Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Headquarters

Kate Brown, Governor 811 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204-1390

August 22,2016 (503) 229-5696
FAX (503) 229-6124

CERTIFIED MAIL No. 7014 2870 0001 3373 5296 i

Canby Cleaners, LLC

Jeff Kersey, Registered Agent
6840 Anderson Road

Aurora OR 97002

Re:  Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment and Order
Case No. LQ/DC-NWR-2016-121

This letter is to inform you that DEQ has issued you a $500 civil penalty for failing to submit your
2015 annual report required for your dry cleaning business at 329 S.E. 1** Avenue in Canby, Oregon.

DEQ issued this penalty because annual reports are an important mechanism for DEQ to ensure that
dry cleaners are complying with Oregon’s waste minimization regulations. Solvents used for dry
cleaning can be toxic and therefore, harmful to the public and the environment. They must be
managed safely. For this reason, all dry cleaners in Oregon are required to submit information to
DEQ each year regarding the use and disposal of hazardous and potentially-hazardous waste.

Includ}:d in Section IV is an order requiring you to immediately submit your 2015 annual report,
including the 2016 fee return form to DEQ (using the records you have and can legitimately create).

If you wish to appeal this matter, you have 20 calendar days from receipt of this letter to request a
contested case hearing. This hearing request must be in writing. Send your hearing request to DEQ
Office of Compliance and Enforcement — Appeals:

Via mail - 811 S.W. 6™ Ave., Portland, OR 97204

Via fax - 503-229-5100
Once DEQ receives your request, we will arrange to meet with you to discuss this matter. If DEQ
does not receive a written hearing request from you within 20 days, the penalty will become due.

The attached Notice further details DEQ’s reasons for issuing the penalty and provides further
instructions for appealing the penalty. Please review it and refer to it when discussing this case with

DEQ.

DEQ may allow you to resolve part of your penalty through the completion of a Supplemental
Environmental Project (SEP). SEPs are environmental improvement projects that you sponsor in
lieu of paying your penalty. Enclosed is more detail on how to pursue a SEP.

DEQ’s rules are available on the internet at http://www.deq.state.or.us/regulations/rules.htm, or by
calling the number below to request a paper copy.
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If you have any questions, please contact DEQ Environmental Law Specialist Susan Elworth at
(503) 229-5152. You may call toll-free within Oregon at 1-800-452-4011, extension 5152.

Sincerely,

Leah K. Feldon, Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement

Enclosures

cc: Joe Westersund, Dry Cleaner Program Coordinator, DEQ Headquarters

NCPCvrLtr.doc 08/12/2008
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BEFORE THE ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF OREGON

IN THE MATTER OF:

NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY
CANBY CLEANERS, LLC,

)
) ASSESSMENT AND ORDER
) NO. LQ/DC-NWR-2016-121
Respondent. )

[. AUTHORITY
This Notice and Order is issued pursuant to Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 468.100 and

468.126 through 468.140, ORS 465.500 through 465.545, ORS 465.900, ORS Chapters 183 and
468A and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 340, Divisions 011, 012, and 124.
1. FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent owns and/or operates a dry cleaning business at 329 S.E. 1™ Avenue
in Canby, Oregon (the Facility).

2. Dry cleaning operators and/or owners of dry cleaning businesses are required by
ORS 465.505(3) and OAR 340-124-0040(4)(a) to submit to DEQ a completed Dry Cleaner
Hazardous Waste and Air Quality Compliance Report (the “Annual Report™), that includes an
Annual Dry Cleaner Fee Return. The reports are due on March 1 of each year and cover the
preceding calendar year of operation at the Facility.

3. On December 14, 2015, DEQ sent Respondent an Annual Report form to complete
and return to DEQ.

4. On June 17, 2016, DEQ issued Respondent a Warning Letter with Opportunity to
Correct to notify Respondent that it was in violation of the requirement to submit its 2015 Annual
Report.

5. On July 14, 2016, DEQ issued Respondent a Pre-Enforcement Notice to notify
Respondent that it continued to be in violation of the requirement to submit its 2015 Annual Report.

6. As of the date of this Notice, DEQ has not received Respondent’s 2015 Annual
Report.
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11I. CONCLUSIONS

Since March 1, 2016, Respondent has violated ORS 465.505(3) and OAR 340-124-
0040(4)(2) by failing to submit the 2015 Annual Report to DEQ. According to OAR 340-012-
0097(2)(f), this is a Class II violation. DEQ hereby assesses a $500 civil penalty for this violation.

IV. ORDER TO PAY CIVIL PENALTY AND COMPLY

Based upon the foregoing FINDINGS OF FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS, Respondent is
hereby ORDERED TO:

1. Pay a total civil penalty of $500. The determination of the civil penalty is attached as
Exhibit No. 1 and is incorporated as part of this Notice.

2. Immediately submit a complete 2015 Annual Report to DEQ. A complete Annual
Report must include a completed 2016 Dry Cleaner Fee Return form. The report and form must
be sent to: Joe Westersund, DEQ Dry Cleaner Program Coordinator, 811 SW 6™ Avenue, Portland,
OR 97204.

If you do not file a request for hearing as set forth in Section V below, your check or
money order must be made payable to "State Treasurer, State of Oregon and sent to the DEQ,
Business Office, 811 S.W. Sixth Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97204. Once you pay the penalty,
the Findings of Fact, Conclusions and Order become final.

V. NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A CONTESTED CASE HEARING

You have a right to a contested case hearing on this Notice, if you request one in
writing. You must ensure that DEQ receives the request for hearing within 20 calendar days
from the date you receive this Notice. If you have any affirmative defenses or wish to dispute
any allegations of fact in this Notice or attached exhibit(s), you must include them in your
request for hearing, as factual matters not denied will be considered admitted, and failure to raise
a defense will be a waiver of the defense. (See OAR 340-011-0530 for further information about
requests for hearing.) You must mail the request for hearing to: DEQ, Office of Compliance
and Enforcement - Appeals, 811 SW Sixth Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97204, or fax it to 503-
229-5100. An administrative law judge employed by the Office of Administrative Hearings will
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conduct the hearing, according to ORS Chapter 183, OAR Chapter 340, Division 011 and OAR
137-003-0501 to 0700. You have a right to be represented by an attorney at the hearing, or you
may represent yourself unless you are a corporation, agency or association.

Active duty service-members have a right to stay proceedings under the federal Service
members Civil Relief Act. For more information, please call the Oregon State Bar at 1-800-
452-8260 or the Oregon Military Department at 1-800-452-7500. Additional information can be
found online at the United States Armed Forces Legal Assistance (AFLA) Legal Services

Locator website http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php.

If you fail to file a request for hearing in writing within 20 calendar days of receipt of the
Notice, the Notice will become a final order by default without further action by DEQ, as per
OAR 340-011-0535(1). If you do request a hearing but later withdraw your request, fail to attend
the hearing or notify DEQ that you will not be attending the hearing, DEQ will issue a final order
by default pursuant to OAR 340-011-0535(3). DEQ designates the relevant portions of its files,

including information submitted by you, as the record for purposes of proving a prima facie case.

(et 22, Lot Qi Whaes_- bn
Date ) Leah K. Feldon, Manager .
Office of Compliance and Enforcement
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EXHIBIT 1

FINDINGS AND DETERMINATION OF RESPONDENT'S CIVIL PENALTY
PURSUANT TO OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULE (OAR) 340-012-0045

VIOLATION 1: Failing to submit the 2015 Annual Report to DEQ, in violation of
ORS 465.505(3) and OAR 340-124-0040(4)(a).

CLASSTFICATION: This is a Class II violation pursuant to OAR 340-012-0097(2)(f).

MAGNITUDE: The magnitude of the violation is moderate pursuant to OAR 340-

012-0130(1), as there is no selected magnitude specified in OAR
340-012-0135 applicable to this violation, and the information
reasonably available to DEQ does not indicate a minor or major
magnitude.

CIVIL PENALTY FORMULA: The formula for determining the amount of penalty of each
violation is: BP+[(0.1 xBP)x (P+H+O+M+C)] +EB

"BP" is the base penalty, which is $250 for a Class I, moderate magnitude violation in the matrix
listed in OAR 340-012-0140(5)(b)(B)(ii) and applicable pursuant to OAR 340-012-
0140(5)(a)(G), because the violation is a violation of the dry cleaning rules.

"P"  is whether Respondent has any prior significant actions, as defined in OAR 340-012-
0030(19), in the same media as the violation at issue that occurred at a facility owned or
operated by the same Respondent, and receives a value of 0 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(2) (a) (A), because there are no prior significant actions.

"H" is Respondent’s history of correcting prior significant actions and receives a value of 0
according to OAR 340-012-0145(3)(c), because there is no prior history.

"O"  is whether the violation was repeated or ongoing and receives a value of 0 according to
OAR 340-012-0145(4)(a), because there was one occurrence of the violation. The annual
report was due on or before March 1, 2016.

"M" is the mental state of the Respondent and receives a value of 8 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(5)(d), because Respondent’s conduct was reckless. Every year, DEQ has provided
Respondent with the reporting requirements, along with blank annual reporting forms for
Respondent to fill out. DEQ issued Respondent a Warning Letter with Opportunity to
Correct on June 17, 2016, and a Pre-Enforcement Notice on July 14, 2016, to notify
Respondent that DEQ had not received its Annual Report and that the failure to submit the
report may result in DEQ assessing civil penalties. Respondent had previously submitted
Annual Reports. Respondent consciously disregarded the substantial and unjustifiable risk
of failing to submit its annual report, and given the information and resources available to
Respondent, disregarding this risk constituted a gross deviation from the standard of care a
reasonable person would observe in this situation.
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"C"  is Respondent's efforts to correct the violation and receives a value of 2 according to OAR
340-012-0145(6)(g), because Respondent did not address the violation as described in
paragraphs (6)(a) through (6)(¢) and the facts do not support a finding under paragraph
(6)(f). To date, Respondent has not submitted the report.

"EB" is the approximate economic benefit that an entity gained by not complying with the law. It
is designed to “level the playing field” by taking away any economic advantage the entity
gained and to deter potential violators from deciding it is cheaper to violate and pay the
penalty than to pay the costs of compliance. In this case, “EB” receives a value of $0, as

DEQ has determined that any economic benefit gained as a result of these violations is de
minimis.

PENALTY CALCULATION: Penalty = BP +[(0.1 x BP)x (P + H+ O+ M+ C)] + EB
= $250 +[(0.1 x $250) x (0 + 0 + 0 + 8 +2)] + $0
=$250 + [$25 x 10] + $0
=$250 + $250 + $0
=$500

Case No. LQ/DC-NWR-2016-121
Exhibit 1 Page 2 exhibit (1-6-14 rule changes)



