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e Fiscal Impact Statement

Quality

The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality Hazardous Waste Program promotes
reducing and safely managing hazardous waste, issues permits to waste management
facilities, inspects hazardous waste generators and used oil processors, and assists Oregon
small businesses in complying with complex federal regulations.

The primary objectives of the program are to:
e Reduce or eliminate the threat of exposure to hazardous waste
e Reduce the use of toxic chemicals in the workplace
e Deliver excellence in service

DEQ remains committed to maintaining state authorization for this program rather than
having the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency run the program. This ensures flexibility
and responsiveness in implementing the Hazardous Waste Program in Oregon.

Since January 1986, EPA has authorized Oregon to manage the state’s hazardous waste or
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act program. DEQ implements the state hazardous
waste program, as defined in Oregon Revised Statute 466.086 and as applied in Oregon
Administrative Rules 340-100-0002, to ensure harmful wastes are properly managed from
“cradle to grave.”

ORS 466.165(1).authorizes DEQ to collect fees to “‘carry on monitoring, inspection and
surveillance program established under ORS 466.195 and to cover related administrative
costs.” (ORS 466.165(1))

Annually, DEQ’s Hazardous Waste Program receives approximately $3.5 million from
multiple sources, including various fees (79 percent), a federal grant (20 percent), and small
cost recovery funds (1 percent). Required General Fund reductions and shifts to grant- and
fee-based program ended the program’s General Fund allocation in 2014. The Oregon
Legislature approved a budget of 25 full-time equivalent staff for the program’s 2017-2019
budget. Current revenue supports 19 full-time staff.

Who does this affect?

These fees will affect 487 fee payers producing hazardous waste and two businesses
operating permitted treatment, storage and disposal facilities. Of those, DEQ identified 18
remedial clean-up sites, includes nine closed sites that intermittently generate hazardous
waste.

The proposed amendments of OAR 340-102 and 105 apply to all hazardous waste generators
required to report.



Fee Analysis

The Oregon Environmental Quality Commission’s approval of this rule proposal would increase
existing Hazardous Waste Program fees. EQC authority to act on the proposed fees is Oregon
Revised statutes 466.020, 466.045, 466.075, 466.165, 466.195, and 468.020.

Brief description of proposed fees

The proposed fees would address the forecasted $1.2 million - $1.5 million deficit in
Hazardous Waste Program revenue for the 2019-21 biennium. This shortfall threatens DEQ’s
ability to ensure safe management and disposal of hazardous waste and greatly reduces
compliance assistance to small businesses. It also potentially impacts Oregon’s ability to
retain federal authorization of the Hazardous Waste Program.

DEQ proposes revising:

Annual hazardous waste generators activity verification fees

Annual hazardous waste generators management method factor fees

Annual permitted treatment, storage and disposal compliance determination fees
Treatment, storage and disposal permit modification fees

Treatment, storage and disposal annual disposal administrative fees

Reasons

The proposed fees would address the projected funding shortfall in the 2019-21 biennium
revenue for the Hazardous Waste program. Contributing factors to the projected funding
shortfall include:

¢ (Change in state revenue
The Hazardous Waste Program received $1.2 million in General Funds in 1999. Since then,
the amount of General Fund support has steadily declined, and was eliminated in 2014.

e Change in fee revenue

Since 2004, Oregon’s Hazardous Waste Program funding has significantly decreased. This
includes the Chemical Waste Management’s Arlington landfill hazardous waste tipping fees
(approximately 60 percent), and Hazardous Waste Permit fees. Program staffing during this
time decreased by 30 percent.

e (Change in other fund revenue
Since 2004, the program EPA’s Performance Partnership Grant funding decreased by
approximately 7 percent.

e Increased program costs

Most program fees remain unchanged for nearly 20 years without adjustment for
inflation. Increased program costs include, but are not limited to, salaries/benefits and
information technology updates. This includes replacing two information systems to



ensure continued compatibility with the State of Oregon’s information technology
standards and security requirements.

e Change in transaction costs
The program has two, currently operating TSD permitted facilities. Permit modification fees
remain at the 1997 level, without inflation increase.

e Program streamlining
The program has cut costs over the last decade by minimizing expenses, reducing
overhead, holding positions vacant, and supplementing with a small ending fund balance.

e Static number of base fee payers

The number of hazardous waste generators reporting annually in the past 10 years (2008 to
present) has remained relatively static with an average 470. However, the program’s staff
level has decreased from 39 legislatively approved FTE to the current 25 FTE.

Fee proposal alternatives considered
The program considered the following fee increase alternatives:
e No fee increases, which does not address the projected shortfall in revenue

In addition, the program considered the following, which requires changing the Oregon Revised
Statute and is out of scope of the proposed rulemaking:
¢ Amending hazardous waste generator fee cap.of $32,500 to help cover associated costs
¢ Amending hazardous waste metric ton $130 fee
e Amending hazardous waste permit renewal fees of $150,000 to help cover costs
e Inflation or consumer price index consideration
e Cost recovery for permit modifications

Fee payer

The proposed rules will increase the annual hazardous waste activity verification fees for
businesses generating more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste per calendar month or 2.2
pounds of acutely hazardous waste per calendar month, in addition to increasing all
management method factors. DEQ estimates this will affect 487 fee payers.

The proposed rules will also increase the annual hazardous waste permit compliance
determination fees, increase the hazardous waste permit modification fees, and add an annual
administrative disposal fee for operating permitted TSD facilities. The proposed rules will
affect two operating permitted TSD facilities.

Affected party involvement in fee-setting process

DEQ convened a nine-member Hazardous Waste Fees Advisory Committee that also served
as the fiscal advisors in the fee-setting process. The committee was comprised of statewide
geographic representation, directly and indirectly affected regulated parties for large and
small businesses, business advocates and environmental interests.

Fee payer agreement with fee proposal



DEQ utilized the advisory committee’s discussions in forming draft proposals. The draft
proposals will be part of the required formal notice process that includes public hearing and
an opportunity for the public to comment.

DEQ will consider all comments before finalizing and presenting the proposed fee package
to the Oregon Environmental Quality Commission in May 2019.

When were these fees last increased?
e The generator management method factor has not changed since establishment in 1992
e The generator annual activity verification fee last changed in 1997, when the small
quantity generator fee increased from $200 to $300 and large quantity generator fee
increased from $350 to $525
e Permitting annual compliance determination fees have remained the same since 1997 and
permit modification fee since 1998

Hazardous waste generator fee statutory changes not considered in this rulemaking:
e The annual metric ton generator fee changed in 2008 from $110 to $130 per metric ton
e The hazardous waste generation fee cap changed in 2008 from $27,500 to $32,500

How long will the current fee sustain the program?

The program has reduced expenditures and is still experiencing an annual $1.0 million
deficit. Without additional revenue, the program will exhaust all available fund sources in
July 2019 and the program will need to consider other cost reductions by December 2019.

Current Fees

Program costs covered by fees* $6,070,641 74 percent

Program costs covered by General Fund | $0 0 percent

1992 — Established Management Method factor
1997 — Generator Annual Activity Verification
1997 — Permit Annual Compliance Determination
1998 — Permit Modification fee

*Source: DEQ 2017-19 Legislative Approved Budget

Fee Last Changed

How long will the proposed fee sustain the program?

DEQ is looking at several fee-funding alternatives in a multi-year effort to address this
deficit by 2026. Phase I, this rulemaking, will address those fees that can change by rule.
DEQ must make additional rule and statute changes within the next seven years to secure
long-term, stable funding to maintain the program at its current full-time equivalent service
level.



