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This letter is to inform you that the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) has issued 
you a civil penalty of $27,860 for allowing the discharge of untreated or partially treated sewage onto 
the ground surface at a property you own at 69182 Wildwood Road in North Bend Oregon. 

DEQ visited the property on December 8, 2015 and noted at least five occupied recreational vehicles 
which were discharging sewage directly onto the ground surface. Additionally, although there is an 
existing onsite sewage disposal system installed on the property, the buildings connected to that 
system and the system itself were discharging sewage directly to the ground surface. 

The improper disposal of untreated or partially treated sewage onto the ground surface is a public 
health hazard through either direct human contact or through contact with insects or other animals that 
have been in contact with the sewage. Sewage is also a significant pollutant that can harm aquatic life, 
contaminate drinking water and impair recreational and commercial uses of water. 

Included in Section N is an order requiring you to cease discharge of untreated or partially treated 
sewage to the ground surface at your property. You must submit a plan of the measures that you will 
take to reduce or eliminate flow to the existing on-site sewage disposal system, and evaluate the 
existing system. Based on the results of the evaluation, you must replace or repair the onsite sewage 
disposal system so that it will be able to adequately treat the amount of wastewater flow generated on 
the property. 

$25 ,760 of the civil penalty represents the economic benefit you gained by failing to complete the 
actions required in the order. If you complete these requirements, DEQ will -consider recalculating the 
costs as delayed rather than avoided and will reduce the civil penalty accordingly. 

If you wish to appeal this matter, DEQ must receive a request for a contested case hearing within 20 
calendar days from your receipt of this letter. The hearing request must be in writing. Send your 
hearing request to DEQ Office of Compliance and Enforcement - Appeals: 

Via mail - 811 S.W. 6th Ave., Portland, OR 97204 
Via fax - 503-229-5100 
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Once DEQ receives your request, we will arrange to meet with you to discuss this matter. If DEQ does 
not receive a timely written hearing request, the penalty will become due. Alternatively, you can pay 
the penalty by sending a check or money order to the above address. 

The attached Notice further details DEQ's reasons for issuing the penalty and provides further 
instructions for appealing the penalty. Please review it and refer to it when discussing this case with 
DEQ. 

DEQ may allow you to resolve part ofyour penalty through the completion of a Supplemental 
Environmental Project (SEP). SEPs are environmental improvement projects that you sponsor in lieu 
of paying your penalty. Enclosed is more detail on how to pursue a SEP. SEP documents are available 
on the internet at http://www.deg.state.or.us/programs/enforcement/SEP.htm, or by calling the number 
below to request a paper copy. 

DEQ's rules are available on the internet at http://www.deq.state.or.us/regulations/rules.htm, or by 
calling the number below to request a paper copy. 

If you have any questions, please contact DEQ Environmental Law Specialist Susan Elworth, at (503) 
229-5152. You may call toll-free within Oregon at 1-800-452-4011, extension 5152. 

Sincerely, 

Leah K. F eldon, Manager 
Office of Compliance and Enforcement 

Enclosures 

cc: Sean Rochette, Coos Bay office, DEQ 

NCPCvrLtrRevAugust 2015 
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BEFORE THE ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COMMISSION 

OFTHESTATEOFOREGON 

IN THE MATTER OF: ) 
DORIS ANN'ETTE KJMBLE, ) 

) 
) 

Respondent. ) 

NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY 
ASSESSMENT AND ORDER 

CASE NO. WQ/OS-WR-16-004 

7 I. AUTHORITY 

8 The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) issues this Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment 

9 and Order (Notice) pursuant to Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 468.100 and 468.126 through 468.140, 

10 ORS Chapters 183,454 and 468B, and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 340, Divisions 011, 

11 012, 045 and 071. 

12 II. FINDINGS OF FACT 

13 1. Respondent owns real property located at 69182 Wildwood Drive in North Bend, Oregon. 

14 2. On December 9, 2015, DEQ inspected the property. Sewage was discharging onto the 

15 ground surface from five recreational vehicles parked on the property. 

16 3. Additionally, during the December 2015 inspection, a bath/laundry building and mobile 

17 home on the property that are connected to an onsite sewage disposal system were discharging sewage 

18 onto the ground surface. 

