  
The proposed rule revisions would update descriptions of VIP test methods, criteria and 
standards in Division 256 to align with current operations and procedures.  The proposed fee 
increase would allow DEQ to maintain current VIP staffing and customer service levels. 
 
How will DEQ know the rule addressed the need?  
If the rule revisions are adopted by the Environmental Quality Commission in March 2019, VIP 
fees would increase in Portland and Medford areas on July 1, 2019, and in Medford also on July 
1, 2021 and July 1, 2023.  A balanced VIP biennial budget will indicate that the rule revisions 
met DEQ’s fiscal need.  If EQC adopts the proposed rule revisions, DEQ will also consider the 
need for program procedural updates met. 
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Rules affected, authorities, supporting documents 
 
Lead division 
Air Quality 
Program or activity 
Air Quality Planning 
Chapter 340 action 

 
Rules Amended – OAR 340 

340-256-0010 340-256-0100 340-256-0110 340-256-0130 340-256-0140 
340-256-0150 340-256-0160 340-256-0200 340-256-0210 340-256-0220 
340-256-0310 340-256-0320 340-256-0330 340-256-0340 340-256-0355 
340-256-0356 340-256-0357 340-256-0358 340-256-0370 340-256-0380 
340-256-0390 340-256-0400 340-256-0420 340-256-0440 340-256-0450 
340-256-0465     

 
Rules Repealed – OAR 340 

340-256-0120 340-256-0350 340-256-0360 340-256-0410 340-256-0430 
340-256-0460 340-256-0470    

 
Statutory Authority - ORS 

468.020 468.065 467.030 468A.010 468A.015 
468A.360 468A.363 468A.380 468A.390 468A.400 

815 468 468A   
 

Statutes Implemented - ORS 
467.030 468A.350 468A.360 468A.363 468A.365 

468A.370 468A.375 468A.380 468A.385 468A.387 
468A.390 468A.395 468A.400 468A.420 468.020 

 
Documents relied on for rulemaking 

  

Document title Document location 
VIP expense and revenue projections 
 

DEQ Headquarters, 700 NE Multnomah St., Ste. 600, 
Portland, OR  97232 

Fee increase calculations DEQ Headquarters, 700 NE Multnomah St., Ste. 600, 
Portland, OR  97232 

VIP Policy and Procedure Documents DEQ VIP Technical Center, 1240 SE Salmon St., Portland, 
OR 97205 
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Fee Analysis 
 
The Oregon Environmental Quality Commission approval of this rule proposal would increase 
existing fees. EQC authority to act on the proposed fees is ORS 468A.400. 
 
Brief description of proposed fees 
The cost of each certificate of compliance, including those issued at emission test stations and 
those issued through self-service and remote procedures will increase by $4.00, from $21 to $25 
in the Portland Vehicle Inspection area on July 1, 2019. The cost of each certificate of 
compliance, including those issued at emission test stations and those issued through self-service 
and remote procedures in the Medford-Ashland Vehicle Inspection area will increase by $5.00, 
(from $10 to $15) on July 1, 2019, by $5.00 (from $15 to $20) on July 1, 2021, and by $5.00 
(from $20 to $25) on July 1, 2023. 
 
The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued for on-site testing to an automobile dealership 
will increase $4.00, from $26 to $30 on July 1, 2019. 
 
Reasons  
The proposed fees would address increased program costs.  Oregon’s vehicle inspection and 
maintenance program, VIP, is a fundamental pollution reduction strategy in DEQ’s Clean Air 
Act required State Implementation Plan.  Program expenses have been increasing over the past 
several biennia because of personnel costs such as cost of living increases, employees’ step 
progression within a salary range, health insurance and other benefits.  Program expenses began 
to exceed program revenue in the 2013 – 2015 biennium.  The program has been able to continue 
to cover expenses by using technological advancements, efficiency gains and ending balances 
from previous biennia.  To attain a balanced budget in the 2015-2017 biennia, the program cut 7 
full time equivalent positions.   
 
The projected 2019-2021 revenue shortfall is $4,632,441.  The proposed fee increase would 
sustain the program through June 30, 2025.  DEQ has not raised the fee for a certificate of 
compliance since 1997. 
 
Fee proposal alternatives considered  
An alternative to raising the fee is cutting 8 full time equivalent positions.  Reducing this number 
of positions would have adverse impacts on customer service such as increased wait times, 
reduced ability to respond to public inquiries, and reduced technical support. 
 
Fee payers 
Fee payers affected by these proposed rule revisions and fee increase are motorists, businesses 
that own vehicles, and auto dealerships participating on-site testing.  Private business and public 
agency fleets pay a fee for each certificate of compliance and a licensing fee, but DEQ is not 
proposing to revise rules pertaining to private and public agency fleet fees. 
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Affected party involvement in fee-setting process 
DEQ convened an advisory committee of affected parties to assist DEQ in evaluating the fiscal 
impacts of the increased fees. 
 
Summary of impacts 
Motorists whose cars are registered in the Portland Vehicle Inspection areas will pay $4 more 
than the current fee of $21, a fee total of $25, every two years for a certificate of compliance.  
The $4 increase in the Portland Vehicle Inspection area will take effect on July 1, 2019.   
 
By July 1, 2023, motorists whose cars are registered in the Medford Vehicle Inspection areas 
will pay $15 more than the current fee of $10, a fee total of $25, every two years for a certificate 
of compliance.  The $15 fee increase in Medford will take effect in three $5 stages, on July 1, 
2019, July 1, 2021, and July 1, 2023. 
 
Beginning in July 1, 2019, auto dealerships in the Portland Vehicle Inspection areas participating 
in on-site testing will pay $5 more than the Portland area fee for a certificate of compliance, for a 
total fee of $30. 
 
Fee payer agreement with fee proposal 
DEQ did not ask fee payers and other stakeholders to agree with the proposal, but considered 
advisory committee input in developing the proposed rule revisions.  DEQ will also consider 
comments received during the public comment period in developing final rule revisions to 
present to the Environmental Quality Commission. 
 
How long will the current fee sustain the program? 
The current fee will sustain the program through June 30, 2019. 
 
Current Fees 

Program costs covered by fees $22,045,944 100% 

Program costs covered by General Fund $0 0% 

Fee Last Changed 1997 

 
How long will the proposed fee sustain the program? 
DEQ projects that the proposed fee will sustain the program through the 2023 - 2025 biennium. 
 
Proposed Fees 

Expected change in revenue (+/-) $4,645,506 20% 

Expected effective date July 1, 2019 
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Transactions and revenue 
 

Biennium Number of fee 
payers 

Impact on revenue 
 (+/-) 

Total revenue 
 (+/-) 

Current biennium 1,113,157  $22,045,944 
Next biennium 1,135,704 $4,645,506 $26,691,450 

 
Fee schedule  
Cost for a certificate of compliance would increase according to the following schedule: 
 
Portland Vehicle Inspection Area 
$25 effective July 1, 2019 
 
Medford Vehicle Inspection Area 
$15 effective July 1, 2019 
$20 effective July 1, 2021 
$25 effective July 1, 2023 
 
On-site Testing Auto Dealerships 
$30 effective July 1, 2019 
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Statement of fiscal and economic impact 
 

Fiscal and Economic Impact 
Increasing fees for vehicle inspection certificates of compliance would benefit DEQ through 
increased financial support for the Vehicle Inspection Program.  The fee change will 
increase costs for entities that must obtain a certificate of compliance for their vehicles. 
  

Statement of Cost of Compliance    
 
State and federal agencies  

DEQ will benefit from this fee increase through increased financial support for the Vehicle 
Inspection Program.  DEQ will not have to reduce 8 full time equivalent staff. 
This fee increase will not affect other state or federal agencies because DEQ is not proposing to 
increase the allowable maximum certificate of compliance fee for public agency fleets.  DEQ is 
not proposing to increase the cost of a license issued to a public agency fleet vehicle inspector. 
 
Local governments 
For local governments, the fee increase will have no effect because DEQ is not proposing to 
increase the allowable maximum certificate of compliance fee for public agency fleets.  
DEQ is not proposing to increase the cost of a license issued to a public agency fleet vehicle 
inspector. 
 
Public 
The cost of a certificate of compliance will increase for members of the public and 
businesses whose vehicles are registered in the Portland and Medford vehicle inspection 
areas.  Entities with vehicles registered in the Portland vehicle inspection area will pay an 
additional $4 every two years for a certificate of compliance, beginning on July 1, 2019.  
Entities with vehicles registered in the Medford vehicle inspection area will pay an 
additional $5 every two years beginning on July 1, 2019 and repeating on July 1, 2021 and 
July 1, 2023.   
 
DEQ does not have data to estimate the fiscal impact on an individual member of the public, but 
acknowledges that the VIP fee increase may have a greater impact on certain populations, such 
as low income households, communities of color, and older people. 
 
DEQ does not have data to estimate how an increased fee paid by on-site testing auto 
dealerships will affect the costs of vehicles.  DEQ acknowledges a potential indirect impact 
on members of the public who purchase vehicles from auto dealerships that participate in 
mobile on-site testing. 
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Large businesses - businesses with more than 50 employees 
Auto dealerships that participate in the VIP on-site testing program will pay an additional $4 
for each certificate of compliance beginning on July 1, 2019.  Approximately 35 dealerships 
currently participate in the VIP mobile on-site testing program and DEQ estimates fewer 
than five, if any, of the dealerships are large businesses. 
 
Businesses that own vehicles in the Portland vehicle inspection area – but not licensed to 
complete vehicle inspection and maintenance testing as a private fleet - will pay an 
additional $4 for each certificate of compliance beginning on July 1, 2019.   
 
Businesses that own vehicles in the Medford vehicle inspection area – but not licensed to 
complete vehicle inspection and maintenance testing as a private fleet - will pay an additional $5 
for each certificate of compliance beginning on July 1, 2019, an additional $5 beginning on July 
1, 2021, and additional $5 beginning on July 1, 2023. 
 
Small businesses – businesses with 50 or fewer employees 
Fiscal effects on small businesses will be identical to large businesses.  According to the 
Oregon Secretary of State Office of Small Business Assistance, 98% of Oregon firms are 
small businesses and employ over half the state’s workforce.   According to the 2018 Small 
Business Profile for Oregon, published by the U.S. Small Business Administration,1 small 
businesses (under the federal definition), provide:  

• 59 to 64 percent of employment in Jackson County 
• 34 to 59 percent of employment in Clackamas, Multnomah and Washington 

Counties. 
 
a. Estimated number of small businesses and types of businesses and industries 
with small businesses subject to proposed rule. 

 
Auto dealerships that participate in the VIP on-site testing program will pay an additional $4 for 
each certificate of compliance beginning on July 1, 2019.  Approximately 35 dealerships 
currently participate in the VIP mobile on-site testing program and DEQ estimates most or all of 
those dealerships are small businesses. 
 
b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities, 
including costs of professional services, required for small businesses to comply 
with the proposed rule. 

 
No additional activities are required to comply with the proposed rules. All businesses that 
participate in the mobile on-site testing already pay fees for each certificate of compliance. 
 
c. Projected equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for 
small businesses to comply with the proposed rule. 
 

                                                 
1 https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/advocacy/2018-Small-Business-Profiles-OR.pdf 

https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/advocacy/2018-Small-Business-Profiles-OR.pdf
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No additional resources are required for compliance with the proposed rules. All businesses 
that participate in the mobile on-site testing already pay fees for each certificate of 
compliance. 
 
d. Describe how DEQ involved small businesses in developing this proposed 
rule. 
 
DEQ included small business representatives and representatives from auto dealer 
associations on the VIP Update Rulemaking Committee that advised DEQ on the cost of 
compliance for small businesses.  
 

Documents relied on for fiscal and economic impact 
 

Document title Document location 
2018 Small Business Profile for Oregon U. S. Small Business Administration 

https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/advocacy
/2018-Small-Business-Profiles-OR.pdf 

  

Advisory committee 
DEQ appointed an advisory committee.  
 
As ORS 183.33 requires, DEQ asked for the committee’s recommendations on: 

• Whether the proposed rules would have a fiscal impact,  
• The extent of the impact, and 
• Whether the proposed rules would have a significant adverse impact on small businesses; if 

so, then how DEQ can comply with ORS 183.540 reduce that impact.  
 
The committee reviewed the draft fiscal and economic impact statement and its findings are 
documented in the meeting summary dated October 4, 2018.  The committee found that: 

• The proposed fee increase for a Vehicle Inspection Program-issued certificate of 
compliance will have a fiscal impact. 
 

• The extent of the fiscal impact includes motorists and businesses with vehicles 
registered in the Portland and Medford inspection areas, auto dealerships 
participating in the mobile on site testing program and businesses testing vehicles in 
the DEQ Too program. 
 

• The fiscal effect on parties paying the fee increase will be small. 
 

• The fiscal effect of the fee increase in the Medford area will be greater than in the 
Portland area because the fee increase is larger, even though the fee increase is 
phased in over four years. 
 

https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/advocacy/2018-Small-Business-Profiles-OR.pdf
https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/advocacy/2018-Small-Business-Profiles-OR.pdf
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• One member indicated the proposed fee increase could have a significant adverse 
effect on small business. 
 

• The Vehicle Inspection Program provides a positive fiscal impact by preventing 
emissions of air pollutants that adversely affect public health. 

 
One committee member found that the proposed rules would have a significant adverse impact 
on small businesses in Oregon and, as ORS 183.333 and 183.540 require, the committee 
considered how DEQ could reduce the rules’ fiscal impact on small business by one or more of 
the following actions: 
 
• Establishing differing compliance or reporting requirements or time tables for small business; 
• Clarifying, consolidating or simplifying the compliance and reporting requirements under the 
rule for small business; 
• Utilizing objective criteria for standards; 
• Exempting small businesses from any or all requirements of the rule; or 
• Otherwise establishing less intrusive or less costly alternatives applicable to small business. 
 
A committee member recommended that DEQ reduce the rules’ fiscal impact on small 
business by allowing a discount for businesses having multiple vehicles tested.   
 
DEQ does not have information to calculate the fiscal effects of instituting a volume 
discount program within the scope of this rulemaking.  However, DEQ will consider this 
and additional comments received during the public comment period about ways DEQ could 
mitigate the rules’ fiscal effects on small businesses. 
 

Housing cost   
As ORS 183.534 requires, DEQ evaluated whether the proposed rules would have an effect 
on the development cost of a 6,000-square-foot parcel and construction of a 1,200-square-
foot detached, single-family dwelling on that parcel. DEQ does not have information to 
determine if the proposed rule would have an effect on housing development costs. 
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Federal relationship 
 
Relationship to federal requirements  
ORS 183.332, 468A.327 and OAR 340-011-0029 require DEQ to attempt to adopt rules that 
correspond with existing equivalent federal laws and rules unless there are reasons not to do so.   
 
The proposed rules are not different from or in addition to federal requirements.  The proposed 
rule revisions simply amend existing rules, some of which implement portions of Oregon’s EPA-
approved State Implementation Plan.  
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Land use 

 
Land-use considerations 

 
In adopting new or amended rules, ORS 197.180 and OAR 340-018-0070 require DEQ to 
determine whether the proposed rules significantly affect land use. If so, DEQ must explain how 
the proposed rules comply with state wide land-use planning goals and local acknowledged 
comprehensive plans. 
 
Under OAR 660-030-0005 and OAR 340 Division 18, DEQ considers that rules affect land use 
if: 
• The statewide land use planning goals specifically refer to the rule or program, or 
• The rule or program is reasonably expected to have significant effects on: 

o Resources, objectives or areas identified in the statewide planning goals, or 
o Present or future land uses identified in acknowledged comprehensive plans 

 
To determine whether the proposed rules involve programs or actions that affect land use, DEQ 
reviewed its Statewide Agency Coordination plan, which describes the DEQ programs that have 
been determined to significantly affect land use. DEQ considers that its programs specifically 
relate to the following statewide goals: 
 
Goal # Title 
5 Open Spaces, Scenic and Historic Areas, and Natural Resources 
6 Air, Water and Land Resources Quality 
9 Ocean Resources 
11 Public Facilities and Services 
16 Estuarial Resources 

 
Statewide goals also specifically reference the following DEQ programs: 
 
• Nonpoint source discharge water quality program – Goal 16 
• Water quality and sewage disposal systems – Goal 16 
• Water quality permits and oil spill regulations – Goal 19 
 

Determination 
DEQ determined that these proposed rules do not affect land use under OAR 340-018-0030 or 
DEQ’s State Agency Coordination Program. 
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Stakeholder and public involvement 
   
Advisory committee 
Background 
 
DEQ convened the Vehicle Inspection Program Update Rulemaking advisory committee. The 
committee included representatives from county transportation and health departments, local 
government, small business, business associations, environmental/public health advocacy 
organizations, and state government.  The committee met once on October 4, 2018. The 
committee’s web page is located at: Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 
 
The committee members attending the October 4, 2018, meeting were: 
 
 

Vehicle Inspection Program  Rulemaking  
Advisory Committee 

Name Representing 
Luis Brito John’s Auto Care 
Andrew Bartlett City of Hillsboro 
Chris Deffebach Washington County, Land Use and Transportation 
Nadège Dubuisson Multnomah County, Health Dept. 
Chris Hagerbaumer Oregon Environmental Council 
Jim Houser Hawthorne Auto Clinic 
Katherine Kelly City of Gresham 
Carrie Nyssen American Lung Association 
Tracy Olander Oregon Dept. Transportation, Driver and Motor Vehicle Services 
Mary Peveto Neighbors for Clean Air 
Mike Quilty Rogue Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization 
Greg Remensperger Oregon Auto Dealers Association 
David Silva Multnomah County, Dept. County Assets 
Diane Sparks Oregon Independent Automobile Dealers Association 
Stephen Williams  Clackamas County Dept. Transportation and Development 

 
Meeting notifications 
 
To notify people about the advisory committee’s activities, DEQ: 
• Sent GovDelivery bulletins, a free e-mail subscription service, to the following lists: 

• Rulemaking 
• Air Quality Maintenance Plans 
• DEQ Public Notices 

https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/rvip2019.aspx
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• Diesel and Biodiesel 
• Low Emission/Zero Emission Vehicle Program 
• Oregon Clean Fuels Program 
• Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program 
• Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 

 
• On September 20, 2018, DEQ sent a one-time notice to 13,724 subscribers to the lists above 
to describe how to sign up for advisory committee meeting notices. 
• Added advisory committee announcements to DEQ’s calendar of public meetings at DEQ 
Calendar. 
 
Committee discussions 
 
In addition to deliberating and making recommendations described under the Statement of Fiscal 
and Economic Impact section above, the committee received presentations about VIP and the 
Clean Air Act; VIP history, operations and budget; and VIP environmental outcomes.  DEQ 
summarized VIP’s environmental outcomes based on recent DEQ modeling and analysis of air 
toxics and criteria pollutant reductions achieved by multiple control strategies. DEQ also 
reviewed with the committee the rules within Division 256 in which DEQ has proposed revisions 
to update descriptions of test procedures, criteria and standards. 
 
Committee discussions and comments, not directly related to fiscal impacts, addressed the 
following topics: 

• Cost comparison of DEQ VIP program with that provided by a private 
contractor. 

• Potential costs to contractors if they were to provide VIP testing, including 
equipment and data management. 

• Use and representativeness of EPA’s EJ Screen for assessing demographic 
characteristics of areas within VIP boundaries. 

• VIP providing air quality and public health benefits, as well as costs. 
• Generally, the kinds of data DEQ used when setting the most recent VIP 

boundaries (1994). 
• Degree of DEQToo implementation and application to fleets. 
• Trend of improving vehicle pollution control systems. 
• Assumptions and methods DEQ used in its multipollutant analysis of several 

control strategies, including VIP. 
• EPA requirements if DEQ was to remove a pollution control strategy from its 

State Implementation Plan. 
 
DEQ posted an advisory committee meeting summary on the advisory committee website:  
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/rvip2019.aspx 
 
EQC prior involvement 
 
DEQ shares general rulemaking information with EQC through the monthly Director’s Report.  

http://www.oregon.gov/deq/Get-Involved/Pages/Calendar.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/deq/Get-Involved/Pages/Calendar.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/rvip2019.aspx


 

22 
 

  
Public notice and hearings  
   

Public notice 
 
DEQ provided notice of the proposed rulemaking and rulemaking hearings on January 15 and 
28, 2019, by:  
 
• On December 13, 2018, Filing notice with the Oregon Secretary of State for publication in 
the January 2, 2019 Oregon Bulletin; 
• Notifying the EPA by email; 
• Posting the Notice, Invitation to Comment and Draft Rules on the web page for this 
rulemaking, located at: Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 
 
• Emailing interested parties on the following DEQ lists through GovDelivery: 

• Rulemaking 
• Air Quality Maintenance Plans 
• DEQ Public Notices 
• Diesel and Biodiesel 
• Low Emission/Zero Emission Vehicle Program 
• Oregon Clean Fuels Program 
• Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program 
• Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 

 
• Emailing the following key legislators required under ORS 183.335: 
 
o State Senator Michael Dembrow, Chair, Senate Committee on Environment and 

Natural Resources 
o State Representative Ken Helm, Chair, House Committee on Energy and 

Environment  
o State Representative Brad Witt 
o State Senator Lew Frederick 

 
• Emailing advisory committee members 
• Postings on Twitter and Facebook 
• Posting on the DEQ event calendar: DEQ Calendar 
 

Public hearings 
 

DEQ plans to hold two public hearings. The details are listed below. Anyone can attend a 
hearing in person, or by webinar or teleconference. 
 

https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/rvip2019.aspx
http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/183.html
http://www.oregon.gov/deq/Get-Involved/Pages/Calendar.aspx
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DEQ will consider all written comments received at the hearings listed below before completing 
the draft rules. DEQ will summarize all comments and respond to comments in the 
Environmental Quality Commission staff report. 
 
 

Hearing 1 
Date Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019 
Time 4 p.m. – 7 p.m. 
Street Address DEQ Headquarters 

700 NE Multnomah St., Third Floor 
Conference Room 

City Portland 
Presiding Officer DEQ Staff 
Staff Presenter Karen Williams 
Call-in Phone Number 888-278-0296 
Participant ID 8040259 
Webinar Login Link https://www.webmeeting.att.com/ 

Instructions on how to access 
webinar and teleconference 

Teleconference and Webinar instructions 
 

 
 

Hearing 2 
Date Monday, Jan. 28, 2019 

Time 4 p.m. – 7 p.m. 

Street Address 
Jackson County Library – Medford Branch 
205 South Central Ave., Carpenter 
Conference Room 

City Medford 
Presiding Officer DEQ Staff 
Staff Presenter Karen Williams 
Call-in Phone Number 888-278-0296 

Participant ID 8040259 

Webinar Link https://www.webmeeting.att.com/ 

Instructions on how to access 
webinar and teleconference 

Teleconference and Webinar instructions 
 

  

https://www.webmeeting.att.com/
http://www.deq.state.or.us/regulations/docs/participantlinklog.pdf
https://www.webmeeting.att.com/
http://www.deq.state.or.us/regulations/docs/participantlinklog.pdf
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How to comment on the proposed rules: 
Submit comment online 
DEQ will only consider comments on the proposed rules that DEQ receives by 4 p.m., on 
Monday, February 4, 2019. 
 
Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 Rulemaking Comment Page 
 
Note for public university students:  
ORS 192.501(29) allows Oregon public university and OHSU students to protect their university 
email addresses from disclosure under Oregon’s public records law. If you are an Oregon public 
university or OHSU student you may omit your email address when you complete the online 
form to submit a comment. 

 
By mail 
 
Oregon DEQ 
Attn: Karen Williams 
700 NE Multnomah St., Room 600 
Portland, OR 97232-4100 
 
At the hearing 
Close of public comment period 
 
The comment period will close 4 p.m. on Monday, February 4, 2019. 
 

Accessibility Information 
You may review copies of all documents referenced in this announcement at: 
Oregon Department of Environmental Quality 
700 NE Multnomah St., Ste. 600 
Portland, OR, 97232 
 
To schedule a review of all websites and documents referenced in this announcement, call Karen 
Williams, DEQ Air Quality Planning Section, 503-229-5519 (800-452-4011, ext. 5622 toll-free 
in Oregon). 
 
Please notify DEQ of any special physical or language accommodations or if you need 
information in large print, Braille or another format. To make these arrangements, contact DEQ, 
Portland, at 503-229-5696 or call toll-free in Oregon at 1-800-452-4011, ext. 5696; fax to 503-
229-6762; or email to deqinfo@deq.state.or.us. Hearing impaired persons may call 711. 

  

https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/cvip2019.aspx
mailto:deqinfo@deq.state.or.us
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Draft Rules - With Edits Highlighted 
 

Key to Identifying Changed Text: 

Deleted Text 
New/inserted text 
 

 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

 

Division 256 

MOTOR VEHICLES 

340-256-0010 
Definitions 

The definitions in OAR 340-200-0020, 340-204-0010, and this rule apply to this division. If 
this rule defines the same term is defined in this rule and as OAR 340-200-0020 or 340-204-
0010, the definition in this rule applies into this division. 

(1) "Basic test" means an inspection and maintenance program designed to measure exhaust 
emission levels during an unloaded idle or an unloaded raised idle mode as described in 
OAR 340-256-0340. 

(2) "Carbon dioxideCO2" means a chemical formula representing thea compound consisting 
of the chemical formula (CO2)carbon dioxide. 

(3) "COCarbon monoxide" means a chemical formula representing thea compound carbon 
monoxideconsisting of the chemical formula (CO). 

(4) "Certificate of Compliance" means a hard copy or electronic document 
statingcertification that the vehicle identified on the certificate is equipped with the required 
functioning motor vehicle pollution control systems and otherwise complies with the 
Commission's emission control criteria, standards, and rules. A certificate of compliance is 
issued by a Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, a Public Agency Fleet 
Vehicle Emission Inspector, a Vehicle Emissions Inspector employed by the Department of 
Environmental QualityDEQ, or an Independent Contractor that the vehicle identified on the 
certificate is equipped with the required functioning motor vehicle pollution control systems 
and otherwise complies with the Commission's emission control criteria, standards, and 
rules. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75705
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 (5) "Certified Repair Facility" means an automotive repair facility, possessing a current and 
valid certificate issued by the Department, that employs automotive technicians certified by 
the Department's Automotive Technician Emission Training Program (ATETP). 

(65) "Clean-Screening" means a procedure by which the DepartmentDEQ determines that a 
vehicle has acceptable emissions and then allows the vehicle owner to bypass the traditional 
centralized emissions inspection station test. The DepartmentDEQ's decision may be the 
result of remotely sensing the emissions, the status of emissions equipment, or another 
means determined by the DepartmentDEQ. 

(76) "Commission" means the Environmental Quality Commission. 

 (8) "Crankcase emissions" means substances emitted directly to the atmosphere from any 
opening leading to the crankcase of a motor vehicle engine. 

(97) "Dealer" means any person who is engaged wholly or in part in the business of buying, 
selling, or exchanging, either outright or on conditional sale, bailment lease, chattel 
mortgage, or otherwise, motor vehicles. 

(108) "Dealership" means a business involved in the sale of vehicles that is franchised with 
an automobile manufacturer as defined in ORS 650.120(91). 

(119) "DepartmentDEQ" means the Department of Environmental Quality. 

(1210) "Diesel motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle powered by a stratified charge 
compression-ignition internal combustion engine. 

(1311) "Director" means the director of the DepartmentDEQ. 

(1412) "DMV" means the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division of the Oregon 
Department of Transportation. 

 (15) "Electric vehicle" means a motor vehicle that uses a propulsive unit powered 
exclusively by electricity. 

(13) “Emissions” means gas or vapor released to the atmosphere from a motor vehicle 
component or resulting from fuel combustion within a motor vehicle engine. 

(1614) "Emissions Inspection Station" means an inspection facility, operated by the 
Department of Environmental QualityDEQ or an Independent Contractor, for the purpose of 
conducting emissions inspections of all vehicles required to be inspected pursuant tounder 
this Division. 

(17) "Enhanced test" means an inspection and maintenance program designed to measure 
exhaust and fuel evaporative system emissions levels using a loaded transient driving cycle 
and other measurement techniques as described in OAR 340-256-0350. 



 

27 
 

(1815) "Exhaust emissions" means substances emitted into the atmosphere from any 
opening downstream from of the exhaust ports of a motor vehicle engine. 

(1916) "Factory-installed motor vehicle pollution control system" means a motor vehicle 
pollution control system installed by the vehicle or engine manufacturer to comply with 
United States motor vehicle emission control laws and regulations published in the Code of 
Federal Regulations, 40 C.F.R. Parts 85 and 86. 

(17) “Franchised” means a sale entity licensed by the DMV and under an agreement as 
defined in ORS 650.120(5) to sell motor vehicles. 

(2018) "Gas analytical system" means a device that measures the amount of contaminants in 
the exhaust emissions of a motor vehicle, and that has been issued a license by the 
DepartmentDEQ pursuant tounder OAR 340-256-0450 and ORS 468A.380. 

(2119) "Gaseous fuel" meansincludes, but is not limited to, liquefied petroleum gases and 
natural gases in liquefied or gaseous forms. 

(2220) "Gasoline motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle powered by a spark-ignition 
internal combustion engine. 

(23) "GPM" means Grams Per Mile. 

(2421) "Gross vehicle weight rating" or "GVWR" means the value specified by the 
manufacturer as the maximum design loaded weight of a single vehicle. 

(2522) "Heavy duty motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle rated at morewith a GVWR 
greater than 8,500 pounds GVWR or that has an actual vehicle curb weight as delivered to 
the ultimate purchaser of 6000 pounds or over. 

(23) “HC” is an abbreviation that means hydrocarbon. 

(2624) "Hydrocarbon gases" means a class of chemical compounds consisting of hydrogen 
and carbon. 

(2725) "Idle speed" means the unloaded engine speed when accelerator pedal is fully 
released. 

(26) “Imported vehicle” means a vehicle legally imported from another country through 
channels other than the maker's official distribution system. 

(2826) "Independent Contractor" means any person with whom the DepartmentDEQ enters 
into an agreement providing for the construction, equipment, maintenance, personnel, 
management or operation of emissions inspection stations or activities pursuant tounder 
ORS 468A.370 and these rules. 

(2927) "Inspection and Maintenance Program or (I/M) Program” means a program of 
conducting regular inspections of motor vehicles, including measurement of air 



 

28 
 

contaminants in the motor vehicle exhaust and an inspection of emission the motor vehicle 
pollution control systems, to identify vehicles that do not meet the standards of this Division 
or that have malfunctioning, maladjusted or missing emission motor vehicle pollution 
control systems, and, when necessary, of requiring the repair or adjustment of vehicles to 
make the emission motor vehicle pollution control systems function as intended and to 
reduce tailpipe emissions of air contaminants. 

(3028) "In-use motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle that is not a new motor vehicle. 

(3129) "Light-duty motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle rated atwith a GVWR of 8,500 
pounds or less GVWR or less and has an actual vehicle curb weight as delivered to the 
ultimate purchaser of under 6000 pounds. 

 (32) "Medford-Ashland Air Quality Maintenance Area (AQMA)" has the meaning given in 
OAR 340-204-0010. 

(3330) "Model year" means the annual production period of new motor vehicles or new 
motor vehicle engines designated by the calendar year in which such period ends. If the 
manufacturer does not designate a production period, the model year with respect to such 
vehicles or engines means the 12-month period beginning January of the year in which 
production thereof of the vehicle or engine begins. 

 (34) "Motorcycle" means any motor vehicle, including mopeds, having a seat or saddle for 
the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the 
ground and having a mass of 680 kilograms (1500 pounds) or less with manufacturer 
recommended fluids and nominal fuel capacity included. 

(3531) "Motor vehicle" or “vehicle” means any self-propelled vehicle used for transporting 
persons or commodities on public roads. 

(3632) "Motor vehicle pollution control system" means equipment designed for installation 
on a motor vehicle for the purpose of reducing the pollutants emitted from the vehicle, or a 
system or engine adjustment or modification that causes a reduction of pollutants emitted 
from the vehicle, or a system or device that inhibits the introduction of fuels that can 
adversely affect the overall motor vehicle pollution control system. 

(3733) "Motor Vehicle Fleet Operation" means ownership, control, or management or any 
combination thereof, by any person, of five or more motor vehicles. 

(3834) "New motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle whose equitable or legal title has never 
been transferred to a person who, in good faith, purchases the motor vehicle for purposes 
other than resale. 

(39) "Noise level" means the sound pressure level measured by use of metering equipment 
with an "A" frequency weighting network and reported as dBA. 
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(4035) "OBD" and “OBD-II” means the On Board Diagnostic system in a vehicle that tracks 
the effectiveness of the motor vehicle's emissions pollution control systems. These OBDII 
(or higher systems) have typically been placed on 1996 and newer motor vehicles. 

(4136) "OBD Test" means an emissions related test in whichthat downloads diagnostic 
information from the vehicle's On Board DiagnosticOBD computer is downloaded, 
supplying diagnostic information to evaluate the effectiveness of the motor vehicle 
emissions pollution control systems. 

(4237) "On-Site Vehicle Test" means an emissions related test that is conducted at the 
vehicle owner's location. Such test will be performed by DEQ using DEQ’s test equipment 
and is only available as a service for automobile dealerships. 

(4338) "Owner" means the person having all the incidents of ownership in a vehicle. Where 
the incidents of ownership are in different persons, it means the person, other than a security 
interest holder or lessor, entitled to the possession of a vehicle under a security agreement or 
a lease for a term of 10ten or more successive days. 

(4439) "Opacity" means the degree to which transmitted light is obscured, expressed in 
percent. 

 (45) "Oxides of Nitrogen" or NOx means oxides of nitrogen except nitrous oxides. 

(40) “Permanent Fleet Vehicle” means a motor vehicle that the Oregon Department of 
Transportation identifies with permanent fleet tags, stickers, plates or other identification 
ODOT determines appropriate. 

(4641) "Person" means any individual, public or private corporation, political subdivision, 
agency, board, department, or bureau of the state, municipality, partnership, association, 
firm, trust, estate, or any other legal entity whatsoever that is recognized by law as the 
subject of rights and duties. 

 (47) "Portland Vehicle Inspection Area" has the meaning given in OAR 340-204-0010. 

(4842) "PPM" means parts per million by volume. 

(4943) "Private Business Fleet" means a group of 100 or more ownership by any person of 
100 or more Oregon-registered, in-use, motor vehicles, that are owned by any person, 
excluding those vehicles held primarily for the purpose of resale. 

(5044) "Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emissions Inspector" means any person employed 
on a full-time basis by a Private Business Fleet thatwho possesses a current and valid license 
issued by the DepartmentDEQ pursuant tounder OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380. 

(51) "Propulsion exhaust noise" means that noise created in the propulsion system of a 
motor vehicle that is emitted into the atmosphere from any opening downstream from the 
exhaust ports. This definition does not include exhaust noise from vehicle auxiliary 
equipment such as refrigeration units powered by a secondary motor. 
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(5245) "Public Agency Fleet" means a groupownership of 50 or more government-owned 
vehicles registered pursuant tounder ORS 805.040. 

(5346) "Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emissions Inspector" means any person employed on 
a full-time basis by a Public Agency Fleet that possesses a current and valid license issued 
by the DepartmentDEQ pursuant tounder OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380. 

(5447) "Public roads" means any street, alley, road, highway, freeway, thoroughfare, or 
section thereof used by the public, or dedicated or appropriated to public use. 

(5548) "Regional Authority" means a regional air quality control authority established under 
the provisions of ORS 468A.005 to 468A.035, 468A.075, 468A.100 to 468A.130, and 
468A.140 to 468A.175. 

(5649) "Remote Sensing" means a technique for determining the level of a vehicle's 
emissions without connecting equipment directly to the vehicle, done either . The vehicle's 
emissions can be determined by either optically measuring the pollutants in the vehicle's 
exhaust plume, by remotely receiving a vehicle's emissions diagnostic information, or by 
other means determined by the DepartmentDEQ. 

(5750) "Ringlemann Smoke Chart" means the Ringlemann Smoke Chart with instructions 
for use as published in May, 1967, by the U.S. Department of Interior, Bureau of Mines, 
Information circular 8333. 

(5851) "RPM" means engine crankshaft revolutions per minute. 

(5952) "Self-Service Test Lane" means a technique procedure for vehicle testing offered by 
the DepartmentDEQ where the vehicle owner or representative driver can perform an 
emissions test on the vehicle at a facility provided by the DepartmentDEQ using remote 
sensing, plug-in OBD emissions testing, or other means designated by the DepartmentDEQ. 

(60) "Two-stroke cycle engine" means an engine in which combustion occurs, within any 
given cylinder, once each crankshaft revolution. 

(6153) "Vehicle Emission Inspector" means any person employed by the Department or an 
Independent Contractor thatwho possesses a current and valid license issued by the 
Department pursuant tounder OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380. 

(54) “VIN” or “Vehicle Identification Number” means a unique code including a serial 
number that identifies a specific vehicle. 

(6255) "Visible Eemissions" means those gases or particulates, excluding uncombined 
water, that separately or in combination are visible upon release to the outdoor atmosphere. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 
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Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 467.030 & 468A.350 - 468A.400 
History: 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 
DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 
DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0005 & 340-024-0305 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 23-1984, f. 11-19-84, ef. 4-1-85 
DEQ 12-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82 
DEQ 18-1980, f. & ef. 6-25-80 
DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 
DEQ 139, f. 6-30-77, ef. 7-1-77 
DEQ 89, f. 4-22-75, ef. 5-25-75 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0100 
Visible Emissions: General Requirements, Exclusions 

(1) No A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated any 
motor vehicle upon a public street or highwayroads that emits into the atmosphere any 
visible emission. 