Proposed Fees

Expected change in revenue (+/-) - generators

+~1,127,527

73 percent

Expected change in revenue (+/-) - permitting

+~$576,500

159 percent

Expected effective date
(begins multi-year increase)

July 2019 with phase-in through 2024

for generator fees

Transactions and revenue

For hazardous waste generators annually reporting:

Transactions and Revenue

. . Number of |Number of feglmpact on revenu(Total revenue
Biennium .
transactions |payers (+/-) (+/-)
2017-19 current ~ 487 ~ 487 + $0 +$0
2019-21 biennium ~ 487 ~ 487 +~ $600,953 +~$2,150,953
2021-23 biennium ~ 487 ~ 487 +~$299,477 +~$2,450,429
2023-25 biennium ~ 487 ~ 487 +~ $227,098 +~$2,677,527

For permitted hazardous waste treatment, storage and disposal facilities:

Transactions and Revenue

Bi . Number of |Number of fe¢Impact on revenyTotal revenue
iennium .
transactions |payers (+/-) (+/-)
2017-19 current 2 2 +$0 + $0
2019-21 biennium 2 2 +~$576,500 +~$939,000

Generator Fees

DEQ’s current annual hazardous generator fee has two components:
1. “An annual activity verification fee
2. “An annual hazardous waste generation fee (includes management method factor)

Part 1: $525 or $300 +
Part 2: [Amount of metric tons waste x $130 x management method factor]

Both parts combine to represent the total fee included on the annual hazardous waste invoice.
DEQ has a current generator fee cap of $32,500, which applies only to Part 2 of this formula.

1. Annual activity verification fee
The fee is based on generator category. All generators of hazardous waste that notified
DEQ of their activities and obtained a Resource Conservation and Recovery Act Site
Identification Number must verify their basic registration information annually. They are
assessed a fee according to their generator category.

a. Current Annual Activity Verification Fees are:
o Large Quantity Generators $525
o Small Quantity Generators $300




o Conditionally Exempt Generators - No fee

The table below shows how DEQ defines hazardous waste generators

Informational Only: Defines hazardous waste generator categories

Generator Category

Accumulation Limit

Storage/Shipping Schedule

Large Quantity Generator
Generates more than 2,220
Ibs. of hazardous waste per

more than 2.2 1bs. of acutely
hazardous waste per calendar
month.

calendar month, and generates

e No limit.

All accumulated hazardous waste
must be shipped off-site within 90
days of accumulation start date. If
the 90-day deadline is not met, the
generator is required to obtain a
hazardous waste storage facility
permit.

Small Quantity Generator
Generates more than 220 1bs.
and less than 2,200 Ibs. of
hazardous waste per calendar

than 2.2 Ibs. of acutely
hazardous waste per calendar
month.

month, and generates no more

¢ 13,200 lbs. If
generator exceeds
this limit,a permit is
required

e Accumulates ne more
than 2.2 Ibs. of
acutely hazardous
waste at any time.

Waste must be shipped off-site
within 180 days after the waste
was first placed in a container. If
the receiving facility is more than
200 miles from generation site,
the small-quantity generator may
store wastes up to 270 days.

Quantity Generator
Generates 220 Ibs. or less of
hazardous waste per calendar
month and generate no more
than 2.2 1bs. of acutely
hazardous waste per calendar
month.

Conditionally Exempt Small

* 2,200 Ibs.

* Accumulates no
more than 2.2 1bs. of
acutely hazardous
waste at any time.

2,200 1bs. or less of hazardous
waste may be stored indefinitely.

The examples below shows how DEQ calculates the hazardous waste generator fees.

Informational Only: Calculating Hazardous Waste Generator Fees

Management G o7 Management I EETEIEE Total
9 Amount | Metric g Generation Activity .
Method Method Factor " re o Invoice
Managed Ton Fee Verification Fee
Landfill 4 metric tons _ -
Disposal (8,820 Ibs.) X $130 X 1.50 =$780 + $300 = $1,080
Fuel Blending| {550 00| X130 X075 | =339 +$525= | $915

** The annual maximum any one generator may pay in hazardous waste generation fees is $32,500.
This annual maximum does not include the activity verification fee.




b. Proposed Annual Activity Verification Fees:

A three-year phase-in will increase the Annual Hazardous Waste Activity Verification
Fee as defined in Oregon Administrative Rule 340-102-0065(4) by 80 percent to better

align with the consumer price index (/1997-2021: 72%) using this schedule:

Hazardous Waste Generator Annual Activity Verification Fee

Effective in Calendar Year

i 15 Current 2019 2020 2021
2018 (25%)++ (20%)++ (20%)++
Large Quantity Generators $525 $656 $788 $945
Small Quantity Generators $300 $375 $450 $540
Conditionally Exempt Generators $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Fee Total* | $190,200 | ~$237,750 | ~$285,300 | ~$342,360
Additional Annual Revenue $0 $47,550 $47,550 $57,060

*Revenue based on 2017 hazardous waste generator invoicing of 196 LQOGs and 291 SQGs.

** Percent increase is over previous year.

2. Annual hazardous waste generation fee

This fee applies to large- and small-quantity generators reporting hazardous waste
generation and management during a calendaryear. One portion of this calculation is the
management method factors, which this rulemaking is addressing. The management
method factors reflect Oregon’s environmental hierarchy of preferred management
methods and offer financial incentives to responsibly manage and reduce hazardous waste.

a. Current Management Method Factors are:

Management Method Fee

Management method unknown or not reported 2.00
Land disposal 1.50
Incineration 1.00
Aqueous Inorganic treatment 1.00
Aqueous organic treatment; aqueous organic and inorganic treatment 1.00
Sludge treatment 1.00
Other treatment 1.00
Stabilization 1.00
Energy recovery (reuse as fuel) 0.75
Fuel blending 0.75
Neutralization offsite 0.75
Solvents recovery 0.50
Metals recovery (for reuse) 0.50
Other recovery 0.50
Hazardous wastewater not managed immediately upon generation, only in 0.50

on-site elementary neutralization unit(s) or wastewater treatment unit(s)




Management Method

Fee

RCRA-exempt management elementary neutralization unit(s) on-site
[includes only corrosive characteristic hazardous waste managed
immediately upon generation only in an on-site elementary neutralization

0.00

Permitted discharge under the federal Clean Water Act Section 402 or 307b
[includes only hazardous wastewater managed immediately upon generation
only in an on-site wastewater treatment unit(s)]

0.00

b. Proposed Management Method Factor schedule:

A six-year phase-in will increase the management method factors as defined in Oregon

Administrative Rule 340-102-0065(3)(c) by 70 percent to better align with the consumer
price index (/992-2021: 94%) using this schedule:

Proposed Management Method Factor Increase

AT Energy - Potential
E(f:f el Recovery & | Recovery & |Incineration| Land e PotentlaL Additional
alendar W N . & Not Revenue
ear astewater Neutrallz_atlon & Treatment| Disposal Reported by year Annual
y (off site) Revenue
Current-2018 0.50 0.75 1.00 1.50 2.00 $1,390,457 $0
2019 (12%)+ 0.56 0.84 1.12 1.68 2.24 $1,557,457 | $166,999
2020 (17%)+ 0.66 0.98 1.31 1.97 2.62 $1,822,224 | $264,768
2021 (5%)+ 0.69 1.03 1.38 2.06 2.75 $1,913,336 | $91,111
2022 (8%)+ 0.74 1.11 1.49 2.23 2.97 $2,066,403 | $153,067
2023 (7%)+ 0.80 1.19 1.59 2.39 3.18 $2,211,051 | $144,648
202 7R 0.85 1.28 1.70 2.55 3.40 |$2.365.824 ) $154.774
ter

*Revenue based on 2017 hazardous waste generator invoicing.
+ Calculated by percent multiplied by current revenue and subsequently over previous year

c. Proposed New Management Method Factor

The proposed rule would add a new management method factor to encourage brownfield or
orphaned industrial property site cleanups receiving grant funding. DEQ identified two sites in
the last six years that would meet this criteria, each had ~$30,000 in disposal costs.




