Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Headquarters

Kate Brown, Governor 811 SW Sixth Avenue
Portland, OR 97204-1390

(503) 229-5696

FAX (503) 229-6124

March 10, 2016 TTY: 711

CERTIFIED MAIL: 7014 2870 0001 3373 5500

Hank Elliott Investment Company, L.L.C.
c/o Hank Elliott, Registered Agent

2433 SW Canal Blvd.

Redmond, OR 97756

Re:  Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment and Order
Case No. WQ/UIC-ER-15-219

This letter is to inform you that the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) has issued
you a civil penalty of $20,147 for operating a sewage drain hole without a Water Pollution Control
Facilities (WPCF) permit at the Mt. Vista Mobile Home Park in Bend, Oregon.

DEQ issued this penalty because Oregon law requires persons operating a sewage drain hole to obtain
a WPCF permit for that activity. The permit ensures that sewage will be disposed of effectively so as
to not harm public health or the environment. Human sewage is contaminated with disease-causing
bacteria and viruses and therefore poses a public health hazard through either direct human contact or .
through exposure to animals or insects that can transmit disease. In addition, sewage is a significant

pollutant that can harm aquatic life, contaminate drinking water and impair recreational and
commercial uses of water.

Included in Section IV of the attached Notice is an order requiring you to submit an application for a
WPCF permit for the sewage drain hole at the Mt. Vista Mobile Home Park. $5,747 of the civil
penalty represents the economic benefit you gained by failing to apply for the permit. If you apply for

the permit, DEQ will consider recalculating the costs as delayed rather than avoided and will reduce
the civil penalty accordingly.

If you wish to appeal this matter, DEQ must receive a request for a contested case hearing within 20
calendar days from your receipt of this letter. The hearing request must be in writing. Send your
hearing request to DEQ Office of Compliance and Enforcement — Appeals:

Via mail - 811 S.W. 6™ Ave., Portland, OR 97204

Via fax - 503-229-5100
Once DEQ receives your request, we will arrange to meet with you to discuss this matter. If DEQ does
not receive a timely written hearing request, the penalty will become due. Alternatively, you can pay
the penalty by sending a check or money order to the above address.

The attached Notice further details DEQ’s reasons for issuing the penalty and provides further
instructions for appealing the penalty. Please review it and refer to it when discussing this case with

DEQ.

&
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DEQ may allow you to resolve part of your penalty through the completion of a Supplemental
Environmental Project (SEP). SEPs are environmental improvement projects that you sponsor in lieu
of paying your penalty. Enclosed is more detail on how to pursue a SEP. SEP documents are available

on the internet at http://www.deq.state.or.us/programs/enforcement/SEP.htm, or by calling the number
below to request a paper copy.

DEQ’s rules are available on the internet at http://www.deq.state.or.us/regulations/rules.htm, or by
calling the number below to request a paper copy.

If you have any questions, please contact DEQ Environmental Law Specialist Kieran O'Donnell, at
(503) 229-5012. You may call toll-free within Oregon at 1-800-452-4011, extension 5012.

Sincerely,
o WW/W
Leah K. Feldon, Manager

Office of Compliance and Enforcement

Enclosures

cc: Robert Baggett, Bend Office, DEQ
Matt Kohlbecker, NWR, DEQ
John Koestler, WQ, DEQ
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BEFORE THE ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF OREGON
IN THE MATTER OF: ) NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY
HANK ELLIOTT INVESTMENT ) ASSESSMENT AND ORDER
COMPANY, L.L.C. )
) CASE NO. WQ/UIC-ER-15-219
Respondent. )
I. AUTHORITY

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) issues this Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment
and Order (Notice) pursuant to Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 468.100 and 468.126 through 468.140,
ORS 454.605 though 454.755, ORS Chapter 468B, ORS Chapter 183 and Oregon Administrative Rules
(OAR) Chapter 340, Divisions 011, 012, and 044.

II. FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent owns and operates the Mt. Vista Mobile Home Park at 64900 Hunnell Road in
Bend, Oregon (the Facility).

2. The Facility disposes sewage and sanitary waste through a subsurface drain hole at the
Facility.

3. Respondent does not have a Water Pollution Control Facilities (WPCF) permit for its
operation and disposal of sewage through a subsurface drain hole at the Facility.