(2) Excluded from this rule are those motor vehicles: 

(a) Powered by compression ignition or diesel cycle engines; 

(b) Excluded Granted a variance by written order of the DepartmentDEQ by under ORS 
468A.075. 

(3) No A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated any 
motor vehicle upon a public street or highwayroads if any element of the factory-installed 
motor vehicle pollution control system has been modified or altered in such a manner that 
decreases its efficiency or effectiveness in controlling air pollution in violation of ORS 
815.305, except as noted in ORS 815.305(2). 

NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468, 468A & 815 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75722
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DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0010 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0110 
Visible Emissions: Special Requirements for Excluded Motor Vehicles 

No A person shall may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated upon a 
public street or highway, any motor vehicle excluded from OAR 340-256-0100 whichthat: 

(1) When operated at an elevation of 3,000 feet or less, emits visible emissions into the 
atmosphere: 

(a) Of an opacity greater than 40 10 percent; or 

(b) Of an opacity of ten 40 percent or greater for a period exceeding seven consecutive 
seconds. 

(2) When operated at an elevation of over 3,000 feet, emits visible emissions into the 
atmosphere: 

(a) Of an opacity greater than 60 20 percent; or 

(b) Of an opacity of 20 60 percent or greater for a period exceeding seven consecutive 
seconds. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0015 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0120 
Visible Emissions: Uncombined Water — Water Vapor 

Where the presence of uncombined water is the only reason for failure of an emission to 
meet the requirements of OAR 340-256-0100 or 340-256-0110, such rules shall not apply. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0020 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0130 
Visible Emissions: Motor Vehicle Fleet Operation 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75726
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75730
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(1) Motor vehicle fleet operation records pertaining to observations, tests, maintenance, and 
repairs performed to control or reduce visible emissions from individual motor vehicles 
must be available for DEQ review and inspection by the Department. 

(2) The DepartmentDEQ, by written notice, may require any motor vehicle of a motor 
vehicle fleet operation to be tested for compliance with OAR 340-256-0100 and 340-256-
0110. 

(3) A regional authority, within its territory, may perform the functions of the 
DepartmentDEQ as set forth in sections (1) and (2) of this rule, upon written directive of the 
DepartmentDEQ permitting such action. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0025 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0140 
Visible Emissions: Dealer Compliance 

No A dealer shall may not sell, exchange or lease, or offer for sale, exchange, or lease, any 
motor vehicle which that operates in violation of OAR 340-256-0100 or 340-256-0110, 
except as permitted by federal regulations published in the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 
C.F.R. Parts 85 and 86. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0030 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0150 
Visible Emissions: Opacity Method of Measurement 

Only a trained person may make Tthe opacity observation for purposes of OAR 340-256-
0100 through 340-256-0140.  A trained person may use a Ringelmann Smoke Chart or DEQ 
approved opacity equipment to measure emission opacityshall be made by a person trained 
as an observer; provided, however, that a Ringelmann Smoke Chart may be used in 
measuring the opacity of emissions for purposes of OAR 340-256-0100 through 340-256-
0140. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75733
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=248690
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Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 191-2018, minor correction filed 07/18/2018, effective 07/18/2018 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0035 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0160 
Visible Emissions: Alternative Methods of Measuring Visible Emissions 

(1) The DepartmentDEQ may, but is not required to, permit the use of alternative methods 
of measurement to determine compliance with the visible emissions standards in OAR 340-
256-0100 and 340-256-0110 when if DEQ determines that such alternative methods are 
demonstrated to be reproducible, selective, sensitive, accurate and applicable to a specific 
program.  If DEQ permits the use of an alternative method of measurement, DEQ shall do 
so in writing in response to a request under section (2) of this rule. 

(2) Any person desiring to utilize alternative methods of measurement shall must submit a 
request to use alternative methods of measurement to the DepartmentDEQ.  A request must 
include such specifications and test data as the DepartmentDEQ may require, together with 
a detailed specific program for utilizing the alternative methods, sufficient to show that the 
alternative methods are reproducible, selective, sensitive, accurate, and applicable to a 
specific program. The DepartmentDEQ may shall require demonstration of the effectiveness 
and suitability of the programany additional documentation that it deems necessary. 

(3) No A person shall may not undertake a program using an alternative method of 
measurement without having obtained prior written approval of the DepartmentDEQ. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0040 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0200 
Certification of Pollution Control Systems: County Designations 

Pursuant to the requirements of ORS 468A.360, Clackamas, Columbia, Jackson, Marion, 
Multnomah, Washington and Yamhill counties are hereby designated by the Environmental 
Quality Commission as counties in which all motor vehicles registered therein, unless 
otherwise exempted by statute or by rules subsequently adopted by the Commission, shall 
must be equipped with a motor vehicle pollution control system and shall must comply with 
motor vehicle emission standards adopted by the Commission. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=38760
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75738
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75740
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Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.390 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.390 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0100 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 62, f. 12-5-73, ef. 12-25-73 
DEQ 51, f. 3-20-73, ef. 4-1-73 

340-256-0210 
Certification of Pollution Control Systems: Criteria for Certification of Motor Vehicle 
Pollution Control Systems 

Pursuant to the requirements of ORS 468A.365, the following are This rule documents the 
criteria for certification of motor vehicle pollution control systems. as defined by ORS 
468A.350:,  A motor vehicle pollution control system may be certified unless:  

(1) A motor vehicle pollution control system which necessitateshas equipment not designed 
for installation on a motor vehicle for the purpose of reducing the pollutants emitted from 
the vehicle shall not be certified. 

(2) A motor vehicle pollution control system which necessitatesneeds modifications, other 
than adjustments, to the original design of the motor vehicle shall not be certified.  

(3) A person has replaced the motor vehicle engine and the resulting vehicle chassis is not 
identical (including all emission related parts, engine design parameters, and engine 
calibrations) to a certified configuration of the same or newer model year, except for: 

(a) Conversions to compressed natural gas or liquefied petroleum gasoline (LPG); 

(b) A complete engine or engine conversion kit granted an Executive Order by the 
California Air Resources Board that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division; 

(c) A complete powertrain on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s "Certified to 
EPA Standards" list, when the powertrain is used in its entirety and without modification, 
that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division; 

(d) A foreign-built replacement engine that has a configuration certified by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency or the California Air Resources Board that DEQ deems to 
meet the standards of this Division. 

 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0200 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75745
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DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 66, f. 2-5-74, ef. 2-25-74 

340-256-0220 
Compliance With Oregon Low Emission Vehicle Program 

Model years 2009 and newer vehicles that have 7,500 or fewer miles must meet the 
requirements of Cchapter 340, Ddivision 257 to qualify for a Certificate of Compliance. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 468A.010, 468A.015, 468A.025, 468A.360 & 
468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468.020 & 468A.365 
History: 
DEQ 6-2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-29-06 

340-256-0310 
Emission Control System Inspection: Government-Owned Vehicle, Permanent Fleet 
Vehicle and United States Government Vehicle Testing Requirements 

(1) All motor vehicles registered as government-owned vehicles under ORS 805.040 that 
are required to be certifiednot exempted from certification pursuant tounder 815.300 must, 
as means of that certification, obtain a Certificate of Compliance. Government-owned 
vehicles must be certified biennially. 

(2) All Any motor vehicles registered as a permanent fleet vehicles under ORS 805.120 that 
are required to be certified pursuant tounder ORS 803.350 and 815.295 to 815.325 must, as 
means of that certification, obtain a Certificate of Compliance. 

(3) Any motor vehicle that is to be registered under ORS 805.040 or 805.120 but which is 
not a new motor vehicle must have obtain a Certificate of Compliance issued to it before it 
is registered, as required by ORS 803.350 and 815.295 to 815.325. 

(4) All motor vehicles owned by the United States Government and operated in the Portland 
Vehicle Inspection Area or the Medford-Ashland Air Quality Maintenance Area (AQMA) 
must have obtain a Certificate of Compliance issued to it biennially. 

(a) United States Government tactical military vehicles are not required to be certifiedobtain 
Certificates of Compliance. 

(b) Federal installations located within the Portland Area Vehicle Inspection Program and 
the Medford-Ashland AQMA must provide DEQ with a listing to the Department of all 
federal employee-owned vehicles operated on the installation,  and demonstrate that these 
vehicles have complied with this Division,.  report iInspection results must be reported to 
the DepartmentDEQ on aeach quarterly basis, and update the list must be updated annually. 

(5) For the purposes of providing a staggered certification schedule for vehicles registered 
as government-owned vehicles under ORS 805.040 or permanent fleet vehicles under 
805.120, such schedule must, except as provided by section (6) of this rule, be on the basis 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75748
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75750
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of the final numerical digit contained on the vehicle license plate. Such certification must be 
completed by the last day of the month as provided below (last digit and month or year, 
respectively): 

(a) 1 — January; 

(b) 2 — February; 

(c) 3 — March; 

(d) 4 — April; 

(e) 5 — May; 

(f) 6 — June; 

(g) 7 — July; 

(h) 8 — August; 

(i) 9 — September; 

(j) 0 — October; 

(k) Even — even numbered years for vehicles that are tested biennially; 

(l) Odd — odd numbered years for vehicles that are tested biennially. 

(6) In order to accommodate a fleet's scheduled maintenance practices, the DepartmentDEQ 
may establish grant a request for a specific separate schedule, so long as the schedule 
provides at least annual or biennial certification,  for vehicles registered as government-
owned vehicles under ORS 805.040 or permanent fleet vehicles registered under ORS 
805.120 if a Public Agency Fleet or Private Business Fleet licensed under OAR 340-256-
0440 owns these vehicles are owned by a Public Agency Fleet or Private Business Fleet 
licensed under OAR 340-256-0440. 

(7) Every agency or organization owning fleet vehicles described in this rule must report the 
following information to the DepartmentDEQ, in either electronic or printed form, annually: 

(a) The vehicle make; 

(b) The vehicle model; 

(c) The vehicle identification number (VIN); 

(d) The number of Certificates of Compliance issued; and 

(e) The issuing date on whichof the motor vehicle’s were issued Certificates of Compliance. 
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[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.363 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0306 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-31-83 
DEQ 3-1978, f. 3-1-78, ef. 4-1-78 

340-256-0320 
Emission Control System Inspection: Motor Vehicle Inspection Program Fee Schedule 

This rule sets out the fee schedule for Certificates of Compliance and licenses issued by the 
DepartmentDEQ’s Vehicle Inspection Program: 

(1) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued by the DepartmentDEQ, including 
those issued at emissions test stations and those issued through the Clean-Screen and Self-
Service Testing procedures, is: 

(a) In the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area, a maximum of $21 until July 1, 2019, and then 
$25; or 

(b) In the Medford-Ashland Air Quality Maintenance AreaAQMA, a maximum of $10 until 
July 1, 2019; and then $15 until July 1, 2021; and then $20 until July 1, 2023; and then $25. 

(2) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued by a Private Business Fleet or Public 
Agency Fleet is: 

(a) In the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area is, a maximum of $10; and 

(b) In the Medford-Ashland Air Quality Maintenance AreaAQMA is, a maximum of $5. 

(3) The cost of each License issued to a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet is: 

(a) Initial $5; 

(b) Annual renewal $1. 

(4) The cost of each License issued to a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet 
Vehicle Emission Inspector is: 

(a) Initial $5; 

(b) Annual renewal $1. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75756
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(5) The cost of each License issued for a Gas Analytical System is: 

(a) Initial $5; 

(b) Annual renewal $1. 

(6) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued on-site to an automobile dealership is 
a maximum of $26 until July 1, 2019, and then $30. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.400 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.400 
History: 
DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 
DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0307 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 2-4-92 
DEQ 20-1981, f. 7-28-81, ef. 8-1-81 

340-256-0330 
Emission Control System Inspection: Department of Defense Personnel Participating 
in the Privately Owned Vehicle Import Control Program 

This rule documents DEQ’s considerations regarding motor vehicle pollution control system 
requirements for Department of Defense personnel participating in the Privately Owned 
Vehicle Import Control Program. 

(1) U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) personnel participating in the DOD Privately 
Owned Vehicle (POV) Import Control Program operating a 1975 or newer model year 
vehicle, are exempt from the prohibition of ORS 815.305 insofar as it pertains tomay 
temporarily remove catalytic converter systems, orand, if applicable, exhaust gas oxygen 
(O2) sensor(s), if one of the following conditions is met: 

(a) The vehicle will be driven to the port and surrendered for export under the above 
program within ten working days of disconnection, deactivation, or inoperability of the 
catalytic converter system or exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s); or 

(b) The reconnection, reactivation, or reoperability of the catalytic converter systems and 
exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s), is madeare reconnected, reactivated or made operable 
within 10 working days from the time the owner picked up the vehicle at the port. 

(2) Persons may disconnecting, deactivateing or rendering inoperable any catalytic converter 
system or exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s) on 1975 or newer model year vehicle of DOD 
personnel participating in the DOD POV Import Control Program which will be driven to 
the port and surrendered for exportation under said program within ten working days are 
exempt from the prohibition of ORS 815.305. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75763
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(3) Unless otherwise exempt under this Division, vehicles must be configured as a vehicle 
certified by the EPA for sale and use within the United States pursuant tounder 40 CFR, part 
86, subpart A. 

(4) Documentation shall must be kept with the vehicle at all times while the vehicle is 
operated in the United States which provides sufficient information to demonstrate 
compliance with all appropriate qualifications and conditions of this exemption, including 
the following: 

(a) The unique vehicle identification number (VIN) of the subject vehicle; 

(b) The agency or organization which that employs the owner of the subject vehicle; 

(c) The country to which the owner of the subject vehicle is being transferringed; 

(d) The date(s) when applicable alterations were performed on the subject vehicle; 

(e) The date when the subject vehicle is scheduled to be delivered to the appropriate port for 
shipment out of the United States; and 

(f) The date when the subject vehicle is picked up from the port of importation upon 
returning to the United States. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.400 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0308 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 

340-256-0340 
Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle and Heavy Duty 
Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test Method for Basic Program 

This rule documents the general requirements and test sequence for the basic light duty 
motor vehicle and heavy duty gasoline motor vehicle emission test method. 

  

(1) General Requirements: 

(a) The vehicle must have a properly affixed and readable VIN.  

(b)DEQ must reject from the testing area Vvehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any 
other such defect that make conducting is unsafe to allow the emission test unsafeto be 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244586
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conducted must be rejected from the testing area. The iInspector may not conduct the 
emissions test until the defects are corrected. 

(cb) The vehicle transmission must be placed in neutral gear if equipped with a manual 
transmission or in park position if equipped with an automatic transmission. The hand or 
parking brake must be engaged. If the brake is defective, then wheel chocks must be placed 
in front of or behind the vehicle's tires, or both when appropriate. 

(cd) All accessories are to be turned off. 

(de) The iInspector must einsure that the motor vehicle is equipped with the required 
functioning motor vehicle pollution control system in accordance with the criteria of OAR 
340-256-0380 or 340-256-0390. For vehicles not meeting this these criteria upon 
completion of the testing process, the iInspector must issue a report to the driver stating all 
reasons for noncomplianceways in which the motor vehicle pollution control system does 
not meet the criteria of OAR 340-0256-0380 and 0390. 

(fe) Exhaust gas sampling algorithm. The analysis of exhaust gas concentrations will begin 
10 seconds after the applicable test mode begins. Exhaust gas concentrations and will be 
analyzed at a rate of two times per second. The measured value for pass or /fail 
determinations will be a simple running average of the measurements taken over five 
seconds. 

(fg) Pass or /fail determinations. A pass or fail determination will be made for each 
applicable test mode based on a comparison of the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-
256-0400 and 340-256-0420 and the measured value for HC and CO and described in 
subsection (1)(a) of this rule. A vehicle will pass the test mode if any pair of simultaneous 
values for HC and CO are below or equal to the applicable standards. A vehicle will fail the 
test mode if the values for either HC or CO, or both, in all simultaneous pairs of values are 
above the applicable standards. 

(gh) Void test conditions. If the measured concentration of CO plus CO2 falls below the 
applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0380 and 340-256-0390, or if the vehicle's 
engine stalls at any time during the test sequence, the test will end, and any exhaust gas 
measurements will be voided. 

(hi) Multiple exhaust pipes. Exhaust gas concentrations from vehicle engines equipped with 
multiple exhaust pipes will be sampled simultaneously. 

(ij) The test will be terminated upon reaching the overall maximum test time. 

(2) Test sequence. 

(a) The test sequence will consist of a first-chance test andidle mode, a high idle 
conditioning mode, and a second chance test idle mode. as follows : 

(a) First-chance idle mode: the engine RPM shall be maintained between 550 and 1300 
during the first chance idle mode. The maximum duration of this test shall be 30 seconds.   
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(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values are less than or equal to 
the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will 
pass, and the test will be terminated. 

(B) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values exceed the applicable 
gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will 
fail, and the test will be terminated. 

(b) High idle conditioning mode: If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the test has not 
been terminated in accordance with (2)(a)(A) or (2)(a)(B) then the engine RPM shall be 
raised and maintained between 2200 and 2800. The maximum duration of the high idle 
conditioning mode test shall be 180 seconds. If, before an elapsed time of 180 seconds, the 
measured values exceed the applicable gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-
0400 and 340-256-0420 the vehicle will fail and the test will be terminated. 

(c) Second-chance idle mode: If the test has not been terminated in accordance with (2)(a) or 
(2)(b) then the engine RPM shall be lowered and maintained between 550 and 1300 during 
the second chance idle mode. The maximum duration of the second-chance idle mode test 
shall be 30 seconds. 

(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, measured values are less than or equal to the 
applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass, 
and the test will be terminated. 

(B) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values exceed the applicable 
gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will 
fail, and the test will be terminated. 

(C) If, after an elapsed time of 30 seconds, measured values exceed the applicable standards 
listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will fail, and the test will be 
terminated. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

(A) The first-chance test, as described in section (3) of this rule, will consist of an idle mode 
followed by a high-speed mode. 

(B) The second-chance high-speed mode, as described in section (3) of this rule, will 
immediately follow the first-chance high-speed mode. It will be performed only if the 
vehicle fails the first-chance test. The second-chance idle mode, as described in section (4) 
of this rule, will follow the second chance high speed mode and be performed only if the 
vehicle fails the idle mode of the first-chance test. 

(b) The test sequence will begin only after the following requirements are met: 

(A) The vehicle will be tested in as-received condition with the transmission in neutral or 
park and all accessories turned off. The engine will be at normal operating temperature (as 
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indicated by a temperature gauge, temperature lamp, touch test on the radiator hose, or other 
visual observation for overheating). 

(B) The tachometer will be attached to the vehicle in accordance with the analyzer 
manufacturer's instructions. 

(C) The sample probe will be inserted into the vehicle's tailpipe to a minimum depth of 10 
inches. If the vehicle's exhaust system prevents insertion to this depth, a tailpipe extension 
will be used. 

(D) The measured concentration of CO plus CO2 will be greater than or equal to the 
applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0380 and 340-256-0390. 

(3) First-chance test and second-chance high-speed mode. The test timer will start (tt=0) 
when the conditions specified in section (2)(b) of this rule are met. The first-chance test and 
second-chance high-speed mode will have an overall maximum test time of 390 seconds 
(tt=390). The first-chance test will consist of an idle mode followed immediately by a high-
speed mode. An additional second-chance high-speed mode will follow immediately, if 
necessary. 

(a) First-chance idle mode. 

(A) Except for diesel vehicles, the mode timer will start (mt=0) when the vehicle engine 
speed is between 550 and 1300 rpm. If engine speed exceeds 1300 rpm or falls below 550 
rpm, the mode timer will reset to zero and resume timing. The minimum idle mode length 
will be determined as described in section (3)(a)(B) of this rule. The maximum idle mode 
length will be 30 seconds (mt=30) elapsed time. 

(B) The pass/fail analysis will begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10). A pass or 
fail determination will be made for the vehicle, and the mode will be terminated as follows: 

(i) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), measured values are less than or equal 
to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will 
pass the idle mode, and the mode will be terminated. 

(ii) The vehicle will fail the idle mode and the mode will be terminated if the provisions of 
section (3)(a)(B)(i) of this rule are not satisfied within an elapsed time of 30 seconds 
(mt=30). 

(iii) The vehicle may fail the first-chance and second-chance test will be omitted if no 
exhaust gas concentration less than 1800 ppm HC is found by an elapsed time of 30 seconds 
(mt=30). 

(b) First-chance and second-chance high-speed modes. This mode includes both the first-
chance and second-chance high-speed modes and follows immediately upon termination of 
the first-chance idle mode. 
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(A) Except for diesel vehicles, the mode timer will reset (mt=0) when the vehicle engine 
speed is between 2200 and 2800 rpm. If engine speed falls below 2200 rpm or exceeds 2800 
rpm for more than two seconds in one excursion or more than six seconds over all 
excursions within 30 seconds of the final measured value used in the pass/fail determination, 
the measured value will be invalidated and the mode continued. If any excursion lasts for 
more than ten seconds, the mode timer will reset to zero (mt=0) and timing resumed. The 
minimum high-speed mode length will be determined as described under paragraphs 
(3)(b)(B) and (C) of this rule. The maximum high-speed mode length will be 180 seconds 
(mt=180) elapsed time. 

 (B) Ford Motor Company and Honda vehicles. For 1981-1987 model year Ford Motor 
Company vehicles and 1984-1985 model year Honda Preludes, the pass/fail analysis will 
begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10) using the following procedure. 

(i) A pass or fail determination, as described below, will be used, for vehicles that passed 
the idle mode, to determine whether the high-speed test should be terminated before or at 
the end of an elapsed time of 180 seconds (mt=180). 

(I) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), the measured values are less than or 
equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the 
vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated. 

(II) Restart. If at an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) the measured values are greater 
than the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle's 
engine will be shut off for not more than 10 seconds after returning to idle and then will be 
restarted. The probe may be removed from the tailpipe or the sample pump turned off if 
necessary to reduce analyzer fouling during the restart procedure. The mode timer will stop 
upon engine shut off (mt=30) and resume upon engine restart. The pass/fail determination 
will resume as follows after 40 seconds have elapsed (mt=40). 

(III) If, at any point between an elapsed time of 40 seconds (mt=40) and 60 seconds 
(mt=60), the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in 
OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the 
test will be terminated. 

(IV) If, at a point between an elapsed time of 60 seconds (mt=60) and 180 seconds 
(mt=180), both HC and CO emissions continue to decrease and measured values are less 
than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 or 340-256-0420, the 
vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated. 

 (V) If neither of sections (3)(b)(B)(i)(I), (III) or (IV) of this rule is satisfied by an elapsed 
time of 180 seconds (mt=180), the vehicle will fail the high-speed mode, and the test will be 
terminated. (ii) A pass or fail determination will be made for vehicles that fail the idle mode 
and the high-speed mode terminated at the end of an elapsed time of 180 seconds (mt=180) 
as follows: 

(V-a) The vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the mode will be terminated at an 
elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), if any measured values of HC and CO exhaust gas 
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concentrations during the high-speed mode are less than or equal to the applicable standards 
listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420. 

(V-b) Restart. If at an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) the measured values of HC and 
CO exhaust gas concentrations during the high-speed mode are greater than the applicable 
short test standards as described in subsection (1)(b) of this rule, the vehicle's engine will be 
shut off for not more than 10 seconds after returning to idle and then will be restarted. The 
probe may be removed from the tailpipe or the sample pump turned off it necessary to 
reduce analyzer fouling during the restart procedure. The mode timer will stop upon engine 
shut off (mt=30) and resume upon engine restart. The pass/fail determination will resume as 
follows after 40 seconds (mt=40) have elapsed. 

(V-c) The vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the mode will be terminated at an 
elapsed time of 60 seconds (mt=60), if any measured values of HC and CO exhaust gas 
concentrations during the high-speed mode are less than or equal to the applicable standards 
listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420. 

(V-d) If, at a point between an elapsed time of 60 seconds (mt=60) and 180 seconds 
(mt=180), both HC and CO emissions continue to decrease, and measured values are less 
than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 or 340-256-0420, the 
vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated. 

(V-e) If neither of sections (3)(b)(B)(ii)(I), (III) or (IV) of this rule is satisfied by an elapsed 
time of 180 seconds (mt=180), the vehicle will fail the high-speed mode, and the test will be 
terminated. 

(C) All other light-duty vehicles. The pass/fail analysis for vehicles not specified in section 
(3)(b)(B) of this rule will begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10) using the 
following procedure. 

(i) A pass or fail determination will be used for 1981 and newer model year vehicles that 
passed the idle mode to determine whether the high-speed mode should be terminated 
before or at the end of an elapsed time of 180 seconds (mt=180). For pre-1981 model year 
vehicles, no high speed idle mode test will be performed. 

(I) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), the measured values are less than or 
equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the 
vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated. 

(II) If emissions continue to decrease after an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and if, at 
any point between an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 180 seconds (mt=180), the 
measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-
0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the test will be 
terminated. 

(III) The vehicle will fail the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated, if neither of 
the provisions of section (3)(b)(C)(i)(I) or (II) of this rule is satisfied. 
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(ii) A pass or fail determination will be made for 1981 and newer model year vehicles that 
failed the idle mode and the high-speed mode terminated before or at the end of an elapsed 
time of 180 seconds (mt=180). For pre-1981 model year vehicles, the duration of the high 
speed idle mode will be 30 seconds, and no pass or fail determination will be used at the 
high speed idle mode. 

(I) The vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the mode will be terminated at an 
elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), if any measured values are less than or equal to the 
applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420. 

(II) If emissions continue to decrease after an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and if, at 
any point between an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 180 seconds (mt=180), the 
measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-
0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the test will be 
terminated. 

(III) If neither of the provisions of section (3)(b)(C)(ii)(I) or (II) of this rule is satisfied, the 
vehicle will fail the high speed mode, and the test will be terminated. 

(4) Second-chance idle mode. If the vehicle fails the first-chance idle mode and passes the 
high-speed mode, the mode timer will reset to zero (mt=0), and a second chance idle mode 
will commence. The second-chance idle mode will have an overall maximum mode time of 
30 seconds (mt=30). The test will consist on an idle mode only. 

(a) The engines of 1981-1987 Ford Motor Company vehicles and 1984-1985 Honda 
Preludes will be shut off for not more than 10 seconds and restarted. The probe may be 
removed from the tailpipe or the sample pump turned off if necessary to reduce analyzer 
fouling during the restart procedure. 

(b) Except for diesel vehicles, the mode timer will start (mt=0) when the vehicle engine 
speed is between 550 and 1300 rpm. If the engine speed exceeds 1300 rpm or falls below 
550 rpm the mode timer will reset to zero and resume timing. The minimum second-chance 
idle mode length will be determined as described in section (4)(c) of this rule. The 
maximum second-chance idle mode length will be 30 seconds (mt=30) elapsed time. 

(c) The pass/fail analysis will begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10). A pass or 
fail determination will be made for the vehicle and the second-chance mode will be 
terminated as follows: 

(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), any measured values are less than or 
equal to 100 ppm HC and 0.5 percent CO, the vehicle will pass the second-chance idle 
mode, and the test will be terminated. 

(B) The vehicle will pass the second-chance idle mode, and the test will be terminated at the 
end of an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) if, before that time, the criteria of paragraph 
(4)(c)(A) of this rule are not satisfied, and the measured values during the time period 
between 25 and 30 seconds (mt=25-30) are less than or equal to the applicable short test 
standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420. 
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(C) If neither of the provisions of sections (4)(c)(A) or (B) of this rule is satisfied by an 
elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), the vehicle will fail the second-chance idle mode, and 
the test will be terminated. 

(5) If the vehicle is capable of being operated with both gasoline and gaseous fuels, then the 
steps in section (2) of this rule are to be followed so that emission test results are obtained 
from both fuels. 

(6) If the inspector suspects that the vehicle is emitting propulsion exhaust noise in excess of 
the noise standards of OAR 340-256-0430, adopted pursuant to ORS 467.030, then a noise 
measurement will be conducted and recorded while the engine is at the speed specified in 
section (3)(b)(A) of this rule. A reading from each exhaust outlet must be recorded at the 
raised engine speed. This provision for noise inspection applies only within the Portland 
Vehicle Inspection Area. 

(7) If the vehicle complies with OAR 340-256-0380 through 340-256-0430, ORS 467.030, 
468A.350 through 468A.400, 803.350, and 815.295 through 815.325, then, following 
receipt of the required fees, the Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, Public 
Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, or Vehicle Emission Inspector must issue the 
required Certificate of Compliance. 

Statutory/Other Authority:  ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 163-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0309 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 

340-256-0350 
Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test 
Method for Enhanced Program 

(1) General Requirements. 

(a) Data Collection. The following information must be determined for the vehicle being 
tested and used to automatically select the dynamometer inertia and power absorption 
settings: 

(A) Vehicle type: LDPC, LDT1 or LDT2; 

(B) Chassis model year; 

(C) Make; 

(D) Model; 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37667
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(E) Gross vehicle weight rating; and 

(F) Number of cylinders, or cubic inch displacement of the engine. 

(b) Ambient Conditions. The ambient temperature, absolute humidity, and barometric 
pressure must be recorded continuously during the transient driving cycle or as a single set 
of readings up to 4 minutes before the start of the transient driving cycle. 

(c) Restart. If shut off, the vehicle must be restarted as soon as possible before the test and 
must be running at least 30 seconds before the transient driving cycle. 

(2) Pre-inspection and Preparation. 

(a) Accessories. The Inspector must ensure that all accessories (air conditioning, heat, 
defogger, radio, automatic traction control if switchable, etc.) will be turned off. 

(b) Leaks. The vehicle must be inspected for exhaust leaks. Vehicles with leaking exhaust 
systems will be rejected from testing. Vehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any other 
such defect that is unsafe to allow the emission test to be conducted will be rejected from 
the testing area. The Inspector is prohibited from conducting the emission test until the 
defects are corrected. 

(c) Operating Temperature. Vehicles in overheated condition will be rejected from testing. 

(d) Tire Condition. Vehicles will be rejected from testing if the tire cords, bubbles, cuts, or 
other damage are visible. Vehicles will be rejected that have space-saver spare tires on the 
drive axle. Vehicles may be rejected that do not have reasonably sized tires. Vehicle tires 
will be visually checked for adequate pressure level. Drive wheel tires that appear low will 
be inflated to approximately 30 psi or to tire sidewall pressure or manufacturers 
recommendations. 

(e) Ambient Background. Background concentrations of hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, 
oxides of nitrogen, and carbon dioxide (HC, CO, NOx, and CO2, respectively) will be 
sampled to determine background concentration of constant volume sampler dilution air. 
The sample will be taken for a minimum of 15 seconds within 120 seconds of the start of the 
transient driving cycle, using the same analyzers used to measure tailpipe emissions. 
Average readings over the 15 seconds for each gas will be recorded in the test record. 
Testing will be prevented until the average ambient background levels are less than 20 ppm 
HC, 35 ppm CO, and 2 ppm NOx. 

(f) Sample System Purge. While a lane is in operation, the CVS will continuously purge the 
CVS hose between tests, and the sample system will be continuously purged when not 
taking measurements. 

(g) Negative Values. Negative gram per second readings will be integrated as zero and 
recorded as such. 

(3) Equipment Positioning and Setting. 
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(a) Roll Rotation. The vehicle will be maneuvered onto the dynamometer with the drive 
wheels positioned on the dynamometer rolls. Before the test begins, the rolls will be rotated 
until the vehicle laterally stabilizes on the dynamometer. Drive wheel tires will be dried if 
necessary to prevent slippage during the initial acceleration. 

(b) Purge Equipment. After the vehicle is positioned on the dynamometer, the vehicle gas 
cap is removed. A replacement cap with a ported hole through the cap is installed on the 
vehicle and the tubing to duct Helium to vehicle is connected to the port on the replacement 
cap. Helium flow into the cap is computer controlled to match the timing of the transient 
driving cycle. The evaporative canister purge will be measured during the transient driving 
cycle by inputting Helium under pressure into the test vehicle's fuel tank. Helium is 
measured in the vehicle exhaust with a detection device and accumulated volume of Helium 
is compared with the standard of 0.45 liters of Helium to determine pass/fail. 

(c) Cooling System. Testing will not begin until the test-cell cooling system is positioned 
and activated. The cooling system will be positioned to direct air to the vehicle cooling 
system, but will not be directed at the catalytic converter. 

(d) Vehicle Restraint. Testing will not begin until the vehicle is restrained and, for front-
wheel drive vehicles, the parking brake is set. 

(e) Dynamometer Settings. Dynamometer power absorption and inertia weight settings will 
be automatically chosen from an EPA supplied electronic look-up table that will be 
referenced based upon the vehicle identification information obtained in section (1)(a) of 
this rule. Vehicles not listed will be tested using default power absorption and inertia 
settings as follows: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(f) Exhaust Collection System. The exhaust collection system will be positioned to ensure 
that the entire exhaust stream from the tailpipe is captured during the transient driving cycle. 

(4) Vehicle Emission Test Sequence. 

(a) Transient Driving Cycle. The Oregon enhanced test cycle consists of a single 31-second 
symmetrical peak with a maximum speed of 30.1 miles per hour (MPH). If the vehicle 
exceeds the emission standards established in OAR 340-256-0410, additional cycles up to a 
maximum of four (4) will be driven. If the vehicle passes the standards during any of the 
four cycles, the test will be terminated. After receiving the required fees, the Inspector will 
issue the required Certificate of Compliance. If after four cycles the vehicle still has not 
passed the test, the vehicle fails. The vehicle will be driven over the following cycle: [Table 
not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(b) Driving Trace. The Inspector will follow an electronic, visual depiction of the 
time/speed relationship of the transient driving cycle (hereinafter, the trace). The visual 
depiction of the trace will be of sufficient magnification and adequate detail to allow 
accurate tracking by the Inspector and will permit the Inspector to anticipate upcoming 
speed changes. The trace will also clearly indicate gear shifts as specified in section (4)(c) of 
this rule. 
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(c) Shift Schedule. For vehicles with manual transmissions, Inspectors will shift gears 
according to the following shift schedule: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] Gear shifts 
will occur at the points in the driving cycle where the specified speeds are obtained. 

(d) Speed Excursion Limits. Speed excursion limits will apply as follows: 

(A) The upper limit is 2 mph higher than the highest point on the trace within 1 second of 
the given time. 

(B) The lower limit is 2 mph lower than the lowest point on the trace within 1 second of the 
given time. 

(C) Speed variations greater than the tolerances (such as may occur during gear changes) are 
acceptable provided they occur for no more than 2 seconds on any occasion. 

(D) Speeds lower than those prescribed during accelerations are acceptable provided the 
vehicle is operated at maximum available power during such accelerations until the vehicle 
speed is within the excursion limits. 

(E) Exceedances of the limits in (A) through (C) of this section will automatically result in a 
void test. The station manager can override the automatically void test if the manager 
determines that the conditions specified in section (4)(d)(D) of this rule occurred. Tests will 
be aborted if the upper excursion limits are exceeded. Tests may be aborted if the lower 
limits are exceeded. 

(e) Speed Variation Limits. 

(A) A linear regression of feedback value on reference value will be performed on each 
transient driving cycle for each speed using the method of least squares, with the best fit 
equation having the form: y = mx + b, where: 

(i) y = The feedback (actual) value of speed; 

(ii) m = The slope of the regression line; 

(iii) x = The reference value; and 

(iv) b = The y-intercept of the regression line. 

(B) The standard error of estimate (SE) of y on x will be calculated for each regression line. 
A transient driving cycle lasting the full 31 seconds that exceeds the following criteria will 
be void and the test will be repeated: 

(i) SE = 2.0 mph maximum. 

(ii) m = 0.96–1.01. 

(iii) r2 = 0.97 minimum. 
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(iv) b = ±2.0 mph. 

(f) Distance Criteria. The actual distance traveled for the transient driving cycle and the 
equivalent vehicle speed (i.e., roll speed) will be measured. If the absolute difference 
between the measured distance and the theoretical distance for the actual test exceeds 0.05 
miles, the test will be void. 

(g) Vehicle Stalls. Vehicle stalls during the test will result in a void and a new test. Three (3) 
stalls will result in test failure or rejection from testing. 

(h) Dynamometer Controller Check. For each test, the measured horsepower, and inertia if 
electric simulation is used, will be integrated from 55 seconds to 81 seconds (divided by 26 
seconds), and compared with the theoretical road-load horsepower (for the vehicle selected) 
integrated over the same portion of the cycle. The same procedure will be used to integrate 
the horsepower between 189 seconds to 201 seconds (divided by 12 seconds). The 
theoretical horsepower will be calculated based on the observed speed during the integration 
interval. If the absolute difference between the theoretical horsepower and the measured 
horsepower exceeds 0.5 hp, the test will be void. Alternate error checking methods may be 
used if shown to be equivalent. 

(i) Inertia Weight Selection. Operation of the inertia weight selected for the vehicle will be 
verified as specified in OAR 340-256-0460. For systems employing electrical inertia 
simulation, an algorithm identifying the actual inertia force applied during the transient 
driving cycle will be used to determine proper inertia simulation. For all dynamometers, if 
the observed inertia is more than 1% different from the required inertia, the test will be void. 

(j) Constant Volume Sampling (CVS) Operation. The CVS operation will be verified for 
each test for a Critical Flow Venturi (CFV) type CVS by measuring either the absolute 
pressure difference across the venturi or measuring the blower vacuum behind the venturi 
for minimum levels needed to maintain choke flow for the venturi design. The operation of 
an Subsonic Venturi (SSV) type CVS will be verified throughout the test by monitoring the 
difference in pressure between upstream and throat pressure. The minimum values will be 
determined from system calibrations. Monitored pressure differences below the minimum 
values will void the test. 

