odisE Oreg : n Department of Environmental Quality

Office of Compliance and Enforcement

700 NE Multnomah Street, Suite 600

Kate Brown, Governor Portland, OR 97232
(503) 229-5382

FAX (503) 229-5787

TTY 711

March 12, 2021
CERTIFIED MAIL No. 7017 0530 0000 7760 2928

K & E Excavating, Inc.

c/o Kerry D. Kuenzi, Registered Agent
3871 Langley St. SE

Salem, OR 97317

Re:  Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment and Order
No. WQ/P-ER-2021-004

DEQ is commiitted to balancing its vital obligation to enforce the law and protect the
environment with a consideration of the dramatic disruptions to public health and the
economy caused by the COVID-19 outbreak. We understand the outbreak may impact your
ability to timely appeal, pay the assessed civil penalty, or comply with this order. You may
submit to DEQ documentation identifying whether COVID-19-related disruption affects your
ability to comply with this order. Visit our webpage
http.//www.oregon.qov/deq/Pages/covid-19.aspX for more information about documenting
specific COVID-19 disruptions your facility may be encountering and how that affects your
ability to comply. DEQ will exercise reasonable discretion regarding settlement of this order.

This letter is to inform you that DEQ has issued you a civil penalty of $8,400 for discharging
wastes into waters of the state without holding a permit from DEQ, in violation of ORS
468B.050(1). On December 2, 2019, you discharged approximately 2,000 gallons of turbid
wastewater from High Bar Mine into the Burnt River. DEQ also cited you, without penalty, for
failing to immediately report the discharge to DEQ and failing to conduct required monitoring of
the wastewater treatment ponds on a total of 84 days during 2020.

DEQ issued this penalty because discharging wastes into waters of the state without a discharge
permit is a serious violation of Oregon environmental law. Turbidity is a pollutant that can harm
aquatic life and impact beneficial uses of the river. The monitoring requirements in the Permit
are intended to prevent unpermitted discharges, and the reporting requirements are intended to
ensure that DEQ and local authorities are promptly informed of any incidents that could impact
human health or the environment.

If you wish to appeal this matter, DEQ must receive a request for a hearing within 20 calendar
days from your receipt of this letter. The hearing request must be in writing. Send your request to
DEQ Office of Compliance and Enforcement:

Via mail — 700 NE Multnomah Street, Suite 600, Portland, Oregon 97232

Via email — DEQappeals@deq.state.or.us
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Via fax — 503-229-5100

Once DEQ receives your request, we will arrange to meet with you to discuss this matter. If
DEQ does not receive a timely written hearing request, the penalty will become due.
Alternatively, you can pay the penalty by sending a check or money order to the above address.
The attached Notice further details DEQ’s reasons for issuing the penalty and provides further
instructions for appealing the penalty. Please review and refer to it when discussing this case

with DEQ.

DEQ may allow you to resolve part of your penalty through the completion of a Supplemental
Environmental Project (SEP). SEPs are environmental improvement projects that you sponsor
instead of paying a penalty. Further information is available by calling the number below or at
http://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/Pages/SEP.aspx.

DEQ’s rules are available at http://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/Pages/Statutes.aspx or by
calling the number below.

If you have any questions, please contact Esther Westbrook at 503-229-5374 or toll free in
Oregon at 800-452-4011, extension 5374.

Sincerely,

N AV e

Kieran O’Donnell, Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement

Enclosures

cc: Justin Sterger, Bend Office, DEQ
Accounting, DEQ
John Koestler, WQ, DEQ
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BEFORE THE ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF OREGON
IN THE MATTER OF: ) NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY
K & E EXCAVATING, INC,, ) ASSESSMENT AND ORDER
an Oregon corporation, )
) CASE NO. WQ/P-ER-2021-004
Respondent. )
I. AUTHORITY

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) issues this Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment
and Order (Notice) pursuant to Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 468.100 and 468.126 through 468.140,
ORS Chapters 183 and 468B and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 340, Divisions 011, 012
and 045.

II. FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent owns and operates a placer mining operation called “High Bar Mine” (the
Facility) located on Pine Creek Road, approximately six miles northeast of Hereford, Baker County,
Oregon.

2. Onor about April 1, 2020, DEQ transferred coverage under Water Pollution Control
Facilities (WPCF) Permit No. 103028 (the Permit) to Respondent.

3. The Permit allows Respondent to construct, install, modify, or operate a wastewater
collection, treatment, control and disposal system in conformance with all the requirements, limitations,
and conditions in the Permit. The Permit prohibits any discharge to waters of the state.

4. On or about December 2, 2020, one of the wastewater treatment ponds at the Facility
overflowed, causing the discharge of approximately 2,000 gallons of turbid wastewater.