New Management Method Factor

Grant-funded environmental cleanup of a brownfield or
orphaned industrial property involving waste residues for off-
site treatment and/or landfill disposal

Effective in
Calendar year

2019 0.00

Permitting Fees

DEQ’s current permitting fees include two components addressed in this rulemaking:
1. Annual permit compliance determination fee
2. Permit modification fee

As background, each permitted hazardous waste treatment, storage, and disposal facility
subject to 40 C.F.R. 264, 265, 270.and OAR 340, with an active operating hazardous waste
unit(s) is subject to the annual compliance determination fee.

DEQ will assess permittees a permit modification. This excludes modification related to
corrective action.

1. Annual Compliance Determination Fee
a. Increases TSD annual compliance determination fees in Oregon Administrative
Rule 340-105-0113(3) by 31 percent to better align with the consumer price index
(1997-2021:.72%) using this schedule:

Permitted Treatment, Storage, and Disposal Compliance
Determination Fee
Current Effective in | Proposed
Facility Activity Type 2018 Ca¢endar Revenue
ear
2019
Storage $18,750 $24,500 $49,000
Treatment: Single Technology $37,500 $49,500 $0
Treatment: Multiple Technology $75,000 $98,500 $98,500
Disposal Facility: Single Disposal Unit $75,000 $98,500 $0
Disposal Facility: Multiple Disposal Units | $150,000 $196,500 $196,500
Total Revenue* | $262,500 $344,000




Permitted Treatment, Storage, and Disposal Compliance
Determination Fee
Current Effective in | Proposed
Facility Activity Type 2018 Ca¢endar Revenue
ear
2019
Additional Annual Revenue $81,500
*Revenue based on 2018 TSD reporting data of 2 Storage, 1 Multi-Treatment, 1 Multi-Disposal
Post-Closure Facility $18,750 $24,500 $0

Where more than one hazardous waste management activity takes place at a single facility, DEQ
will assess all of the applicable category Annual Compliance Determination Fees.

b. New Permitted Operating Hazardous Waste Disposal Administrative Fee

Amending annual fees introduces a new administrative fee of $5.50 per metric ton of waste
disposed into a permitted Subtitle C land unit, by operating Oregon permitted hazardous
waste disposal facilities. Approximately 80 percent to 90 percent of the metric ton volume is
expected from out-of-state generators. The rulemaking adds new annual administrative fees
using this schedule:

New Permit Administration Fee
Type Clzjrrent Effective in
018 Calendar Year 2019
Permitted Operating Disposal Fee $0 $5.50 per metric ton
Estimated annual revenue* ~$495,000
Potential Additional Revenue $495,000

*Revenue based on ~90,000 metric tons hazardous waste disposed in Oregon annually

2. Permit Modification Fee
This increases the permit modification OAR 340-105-0113(4) fees 59 percent to better align

with the consumer price index (/992-2021: 94%) and streamline the modification types to
remove low and medium workloads using this schedule:
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Permit Modification Fee
Current Effective in Potential
Modification Type 2018 Calendar Year Variable
2019 Revenue*
Class 1 Low Workload $425 $0
Class 1 Medium Workload $1,500 $0
Class 1 High Workload $2,800 $4,500 $9,000
Class 2 Low Workload $5,000 $0
Class 2 Medium Workload $10,000 $0
Class 2 High Workload $20,000 $31,800 $31,800
Class 2 Processed as Class 3 $31,000 $0
Class 3 Low Workload $7,500 $0
Class 3 Medium Workload $15,000 $0
Class 3 High Workload $31,000 $49,300
Revenue* ~$7,350 ~$40,800
Potential Additional Revenue $33,450

*Revenue based on 20-year average of 2-Class. I and 1-Class 2

DEQ only receives permit modifications fees when permittee request a modification. These fees
are not a reliable source of annual revenue.

Statement of fiscal and economic impact

Fiscal and Economic Impact

For Generators

The proposed generator rules will increase the annual hazardous waste reporting fees for
businesses generating more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste a calendar month,
generating 2.2 pounds of acutely hazardous waste a calendar month, or accumulating more
than 2,200 pounds at any one time.

DEQ reviewed its hazardous waste registered businesses and found this rule would affect
487 active businesses that report their hazardous wastes. A small number of Oregon
businesses may report periodically as they conduct a chemical clean out or one-time
hazardous waste cleanup event that would move them from the conditionally exempt
category to a small or large quantity generator of hazardous waste.
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For Permitting

The proposed permitting rules will increase the annual hazardous waste compliance
determination fees, add a new annual permitted operating disposal administrative fee, and
amend the permit modification fees for businesses permitted to operate TSD facilities.

DEQ reviewed its hazardous waste permitted TSD facilities and found this rule would affect
two active operating TSD facilities that report their hazardous wastes.

Statement of Cost of Compliance

DEQ anticipates this rule adoption will cause small economic impacts on its own
expenditures. DEQ will make administrative changes on the annual reporting and accounting
systems. We expect this impact to be minimal.

Any rule change requires staff training, and outreach to the regulated community. DEQ
expects this impact to be minimal, as DEQ currently performs outreach through the
hazardous waste annual reporting notifications and through the hazardous waste technical
assistance program to regulated facilities.

State, federal and local governments
Direct Impacts

For state, federal, and local government businesses, annually reporting their hazardous waste
generation and management activity, compliance costs associated with the proposed rules is
identical to costs described under “Large Businesses.”

Indirect Impacts

The proposed rules would have the same indirect costs as “Large Businesses” indirect
impacts.

Public
Direct Impacts

DEQ anticipates there will be no fiscal impact on the public, as fees and a federal grant fund
the program. No Oregon General Funds are used to support the Hazardous Waste Program.

Large businesses - businesses with more than 50 employees

Hazardous Waste Generator Direct Impacts

DEQ anticipates there will be a fiscal and economic impact to businesses generating and
managing hazardous wastes who report. The tables below provide summaries of the
proposed direct financial impact of each total fee increase proposal for generators and
permitted facilities, respectively.
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Proposed - Fee
type

Generator - Large Business Fiscal Impact by
2024

Annual Activity
Verification Generator
fees

SQG: $240 increase (200 businesses)
LQG: $425 increase (133 large businesses)

Management Method
Factor fees

SQG: 200 subject to $467 average increase
LQG: 133 subject to $4,457 average increase. Includes cap*.

*This increase would result in thirteen (13) additional LQGs
reaching the cap.

To provide the most accurate representation of future impacts,
this analysis does not include spills, cleanup sites, remediation
sites, or closed facilities.

Proposed - Fee

Permitted Facility — Large Business Fiscal

type Impact by 2019

Permitting Annual Two permitted operating TSD facilities will be subject to
Compliance increases of $75,750 and $5,750 respectively for fee increase of
Determination fees 31%.

New Operating TSD One permitted operating hazardous waste disposal facility will be

Disposal Administrative
Fee

subject to an annual $5.50 per metric ton disposal administrative
fee. This may result in potentially $495,000 in additional revenue
based on ~ 90,000 tons annually disposed to a permitted Subtitle
C land disposal unit. Approximately 10-20% is in-state disposal.