(k) Fuel Economy. For each test, the health of the overall analysis system will be evaluated 
by checking a test vehicle's fuel economy for reasonableness, relative to upper and lower 
limits, representing the range of fuel economy values normally encountered for the test 
inertia and horsepower selected. For each inertia selection, the upper fuel economy limit 
will be determined using the lowest horsepower setting typically selected for the inertia 
weight, along with statistical data, test experience, and engineering judgment. A similar 
process for the lower fuel economy limit will be used with the highest horsepower setting 
typically selected for the inertia weight. For test inertia selections where the range of 
horsepower settings is greater than 5 horsepower, at least two sets of upper and lower fuel 
economy limits will be determined and appropriately used for the selected test inertia. Tests 
with fuel economy results in excess of 1.5 times the upper limit will result in a void test. 
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(5) Emission Measurements. The emission analysis system will sample and record dilute 
exhaust HC, CO, CO2, and NOx during the transient driving cycle. 

(6) If it is determined that the vehicle complies with OAR 340-256-0400 and ORS 815.310 
through 815.325, then, after receiving the required fees, the Private Business Fleet Vehicle 
Emission Inspector, Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, or Vehicle Emission 
Inspector must issue the required Certificate of Compliance. 

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.363 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 164-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0312 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 

340-256-0355 
Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for OBD Test 
Program 

This rule documents the general requirements and test sequence for the light or heavy-duty 
vehicle OBD test method. The OBD test must be performed in accordance with the Vehicle 
Inspection Program Inspection and Maintenance Policies and Procedure Number 225.00, 
which includes downloading computerized vehicle OBD information, observing trouble 
codes, and observing the malfunction indicator lights located on vehicle dashboards. 

 

(1) General Requirements: 

(a) DEQ must reject from the testing area vehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any 
other such defect that make conducting the emission test unsafe. The inspector may not 
conduct the emissions test until the defects are corrected. 

(b) Light duty gasoline vehicles must be 1996 and newer model years. 

(c) Light duty diesel vehicles must be 1997 and newer model years. 

(d) Heavy duty gasoline vehicles must be 2013 and newer model years and equipped with 
an OBD-II compliant or newer OBD system. 

(e) The vehicle must have a properly affixed and readable VIN. 

(f) The vehicle’s OBD system must match the original manufacturer’s information and must 
communicate with DEQ’s OBD analytical equipment.  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75773
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(A) All 2005 and subsequent model year light duty vehicles must have the VIN included in 
the vehicle OBD information.   

(B) All 2013 and subsequent model year heavy-duty vehicles must have the VIN included in 
the vehicle OBD information. 

(g) If an Original Equipment Manufacturer LPG powered vehicle, model year 1996 through 
2004, has a DEQ-recognized OBD manufacture defect, DEQ will follow the idle emission 
testing criteria of OAR 340-256-0340, OAR 340-256-0380, OAR 340-256-0390, OAR 340-
256-0400 and OAR 340-256-0420. 

(2) Test criteria: 

(a) Gasoline powered motor vehicles from model years 1996 to 2000 are allowed two 
unready monitors; 2001 and newer vehicles are allowed one unready monitor. 

(b) Diesel powered motor vehicles from 1997 to 2008 are not allowed any unready 
monitors; 2009 and newer model year diesel powered motor vehicles are allowed one 
unready monitor. 

(c) A vehicle which previously failed with either a catalyst or evaporative Diagnostic 
Trouble Code must have their respective monitor in a ready status to pass a subsequent 
retest. The vehicle will be allowed one or two unready monitors depending on the model 
year, but an unready catalyst or evaporative monitor cannot be one of them.  

(d) Vehicle OBD systems deviating from manufacturer’s design or intended operation will 
fail for:  

(A) Malfunctions of the OBD systems triggering the Malfunction Indicator Light 
commanded on.  

(B) A missing, broken or inaccessible Data Link Connector port. 

(C) Low or missing vehicle battery voltage from the Data Link Connector port. 

(D) Vehicle OBD data that does not match original manufacturer’s OBD data. 

(E) The OBD system VIN does not match the vehicle VIN labeling unless recognized by 
DEQ as a known unresolvable manufacture defect. 

(F) The OBD system fails to properly communicate. 

(e) When light duty 1996 – 1998 vehicles that DEQ knows have manufacture readiness 
issues have three or more unready monitors and do not fail OBD systems criteria in section 
(2)(d)(A-F), DEQ will test those vehicles with a basic test following OAR 340-256-0340. 

(3) The Director or the Director’s delegate may grant a waiver from one or more of the 
requirements or criteria listed in sections (1) and (2) for vehicle classes that DEQ determines 
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present prohibitive inspection problems meeting the requirements or criteria of sections (1) 
and (2) if DEQ deems the motor vehicle pollution control system otherwise meets the 
standards of this Division.  

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 
History: 
DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 

340-256-0356 
Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for On-Site 
Vehicle Testing for Automobile Dealerships 

This rule documents the on-site motor vehicle emissions test method for automobile 
dealerships. The on-site vehicle test will be performed in accordance with OAR 340-256-
0355. the Vehicle Inspection Program Inspection and Maintenance Policies and Procedure 
Number 226.00. The test will be performed by DEQ using DEQ testing equipment and 
conducted at the dealership location. The test program applies to manufacturer franchise 
automobile dealerships only, as defined in ORS 650.120(1).  Dealerships may use either on-
site testing or the centralized DEQ test stations, or DEQ authorized OBD devices. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380(1)(c) 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 
History: 
DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 

340-256-0357 
Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for Clean-
Screening Testing Program 

This rule documents the Clean-Screening test method. 

(1) The DepartmentDEQ may evaluate emissions of vehicles on the roadway using an 
optical attenuation method of observing actual pollutant emissions, remotely received 
electronic broadcasts of the vehicles’ emissions diagnostic data, or other means approved 
under section (5) of this rule. 

(2) A vehicle that meets the DepartmentDEQ’s emissions standards for on-road testing 
within a time period not to exceed one year from its required registration date will be issued 
a Ccertificate of Ccompliance without being required to pass the emissions inspection 
station test otherwise required. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75774
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75775
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(3) Before implementing Clean-Screening Testing under this rule, the DepartmentDEQ must 
establish specific testing processes, in the Department’s policies, and procedures documents, 
including: 

(a) The test technique to be used for On-Road Clean-Screening Testing; 

(b) The valid test period of On-Road Clean-Screening Testing; 

(c) Procedures for identifying an on-road vehicle; 

(d) Procedures for protecting the test process from vandalism and cheating; and 

(e) Testing standards for Clean-Screening testing. 

(4) If the DepartmentDEQ uses the optical attenuation method for Clean-Screening Testing, 
1975 and newer model year vehicles are eligible for Clean-Screening testing. If the 
DepartmentDEQ uses broadcast data from vehicles’ emissions diagnosticODB systems for 
Clean-Screening Testing, 1996 and newer model year vehicles are eligible for Clean-
Screening Testing. 

(5) The DepartmentIf DEQ  may develops and implements additional test methods for use in 
the Clean-Screening Testing program, . Before implementing such test methods, the 
DepartmentDEQ must develop documentation that such method will provide equal or 
greater accuracy in identifying vehicles that would pass or fail the otherwise required 
emission test. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.380(1)(c) 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.420 
History: 
DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 

340-256-0358 
Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for Self-Service 
Testing Program 

This rule documents the Self-Service test method. 

(1) The DepartmentDEQ may provide a testing method whereby the vehicle owner or his or 
hertheir representative will perform the emissions test. The test performed will be either a 
remote sensing optical quantification of the tailpipe pollutants, a remote or computer 
connected OBD test, or other means approved under section (4) of this rule. 

(2) Before implementing Self-Service Testing under this rule, the DepartmentDEQ must 
establish specific Self-Service Testing processes in the DepartmentDEQ’s policies and 
procedures documents, including: 

(a) The test techniques to be used for Self-Service Testing; 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75776
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(b) Procedures for identifying the Self-Service Test vehicle that will be subjected to Self-
Service testing; 

(c) Procedures for protecting the Self-Service test process from vandalism and cheating; and 

(d) Testing standards for the Self-Service technique that will be used. 

(3) If the DepartmentDEQ uses the optical attenuation method for Self-Service Testing, 
1975 and newer model year vehicles are eligible for Self-Service Testing. If the 
DepartmentDEQ uses broadcast data or hardwire cable connection from vehicles’ emissions 
diagnosticOBD systems for Self-Service Testing, 1996 and newer model year vehicles are 
eligible for Self-Service Testing. 

(4) The DepartmentIf DEQ  may develops and implements additional test methods for use in 
the Self-Service Testing program, . Before implementing such test methods, the 
DepartmentDEQ must develop documentation that such method will provide equal or 
greater accuracy in identifying vehicles that would pass or fail the otherwise required 
emission test. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.380(1)(c) 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.420 
History: 
DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 

340-256-0360 
Emission Control System Inspection: Motorcycle Noise Emission Control Test Method 

(1) The vehicle is to be in neutral gear with the brake engaged. If the vehicle has no neutral 
gear, the rear wheel shall be at least two inches clear of the ground. 

(2) The engine is to be accelerated to a speed equal to 45 percent of the red line speed. 
Redline speed is the lowest numerical engine speed included in the red zone on the 
motorcycle tachometer. If the redline speed is not available, the engine shall be accelerated 
to 50 percent of the speed at which the engine develops maximum rated net horsepower. 

(3) If it is judged that the vehicle may be emitting propulsion exhaust noise in excess of the 
noise standards of OAR 340-256-0430, adopted pursuant to ORS 467.030, then a noise 
measurement is to be conducted and recorded while the engine is at the speed specified in 
section (2) of this rule. A reading from each exhaust outlet shall be recorded at the raised 
engine speed. 

(4) If it is determined that the vehicle complies with OAR 340-256-0430, then, following 
receipt of the required fees, the Vehicle Emission Inspector shall issue the required 
Certificates of Compliance. 

(5) No Certificate of Compliance shall be issued unless the vehicle complies with all 
requirements of OAR 340-256-0300 through 340-256-0450 and those applicable provisions 
of ORS 467.030, 468A.350 to 468A.400, 803.350, and 815.295 to 815.325. 
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Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 467.030 
History: 
DEQ 165-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0314 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96, Renumbered from 340-024-0311 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 17-1985, f. & ef. 12-3-85 
DEQ 7-1985(Temp), f. 6-16-85, ef. 7-1-85 
DEQ 24-1984, f. 11-19-84, ef. 7-1-85 

340-256-0370 
Emission Control System Inspection: Renewal of Registration for Light Duty Motor 
Vehicles and Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicles Temporarily Operating Outside of 
Oregon 

Vehicles registered in the boundaries described in OAR 340-204-0080Portland Vehicle 
Inspection Area and Medford-Ashland AQMA that are being and operated in another state 
and are at an address located at least 150 miles outside the Oregon border shall must comply 
with the following requirements:. 

(1) For vehicles operated within another Environmental Protection Agency approved 
Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) program area, the Department of Environmental 
QualityDEQ shall establish reciprocity provisions to ensure motor vehicle compliance with 
the other state’s I/M requirements. Compliance with the other state’s I/M program 
requirements is equivalent to the issuance of a Certificate of Compliance. 

(2) For vehicles operated in another state, but not within another Environmental Protection 
Agency approved Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) area, the Department of Environmental 
QualityDEQ shall issue a temporary exemption from Oregon I/M Program testing 
requirements until such time as the vehicle returns to Oregon. Within 30 calendar days of 
the date the vehicle returns to Oregon it shall be required tomust comply with the Oregon 
I/M Pprogram’s test criteria, methods and standards. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0318 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 

340-256-0380 
Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test 
Criteria for Basic Program 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75783
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244599
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This rule documents the Basic Test criteria for light duty motor vehicles. 

(1) No A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the vehicle exhaust system leaks in 
such a manner as to dilute the exhaust gas being sampled by the gas analytical system. For 
the purpose of the emission control tests conducted at state facilities, except for diesel motor 
vehicles, tests are invalid if the exhaust gas is diluted to such an extent that the sum of the 
carbon monoxideCO and carbon dioxideCO2 concentrations recorded for the idle speed 
reading from an exhaust outlet is six percent or less, and, on 1975 and newer model year 
vehicles with air injection systems, seven percent or less. 

(2) No A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the engine idle speed exceeds the 
manufacturer's idle speed specifications by over 200 RPM. 

(3)(a) No A vehicle emission control test for a 1975 or newer model year vehicle is not valid 
if the gas cap or catalyst has been disconnected, plugged, or otherwise made inoperative in 
violation of ORS 815.305(1), except as noted in ORS 815.305(2) or as provided for by 40 
CFR 85.1701–1709 (published July 1, 2003). 

(b) The DepartmentDEQ may provide alternative criteria for those required under 
subsection (a) of this section if it determines that the component or an acceptable alternative 
is unavailable. Such alternative criteria may be granted on the basis of the non-availability 
of the original part, replacement part, or comparable alternative solution. 

(c) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part (including a rebuilt part) as a 
replacement part is not a violation of ORS 815.305 if a reasonable basis exists for 
knowingDEQ determines that such use will not adversely affect emission control efficiency. 
The Department will maintain a list of those parts that have been determined to adversely 
affect emission control efficiency; 

(d) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part or system as an add-on, auxiliary, 
augmenting, or secondary part of system, is not a violation of ORS 815.305 if such part or 
system has an Executive Order is on the list of "Modifications to Motor Vehicle Emission 
Control Systems Exempted Under California Vehicle Code Section 27156" granted by the 
California Air Resources Board, is on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s list of 
"Certified to EPA Standards," andor the DepartmentDEQ has determined after reviewing 
testing data that there is no decrease in the efficiency or effectiveness in the control of air 
pollution; 

(e) Adjustments or alterations of particular part or system parameter, if done for purposes of 
maintenance or repair according to the vehicle or engine manufacturer's instructions, are not 
violations of ORS 815.305. 

(4) A 1981 or newer model year vehicle that has been converted to operate on gaseous fuels 
is not in violation of ORS 815.305 when elements of the factory-installed motor vehicle air 
pollution control system are disconnected for the purpose of conversion to gaseous fuel as 
authorized by ORS 815.305. 
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(5) For a 1975 through 1980 model year vehicle in which the original engine has been 
replaced, if either the vehicle body or chassis original engine (per registration or title) or 
replacement engine (as manufactured) had a catalytic converter system, it must be present, 
intact, and operational before DEQ may issue a Certificate of Compliance may be issued. 

(6) For a 1981 or newer model year vehicle in which the original engine has been replaced, 
the emission test standards and applicable emissions control equipment for the year, make, 
and model of the vehicle body or chassis (per registration or title) or replacement engine, 
whichever is newer, apply. For those diesel powered vehicles that have been converted to 
operate on gasoline or gasoline equivalent fuel(s), the emission test standards and applicable 
emission control equipment for the year, make, and model of the gasoline equivalent 
powered engine as originally manufactured, for the vehicle body or chassis (per the 
registration) or replacement engine, whichever is newer, apply. 

(7) For those vehicles registered or titled as a 1981 or newer model year that were 
assembled by other than a licensed motor vehicle manufacturer, such as an Assembled, 
Reconstructed, or Replica Vehicle, Department DEQ personnel must determine the 
applicable emission test standards based upon the vintage of the vehicle engine. The year of 
the engine is presumed to be that stated by the vehicle owner, unless Department DEQ 
personnel determine, after physical inspection, that the year of the engine is other than that 
stated by the owner. 

(8) An imported nonconforming motor vehicle that has been imported under a certificate of 
conformity or modification/test procedure pursuant tounder 40 CFR Part 85, Subpart P, or 
has been granted an exemption under 40 CFR § 85.1511, must comply with the emission 
control equipment requirements of such certificate or procedure. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 166-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0320 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 21-1988, f. & cert. ef. 9-12-88 
DEQ 12-1985, f. & ef. 9-30-85 
DEQ 6-1985, f. & ef. 5-1-85 
DEQ 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-31-83 
DEQ 12-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82 
DEQ 18-1980, f. & ef. 6-25-80 
DEQ 6-1980, f. & ef. 1-29-80 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37672
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DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 
DEQ 139, f. 6-30-77, ef. 7-1-77 
DEQ 121, f. & ef. 9-3-76 
DEQ 116(Temp), f. & ef. 7-27-76 
DEQ 89, f. 4-22-75, ef. 5-25-75 

340-256-0390 
Emission Control System Inspection: Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission 
Control Test Criteria 

This rule documents the heavy duty gasoline motor vehicle emission test criteria. 

(1) No A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the vehicle exhaust system leaks in 
such a manner as to dilute the exhaust gasemissions being sampled by the gas analytical 
system. For the purpose of emission control tests conducted at state facilities, tests will not 
be considered valid if the exhaust gas emissions areis diluted to such an extent that the sum 
of the carbon monoxideCO and carbon dioxideCO2 concentrations recorded for the idle 
speed reading from an exhaust outlet is six percent or less. 

(2) No A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the engine idle speed exceeds 1300 
RPM. 

(3)(a) No A vehicle emission control test for a 1981 or newer model vehicle is not valid if 
the gas cap or catalyst has been disconnected, plugged, or otherwise made inoperative in 
violation of ORS 815.305(1), except as noted in 815.305(2). 

(b) The DepartmentDEQ may provide alternative criteria for those required under 
subsection (a) of this section if it determines that the component or an acceptable alternative 
is unavailable. Such alternative criteria may be granted on the basis of the non-availability 
of the original part, replacement part, or comparable need for an alternative solution. 

(c) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part (including a rebuilt part) as a 
replacement part is not a violation of ORS 815.305, if a reasonable basis exists for 
knowingDEQ determines that such use will not adversely affect emission control efficiency. 
The Department will maintain a list of those parts that have been determined to adversely 
affect emission control efficiency; 

 (d) The use of a nonoriginal equipment aftermarket part or system as an add-on, auxiliary, 
augmenting, or secondary part or system is not a violation of ORS 815.305, if such part or 
system is listed on the Department’s exemption list; 

(de) Adjustments or alterations of a particular part or system parameter, if done for purposes 
of maintenance or repair according to the vehicle or engine manufacturer's instructions, are 
not violations of ORS 815.305. 

(4) A 1981 or newer model motor vehicle that has been converted to operate on gaseous 
fuels is in violation of ORS 815.305 if elements of the factory-installed motor vehicle air 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244602
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pollution control system are disconnected for the purpose of conversion to gaseous fuel as 
authorized by 815.305. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 167-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0325 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 21-1988, f. & cert. ef. 9-12-88 
DEQ 12-1985, f. & ef. 9-30-85 
DEQ 6-1985, f. & ef. 5-1-85 
DEQ 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-31-83 
DEQ 12-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82 
DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
DEQ 136, f. 6-10-77, ef. 7-1-77 

340-256-0400 
Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control 
Standards for Basic Program 

This rule documents the standards not to be exceeded for light duty motor vehicles that 
undergo the Basic emission test. 

(1) Light Duty Diesel Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: All — 1.5% CO; there is 
no — No HC Checkstandard. 

(2) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: Two-Stroke Cycle: All 
— 7.0% CO — No HC Check. 

(23) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: Four-Stroke Cycle — 
Passenger Cars: 

(a) 1975–1980 Model Year: 

(A) With Catalyst: All 1.0% CO and— 220 ppm HC; 

(B) Without Catalyst: All 2.5% CO and— 300 ppm HC. 

(b) 1981 and Newer Model Year: All:  

(A) aAt idle — 1.0% CO — and 220 ppm HC; 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37673
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244606
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(B) At 2,500 RPM — 1.0% CO — 220 ppm HC. 

(43) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards — Light Duty Trucks: 

(a) 6,000 GVWR or less: 

(A) 1975–1980 Model Year: 

(i) With Catalyst: All — 1.0% CO and— 220 ppm HC; 

(ii) Without Catalyst: All — 2.5% CO and— 300 ppm HC. 

(B) 1981 and Newer Model Year: All: 

(i) aAt idle — 1.0% CO and— 220 ppm HC; 

(ii) At 2,500 rpm — 1.0% CO — 220 ppm HC. 

(b) 6,001 to 8,500 GVWR: 

(A) 1975–1978 Model Year: All — 2.5% CO and— 300 ppm HC; 

(B) 1979–1980 Model Year: 

(i) With Catalyst: All — 1.0% CO and— 220 ppm HC; 

(ii) Without Catalyst: All — 2.5% CO and— 300 ppm HC. 

(C) 1981 and Newer: All: 

(i) aAt idle — 1.0% CO — and 220 ppm HC; 

(4) Gross CO emissions exceed the applicable model year CO standard by a factor of one 
and one-half (1.5). 

(5) Gross HC emissions exceed the applicable model year HC standard by a factor of three 
(3). 

(ii) At 2,500 rpm — 1.0% CO — 220 ppm HC. 

(56) There shall be no visible Visible emissions must not occur during the steady-state 
unloaded and raised rpm engine idle portions of the a gasoline engine emission test from 
either the vehicle’s exhaust system or the engine crankcase. In the case of For a diesel 
engine emissions test,s and two-stroke cycle engines, the allowable visible emissions shall 
be no greater thanmust not exceed 20% opacity. 

(76) The Director or Director’s delegate may establish specific separategrant a waiver from 
standards, differing from those  listed in sections (1)–(56) of this rule for vehicle classes 
which that DEQ determines are determined to present prohibitive inspection problems 
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meeting using the listed  standards in sections (1) – (6) if DEQ deems the motor vehicle 
pollution system otherwise meets the standards of this Division. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 168-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0330 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 21-1988, f. & cert. ef. 9-12-88 
DEQ 18-1986, f. 9-18-86, ef. 10-1-86 
DEQ 20-1981, f. 7-28-81, ef. 8-1-81 
DEQ 15-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 5-6-81 
DEQ 18-1980, f. & ef. 6-25-80 
DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 
DEQ 139, f. 6-30-77, ef. 7-1-77 
DEQ 121, f. & ef. 9-3-76 
DEQ 116(Temp), f. & ef. 7-27-76 
DEQ 89, f. 4-22-75, ef. 5-25-75 

340-256-0410 
Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control 
Standards for Enhanced Program 

(1) Grams Per Mile (GPM) for Light Duty Passenger Cars (LDPC): 

(a) Model Year — 1996 and Newer: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 0.9; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 20; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 2.25. 

(b) Model Year — 1983–1995: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 30; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 3.00. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37674
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(c) Model Year — 1981–1982: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 60; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 3.00. 

(2) Grams Per Mile (GPM) for Light Duty Truck 1 (LDT1) 6,000 GVWR or Less: 

(a) Model Year — 1996 and Newer 3750 Loaded Vehicle Weight or Less: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 0.9; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 20; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 2.25. 

(b) Model Year — 1996 and Newer 3751 Loaded Vehicle Weight or More: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 26; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 2.70. 

(c) Model Year — 1988–1995: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 2.4; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 80; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 3.75. 

(d) Model Year — 1984–1987: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 2.4; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 80; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 6.75. 

(e) Model Year — 1981–1983: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 5.1; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 140; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 6.75. 
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(3) Grams Per Mile (GPM) for Light Duty Truck 2 (LDT2) 6,001 to 8500 GVWR: 

(a) Model Year — 1996 and Newer 5750 Loaded Vehicle Weight or Less: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 26; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 2.70. 

(b) Model Year — 1996 and Newer 5751 Loaded Vehicle Weight or More: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 30; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 3.00. 

(c) Model Year — 1988–1995: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 2.4; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 80; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 5.25. 

(d) Model Year — 1984–1987: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 2.4; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 80; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 6.75. 

(e) Model Year — 1981–1983: 

(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 5.1; 

(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 140; 

(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 6.75. 

(4) The Director may establish specific separate standards, differing from those listed in 
sections (1)–(3) of this rule for vehicle classes which are determined to present prohibitive 
inspection problems using the listed standards. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.363 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
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DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0332 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 

340-256-0420 
Emission Control System Inspection: Heavy-Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission 
Control Standards 

This rule documents the standards not to be exceeded for heavy duty gasoline vehicle 
emission tests. 

(1) Carbon monoxideCO idle emission values not to be exceeded: 

(a) 1975–1978 Model Year: 4.0%; 

(b) 1979 and Newer Model Year without catalyst: 3.0%; 

(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 1.0%. 

(2) Gross CO emissions exceed the applicable model year CO standard by a factor of one 
and one-half (1.5). 

(2) Carbon Monoxide nominal 2,500 rpm emission values not to be exceeded: 

(a) 1975 and Newer Model Year without catalyst with carburetor: 3.0%; 

(b) 1975 and Newer Model Year without catalyst with fuel injection: No Check; 

(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 1.0%. 

(3) Hydrocarbon idle emission values not to be exceeded: 

(a) 1975–1978 Model Year: 500 PPM; 

(b) 1979 and Newer Model Year without catalyst: 350 PPM; 

(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 220 PPM. 

(4) Gross HC emissions exceed the applicable model year HC standard by a factor of three 
(3). 

(4) Hydrocarbon nominal 2,500 rpm emission values not be exceeded: 1985 and Newer 
Model Year with catalyst: 220 PPM. 

(5) There shall be no vVisible emission must not occur during the steady-state unloaded 
engine idle and raised rpm portion of the emission test from either the vehicle’s exhaust 
system or the engine crankcase. 

(6) The Director may establish specific separategrant a waiver from standards, differing 
from those listed in sections (1)–(4) of this rule for vehicle classes which arethat DEQ 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75834
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determinesd to present prohibitive inspection problems using meeting the listed standards in 
sections (1) – (4) if DEQ deems the motor vehicle pollution system otherwise meets the 
standards of this Division. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0335 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 18-1986, f. 9-18-86, ef. 10-1-86 
DEQ 20-1981, f. 7-28-81, ef. 8-1-81 
DEQ 15-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 5-6-81 
DEQ 18-1980, f. & ef. 6-25-80 
DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 
DEQ 136, f. 6-10-77, ef. 7-1-77 

340-256-0430 
Emission Control System Inspection: Motor Vehicle Propulsion Exhaust Noise 
Standards 

(1) Light duty motor vehicle propulsion exhaust noise levels not to be exceeded as measured 
at no less than 20 inches from any opening to the atmosphere downstream from the exhaust 
ports of the motor vehicle engine: Vehicle — Type Maximum Allowable Noise Level: 

(a) All front-engine vehicles — 93 dBA; 

(b) All rear- and midengine vehicles — 95 dBA. 

(2) Motorcycle propulsion exhaust noise levels not to be exceeded as measured at no less 
than 20 inches from any opening to the atmosphere downstream from the exhaust ports of 
the motorcycle engine: Model Year — Maximum Allowable Noise Level: 

(a) Pre-1976 — 102 dBA; 

(b) 1976 and newer — 99 dBA. 

(3) The Director may establish specific separate standards, differing from those listed in 
sections (1) and (2) of this rule, for vehicle classes which are determined to present 
prohibitive inspection problems using the listed standard. 
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Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 467.030 
History: 
DEQ 169-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0337 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 6-1985, f. & ef. 5-1-85 
DEQ 24-1984, f. 11-19-84, ef. 7-1-85 
DEQ 23-1984, f. 11-19-84, ef. 4-1-85 

340-256-0440 
Emission Control System Inspection: Criteria for Qualifications of Persons Eligible to 
Inspect Motor Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Pollution Control Systems and Execute 
Certificates 

(1) Five separate classes of licenses are established as follows: 

(a) Private Business Fleet; 

(b) Public Agency Fleet; 

(c) Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; 

(d) Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; 

(e) Vehicle Emission Inspector. 

(2) License Aapplicantstion for a license must be completed on a form that DEQ providesd 
by the Department. 

(3)(a) Each fleet’s license is valid for not more than a one-year period and expires on 
December 31 of each year unless revoked, suspended, or returned to the DepartmentDEQ; 

(b) Each Inspector’s license is valid for not more than a two-years period and expires on 
December 31 of every other year unless revoked, suspended, or returned to the 
DepartmentDEQ. 

(4) The DepartmentDEQ will not issue any license until the applicant has fulfilled all 
requirements and paid the required fee. 

(5) No A license is not transferable. 

(6) Each DEQ may renew a license if the applicant submits an application and renewal fee 
may be renewed upon application and receipt of renewal fee if the application for renewal is 
made within the 30 -days period prior to before the license’s expiration date and the 
applicant complies with all other licensing requirements. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244616
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(7) A license DEQ may be suspended, revoked, or not renewed a license if the licensee has 
violated this Division, or  ORS 468A.350 to 468A.400, or 815.295 to 815.325. 

(8) A Private Business Vehicle Emission Inspector or Public Agency Fleet Vehicle 
Emission Inspector license is valid only for inspection of and execution of Certificates of 
Compliance for motor vehicle pollution control systems and motor vehicles of the Private 
Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet that employs the Private Business Fleet Vehicle 
Emission Inspector or Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector on a full time basis. 
The DepartmentDEQ may authorize a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector to 
perform inspections and execute Certificates of Compliance for vehicles of other 
governmental agencies if the inspector has contracted with that agency for that service and 
the Director approves the contract. 

(9) To initially receive or renew a license as a Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission 
Inspector, a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector or a Vehicle Emission 
Inspector, the applicant must be an employee of a Private Business Fleet, a Public Agency 
Fleet, the DEQ Vehicle Inspection Program of the Department, or an employee of an 
Independent Contractor and submit a completed application. All Inspectors must receive 
formal training and be licensed or certified to perform inspections pursuant tounder this 
Division. The duration of the training program for persons employed by a Private Business 
Fleet or a Public Agency Fleet must be at least 16 hours. 

(a) Training. 

(A) Inspector training must include the following subjects: 

(i) The air pollution problems, its causes and effects; 

(ii) The purpose, function and goal of the inspection program; 

(iii) Inspection regulations and procedures; 

(iv) Technical details of the test procedure and the rationale for their design; 

(v) Test equipment operation, calibration and maintenance; 

(vi) Emission control device function, configuration and inspection; 

(vii) Quality control procedures and their purpose; 

(viii) Public relations; 

(ix) Safety and health issues related to the inspection process; and 

(x) OBD test systems. 

(B) In order to complete the training requirement, a trainee must pass (minimum of 80% 
correct responses) a written test covering all aspects of the training. In addition, a hands-on 
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test must be administered in which the trainee demonstrates without assistance the ability to 
conduct a proper inspection, to properly utilize equipment and to follow other procedures. 
Inability to properly conduct all test procedures shall constitute failure of the test. The 
DepartmentDEQ will take appropriate steps to insure the security and integrity of the testing 
process. 

(b) Licensing and certification. 

(A) All InspectorsDEQ must be either licensed or certifyied by the Department in order toall 
inspectors before they may perform official inspections. 

(B) Completion of Inspector training and passing required tests is a condition of licensing or 
certification. 

(C) Inspector licenses and certificates are valid for no more than 2 years, at which point 
refresher training and testing are required before renewal. Alternative approaches based on 
more comprehensive skill examination and determination of Inspector competency may be 
used. 

(D) Licenses and certificates are not a legal right, but rather, are a privilege bestowed by the 
Department and conditional upon adherence to Department DEQ requirements. 

(c) Enforcement against Inspectors.: Any violations of procedures in this Division are 
subject to the DepartmentDEQ’s enforcement procedures.   

 (A) Whenever an Inspector intentionally improperly passes a vehicle for any required 
portion of the test, the Department will either suspend the Inspector for at least 6 months or 
assess a penalty equivalent to the Inspector’s salary for the same time period. 

(B) License or certificate suspension or revocation means prohibits the individual is barred 
from direct or indirect involvement in any inspection operation during the term of the 
suspension or revocation. 

(10) To be licensed as a Private Business Fleet or a Public Agency Fleet, the applicant must: 

(a) Employ on a full time basis a Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; or; 

(b) Employ on a full time basis a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; and 

(c) Be equipped with an gas analytical system complying with criteria established in OAR 
340-256-0450 or 340-256-0460.; 

 (d) Be equipped with a sound level meter conforming to “Requirements for Sound 
Measuring Instruments and Personnel” (NPCS-2) manual, revised September 15, 1974, of 
this Department. 



 

71 
 

(de) If 1996 and newer model year light duty vehicles are a part of the self-inspected fleet of 
vehicles, the fleet must be equipped by January 1, 2001 with a scan tool for downloading 
vehicle OBD emissions data with criteria established in OAR 340-256-0465. 

(11) No A person licensed as a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet may not 
advertise or represent himself themselves as being licensed to inspect motor vehicles to 
determine compliance with the criteria and standards of OAR 340-256-0380 and 340-256-
0400. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 
History: 
DEQ 170-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0340 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-31-83 
DEQ 12-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82 
DEQ 6-1980, f. & ef. 1-29-80 
DEQ 14-1978, f. & ef. 10-3-78 
DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 
DEQ 3-1978, f. 3-1-78, ef. 4-1-78 
DEQ 136, f. 6-10-77, ef. 7-1-77 
DEQ 89, f. 4-22-75, ef. 5-25-75 

340-256-0450 
Emission Control System Inspection: Gas Analytical System Licensing Criteria for 
Basic Program 

This rule documents licensing criteria for use of gas analytical systems in the Basic test 
method. 

(1) Test equipment. Computerized test systems are required equipment for performing any 
measurement on subject vehicles. Performance features of computerized test systems. The 
test equipment  shall must be certified to meet the requirements and performance features 
contained in 40 CFR Part 51 Appendix D (November 5, 1992) and new equipment shall 
must be subjected to acceptance test procedures to ensure compliance with Oregon I/M 
pProgram specifications. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37676
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75866
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(a) Emission test equipment shall must be capable of testing all subject vehicles and shall be 
updated from time to time to accommodate new technology vehicles as well as changes to 
the Vehicle InspectionOregon I/M Program. 

(b) At a minimum, emission test equipment must be: 

(A) Shall be Aautomated to the highest degree commercially available to minimize the 
potential for intentional fraud and/or human error; 

(B) Shall be Ssecure from tampering and/or abuse; 

(C) Shall be Bbased upon written specifications; and 

(D) Shall Cbe capable of simultaneously sampling dual exhaust vehicles. 

(c) The vehicle owner or driver mustshall be provided with a computer-generated record of 
test results, including all of the items listed in 40 CFR Part 85, subpart W, as being required 
on the test record. The test report shall must include: 

(A) A vehicle description, including license plate number, vehicle identification 
numberVIN, and odometer reading; 

(B) The date and time of the test; 

(C) The name or identification number of individual(s) performing the tests and the location 
of the test station and lane; 

(D) The type of test performed, including emission tests, visual checks for the presence of 
emission control components, and functional, evaporative checks; 

(E) The applicable test standards; 

(F) A statement indicating the availability of warranty coverage as required in section 207 of 
the Clean Air Act (1990); 

(G) Certification that tests were performed in accordance with the regulations of this 
Division; and 

(H) For vehicles that fail the tailpipe emission test, information on the possible causes of the 
specific pattern of high emission levels found during the test. 

(2) Functional characteristics of computerized test systems. The test system is composed of 
emission measurement devices and other motor vehicle test equipment controlled by a 
computer. 

(a) The test system mustshall automatically: 

(A) Make a pass or /fail decision for all measurements; 
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(B) Record test data to an electronic medium; 

(C) Conduct regular self-testing of recording accuracy; 

(D) Perform electrical calibration and system integrity checks before each test, as 
applicable; and 

(E) Initiate system lockouts for: 

(i) Tampering with security aspects of the test system; 

(ii) Failing to conduct or pass periodic calibration or leak checks; and 

(iii) A full data recording medium or one that does not pass a cyclical redundancy check. 

(b) The test system mustshall einsure accurate data collection by limiting, cross-checking; 
and/or confirming manual data entry. 

(3) Gas analytical systems used by Private Business Fleets or Public Agency Fleets must 
meet the criteria established in this rule by not later than January 1, 1998. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0355 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 

340-256-0460 
Emission Control System Inspection: Gas Analytical System Licensing Criteria for 
Enhanced Program 

(1) Light Duty vehicles described in OAR 340-256-0300(1)(a)(B) may be tested with a gas 
analytical system that meets the equipment specification described in the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) High-Tech I/M Test Procedures, Emission 
Standards, Quality Control Requirements, and Equipment Specifications, April 1994. This 
equipment is referred to as Laboratory Grade Inspection/Maintenance 240 (IM240) testing 
equipment. 

(2) Alternatively, gas analytical systems meeting the EPA “Inspection Grade” (IG) criteria 
may be utilized. This system, capable of duplicating the IM240 driving cycle, consists of 
four main pieces of equipment: 

(a) Computer system; 
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(b) Infrared exhaust gas analyzer capable of measuring at least CO, CO2, HC and NOx; 

(c) CVS system to capture exhaust flow during testing needed to convert the grams per mile 
readings and fuel economy; and 

(d) A dynamometer capable of simulating the IM240 driving cycle. 

(3) Gas analytical systems used by Private Business Fleets or Public Agency Fleets must 
meet the criteria established in this rule by not later than July 1, 1998. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0357 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 

340-256-0465 
Emission Control System Inspection: Test Equipment Licensing Criteria for OBD Test 
Program 

This equipment must contain the standard terminal Diagnostic Link Connector for OBD 
systems and be capable of the following: 

(1) Making an automatic pass/fail decision based on malfunction indicator light 
observations and vehicle OBD system download;. 

(2) Transferring electronic vehicle test result to the VIP central data server for emissions 
data;. 

(3) Meeting additional fleet operations specifications as DEQ prescribesd by the 
Department. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 
History: 
DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 

340-256-0470 
Emission Control System Inspection: Agreement With Independent Contractor; 
Qualifications of Contractor; Agreement Provisions 

(1) The Director is authorized to enter into an emissions inspection agreement with one or 
more independent contractors, subject to public bidding, to provide for the construction, 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75872
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equipment, establishment, maintenance and operation of any emissions inspection stations 
or activities in such numbers and locations as may be required to provide vehicle owners 
reasonably convenient access to inspection facilities for the purpose of obtaining 
compliance with rules contained in this Division. 