19 III. CONCLUSIONS 

20 Respondent has violated OAR 340-071-0130(3) by allowing the discharge of untreated or 

21 partially treated sewage onto the ground surface as described in Section II above. This is a Class I 

22 violation, according to OAR 340-012-0060(1)(d). DEQ hereby assesses a $27,860 civil penalty for this 

23 violation. 

24 IV. ORDER TO PAY CIVIL PENALTY AND TO COMPLY 

25 Based upon the foregoing FINDINGS OF FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS, Respondent is 

26 hereby ORDERED TO: 

27 1. Pay a total civil penalty of $27,860. The determination of the civil penalty is attached as 
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Exhibit 1 and is incorporated as pmi of this Notice. If you do not file a request for hearing as set 

forth in Section V below, your check or money order must be made payable to "State Treasurer, 

State of Oregon" and sent to the DEQ, Business Office, 811 S.W. Sixth Avenue, Portland, 

Oregon 97204. Once you pay the penalty, the Findings of Fact, Conclusions and Order become 

final. 

2. Comply with Oregon law by: 

7 a. Immediately cease the discharge of untreated or partially treated sewage to the ground 

8 surface from all buildings, mobile homes and recreational vehicles located on the property. 

9 b. Within 30 days of a final order, submit a plan to DEQ identifying the measures Respondent 

1 0 will take to reduce or eliminate flow to the existing on-site sewage disposal system until a new 

11 on-site sewage disposal system can be installed or the existing on-site sewage disposal system 

12 can be repaired such that the wastewater flow into the system can be adequately treated. 

13 c. Within 30 days of a final order, submit to DEQ an existing system evaluation report for the 

14 on-site sewage disposal system presently on the property, as set forth in OAR 340-071-0155. 

15 d. Based on the results of the system evaluation report, submit a permit application to DEQ for 

16 either repairs to the existing or the installation of a replacement on-site sewage disposal system 

17 that is adequate to treat the wastewater flow at the property, as required by OAR 340-071-0160; 

18 and within 90 days ofDEQ's approval of that plan, construct the replacement or repair the 

19 existing on-site sewage disposal system in compliance with DEQ's approval. 

20 All documents required to be submitted under Section IV, paragraph 2 of this Notice must be 

21 sent to: Sean Rochette, DEQ, 381 N. 2nd Street, Coos Bay OR 97420. 

22 V. NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A CONTESTED CASE HEARING 

23 You have a right to a contested case hearing on this Notice, ifyou request one in writing. You 

24 must ensure that DEQ receives the request for hearing within 20 calendar days from the date you 

25 receive this Notice. If you have any affirmative defenses or wish to dispute any allegations of fact in 

26 this Notice or attached exhibit(s), you must include them in your request for hearing, as factual matters 

27 not denied will be considered admitted, and failure to raise a defense will be a waiver of the defense. 
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1 (See OAR 340-011-0530 for further information about requests for hearing.) You must mail the request 

2 for hearing to: DEQ, Office of Compliance and Enforcement- Appeals, 811 SW Sixth Avenue, 

3 Portland, Oregon 97204, or fax it to 503-229-5100. An administrative law judge employed by the 

4 Office of Administrative Hearings will conduct the hearing, according to ORS Chapter 183, OAR 

5 Chapter 340, Division 011 and OAR 137-003-0501 to 0700. You have a right to be represented by an 

6 attorney at the hearing, or you may represent yourself unless you are a corporation, agency or 

7 association. 

8 Active duty service-members have a right to stay proceedings under the federal Service 

9 members Civil Relief Act. For more information, please call the Oregon State Bar at 1-800-

10 452-8260 or the Oregon Military Department at 1-800-452-7500. Additional information can be found 

11 online at the United States Armed Forces Legal Assistance (AFLA) Legal Services Locator website 

12 http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php. 