5. The wastewater was industrial wastewater generated from Respondent’s mining operations.

6. The wastewater flowed into the Burnt River.

7. Respondent does not have a waste discharge permit from DEQ that allows it to discharge
into waters of the state.
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8. Schedule D.4.b of the Permit requires Respondent to immediately notify DEQ in the event
of any malfunction of the stormwater or wastewater system. Additionally, Schedule F.D.4 requires
Respondent to report any noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment to DEQ within
24 hours of becoming aware of the circumstances.

9. On December 3, 2020, Baker County notified DEQ about the discharge. On the same day,
DEQ left a voicemail message for Respondent regarding the discharge.

10. On December 4, 2020, Respondent reported the discharge to the Oregon Emergency
Response System and submitted a spill report to DEQ.

11. Schedule B.1 of the Permit requires Respondent to monitor the operation and efficiency of
all its treatment and disposal facilities. Specifically, Respondent must monitor following items or
parameters daily when the treatment ponds contain water:

a. inspect nearby surface water for turbidity seepage;
b. inspect dikes and containment system for each pond; and
c¢. measure dike freeboard for each pond.

12. Respondent did not conduct monitoring for the three parameters or items described in
Section II, Paragraph 11 above on the following dates during 2020 when the treatment ponds contained
water: April 26; May 2, 3, 10, 17-31; June 1, 2, 6, 7, 12-14, 20, 21, 26-30; July 1-7, 10-12, 18, 19, 25,
26; August 1, 2, 8,9, 16, 23, 30; September 4-7, 12, 13, 21, 26, 27; October 3, 4, 11, 17, 18, 24, 25; and
November 1, 6, 8, 12-15, 21, 22, 25-29.

[II. CONCLUSIONS

1. On or about December 2, 2020, Respondent violated ORS 468B.050(1)(a) by discharging
wastes into waters of the state from an industrial activity without holding a permit from DEQ, as described
in Section II, Paragraphs 1-7 above. Specifically, Respondent discharged approximately 2,200 gallons of
turbid wastewater from its treatment ponds to the Burnt River. The Burnt River is a “water of the state,” as
defined by ORS 468B.005(10). According to OAR 340-012-0055(1)(c), this is a Class I violation. DEQ
hereby assesses an $8,400 civil penalty for this violation.
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2. On or about December 2, 2020, Respondent violated Schedule D.4.b of the Permit and ORS
468B.025(2) by failing to immediately report to DEQ the discharge of 2,200 gallons of turbid wastewater
from its treatment ponds to the Burnt River, as described in Section II, Paragraphs 8-10 above. The
discharge occurred on December 2, 2020, and Respondent waited a full two days, until December 4, 2020,
to report the discharge to DEQ. According to OAR 340-012-0055(2)(b), this is a Class II violation. DEQ
has not assessed a civil penalty for this violation.

3. Respondent violated Schedule B.1 of the Permit and ORS 468B.025(2) by failing to conduct
monitoring on 84 occasions, as described in Section II, Paragraphs 11 and 12 above. According to OAR
340-012-0055(1)(0), these are Class I violations. DEQ has not assessed a civil penalty for these violations.

IV. ORDER TO PAY CIVIL PENALTY

Based upon the foregoing FINDINGS OF FACTS AND CONCLUSION, Respondent is hereby
ORDERED TO:

Pay a civil penalty of $8,400. The determination of the civil penalty is attached as Exhibit No. 1
and incorporated as part of this Notice.

If you do not file a request for hearing as set forth in Section V below, your check or money order
must be made payable to "State Treasurer, State of Oregon" and sent to the DEQ, Business Office,
700 NE Multnomah Street, Suite #600, Portland, Oregon 97232. Once you pay the penalty, the
Findings of Fact, Conclusions and Order become final.

V. NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A CONTESTED CASE HEARING

You have a right to a contested case hearing on this Notice, if you request one in writing. You
must ensure that DEQ receives the request for hearing within 20 calendar days from the date you
receive this Notice. If you have any affirmative defenses or wish to dispute any allegations of fact in
this Notice or attached exhibit, you must include them in your request for hearing, as factual matters
not denied will be considered admitted, and failure to raise a defense will be a waiver of the defense.
(See OAR 340-011-0530 for further information about requests for hearing.) You must send the request
for hearing to: DEQ, Office of Compliance and Enforcement - Appeals, either via mail to 700 NE
Multnomah St., Suite 600, Portland, Oregon 97232, or via e-mail to DEQappeals@deq.state.or.us,
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or via fax to 503-229-5100. An administrative law judge employed by the Office of Administrative
Hearings will conduct the hearing, according to ORS Chapter 183, OAR Chapter 340, Division 011 and
OAR 137-003-0501 to 0700. You have a right to be represented by an attorney at the hearing, or you
may represent yourself unless you are a corporation, agency or association.