If the $5.50 per metric ton is passed through directly to Oregon’s
hazardous waste large business generators, the estimated impacts
of this fee is estimated as follows, based on 2017 disposal data:

e Average annual increase to the 23 CEGs $5.83

e Average annual increase to the 14 SQGs $12.14

e Average annual increase to the 32 LQGs $451.34

Permitting Modification
Fee

Permitted treatment, storage and disposal facilities will be subject
to the applicable hazardous waste permit modification fee when
requesting permit modifications. Impact depends on the
classification of work needed. A 20-year average identified
submission of three permit modifications a year, or roughly
~$40,800 under the amended fee. This proposal would result in
an increase in potential revenue of ~$33,450.

Hazardous Waste Generator Indirect Impacts

Generators may be impacted as the proposed rules include an increase in permitted
hazardous waste TSD site permitting fees. Because of increased fees, Oregon’s two
operating facilities may decide to pass the costs on to businesses utilizing their services.
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DEQ is not responsible for these types of business decisions and cannot quantify what those
potential costs might be.

Permitted Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facility Direct Impacts

DEQ anticipates there will be a fiscal and economic impact to two operating permitted
hazardous waste TSD facilities generating and managing hazardous wastes who report. The
impact to those businesses would be a direct cost increase of 31 percent to their annual
compliance determination fees. In addition, if the facility seeks a modification to its current
active hazardous waste permit, the business would have a direct cost increase of 59 percent.
The proposed fee table above shows a detailed breakdown of the estimated financial impact.

Permitted Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facility Indirect Impacts

DEQ anticipates adopting the rules will have no indirect fiscal and economic impacts to
permitted TSD businesses. The businesses already report annually, and the proposed rules do
not add facilities or generators.

Small businesses — businesses with 50 or fewer employees
For the purpose of this discussion, a small business has 50 or fewer employees.

Direct Impacts

These rule changes will not affect most small businesses. This because the rules only affect
businesses generating more than 220 pounds a month of hazardous waste or more than 2.2
pounds of acutely hazardous waste. DEQ identified 131 small businesses the rules will
affect.

DEQ determined the proposed rules would have direct economic impact on all small
businesses that report generated hazardous wastes.

DEQ determined the economic impacts on these small businesses will not likely pose a
significant impact due to the phased-in multi-year stepped increases. The direct impacts are
outlined in the tables below for small business generators and permittees.

Proposed Fee Generator - Small Business Fiscal Impact by
type 2024

Annual Activity SQG: $240 increase (80 small businesses)

Verification Generator LQG: $425 increase (51 small businesses)

Management Method SQG: 80 subject to $695 average increase

Factor fees LQG: 51 subject to $3,726 average increase

This increase would result in three (3) additional LQGs
reaching the cap.
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type

Proposed Fee

2024

Generator - Small Business Fiscal Impact by

To provide the most accurate representation of future impacts,
this analysis does not include spills, cleanup, remediation or
closed facilities.

type

Proposed Fee

Permitted Facility - Small Business Fiscal
Impact by 2019

Permitting fees

Oregon’s two permitted TSD sites are national companies
with more than 50 employees.

The following presents a comparison of generator pre-rule and post-rule implementation
invoices for five facilities. The facilities chosen représent the 25", 50, 75% 90™ and 95®
percentile based on the volume of hazardous waste generated for calendar year 2017, as
reported in 2018.

Estimated Invoices for Small Quantity Generators

Percentile - SQG

Cost 25th 50t 75th 9(Qth 95th
2018 | 2024 | 2018 | 2024 2018 2024 | 2018 | 2024 2018 2024

Verification
Fee $300 | $540 | $300 | $540 $525 $945 $525 $945 $525 $945
Mgt.
Method $104 | $289 | $226 | $629 | $1,004 |$2,792 | $3,166 | $8,808 | $21,799 | $32,500
Factor
Projected
Increase $425 $643 $2,213 $6,067 $11,126

type

Proposed Fee

Permitted Facility - Small Business Fiscal Impact by

2019

Permitting Annual
Compliance
Determination fees

This increase is unlikely to direct affect small businesses. Oregon’s two
permitted TSD facilities are national companies with more than 50

employees.

Fee

New Operating TSD
Disposal Administrative

If the $5.50 per metric ton is passed directly to small businesses, the
estimated impacts will be as follows, based on DEQ 2017 reported
hazardous waste disposal data:

e Average annual increase to the 29 CEGs $21.45

e Average annual increase to the 24 SQGs $10.29
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Proposed Fee

type

2019

Permitted Facility - Small Business Fiscal Impact by

e Average annual increase to the 17 LQGs $109.71

The following the Oregon 131 small businesses as identified by the North American Industry
Classification System.

a. Estimated Number and Type of Small Businesses Subject to
Proposed Rule
Using a combination of 2015 Department of Employment and 2017 generator-provided
employment data, DEQ found an estimated 131 Oregon businesses having 50 or fewer
employees that are likely to be impacted by this rule. Using reporting data, DEQ identified 65
small business North American Industry Classification System codes, DEQ found the following:
237310 |Highway, Street and Bridge Construction 1
238160 |Roofing Contractors 2
238320 | Painting and Wall Covering Contractors 5
321114 |Wood Preservation 9
321911 |Wood Window and Door Manufacturing 1
325199 |All Other Basic Organic Chemical Manufacturing 4
325211 | Plastics Material and Resin Manufacturing 2
325411 |Medicinal and Botanical Manufacturing 2
325510 |Paint'and Coating Manufacturing 3
325611 |Soap and Other Detergent Manufacturing 1
325910 |Printing Ink Manufacturing 1
325998 |All Other Miscellaneous Chemical Product & Preparation Manufacturing 2
326150 |Urethane & Other Foam Product (except Polystyrene) Manufacturing 1
326199 |All other Plastics Product Manufacturing 1
327212 |Other Pressed & Blown Glass & Glassware Manufacturing 1
327215 |Glass Product Manufacturing Made of Purchased Glass 1
331210 |Iron and Steel Pipe & Tube Manufacturing from Purchased Steel 1
331410 |Nonferrous Metal (except Aluminum) Smelting and Refining 1
331529 |Other Nonferrous Metal Foundries (except Die-Casting) 1
332111 |Iron and Steel Forging 1
332312 |Fabricated Structural Metal Manufacturing 1
332313 |L&E Tubing LLC dba Clackamas Tool Welding 1
332439 |Other Metal Container Manufacturing 1
332710 |Machine Shops 1
332721 |Precision Turned Product Manufacturing 1
332722 |Bolt, Nut, Screw, Rivet and Washer Manufacturing 1

16



https://www.naics.com/naics-code-description/?code=325910
https://www.naics.com/naics-code-description/?code=331210
https://www.naics.com/naics-code-description/?code=332111

a. Estimated Number and Type of Small Businesses Subject to

Proposed Rule

Using a combination of 2015 Department of Employment and 2017 generator-provided
employment data, DEQ found an estimated 131 Oregon businesses having 50 or fewer

employees that are likely to be impacted by this rule. Using reporting data, DEQ identified 65
small business North American Industry Classification System codes, DEQ found the following:

332812 |Metal Coating, Engraving (except Jewelry and Silverware), & Allied Services tq 5
Manufacturers
332813 |Electroplating, Plating, Polishing, Anodizing, and Coloring 11
333242 |Semiconductor Machinery Manufacturing 1
333924 |Industrial Truck, Tractor, Trailer & Stacker Machinery Manufacturing 1
334413 |Semiconductor and Related Device Manufacturing 7
336211 |Motor Vehicle Body Manufacturing 1
336214 |Travel Trailer and Camper Manufacturing 1
337215 |Showcase, Partition, Shelving and Locker Manufacturing 1
339113 |Surgical Appliance and Supplies Manufacturing 1
339114 |Dental Equipment and Supplies Manufacturing 1
339999 |All Other Miscellaneous Manufacturing 1
423490 |Other Professional Equipment & Supplies Merchant Wholesalers 1
423850 |Service Establishment Equipment & Supplies-Merchant Wholesalers 1
423930 |Recyclable Material Merchant Wholesalers 1
424690 |Other Chemical and Allied Products Merchant Wholesalers 2
424910 [Farm Supplies Merchant Wholesalers 1
424950 |Paint, Varnish, and Supplies Merchant and Wholesalers 1
441310 [|Automotive Parts and Accessories Stores 1
442110 . [Furniture Stores 1
446110  |Pharmacies and Drug Stores 1
484122 |General Freight Trucking, Long-Distance, Less Than Truckload 1
493110 |General Warehousing and Storage 3
493190 |Other Warehousing and Storage 4
531110 |Lessors of Residential Buildings and Dwellings 1
531120 |Lessors of Nonresidential Buildings (except Mini warehouses) 2
531312 |Nonresidential Property Managers 1
532412 |Construction, Mining, Forestry Machinery/Equipment Rental & Leasing 1
541380 |Testing Laboratories 7
541713 |Research and Development in Nanotechnology 1
562111 |Solid Waste Collection 1
562910 |Remediation Services 3
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a. Estimated Number and Type of Small Businesses Subject to
Proposed Rule

Using a combination of 2015 Department of Employment and 2017 generator-provided
employment data, DEQ found an estimated 131 Oregon businesses having 50 or fewer
employees that are likely to be impacted by this rule. Using reporting data, DEQ identified 65
small business North American Industry Classification System codes, DEQ found the following:

621511 |Medical Laboratories 2
622110 |General Medical and Surgical Hospitals 4
811118 |Other Automotive Mechanical & Electrical Repair.& Maintenance 5
811121 |Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance 2
811219 |Other Electronic & Precision Equipment Repair & Maintenance 1
811310 JCommercial and Industrial Machinery and Equipment (except Automotive and )
Electronic) Repair and Maintenance
811420 JRe-upholstery and Furniture Repair 1

Indirect Impacts
The proposed rules would have the same indirect costs as “Large Businesses.”

a. Estimated number of small businesses and types of businesses and
industries with small businesses subject to proposed rule.

Using recent employment data, DEQ compared the 487 businesses registered with the
Hazardous Waste Program to current self-reported employment data to determine how many
businesses employ 50 or fewer employees. One hundred and thirty one are small businesses.
Of those 131 businesses, 51 are large quantity hazardous waste generators, 80 are small
quantity hazardous waste generators. One is a conditionally exempt generator and thus not
subject to the proposed rule.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities,
including costs of professional services, required for small businesses to
comply with the proposed rule.

No additional activities are required to comply with the proposed rules. Registered hazardous
waste generators already pay hazardous waste fees.

c. Projected equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required
for small businesses to comply with the proposed rule.

No additional resources are required for compliance with the proposed rules. Registered
hazardous waste generators already pay hazardous waste fees.
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d. Describe how DEQ involved small businesses in developing this proposed
rule.

DEQ included small business representatives and delegates from Oregon Business and
Industry who represent small businesses in Oregon on the Hazardous Waste Fee Advisory
Committee. The Committee advised DEQ on the cost of compliance for small businesses.
DEQ also provided rulemaking notice to all hazardous waste businesses registered with
Oregon DEQ and fee-payers. These groups included small businesses. Small businesses will
also have the opportunity to comment though the public comment and public hearing.

Documents relied on for fiscal and economic impact

Document title Document location
Oregon Department of Environmental Oregon DEQ
Quality Annual Hazardous Waste Hazardous Waste Program
Reporting for disposal in 2016 as reported 700 NE‘Multnomah St, Ste. 600
in 2017 Portland, OR 97232-1400
Oregon Department of Environmental Oregon DEQ
Quality Annual Hazardous Waste Hazardous Waste Program
Reporting for disposal in.2017 as reported 700 NE Multnomah St, Ste. 600
in 2018 Portland, OR 97232-1400

Oregon Department of Employment Employment Department

2016 data 875 Union Street NE

Salem OR 97311

Advisory committee fiscal review

DEQ convened a nine-member advisory committee that also served as the fiscal advisors in
the fee-setting process. The committee was comprised of statewide, geographic
representation, directly and indirectly affected regulated parties for large and small
businesses, business advocates and environmental interests.

During the last committee meeting, DEQ asked the committee to review the draft and
consider the fiscal impacts of the proposed rules, as OAR 183.333 requires. DEQ specifically
asked the committee:

a. Will the rule have a fiscal impact?

b. If so, what is the extent of the fiscal impact?

c. Will the rule have a significant adverse impact on small businesses (<50
employees)?

d. If so, how can DEQ reduce the economic impact of the rule on small
businesses?
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Committee Findings

The committee determined the proposed rules will have economic impacts to all hazardous
waste fee payers. The proposed rules will affect all hazardous waste annual reporters,
including some businesses that may intermittently generate and report hazardous waste due
to a one-time cleanout or other infrequent activity. The impact will be different for each
business.

The committee did not identify significant adverse impact on small businesses in Oregon.
Without additional information, such as business revenues not readily available, the full
impact to small businesses is difficult to determine. To help minimize the impacts to
businesses, the proposed generator fee increases will be phased-in over multiple years.

The Committee meeting notes are posted to DEQ’s Hazardous Waste Fees 2019 Rulemaking
Advisory Committee Webpage.

Housing cost

ORS 183.534 requires DEQ to evaluate whether the proposed rules would affect the development
cost of a 6,000-square-foot parcel and construction of a 1,200-square-foot detached, single-family
dwelling on that parcel. DEQ determined the proposed rules would have no effect on the
development costs because the proposed rules only affect regulated businesses under the
hazardous waste regulations.

Federal relationship

Relationship to federal requirements
ORS 183.332, 468A.327 and OAR 340-011-0029 require DEQ to attempt to adopt rules that
correspond with existing equivalent federal laws and rules unless there are reasons not to do so.

The proposed rules are not different from or in addition to federal requirements in 40 Code of
Federal Regulations 260-268, 270, 273, and Subpart A and Subpart B of part 124.

Land use

Land-use considerations

In adopting new or amended rules, ORS 197.180 and OAR 340-018-0070 require DEQ to
determine whether the proposed rules significantly affect land use. If so, DEQ must explain how
the proposed rules comply with statewide land-use planning goals and local acknowledged
comprehensive plans.

Under OAR 660-030-0005 and OAR 340 Division 18, DEQ considers that rules affect land use if:
e The statewide land use planning goals specifically refer to the rule or program
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e The rule or program is reasonably expected to have significant effects on:
o Resources, objectives or areas identified in the statewide planning goals,
o Present or future land uses identified in acknowledged comprehensive plans

DEQ determined whether the proposed rules involve programs or actions that affect land use by
reviewing its Statewide Agency Coordination plan. The plan describes the programs that DEQ
determined significantly affect land use. DEQ considers that its programs specifically relate to the
following statewide goals:

Goal Title
5 Open Spaces, Scenic and Historic Areas, and Natural Resources
6 Air, Water and Land Resources Quality
9 Ocean Resources

11 Public Facilities and Services

16  Estuarial Resources

Statewide goals also specifically reference the following DEQ programs:
e Nonpoint source discharge water quality program — Goal 16

e Water quality and sewage disposal systems — Goal 16

e Water quality permits and oil spill regulations — Goal 19

Determination
DEQ determined these proposed rules do not affect land use under OAR 340-018-0030 or DEQ’s
State Agency Coordination Program.

