About Us

Oregon's Public Records Law (ORS 192) guides access to public records.

Attention: DEQ has changed its procedures and fees for fulfilling public records requests to comply with Oregon law in effect Jan. 1, 2018. See the FAQs below for updated procedures and pricing.


 

There are two major changes to our public records procedures beginning January 1, 2018:
 
Senate Bill 481 requires all public agencies to acknowledge a records request within five business days and respond to the request within 15 business days. In most cases, we will provide any records you requested that are not exempt from disclosure within 15 business days.
 
There are certain cases when this may not be possible due to the volume of requests or because the staff members needed to fulfill the request are not available. If this is the case we will still contact you within 15 business days with an explanation of this and an estimated date when we will be able to complete the request.
 
If we contact you with questions or clarifications about your request, or with a fee estimate for your approval, the timeframe for responding is suspended until we hear back from you. If we do not hear from you in 60 days, your request will be closed.
 
DAS policy 107-001-030 establishes a new standard fee schedule for all state agencies. Until new rules based on this policy are established,  DEQ will charge whichever rate is lower between our existing fee schedule and the new DAS schedule. See below for the current fee schedule.
 
If you feel that DEQ has failed to comply with these changes or any other provisions of the public records law, you have the right to file an appeal. Visit the Department of Justice webpage on appeals for more information

DEQ responds to all records requests as quickly and transparently as possible. We do not charge for time for requests that take less than 30 minutes to process, except for the $7.50 base fee for onsite requests.

There are three circumstances in which you may receive one free copy of a DEQ record:
 
  1. When the material is currently being distributed as part of a public participation process such as press releases or public notices;
  2. When the material has been distributed through a mass mailing and is readily available at DEQ at the time of the request.
  3. When the records request is made by a local, state, or federal public/governmental entity or a representative of a public/governmental entity acting in a public function or capacity.
If the request requires more than 30 minutes of staff time, and reproduction cost is over $25, DEQ staff will contact you about a time estimate and any costs associated with processing your request. Below is the most recent fee schedule.
​Fee Description ​ Standard Fee Schedule​ Reduced Fee Schedule​
Staff time per hour​ ​ ​
Staff time - clerical​​ ​$25 per hour ​$20 per hour
Staff time - ​managerial​ ​$30 per hour
​Staff time - professional ​$30 per hour
A​ttorney fees​​​

​$159 per hour - attorney

$79 per hour - paralegal

​$75 per hour - attorney
Copies and Printing​​ ​ ​
Black/white, letter or legal size​​ ​$0.07 per page ​$0.07 per page
​Color, letter ot legal size ​$0.10 per page ​$0.10 per page
Black/white, 11x17​ ​​$0.10 per page ​​$0.10 per page
​Color, 11x17​ ​​$0.10 per page ​​$0.10 per page
Postage​​ ​ ​
Express mail​​ ​Current USPS rates ​Current USPS rates
Postage​​ ​Current USPS rates ​Current USPS rates
​Recordable Media ​ ​
CDs​​ ​$1.75 ea ​​$1.75 ea
​DVDs ​$2.50 ea ​$2.50 ea
​USB drive 16 GB ​$10.09 ea ​$10.09 ea
USB drive 32 GB​ ​$16.82 ea ​$16.82 ea
​USB drive 64 GB​ ​$26.92 ea ​​$26.92 ea
​Archi​ve retrieval​ ​ ​
​Expedited archive retrieval​ ​varies ​n/a
​Miscellaneous
Documents certification​​ ​$2.50 ​n/a
​Invoice processing ​ ​$5 per invoice
​Software companies/contracts​ ​varies ​n/a
Other third party costs​ ​varies ​n/a
​Onsite Septic System Records​ ​ ​
Onsite septic records​​ ​$7.50 base fee ​n/a
 
 

The state public records law (ORS 192.440(4) and (5)) says an agency may waive fees for providing records if the fee reduction is in the public interest because making the records available primarily benefits the general public. Fee waivers may be possible for news media, government organizations and non-profit organizations. 

Fill out a Fee Waiver/Reduction Request Form to apply for a fee waiver. 

What if I just want to look at records in person and don't need copies made?

We charge a fee for the time needed to gather the records you requested if it takes more than 30 minutes.

 

We will work with you to reduce the cost by narrowing the scope of your request, and by arranging to provide record reviews at a local DEQ office instead of copying and mailing records to you. We won’t charge you a records fee over $25 before discussing it with you in advance.
How

You may pay with cash or check at any DEQ office. Although DEQ is unable to accept credit/debit card payments online, we do accept credit/debit card payment (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover) from government organizations, in-state payers (only if the amount exceeds $1,000), and out-of-state payers (any amount). If you meet the criteria, and wish to pay with credit/debit card, please use the Credit Card Payment form. When making your payment, please refer to your public record request ID name (located on your fee estimate).
 
When

If you receive a fee estimate of $1000 or more, you must prepay that amount. When the requested records have been compiled, you will receive a final statement of actual costs. That statement will show a credit of the prepayment amount. Any remaining balance must be paid before records are released to you.
 
If your fee estimate is $999 or less, pay is not necessary until you receive the final statement of actual costs. The amount owed on the final statement must be paid before records are released to you.
DEQ uses this form as part of its records fulfillment process. It allows us to track our progress in filling requests and ensures that we have your request documented accurately. For this reason, if you go to a DEQ office and ask for records, we will work with you to fill out the form.
We strive to make our response time as short as possible. You will receive an acknowledgement of your request within five business days and a response to your request within 15 business days. If we cannot complete your request within 15 days we will still contact you with an explanation and an estimate of when we will complete it. Release of your records may also be delayed if we are waiting for you to clarify or provide more information about your request, or for payment of fees. If we do not hear back from you in 60 days, your request will be closed.

DEQ follows the requirements set forth in Oregon's Public Records Law (ORS 192), as amended by Senate Bill 481.

If you feel that DEQ has failed to comply with any provisions of the Public Records Law, you have the right to file an appeal. Visit the Department of Justice webpage on appeals for more information.