(2) The Director is prohibited from entering into an emissions inspection agreement with 
any independent contractor who: 

(a) Is engaged in the business of manufacturing, selling, maintaining or repairing vehicles, 
except that the independent contractor shall not be precluded from maintaining or repairing 
any vehicle owned or operated by the independent contractor; 

(b) Does not have the capability, resources or technical and management skill to adequately 
construct, equip, operate or maintain a sufficient number of emissions inspection stations to 
meet the demand for inspection of every vehicle which is required to be submitted for 
inspection pursuant tothis Division. 

(3) All persons employed by the independent contractor in the performance of an emissions 
inspection agreement are employees of the independent contractor and not of this state. An 
employee of the independent contractor shall not wear any badge, insignia, patch, emblem, 
device, word or series of words which would tend to indicate that such person is employed 
by this state. Employees of the independent contractor are specifically prohibited under this 
subsection from wearing the flag of this state, the words “state of Oregon,” the words 
“emissions inspection program” or any similar emblem or phrase. 

(4) The emissions inspection agreement authorized by this rule shall contain at least the 
following provisions: 

(a) A contract term or duration of not more than ten years with reasonable compensation to 
the contractor if the provisions of this rule are repealed during the ten-year term; 

(b) That nothing in the agreement or contract requires the state to purchase any asset or 
assume any liability if such agreement or contract is not renewed; 

(c) The minimum requirements for adequate staff, equipment, management and hours and 
place of operation of emissions inspection stations; 

(d) The submission of such reports and documentation concerning the operation of 
emissions inspection stations as the Director and the Attorney General may require; 

(e) Surveillance by the Department of Environmental Quality and the Department of 
Administrative Services to ensure compliance with vehicle emissions testing standards, 
procedures, rules and laws; 

(f) The right of this state, upon providing reasonable notice to the independent contractor, to 
terminate the contract with the independent contractor and to assume operation of the 
vehicle emissions inspection program; 
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(g) The right of this state upon termination of the term of the agreement or upon assumption 
of the operation of the program to have transferred and assigned to it for reasonable 
compensation any interest in land, buildings, improvements, equipment, parts, tools and 
services used by the independent contractors in their operation of the program; 

(h) The right of this state upon termination of the term of the agreement or assumption of 
the operation of the program to have transferred and assigned to it any contract rights, and 
related obligations, for land, buildings, improvements, equipment, parts, tools and services 
used by the independent contractors in their operation of the program; 

(i) The obligation of the independent contractors to provide in any agreement to be executed 
by them, and to maintain in any agreements previously executed by them, for land, 
buildings, improvements, equipment, parts, tools and services used in their operation of the 
program for the right of the independent contractors to assign to this state any of their rights 
and obligations under such contract; 

(j) The amounts of liquidated damages payable by this state to the independent contractor if 
the state exercises its right to terminate the contract at the conclusion of the first, second, 
third or fourth year of the contract pursuant to section (f) of this rule. The damages 
recoverable by the independent contractor if the state exercises its right to terminate the 
contract shall be limited to the liquidated damages specified in the contract; 

(k) Any other provision deemed necessary by the Department of Administrative Services for 
enforcement of the emissions inspection agreement. 

(5) In conjunction with the Attorney General and the Department of Administrative 
Services, the Department of Environmental Quality shall establish bid specifications or 
contract terms for a contract with an independent contractor as provided in this rule, review 
bids for award of a contract with the independent contractors and negotiate any terms of a 
contract with the independent contractors. 

(6) Before entering into any contract the Director shall inquire into the marketplace of 
independent contractors and based upon this review shall select the independent contractor 
who in the sole discretion of the Director is best qualified to perform the duties required by 
this rule and can be operational on January 1, 1998. After a contract is awarded to an 
independent contractor, the Director may modify the contract with the independent 
contractor to allow the contractor and the state to comply with amendments to applicable 
statutes or rules. This modification is exempt from public bidding and may include the 
addition, deletion or alteration of any contract provision in order to make compliance 
feasible, including inspection fees and services rendered. Provisions relating to contract 
term or duration may be amended, except that the term or duration of the contract shall not 
be extended more than three and one-half years beyond the term of the original contract as 
awarded. If the Director cannot negotiate an acceptable modification of the contract, the 
state may terminate the contract. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020 & 468A.363 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.363 
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History: 
DEQ 171-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0360 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
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Draft Rules - With Edits Incorporated 
 

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

 

Division 256 

MOTOR VEHICLES 

340-256-0010 
Definitions 

The definitions in OAR 340-200-0020, 340-204-0010, and this rule apply to this division. If 
this rule defines the same term as OAR 340-200-0020 or 340-204-0010, the definition in 
this rule applies in this division. 

(1) "Basic test" means an inspection and maintenance program designed to measure exhaust 
emission levels during an unloaded idle mode as described in OAR 340-256-0340. 

(2) "CO2" means a chemical formula representing the compound carbon dioxide. 

(3) "CO" means a chemical formula representing the compound carbon monoxide. 

(4) "Certificate of Compliance" means a hard copy or electronic document stating that the 
vehicle identified on the certificate is equipped with the required functioning motor vehicle 
pollution control systems and otherwise complies with the Commission's emission control 
criteria, standards, and rules. A certificate of compliance is issued by a Private Business 
Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, a 
Vehicle Emissions Inspector employed by DEQ, or an Independent Contractor. 

(5) "Clean-Screening" means a procedure by which DEQ determines that a vehicle has 
acceptable emissions and then allows the vehicle owner to bypass the traditional emissions 
inspection station test. DEQ's decision may be the result of remotely sensing the emissions, 
the status of emissions equipment, or another means determined by DEQ. 

(6) "Commission" means the Environmental Quality Commission. 

(7) "Dealer" means any person who is engaged wholly or in part in the business of buying, 
selling, or exchanging, either outright or on conditional sale, bailment lease, chattel 
mortgage, or otherwise, motor vehicles. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75705
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(8) "Dealership" means a business involved in the sale of vehicles that is franchised with an 
automobile manufacturer as defined in ORS 650.120(9). 

(9) "DEQ" means the Department of Environmental Quality. 

(10) "Diesel motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle powered by a stratified charge 
compression-ignition internal combustion engine. 

(11) "Director" means the director of DEQ. 

(12) "DMV" means the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division of the Oregon 
Department of Transportation. 

(13) “Emissions” means gas or vapor released to the atmosphere from a motor vehicle 
component or resulting from fuel combustion within a motor vehicle engine. 

(14) "Emissions Inspection Station" means a facility, operated by DEQ or an Independent 
Contractor, for the purpose of conducting emissions inspections of vehicles required to be 
inspected under this Division. 

(15) "Exhaust emissions" means substances emitted into the atmosphere from any opening 
downstream of the exhaust ports of a motor vehicle engine. 

(16) "Factory-installed motor vehicle pollution control system" means a motor vehicle 
pollution control system installed by the vehicle or engine manufacturer to comply with 
United States motor vehicle emission control laws and regulations published in the Code of 
Federal Regulations, 40 C.F.R. Parts 85 and 86. 

(17) “Franchised” means a sale entity licensed by the DMV and under an agreement as 
defined in ORS 650.120(5) to sell motor vehicles. 

(18) "Gas analytical system" means a device that measures the amount of contaminants in 
the exhaust emissions of a motor vehicle and that has been issued a license by DEQ under 
OAR 340-256-0450 and ORS 468A.380. 

(19) "Gaseous fuel" includes, but is not limited to, liquefied petroleum gases and natural 
gases in liquefied or gaseous forms. 

(20) "Gasoline motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle powered by a spark-ignition internal 
combustion engine. 

(21) "Gross vehicle weight rating" or "GVWR" means the value specified by the 
manufacturer as the maximum design loaded weight of a vehicle. 

(22) "Heavy duty motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle with a GVWR greater than 8,500 
pounds. 

(23) “HC” is an abbreviation that means hydrocarbon. 
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(24) "Hydrocarbon" means a class of chemical compounds consisting of hydrogen and 
carbon. 

(25) "Idle speed" means the engine speed when accelerator pedal is fully released. 

(26) “Imported vehicle” means a vehicle legally imported from another country through 
channels other than the maker's official distribution system. 

(26) "Independent Contractor" means any person with whom DEQ enters into an agreement 
providing for the construction, equipment, maintenance, personnel, management or 
operation of emissions inspection stations or activities under ORS 468A.370 and these rules. 

(27) "Inspection and Maintenance Program or I/M Program” means a program of 
conducting regular inspections of motor vehicles, including measurement of air 
contaminants in the motor vehicle exhaust and an inspection of the motor vehicle pollution 
control system, to identify vehicles that do not meet the standards of this Division or that 
have malfunctioning, maladjusted or missing motor vehicle pollution control systems, and, 
when necessary, of requiring the repair or adjustment of vehicles to make the motor vehicle 
pollution control systems function as intended and to reduce tailpipe emissions of air 
contaminants. 

(28) "In-use motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle that is not a new motor vehicle. 

(29) "Light-duty motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle with a GVWR of 8,500 pounds or 
less. 

(30) "Model year" means the annual production period of new motor vehicles or new motor 
vehicle engines designated by the calendar year in which such period ends. If the 
manufacturer does not designate a production period, the model year with respect to such 
vehicles or engines means the 12-month period beginning January of the year in which 
production of the vehicle or engine begins. 

(31) "Motor vehicle" or “vehicle” means any self-propelled vehicle used for transporting 
persons or commodities on public roads. 

(32) "Motor vehicle pollution control system" means equipment designed for installation on 
a motor vehicle for the purpose of reducing the pollutants emitted from the vehicle, or a 
system or engine adjustment or modification that causes a reduction of pollutants emitted 
from the vehicle, or a system or device that inhibits the introduction of fuels that can 
adversely affect the overall motor vehicle pollution control system. 

(33) "Motor Vehicle Fleet Operation" means ownership, control, management or any 
combination thereof, by any person, of five or more motor vehicles. 

(34) "New motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle whose equitable or legal title has never 
been transferred to a person who, in good faith, purchases the motor vehicle for purposes 
other than resale. 
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(35) "OBD" and “OBD-II” means the On Board Diagnostic system in a vehicle that tracks 
the effectiveness of the motor vehicle's pollution control system.  

(36) "OBD Test" means an emissions test that downloads diagnostic information from the 
vehicle's OBD computer to evaluate the effectiveness of the motor vehicle pollution control 
system. 

(37) "On-Site Vehicle Test" means an emissions test conducted at the vehicle owner's 
location.  

(38) "Owner" means the person having all the incidents of ownership in a vehicle. Where 
the incidents of ownership are in different persons, it means the person, other than a security 
interest holder or lessor, entitled to the possession of a vehicle under a security agreement or 
a lease for a term of 10 or more successive days. 

(39) "Opacity" means the degree to which transmitted light is obscured, expressed in 
percent. 

(40) “Permanent Fleet Vehicle” means a motor vehicle that the Oregon Department of 
Transportation identifies with permanent fleet tags, stickers, plates or other identification 
ODOT determines appropriate. 

(41) "Person" means an individual, public or private corporation, political subdivision, 
agency, board, department, or bureau of the state, municipality, partnership, association, 
firm, trust, estate, or any other legal entity whatsoever that is recognized by law as the 
subject of rights and duties. 

(42) "PPM" means parts per million by volume. 

(43) "Private Business Fleet" means a group of 100 or more Oregon-registered, in-use, 
motor vehicles that are owned by any person, excluding those vehicles held primarily for the 
purpose of resale. 

(44) "Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emissions Inspector" means any person employed on a 
full-time basis by a Private Business Fleet who possesses a current and valid license issued 
by DEQ under OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380. 

(45) "Public Agency Fleet" means a group of 50 or more government-owned vehicles 
registered under ORS 805.040. 

(46) "Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emissions Inspector" means any person employed on a 
full-time basis by a Public Agency Fleet that possesses a current and valid license issued by 
DEQ under OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380. 

(47) "Public roads" means any street, alley, road, highway, freeway, thoroughfare, or section 
thereof used by the public, or dedicated or appropriated to public use. 
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(48) "Regional Authority" means a regional air quality control authority established under 
the provisions of ORS 468A.005 to 468A.035, 468A.075, 468A.100 to 468A.130, and 
468A.140 to 468A.175. 

(49) "Remote Sensing" means a technique for determining the level of a vehicle's emissions 
without connecting equipment directly to the vehicle, done either  by optically measuring 
the pollutants in the vehicle's exhaust plume, by remotely receiving a vehicle's emissions 
diagnostic information, or by other means determined by DEQ. 

(50) "Ringlemann Smoke Chart" means the Ringlemann Smoke Chart with instructions for 
use as published in May 1967, by the U.S. Department of Interior, Bureau of Mines, 
Information circular 8333. 

(51) "RPM" means engine crankshaft revolutions per minute. 

(52) "Self-Service Test" means a procedure for vehicle testing offered by DEQ where the 
vehicle owner or driver can perform an emissions test on the vehicle at a facility provided 
by DEQ using remote sensing, plug-in OBD emissions testing, or other means designated by 
DEQ. 

(53) "Vehicle Emission Inspector" means any person employed by the Department or an 
Independent Contractor who possesses a current and valid license issued by the Department 
under OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380. 

(54) “VIN” or “Vehicle Identification Number” means a unique code including a serial 
number that identifies a specific vehicle. 

(55) "Visible emissions" means those gases or particulates, excluding uncombined water, 
that separately or in combination are visible upon release to the outdoor atmosphere. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.400 
History: 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 
DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 
DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0005 & 340-024-0305 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 23-1984, f. 11-19-84, ef. 4-1-85 
DEQ 12-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82 
DEQ 18-1980, f. & ef. 6-25-80 
DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
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DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 
DEQ 139, f. 6-30-77, ef. 7-1-77 
DEQ 89, f. 4-22-75, ef. 5-25-75 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0100 
Visible Emissions: General Requirements, Exclusions 

(1) A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated any motor 
vehicle upon public roads that emits into the atmosphere any visible emission. 

(2) Excluded from this rule are those motor vehicles: 

(a) Powered by diesel cycle engines; 

(b) Granted a variance by written order of DEQ under ORS 468A.075. 

(3) A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated any motor 
vehicle upon public roads if any element of the factory-installed motor vehicle pollution 
control system has been modified or altered in such a manner that decreases its efficiency or 
effectiveness in controlling air pollution in violation of ORS 815.305, except as noted in 
ORS 815.305(2). 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468, 468A & 815 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0010 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0110 
Visible Emissions: Special Requirements for Excluded Motor Vehicles 

A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated upon a public 
street or highway, any motor vehicle excluded from OAR 340-256-0100 that: 

(1) When operated at an elevation of 3,000 feet or less, emits visible emissions into the 
atmosphere: 

(a) Of an opacity greater than 10 percent; or 

(b) Of an opacity 40 percent or greater for a period exceeding seven consecutive seconds. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75722
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75726
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(2) When operated at an elevation over 3,000 feet, emits visible emissions into the 
atmosphere: 

(a) Of an opacity greater than 20 percent; or 

(b) Of an opacity of 60 percent or greater for a period exceeding seven consecutive seconds. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0015 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0130 
Visible Emissions: Motor Vehicle Fleet Operation 

(1) Motor vehicle fleet operation records pertaining to observations, tests, maintenance, and 
repairs performed to control or reduce visible emissions from individual motor vehicles 
must be available for DEQ review and inspection. 

(2) DEQ, by written notice, may require any motor vehicle of a motor vehicle fleet 
operation to be tested for compliance with OAR 340-256-0100 and 340-256-0110. 

(3) A regional authority, within its territory, may perform the functions of DEQ as set forth 
in sections (1) and (2) of this rule, upon written directive of DEQ permitting such action. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0025 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0140 
Visible Emissions: Dealer Compliance 

A dealer may not sell, exchange or lease, or offer for sale, exchange, or lease, any motor 
vehicle that operates in violation of OAR 340-256-0100 or 340-256-0110, except as 
permitted by federal regulations published in the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 C.F.R. 
Parts 85 and 86. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75730
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75733
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DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0030 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0150 
Visible Emissions: Opacity Method of Measurement 

Only a trained person may make the opacity observation for purposes of OAR 340-256-
0100 through 340-256-0140.  A trained person may use a Ringelmann Smoke Chart or DEQ 
approved opacity equipment to measure emission opacity. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 191-2018, minor correction filed 07/18/2018, effective 07/18/2018 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0035 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0160 
Visible Emissions: Alternative Methods of Measuring Visible Emissions 

(1) DEQ may, but is not required to, permit the use of alternative methods of measurement 
to determine compliance with the visible emissions standards in OAR 340-256-0100 and 
340-256-0110 if DEQ determines that such alternative methods are demonstrated to be 
reproducible, selective, sensitive, accurate and applicable to a specific program.  If DEQ 
permits the use of an alternative method of measurement, DEQ shall do so in writing in 
response to a request under section (2) of this rule. 

(2) Any person desiring to utilize alternative methods of measurement must submit a request 
to use alternative methods of measurement to DEQ.  A request must include such 
specifications and test data as DEQ may require, together with a detailed specific program 
for utilizing the alternative methods, sufficient to show that the alternative methods are 
reproducible, selective, sensitive, accurate, and applicable to a specific program. DEQ may 
require any additional documentation that it deems necessary. 

(3) A person may not undertake a program using an alternative method of measurement 
without having obtained prior written approval of DEQ. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0040 
DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70 

340-256-0200 
Certification of Pollution Control Systems: County Designations 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=248690
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=38760
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75738
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75740
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Clackamas, Columbia, Jackson, Marion, Multnomah, Washington and Yamhill counties are 
hereby designated by the Environmental Quality Commission as counties in which all motor 
vehicles registered therein, unless otherwise exempted by statute or by rules subsequently 
adopted by the Commission, must be equipped with a motor vehicle pollution control 
system and must comply with motor vehicle emission standards adopted by the 
Commission. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.390 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.390 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0100 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 62, f. 12-5-73, ef. 12-25-73 
DEQ 51, f. 3-20-73, ef. 4-1-73 

340-256-0210 
Certification of Pollution Control Systems: Criteria for Certification of Motor Vehicle 
Pollution Control Systems 

This rule documents the criteria for certification of motor vehicle pollution control systems.  
A motor vehicle pollution control system may be certified unless:  

(1) A motor vehicle pollution control system has equipment not designed for installation on 
a motor vehicle for the purpose of reducing the pollutants emitted from the vehicle. 

(2) A motor vehicle pollution control system needs modifications, other than adjustments, to 
the original design of the motor vehicle.  

(3) A person has replaced the motor vehicle engine and the resulting vehicle chassis is not 
identical (including all emission related parts, engine design parameters, and engine 
calibrations) to a certified configuration of the same or newer model year, except for: 

(a) Conversions to compressed natural gas or liquefied petroleum gasoline (LPG); 

(b) A complete engine or engine conversion kit granted an Executive Order by the 
California Air Resources Board that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division; 

(c) A complete powertrain on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s "Certified to 
EPA Standards" list, when the powertrain is used in its entirety and without modification, 
that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division; 

(d) A foreign-built replacement engine that has a configuration certified by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency or the California Air Resources Board that DEQ deems to 
meet the standards of this Division. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75745
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Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0200 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 66, f. 2-5-74, ef. 2-25-74 

340-256-0220 
Compliance With Oregon Low Emission Vehicle Program 

Model years 2009 and newer vehicles that have 7,500 or fewer miles must meet the 
requirements of Chapter 340, Division 257 to qualify for a Certificate of Compliance. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 468A.010, 468A.015, 468A.025, 468A.360 & 
468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468.020 & 468A.365 
History: 
DEQ 6-2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-29-06 

340-256-0310 
Emission Control System Inspection: Government-Owned Vehicle, Permanent Fleet 
Vehicle and United States Government Vehicle Testing Requirements 

(1) All motor vehicles registered as government-owned vehicles under ORS 805.040 that 
are not exempted from certification under 815.300 must obtain a Certificate of Compliance. 
Government-owned vehicles must be certified biennially. 

(2) Any motor vehicle registered as a permanent fleet vehicle under ORS 805.120 that are 
required to be certified under ORS 803.350 and 815.295 to 815.325 must obtain a 
Certificate of Compliance. 

(3) Any motor vehicle that is to be registered under ORS 805.040 or 805.120 but which is 
not a new motor vehicle must obtain a Certificate of Compliance before it is registered, as 
required by ORS 803.350 and 815.295 to 815.325. 

(4) All motor vehicles owned by the United States Government and operated in the Portland 
Vehicle Inspection Area or the Medford-Ashland AQMA must obtain a Certificate of 
Compliance biennially. 

(a) United States Government tactical military vehicles are not required to obtain 
Certificates of Compliance. 

(b) Federal installations located within the Portland Area Vehicle Inspection Program and 
the Medford-Ashland AQMA must provide DEQ with a list of all federal employee-owned 
vehicles operated on the installation, demonstrate that these vehicles have complied with 
this Division, report inspection results to DEQ each quarter, and update the list annually. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75748
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75750
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(5) For the purposes of providing a staggered certification schedule for vehicles registered 
as government-owned vehicles under ORS 805.040 or permanent fleet vehicles under 
805.120, such schedule must, except as provided by section (6) of this rule, be on the basis 
of the final numerical digit contained on the vehicle license plate. Such certification must be 
completed by the last day of the month as provided below (last digit and month or year, 
respectively): 

(a) 1 — January; 

(b) 2 — February; 

(c) 3 — March; 

(d) 4 — April; 

(e) 5 — May; 

(f) 6 — June; 

(g) 7 — July; 

(h) 8 — August; 

(i) 9 — September; 

(j) 0 — October; 

(k) Even — even numbered years for vehicles tested biennially; 

(l) Odd — odd numbered years for vehicles tested biennially. 

(6) In order to accommodate a fleet's scheduled maintenance practices, DEQ may grant a 
request for a specific separate schedule, so long as the schedule provides at least annual or 
biennial certification, for vehicles registered as government-owned vehicles under ORS 
805.040 or permanent fleet vehicles registered under ORS 805.120 if a Public Agency Fleet 
or Private Business Fleet licensed under OAR 340-256-0440 owns these vehicles. 

(7) Every agency or organization owning fleet vehicles described in this rule must report the 
following information to DEQ, in either electronic or printed form, annually: 

(a) The vehicle make; 

(b) The vehicle model; 

(c) The vehicle identification number (VIN); 

(d) The number of Certificates of Compliance issued; and 

(e) The issuing date of the motor vehicle’s Certificates of Compliance. 
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[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.363 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0306 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-31-83 
DEQ 3-1978, f. 3-1-78, ef. 4-1-78 

340-256-0320 
Emission Control System Inspection: Motor Vehicle Inspection Program Fee Schedule 

This rule sets out the fee schedule for Certificates of Compliance and licenses issued by 
DEQ’s Vehicle Inspection Program: 

(1) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued by DEQ, including those issued at 
emissions test stations and those issued through the Clean-Screen and Self-Service Testing 
procedures, is: 

(a) In the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area, $21 until July 1, 2019, and then $25; or 

(b) In the Medford-Ashland AQMA, $10 until July 1, 2019; and then $15 until July 1, 2021; 
and then $20 until July 1, 2023; and then $25. 

(2) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued by a Private Business Fleet or Public 
Agency Fleet is: 

(a) In the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area, a maximum of $10; and 

(b) In the Medford-Ashland AQMA, a maximum of $5. 

(3) The cost of each License issued to a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet is: 

(a) Initial $5; 

(b) Annual renewal $1. 

(4) The cost of each License issued to a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet 
Vehicle Emission Inspector is: 

(a) Initial $5; 

(b) Annual renewal $1. 

(5) The cost of each License issued for a Gas Analytical System is: 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75756
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(a) Initial $5; 

(b) Annual renewal $1. 

(6) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued on-site to an automobile dealership is 
$26 until July 1, 2019, and then $30. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.400 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.400 
History: 
DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 
DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0307 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 2-4-92 
DEQ 20-1981, f. 7-28-81, ef. 8-1-81 

340-256-0330 
Emission Control System Inspection: Department of Defense Personnel Participating 
in the Privately Owned Vehicle Import Control Program 

This rule documents DEQ’s considerations regarding motor vehicle pollution control system 
requirements for Department of Defense personnel participating in the Privately Owned 
Vehicle Import Control Program. 

(1) U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) personnel participating in the DOD Privately 
Owned Vehicle (POV) Import Control Program operating a 1975 or newer model year 
vehicle, may temporarily remove catalytic converter systems, or, if applicable, exhaust gas 
oxygen (O2) sensor(s), if one of the following conditions is met: 

(a) The vehicle will be driven to the port and surrendered for export under the above 
program within ten working days of disconnection, deactivation, or inoperability of the 
catalytic converter system or exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s); or 

(b) The catalytic converter systems and exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s) are reconnected, 
reactivated or made operable within 10 working days from the time the owner picked up the 
vehicle at the port. 

(2) Persons may disconnect, deactivate or render inoperable any catalytic converter system 
or exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s) on 1975 or newer model year vehicle of DOD 
personnel participating in the DOD POV Import Control Program which will be driven to 
the port and surrendered for exportation under said program within ten working days. 

(3) Unless otherwise exempt under this Division, vehicles must be configured as a vehicle 
certified by the EPA for sale and use within the United States under 40 CFR, part 86, 
subpart A. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75763
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(4) Documentation must be kept with the vehicle at all times while the vehicle is operated in 
the United States which provides sufficient information to demonstrate compliance with all 
appropriate qualifications and conditions of this exemption, including the following: 

(a) The unique VIN of the vehicle; 

(b) The agency or organization that employs the owner of the vehicle; 

(c) The country to which the owner of the subject vehicle is transferring; 

(d) The date(s) when applicable alterations were performed on the vehicle; 

(e) The date when the vehicle is scheduled to be delivered to the appropriate port for 
shipment out of the United States; and 

(f) The date when the subject vehicle is picked up from the port of importation upon 
returning to the United States. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.400 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0308 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 

340-256-0340 
Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle and Heavy Duty 
Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test Method for Basic Program 

This rule documents the general requirements and test sequence for the basic light duty 
motor vehicle and heavy duty gasoline motor vehicle emission test method. 

 (1) General Requirements: 

(a) The vehicle must have a properly affixed and readable VIN.  

(b)DEQ must reject from the testing area vehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any 
other such defect that make conducting the emission test unsafe. The inspector may not 
conduct the emissions test until the defects are corrected. 

(c) The vehicle transmission must be placed in neutral gear if equipped with a manual 
transmission or in park position if equipped with an automatic transmission. The hand or 
parking brake must be engaged. If the brake is defective, then wheel chocks must be placed 
in front of or behind the vehicle's tires, or both when appropriate. 

(d) All accessories are to be turned off. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244586
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(e) The inspector must ensure that the motor vehicle is equipped with the required 
functioning motor vehicle pollution control system in accordance with the criteria of OAR 
340-256-0380 or 340-256-0390. For vehicles not meeting these criteria upon completion of 
the testing process, the inspector must issue a report to the driver stating all ways in which 
the motor vehicle pollution control system does not meet the criteria of OAR 340-0256-
0380 and 0390. 

(f) Exhaust gas sampling algorithm. The analysis of exhaust gas concentrations will begin 
10 seconds after the applicable test mode begins and will be analyzed at a rate of two times 
per second. The measured value for pass or fail determinations will be a simple running 
average of the measurements taken over five seconds. 

(g) Pass or fail determinations. A pass or fail determination will be made for each applicable 
test mode based on a comparison of the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 
and 340-256-0420 and the measured value for HC and CO. A vehicle will pass the test 
mode if any pair of simultaneous values for HC and CO are below or equal to the applicable 
standards. A vehicle will fail the test mode if the values for either HC or CO, or both, in all 
simultaneous pairs of values are above the applicable standards. 

(h) Void test conditions. If the measured concentration of CO plus CO2 falls below the 
applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0380 and 340-256-0390, or if the vehicle's 
engine stalls at any time during the test sequence, the test will end, and any exhaust gas 
measurements will be voided. 

(i) Multiple exhaust pipes. Exhaust gas concentrations from vehicle engines equipped with 
multiple exhaust pipes will be sampled simultaneously. 

(j) The test will be terminated upon reaching the overall maximum test time. 

(2) Test sequence. 

The test sequence will consist of a first-chance idle mode, a high idle conditioning mode, 
and a second chance idle mode. : 

(a) First-chance idle mode: the engine RPM shall be maintained between 550 and 1300 
during the first chance idle mode. The maximum duration of this test shall be 30 seconds.   

(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values are less than or equal to 
the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will 
pass, and the test will be terminated. 

(B) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values exceed the applicable 
gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will 
fail, and the test will be terminated. 

(b) High idle conditioning mode: If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the test has not 
been terminated in accordance with (2)(a)(A) or (2)(a)(B) then the engine RPM shall be 
raised and maintained between 2200 and 2800. The maximum duration of the high idle 
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conditioning mode test shall be 180 seconds. If, before an elapsed time of 180 seconds, the 
measured values exceed the applicable gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-
0400 and 340-256-0420 the vehicle will fail and the test will be terminated. 

(c) Second-chance idle mode: If the test has not been terminated in accordance with (2)(a) or 
(2)(b) then the engine RPM shall be lowered and maintained between 550 and 1300 during 
the second chance idle mode. The maximum duration of the second-chance idle mode test 
shall be 30 seconds. 

(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, measured values are less than or equal to the 
applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass, 
and the test will be terminated. 

(B) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values exceed the applicable 
gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will 
fail, and the test will be terminated. 

(C) If, after an elapsed time of 30 seconds, measured values exceed the applicable standards 
listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will fail, and the test will be 
terminated. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 163-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0309 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 

340-256-0355 
Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for OBD Test 
Program 

This rule documents the general requirements and test sequence for the light or heavy-duty 
vehicle OBD test method.  

(1) General Requirements: 

(a) DEQ must reject from the testing area vehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any 
other such defect that make conducting the emission test unsafe. The inspector may not 
conduct the emissions test until the defects are corrected. 

(b) Light duty gasoline vehicles must be 1996 and newer model years. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37667
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75773
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(c) Light duty diesel vehicles must be 1997 and newer model years. 

(d) Heavy duty gasoline vehicles must be 2013 and newer model years and equipped with 
an OBD-II compliant or newer OBD system. 

(e) The vehicle must have a properly affixed and readable VIN. 

(f) The vehicle’s OBD system must match the original manufacturer’s information and must 
communicate with DEQ’s OBD analytical equipment.  

(A) All 2005 and subsequent model year light duty vehicles must have the VIN included in 
the vehicle OBD information. 

(B) All 2013 and subsequent model year heavy-duty vehicles must have the VIN included in 
the vehicle OBD information. 

(g) If an Original Equipment Manufacturer LPG powered vehicle, model year 1996 through 
2004, has a DEQ-recognized OBD manufacture defect, DEQ will follow the idle emission 
testing criteria of OAR 340-256-0340, OAR 340-256-0380, OAR 340-256-0390, OAR 340-
256-0400 and OAR 340-256-0420. 

(2) Test criteria: 

(a) Gasoline powered motor vehicles from model years 1996 to 2000 are allowed two 
unready monitors; 2001 and newer vehicles are allowed one unready monitor. 

(b) Diesel powered motor vehicles from 1997 to 2008 are not allowed any unready 
monitors; 2009 and newer model year diesel powered motor vehicles are allowed one 
unready monitor. 

(c) A vehicle which previously failed with either a catalyst or evaporative Diagnostic 
Trouble Code must have their respective monitor in a ready status to pass a subsequent 
retest. The vehicle will be allowed one or two unready monitors depending on the model 
year, but an unready catalyst or evaporative monitor cannot be one of them. 

(d) Vehicle OBD systems deviating from manufacturer’s design or intended operation will 
fail for:  

(A) Malfunctions of the OBD systems triggering the Malfunction Indicator Light 
commanded on. 

(B) A missing, broken or inaccessible Data Link Connector port. 

(C) Low or missing vehicle battery voltage from the Data Link Connector port. 

(D) Vehicle OBD data that does not match original manufacturer’s OBD data. 

(E) The OBD system VIN does not match the vehicle VIN labeling unless recognized by 
DEQ as a known unresolvable manufacture defect. 
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(F) The OBD system fails to properly communicate. 

(e) When light duty 1996 – 1998 vehicles that DEQ knows have manufacture readiness 
issues have three or more unready monitors and do not fail OBD systems criteria in section 
(2)(d)(A-F), DEQ will test those vehicles with a basic test following OAR 340-256-0340. 

(3) The Director or the Director’s delegate may grant a waiver from one or more of the 
requirements or criteria listed in sections (1) and (2) for vehicle classes that DEQ determines 
present prohibitive inspection problems meeting the requirements or criteria of sections (1) 
and (2) if DEQ deems the motor vehicle pollution control system otherwise meets the 
standards of this Division.  

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 
History: 
DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 

340-256-0356 
Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for On-Site 
Vehicle Testing for Automobile Dealerships 

This rule documents the on-site motor vehicle emissions test method for automobile 
dealerships. The on-site vehicle test will be performed in accordance with OAR 340-256-
0355. The test will be performed by DEQ using DEQ testing equipment and conducted at 
the dealership location. The test program applies to manufacturer franchise automobile 
dealerships.  Dealerships may use either on-site testing or the centralized DEQ test stations, 
or DEQ authorized OBD devices. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380(1)(c) 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 
History: 
DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 

340-256-0357 
Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for Clean-
Screening Program 

This rule documents the Clean-Screening test method. 

(1) DEQ may evaluate emissions of vehicles on the roadway using an optical attenuation 
method of observing actual pollutant emissions, remotely received electronic broadcasts of 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75774
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75775
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the vehicles’ emissions diagnostic data, or other means approved under section (5) of this 
rule. 

(2) A vehicle that meets DEQ’s emissions standards for on-road testing within a time period 
not to exceed one year from its required registration date will be issued a Certificate of 
Compliance without being required to pass the emissions inspection station test otherwise 
required. 

(3) Before implementing Clean-Screening under this rule, DEQ must establish specific 
testing processes, policies, and procedures, including: 

(a) The test technique for On-Road Clean-Screening; 

(b) The valid test period of On-Road Clean-Screening; 

(c) Procedures for identifying an on-road vehicle; 

(d) Procedures for protecting the test process from vandalism and cheating; and 

(e) Testing standards for Clean-Screening. 

(4) If DEQ uses the optical attenuation method for Clean-Screening, 1975 and newer model 
year vehicles are eligible for Clean-Screening. If DEQ uses broadcast data from vehicles’ 
ODB systems for Clean-Screening, 1996 and newer model year vehicles are eligible for 
Clean-Screening. 

(5) If DEQ develops and implements additional test methods for use in the Clean-Screening 
program, DEQ must develop documentation that such method will provide equal or greater 
accuracy in identifying vehicles that would pass or fail the otherwise required emission test. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380(1)(c) 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.420 
History: 
DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 

340-256-0358 
Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for Self-Service 
Testing Program 

This rule documents the Self-Service test method. 

(1) DEQ may provide a testing method whereby the vehicle owner or their representative 
will perform the emissions test. The test performed will be either a remote sensing optical 
quantification of the tailpipe pollutants, a remote or computer connected OBD test, or other 
means approved under section (4) of this rule. 

(2) Before implementing Self-Service Testing under this rule, DEQ must establish specific 
Self-Service Testing processes in DEQ’s policies and procedures documents, including: 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75776
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(a) The test techniques to be used for Self-Service Testing; 

(b) Procedures for identifying the vehicle that will be subjected to Self-Service testing; 

(c) Procedures for protecting the Self-Service test process from vandalism and cheating; and 

(d) Testing standards for the Self-Service technique that will be used. 

(3) If DEQ uses the optical attenuation method for Self-Service Testing, 1975 and newer 
model year vehicles are eligible for Self-Service Testing. If DEQ uses broadcast data or 
hardwire cable connection from vehicles’ OBD systems for Self-Service Testing, 1996 and 
newer model year vehicles are eligible for Self-Service Testing. 

(4) If DEQ develops and implements additional test methods for use in the Self-Service 
Testing program, DEQ must develop documentation that such method will provide equal or 
greater accuracy in identifying vehicles that would pass or fail the otherwise required 
emission test. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380(1)(c) 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.420 
History: 
DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 

340-256-0370 
Emission Control System Inspection: Renewal of Registration for Light Duty Motor 
Vehicles and Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicles Temporarily Operating Outside of 
Oregon 

Vehicles registered in the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area and Medford-Ashland AQMA 
and operated in another state at an address located at least 150 miles outside the Oregon 
border must comply with the following requirements: 

(1) For vehicles operated within another Environmental Protection Agency approved 
Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) program area, DEQ shall establish reciprocity provisions 
to ensure motor vehicle compliance with the other state’s I/M requirements. Compliance 
with the other state’s I/M program requirements is equivalent to the issuance of a Certificate 
of Compliance. 

(2) For vehicles operated in another state, but not within another Environmental Protection 
Agency approved Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) area, DEQ shall issue a temporary 
exemption from Oregon I/M Program testing requirements until the vehicle returns to 
Oregon. Within 30 calendar days of the date the vehicle returns to Oregon it must comply 
with the Oregon I/M Program’s test criteria, methods and standards. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75783


 

98 
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0318 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 

340-256-0380 
Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test 
Criteria for Basic Program 

This rule documents the Basic Test criteria for light duty motor vehicles. 

(1) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the vehicle exhaust system leaks in such a 
manner as to dilute the exhaust gas being sampled by the gas analytical system. For the 
purpose of the emission control tests conducted at state facilities, except for diesel motor 
vehicles, tests are invalid if the exhaust gas is diluted to such an extent that the sum of the 
CO and CO2 concentrations recorded for the idle speed reading from an exhaust outlet is six 
percent or less, and, on 1975 and newer model year vehicles with air injection systems, 
seven percent or less. 