Advisory Committee

Background

DEQ convened a nine-member advisory committee that also served as the fiscal advisors in the
fee-setting process. The committee included representatives from industry, small and large
businesses and environmental entities. It met three times in 2018: Aug. 13, Sept. 17 and Oct. 18,
2018. Supporting documents-are located on the committee’s webpage at: Hazardous Waste Fees
2019 Rulemaking.
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The Committee members were:

Hazardous Waste Fees Rulemaking Advisory Committee

Name Representing
Keri Bishop Large Quantity Generator, Northwest
Jim Denson, Jr. Hazardous Waste Permittee, Large Quantity Generator, Eastern
Michael Doherty Small Business, Small Quantity Generator, Northwest

Lori Grant

Environment, Statewide

Bruce Johnson

Large Quantity Generator, Eastern

Marjorie MartzEmerson

Environment, Small Businesses Statewide, Eastern

Matthew Sauvageau

Hazardous Waste Permittee, Large Quantity Generator, Northwest

Mike Standen

Small Quantity Generator, Small Business, Western

Geoffrey B. Tichenor

Oregon Business & Industry, Small Businesses, Statewide

Kim Kaminski (Alternate)

Hazardous Waste Permittee, Large Quantity Generator, Northwest]

Amber Petersen (Alternate)

Large Quantity Generator, Eastern

Leah Shannon (Alternate)

Hazardous Waste Permittee, Large Quantity Generator, Eastern

Sheila Smith (Alternate)

Hazardous Waste Permittee, Large Quantity Generator, Northwest

Meeting notifications
DEQ notified 23,744 people about the Advisory Committee’s activities by:
e Sending GovDelivery bulletins, a free e-mail subscription service, to the following lists:
e Hazardous Waste - 3,009
e Hazardous Waste Training = 6,599
o Toxics Use and Hazardous Waste Reduction Program — 2,783
e Rulemaking —8,316
e DEQ Public Notices — 3,037
e DEQ also sent on July 25, Sept. 4, and Oct. 10, 2018 a one-time notice to the above
GovDelivery subscribers to describe how to sign up for committee meeting notices
e Added committee announcements to DEQ’s calendar of public meetings at DEQ Calendar
e On July 25, Sept. 4, and Oct. 10, 2018 DEQ provided notice of meetings and links to
committee information through postings on Facebook and Twitter.

Committee discussions

In addition to the recommendations described in the Statement of Fiscal and Economic Impact
section, the committee provided input and discussion on the proposed draft rules. Agendas,
meeting summaries, and presentation slides are available on the committee’s webpage at:
Hazardous Waste Fees 2019 Rulemaking.
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	The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality Hazardous Waste Program promotes reducing and safely managing hazardous waste, issues permits to waste management facilities, inspects hazardous waste generators and used oil processors, and assists Orego...
	The primary objectives of the program are to:
	 Reduce or eliminate the threat of exposure to hazardous waste
	 Reduce the use of toxic chemicals in the workplace
	 Deliver excellence in service
	DEQ remains committed to maintaining state authorization for this program rather than having the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency run the program. This ensures flexibility and responsiveness in implementing the Hazardous Waste Program in Oregon.
	Since January 1986, EPA has authorized Oregon to manage the state’s hazardous waste or Resource Conservation and Recovery Act program. DEQ implements the state hazardous waste program, as defined in Oregon Revised Statute 466.086 and as applied in Ore...
	ORS 466.165(1) authorizes DEQ to collect fees to “carry on monitoring, inspection and surveillance program established under ORS 466.195 and to cover related administrative costs.” (ORS 466.165(1))
	Annually, DEQ’s Hazardous Waste Program receives approximately $3.5 million from multiple sources, including various fees (79 percent), a federal grant (20 percent), and small cost recovery funds (1 percent). Required General Fund reductions and shift...

