The Oregon Legislature passed Senate Bill 1541 in April 2018, which established the Cleaner Air Oregon program framework in statute, appropriated DEQ funds for initial costs, and granted authority to the Department to set fees to pay for the program. The initial costs, known as the Cleaner Air Oregon Supplemental Fee (Table 1), is a new invoice established by Senate Bill 1541 to collect fees to develop the air toxics program. The Cleaner Air Oregon Supplemental Fee invoice is a second invoice that was included in the Air Contaminant Discharge Permit and Title V permit invoices mailed in August 2018.
Table 1: Cleaner Air Oregon Supplemental Fee
|General class I ACDP
|General class II ACDP
|General class III ACDP
|General class IV ACDP
|General class V ACDP
|General class VI ACDP
|Simple ACDP (low)
|Simple ACDP (high)
|Title V base fee
|Title V emissions fee
||$15.22 per ton of each regulated pollutant |
emitted during the 2017 calendar year
If a business does not have (or need) a Title V permit or ACPD, it will not have to pay a Cleaner Air Oregon fee.
Invoice Due Dates:
- Title V: The invoices for the Title V permit and Cleaner Air Oregon Supplemental Fee are both due 30 days from invoice date.
- ACDP: The invoices for the ACDP and Cleaner Air Oregon Supplemental Fee are both due by Dec. 1, 2018.
- ACDP Class VI (Dry Cleaners): The invoices for the ACDP Class VI (Dry Cleaners) and Cleaner Air Oregon Supplemental Fee are both due by March 1, 2019.
The proposed Cleaner Air Oregon rules add public health-based protection from emissions of toxic air contaminants to the state’s existing air permitting regulatory framework. The goal of the Cleaner Air Oregon program is to evaluate potential health risks to people near commercial and industrial facilities that emit regulated toxic air contaminants, and ultimately reduce those risks below health-based standards.
The Environmental Quality Commission will review proposed Cleaner Air Oregon rules and meet to take action in November 2018. The EQC could choose to approve the proposal as presented, approve it with changes, not approve it at all, or take other actions. Additional information on the Cleaner Air Oregon program and rulemaking are available at cleanerair.oregon.gov.