(2) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the engine idle speed exceeds the 
manufacturer's idle speed specifications by over 200 RPM. 

(3)(a) A vehicle emission control test for a 1975 or newer model year vehicle is not valid if 
the gas cap or catalyst has been disconnected, plugged, or otherwise made inoperative in 
violation of ORS 815.305(1), except as noted in ORS 815.305(2) or as provided for by 40 
CFR 85.1701–1709 (published July 1, 2003). 

(b) DEQ may provide alternative criteria for those required under subsection (a) of this 
section if it determines that the component or an acceptable alternative is unavailable.  

(c) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part (including a rebuilt part) as a 
replacement part is not a violation of ORS 815.305 if DEQ determines that such use will not 
adversely affect emission control efficiency.  

(d) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part or system as an add-on, auxiliary, 
augmenting, or secondary part of system, is not a violation of ORS 815.305 if such part or 
system has an Executive Order granted by the California Air Resources Board, is on the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s list of "Certified to EPA Standards," and DEQ has 
determined after reviewing testing data that there is no decrease in the efficiency or 
effectiveness in the control of air pollution; 

(e) Adjustments or alterations of particular part or system parameter, if done for purposes of 
maintenance or repair according to the vehicle or engine manufacturer's instructions, are not 
violations of ORS 815.305. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244599
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(4) A 1981 or newer model year vehicle that has been converted to operate on gaseous fuels 
is not in violation of ORS 815.305 when elements of the factory-installed motor vehicle air 
pollution control system are disconnected for the purpose of conversion to gaseous fuel as 
authorized by ORS 815.305. 

(5) For a 1975 through 1980 model year vehicle in which the original engine has been 
replaced, if either the vehicle body or chassis original engine (per registration or title) or 
replacement engine (as manufactured) had a catalytic converter system, it must be present, 
intact, and operational before DEQ may issue a Certificate of Compliance. 

(6) For a 1981 or newer model year vehicle in which the original engine has been replaced, 
the emission test standards and applicable emissions control equipment for the year, make, 
and model of the vehicle body or chassis (per registration or title) or replacement engine, 
whichever is newer, apply. For those diesel powered vehicles that have been converted to 
operate on gasoline or gasoline equivalent fuel(s), the emission test standards and applicable 
emission control equipment for the year, make, and model of the gasoline equivalent 
powered engine as originally manufactured, for the vehicle body or chassis (per the 
registration) or replacement engine, whichever is newer, apply.(7) For those vehicles 
registered or titled as a 1981 or newer model year that were assembled by other than a 
licensed motor vehicle manufacturer, such as an Assembled, Reconstructed, or Replica 
Vehicle, DEQ personnel must determine the applicable emission test standards based upon 
the vintage of the vehicle engine. The year of the engine is presumed to be that stated by the 
vehicle owner, unless DEQ personnel determine, after physical inspection, that the year of 
the engine is other than that stated by the owner. 

(8) An imported nonconforming motor vehicle that has been imported under a certificate of 
conformity or modification/test procedure under 40 CFR Part 85, Subpart P, or has been 
granted an exemption under 40 CFR § 85.1511, must comply with the emission control 
equipment requirements of such certificate or procedure. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 166-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0320 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 21-1988, f. & cert. ef. 9-12-88 
DEQ 12-1985, f. & ef. 9-30-85 
DEQ 6-1985, f. & ef. 5-1-85 
DEQ 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-31-83 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37672
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DEQ 12-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82 
DEQ 18-1980, f. & ef. 6-25-80 
DEQ 6-1980, f. & ef. 1-29-80 
DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 
DEQ 139, f. 6-30-77, ef. 7-1-77 
DEQ 121, f. & ef. 9-3-76 
DEQ 116(Temp), f. & ef. 7-27-76 
DEQ 89, f. 4-22-75, ef. 5-25-75 

340-256-0390 
Emission Control System Inspection: Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission 
Control Test Criteria 

This rule documents the heavy duty gasoline motor vehicle emission test criteria. 

(1) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the vehicle exhaust system leaks in such a 
manner as to dilute the exhaust emissions being sampled by the gas analytical system. For 
the purpose of emission control tests conducted at state facilities, tests will not be 
considered valid if the exhaust emissions are diluted to such an extent that the sum of the 
CO and CO2 concentrations recorded for the idle speed reading from an exhaust outlet is six 
percent or less. 

(2) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the engine idle speed exceeds 1300 RPM. 

(3)(a) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the gas cap or catalyst has been 
disconnected, plugged, or otherwise made inoperative in violation of ORS 815.305(1), 
except as noted in 815.305(2). 

(b) DEQ may provide alternative criteria for those required under subsection (a) of this 
section if it determines that the component or an acceptable alternative is unavailable. 

(c) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part (including a rebuilt part) as a 
replacement part is not a violation of ORS 815.305, if DEQ determines that such use will 
not adversely affect emission control efficiency.  

(d) Adjustments or alterations of a particular part or system parameter, if done for purposes 
of maintenance or repair according to the vehicle or engine manufacturer's instructions, are 
not violations of ORS 815.305. 

(4) A 1981 or newer model motor vehicle that has been converted to operate on gaseous 
fuels is in violation of ORS 815.305 if elements of the factory-installed motor vehicle air 
pollution control system are disconnected for the purpose of conversion to gaseous fuel as 
authorized by 815.305. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244602
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Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 167-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0325 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 21-1988, f. & cert. ef. 9-12-88 
DEQ 12-1985, f. & ef. 9-30-85 
DEQ 6-1985, f. & ef. 5-1-85 
DEQ 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-31-83 
DEQ 12-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82 
DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
DEQ 136, f. 6-10-77, ef. 7-1-77 

340-256-0400 
Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control 
Standards for Basic Program 

This rule documents the standards not to be exceeded for light duty motor vehicles that 
undergo the Basic emission test. 

(1) Light Duty Diesel Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: 1.5% CO; there is no HC 
standard. 

(2) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: Four-Stroke Cycle — 
Passenger Cars: 

(a) 1975–1980 Model Year: 

(A) With Catalyst: 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC; 

(B) Without Catalyst: 2.5% CO and 300 ppm HC. 

(b) 1981 and Newer Model Year:  at idle — 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC; 

(3) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards — Light Duty Trucks: 

(a) 6,000 GVWR or less: 

(A) 1975–1980 Model Year: 

(i) With Catalyst: 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC; 

(ii) Without Catalyst: 2.5% CO and 300 ppm HC. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37673
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244606
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(B) 1981 and Newer Model Year:  at idle — 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC; 

(b) 6,001 to 8,500 GVWR: 

(A) 1975–1978 Model Year: 2.5% CO and 300 ppm HC; 

(B) 1979–1980 Model Year: 

(i) With Catalyst: 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC; 

(ii) Without Catalyst: 2.5% CO and 300 ppm HC. 

(C) 1981 and Newer:  at idle — 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC; 

(4) Gross CO emissions exceed the applicable model year CO standard by a factor of one 
and one-half (1.5). 

(5) Gross HC emissions exceed the applicable model year HC standard by a factor of three 
(3). 

(6) Visible emissions must not occur during the steady-state unloaded and raised rpm engine 
idle portions of a gasoline engine emission test from either the vehicle’s exhaust system or 
the engine crankcase. For a diesel engine emissions test, visible emissions must not exceed 
20% opacity. 

(7) The Director or Director’s delegate may grant a waiver from standards listed in sections 
(1)–(6) for vehicle classes that DEQ determines present prohibitive inspection problems 
meeting the standards in sections (1) – (6) if DEQ deems the motor vehicle pollution system 
otherwise meets the standards of this Division. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 
History: 
DEQ 168-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0330 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 21-1988, f. & cert. ef. 9-12-88 
DEQ 18-1986, f. 9-18-86, ef. 10-1-86 
DEQ 20-1981, f. 7-28-81, ef. 8-1-81 
DEQ 15-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 5-6-81 
DEQ 18-1980, f. & ef. 6-25-80 
DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37674
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DEQ 139, f. 6-30-77, ef. 7-1-77 
DEQ 121, f. & ef. 9-3-76 
DEQ 116(Temp), f. & ef. 7-27-76 
DEQ 89, f. 4-22-75, ef. 5-25-75 

340-256-0420 
Emission Control System Inspection: Heavy-Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission 
Control Standards 

This rule documents the standards not to be exceeded for heavy duty gasoline vehicle 
emission tests. 

(1) CO idle emission values: 

(a) 1975–1978 Model Year: 4.0%; 

(b) 1979 and Newer Model Year without catalyst: 3.0%; 

(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 1.0%. 

(2) Gross CO emissions exceed the applicable model year CO standard by a factor of one 
and one-half (1.5). 

(3) Hydrocarbon idle emission values: 

(a) 1975–1978 Model Year: 500 PPM; 

(b) 1979 and Newer Model Year without catalyst: 350 PPM; 

(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 220 PPM. 

(4) Gross HC emissions exceed the applicable model year HC standard by a factor of three 
(3). 

(5) Visible emission must not occur during the steady-state unloaded engine idle and raised 
rpm portion of the emission test from either the vehicle’s exhaust system or the engine 
crankcase. 

(6) The Director may grant a waiver from standards listed in sections (1)–(4) for vehicle 
classes that DEQ determines present prohibitive inspection problems meeting the listed 
standards in sections (1) – (4) if DEQ deems the motor vehicle pollution system otherwise 
meets the standards of this Division. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 
History: 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75834
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DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0335 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 18-1986, f. 9-18-86, ef. 10-1-86 
DEQ 20-1981, f. 7-28-81, ef. 8-1-81 
DEQ 15-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 5-6-81 
DEQ 18-1980, f. & ef. 6-25-80 
DEQ 22-1979, f. & ef. 7-5-79 
DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 
DEQ 136, f. 6-10-77, ef. 7-1-77 

340-256-0440 
Emission Control System Inspection: Criteria for Qualifications of Persons Eligible to 
Inspect Motor Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Pollution Control Systems and Execute 
Certificates 

(1) Five separate classes of licenses are: 

(a) Private Business Fleet; 

(b) Public Agency Fleet; 

(c) Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; 

(d) Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; 

(e) Vehicle Emission Inspector. 

(2) License applicants must complete a form that DEQ provides. 

(3)(a) Each fleet’s license is valid for not more than one-year and expires on December 31 
of each year unless revoked, suspended, or returned to DEQ; 

(b) Each Inspector’s license is valid for not more than two-years and expires on December 
31 of every other year unless revoked, suspended, or returned to DEQ. 

(4) DEQ will not issue any license until the applicant has fulfilled all requirements and paid 
the required fee. 

(5) A license is not transferable. 

(6) DEQ may renew a license if the applicant submits an application and renewal fee within 
30 days before the license’s expiration date and the applicant complies with all other 
licensing requirements. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=244616
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(7) DEQ may suspend, revoke, or not renew a license if the licensee has violated this 
Division, ORS 468A.350 to 468A.400, or 815.295 to 815.325. 

(8) A Private Business Vehicle Emission Inspector or Public Agency Fleet Vehicle 
Emission Inspector license is valid only for inspection of and execution of Certificates of 
Compliance for motor vehicle pollution control systems and motor vehicles of the Private 
Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet that employs the Private Business Fleet Vehicle 
Emission Inspector or Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector on a full time basis. 
DEQ may authorize a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector to perform 
inspections and execute Certificates of Compliance for vehicles of other governmental 
agencies if the inspector has contracted with that agency for that service and the Director 
approves the contract. 

(9) To initially receive or renew a license as a Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission 
Inspector, a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector or a Vehicle Emission 
Inspector, the applicant must be an employee of a Private Business Fleet, a Public Agency 
Fleet, the DEQ Vehicle Inspection Program, or an employee of an Independent Contractor 
and submit a completed application. All Inspectors must receive formal training and be 
licensed or certified to perform inspections under this Division. The duration of the training 
program for persons employed by a Private Business Fleet or a Public Agency Fleet must be 
at least 16 hours. 

(a) Training. 

(A) Inspector training must include the following subjects: 

(i) The air pollution problems, its causes and effects; 

(ii) The purpose, function and goal of the inspection program; 

(iii) Inspection regulations and procedures; 

(iv) Technical details of the test procedure and the rationale for their design; 

(v) Test equipment operation, calibration and maintenance; 

(vi) Emission control device function, configuration and inspection; 

(vii) Quality control procedures and their purpose; 

(viii) Public relations; 

(ix) Safety and health issues related to the inspection process; and 

(x) OBD test systems. 

(B) In order to complete the training requirement, a trainee must pass (minimum of 80% 
correct responses) a written test covering all aspects of the training. In addition, a hands-on 
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test must be administered in which the trainee demonstrates without assistance the ability to 
conduct a proper inspection, to properly utilize equipment and to follow other procedures. 
Inability to properly conduct all test procedures shall constitute failure of the test. DEQ will 
take appropriate steps to insure the security and integrity of the testing process. 

(b) Licensing and certification. 

(A) DEQ must license or certify all inspectors before they may perform official inspections. 

(B) Completion of Inspector training and passing required tests is a condition of licensing or 
certification. 

(C) Inspector licenses and certificates are valid for no more than 2 years, at which point 
refresher training and testing are required before renewal. Alternative approaches based on 
more comprehensive skill examination and determination of Inspector competency may be 
used. 

(D) Licenses and certificates are not a legal right, but rather, are a privilege bestowed by the 
Department and conditional upon adherence to DEQ requirements. 

(c) Enforcement against Inspectors: Any violations of procedures in this Division are subject 
to DEQ’s enforcement procedures.  License or certificate suspension or revocation prohibits 
the individual from direct or indirect involvement in any inspection operation during the 
term of the suspension or revocation. 

(10) To be licensed as a Private Business Fleet or a Public Agency Fleet, the applicant must: 

(a) Employ on a full time basis a Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; or 

(b) Employ on a full time basis a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; and 

(c) Be equipped with a gas analytical system complying with criteria established in OAR 
340-256-0450. 

(d) If 1996 and newer model year light duty vehicles are a part of the self-inspected fleet of 
vehicles, the fleet must be equipped with a scan tool for downloading vehicle OBD 
emissions data with criteria established in OAR 340-256-0465. 

(11) A person licensed as a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet may not advertise 
or represent themselves as being licensed to inspect motor vehicles to determine compliance 
with the criteria and standards of OAR 340-256-0380 and 340-256-0400. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 
History: 
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DEQ 170-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 
DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0340 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 
DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 
DEQ 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-31-83 
DEQ 12-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82 
DEQ 6-1980, f. & ef. 1-29-80 
DEQ 14-1978, f. & ef. 10-3-78 
DEQ 9-1978, f. & ef. 7-7-78 
DEQ 3-1978, f. 3-1-78, ef. 4-1-78 
DEQ 136, f. 6-10-77, ef. 7-1-77 
DEQ 89, f. 4-22-75, ef. 5-25-75 

340-256-0450 
Emission Control System Inspection: Gas Analytical System Licensing Criteria for 
Basic Program 

This rule documents licensing criteria for use of gas analytical systems in the Basic test 
method. 

(1) Computerized test systems are required equipment for performing any measurement on 
subject vehicles. The test equipment must be certified to meet the requirements and 
performance features contained in 40 CFR Part 51 Appendix D (November 5, 1992) and 
new equipment must be subjected to acceptance test procedures to ensure compliance with 
Oregon I/M Program specifications. 

(a) Emission test equipment must be capable of testing all subject vehicles and shall be 
updated from time to time to accommodate new technology vehicles as well as changes to 
the Oregon I/M Program. 

(b) At a minimum, emission test equipment must be: 

(A) Automated to the highest degree commercially available to minimize the potential for 
intentional fraud and/or human error; 

(B) Secure from tampering and/or abuse; 

(C) Based upon written specifications; and 

(D) Capable of simultaneously sampling dual exhaust vehicles. 

(c) The vehicle owner or driver must be provided with a computer-generated record of test 
results, including all of the items listed in 40 CFR Part 85, subpart W required on the test 
record. The test report must include: 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptPDF.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?filingRsn=37676
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75866
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(A) A vehicle description, including license plate number, VIN, and odometer reading; 

(B) The date and time of the test; 

(C) The name or identification number of individual(s) performing the tests and the location 
of the test station and lane; 

(D) The type of test performed, including emission tests, visual checks for the presence of 
emission control components, and functional, evaporative checks; 

(E) The applicable test standards; 

(F) A statement indicating the availability of warranty coverage as required in section 207 of 
the Clean Air Act (1990); 

(G) Certification that tests were performed in accordance with the regulations of this 
Division; and 

(H) For vehicles that fail the tailpipe emission test, information on the possible causes of the 
specific pattern of high emission levels found during the test. 

(2) Functional characteristics of computerized test systems. The test system is composed of 
emission measurement devices and other motor vehicle test equipment controlled by a 
computer. 

(a) The test system must automatically: 

(A) Make a pass or fail decision for all measurements; 

(B) Record test data to an electronic medium; 

(C) Conduct regular self-testing of recording accuracy; 

(D) Perform electrical calibration and system integrity checks before each test, as 
applicable; and 

(E) Initiate system lockouts for: 

(i) Tampering with security aspects of the test system; 

(ii) Failing to conduct or pass periodic calibration or leak checks; and 

(iii) A full data recording medium or one that does not pass a cyclical redundancy check. 

(b) The test system must ensure accurate data collection by limiting, cross-checking; and/or 
confirming manual data entry. 

(3) Gas analytical systems used by Private Business Fleets or Public Agency Fleets must 
meet the criteria established in this rule. 
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[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 
History: 
DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0355 
DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 
DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 
DEQ 16-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-4-93 

340-256-0465 
Emission Control System Inspection: Test Equipment Licensing Criteria for OBD Test 
Program 

This equipment must contain the standard terminal Diagnostic Link Connector for OBD 
systems and be capable of the following: 

(1) Making an automatic pass/fail decision based on malfunction indicator light 
observations and vehicle OBD system download; 

(2) Transferring electronic vehicle test result to the VIP central data server for emissions 
data; 

(3) Meeting additional fleet operations specifications as DEQ prescribes. 

[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that 
EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 
History: 
DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 

 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=3oxlIc6PZ2u31uGO2th2u9088A2Kqarcjab6TLjYb7s3a0O-i4hx!143575988?ruleVrsnRsn=75872

	Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
	December 14, 2018
	Notice of Proposed Rulemaking

	Vehicle Inspection Program Updates
	Table of Contents
	Introduction 2
	Overview 6
	Statement of need 9
	Rules affected, authorities, supporting documents 10
	Fee Analysis 11
	Statement of fiscal and economic impact 14
	Federal relationship 18
	Land use 19
	Stakeholder and public involvement 20
	Public notice and hearings 22
	Draft Rules - With Edits Highlighted 25
	Draft Rules - With Edits Incorporated 78
	Introduction
	DEQ invites public input on proposed permanent rule amendments to chapter 340 of the Oregon Administrative Rules.
	Background

	DEQ’s Vehicle Inspection Program reduces air pollution by requiring that motorists in the Portland and Medford areas maintain their vehicles’ emission control systems before they can renew their vehicle registrations.  The Portland vehicle inspection ...
	VIP helps Oregon maintain compliance with national air quality standards for pollutants such as ozone, nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, and fine particles.  VIP also reduces tons of air toxic pollutants each year, like benzene, ethylbenzene, and acet...
	DEQ proposal

	DEQ is proposing to revise several sections of the Motor Vehicles rules in Division 256 of Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 340.  DEQ is proposing to:
	 remove references to procedures no longer performed, such as the enhanced dynamometer emissions test and noise control testing;
	 include references, definitions and procedures that will align rules with current program operations;
	 edit for plain language; and
	 raise the fee for a certificate of compliance to the following amounts:
	Portland Vehicle Inspection Area
	$25 effective July 1, 2019
	Medford Vehicle Inspection Area
	$15 effective July 1, 2019
	$20 effective July 1, 2021
	$25 effective July 1, 2023
	On-site Testing Auto Dealerships
	$30 effective July 1, 2019
	More information

	Information about this rulemaking is on this rulemaking’s web page:
	Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019
	Public Hearings

	DEQ will hold two public hearings on this rulemaking, one in Portland and one in Medford.
	Meeting Details:
	Date:  Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019
	Time:  4 p.m. – 7 p.m.
	Location:  DEQ Headquarters
	700 NE Multnomah St., Third Floor Conference Room
	Portland, OR  97232-4100
	Date:  Monday, Jan. 28, 2019
	Time:  4 p.m. – 7 p.m.
	Location:  Jackson County Library – Medford Branch
	205 South Central Ave., Carpenter Conference Room
	Medford, OR  97501
	How to comment on this rulemaking proposal

	DEQ is asking for public comment on the proposed rules. Anyone can submit comments and questions about this rulemaking. A person can submit comments through an online web page, by regular mail or at a public hearing.
	Comment deadline

	DEQ will only consider comments on the proposed rules that DEQ receives by 4 p.m., on Monday, February 4, 2019.
	Submit comment online

	Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 Rulemaking Comment Page
	Note for public university students:

	ORS 192.501(29) allows Oregon public university and OHSU students to protect their university email addresses from disclosure under Oregon’s public records law. If you are an Oregon public university or OHSU student you may omit your email address whe...
	By mail

	Oregon DEQ
	Attn: Karen Williams
	700 NE Multnomah St., Room 600
	Portland, OR 97232-4100
	At hearing

	Date:  Tuesday, January 15, 2019
	Time:  4 p.m. – 7 p.m.
	Location:  DEQ Headquarters
	700 NE Multnomah St., Third Floor Conference Room
	Portland, OR  97232-4100
	Date:  Monday, Jan. 28, 2019
	Time:  4 p.m. – 7 p.m.
	Location:  Jackson County Library – Medford Branch
	205 South Central Ave., Carpenter Conference Room
	Medford, OR  97501
	You can also participate in the hearing through a teleconference or webinar.

	Teleconference call-in number: 888-278-0296
	Participant ID: 8040259
	Webinar login link (webinar has no audio, you must listen on the teleconference): https://www.webmeeting.att.com/
	How to join the teleconference or webinar: Teleconference and Webinar instructions
	Sign up for rulemaking notices

	Sign up to get email or text updates about this rulemaking through this link:
	Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 Rulemaking Email List
	For more information, visit the rulemaking webpage:
	Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019
	Sign up to get email or text updates about other, future DEQ rulemaking by signing up through this link: DEQ Email Notice List.
	What will happen next?

	DEQ will include a written response to comments in a staff report DEQ will submit to the Environmental Quality Commission. DEQ may modify the rule proposal based on the comments.
	Present proposal to the EQC

	Proposed rules only become effective if the Environmental Quality Commission adopts them. DEQ plans to present the proposed rules to the commission for a decision at its meeting March 20 - 21, 2019.
	Accessibility information

	You may review copies of all documents referenced in this announcement at:
	Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
	700 NE Multnomah St., Room 600
	Portland, OR, 97232-4100
	To schedule a review of all websites and documents referenced in this announcement, call Karen Williams, Portland, at 503-229-5519 (800-452-4011, ext. 5622 toll-free in Oregon).
	Please notify DEQ of any special physical or language accommodations or if you need information in large print, Braille or another format. To make these arrangements, contact DEQ, Portland, at 503-229-5696 or call toll-free in Oregon at 1-800-452-4011...
	Short summary

	Overview
	DEQ’s Vehicle Inspection Program reduces air pollution and helps Oregon comply with national air quality standards by requiring that motorists in the Portland and Medford areas maintain their vehicles’ emission control systems.  A motorist must obtain...
	DEQ is proposing to:
	 remove references to procedures no longer performed, such as the enhanced dynamometer emissions test and noise control testing;
	 include references, definitions and procedures to align rules with current program operations;
	 improve clarity by using plain language where possible; and
	 raise the certification fee to the amounts below to bring program revenue in line with current and projected program expenditures:
	Portland Vehicle Inspection Area
	$25 effective July 1, 2019
	Medford Vehicle Inspection Area
	$15 effective July 1, 2019
	$20 effective July 1, 2021
	$25 effective July 1, 2023
	On-site Testing Auto Dealerships
	$30 effective July 1, 2019.
	VIP and other control strategies are part of Oregon’s EPA-approved State Implementation Plan.  With EQC adoption of the revised rules, the actions proposed in this rulemaking will be incorporated into and made part of the Oregon SIP.
	Brief history

	When Oregon began implementing requirements of the Clean Air Act, in the 1970s and 1980s, air quality in the Portland and Medford areas of the state did not meet federal standards for ozone and carbon monoxide.  DEQ had to develop plans to reduce thes...
	The vehicle inspection program which began in Portland in 1975 and Medford in 1986, is an important pollution control strategy in both the Portland and Medford maintenance plans.  VIP requires motorists to maintain and repair their vehicles’ emission ...
	Between 1996 and 2006, in Portland, DEQ tested vehicles with an enhanced test that used dynamometers to simulate loaded driving conditions and allowed the Portland area to achieve greater emission reductions.  To have funds for the construction, equip...
	Over the last 12 years, DEQ VIP staff have performed more tests each year, while reducing the average customer wait times.  DEQ VIP has also invested in new technology to increase efficiency, reduce operating costs and improve customer service.  In th...
	Revenue met program expenses until 2015.  Even with technological advances and careful spending that allowed VIP to accrue ending balances, VIP had to eliminate 7 full time equivalent positions in 2017 to attain a balanced budget.  With these proposed...
	Regulated parties

	DEQ implements the vehicle inspection program and the rules contained in Division 256 – Motor Vehicles - apply to and regulate DEQ.  These rules also apply to:
	 Motorists, public agencies and businesses with vehicles registered in Oregon;
	 Businesses that participate in DEQ’s mobile on-site testing program;
	 Public and private fleet owners and their employees who test and certify vehicle emission systems;
	 Motorists and businesses that use VIP testing stations or remote testing to obtain certificates of compliance required before renewing vehicle registration.
	The proposed amendment of Oregon Administrative Rule 340-200-0040 to incorporate these revisions into the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan does not change the regulated parties.
	Request for other options

	During the public comment period, DEQ requests public comment on whether to consider other options for achieving the rules’ substantive goals while reducing the rules’ negative economic impact on business.
	What need would the proposed rule address?

	Descriptions of VIP test methods, criteria and standards in Division 256 do not align with current operations and procedures and need to be updated.  Beginning in the 2015 biennium, VIP program expenses exceeded revenue and DEQ must increase the certi...
	How would the proposed rule address the need?

	The proposed rule revisions would update descriptions of VIP test methods, criteria and standards in Division 256 to align with current operations and procedures.  The proposed fee increase would allow DEQ to maintain current VIP staffing and customer...
	How will DEQ know the rule addressed the need?

	If the rule revisions are adopted by the Environmental Quality Commission in March 2019, VIP fees would increase in Portland and Medford areas on July 1, 2019, and in Medford also on July 1, 2021 and July 1, 2023.  A balanced VIP biennial budget will ...
	Lead division

	Air Quality
	Program or activity

	Air Quality Planning
	Chapter 340 action
	Documents relied on for rulemaking

	Document location
	Document title
	The Oregon Environmental Quality Commission approval of this rule proposal would increase existing fees. EQC authority to act on the proposed fees is ORS 468A.400.
	Brief description of proposed fees
	The cost of each certificate of compliance, including those issued at emission test stations and those issued through self-service and remote procedures will increase by $4.00, from $21 to $25 in the Portland Vehicle Inspection area on July 1, 2019. T...
	The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued for on-site testing to an automobile dealership will increase $4.00, from $26 to $30 on July 1, 2019.
	Reasons
	The proposed fees would address increased program costs.  Oregon’s vehicle inspection and maintenance program, VIP, is a fundamental pollution reduction strategy in DEQ’s Clean Air Act required State Implementation Plan.  Program expenses have been in...
	The projected 2019-2021 revenue shortfall is $4,632,441.  The proposed fee increase would sustain the program through June 30, 2025.  DEQ has not raised the fee for a certificate of compliance since 1997.
	Fee proposal alternatives considered
	An alternative to raising the fee is cutting 8 full time equivalent positions.  Reducing this number of positions would have adverse impacts on customer service such as increased wait times, reduced ability to respond to public inquiries, and reduced ...
	Fee payers
	Fee payers affected by these proposed rule revisions and fee increase are motorists, businesses that own vehicles, and auto dealerships participating on-site testing.  Private business and public agency fleets pay a fee for each certificate of complia...
	Affected party involvement in fee-setting process
	DEQ convened an advisory committee of affected parties to assist DEQ in evaluating the fiscal impacts of the increased fees.
	Summary of impacts
	Motorists whose cars are registered in the Portland Vehicle Inspection areas will pay $4 more than the current fee of $21, a fee total of $25, every two years for a certificate of compliance.  The $4 increase in the Portland Vehicle Inspection area wi...
	By July 1, 2023, motorists whose cars are registered in the Medford Vehicle Inspection areas will pay $15 more than the current fee of $10, a fee total of $25, every two years for a certificate of compliance.  The $15 fee increase in Medford will take...
	Beginning in July 1, 2019, auto dealerships in the Portland Vehicle Inspection areas participating in on-site testing will pay $5 more than the Portland area fee for a certificate of compliance, for a total fee of $30.
	Fee payer agreement with fee proposal
	DEQ did not ask fee payers and other stakeholders to agree with the proposal, but considered advisory committee input in developing the proposed rule revisions.  DEQ will also consider comments received during the public comment period in developing f...
	How long will the current fee sustain the program?
	The current fee will sustain the program through June 30, 2019.
	How long will the proposed fee sustain the program?
	DEQ projects that the proposed fee will sustain the program through the 2023 - 2025 biennium.
	Transactions and revenue
	Fee schedule
	Cost for a certificate of compliance would increase according to the following schedule:
	Portland Vehicle Inspection Area
	$25 effective July 1, 2019
	Medford Vehicle Inspection Area
	$15 effective July 1, 2019
	$20 effective July 1, 2021
	$25 effective July 1, 2023
	On-site Testing Auto Dealerships
	$30 effective July 1, 2019
	Fiscal and Economic Impact

	Increasing fees for vehicle inspection certificates of compliance would benefit DEQ through increased financial support for the Vehicle Inspection Program.  The fee change will increase costs for entities that must obtain a certificate of compliance f...
	Statement of Cost of Compliance

	State and federal agencies
	DEQ will benefit from this fee increase through increased financial support for the Vehicle Inspection Program.  DEQ will not have to reduce 8 full time equivalent staff.
	This fee increase will not affect other state or federal agencies because DEQ is not proposing to increase the allowable maximum certificate of compliance fee for public agency fleets.  DEQ is not proposing to increase the cost of a license issued to ...
	Local governments

	For local governments, the fee increase will have no effect because DEQ is not proposing to increase the allowable maximum certificate of compliance fee for public agency fleets.  DEQ is not proposing to increase the cost of a license issued to a publ...
	Public

	The cost of a certificate of compliance will increase for members of the public and businesses whose vehicles are registered in the Portland and Medford vehicle inspection areas.  Entities with vehicles registered in the Portland vehicle inspection ar...
	DEQ does not have data to estimate the fiscal impact on an individual member of the public, but acknowledges that the VIP fee increase may have a greater impact on certain populations, such as low income households, communities of color, and older peo...
	DEQ does not have data to estimate how an increased fee paid by on-site testing auto dealerships will affect the costs of vehicles.  DEQ acknowledges a potential indirect impact on members of the public who purchase vehicles from auto dealerships that...
	Large businesses - businesses with more than 50 employees

	Auto dealerships that participate in the VIP on-site testing program will pay an additional $4 for each certificate of compliance beginning on July 1, 2019.  Approximately 35 dealerships currently participate in the VIP mobile on-site testing program ...
	Businesses that own vehicles in the Portland vehicle inspection area – but not licensed to complete vehicle inspection and maintenance testing as a private fleet - will pay an additional $4 for each certificate of compliance beginning on July 1, 2019.
	Businesses that own vehicles in the Medford vehicle inspection area – but not licensed to complete vehicle inspection and maintenance testing as a private fleet - will pay an additional $5 for each certificate of compliance beginning on July 1, 2019, ...
	Small businesses – businesses with 50 or fewer employees

	Fiscal effects on small businesses will be identical to large businesses.  According to the Oregon Secretary of State Office of Small Business Assistance, 98% of Oregon firms are small businesses and employ over half the state’s workforce.   According...
	 59 to 64 percent of employment in Jackson County
	 34 to 59 percent of employment in Clackamas, Multnomah and Washington Counties.
	a. Estimated number of small businesses and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to proposed rule.

	Auto dealerships that participate in the VIP on-site testing program will pay an additional $4 for each certificate of compliance beginning on July 1, 2019.  Approximately 35 dealerships currently participate in the VIP mobile on-site testing program ...
	b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities, including costs of professional services, required for small businesses to comply with the proposed rule.

	No additional activities are required to comply with the proposed rules. All businesses that participate in the mobile on-site testing already pay fees for each certificate of compliance.
	c. Projected equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for small businesses to comply with the proposed rule.

	No additional resources are required for compliance with the proposed rules. All businesses that participate in the mobile on-site testing already pay fees for each certificate of compliance.
	d. Describe how DEQ involved small businesses in developing this proposed rule.