Active duty Service members have a right to stay proceedings under the federal Service
Members Civil Relief Act. For more information contact the Oregon State Bar at 1-800-
452-8260, the Oregon Military Department at 503-584-3571, or the nearest United States Armed

Forces Legal Assistance Office through http://legalassistance.law.af.mil. The Oregon Military

Department does not have a toll free telephone number.

If you fail to file a request for hearing in writing within 20 calendar days of receipt of the
Notice, the Notice will become a final order by default without further action by DEQ, as per OAR
340-011-0535(1): If you do request a hearing but later withdraw your request, fail to attend the hearing
or notify DEQ that you will not be attending the hearing, DEQ will issue a final order by default
pursuant to OAR 340-011-0535(3). DEQ designates the relevant portions of its files, including

information submitted by you, as the record for purposes of proving a prima facie case.

’é/lz\/?oz( A .

Date f/(ieran O’Donnell, Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement
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EXHIBIT NO. 1

FINDINGS AND DETERMINATION OF RESPONDENT'S CIVIL PENALTY
PURSUANT TO OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULE (OAR) 340-012-0045

VIOLATION: Failing to timely submit a Tier II report in violation of Schedule A,
Condition 11.f of NPDES Permit No. 1200-Z and ORS
468B.025(2).

CLASSIFICATION: This is a Class II violation pursuant to OAR 340-012-0055(2)(b).

MAGNITUDE: The magnitude of the violation is moderate pursuant to OAR 340-

012-0130(1), as there is no selected magnitude specified in OAR
340-012-0135 applicable to this violation, and the information
reasonably available to DEQ does not indicate a minor or major
magnitude.

CIVIL PENALTY FORMULA: The formula for determining the amount of penalty of each

IIBPH

"PN

HHII

HOH

"MH

violation is: BP+[(0.1 xBP)x (P+H+O+M+ C)] +EB

is the base penalty, which is $2,000 for a Class II, moderate magnitude violation in the
matrix listed in OAR 340-012-0140(3)(b)(B)(ii) and applicable pursuant to OAR 340-012-
0140(3)(a)(E)(iii), because Respondent has coverage under an NPDES general permit.

is whether Respondent has any prior significant actions, as defined in OAR 340-012-
0030(19), in the same media as the violation at issue that occurred at a facility owned or
operated by the same Respondent, and receives a value of 0 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(2)(a)(A), because there are no prior significant actions.

is Respondent’s history of correcting prior significant actions and receives a value of 0
according to OAR 340-012-0145(3)(c), because there is no prior history.

is whether the violation was repeated or ongoing and receives a value of 4 according to
OAR 340-012-0145(4)(d), because there were more than 28 occurrences of the violation.
Respondent was required to submit the Tier II report on September 1, 2020, but has not
submitted it as of the date of this Notice, which is a duration of more than 28 days. Each day
of violation is a separate occurrence.

is the mental state of the Respondent and receives a value of 8 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(5)(d), because Respondent failed to act intentionally with actual knowledge of the
requirement. Respondent holds an NPDES 1200-Z Permit, which specifically requires that it
submit a Tier II report if the second year geometric mean exceeds benchmarks. On
September 19, 2019, BES sent Respondent a letter informing it of the geometric mean
exceedances and informing it of the requirement to submit a Tier II report by December 31
of that year. Respondent subsequently requested, and was granted, three separate extensions
of the deadline to submit the Tier II report. Respondent failed to submit the Tier II report by

Case No. WQ/SW-NWR-2021-018
Exhibit No. 1 Page 1 Lejar2021-018Ex.doc




the final deadline of September 1, 2020. Additionally, on October 22, 2020 BES issued a
Warning Letter with Opportunity to Correct, but Respondent did not submit a Tier II report
within 30 days as requested. When Respondent failed to submit the Tier II report as required
under the Permit and according to its agreement with BES, it had actual knowledge of the
requirement.

"C"  is Respondent's efforts to correct or mitigate the violation and receives a value of 2
according to OAR 340-012-0145(6)(g), because Respondent did not address the violation as
described in paragraphs (6)(a) through (6)(¢) and the facts do not support a finding under

paragraph (6)(D).

"EB" is the approximate dollar value of the benefit gained and the costs avoided or delayed as a
result of the Respondent’s noncompliance. It is designed to “level the playing field” by
taking away any economic advantage the entity gained and to deter potential violators from
deciding it is cheaper to violate and pay the penalty than to pay the costs of compliance. In
this case, “EB” receives a value of $0 because DEQ has insufficient evidence on which to
base a finding that Respondent received an economic benefit from the violation.

PENALTY CALCULATION: Penalty = BP + [(0.1 x BP)x (P +H + O + M + C)] + EB
=$2,000 + [(0.1 x $2,000) x (0 + 0 + 4 + 8 +2)] + $0
=$2,000 + [$200 x 14] + $0
= $2,000 + $2,800 + $0
= $4,800
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