13 If you fail to file a request for hearing in writing within 20 calendar days of receipt of the 

14 Notice, the Notice will become a fmal order by default without further action by DEQ, as per OAR 

15 340-011-0535(1). If you do request a hearing but later withdraw your request, fail to attend the hearing 

16 or notify DEQ that you will not be attending the hearing, DEQ will issue a final order by default 

17 pursuant to OAR 340-011-0535(3). DEQ designates the relevant portions of its files, including 

18 information submitted by you, as the record for purposes of proving a prima facie case. 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

Date Leah K. F eldon, Manager 
Office of Compliance and Enforcement 
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EXHIBIT 1 

FINDINGS AND DETERMINATION OF RESPONDENT'S CIVIL PENALTY 
PURSUANT TO OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULE (OAR) 340-012-0045 

VIOLATION 1: 

CLASSIFICATION: 

MAGNITUDE: 

Allowing the discharge of untreated or partially treated sewage onto 
the ground surface, in violation of OAR 340-071-0130(3). 

This is a Class I violation pursuant to OAR 340-012-0060(1)(d). 

The magnitude of the violation is moderate pursuant to OAR 340-
012-0130(1), as there is no selected magnitude specified in OAR 
340-012-0135 applicable to this violation, and the information 
reasonably available to DEQ does not indicate a minor or major 
magnitude. 

CIVIL PENALTY FORMULA: The formula for determining the amount of penalty of each 
violation is: BP + [(0.1 xBP) x (P + H + 0 + M +C)]+ EB 

"BP" is the base penalty, which is $1,500 for a Class I, moderate magnitude violation in the 
matrix listed in OAR 340-012-0140(4)(b)(A)(ii) and applicable pursuant to OAR 340-012-
0140(4)(a)(G). Respondent violated an onsite sewage disposal rule and is not a residential 
owner-occupant of the property. 

"P" is whether Respondent has any prior significant actions, as defined in OAR 340-012-
0030(19), in the same media as the violation at issue that occurred at a facility owned or 
operated by the same Respondent, and receives a value of 0 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(2) (a) (A), because there are no prior significant actions. 

"H" is Respondent's history of correcting prior significant actions and receives a value of 0 
according to OAR 340-012-0145(3)(c), because there is no prior history. 

"0" is whether the violation was repeated or ongoing and receives a value of 0 according to 
OAR 340-012-0145(4)(a), because there is insufficient information on which to base a 
finding under paragraphs ( 4)(b) through ( 4)( d). Although the discharge of sewage has likely 
been on-going for a period of time, it is unknown for how long. Additionally, it is unknown 
how long the existing onsite sewage disposal system has been failing and discharging 
sewage onto the ground surface. 

"M" is the mental state of the Respondent and receives a value of2 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(5)(b), because Respondent had constructive knowledge (reasonably should have 
known) of the requirement. Respondent reasonably should have known that discharging 
sewage to the ground is a violation. As the owner of the property and reasonably should 
have known that recreational vehicles located on the property have been discharging sewage 
to the ground surface. 

Case No. WQ/OS-WR-16-004 
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"C" is Respondent's efforts to correct or mitigate the violation and receives a value of2 
according to OAR 340-012-0145(6)(g), because Respondent did not address the violation as 
described in paragraphs ( 6)( a) through ( 6)( e) and the facts do not support a fmding under 
paragraph (6)(f). Respondent has not submitted documentation showing that the 
recreational vehicles are no longer discharging sewage to the ground surface or that the 
onsite sewage disposal system has been repaired such that it will not discharge sewage onto 
the ground surface. 

"EB" is the approximate dollar value of the benefit gained and the costs avoided or delayed as a 
result of the Respondent's noncompliance. It is designed to "level the playing field" by 
taking away any economic advantage the entity gained and to deter potential violators from 
deciding it is cheaper to violate and pay the penalty than to pay the costs of compliance. In 
this case, "EB" receives a value of$25,760. This is the amount Respondent gained by 
avoiding spending the following costs: 

® $2,800 per month to have the onsite sewage disposal system pumped since December 
2015; 

® $724 for authorization notice and repair permit; and 
~ $13,500 to repair the existing onsite sewage disposal system. 

This "EB" was calculated pursuant to OAR 340-012-0150(1) using the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency's BEN computer modeL 

PENALTY CALCULATION: Penalty= BP + [(0.1 x BP) x (P + H + 0 + M +C)]+ EB 
= $1,500 + [(0.1 X $1,500) X (0 + 0 + 0 + 2 + 2)] + $25,760 
= $1,500 + [$150 X 4] + $25,760 
= $1,500 + $600 + $25,760 
= $27,860 
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