	DEQ included small business representatives and representatives from auto dealer associations on the VIP Update Rulemaking Committee that advised DEQ on the cost of compliance for small businesses.
	Documents relied on for fiscal and economic impact
	Advisory committee

	Document location
	Document title
	DEQ appointed an advisory committee.
	As ORS 183.33 requires, DEQ asked for the committee’s recommendations on:
	 Whether the proposed rules would have a fiscal impact,
	 The extent of the impact, and
	 Whether the proposed rules would have a significant adverse impact on small businesses; if so, then how DEQ can comply with ORS 183.540 reduce that impact.
	The committee reviewed the draft fiscal and economic impact statement and its findings are documented in the meeting summary dated October 4, 2018.  The committee found that:
	One committee member found that the proposed rules would have a significant adverse impact on small businesses in Oregon and, as ORS 183.333 and 183.540 require, the committee considered how DEQ could reduce the rules’ fiscal impact on small business ...
	 Establishing differing compliance or reporting requirements or time tables for small business;
	 Clarifying, consolidating or simplifying the compliance and reporting requirements under the rule for small business;
	 Utilizing objective criteria for standards;
	 Exempting small businesses from any or all requirements of the rule; or
	 Otherwise establishing less intrusive or less costly alternatives applicable to small business.
	A committee member recommended that DEQ reduce the rules’ fiscal impact on small business by allowing a discount for businesses having multiple vehicles tested.
	DEQ does not have information to calculate the fiscal effects of instituting a volume discount program within the scope of this rulemaking.  However, DEQ will consider this and additional comments received during the public comment period about ways D...
	Housing cost

	As ORS 183.534 requires, DEQ evaluated whether the proposed rules would have an effect on the development cost of a 6,000-square-foot parcel and construction of a 1,200-square-foot detached, single-family dwelling on that parcel. DEQ does not have inf...
	Relationship to federal requirements

	ORS 183.332, 468A.327 and OAR 340-011-0029 require DEQ to attempt to adopt rules that correspond with existing equivalent federal laws and rules unless there are reasons not to do so.
	The proposed rules are not different from or in addition to federal requirements.  The proposed rule revisions simply amend existing rules, some of which implement portions of Oregon’s EPA-approved State Implementation Plan.
	Land-use considerations

	In adopting new or amended rules, ORS 197.180 and OAR 340-018-0070 require DEQ to determine whether the proposed rules significantly affect land use. If so, DEQ must explain how the proposed rules comply with state wide land-use planning goals and loc...
	Under OAR 660-030-0005 and OAR 340 Division 18, DEQ considers that rules affect land use if:
	 The statewide land use planning goals specifically refer to the rule or program, or
	 The rule or program is reasonably expected to have significant effects on:
	o Resources, objectives or areas identified in the statewide planning goals, or
	o Present or future land uses identified in acknowledged comprehensive plans
	To determine whether the proposed rules involve programs or actions that affect land use, DEQ reviewed its Statewide Agency Coordination plan, which describes the DEQ programs that have been determined to significantly affect land use. DEQ considers t...
	Title
	Goal #
	Open Spaces, Scenic and Historic Areas, and Natural Resources
	5
	6
	Ocean Resources
	9
	Public Facilities and Services
	11
	Estuarial Resources
	16
	Statewide goals also specifically reference the following DEQ programs:
	 Nonpoint source discharge water quality program – Goal 16
	 Water quality and sewage disposal systems – Goal 16
	 Water quality permits and oil spill regulations – Goal 19
	Determination

	DEQ determined that these proposed rules do not affect land use under OAR 340-018-0030 or DEQ’s State Agency Coordination Program.
	Advisory committee
	Background

	Stakeholder and public involvement
	DEQ convened the Vehicle Inspection Program Update Rulemaking advisory committee. The committee included representatives from county transportation and health departments, local government, small business, business associations, environmental/public h...
	The committee members attending the October 4, 2018, meeting were:
	Meeting notifications

	Vehicle Inspection Program  Rulemaking 
	Advisory Committee
	To notify people about the advisory committee’s activities, DEQ:
	 Sent GovDelivery bulletins, a free e-mail subscription service, to the following lists:
	 Rulemaking
	 Air Quality Maintenance Plans
	 DEQ Public Notices
	 Diesel and Biodiesel
	 Low Emission/Zero Emission Vehicle Program
	 Oregon Clean Fuels Program
	 Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program
	 Vehicle Inspection Program Updates
	 On September 20, 2018, DEQ sent a one-time notice to 13,724 subscribers to the lists above to describe how to sign up for advisory committee meeting notices.
	 Added advisory committee announcements to DEQ’s calendar of public meetings at DEQ Calendar.
	Committee discussions

	In addition to deliberating and making recommendations described under the Statement of Fiscal and Economic Impact section above, the committee received presentations about VIP and the Clean Air Act; VIP history, operations and budget; and VIP environ...
	Committee discussions and comments, not directly related to fiscal impacts, addressed the following topics:
	 Cost comparison of DEQ VIP program with that provided by a private contractor.
	 Potential costs to contractors if they were to provide VIP testing, including equipment and data management.
	 Use and representativeness of EPA’s EJ Screen for assessing demographic characteristics of areas within VIP boundaries.
	 VIP providing air quality and public health benefits, as well as costs.
	 Generally, the kinds of data DEQ used when setting the most recent VIP boundaries (1994).
	 Degree of DEQToo implementation and application to fleets.
	 Trend of improving vehicle pollution control systems.
	 Assumptions and methods DEQ used in its multipollutant analysis of several control strategies, including VIP.
	 EPA requirements if DEQ was to remove a pollution control strategy from its State Implementation Plan.
	DEQ posted an advisory committee meeting summary on the advisory committee website:  https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/rulemaking/Pages/rvip2019.aspx
	EQC prior involvement

	DEQ shares general rulemaking information with EQC through the monthly Director’s Report.
	Public notice

	Public notice and hearings 
	DEQ provided notice of the proposed rulemaking and rulemaking hearings on January 15 and 28, 2019, by:
	 On December 13, 2018, Filing notice with the Oregon Secretary of State for publication in the January 2, 2019 Oregon Bulletin;
	 Notifying the EPA by email;
	 Posting the Notice, Invitation to Comment and Draft Rules on the web page for this rulemaking, located at: Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019
	 Emailing interested parties on the following DEQ lists through GovDelivery:
	 Rulemaking
	 Air Quality Maintenance Plans
	 DEQ Public Notices
	 Diesel and Biodiesel
	 Low Emission/Zero Emission Vehicle Program
	 Oregon Clean Fuels Program
	 Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program
	 Vehicle Inspection Program Updates
	 Emailing the following key legislators required under ORS 183.335:
	o State Senator Michael Dembrow, Chair, Senate Committee on Environment and Natural Resources
	o State Representative Ken Helm, Chair, House Committee on Energy and Environment
	o State Representative Brad Witt
	o State Senator Lew Frederick
	 Emailing advisory committee members
	 Postings on Twitter and Facebook
	 Posting on the DEQ event calendar: DEQ Calendar
	Public hearings

	DEQ plans to hold two public hearings. The details are listed below. Anyone can attend a hearing in person, or by webinar or teleconference.
	DEQ will consider all written comments received at the hearings listed below before completing the draft rules. DEQ will summarize all comments and respond to comments in the Environmental Quality Commission staff report.
	How to comment on the proposed rules:
	Submit comment online


	DEQ will only consider comments on the proposed rules that DEQ receives by 4 p.m., on Monday, February 4, 2019.
	Vehicle Inspection Program Updates 2019 Rulemaking Comment Page
	Note for public university students:
	By mail

	Oregon DEQ
	Attn: Karen Williams
	700 NE Multnomah St., Room 600
	At the hearing
	Close of public comment period

	The comment period will close 4 p.m. on Monday, February 4, 2019.
	Accessibility Information

	You may review copies of all documents referenced in this announcement at:
	Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
	700 NE Multnomah St., Ste. 600
	Portland, OR, 97232
	To schedule a review of all websites and documents referenced in this announcement, call Karen Williams, DEQ Air Quality Planning Section, 503-229-5519 (800-452-4011, ext. 5622 toll-free in Oregon).
	Please notify DEQ of any special physical or language accommodations or if you need information in large print, Braille or another format. To make these arrangements, contact DEQ, Portland, at 503-229-5696 or call toll-free in Oregon at 1-800-452-4011...
	Draft Rules - With Edits Highlighted
	Key to Identifying Changed Text:
	Deleted Text New/inserted text
	DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