	Who does this affect?
	These fees will affect 487 fee payers producing hazardous waste and two businesses operating permitted treatment, storage and disposal facilities. Of those, DEQ identified 18 remedial clean-up sites, includes nine closed sites that intermittently gene...
	The proposed amendments of OAR 340-102 and 105 apply to all hazardous waste generators required to report.
	Fee Analysis
	The Oregon Environmental Quality Commission’s approval of this rule proposal would increase existing Hazardous Waste Program fees. EQC authority to act on the proposed fees is Oregon Revised statutes 466.020, 466.045, 466.075, 466.165, 466.195, and 46...
	Brief description of proposed fees
	The proposed fees would address the forecasted $1.2 million - $1.5 million deficit in Hazardous Waste Program revenue for the 2019-21 biennium. This shortfall threatens DEQ’s ability to ensure safe management and disposal of hazardous waste and greatl...
	DEQ proposes revising:
	 Treatment, storage and disposal permit modification fees
	 Treatment, storage and disposal annual disposal administrative fees
	Reasons
	The proposed fees would address the projected funding shortfall in the 2019-21 biennium revenue for the Hazardous Waste program. Contributing factors to the projected funding shortfall include:
	 Change in state revenue
	The Hazardous Waste Program received $1.2 million in General Funds in 1999. Since then, the amount of General Fund support has steadily declined, and was eliminated in 2014.
	 Change in fee revenue
	Since 2004, Oregon’s Hazardous Waste Program funding has significantly decreased. This includes the Chemical Waste Management’s Arlington landfill hazardous waste tipping fees (approximately 60 percent), and Hazardous Waste Permit fees. Program staffi...
	 Change in other fund revenue
	Since 2004, the program EPA’s Performance Partnership Grant funding decreased by approximately 7 percent.
	 Increased program costs
	Most program fees remain unchanged for nearly 20 years without adjustment for inflation. Increased program costs include, but are not limited to, salaries/benefits and information technology updates. This includes replacing two information systems to ...
	 Change in transaction costs
	The program has two, currently operating TSD permitted facilities. Permit modification fees remain at the 1997 level, without inflation increase.
	 Program streamlining
	The program has cut costs over the last decade by minimizing expenses, reducing overhead, holding positions vacant, and supplementing with a small ending fund balance.
	 Static number of base fee payers
	The number of hazardous waste generators reporting annually in the past 10 years (2008 to present) has remained relatively static with an average 470. However, the program’s staff level has decreased from 39 legislatively approved FTE to the current 2...
	Fee proposal alternatives considered
	The program considered the following fee increase alternatives:
	 No fee increases, which does not address the projected shortfall in revenue
	In addition, the program considered the following, which requires changing the Oregon Revised Statute and is out of scope of the proposed rulemaking:
	 Amending hazardous waste generator fee cap of $32,500 to help cover associated costs
	 Amending hazardous waste metric ton $130 fee
	 Amending hazardous waste permit renewal fees of $150,000 to help cover costs
	 Inflation or consumer price index consideration
	 Cost recovery for permit modifications
	Fee payer
	The proposed rules will increase the annual hazardous waste activity verification fees for businesses generating more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste per calendar month or 2.2 pounds of acutely hazardous waste per calendar month, in addition to inc...
	The proposed rules will also increase the annual hazardous waste permit compliance determination fees, increase the hazardous waste permit modification fees, and add an annual administrative disposal fee for operating permitted TSD facilities. The pro...
	Affected party involvement in fee-setting process
	DEQ convened a nine-member Hazardous Waste Fees Advisory Committee that also served as the fiscal advisors in the fee-setting process. The committee was comprised of statewide geographic representation, directly and indirectly affected regulated parti...
	Fee payer agreement with fee proposal
	DEQ utilized the advisory committee’s discussions in forming draft proposals. The draft proposals will be part of the required formal notice process that includes public hearing and an opportunity for the public to comment.
	DEQ will consider all comments before finalizing and presenting the proposed fee package to the Oregon Environmental Quality Commission in May 2019.
	When were these fees last increased?
	 The generator management method factor has not changed since establishment in 1992
	 The generator annual activity verification fee last changed in 1997, when the small quantity generator fee increased from $200 to $300 and large quantity generator fee increased from $350 to $525
	 Permitting annual compliance determination fees have remained the same since 1997 and permit modification fee since 1998
	Hazardous waste generator fee statutory changes not considered in this rulemaking:
	 The annual metric ton generator fee changed in 2008 from $110 to $130 per metric ton
	 The hazardous waste generation fee cap changed in 2008 from $27,500 to $32,500
	How long will the current fee sustain the program?
	The program has reduced expenditures and is still experiencing an annual $1.0 million deficit. Without additional revenue, the program will exhaust all available fund sources in July 2019 and the program will need to consider other cost reductions by ...
	*Source: DEQ 2017-19 Legislative Approved Budget
	How long will the proposed fee sustain the program?
	DEQ is looking at several fee-funding alternatives in a multi-year effort to address this deficit by 2026. Phase I, this rulemaking, will address those fees that can change by rule. DEQ must make additional rule and statute changes within the next sev...
	Transactions and revenue
	For hazardous waste generators annually reporting:
	For permitted hazardous waste treatment, storage and disposal facilities:
	Generator Fees
	DEQ’s current annual hazardous generator fee has two components:
	1. An annual activity verification fee
	2. An annual hazardous waste generation fee (includes management method factor)
	Part 1: $525 or $300 +
	Part 2:  [Amount of metric tons waste x $130 x management method factor]
	Both parts combine to represent the total fee included on the annual hazardous waste invoice. DEQ has a current generator fee cap of $32,500, which applies only to Part 2 of this formula.
	1.  Annual activity verification fee
	The fee is based on generator category. All generators of hazardous waste that notified DEQ of their activities and obtained a Resource Conservation and Recovery Act Site Identification Number must verify their basic registration information annually....
	a. Current Annual Activity Verification Fees are:
	o Large Quantity Generators $525
	The table below shows how DEQ defines hazardous waste generators
	 No limit.
	 13,200 lbs. If generator exceeds this limit, a permit is required 
	 Accumulates no more than 2.2 lbs. of acutely hazardous waste at any time.
	The examples below shows how DEQ calculates the hazardous waste generator fees.
	b. Proposed Annual Activity Verification Fees:
	A three-year phase-in will increase the Annual Hazardous Waste Activity Verification Fee as defined in Oregon Administrative Rule 340-102-0065(4) by 80 percent to better align with the consumer price index (1997-2021: 72%) using this schedule:
	*Revenue based on 2017 hazardous waste generator invoicing of 196 LQGs and 291 SQGs.
	** Percent increase is over previous year.
	2. Annual hazardous waste generation fee
	This fee applies to large- and small-quantity generators reporting hazardous waste generation and management during a calendar year. One portion of this calculation is the management method factors, which this rulemaking is addressing. The management ...
	a. Current Management Method Factors are:
	b. Proposed Management Method Factor schedule:
	A six-year phase-in will increase the management method factors as defined in Oregon Administrative Rule 340-102-0065(3)(c) by 70 percent to better align with the consumer price index (1992-2021: 94%) using this schedule:
	*Revenue based on 2017 hazardous waste generator invoicing.
	+ Calculated by percent multiplied by current revenue and subsequently over previous year
	c. Proposed New Management Method Factor
	The proposed rule would add a new management method factor to encourage brownfield or orphaned industrial property site cleanups receiving grant funding. DEQ identified two sites in the last six years that would meet this criteria, each had ~$30,000 i...
	Permitting Fees
	DEQ’s current permitting fees include two components addressed in this rulemaking:
	1. Annual permit compliance determination fee
	2. Permit modification fee
	As background, each permitted hazardous waste treatment, storage, and disposal facility subject to 40 C.F.R. 264, 265, 270 and OAR 340, with an active operating hazardous waste unit(s) is subject to the annual compliance determination fee.
	DEQ will assess permittees a permit modification. This excludes modification related to corrective action.
	1. Annual Compliance Determination Fee
	a. Increases TSD annual compliance determination fees in Oregon Administrative Rule 340-105-0113(3) by 31 percent to better align with the consumer price index (1997-2021: 72%) using this schedule:
	Where more than one hazardous waste management activity takes place at a single facility, DEQ will assess all of the applicable category Annual Compliance Determination Fees.
	b. New Permitted Operating Hazardous Waste Disposal Administrative Fee
	*Revenue based on ~90,000 metric tons hazardous waste disposed in Oregon annually
	2. Permit Modification Fee
	This increases the permit modification OAR 340-105-0113(4) fees 59 percent to better align with the consumer price index (1992-2021: 94%) and streamline the modification types to remove low and medium workloads using this schedule:
	*Revenue based on 20-year average of 2-Class 1 and 1-Class 2
	DEQ only receives permit modifications fees when permittee request a modification. These fees are not a reliable source of annual revenue.
	Fiscal and Economic Impact

	For Generators
	The proposed generator rules will increase the annual hazardous waste reporting fees for businesses generating more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste a calendar month, generating 2.2 pounds of acutely hazardous waste a calendar month, or accumulating...
	DEQ reviewed its hazardous waste registered businesses and found this rule would affect 487 active businesses that report their hazardous wastes. A small number of Oregon businesses may report periodically as they conduct a chemical clean out or one-t...
	For Permitting
	The proposed permitting rules will increase the annual hazardous waste compliance determination fees, add a new annual permitted operating disposal administrative fee, and amend the permit modification fees for businesses permitted to operate TSD faci...
	DEQ reviewed its hazardous waste permitted TSD facilities and found this rule would affect two active operating TSD facilities that report their hazardous wastes.
	Statement of Cost of Compliance

	DEQ anticipates this rule adoption will cause small economic impacts on its own expenditures. DEQ will make administrative changes on the annual reporting and accounting systems. We expect this impact to be minimal.
	Any rule change requires staff training, and outreach to the regulated community. DEQ expects this impact to be minimal, as DEQ currently performs outreach through the hazardous waste annual reporting notifications and through the hazardous waste tech...
	State, federal and local governments
	Direct Impacts
	For state, federal, and local government businesses, annually reporting their hazardous waste generation and management activity, compliance costs associated with the proposed rules is identical to costs described under “Large Businesses.”
	Indirect Impacts
	The proposed rules would have the same indirect costs as “Large Businesses” indirect impacts.
	Public

	Direct Impacts
	DEQ anticipates there will be no fiscal impact on the public, as fees and a federal grant fund the program. No Oregon General Funds are used to support the Hazardous Waste Program.
	Large businesses - businesses with more than 50 employees