	Division 256
	MOTOR VEHICLES
	340-256-0010 Definitions
	The definitions in OAR 340-200-0020, 340-204-0010, and this rule apply to this division. If this rule defines the same term is defined in this rule and as OAR 340-200-0020 or 340-204-0010, the definition in this rule applies into this division.
	(1) "Basic test" means an inspection and maintenance program designed to measure exhaust emission levels during an unloaded idle or an unloaded raised idle mode as described in OAR 340-256-0340.
	(2) "Carbon dioxideCO2" means a chemical formula representing thea compound consisting of the chemical formula (CO2)carbon dioxide.
	(3) "COCarbon monoxide" means a chemical formula representing thea compound carbon monoxideconsisting of the chemical formula (CO).
	(4) "Certificate of Compliance" means a hard copy or electronic document statingcertification that the vehicle identified on the certificate is equipped with the required functioning motor vehicle pollution control systems and otherwise complies with ...
	(5) "Certified Repair Facility" means an automotive repair facility, possessing a current and valid certificate issued by the Department, that employs automotive technicians certified by the Department's Automotive Technician Emission Training Progra...
	(65) "Clean-Screening" means a procedure by which the DepartmentDEQ determines that a vehicle has acceptable emissions and then allows the vehicle owner to bypass the traditional centralized emissions inspection station test. The DepartmentDEQ's decis...
	(76) "Commission" means the Environmental Quality Commission.
	(8) "Crankcase emissions" means substances emitted directly to the atmosphere from any opening leading to the crankcase of a motor vehicle engine.
	(97) "Dealer" means any person who is engaged wholly or in part in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging, either outright or on conditional sale, bailment lease, chattel mortgage, or otherwise, motor vehicles.
	(108) "Dealership" means a business involved in the sale of vehicles that is franchised with an automobile manufacturer as defined in ORS 650.120(91).
	(119) "DepartmentDEQ" means the Department of Environmental Quality.
	(1210) "Diesel motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle powered by a stratified charge compression-ignition internal combustion engine.
	(1311) "Director" means the director of the DepartmentDEQ.
	(1412) "DMV" means the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division of the Oregon Department of Transportation.
	(15) "Electric vehicle" means a motor vehicle that uses a propulsive unit powered exclusively by electricity.
	(13) “Emissions” means gas or vapor released to the atmosphere from a motor vehicle component or resulting from fuel combustion within a motor vehicle engine.
	(1614) "Emissions Inspection Station" means an inspection facility, operated by the Department of Environmental QualityDEQ or an Independent Contractor, for the purpose of conducting emissions inspections of all vehicles required to be inspected pursu...
	(17) "Enhanced test" means an inspection and maintenance program designed to measure exhaust and fuel evaporative system emissions levels using a loaded transient driving cycle and other measurement techniques as described in OAR 340-256-0350.
	(1815) "Exhaust emissions" means substances emitted into the atmosphere from any opening downstream from of the exhaust ports of a motor vehicle engine.
	(1916) "Factory-installed motor vehicle pollution control system" means a motor vehicle pollution control system installed by the vehicle or engine manufacturer to comply with United States motor vehicle emission control laws and regulations published...
	(17) “Franchised” means a sale entity licensed by the DMV and under an agreement as defined in ORS 650.120(5) to sell motor vehicles.
	(2018) "Gas analytical system" means a device that measures the amount of contaminants in the exhaust emissions of a motor vehicle, and that has been issued a license by the DepartmentDEQ pursuant tounder OAR 340-256-0450 and ORS 468A.380.
	(2119) "Gaseous fuel" meansincludes, but is not limited to, liquefied petroleum gases and natural gases in liquefied or gaseous forms.
	(2220) "Gasoline motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle powered by a spark-ignition internal combustion engine.
	(23) "GPM" means Grams Per Mile.
	(2421) "Gross vehicle weight rating" or "GVWR" means the value specified by the manufacturer as the maximum design loaded weight of a single vehicle.
	(2522) "Heavy duty motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle rated at morewith a GVWR greater than 8,500 pounds GVWR or that has an actual vehicle curb weight as delivered to the ultimate purchaser of 6000 pounds or over.
	(23) “HC” is an abbreviation that means hydrocarbon.
	(2624) "Hydrocarbon gases" means a class of chemical compounds consisting of hydrogen and carbon.
	(2725) "Idle speed" means the unloaded engine speed when accelerator pedal is fully released.
	(26) “Imported vehicle” means a vehicle legally imported from another country through channels other than the maker's official distribution system.
	(2826) "Independent Contractor" means any person with whom the DepartmentDEQ enters into an agreement providing for the construction, equipment, maintenance, personnel, management or operation of emissions inspection stations or activities pursuant to...
	(2927) "Inspection and Maintenance Program or (I/M) Program” means a program of conducting regular inspections of motor vehicles, including measurement of air contaminants in the motor vehicle exhaust and an inspection of emission the motor vehicle po...
	(3028) "In-use motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle that is not a new motor vehicle.
	(3129) "Light-duty motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle rated atwith a GVWR of 8,500 pounds or less GVWR or less and has an actual vehicle curb weight as delivered to the ultimate purchaser of under 6000 pounds.
	(32) "Medford-Ashland Air Quality Maintenance Area (AQMA)" has the meaning given in OAR 340-204-0010.
	(3330) "Model year" means the annual production period of new motor vehicles or new motor vehicle engines designated by the calendar year in which such period ends. If the manufacturer does not designate a production period, the model year with respec...
	(34) "Motorcycle" means any motor vehicle, including mopeds, having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground and having a mass of 680 kilograms (1500 pounds) or less wit...
	(3531) "Motor vehicle" or “vehicle” means any self-propelled vehicle used for transporting persons or commodities on public roads.
	(3632) "Motor vehicle pollution control system" means equipment designed for installation on a motor vehicle for the purpose of reducing the pollutants emitted from the vehicle, or a system or engine adjustment or modification that causes a reduction ...
	(3733) "Motor Vehicle Fleet Operation" means ownership, control, or management or any combination thereof, by any person, of five or more motor vehicles.
	(3834) "New motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle whose equitable or legal title has never been transferred to a person who, in good faith, purchases the motor vehicle for purposes other than resale.
	(39) "Noise level" means the sound pressure level measured by use of metering equipment with an "A" frequency weighting network and reported as dBA.
	(4035) "OBD" and “OBD-II” means the On Board Diagnostic system in a vehicle that tracks the effectiveness of the motor vehicle's emissions pollution control systems. These OBDII (or higher systems) have typically been placed on 1996 and newer motor ve...
	(4136) "OBD Test" means an emissions related test in whichthat downloads diagnostic information from the vehicle's On Board DiagnosticOBD computer is downloaded, supplying diagnostic information to evaluate the effectiveness of the motor vehicle emiss...
	(4237) "On-Site Vehicle Test" means an emissions related test that is conducted at the vehicle owner's location. Such test will be performed by DEQ using DEQ’s test equipment and is only available as a service for automobile dealerships.
	(4338) "Owner" means the person having all the incidents of ownership in a vehicle. Where the incidents of ownership are in different persons, it means the person, other than a security interest holder or lessor, entitled to the possession of a vehicl...
	(4439) "Opacity" means the degree to which transmitted light is obscured, expressed in percent.
	(45) "Oxides of Nitrogen" or NOx means oxides of nitrogen except nitrous oxides.
	(40) “Permanent Fleet Vehicle” means a motor vehicle that the Oregon Department of Transportation identifies with permanent fleet tags, stickers, plates or other identification ODOT determines appropriate.
	(4641) "Person" means any individual, public or private corporation, political subdivision, agency, board, department, or bureau of the state, municipality, partnership, association, firm, trust, estate, or any other legal entity whatsoever that is re...
	(47) "Portland Vehicle Inspection Area" has the meaning given in OAR 340-204-0010.
	(4842) "PPM" means parts per million by volume.
	(4943) "Private Business Fleet" means a group of 100 or more ownership by any person of 100 or more Oregon-registered, in-use, motor vehicles, that are owned by any person, excluding those vehicles held primarily for the purpose of resale.
	(5044) "Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emissions Inspector" means any person employed on a full-time basis by a Private Business Fleet thatwho possesses a current and valid license issued by the DepartmentDEQ pursuant tounder OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS ...
	(51) "Propulsion exhaust noise" means that noise created in the propulsion system of a motor vehicle that is emitted into the atmosphere from any opening downstream from the exhaust ports. This definition does not include exhaust noise from vehicle au...
	(5245) "Public Agency Fleet" means a groupownership of 50 or more government-owned vehicles registered pursuant tounder ORS 805.040.
	(5346) "Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emissions Inspector" means any person employed on a full-time basis by a Public Agency Fleet that possesses a current and valid license issued by the DepartmentDEQ pursuant tounder OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380.
	(5447) "Public roads" means any street, alley, road, highway, freeway, thoroughfare, or section thereof used by the public, or dedicated or appropriated to public use.
	(5548) "Regional Authority" means a regional air quality control authority established under the provisions of ORS 468A.005 to 468A.035, 468A.075, 468A.100 to 468A.130, and 468A.140 to 468A.175.
	(5649) "Remote Sensing" means a technique for determining the level of a vehicle's emissions without connecting equipment directly to the vehicle, done either . The vehicle's emissions can be determined by either optically measuring the pollutants in ...
	(5750) "Ringlemann Smoke Chart" means the Ringlemann Smoke Chart with instructions for use as published in May, 1967, by the U.S. Department of Interior, Bureau of Mines, Information circular 8333.
	(5851) "RPM" means engine crankshaft revolutions per minute.
	(5952) "Self-Service Test Lane" means a technique procedure for vehicle testing offered by the DepartmentDEQ where the vehicle owner or representative driver can perform an emissions test on the vehicle at a facility provided by the DepartmentDEQ usin...
	(60) "Two-stroke cycle engine" means an engine in which combustion occurs, within any given cylinder, once each crankshaft revolution.
	(6153) "Vehicle Emission Inspector" means any person employed by the Department or an Independent Contractor thatwho possesses a current and valid license issued by the Department pursuant tounder OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380.
	(54) “VIN” or “Vehicle Identification Number” means a unique code including a serial number that identifies a specific vehicle.
	(6255) "Visible Eemissions" means those gases or particulates, excluding uncombined water, that separately or in combination are visible upon release to the outdoor atmosphere.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 467.030 & 468A.350 - 468A.400 History: DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert...
	340-256-0100 Visible Emissions: General Requirements, Exclusions
	(1) No A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated any motor vehicle upon a public street or highwayroads that emits into the atmosphere any visible emission.
	(2) Excluded from this rule are those motor vehicles:
	(a) Powered by compression ignition or diesel cycle engines;
	(b) Excluded Granted a variance by written order of the DepartmentDEQ by under ORS 468A.075.
	(3) No A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated any motor vehicle upon a public street or highwayroads if any element of the factory-installed motor vehicle pollution control system has been modified or altered in s...
	NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468, 468A & 815 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0010 DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70,...
	340-256-0110 Visible Emissions: Special Requirements for Excluded Motor Vehicles
	No A person shall may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated upon a public street or highway, any motor vehicle excluded from OAR 340-256-0100 whichthat:
	(1) When operated at an elevation of 3,000 feet or less, emits visible emissions into the atmosphere:
	(a) Of an opacity greater than 40 10 percent; or
	(b) Of an opacity of ten 40 percent or greater for a period exceeding seven consecutive seconds.
	(2) When operated at an elevation of over 3,000 feet, emits visible emissions into the atmosphere:
	(a) Of an opacity greater than 60 20 percent; or
	(b) Of an opacity of 20 60 percent or greater for a period exceeding seven consecutive seconds.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0015 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70
	340-256-0120 Visible Emissions: Uncombined Water — Water Vapor
	Where the presence of uncombined water is the only reason for failure of an emission to meet the requirements of OAR 340-256-0100 or 340-256-0110, such rules shall not apply.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0020 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70
	340-256-0130 Visible Emissions: Motor Vehicle Fleet Operation
	(1) Motor vehicle fleet operation records pertaining to observations, tests, maintenance, and repairs performed to control or reduce visible emissions from individual motor vehicles must be available for DEQ review and inspection by the Department.
	(2) The DepartmentDEQ, by written notice, may require any motor vehicle of a motor vehicle fleet operation to be tested for compliance with OAR 340-256-0100 and 340-256-0110.
	(3) A regional authority, within its territory, may perform the functions of the DepartmentDEQ as set forth in sections (1) and (2) of this rule, upon written directive of the DepartmentDEQ permitting such action.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0025 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70
	340-256-0140 Visible Emissions: Dealer Compliance
	No A dealer shall may not sell, exchange or lease, or offer for sale, exchange, or lease, any motor vehicle which that operates in violation of OAR 340-256-0100 or 340-256-0110, except as permitted by federal regulations published in the Code of Feder...
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0030 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70
	340-256-0150 Visible Emissions: Opacity Method of Measurement
	Only a trained person may make Tthe opacity observation for purposes of OAR 340-256-0100 through 340-256-0140.  A trained person may use a Ringelmann Smoke Chart or DEQ approved opacity equipment to measure emission opacityshall be made by a person tr...
	[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 191-2018, minor correction filed 07/18/2018, effective 07/18/2018 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0035 DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert....
	340-256-0160 Visible Emissions: Alternative Methods of Measuring Visible Emissions
	(1) The DepartmentDEQ may, but is not required to, permit the use of alternative methods of measurement to determine compliance with the visible emissions standards in OAR 340-256-0100 and 340-256-0110 when if DEQ determines that such alternative meth...
	(2) Any person desiring to utilize alternative methods of measurement shall must submit a request to use alternative methods of measurement to the DepartmentDEQ.  A request must include such specifications and test data as the DepartmentDEQ may requir...
	(3) No A person shall may not undertake a program using an alternative method of measurement without having obtained prior written approval of the DepartmentDEQ.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0040 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70
	340-256-0200 Certification of Pollution Control Systems: County Designations
	Pursuant to the requirements of ORS 468A.360, Clackamas, Columbia, Jackson, Marion, Multnomah, Washington and Yamhill counties are hereby designated by the Environmental Quality Commission as counties in which all motor vehicles registered therein, un...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.390 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.390 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0100 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 DEQ 62, f. ...
	340-256-0210 Certification of Pollution Control Systems: Criteria for Certification of Motor Vehicle Pollution Control Systems
	Pursuant to the requirements of ORS 468A.365, the following are This rule documents the criteria for certification of motor vehicle pollution control systems. as defined by ORS 468A.350:,  A motor vehicle pollution control system may be certified unle...
	(1) A motor vehicle pollution control system which necessitateshas equipment not designed for installation on a motor vehicle for the purpose of reducing the pollutants emitted from the vehicle shall not be certified.
	(2) A motor vehicle pollution control system which necessitatesneeds modifications, other than adjustments, to the original design of the motor vehicle shall not be certified.
	(3) A person has replaced the motor vehicle engine and the resulting vehicle chassis is not identical (including all emission related parts, engine design parameters, and engine calibrations) to a certified configuration of the same or newer model yea...
	(a) Conversions to compressed natural gas or liquefied petroleum gasoline (LPG);
	(b) A complete engine or engine conversion kit granted an Executive Order by the California Air Resources Board that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division;
	(c) A complete powertrain on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s "Certified to EPA Standards" list, when the powertrain is used in its entirety and without modification, that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division;
	(d) A foreign-built replacement engine that has a configuration certified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or the California Air Resources Board that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0200 DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 DEQ 66, f. 2-5-74, ef. 2-25-74
	340-256-0220 Compliance With Oregon Low Emission Vehicle Program
	Model years 2009 and newer vehicles that have 7,500 or fewer miles must meet the requirements of Cchapter 340, Ddivision 257 to qualify for a Certificate of Compliance.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 468A.010, 468A.015, 468A.025, 468A.360 & 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468.020 & 468A.365 History: DEQ 6-2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-29-06
	340-256-0310 Emission Control System Inspection: Government-Owned Vehicle, Permanent Fleet Vehicle and United States Government Vehicle Testing Requirements
	(1) All motor vehicles registered as government-owned vehicles under ORS 805.040 that are required to be certifiednot exempted from certification pursuant tounder 815.300 must, as means of that certification, obtain a Certificate of Compliance. Govern...
	(2) All Any motor vehicles registered as a permanent fleet vehicles under ORS 805.120 that are required to be certified pursuant tounder ORS 803.350 and 815.295 to 815.325 must, as means of that certification, obtain a Certificate of Compliance.
	(3) Any motor vehicle that is to be registered under ORS 805.040 or 805.120 but which is not a new motor vehicle must have obtain a Certificate of Compliance issued to it before it is registered, as required by ORS 803.350 and 815.295 to 815.325.
	(4) All motor vehicles owned by the United States Government and operated in the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area or the Medford-Ashland Air Quality Maintenance Area (AQMA) must have obtain a Certificate of Compliance issued to it biennially.
	(a) United States Government tactical military vehicles are not required to be certifiedobtain Certificates of Compliance.
	(b) Federal installations located within the Portland Area Vehicle Inspection Program and the Medford-Ashland AQMA must provide DEQ with a listing to the Department of all federal employee-owned vehicles operated on the installation,  and demonstrate ...
	(5) For the purposes of providing a staggered certification schedule for vehicles registered as government-owned vehicles under ORS 805.040 or permanent fleet vehicles under 805.120, such schedule must, except as provided by section (6) of this rule, ...
	(a) 1 — January;
	(b) 2 — February;
	(c) 3 — March;
	(d) 4 — April;
	(e) 5 — May;
	(f) 6 — June;
	(g) 7 — July;
	(h) 8 — August;
	(i) 9 — September;
	(j) 0 — October;
	(k) Even — even numbered years for vehicles that are tested biennially;
	(l) Odd — odd numbered years for vehicles that are tested biennially.
	(6) In order to accommodate a fleet's scheduled maintenance practices, the DepartmentDEQ may establish grant a request for a specific separate schedule, so long as the schedule provides at least annual or biennial certification,  for vehicles register...
	(7) Every agency or organization owning fleet vehicles described in this rule must report the following information to the DepartmentDEQ, in either electronic or printed form, annually:
	(a) The vehicle make;
	(b) The vehicle model;
	(c) The vehicle identification number (VIN);
	(d) The number of Certificates of Compliance issued; and
	(e) The issuing date on whichof the motor vehicle’s were issued Certificates of Compliance.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.363 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0306 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 ...
	340-256-0320 Emission Control System Inspection: Motor Vehicle Inspection Program Fee Schedule
	This rule sets out the fee schedule for Certificates of Compliance and licenses issued by the DepartmentDEQ’s Vehicle Inspection Program:
	(1) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued by the DepartmentDEQ, including those issued at emissions test stations and those issued through the Clean-Screen and Self-Service Testing procedures, is:
	(a) In the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area, a maximum of $21 until July 1, 2019, and then $25; or
	(b) In the Medford-Ashland Air Quality Maintenance AreaAQMA, a maximum of $10 until July 1, 2019; and then $15 until July 1, 2021; and then $20 until July 1, 2023; and then $25.
	(2) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued by a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet is:
	(a) In the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area is, a maximum of $10; and
	(b) In the Medford-Ashland Air Quality Maintenance AreaAQMA is, a maximum of $5.
	(3) The cost of each License issued to a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet is:
	(a) Initial $5;
	(b) Annual renewal $1.
	(4) The cost of each License issued to a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector is:
	(a) Initial $5;
	(b) Annual renewal $1.
	(5) The cost of each License issued for a Gas Analytical System is:
	(a) Initial $5;
	(b) Annual renewal $1.
	(6) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued on-site to an automobile dealership is a maximum of $26 until July 1, 2019, and then $30.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.400 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.400 History: DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0307 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cer...
	340-256-0330 Emission Control System Inspection: Department of Defense Personnel Participating in the Privately Owned Vehicle Import Control Program
	This rule documents DEQ’s considerations regarding motor vehicle pollution control system requirements for Department of Defense personnel participating in the Privately Owned Vehicle Import Control Program.
	(1) U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) personnel participating in the DOD Privately Owned Vehicle (POV) Import Control Program operating a 1975 or newer model year vehicle, are exempt from the prohibition of ORS 815.305 insofar as it pertains tomay temp...
	(a) The vehicle will be driven to the port and surrendered for export under the above program within ten working days of disconnection, deactivation, or inoperability of the catalytic converter system or exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s); or
	(b) The reconnection, reactivation, or reoperability of the catalytic converter systems and exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s), is madeare reconnected, reactivated or made operable within 10 working days from the time the owner picked up the vehicle at...
	(2) Persons may disconnecting, deactivateing or rendering inoperable any catalytic converter system or exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s) on 1975 or newer model year vehicle of DOD personnel participating in the DOD POV Import Control Program which wil...
	(3) Unless otherwise exempt under this Division, vehicles must be configured as a vehicle certified by the EPA for sale and use within the United States pursuant tounder 40 CFR, part 86, subpart A.
	(4) Documentation shall must be kept with the vehicle at all times while the vehicle is operated in the United States which provides sufficient information to demonstrate compliance with all appropriate qualifications and conditions of this exemption,...
	(a) The unique vehicle identification number (VIN) of the subject vehicle;
	(b) The agency or organization which that employs the owner of the subject vehicle;
	(c) The country to which the owner of the subject vehicle is being transferringed;
	(d) The date(s) when applicable alterations were performed on the subject vehicle;
	(e) The date when the subject vehicle is scheduled to be delivered to the appropriate port for shipment out of the United States; and
	(f) The date when the subject vehicle is picked up from the port of importation upon returning to the United States.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.400 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0308 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96
	340-256-0340 Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle and Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test Method for Basic Program
	This rule documents the general requirements and test sequence for the basic light duty motor vehicle and heavy duty gasoline motor vehicle emission test method.
	(1) General Requirements:
	(a) The vehicle must have a properly affixed and readable VIN.
	(b)DEQ must reject from the testing area Vvehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any other such defect that make conducting is unsafe to allow the emission test unsafeto be conducted must be rejected from the testing area. The iInspector may no...
	(cb) The vehicle transmission must be placed in neutral gear if equipped with a manual transmission or in park position if equipped with an automatic transmission. The hand or parking brake must be engaged. If the brake is defective, then wheel chocks...
	(cd) All accessories are to be turned off.
	(de) The iInspector must einsure that the motor vehicle is equipped with the required functioning motor vehicle pollution control system in accordance with the criteria of OAR 340-256-0380 or 340-256-0390. For vehicles not meeting this these criteria ...
	(fe) Exhaust gas sampling algorithm. The analysis of exhaust gas concentrations will begin 10 seconds after the applicable test mode begins. Exhaust gas concentrations and will be analyzed at a rate of two times per second. The measured value for pass...
	(fg) Pass or /fail determinations. A pass or fail determination will be made for each applicable test mode based on a comparison of the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420 and the measured value for HC and CO and described...
	(gh) Void test conditions. If the measured concentration of CO plus CO2 falls below the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0380 and 340-256-0390, or if the vehicle's engine stalls at any time during the test sequence, the test will end, and an...
	(hi) Multiple exhaust pipes. Exhaust gas concentrations from vehicle engines equipped with multiple exhaust pipes will be sampled simultaneously.
	(ij) The test will be terminated upon reaching the overall maximum test time.
	(2) Test sequence.
	(a) The test sequence will consist of a first-chance test andidle mode, a high idle conditioning mode, and a second chance test idle mode. as follows :
	(a) First-chance idle mode: the engine RPM shall be maintained between 550 and 1300 during the first chance idle mode. The maximum duration of this test shall be 30 seconds.
	(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass, and the test will be terminated.
	(B) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values exceed the applicable gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will fail, and the test will be terminated.
	(b) High idle conditioning mode: If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the test has not been terminated in accordance with (2)(a)(A) or (2)(a)(B) then the engine RPM shall be raised and maintained between 2200 and 2800. The maximum duration of the...
	(c) Second-chance idle mode: If the test has not been terminated in accordance with (2)(a) or (2)(b) then the engine RPM shall be lowered and maintained between 550 and 1300 during the second chance idle mode. The maximum duration of the second-chance...
	(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass, and the test will be terminated.
	(B) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values exceed the applicable gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will fail, and the test will be terminated.
	(C) If, after an elapsed time of 30 seconds, measured values exceed the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will fail, and the test will be terminated.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	(A) The first-chance test, as described in section (3) of this rule, will consist of an idle mode followed by a high-speed mode.
	(B) The second-chance high-speed mode, as described in section (3) of this rule, will immediately follow the first-chance high-speed mode. It will be performed only if the vehicle fails the first-chance test. The second-chance idle mode, as described ...
	(b) The test sequence will begin only after the following requirements are met:
	(A) The vehicle will be tested in as-received condition with the transmission in neutral or park and all accessories turned off. The engine will be at normal operating temperature (as indicated by a temperature gauge, temperature lamp, touch test on t...
	(B) The tachometer will be attached to the vehicle in accordance with the analyzer manufacturer's instructions.
	(C) The sample probe will be inserted into the vehicle's tailpipe to a minimum depth of 10 inches. If the vehicle's exhaust system prevents insertion to this depth, a tailpipe extension will be used.
	(D) The measured concentration of CO plus CO2 will be greater than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0380 and 340-256-0390.
	(3) First-chance test and second-chance high-speed mode. The test timer will start (tt=0) when the conditions specified in section (2)(b) of this rule are met. The first-chance test and second-chance high-speed mode will have an overall maximum test t...
	(a) First-chance idle mode.
	(A) Except for diesel vehicles, the mode timer will start (mt=0) when the vehicle engine speed is between 550 and 1300 rpm. If engine speed exceeds 1300 rpm or falls below 550 rpm, the mode timer will reset to zero and resume timing. The minimum idle ...
	(B) The pass/fail analysis will begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10). A pass or fail determination will be made for the vehicle, and the mode will be terminated as follows:
	(i) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass the idle mode, and the mode will be terminated.
	(ii) The vehicle will fail the idle mode and the mode will be terminated if the provisions of section (3)(a)(B)(i) of this rule are not satisfied within an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30).
	(iii) The vehicle may fail the first-chance and second-chance test will be omitted if no exhaust gas concentration less than 1800 ppm HC is found by an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30).
	(b) First-chance and second-chance high-speed modes. This mode includes both the first-chance and second-chance high-speed modes and follows immediately upon termination of the first-chance idle mode.
	(A) Except for diesel vehicles, the mode timer will reset (mt=0) when the vehicle engine speed is between 2200 and 2800 rpm. If engine speed falls below 2200 rpm or exceeds 2800 rpm for more than two seconds in one excursion or more than six seconds o...
	(B) Ford Motor Company and Honda vehicles. For 1981-1987 model year Ford Motor Company vehicles and 1984-1985 model year Honda Preludes, the pass/fail analysis will begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10) using the following procedure.
	(i) A pass or fail determination, as described below, will be used, for vehicles that passed the idle mode, to determine whether the high-speed test should be terminated before or at the end of an elapsed time of 180 seconds (mt=180).
	(I) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated.
	(II) Restart. If at an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) the measured values are greater than the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle's engine will be shut off for not more than 10 seconds after returning to ...
	(III) If, at any point between an elapsed time of 40 seconds (mt=40) and 60 seconds (mt=60), the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass the high-speed mode,...
	(IV) If, at a point between an elapsed time of 60 seconds (mt=60) and 180 seconds (mt=180), both HC and CO emissions continue to decrease and measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 or 340-256-0420...
	(V) If neither of sections (3)(b)(B)(i)(I), (III) or (IV) of this rule is satisfied by an elapsed time of 180 seconds (mt=180), the vehicle will fail the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated. (ii) A pass or fail determination will be made...
	(V-a) The vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the mode will be terminated at an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), if any measured values of HC and CO exhaust gas concentrations during the high-speed mode are less than or equal to the applicab...
	(V-b) Restart. If at an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) the measured values of HC and CO exhaust gas concentrations during the high-speed mode are greater than the applicable short test standards as described in subsection (1)(b) of this rule, the ...
	(V-c) The vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the mode will be terminated at an elapsed time of 60 seconds (mt=60), if any measured values of HC and CO exhaust gas concentrations during the high-speed mode are less than or equal to the applicab...
	(V-d) If, at a point between an elapsed time of 60 seconds (mt=60) and 180 seconds (mt=180), both HC and CO emissions continue to decrease, and measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 or 340-256-04...
	(V-e) If neither of sections (3)(b)(B)(ii)(I), (III) or (IV) of this rule is satisfied by an elapsed time of 180 seconds (mt=180), the vehicle will fail the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated.
	(C) All other light-duty vehicles. The pass/fail analysis for vehicles not specified in section (3)(b)(B) of this rule will begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10) using the following procedure.
	(i) A pass or fail determination will be used for 1981 and newer model year vehicles that passed the idle mode to determine whether the high-speed mode should be terminated before or at the end of an elapsed time of 180 seconds (mt=180). For pre-1981 ...
	(I) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated.
	(II) If emissions continue to decrease after an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and if, at any point between an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 180 seconds (mt=180), the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards list...
	(III) The vehicle will fail the high-speed mode, and the test will be terminated, if neither of the provisions of section (3)(b)(C)(i)(I) or (II) of this rule is satisfied.
	(ii) A pass or fail determination will be made for 1981 and newer model year vehicles that failed the idle mode and the high-speed mode terminated before or at the end of an elapsed time of 180 seconds (mt=180). For pre-1981 model year vehicles, the d...
	(I) The vehicle will pass the high-speed mode, and the mode will be terminated at an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), if any measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420.
	(II) If emissions continue to decrease after an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and if, at any point between an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 180 seconds (mt=180), the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards list...
	(III) If neither of the provisions of section (3)(b)(C)(ii)(I) or (II) of this rule is satisfied, the vehicle will fail the high speed mode, and the test will be terminated.
	(4) Second-chance idle mode. If the vehicle fails the first-chance idle mode and passes the high-speed mode, the mode timer will reset to zero (mt=0), and a second chance idle mode will commence. The second-chance idle mode will have an overall maximu...
	(a) The engines of 1981-1987 Ford Motor Company vehicles and 1984-1985 Honda Preludes will be shut off for not more than 10 seconds and restarted. The probe may be removed from the tailpipe or the sample pump turned off if necessary to reduce analyzer...
	(b) Except for diesel vehicles, the mode timer will start (mt=0) when the vehicle engine speed is between 550 and 1300 rpm. If the engine speed exceeds 1300 rpm or falls below 550 rpm the mode timer will reset to zero and resume timing. The minimum se...
	(c) The pass/fail analysis will begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10). A pass or fail determination will be made for the vehicle and the second-chance mode will be terminated as follows:
	(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), any measured values are less than or equal to 100 ppm HC and 0.5 percent CO, the vehicle will pass the second-chance idle mode, and the test will be terminated.
	(B) The vehicle will pass the second-chance idle mode, and the test will be terminated at the end of an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) if, before that time, the criteria of paragraph (4)(c)(A) of this rule are not satisfied, and the measured value...
	(C) If neither of the provisions of sections (4)(c)(A) or (B) of this rule is satisfied by an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), the vehicle will fail the second-chance idle mode, and the test will be terminated.
	(5) If the vehicle is capable of being operated with both gasoline and gaseous fuels, then the steps in section (2) of this rule are to be followed so that emission test results are obtained from both fuels.
	(6) If the inspector suspects that the vehicle is emitting propulsion exhaust noise in excess of the noise standards of OAR 340-256-0430, adopted pursuant to ORS 467.030, then a noise measurement will be conducted and recorded while the engine is at t...
	(7) If the vehicle complies with OAR 340-256-0380 through 340-256-0430, ORS 467.030, 468A.350 through 468A.400, 803.350, and 815.295 through 815.325, then, following receipt of the required fees, the Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, ...
	Statutory/Other Authority:  ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 163-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumb...
	340-256-0350 Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test Method for Enhanced Program
	(1) General Requirements.
	(a) Data Collection. The following information must be determined for the vehicle being tested and used to automatically select the dynamometer inertia and power absorption settings:
	(A) Vehicle type: LDPC, LDT1 or LDT2;
	(B) Chassis model year;
	(C) Make;
	(D) Model;
	(E) Gross vehicle weight rating; and
	(F) Number of cylinders, or cubic inch displacement of the engine.
	(b) Ambient Conditions. The ambient temperature, absolute humidity, and barometric pressure must be recorded continuously during the transient driving cycle or as a single set of readings up to 4 minutes before the start of the transient driving cycle.
	(c) Restart. If shut off, the vehicle must be restarted as soon as possible before the test and must be running at least 30 seconds before the transient driving cycle.
	(2) Pre-inspection and Preparation.
	(a) Accessories. The Inspector must ensure that all accessories (air conditioning, heat, defogger, radio, automatic traction control if switchable, etc.) will be turned off.
	(b) Leaks. The vehicle must be inspected for exhaust leaks. Vehicles with leaking exhaust systems will be rejected from testing. Vehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any other such defect that is unsafe to allow the emission test to be conduc...
	(c) Operating Temperature. Vehicles in overheated condition will be rejected from testing.
	(d) Tire Condition. Vehicles will be rejected from testing if the tire cords, bubbles, cuts, or other damage are visible. Vehicles will be rejected that have space-saver spare tires on the drive axle. Vehicles may be rejected that do not have reasonab...
	(e) Ambient Background. Background concentrations of hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, oxides of nitrogen, and carbon dioxide (HC, CO, NOx, and CO2, respectively) will be sampled to determine background concentration of constant volume sampler dilution a...
	(f) Sample System Purge. While a lane is in operation, the CVS will continuously purge the CVS hose between tests, and the sample system will be continuously purged when not taking measurements.
	(g) Negative Values. Negative gram per second readings will be integrated as zero and recorded as such.
	(3) Equipment Positioning and Setting.
	(a) Roll Rotation. The vehicle will be maneuvered onto the dynamometer with the drive wheels positioned on the dynamometer rolls. Before the test begins, the rolls will be rotated until the vehicle laterally stabilizes on the dynamometer. Drive wheel ...
	(b) Purge Equipment. After the vehicle is positioned on the dynamometer, the vehicle gas cap is removed. A replacement cap with a ported hole through the cap is installed on the vehicle and the tubing to duct Helium to vehicle is connected to the port...
	(c) Cooling System. Testing will not begin until the test-cell cooling system is positioned and activated. The cooling system will be positioned to direct air to the vehicle cooling system, but will not be directed at the catalytic converter.
	(d) Vehicle Restraint. Testing will not begin until the vehicle is restrained and, for front-wheel drive vehicles, the parking brake is set.
	(e) Dynamometer Settings. Dynamometer power absorption and inertia weight settings will be automatically chosen from an EPA supplied electronic look-up table that will be referenced based upon the vehicle identification information obtained in section...
	(f) Exhaust Collection System. The exhaust collection system will be positioned to ensure that the entire exhaust stream from the tailpipe is captured during the transient driving cycle.
	(4) Vehicle Emission Test Sequence.
	(a) Transient Driving Cycle. The Oregon enhanced test cycle consists of a single 31-second symmetrical peak with a maximum speed of 30.1 miles per hour (MPH). If the vehicle exceeds the emission standards established in OAR 340-256-0410, additional cy...
	(b) Driving Trace. The Inspector will follow an electronic, visual depiction of the time/speed relationship of the transient driving cycle (hereinafter, the trace). The visual depiction of the trace will be of sufficient magnification and adequate det...
	(c) Shift Schedule. For vehicles with manual transmissions, Inspectors will shift gears according to the following shift schedule: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] Gear shifts will occur at the points in the driving cycle where the specified speeds...
	(d) Speed Excursion Limits. Speed excursion limits will apply as follows:
	(A) The upper limit is 2 mph higher than the highest point on the trace within 1 second of the given time.
	(B) The lower limit is 2 mph lower than the lowest point on the trace within 1 second of the given time.
	(C) Speed variations greater than the tolerances (such as may occur during gear changes) are acceptable provided they occur for no more than 2 seconds on any occasion.
	(D) Speeds lower than those prescribed during accelerations are acceptable provided the vehicle is operated at maximum available power during such accelerations until the vehicle speed is within the excursion limits.
	(E) Exceedances of the limits in (A) through (C) of this section will automatically result in a void test. The station manager can override the automatically void test if the manager determines that the conditions specified in section (4)(d)(D) of thi...
	(e) Speed Variation Limits.
	(A) A linear regression of feedback value on reference value will be performed on each transient driving cycle for each speed using the method of least squares, with the best fit equation having the form: y = mx + b, where:
	(i) y = The feedback (actual) value of speed;
	(ii) m = The slope of the regression line;
	(iii) x = The reference value; and
	(iv) b = The y-intercept of the regression line.
	(B) The standard error of estimate (SE) of y on x will be calculated for each regression line. A transient driving cycle lasting the full 31 seconds that exceeds the following criteria will be void and the test will be repeated:
	(i) SE = 2.0 mph maximum.
	(ii) m = 0.96–1.01.
	(iii) r2 = 0.97 minimum.
	(iv) b = ±2.0 mph.
	(f) Distance Criteria. The actual distance traveled for the transient driving cycle and the equivalent vehicle speed (i.e., roll speed) will be measured. If the absolute difference between the measured distance and the theoretical distance for the act...
	(g) Vehicle Stalls. Vehicle stalls during the test will result in a void and a new test. Three (3) stalls will result in test failure or rejection from testing.
	(h) Dynamometer Controller Check. For each test, the measured horsepower, and inertia if electric simulation is used, will be integrated from 55 seconds to 81 seconds (divided by 26 seconds), and compared with the theoretical road-load horsepower (for...
	(i) Inertia Weight Selection. Operation of the inertia weight selected for the vehicle will be verified as specified in OAR 340-256-0460. For systems employing electrical inertia simulation, an algorithm identifying the actual inertia force applied du...
	(j) Constant Volume Sampling (CVS) Operation. The CVS operation will be verified for each test for a Critical Flow Venturi (CFV) type CVS by measuring either the absolute pressure difference across the venturi or measuring the blower vacuum behind the...
	(k) Fuel Economy. For each test, the health of the overall analysis system will be evaluated by checking a test vehicle's fuel economy for reasonableness, relative to upper and lower limits, representing the range of fuel economy values normally encou...
	(5) Emission Measurements. The emission analysis system will sample and record dilute exhaust HC, CO, CO2, and NOx during the transient driving cycle.
	(6) If it is determined that the vehicle complies with OAR 340-256-0400 and ORS 815.310 through 815.325, then, after receiving the required fees, the Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, or...
	[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.363 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 164-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-...
	340-256-0355 Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for OBD Test Program
	This rule documents the general requirements and test sequence for the light or heavy-duty vehicle OBD test method. The OBD test must be performed in accordance with the Vehicle Inspection Program Inspection and Maintenance Policies and Procedure Numb...
	(1) General Requirements:
	(a) DEQ must reject from the testing area vehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any other such defect that make conducting the emission test unsafe. The inspector may not conduct the emissions test until the defects are corrected.
	(b) Light duty gasoline vehicles must be 1996 and newer model years.
	(c) Light duty diesel vehicles must be 1997 and newer model years.
	(d) Heavy duty gasoline vehicles must be 2013 and newer model years and equipped with an OBD-II compliant or newer OBD system.
	(e) The vehicle must have a properly affixed and readable VIN.
	(f) The vehicle’s OBD system must match the original manufacturer’s information and must communicate with DEQ’s OBD analytical equipment.
	(A) All 2005 and subsequent model year light duty vehicles must have the VIN included in the vehicle OBD information.
	(B) All 2013 and subsequent model year heavy-duty vehicles must have the VIN included in the vehicle OBD information.
	(g) If an Original Equipment Manufacturer LPG powered vehicle, model year 1996 through 2004, has a DEQ-recognized OBD manufacture defect, DEQ will follow the idle emission testing criteria of OAR 340-256-0340, OAR 340-256-0380, OAR 340-256-0390, OAR 3...
	(2) Test criteria:
	(a) Gasoline powered motor vehicles from model years 1996 to 2000 are allowed two unready monitors; 2001 and newer vehicles are allowed one unready monitor.
	(b) Diesel powered motor vehicles from 1997 to 2008 are not allowed any unready monitors; 2009 and newer model year diesel powered motor vehicles are allowed one unready monitor.
	(c) A vehicle which previously failed with either a catalyst or evaporative Diagnostic Trouble Code must have their respective monitor in a ready status to pass a subsequent retest. The vehicle will be allowed one or two unready monitors depending on ...
	(d) Vehicle OBD systems deviating from manufacturer’s design or intended operation will fail for:
	(A) Malfunctions of the OBD systems triggering the Malfunction Indicator Light commanded on.
	(B) A missing, broken or inaccessible Data Link Connector port.
	(C) Low or missing vehicle battery voltage from the Data Link Connector port.
	(D) Vehicle OBD data that does not match original manufacturer’s OBD data.
	(E) The OBD system VIN does not match the vehicle VIN labeling unless recognized by DEQ as a known unresolvable manufacture defect.
	(F) The OBD system fails to properly communicate.
	(e) When light duty 1996 – 1998 vehicles that DEQ knows have manufacture readiness issues have three or more unready monitors and do not fail OBD systems criteria in section (2)(d)(A-F), DEQ will test those vehicles with a basic test following OAR 340...
	(3) The Director or the Director’s delegate may grant a waiver from one or more of the requirements or criteria listed in sections (1) and (2) for vehicle classes that DEQ determines present prohibitive inspection problems meeting the requirements or ...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 History: DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00
	340-256-0356 Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for On-Site Vehicle Testing for Automobile Dealerships
	This rule documents the on-site motor vehicle emissions test method for automobile dealerships. The on-site vehicle test will be performed in accordance with OAR 340-256-0355. the Vehicle Inspection Program Inspection and Maintenance Policies and Proc...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380(1)(c) Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 History: DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01
	340-256-0357 Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for Clean-Screening Testing Program
	This rule documents the Clean-Screening test method.
	(1) The DepartmentDEQ may evaluate emissions of vehicles on the roadway using an optical attenuation method of observing actual pollutant emissions, remotely received electronic broadcasts of the vehicles’ emissions diagnostic data, or other means app...
	(2) A vehicle that meets the DepartmentDEQ’s emissions standards for on-road testing within a time period not to exceed one year from its required registration date will be issued a Ccertificate of Ccompliance without being required to pass the emissi...
	(3) Before implementing Clean-Screening Testing under this rule, the DepartmentDEQ must establish specific testing processes, in the Department’s policies, and procedures documents, including:
	(a) The test technique to be used for On-Road Clean-Screening Testing;
	(b) The valid test period of On-Road Clean-Screening Testing;
	(c) Procedures for identifying an on-road vehicle;
	(d) Procedures for protecting the test process from vandalism and cheating; and
	(e) Testing standards for Clean-Screening testing.
	(4) If the DepartmentDEQ uses the optical attenuation method for Clean-Screening Testing, 1975 and newer model year vehicles are eligible for Clean-Screening testing. If the DepartmentDEQ uses broadcast data from vehicles’ emissions diagnosticODB syst...
	(5) The DepartmentIf DEQ  may develops and implements additional test methods for use in the Clean-Screening Testing program, . Before implementing such test methods, the DepartmentDEQ must develop documentation that such method will provide equal or ...
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.380(1)(c) Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.420 History: DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03
	340-256-0358 Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for Self-Service Testing Program
	This rule documents the Self-Service test method.
	(1) The DepartmentDEQ may provide a testing method whereby the vehicle owner or his or hertheir representative will perform the emissions test. The test performed will be either a remote sensing optical quantification of the tailpipe pollutants, a rem...
	(2) Before implementing Self-Service Testing under this rule, the DepartmentDEQ must establish specific Self-Service Testing processes in the DepartmentDEQ’s policies and procedures documents, including:
	(a) The test techniques to be used for Self-Service Testing;
	(b) Procedures for identifying the Self-Service Test vehicle that will be subjected to Self-Service testing;
	(c) Procedures for protecting the Self-Service test process from vandalism and cheating; and
	(d) Testing standards for the Self-Service technique that will be used.
	(3) If the DepartmentDEQ uses the optical attenuation method for Self-Service Testing, 1975 and newer model year vehicles are eligible for Self-Service Testing. If the DepartmentDEQ uses broadcast data or hardwire cable connection from vehicles’ emiss...
	(4) The DepartmentIf DEQ  may develops and implements additional test methods for use in the Self-Service Testing program, . Before implementing such test methods, the DepartmentDEQ must develop documentation that such method will provide equal or gre...
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.380(1)(c) Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.420 History: DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03
	340-256-0360 Emission Control System Inspection: Motorcycle Noise Emission Control Test Method
	(1) The vehicle is to be in neutral gear with the brake engaged. If the vehicle has no neutral gear, the rear wheel shall be at least two inches clear of the ground.
	(2) The engine is to be accelerated to a speed equal to 45 percent of the red line speed. Redline speed is the lowest numerical engine speed included in the red zone on the motorcycle tachometer. If the redline speed is not available, the engine shall...
	(3) If it is judged that the vehicle may be emitting propulsion exhaust noise in excess of the noise standards of OAR 340-256-0430, adopted pursuant to ORS 467.030, then a noise measurement is to be conducted and recorded while the engine is at the sp...
	(4) If it is determined that the vehicle complies with OAR 340-256-0430, then, following receipt of the required fees, the Vehicle Emission Inspector shall issue the required Certificates of Compliance.
	(5) No Certificate of Compliance shall be issued unless the vehicle complies with all requirements of OAR 340-256-0300 through 340-256-0450 and those applicable provisions of ORS 467.030, 468A.350 to 468A.400, 803.350, and 815.295 to 815.325.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 467.030 History: DEQ 165-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0314 DEQ 25-1996, f....
	340-256-0370 Emission Control System Inspection: Renewal of Registration for Light Duty Motor Vehicles and Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicles Temporarily Operating Outside of Oregon
	Vehicles registered in the boundaries described in OAR 340-204-0080Portland Vehicle Inspection Area and Medford-Ashland AQMA that are being and operated in another state and are at an address located at least 150 miles outside the Oregon border shall ...
	(1) For vehicles operated within another Environmental Protection Agency approved Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) program area, the Department of Environmental QualityDEQ shall establish reciprocity provisions to ensure motor vehicle compliance with ...
	(2) For vehicles operated in another state, but not within another Environmental Protection Agency approved Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) area, the Department of Environmental QualityDEQ shall issue a temporary exemption from Oregon I/M Program tes...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0318 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94
	340-256-0380 Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test Criteria for Basic Program
	This rule documents the Basic Test criteria for light duty motor vehicles.
	(1) No A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the vehicle exhaust system leaks in such a manner as to dilute the exhaust gas being sampled by the gas analytical system. For the purpose of the emission control tests conducted at state faciliti...
	(2) No A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the engine idle speed exceeds the manufacturer's idle speed specifications by over 200 RPM.
	(3)(a) No A vehicle emission control test for a 1975 or newer model year vehicle is not valid if the gas cap or catalyst has been disconnected, plugged, or otherwise made inoperative in violation of ORS 815.305(1), except as noted in ORS 815.305(2) or...
	(b) The DepartmentDEQ may provide alternative criteria for those required under subsection (a) of this section if it determines that the component or an acceptable alternative is unavailable. Such alternative criteria may be granted on the basis of th...
	(c) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part (including a rebuilt part) as a replacement part is not a violation of ORS 815.305 if a reasonable basis exists for knowingDEQ determines that such use will not adversely affect emission control...
	(d) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part or system as an add-on, auxiliary, augmenting, or secondary part of system, is not a violation of ORS 815.305 if such part or system has an Executive Order is on the list of "Modifications to Mo...
	(e) Adjustments or alterations of particular part or system parameter, if done for purposes of maintenance or repair according to the vehicle or engine manufacturer's instructions, are not violations of ORS 815.305.
	(4) A 1981 or newer model year vehicle that has been converted to operate on gaseous fuels is not in violation of ORS 815.305 when elements of the factory-installed motor vehicle air pollution control system are disconnected for the purpose of convers...
	(5) For a 1975 through 1980 model year vehicle in which the original engine has been replaced, if either the vehicle body or chassis original engine (per registration or title) or replacement engine (as manufactured) had a catalytic converter system, ...
	(6) For a 1981 or newer model year vehicle in which the original engine has been replaced, the emission test standards and applicable emissions control equipment for the year, make, and model of the vehicle body or chassis (per registration or title) ...
	(7) For those vehicles registered or titled as a 1981 or newer model year that were assembled by other than a licensed motor vehicle manufacturer, such as an Assembled, Reconstructed, or Replica Vehicle, Department DEQ personnel must determine the app...
	(8) An imported nonconforming motor vehicle that has been imported under a certificate of conformity or modification/test procedure pursuant tounder 40 CFR Part 85, Subpart P, or has been granted an exemption under 40 CFR § 85.1511, must comply with t...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 166-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbe...
	340-256-0390 Emission Control System Inspection: Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test Criteria
	This rule documents the heavy duty gasoline motor vehicle emission test criteria.
	(1) No A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the vehicle exhaust system leaks in such a manner as to dilute the exhaust gasemissions being sampled by the gas analytical system. For the purpose of emission control tests conducted at state fac...
	(2) No A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the engine idle speed exceeds 1300 RPM.
	(3)(a) No A vehicle emission control test for a 1981 or newer model vehicle is not valid if the gas cap or catalyst has been disconnected, plugged, or otherwise made inoperative in violation of ORS 815.305(1), except as noted in 815.305(2).
	(b) The DepartmentDEQ may provide alternative criteria for those required under subsection (a) of this section if it determines that the component or an acceptable alternative is unavailable. Such alternative criteria may be granted on the basis of th...
	(c) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part (including a rebuilt part) as a replacement part is not a violation of ORS 815.305, if a reasonable basis exists for knowingDEQ determines that such use will not adversely affect emission contro...
	(d) The use of a nonoriginal equipment aftermarket part or system as an add-on, auxiliary, augmenting, or secondary part or system is not a violation of ORS 815.305, if such part or system is listed on the Department’s exemption list;
	(de) Adjustments or alterations of a particular part or system parameter, if done for purposes of maintenance or repair according to the vehicle or engine manufacturer's instructions, are not violations of ORS 815.305.
	(4) A 1981 or newer model motor vehicle that has been converted to operate on gaseous fuels is in violation of ORS 815.305 if elements of the factory-installed motor vehicle air pollution control system are disconnected for the purpose of conversion t...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 167-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbe...
	340-256-0400 Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards for Basic Program
	This rule documents the standards not to be exceeded for light duty motor vehicles that undergo the Basic emission test.
	(1) Light Duty Diesel Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: All — 1.5% CO; there is no — No HC Checkstandard.
	(2) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: Two-Stroke Cycle: All — 7.0% CO — No HC Check.
	(23) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: Four-Stroke Cycle — Passenger Cars:
	(a) 1975–1980 Model Year:
	(A) With Catalyst: All 1.0% CO and— 220 ppm HC;
	(B) Without Catalyst: All 2.5% CO and— 300 ppm HC.
	(b) 1981 and Newer Model Year: All:
	(A) aAt idle — 1.0% CO — and 220 ppm HC;
	(B) At 2,500 RPM — 1.0% CO — 220 ppm HC.
	(43) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards — Light Duty Trucks:
	(a) 6,000 GVWR or less:
	(A) 1975–1980 Model Year:
	(i) With Catalyst: All — 1.0% CO and— 220 ppm HC;
	(ii) Without Catalyst: All — 2.5% CO and— 300 ppm HC.
	(B) 1981 and Newer Model Year: All:
	(i) aAt idle — 1.0% CO and— 220 ppm HC;
	(ii) At 2,500 rpm — 1.0% CO — 220 ppm HC.
	(b) 6,001 to 8,500 GVWR:
	(A) 1975–1978 Model Year: All — 2.5% CO and— 300 ppm HC;
	(B) 1979–1980 Model Year:
	(i) With Catalyst: All — 1.0% CO and— 220 ppm HC;
	(ii) Without Catalyst: All — 2.5% CO and— 300 ppm HC.
	(C) 1981 and Newer: All:
	(i) aAt idle — 1.0% CO — and 220 ppm HC;
	(4) Gross CO emissions exceed the applicable model year CO standard by a factor of one and one-half (1.5).
	(5) Gross HC emissions exceed the applicable model year HC standard by a factor of three (3).
	(ii) At 2,500 rpm — 1.0% CO — 220 ppm HC.
	(56) There shall be no visible Visible emissions must not occur during the steady-state unloaded and raised rpm engine idle portions of the a gasoline engine emission test from either the vehicle’s exhaust system or the engine crankcase. In the case o...
	(76) The Director or Director’s delegate may establish specific separategrant a waiver from standards, differing from those  listed in sections (1)–(56) of this rule for vehicle classes which that DEQ determines are determined to present prohibitive i...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 168-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0330 DEQ 25-1996, ...
	340-256-0410 Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards for Enhanced Program
	(1) Grams Per Mile (GPM) for Light Duty Passenger Cars (LDPC):
	(a) Model Year — 1996 and Newer:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 0.9;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 20;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 2.25.
	(b) Model Year — 1983–1995:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 30;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 3.00.
	(c) Model Year — 1981–1982:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 60;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 3.00.
	(2) Grams Per Mile (GPM) for Light Duty Truck 1 (LDT1) 6,000 GVWR or Less:
	(a) Model Year — 1996 and Newer 3750 Loaded Vehicle Weight or Less:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 0.9;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 20;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 2.25.
	(b) Model Year — 1996 and Newer 3751 Loaded Vehicle Weight or More:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 26;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 2.70.
	(c) Model Year — 1988–1995:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 2.4;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 80;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 3.75.
	(d) Model Year — 1984–1987:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 2.4;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 80;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 6.75.
	(e) Model Year — 1981–1983:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 5.1;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 140;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 6.75.
	(3) Grams Per Mile (GPM) for Light Duty Truck 2 (LDT2) 6,001 to 8500 GVWR:
	(a) Model Year — 1996 and Newer 5750 Loaded Vehicle Weight or Less:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 26;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 2.70.
	(b) Model Year — 1996 and Newer 5751 Loaded Vehicle Weight or More:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 1.2;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 30;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 3.00.
	(c) Model Year — 1988–1995:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 2.4;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 80;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 5.25.
	(d) Model Year — 1984–1987:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 2.4;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 80;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 6.75.
	(e) Model Year — 1981–1983:
	(A) Hydrocarbons (HC) — 5.1;
	(B) Carbon Monoxide(CO) — 140;
	(C) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) — 6.75.
	(4) The Director may establish specific separate standards, differing from those listed in sections (1)–(3) of this rule for vehicle classes which are determined to present prohibitive inspection problems using the listed standards.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.363 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0332 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96
	340-256-0420 Emission Control System Inspection: Heavy-Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards
	This rule documents the standards not to be exceeded for heavy duty gasoline vehicle emission tests.
	(1) Carbon monoxideCO idle emission values not to be exceeded:
	(a) 1975–1978 Model Year: 4.0%;
	(b) 1979 and Newer Model Year without catalyst: 3.0%;
	(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 1.0%.
	(2) Gross CO emissions exceed the applicable model year CO standard by a factor of one and one-half (1.5).
	(2) Carbon Monoxide nominal 2,500 rpm emission values not to be exceeded:
	(a) 1975 and Newer Model Year without catalyst with carburetor: 3.0%;
	(b) 1975 and Newer Model Year without catalyst with fuel injection: No Check;
	(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 1.0%.
	(3) Hydrocarbon idle emission values not to be exceeded:
	(a) 1975–1978 Model Year: 500 PPM;
	(b) 1979 and Newer Model Year without catalyst: 350 PPM;
	(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 220 PPM.
	(4) Gross HC emissions exceed the applicable model year HC standard by a factor of three (3).
	(4) Hydrocarbon nominal 2,500 rpm emission values not be exceeded: 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 220 PPM.
	(5) There shall be no vVisible emission must not occur during the steady-state unloaded engine idle and raised rpm portion of the emission test from either the vehicle’s exhaust system or the engine crankcase.
	(6) The Director may establish specific separategrant a waiver from standards, differing from those listed in sections (1)–(4) of this rule for vehicle classes which arethat DEQ determinesd to present prohibitive inspection problems using meeting the ...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0335 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 DEQ 16-1993, f. ...
	340-256-0430 Emission Control System Inspection: Motor Vehicle Propulsion Exhaust Noise Standards
	(1) Light duty motor vehicle propulsion exhaust noise levels not to be exceeded as measured at no less than 20 inches from any opening to the atmosphere downstream from the exhaust ports of the motor vehicle engine: Vehicle — Type Maximum Allowable No...
	(a) All front-engine vehicles — 93 dBA;
	(b) All rear- and midengine vehicles — 95 dBA.
	(2) Motorcycle propulsion exhaust noise levels not to be exceeded as measured at no less than 20 inches from any opening to the atmosphere downstream from the exhaust ports of the motorcycle engine: Model Year — Maximum Allowable Noise Level:
	(a) Pre-1976 — 102 dBA;
	(b) 1976 and newer — 99 dBA.
	(3) The Director may establish specific separate standards, differing from those listed in sections (1) and (2) of this rule, for vehicle classes which are determined to present prohibitive inspection problems using the listed standard.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 467.030 & 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 467.030 History: DEQ 169-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0337 DEQ 25-1996, f....
	340-256-0440 Emission Control System Inspection: Criteria for Qualifications of Persons Eligible to Inspect Motor Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Pollution Control Systems and Execute Certificates
	(1) Five separate classes of licenses are established as follows:
	(a) Private Business Fleet;
	(b) Public Agency Fleet;
	(c) Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector;
	(d) Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector;
	(e) Vehicle Emission Inspector.
	(2) License Aapplicantstion for a license must be completed on a form that DEQ providesd by the Department.
	(3)(a) Each fleet’s license is valid for not more than a one-year period and expires on December 31 of each year unless revoked, suspended, or returned to the DepartmentDEQ;
	(b) Each Inspector’s license is valid for not more than a two-years period and expires on December 31 of every other year unless revoked, suspended, or returned to the DepartmentDEQ.
	(4) The DepartmentDEQ will not issue any license until the applicant has fulfilled all requirements and paid the required fee.
	(5) No A license is not transferable.
	(6) Each DEQ may renew a license if the applicant submits an application and renewal fee may be renewed upon application and receipt of renewal fee if the application for renewal is made within the 30 -days period prior to before the license’s expirat...
	(7) A license DEQ may be suspended, revoked, or not renewed a license if the licensee has violated this Division, or  ORS 468A.350 to 468A.400, or 815.295 to 815.325.
	(8) A Private Business Vehicle Emission Inspector or Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector license is valid only for inspection of and execution of Certificates of Compliance for motor vehicle pollution control systems and motor vehicles of t...
	(9) To initially receive or renew a license as a Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector or a Vehicle Emission Inspector, the applicant must be an employee of a Private Business Fleet, a Publ...
	(a) Training.
	(A) Inspector training must include the following subjects:
	(i) The air pollution problems, its causes and effects;
	(ii) The purpose, function and goal of the inspection program;
	(iii) Inspection regulations and procedures;
	(iv) Technical details of the test procedure and the rationale for their design;
	(v) Test equipment operation, calibration and maintenance;
	(vi) Emission control device function, configuration and inspection;
	(vii) Quality control procedures and their purpose;
	(viii) Public relations;
	(ix) Safety and health issues related to the inspection process; and
	(x) OBD test systems.
	(B) In order to complete the training requirement, a trainee must pass (minimum of 80% correct responses) a written test covering all aspects of the training. In addition, a hands-on test must be administered in which the trainee demonstrates without ...
	(b) Licensing and certification.
	(A) All InspectorsDEQ must be either licensed or certifyied by the Department in order toall inspectors before they may perform official inspections.
	(B) Completion of Inspector training and passing required tests is a condition of licensing or certification.
	(C) Inspector licenses and certificates are valid for no more than 2 years, at which point refresher training and testing are required before renewal. Alternative approaches based on more comprehensive skill examination and determination of Inspector ...
	(D) Licenses and certificates are not a legal right, but rather, are a privilege bestowed by the Department and conditional upon adherence to Department DEQ requirements.
	(c) Enforcement against Inspectors.: Any violations of procedures in this Division are subject to the DepartmentDEQ’s enforcement procedures.
	(A) Whenever an Inspector intentionally improperly passes a vehicle for any required portion of the test, the Department will either suspend the Inspector for at least 6 months or assess a penalty equivalent to the Inspector’s salary for the same tim...
	(B) License or certificate suspension or revocation means prohibits the individual is barred from direct or indirect involvement in any inspection operation during the term of the suspension or revocation.
	(10) To be licensed as a Private Business Fleet or a Public Agency Fleet, the applicant must:
	(a) Employ on a full time basis a Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; or;
	(b) Employ on a full time basis a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; and
	(c) Be equipped with an gas analytical system complying with criteria established in OAR 340-256-0450 or 340-256-0460.;
	(d) Be equipped with a sound level meter conforming to “Requirements for Sound Measuring Instruments and Personnel” (NPCS-2) manual, revised September 15, 1974, of this Department.
	(de) If 1996 and newer model year light duty vehicles are a part of the self-inspected fleet of vehicles, the fleet must be equipped by January 1, 2001 with a scan tool for downloading vehicle OBD emissions data with criteria established in OAR 340-25...
	(11) No A person licensed as a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet may not advertise or represent himself themselves as being licensed to inspect motor vehicles to determine compliance with the criteria and standards of OAR 340-256-0380 and ...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 History: DEQ 170-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from ...
	340-256-0450 Emission Control System Inspection: Gas Analytical System Licensing Criteria for Basic Program
	This rule documents licensing criteria for use of gas analytical systems in the Basic test method.
	(1) Test equipment. Computerized test systems are required equipment for performing any measurement on subject vehicles. Performance features of computerized test systems. The test equipment  shall must be certified to meet the requirements and perfor...
	(a) Emission test equipment shall must be capable of testing all subject vehicles and shall be updated from time to time to accommodate new technology vehicles as well as changes to the Vehicle InspectionOregon I/M Program.
	(b) At a minimum, emission test equipment must be:
	(A) Shall be Aautomated to the highest degree commercially available to minimize the potential for intentional fraud and/or human error;
	(B) Shall be Ssecure from tampering and/or abuse;
	(C) Shall be Bbased upon written specifications; and
	(D) Shall Cbe capable of simultaneously sampling dual exhaust vehicles.
	(c) The vehicle owner or driver mustshall be provided with a computer-generated record of test results, including all of the items listed in 40 CFR Part 85, subpart W, as being required on the test record. The test report shall must include:
	(A) A vehicle description, including license plate number, vehicle identification numberVIN, and odometer reading;
	(B) The date and time of the test;
	(C) The name or identification number of individual(s) performing the tests and the location of the test station and lane;
	(D) The type of test performed, including emission tests, visual checks for the presence of emission control components, and functional, evaporative checks;
	(E) The applicable test standards;
	(F) A statement indicating the availability of warranty coverage as required in section 207 of the Clean Air Act (1990);
	(G) Certification that tests were performed in accordance with the regulations of this Division; and
	(H) For vehicles that fail the tailpipe emission test, information on the possible causes of the specific pattern of high emission levels found during the test.
	(2) Functional characteristics of computerized test systems. The test system is composed of emission measurement devices and other motor vehicle test equipment controlled by a computer.
	(a) The test system mustshall automatically:
	(A) Make a pass or /fail decision for all measurements;
	(B) Record test data to an electronic medium;
	(C) Conduct regular self-testing of recording accuracy;
	(D) Perform electrical calibration and system integrity checks before each test, as applicable; and
	(E) Initiate system lockouts for:
	(i) Tampering with security aspects of the test system;
	(ii) Failing to conduct or pass periodic calibration or leak checks; and
	(iii) A full data recording medium or one that does not pass a cyclical redundancy check.
	(b) The test system mustshall einsure accurate data collection by limiting, cross-checking; and/or confirming manual data entry.
	(3) Gas analytical systems used by Private Business Fleets or Public Agency Fleets must meet the criteria established in this rule by not later than January 1, 1998.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0355 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 DEQ 16-1993, f. ...
	340-256-0460 Emission Control System Inspection: Gas Analytical System Licensing Criteria for Enhanced Program
	(1) Light Duty vehicles described in OAR 340-256-0300(1)(a)(B) may be tested with a gas analytical system that meets the equipment specification described in the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) High-Tech I/M Test Procedures, Emissi...
	(2) Alternatively, gas analytical systems meeting the EPA “Inspection Grade” (IG) criteria may be utilized. This system, capable of duplicating the IM240 driving cycle, consists of four main pieces of equipment:
	(a) Computer system;
	(b) Infrared exhaust gas analyzer capable of measuring at least CO, CO2, HC and NOx;
	(c) CVS system to capture exhaust flow during testing needed to convert the grams per mile readings and fuel economy; and
	(d) A dynamometer capable of simulating the IM240 driving cycle.
	(3) Gas analytical systems used by Private Business Fleets or Public Agency Fleets must meet the criteria established in this rule by not later than July 1, 1998.
	[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0357 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96
	340-256-0465 Emission Control System Inspection: Test Equipment Licensing Criteria for OBD Test Program
	This equipment must contain the standard terminal Diagnostic Link Connector for OBD systems and be capable of the following:
	(1) Making an automatic pass/fail decision based on malfunction indicator light observations and vehicle OBD system download;.
	(2) Transferring electronic vehicle test result to the VIP central data server for emissions data;.
	(3) Meeting additional fleet operations specifications as DEQ prescribesd by the Department.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 History: DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00
	340-256-0470 Emission Control System Inspection: Agreement With Independent Contractor; Qualifications of Contractor; Agreement Provisions
	(1) The Director is authorized to enter into an emissions inspection agreement with one or more independent contractors, subject to public bidding, to provide for the construction, equipment, establishment, maintenance and operation of any emissions i...
	(2) The Director is prohibited from entering into an emissions inspection agreement with any independent contractor who:
	(a) Is engaged in the business of manufacturing, selling, maintaining or repairing vehicles, except that the independent contractor shall not be precluded from maintaining or repairing any vehicle owned or operated by the independent contractor;
	(b) Does not have the capability, resources or technical and management skill to adequately construct, equip, operate or maintain a sufficient number of emissions inspection stations to meet the demand for inspection of every vehicle which is required...
	(3) All persons employed by the independent contractor in the performance of an emissions inspection agreement are employees of the independent contractor and not of this state. An employee of the independent contractor shall not wear any badge, insig...
	(4) The emissions inspection agreement authorized by this rule shall contain at least the following provisions:
	(a) A contract term or duration of not more than ten years with reasonable compensation to the contractor if the provisions of this rule are repealed during the ten-year term;
	(b) That nothing in the agreement or contract requires the state to purchase any asset or assume any liability if such agreement or contract is not renewed;
	(c) The minimum requirements for adequate staff, equipment, management and hours and place of operation of emissions inspection stations;
	(d) The submission of such reports and documentation concerning the operation of emissions inspection stations as the Director and the Attorney General may require;
	(e) Surveillance by the Department of Environmental Quality and the Department of Administrative Services to ensure compliance with vehicle emissions testing standards, procedures, rules and laws;
	(f) The right of this state, upon providing reasonable notice to the independent contractor, to terminate the contract with the independent contractor and to assume operation of the vehicle emissions inspection program;
	(g) The right of this state upon termination of the term of the agreement or upon assumption of the operation of the program to have transferred and assigned to it for reasonable compensation any interest in land, buildings, improvements, equipment, p...
	(h) The right of this state upon termination of the term of the agreement or assumption of the operation of the program to have transferred and assigned to it any contract rights, and related obligations, for land, buildings, improvements, equipment, ...
	(i) The obligation of the independent contractors to provide in any agreement to be executed by them, and to maintain in any agreements previously executed by them, for land, buildings, improvements, equipment, parts, tools and services used in their ...
	(j) The amounts of liquidated damages payable by this state to the independent contractor if the state exercises its right to terminate the contract at the conclusion of the first, second, third or fourth year of the contract pursuant to section (f) o...
	(k) Any other provision deemed necessary by the Department of Administrative Services for enforcement of the emissions inspection agreement.
	(5) In conjunction with the Attorney General and the Department of Administrative Services, the Department of Environmental Quality shall establish bid specifications or contract terms for a contract with an independent contractor as provided in this ...
	(6) Before entering into any contract the Director shall inquire into the marketplace of independent contractors and based upon this review shall select the independent contractor who in the sole discretion of the Director is best qualified to perform...
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020 & 468A.363 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.363 History: DEQ 171-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0360 DEQ 25-1996, f...
	DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