	Hazardous Waste Generator Direct Impacts
	DEQ anticipates there will be a fiscal and economic impact to businesses generating and managing hazardous wastes who report. The tables below provide summaries of the proposed direct financial impact of each total fee increase proposal for generators...
	 Average annual increase to the 23 CEGs $5.83
	 Average annual increase to the 14 SQGs $12.14
	 Average annual increase to the 32 LQGs $451.34
	Hazardous Waste Generator Indirect Impacts
	Generators may be impacted as the proposed rules include an increase in permitted hazardous waste TSD site permitting fees. Because of increased fees, Oregon’s two operating facilities may decide to pass the costs on to businesses utilizing their serv...
	Permitted Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facility Direct Impacts
	DEQ anticipates there will be a fiscal and economic impact to two operating permitted hazardous waste TSD facilities generating and managing hazardous wastes who report. The impact to those businesses would be a direct cost increase of 31 percent to t...
	Permitted Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facility Indirect Impacts
	DEQ anticipates adopting the rules will have no indirect fiscal and economic impacts to permitted TSD businesses. The businesses already report annually, and the proposed rules do not add facilities or generators.
	Small businesses – businesses with 50 or fewer employees

	For the purpose of this discussion, a small business has 50 or fewer employees.
	Direct Impacts
	These rule changes will not affect most small businesses. This because the rules only affect businesses generating more than 220 pounds a month of hazardous waste or more than 2.2 pounds of acutely hazardous waste. DEQ identified 131 small businesses ...
	DEQ determined the proposed rules would have direct economic impact on all small businesses that report generated hazardous wastes.
	DEQ determined the economic impacts on these small businesses will not likely pose a significant impact due to the phased-in multi-year stepped increases. The direct impacts are outlined in the tables below for small business generators and permittees.
	The following presents a comparison of generator pre-rule and post-rule implementation invoices for five facilities. The facilities chosen represent the 25th, 50th, 75th, 90th, and 95th percentile based on the volume of hazardous waste generated for c...
	 Average annual increase to the 29 CEGs $21.45
	 Average annual increase to the 24 SQGs $10.29
	 Average annual increase to the 17 LQGs $109.71
	The following the Oregon 131 small businesses as identified by the North American Industry Classification System.
	Indirect Impacts
	The proposed rules would have the same indirect costs as “Large Businesses.”
	a. Estimated number of small businesses and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to proposed rule.

	Using recent employment data, DEQ compared the 487 businesses registered with the Hazardous Waste Program to current self-reported employment data to determine how many businesses employ 50 or fewer employees. One hundred and thirty one are small busi...
	b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities, including costs of professional services, required for small businesses to comply with the proposed rule.

	No additional activities are required to comply with the proposed rules. Registered hazardous waste generators already pay hazardous waste fees.
	c. Projected equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for small businesses to comply with the proposed rule.

	No additional resources are required for compliance with the proposed rules. Registered hazardous waste generators already pay hazardous waste fees.
	d. Describe how DEQ involved small businesses in developing this proposed rule.

	DEQ included small business representatives and delegates from Oregon Business and Industry who represent small businesses in Oregon on the Hazardous Waste Fee Advisory Committee. The Committee advised DEQ on the cost of compliance for small businesse...
	Documents relied on for fiscal and economic impact
	Advisory committee fiscal review

	Document location
	Document title
	Oregon Department of Environmental Quality Annual Hazardous Waste Reporting for disposal in 2016 as reported in 2017
	Oregon Department of Environmental Quality Annual Hazardous Waste Reporting for disposal in 2017 as reported in 2018
	DEQ convened a nine-member advisory committee that also served as the fiscal advisors in the fee-setting process. The committee was comprised of statewide, geographic representation, directly and indirectly affected regulated parties for large and sma...
	During the last committee meeting, DEQ asked the committee to review the draft and consider the fiscal impacts of the proposed rules, as OAR 183.333 requires. DEQ specifically asked the committee:
	a. Will the rule have a fiscal impact?
	b. If so, what is the extent of the fiscal impact?
	c. Will the rule have a significant adverse impact on small businesses (<50 employees)?
	d. If so, how can DEQ reduce the economic impact of the rule on small businesses?
	Committee Findings
	The committee determined the proposed rules will have economic impacts to all hazardous waste fee payers. The proposed rules will affect all hazardous waste annual reporters, including some businesses that may intermittently generate and report hazard...
	The committee did not identify significant adverse impact on small businesses in Oregon. Without additional information, such as business revenues not readily available, the full impact to small businesses is difficult to determine. To help minimize t...
	The Committee meeting notes are posted to DEQ’s Hazardous Waste Fees 2019 Rulemaking Advisory Committee Webpage.
	Housing cost

	ORS 183.534 requires DEQ to evaluate whether the proposed rules would affect the development cost of a 6,000-square-foot parcel and construction of a 1,200-square-foot detached, single-family dwelling on that parcel. DEQ determined the proposed rules ...
	Relationship to federal requirements

	Federal relationship
	ORS 183.332, 468A.327 and OAR 340-011-0029 require DEQ to attempt to adopt rules that correspond with existing equivalent federal laws and rules unless there are reasons not to do so.
	The proposed rules are not different from or in addition to federal requirements in 40 Code of Federal Regulations 260-268, 270, 273, and Subpart A and Subpart B of part 124.
	Land-use considerations

	In adopting new or amended rules, ORS 197.180 and OAR 340-018-0070 require DEQ to determine whether the proposed rules significantly affect land use. If so, DEQ must explain how the proposed rules comply with statewide land-use planning goals and loca...
	Under OAR 660-030-0005 and OAR 340 Division 18, DEQ considers that rules affect land use if:
	 The statewide land use planning goals specifically refer to the rule or program
	 The rule or program is reasonably expected to have significant effects on:
	o Resources, objectives or areas identified in the statewide planning goals,
	o Present or future land uses identified in acknowledged comprehensive plans
	DEQ determined whether the proposed rules involve programs or actions that affect land use by reviewing its Statewide Agency Coordination plan. The plan describes the programs that DEQ determined significantly affect land use. DEQ considers that its p...
	Title
	Goal
	Open Spaces, Scenic and Historic Areas, and Natural Resources
	5
	6
	Ocean Resources
	9
	Public Facilities and Services
	11
	Estuarial Resources
	16
	Statewide goals also specifically reference the following DEQ programs:
	 Nonpoint source discharge water quality program – Goal 16
	 Water quality and sewage disposal systems – Goal 16
	 Water quality permits and oil spill regulations – Goal 19
	Determination

	DEQ determined these proposed rules do not affect land use under OAR 340-018-0030 or DEQ’s State Agency Coordination Program.
	Background

	Advisory Committee
	DEQ convened a nine-member advisory committee that also served as the fiscal advisors in the fee-setting process. The committee included representatives from industry, small and large businesses and environmental entities. It met three times in 2018: ...
	The Committee members were:
	Meeting notifications

	Hazardous Waste Fees Rulemaking Advisory Committee
	DEQ notified 23,744 people about the Advisory Committee’s activities by:
	 Sending GovDelivery bulletins, a free e-mail subscription service, to the following lists:
	 Hazardous Waste - 3,009
	 Hazardous Waste Training – 6,599
	 Toxics Use and Hazardous Waste Reduction Program – 2,783
	 Rulemaking – 8,316
	 DEQ Public Notices – 3,037
	 DEQ also sent on July 25, Sept. 4, and Oct. 10, 2018 a one-time notice to the above GovDelivery subscribers to describe how to sign up for committee meeting notices
	 Added committee announcements to DEQ’s calendar of public meetings at DEQ Calendar
	 On July 25, Sept. 4, and Oct. 10, 2018 DEQ provided notice of meetings and links to committee information through postings on Facebook and Twitter.
	Committee discussions

	In addition to the recommendations described in the Statement of Fiscal and Economic Impact section, the committee provided input and discussion on the proposed draft rules. Agendas, meeting summaries, and presentation slides are available on the comm...