	Draft Rules - With Edits Incorporated
	Division 256
	MOTOR VEHICLES
	340-256-0010 Definitions
	The definitions in OAR 340-200-0020, 340-204-0010, and this rule apply to this division. If this rule defines the same term as OAR 340-200-0020 or 340-204-0010, the definition in this rule applies in this division.
	(1) "Basic test" means an inspection and maintenance program designed to measure exhaust emission levels during an unloaded idle mode as described in OAR 340-256-0340.
	(2) "CO2" means a chemical formula representing the compound carbon dioxide.
	(3) "CO" means a chemical formula representing the compound carbon monoxide.
	(4) "Certificate of Compliance" means a hard copy or electronic document stating that the vehicle identified on the certificate is equipped with the required functioning motor vehicle pollution control systems and otherwise complies with the Commissio...
	(5) "Clean-Screening" means a procedure by which DEQ determines that a vehicle has acceptable emissions and then allows the vehicle owner to bypass the traditional emissions inspection station test. DEQ's decision may be the result of remotely sensing...
	(6) "Commission" means the Environmental Quality Commission.
	(7) "Dealer" means any person who is engaged wholly or in part in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging, either outright or on conditional sale, bailment lease, chattel mortgage, or otherwise, motor vehicles.
	(8) "Dealership" means a business involved in the sale of vehicles that is franchised with an automobile manufacturer as defined in ORS 650.120(9).
	(9) "DEQ" means the Department of Environmental Quality.
	(10) "Diesel motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle powered by a stratified charge compression-ignition internal combustion engine.
	(11) "Director" means the director of DEQ.
	(12) "DMV" means the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division of the Oregon Department of Transportation.
	(13) “Emissions” means gas or vapor released to the atmosphere from a motor vehicle component or resulting from fuel combustion within a motor vehicle engine.
	(14) "Emissions Inspection Station" means a facility, operated by DEQ or an Independent Contractor, for the purpose of conducting emissions inspections of vehicles required to be inspected under this Division.
	(15) "Exhaust emissions" means substances emitted into the atmosphere from any opening downstream of the exhaust ports of a motor vehicle engine.
	(16) "Factory-installed motor vehicle pollution control system" means a motor vehicle pollution control system installed by the vehicle or engine manufacturer to comply with United States motor vehicle emission control laws and regulations published i...
	(17) “Franchised” means a sale entity licensed by the DMV and under an agreement as defined in ORS 650.120(5) to sell motor vehicles.
	(18) "Gas analytical system" means a device that measures the amount of contaminants in the exhaust emissions of a motor vehicle and that has been issued a license by DEQ under OAR 340-256-0450 and ORS 468A.380.
	(19) "Gaseous fuel" includes, but is not limited to, liquefied petroleum gases and natural gases in liquefied or gaseous forms.
	(20) "Gasoline motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle powered by a spark-ignition internal combustion engine.
	(21) "Gross vehicle weight rating" or "GVWR" means the value specified by the manufacturer as the maximum design loaded weight of a vehicle.
	(22) "Heavy duty motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle with a GVWR greater than 8,500 pounds.
	(23) “HC” is an abbreviation that means hydrocarbon.
	(24) "Hydrocarbon" means a class of chemical compounds consisting of hydrogen and carbon.
	(25) "Idle speed" means the engine speed when accelerator pedal is fully released.
	(26) “Imported vehicle” means a vehicle legally imported from another country through channels other than the maker's official distribution system.
	(26) "Independent Contractor" means any person with whom DEQ enters into an agreement providing for the construction, equipment, maintenance, personnel, management or operation of emissions inspection stations or activities under ORS 468A.370 and thes...
	(27) "Inspection and Maintenance Program or I/M Program” means a program of conducting regular inspections of motor vehicles, including measurement of air contaminants in the motor vehicle exhaust and an inspection of the motor vehicle pollution contr...
	(28) "In-use motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle that is not a new motor vehicle.
	(29) "Light-duty motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle with a GVWR of 8,500 pounds or less.
	(30) "Model year" means the annual production period of new motor vehicles or new motor vehicle engines designated by the calendar year in which such period ends. If the manufacturer does not designate a production period, the model year with respect ...
	(31) "Motor vehicle" or “vehicle” means any self-propelled vehicle used for transporting persons or commodities on public roads.
	(32) "Motor vehicle pollution control system" means equipment designed for installation on a motor vehicle for the purpose of reducing the pollutants emitted from the vehicle, or a system or engine adjustment or modification that causes a reduction of...
	(33) "Motor Vehicle Fleet Operation" means ownership, control, management or any combination thereof, by any person, of five or more motor vehicles.
	(34) "New motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle whose equitable or legal title has never been transferred to a person who, in good faith, purchases the motor vehicle for purposes other than resale.
	(35) "OBD" and “OBD-II” means the On Board Diagnostic system in a vehicle that tracks the effectiveness of the motor vehicle's pollution control system.
	(36) "OBD Test" means an emissions test that downloads diagnostic information from the vehicle's OBD computer to evaluate the effectiveness of the motor vehicle pollution control system.
	(37) "On-Site Vehicle Test" means an emissions test conducted at the vehicle owner's location.
	(38) "Owner" means the person having all the incidents of ownership in a vehicle. Where the incidents of ownership are in different persons, it means the person, other than a security interest holder or lessor, entitled to the possession of a vehicle ...
	(39) "Opacity" means the degree to which transmitted light is obscured, expressed in percent.
	(40) “Permanent Fleet Vehicle” means a motor vehicle that the Oregon Department of Transportation identifies with permanent fleet tags, stickers, plates or other identification ODOT determines appropriate.
	(41) "Person" means an individual, public or private corporation, political subdivision, agency, board, department, or bureau of the state, municipality, partnership, association, firm, trust, estate, or any other legal entity whatsoever that is recog...
	(42) "PPM" means parts per million by volume.
	(43) "Private Business Fleet" means a group of 100 or more Oregon-registered, in-use, motor vehicles that are owned by any person, excluding those vehicles held primarily for the purpose of resale.
	(44) "Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emissions Inspector" means any person employed on a full-time basis by a Private Business Fleet who possesses a current and valid license issued by DEQ under OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380.
	(45) "Public Agency Fleet" means a group of 50 or more government-owned vehicles registered under ORS 805.040.
	(46) "Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emissions Inspector" means any person employed on a full-time basis by a Public Agency Fleet that possesses a current and valid license issued by DEQ under OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380.
	(47) "Public roads" means any street, alley, road, highway, freeway, thoroughfare, or section thereof used by the public, or dedicated or appropriated to public use.
	(48) "Regional Authority" means a regional air quality control authority established under the provisions of ORS 468A.005 to 468A.035, 468A.075, 468A.100 to 468A.130, and 468A.140 to 468A.175.
	(49) "Remote Sensing" means a technique for determining the level of a vehicle's emissions without connecting equipment directly to the vehicle, done either  by optically measuring the pollutants in the vehicle's exhaust plume, by remotely receiving a...
	(50) "Ringlemann Smoke Chart" means the Ringlemann Smoke Chart with instructions for use as published in May 1967, by the U.S. Department of Interior, Bureau of Mines, Information circular 8333.
	(51) "RPM" means engine crankshaft revolutions per minute.
	(52) "Self-Service Test" means a procedure for vehicle testing offered by DEQ where the vehicle owner or driver can perform an emissions test on the vehicle at a facility provided by DEQ using remote sensing, plug-in OBD emissions testing, or other me...
	(53) "Vehicle Emission Inspector" means any person employed by the Department or an Independent Contractor who possesses a current and valid license issued by the Department under OAR 340-256-0440 and ORS 468A.380.
	(54) “VIN” or “Vehicle Identification Number” means a unique code including a serial number that identifies a specific vehicle.
	(55) "Visible emissions" means those gases or particulates, excluding uncombined water, that separately or in combination are visible upon release to the outdoor atmosphere.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.400 History: DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 DEQ 1...
	340-256-0100 Visible Emissions: General Requirements, Exclusions
	(1) A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated any motor vehicle upon public roads that emits into the atmosphere any visible emission.
	(2) Excluded from this rule are those motor vehicles:
	(a) Powered by diesel cycle engines;
	(b) Granted a variance by written order of DEQ under ORS 468A.075.
	(3) A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated any motor vehicle upon public roads if any element of the factory-installed motor vehicle pollution control system has been modified or altered in such a manner that decr...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468, 468A & 815 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0010 DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70,...
	340-256-0110 Visible Emissions: Special Requirements for Excluded Motor Vehicles
	A person may not operate, drive, or cause or permit to be driven or operated upon a public street or highway, any motor vehicle excluded from OAR 340-256-0100 that:
	(1) When operated at an elevation of 3,000 feet or less, emits visible emissions into the atmosphere:
	(a) Of an opacity greater than 10 percent; or
	(b) Of an opacity 40 percent or greater for a period exceeding seven consecutive seconds.
	(2) When operated at an elevation over 3,000 feet, emits visible emissions into the atmosphere:
	(a) Of an opacity greater than 20 percent; or
	(b) Of an opacity of 60 percent or greater for a period exceeding seven consecutive seconds.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0015 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70
	340-256-0130 Visible Emissions: Motor Vehicle Fleet Operation
	(1) Motor vehicle fleet operation records pertaining to observations, tests, maintenance, and repairs performed to control or reduce visible emissions from individual motor vehicles must be available for DEQ review and inspection.
	(2) DEQ, by written notice, may require any motor vehicle of a motor vehicle fleet operation to be tested for compliance with OAR 340-256-0100 and 340-256-0110.
	(3) A regional authority, within its territory, may perform the functions of DEQ as set forth in sections (1) and (2) of this rule, upon written directive of DEQ permitting such action.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0025 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70
	340-256-0140 Visible Emissions: Dealer Compliance
	A dealer may not sell, exchange or lease, or offer for sale, exchange, or lease, any motor vehicle that operates in violation of OAR 340-256-0100 or 340-256-0110, except as permitted by federal regulations published in the Code of Federal Regulations,...
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0030 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70
	340-256-0150 Visible Emissions: Opacity Method of Measurement
	Only a trained person may make the opacity observation for purposes of OAR 340-256-0100 through 340-256-0140.  A trained person may use a Ringelmann Smoke Chart or DEQ approved opacity equipment to measure emission opacity.
	[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 191-2018, minor correction filed 07/18/2018, effective 07/18/2018 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0035 DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert....
	340-256-0160 Visible Emissions: Alternative Methods of Measuring Visible Emissions
	(1) DEQ may, but is not required to, permit the use of alternative methods of measurement to determine compliance with the visible emissions standards in OAR 340-256-0100 and 340-256-0110 if DEQ determines that such alternative methods are demonstrate...
	(2) Any person desiring to utilize alternative methods of measurement must submit a request to use alternative methods of measurement to DEQ.  A request must include such specifications and test data as DEQ may require, together with a detailed specif...
	(3) A person may not undertake a program using an alternative method of measurement without having obtained prior written approval of DEQ.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0040 DEQ 8, f. 4-7-70, ef. 5-11-70
	340-256-0200 Certification of Pollution Control Systems: County Designations
	Clackamas, Columbia, Jackson, Marion, Multnomah, Washington and Yamhill counties are hereby designated by the Environmental Quality Commission as counties in which all motor vehicles registered therein, unless otherwise exempted by statute or by rules...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.390 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.390 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0100 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 DEQ 62, f. ...
	340-256-0210 Certification of Pollution Control Systems: Criteria for Certification of Motor Vehicle Pollution Control Systems
	This rule documents the criteria for certification of motor vehicle pollution control systems.  A motor vehicle pollution control system may be certified unless:
	(1) A motor vehicle pollution control system has equipment not designed for installation on a motor vehicle for the purpose of reducing the pollutants emitted from the vehicle.
	(2) A motor vehicle pollution control system needs modifications, other than adjustments, to the original design of the motor vehicle.
	(3) A person has replaced the motor vehicle engine and the resulting vehicle chassis is not identical (including all emission related parts, engine design parameters, and engine calibrations) to a certified configuration of the same or newer model yea...
	(a) Conversions to compressed natural gas or liquefied petroleum gasoline (LPG);
	(b) A complete engine or engine conversion kit granted an Executive Order by the California Air Resources Board that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division;
	(c) A complete powertrain on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s "Certified to EPA Standards" list, when the powertrain is used in its entirety and without modification, that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division;
	(d) A foreign-built replacement engine that has a configuration certified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or the California Air Resources Board that DEQ deems to meet the standards of this Division.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468 & 468A Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0200 DEQ 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-93 DEQ 66, f. 2-5-74, ef. 2-25-74
	340-256-0220 Compliance With Oregon Low Emission Vehicle Program
	Model years 2009 and newer vehicles that have 7,500 or fewer miles must meet the requirements of Chapter 340, Division 257 to qualify for a Certificate of Compliance.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 468A.010, 468A.015, 468A.025, 468A.360 & 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468.020 & 468A.365 History: DEQ 6-2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-29-06
	340-256-0310 Emission Control System Inspection: Government-Owned Vehicle, Permanent Fleet Vehicle and United States Government Vehicle Testing Requirements
	(1) All motor vehicles registered as government-owned vehicles under ORS 805.040 that are not exempted from certification under 815.300 must obtain a Certificate of Compliance. Government-owned vehicles must be certified biennially.
	(2) Any motor vehicle registered as a permanent fleet vehicle under ORS 805.120 that are required to be certified under ORS 803.350 and 815.295 to 815.325 must obtain a Certificate of Compliance.
	(3) Any motor vehicle that is to be registered under ORS 805.040 or 805.120 but which is not a new motor vehicle must obtain a Certificate of Compliance before it is registered, as required by ORS 803.350 and 815.295 to 815.325.
	(4) All motor vehicles owned by the United States Government and operated in the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area or the Medford-Ashland AQMA must obtain a Certificate of Compliance biennially.
	(a) United States Government tactical military vehicles are not required to obtain Certificates of Compliance.
	(b) Federal installations located within the Portland Area Vehicle Inspection Program and the Medford-Ashland AQMA must provide DEQ with a list of all federal employee-owned vehicles operated on the installation, demonstrate that these vehicles have c...
	(5) For the purposes of providing a staggered certification schedule for vehicles registered as government-owned vehicles under ORS 805.040 or permanent fleet vehicles under 805.120, such schedule must, except as provided by section (6) of this rule, ...
	(a) 1 — January;
	(b) 2 — February;
	(c) 3 — March;
	(d) 4 — April;
	(e) 5 — May;
	(f) 6 — June;
	(g) 7 — July;
	(h) 8 — August;
	(i) 9 — September;
	(j) 0 — October;
	(k) Even — even numbered years for vehicles tested biennially;
	(l) Odd — odd numbered years for vehicles tested biennially.
	(6) In order to accommodate a fleet's scheduled maintenance practices, DEQ may grant a request for a specific separate schedule, so long as the schedule provides at least annual or biennial certification, for vehicles registered as government-owned ve...
	(7) Every agency or organization owning fleet vehicles described in this rule must report the following information to DEQ, in either electronic or printed form, annually:
	(a) The vehicle make;
	(b) The vehicle model;
	(c) The vehicle identification number (VIN);
	(d) The number of Certificates of Compliance issued; and
	(e) The issuing date of the motor vehicle’s Certificates of Compliance.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 & 468A.363 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0306 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 ...
	340-256-0320 Emission Control System Inspection: Motor Vehicle Inspection Program Fee Schedule
	This rule sets out the fee schedule for Certificates of Compliance and licenses issued by DEQ’s Vehicle Inspection Program:
	(1) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued by DEQ, including those issued at emissions test stations and those issued through the Clean-Screen and Self-Service Testing procedures, is:
	(a) In the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area, $21 until July 1, 2019, and then $25; or
	(b) In the Medford-Ashland AQMA, $10 until July 1, 2019; and then $15 until July 1, 2021; and then $20 until July 1, 2023; and then $25.
	(2) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued by a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet is:
	(a) In the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area, a maximum of $10; and
	(b) In the Medford-Ashland AQMA, a maximum of $5.
	(3) The cost of each License issued to a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet is:
	(a) Initial $5;
	(b) Annual renewal $1.
	(4) The cost of each License issued to a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector is:
	(a) Initial $5;
	(b) Annual renewal $1.
	(5) The cost of each License issued for a Gas Analytical System is:
	(a) Initial $5;
	(b) Annual renewal $1.
	(6) The cost of each Certificate of Compliance issued on-site to an automobile dealership is $26 until July 1, 2019, and then $30.
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.400 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.400 History: DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03 DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0307 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cer...
	340-256-0330 Emission Control System Inspection: Department of Defense Personnel Participating in the Privately Owned Vehicle Import Control Program
	This rule documents DEQ’s considerations regarding motor vehicle pollution control system requirements for Department of Defense personnel participating in the Privately Owned Vehicle Import Control Program.
	(1) U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) personnel participating in the DOD Privately Owned Vehicle (POV) Import Control Program operating a 1975 or newer model year vehicle, may temporarily remove catalytic converter systems, or, if applicable, exhaust g...
	(a) The vehicle will be driven to the port and surrendered for export under the above program within ten working days of disconnection, deactivation, or inoperability of the catalytic converter system or exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s); or
	(b) The catalytic converter systems and exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s) are reconnected, reactivated or made operable within 10 working days from the time the owner picked up the vehicle at the port.
	(2) Persons may disconnect, deactivate or render inoperable any catalytic converter system or exhaust gas oxygen (O2) sensor(s) on 1975 or newer model year vehicle of DOD personnel participating in the DOD POV Import Control Program which will be driv...
	(3) Unless otherwise exempt under this Division, vehicles must be configured as a vehicle certified by the EPA for sale and use within the United States under 40 CFR, part 86, subpart A.
	(4) Documentation must be kept with the vehicle at all times while the vehicle is operated in the United States which provides sufficient information to demonstrate compliance with all appropriate qualifications and conditions of this exemption, inclu...
	(a) The unique VIN of the vehicle;
	(b) The agency or organization that employs the owner of the vehicle;
	(c) The country to which the owner of the subject vehicle is transferring;
	(d) The date(s) when applicable alterations were performed on the vehicle;
	(e) The date when the vehicle is scheduled to be delivered to the appropriate port for shipment out of the United States; and
	(f) The date when the subject vehicle is picked up from the port of importation upon returning to the United States.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.400 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0308 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96
	340-256-0340 Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle and Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test Method for Basic Program
	This rule documents the general requirements and test sequence for the basic light duty motor vehicle and heavy duty gasoline motor vehicle emission test method.
	(1) General Requirements:
	(a) The vehicle must have a properly affixed and readable VIN.
	(b)DEQ must reject from the testing area vehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any other such defect that make conducting the emission test unsafe. The inspector may not conduct the emissions test until the defects are corrected.
	(c) The vehicle transmission must be placed in neutral gear if equipped with a manual transmission or in park position if equipped with an automatic transmission. The hand or parking brake must be engaged. If the brake is defective, then wheel chocks ...
	(d) All accessories are to be turned off.
	(e) The inspector must ensure that the motor vehicle is equipped with the required functioning motor vehicle pollution control system in accordance with the criteria of OAR 340-256-0380 or 340-256-0390. For vehicles not meeting these criteria upon com...
	(f) Exhaust gas sampling algorithm. The analysis of exhaust gas concentrations will begin 10 seconds after the applicable test mode begins and will be analyzed at a rate of two times per second. The measured value for pass or fail determinations will ...
	(g) Pass or fail determinations. A pass or fail determination will be made for each applicable test mode based on a comparison of the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420 and the measured value for HC and CO. A vehicle will...
	(h) Void test conditions. If the measured concentration of CO plus CO2 falls below the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0380 and 340-256-0390, or if the vehicle's engine stalls at any time during the test sequence, the test will end, and any...
	(i) Multiple exhaust pipes. Exhaust gas concentrations from vehicle engines equipped with multiple exhaust pipes will be sampled simultaneously.
	(j) The test will be terminated upon reaching the overall maximum test time.
	(2) Test sequence.
	The test sequence will consist of a first-chance idle mode, a high idle conditioning mode, and a second chance idle mode. :
	(a) First-chance idle mode: the engine RPM shall be maintained between 550 and 1300 during the first chance idle mode. The maximum duration of this test shall be 30 seconds.
	(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass, and the test will be terminated.
	(B) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values exceed the applicable gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will fail, and the test will be terminated.
	(b) High idle conditioning mode: If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the test has not been terminated in accordance with (2)(a)(A) or (2)(a)(B) then the engine RPM shall be raised and maintained between 2200 and 2800. The maximum duration of the...
	(c) Second-chance idle mode: If the test has not been terminated in accordance with (2)(a) or (2)(b) then the engine RPM shall be lowered and maintained between 550 and 1300 during the second chance idle mode. The maximum duration of the second-chance...
	(A) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, measured values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will pass, and the test will be terminated.
	(B) If, before an elapsed time of 30 seconds, the measured values exceed the applicable gross emission standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will fail, and the test will be terminated.
	(C) If, after an elapsed time of 30 seconds, measured values exceed the applicable standards listed in OAR 340-256-0400 and 340-256-0420, the vehicle will fail, and the test will be terminated.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 163-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbe...
	340-256-0355 Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for OBD Test Program
	This rule documents the general requirements and test sequence for the light or heavy-duty vehicle OBD test method.
	(1) General Requirements:
	(a) DEQ must reject from the testing area vehicles having coolant, oil or fuel leaks or any other such defect that make conducting the emission test unsafe. The inspector may not conduct the emissions test until the defects are corrected.
	(b) Light duty gasoline vehicles must be 1996 and newer model years.
	(c) Light duty diesel vehicles must be 1997 and newer model years.
	(d) Heavy duty gasoline vehicles must be 2013 and newer model years and equipped with an OBD-II compliant or newer OBD system.
	(e) The vehicle must have a properly affixed and readable VIN.
	(f) The vehicle’s OBD system must match the original manufacturer’s information and must communicate with DEQ’s OBD analytical equipment.
	(A) All 2005 and subsequent model year light duty vehicles must have the VIN included in the vehicle OBD information.
	(B) All 2013 and subsequent model year heavy-duty vehicles must have the VIN included in the vehicle OBD information.
	(g) If an Original Equipment Manufacturer LPG powered vehicle, model year 1996 through 2004, has a DEQ-recognized OBD manufacture defect, DEQ will follow the idle emission testing criteria of OAR 340-256-0340, OAR 340-256-0380, OAR 340-256-0390, OAR 3...
	(2) Test criteria:
	(a) Gasoline powered motor vehicles from model years 1996 to 2000 are allowed two unready monitors; 2001 and newer vehicles are allowed one unready monitor.
	(b) Diesel powered motor vehicles from 1997 to 2008 are not allowed any unready monitors; 2009 and newer model year diesel powered motor vehicles are allowed one unready monitor.
	(c) A vehicle which previously failed with either a catalyst or evaporative Diagnostic Trouble Code must have their respective monitor in a ready status to pass a subsequent retest. The vehicle will be allowed one or two unready monitors depending on ...
	(d) Vehicle OBD systems deviating from manufacturer’s design or intended operation will fail for:
	(A) Malfunctions of the OBD systems triggering the Malfunction Indicator Light commanded on.
	(B) A missing, broken or inaccessible Data Link Connector port.
	(C) Low or missing vehicle battery voltage from the Data Link Connector port.
	(D) Vehicle OBD data that does not match original manufacturer’s OBD data.
	(E) The OBD system VIN does not match the vehicle VIN labeling unless recognized by DEQ as a known unresolvable manufacture defect.
	(F) The OBD system fails to properly communicate.
	(e) When light duty 1996 – 1998 vehicles that DEQ knows have manufacture readiness issues have three or more unready monitors and do not fail OBD systems criteria in section (2)(d)(A-F), DEQ will test those vehicles with a basic test following OAR 340...
	(3) The Director or the Director’s delegate may grant a waiver from one or more of the requirements or criteria listed in sections (1) and (2) for vehicle classes that DEQ determines present prohibitive inspection problems meeting the requirements or ...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 History: DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00
	340-256-0356 Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for On-Site Vehicle Testing for Automobile Dealerships
	This rule documents the on-site motor vehicle emissions test method for automobile dealerships. The on-site vehicle test will be performed in accordance with OAR 340-256-0355. The test will be performed by DEQ using DEQ testing equipment and conducted...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380(1)(c) Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.365 History: DEQ 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-01
	340-256-0357 Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for Clean-Screening Program
	This rule documents the Clean-Screening test method.
	(1) DEQ may evaluate emissions of vehicles on the roadway using an optical attenuation method of observing actual pollutant emissions, remotely received electronic broadcasts of the vehicles’ emissions diagnostic data, or other means approved under se...
	(2) A vehicle that meets DEQ’s emissions standards for on-road testing within a time period not to exceed one year from its required registration date will be issued a Certificate of Compliance without being required to pass the emissions inspection s...
	(3) Before implementing Clean-Screening under this rule, DEQ must establish specific testing processes, policies, and procedures, including:
	(a) The test technique for On-Road Clean-Screening;
	(b) The valid test period of On-Road Clean-Screening;
	(c) Procedures for identifying an on-road vehicle;
	(d) Procedures for protecting the test process from vandalism and cheating; and
	(e) Testing standards for Clean-Screening.
	(4) If DEQ uses the optical attenuation method for Clean-Screening, 1975 and newer model year vehicles are eligible for Clean-Screening. If DEQ uses broadcast data from vehicles’ ODB systems for Clean-Screening, 1996 and newer model year vehicles are ...
	(5) If DEQ develops and implements additional test methods for use in the Clean-Screening program, DEQ must develop documentation that such method will provide equal or greater accuracy in identifying vehicles that would pass or fail the otherwise req...
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380(1)(c) Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.420 History: DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03
	340-256-0358 Emission Control System Inspection: Emissions Control Test Method for Self-Service Testing Program
	This rule documents the Self-Service test method.
	(1) DEQ may provide a testing method whereby the vehicle owner or their representative will perform the emissions test. The test performed will be either a remote sensing optical quantification of the tailpipe pollutants, a remote or computer connecte...
	(2) Before implementing Self-Service Testing under this rule, DEQ must establish specific Self-Service Testing processes in DEQ’s policies and procedures documents, including:
	(a) The test techniques to be used for Self-Service Testing;
	(b) Procedures for identifying the vehicle that will be subjected to Self-Service testing;
	(c) Procedures for protecting the Self-Service test process from vandalism and cheating; and
	(d) Testing standards for the Self-Service technique that will be used.
	(3) If DEQ uses the optical attenuation method for Self-Service Testing, 1975 and newer model year vehicles are eligible for Self-Service Testing. If DEQ uses broadcast data or hardwire cable connection from vehicles’ OBD systems for Self-Service Test...
	(4) If DEQ develops and implements additional test methods for use in the Self-Service Testing program, DEQ must develop documentation that such method will provide equal or greater accuracy in identifying vehicles that would pass or fail the otherwis...
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380(1)(c) Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.420 History: DEQ 14-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-03
	340-256-0370 Emission Control System Inspection: Renewal of Registration for Light Duty Motor Vehicles and Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicles Temporarily Operating Outside of Oregon
	Vehicles registered in the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area and Medford-Ashland AQMA and operated in another state at an address located at least 150 miles outside the Oregon border must comply with the following requirements:
	(1) For vehicles operated within another Environmental Protection Agency approved Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) program area, DEQ shall establish reciprocity provisions to ensure motor vehicle compliance with the other state’s I/M requirements. Com...
	(2) For vehicles operated in another state, but not within another Environmental Protection Agency approved Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) area, DEQ shall issue a temporary exemption from Oregon I/M Program testing requirements until the vehicle ret...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0318 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94
	340-256-0380 Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test Criteria for Basic Program
	This rule documents the Basic Test criteria for light duty motor vehicles.
	(1) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the vehicle exhaust system leaks in such a manner as to dilute the exhaust gas being sampled by the gas analytical system. For the purpose of the emission control tests conducted at state facilities,...
	(2) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the engine idle speed exceeds the manufacturer's idle speed specifications by over 200 RPM.
	(3)(a) A vehicle emission control test for a 1975 or newer model year vehicle is not valid if the gas cap or catalyst has been disconnected, plugged, or otherwise made inoperative in violation of ORS 815.305(1), except as noted in ORS 815.305(2) or as...
	(b) DEQ may provide alternative criteria for those required under subsection (a) of this section if it determines that the component or an acceptable alternative is unavailable.
	(c) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part (including a rebuilt part) as a replacement part is not a violation of ORS 815.305 if DEQ determines that such use will not adversely affect emission control efficiency.
	(d) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part or system as an add-on, auxiliary, augmenting, or secondary part of system, is not a violation of ORS 815.305 if such part or system has an Executive Order granted by the California Air Resource...
	(e) Adjustments or alterations of particular part or system parameter, if done for purposes of maintenance or repair according to the vehicle or engine manufacturer's instructions, are not violations of ORS 815.305.
	(4) A 1981 or newer model year vehicle that has been converted to operate on gaseous fuels is not in violation of ORS 815.305 when elements of the factory-installed motor vehicle air pollution control system are disconnected for the purpose of convers...
	(5) For a 1975 through 1980 model year vehicle in which the original engine has been replaced, if either the vehicle body or chassis original engine (per registration or title) or replacement engine (as manufactured) had a catalytic converter system, ...
	(6) For a 1981 or newer model year vehicle in which the original engine has been replaced, the emission test standards and applicable emissions control equipment for the year, make, and model of the vehicle body or chassis (per registration or title) ...
	(8) An imported nonconforming motor vehicle that has been imported under a certificate of conformity or modification/test procedure under 40 CFR Part 85, Subpart P, or has been granted an exemption under 40 CFR § 85.1511, must comply with the emission...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 166-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbe...
	340-256-0390 Emission Control System Inspection: Heavy Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Test Criteria
	This rule documents the heavy duty gasoline motor vehicle emission test criteria.
	(1) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the vehicle exhaust system leaks in such a manner as to dilute the exhaust emissions being sampled by the gas analytical system. For the purpose of emission control tests conducted at state facilitie...
	(2) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the engine idle speed exceeds 1300 RPM.
	(3)(a) A vehicle emission control test is not valid if the gas cap or catalyst has been disconnected, plugged, or otherwise made inoperative in violation of ORS 815.305(1), except as noted in 815.305(2).
	(b) DEQ may provide alternative criteria for those required under subsection (a) of this section if it determines that the component or an acceptable alternative is unavailable.
	(c) The use of a non-original equipment aftermarket part (including a rebuilt part) as a replacement part is not a violation of ORS 815.305, if DEQ determines that such use will not adversely affect emission control efficiency.
	(d) Adjustments or alterations of a particular part or system parameter, if done for purposes of maintenance or repair according to the vehicle or engine manufacturer's instructions, are not violations of ORS 815.305.
	(4) A 1981 or newer model motor vehicle that has been converted to operate on gaseous fuels is in violation of ORS 815.305 if elements of the factory-installed motor vehicle air pollution control system are disconnected for the purpose of conversion t...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 167-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-05 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbe...
	340-256-0400 Emission Control System Inspection: Light Duty Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards for Basic Program
	This rule documents the standards not to be exceeded for light duty motor vehicles that undergo the Basic emission test.
	(1) Light Duty Diesel Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: 1.5% CO; there is no HC standard.
	(2) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards: Four-Stroke Cycle — Passenger Cars:
	(a) 1975–1980 Model Year:
	(A) With Catalyst: 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC;
	(B) Without Catalyst: 2.5% CO and 300 ppm HC.
	(b) 1981 and Newer Model Year:  at idle — 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC;
	(3) Light Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards — Light Duty Trucks:
	(a) 6,000 GVWR or less:
	(A) 1975–1980 Model Year:
	(i) With Catalyst: 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC;
	(ii) Without Catalyst: 2.5% CO and 300 ppm HC.
	(B) 1981 and Newer Model Year:  at idle — 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC;
	(b) 6,001 to 8,500 GVWR:
	(A) 1975–1978 Model Year: 2.5% CO and 300 ppm HC;
	(B) 1979–1980 Model Year:
	(i) With Catalyst: 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC;
	(ii) Without Catalyst: 2.5% CO and 300 ppm HC.
	(C) 1981 and Newer:  at idle — 1.0% CO and 220 ppm HC;
	(4) Gross CO emissions exceed the applicable model year CO standard by a factor of one and one-half (1.5).
	(5) Gross HC emissions exceed the applicable model year HC standard by a factor of three (3).
	(6) Visible emissions must not occur during the steady-state unloaded and raised rpm engine idle portions of a gasoline engine emission test from either the vehicle’s exhaust system or the engine crankcase. For a diesel engine emissions test, visible ...
	(7) The Director or Director’s delegate may grant a waiver from standards listed in sections (1)–(6) for vehicle classes that DEQ determines present prohibitive inspection problems meeting the standards in sections (1) – (6) if DEQ deems the motor veh...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.350 - 468A.385 History: DEQ 168-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0330 DEQ 25-1996, ...
	340-256-0420 Emission Control System Inspection: Heavy-Duty Gasoline Motor Vehicle Emission Control Standards
	This rule documents the standards not to be exceeded for heavy duty gasoline vehicle emission tests.
	(1) CO idle emission values:
	(a) 1975–1978 Model Year: 4.0%;
	(b) 1979 and Newer Model Year without catalyst: 3.0%;
	(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 1.0%.
	(2) Gross CO emissions exceed the applicable model year CO standard by a factor of one and one-half (1.5).
	(3) Hydrocarbon idle emission values:
	(a) 1975–1978 Model Year: 500 PPM;
	(b) 1979 and Newer Model Year without catalyst: 350 PPM;
	(c) 1985 and Newer Model Year with catalyst: 220 PPM.
	(4) Gross HC emissions exceed the applicable model year HC standard by a factor of three (3).
	(5) Visible emission must not occur during the steady-state unloaded engine idle and raised rpm portion of the emission test from either the vehicle’s exhaust system or the engine crankcase.
	(6) The Director may grant a waiver from standards listed in sections (1)–(4) for vehicle classes that DEQ determines present prohibitive inspection problems meeting the listed standards in sections (1) – (4) if DEQ deems the motor vehicle pollution s...
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.360 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.360 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0335 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 DEQ 16-1993, f. ...
	340-256-0440 Emission Control System Inspection: Criteria for Qualifications of Persons Eligible to Inspect Motor Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Pollution Control Systems and Execute Certificates
	(1) Five separate classes of licenses are:
	(a) Private Business Fleet;
	(b) Public Agency Fleet;
	(c) Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector;
	(d) Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector;
	(e) Vehicle Emission Inspector.
	(2) License applicants must complete a form that DEQ provides.
	(3)(a) Each fleet’s license is valid for not more than one-year and expires on December 31 of each year unless revoked, suspended, or returned to DEQ;
	(b) Each Inspector’s license is valid for not more than two-years and expires on December 31 of every other year unless revoked, suspended, or returned to DEQ.
	(4) DEQ will not issue any license until the applicant has fulfilled all requirements and paid the required fee.
	(5) A license is not transferable.
	(6) DEQ may renew a license if the applicant submits an application and renewal fee within 30 days before the license’s expiration date and the applicant complies with all other licensing requirements.
	(7) DEQ may suspend, revoke, or not renew a license if the licensee has violated this Division, ORS 468A.350 to 468A.400, or 815.295 to 815.325.
	(8) A Private Business Vehicle Emission Inspector or Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector license is valid only for inspection of and execution of Certificates of Compliance for motor vehicle pollution control systems and motor vehicles of t...
	(9) To initially receive or renew a license as a Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector, a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector or a Vehicle Emission Inspector, the applicant must be an employee of a Private Business Fleet, a Publ...
	(a) Training.
	(A) Inspector training must include the following subjects:
	(i) The air pollution problems, its causes and effects;
	(ii) The purpose, function and goal of the inspection program;
	(iii) Inspection regulations and procedures;
	(iv) Technical details of the test procedure and the rationale for their design;
	(v) Test equipment operation, calibration and maintenance;
	(vi) Emission control device function, configuration and inspection;
	(vii) Quality control procedures and their purpose;
	(viii) Public relations;
	(ix) Safety and health issues related to the inspection process; and
	(x) OBD test systems.
	(B) In order to complete the training requirement, a trainee must pass (minimum of 80% correct responses) a written test covering all aspects of the training. In addition, a hands-on test must be administered in which the trainee demonstrates without ...
	(b) Licensing and certification.
	(A) DEQ must license or certify all inspectors before they may perform official inspections.
	(B) Completion of Inspector training and passing required tests is a condition of licensing or certification.
	(C) Inspector licenses and certificates are valid for no more than 2 years, at which point refresher training and testing are required before renewal. Alternative approaches based on more comprehensive skill examination and determination of Inspector ...
	(D) Licenses and certificates are not a legal right, but rather, are a privilege bestowed by the Department and conditional upon adherence to DEQ requirements.
	(c) Enforcement against Inspectors: Any violations of procedures in this Division are subject to DEQ’s enforcement procedures.  License or certificate suspension or revocation prohibits the individual from direct or indirect involvement in any inspect...
	(10) To be licensed as a Private Business Fleet or a Public Agency Fleet, the applicant must:
	(a) Employ on a full time basis a Private Business Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; or
	(b) Employ on a full time basis a Public Agency Fleet Vehicle Emission Inspector; and
	(c) Be equipped with a gas analytical system complying with criteria established in OAR 340-256-0450.
	(d) If 1996 and newer model year light duty vehicles are a part of the self-inspected fleet of vehicles, the fleet must be equipped with a scan tool for downloading vehicle OBD emissions data with criteria established in OAR 340-256-0465.
	(11) A person licensed as a Private Business Fleet or Public Agency Fleet may not advertise or represent themselves as being licensed to inspect motor vehicles to determine compliance with the criteria and standards of OAR 340-256-0380 and 340-256-0400.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 History: DEQ 170-2018, minor correction filed 04/12/2018, effective 04/12/2018 DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00 DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from ...
	340-256-0450 Emission Control System Inspection: Gas Analytical System Licensing Criteria for Basic Program
	This rule documents licensing criteria for use of gas analytical systems in the Basic test method.
	(1) Computerized test systems are required equipment for performing any measurement on subject vehicles. The test equipment must be certified to meet the requirements and performance features contained in 40 CFR Part 51 Appendix D (November 5, 1992) a...
	(a) Emission test equipment must be capable of testing all subject vehicles and shall be updated from time to time to accommodate new technology vehicles as well as changes to the Oregon I/M Program.
	(b) At a minimum, emission test equipment must be:
	(A) Automated to the highest degree commercially available to minimize the potential for intentional fraud and/or human error;
	(B) Secure from tampering and/or abuse;
	(C) Based upon written specifications; and
	(D) Capable of simultaneously sampling dual exhaust vehicles.
	(c) The vehicle owner or driver must be provided with a computer-generated record of test results, including all of the items listed in 40 CFR Part 85, subpart W required on the test record. The test report must include:
	(A) A vehicle description, including license plate number, VIN, and odometer reading;
	(B) The date and time of the test;
	(C) The name or identification number of individual(s) performing the tests and the location of the test station and lane;
	(D) The type of test performed, including emission tests, visual checks for the presence of emission control components, and functional, evaporative checks;
	(E) The applicable test standards;
	(F) A statement indicating the availability of warranty coverage as required in section 207 of the Clean Air Act (1990);
	(G) Certification that tests were performed in accordance with the regulations of this Division; and
	(H) For vehicles that fail the tailpipe emission test, information on the possible causes of the specific pattern of high emission levels found during the test.
	(2) Functional characteristics of computerized test systems. The test system is composed of emission measurement devices and other motor vehicle test equipment controlled by a computer.
	(a) The test system must automatically:
	(A) Make a pass or fail decision for all measurements;
	(B) Record test data to an electronic medium;
	(C) Conduct regular self-testing of recording accuracy;
	(D) Perform electrical calibration and system integrity checks before each test, as applicable; and
	(E) Initiate system lockouts for:
	(i) Tampering with security aspects of the test system;
	(ii) Failing to conduct or pass periodic calibration or leak checks; and
	(iii) A full data recording medium or one that does not pass a cyclical redundancy check.
	(b) The test system must ensure accurate data collection by limiting, cross-checking; and/or confirming manual data entry.
	(3) Gas analytical systems used by Private Business Fleets or Public Agency Fleets must meet the criteria established in this rule.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 History: DEQ 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-99, Renumbered from 340-024-0355 DEQ 25-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-96 DEQ 15-1994, f. 6-8-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94 DEQ 16-1993, f. ...
	340-256-0465 Emission Control System Inspection: Test Equipment Licensing Criteria for OBD Test Program
	This equipment must contain the standard terminal Diagnostic Link Connector for OBD systems and be capable of the following:
	(1) Making an automatic pass/fail decision based on malfunction indicator light observations and vehicle OBD system download;
	(2) Transferring electronic vehicle test result to the VIP central data server for emissions data;
	(3) Meeting additional fleet operations specifications as DEQ prescribes.
	[NOTE: This rule is included in the State of Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan that EQC adopted under OAR 340-200-0040.]
	Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468A.380 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 468A.380 History: DEQ 17-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-00