III. CONCLUSIONS
Respondent has violated OAR 340-044-0015(3)(b) by operating a Class V injection system
through a sewage drain hole without a permit, as described in Section II above. Respondent’s disposal
of sewage through a subsurface drain hole constitutes a Class V injection system pursuant to OAR 340-
044-0011(5)(a). These are Class I violations, according to OAR 340-012-055(1)(p). DEQ hereby assesses
a $20,147 civil penalty for these violations.
IV. ORDER TO PAY CIVIL PENALTY AND TO COMPLY

Based upon the foregoing FINDINGS OF FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS, Respondent is
hereby ORDERED TO: |
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1. Pay atotal civil penalty of $20,147. The determination of the civil penalty is attached as
Exhibit No. 1 and is incorporated as part of this Notice.

If you do not file a request for hearing as set forth in Section V below, your check or money
order must be made payable to "State Treasurer, State of Oregon" and sent to the DEQ, Business
Office, 811 S.W. Sixth Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97204. Once you pay the penalty, the Findings of
Fact, Conclusions and Order become final.

- 2. By no later than 20 days after this Notice becomes a Final Order, Respondent must comply
with Oregon law by submitting to DEQ an application for a Water Pollution Control Facility permit for
the Facility.

V. NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A CONTESTED CASE HEARING

You have a right to a contested case hearing on this Notice, if you request one in writing. You
must ensure that DEQ receives the request for hearing within 20 calendar days from the date you
receive this Notice. If you have any affirmative defenses or wish to dispute any allegations of fact in
this Notice or attached exhibit, you must include them in your request for hearing, as factual matters
not denied will be considered admitted, and failure to raise a defense will be a waiver of the defense.
(See OAR 340-011-0530 for further information about requests for hearing.) You must mail the request
for hearing to: DEQ, Office of Compliance and Enforcement - Appeals, 811 SW Sixth Avenue,
Portland, Oregon 97204, or fax it to 503-229-5100. An administrative law judge employed by the
Office of Administrative Hearings will conduct the hearing, according to ORS Chapter 183, OAR
Chapter 340, Division 011 and OAR 137-003-0501 to 0700. You have a right to be represented by an
attorney at the hearing, or you may represent yourself unless you are a corporation, agency or
association.

Active duty service-members have a right to stay proceedings under the federal Service
members Civil Relief Act. For more information, please call the Oregon State Bar at 1-800-
452-8260 or the Oregon Military Department at 1-800-452-7500. Additional information can be found
online at the United States Armed Forces Legal Assistance (AFLA) Legal Services Locator website

http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php.
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If you fail to file a request for hearing in writing within 20 calendar days of receipt of the
Notice, the Notice will become a final order by default without further action by DEQ, as per OAR
340-011-0535(1). If you do request a hearing but later withdraw your request, fail to attend the hearing
or notify DEQ that you will not be attending the hearing, DEQ will issue a final order by default
pursuant to OAR 340-011-0535(3). DEQ designates the relevant portions of its files, including

information submitted by you, as the record for purposes of proving a prima facie case.

mawn 10,20\ Gvn Mt

Date Leah K. Feldon, Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement
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EXHIBIT No. 1

FINDINGS AND DETERMINATION OF RESPONDENT'S CIVIL PENALTY
PURSUANT TO OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULE (OAR) 340-012-0045

VIOLATION No. 1: Operating a sewage drain hole without a permit, in violation of OAR
340-044-0015(3).

CLASSIFICATION: This is a Class I violation pursuant to OAR 340-012-0055(1)(p)-

MAGNITUDE: The magnitude of the violation is moderate pursuant to OAR 340-

- 012-0130(1), as there is no selected magnitude specified in OAR
340-012-0135 applicable to this violation, and the information
reasonably available to DEQ does not indicate a minor or major
magnitude.

CIVIL PENALTY FORMULA: The formula for determining the amount of penalty of each

HBPH

HPH

HHH

HOH

HMH

violationis: BP+[(0.1 xBP)x P+H+O0+M+C)] +EB

is the base penalty, which is $6,000 for a Class I, moderate magnitude violation in the
matrix listed in OAR 340-012-0140(2)(b)(A)(ii) and applicable pursuant to OAR 340-012-

0140(2)(a)(E)(iv) because Respondent operates a prohibited Class V Underground Injection
Control system.

is whether Respondent has any prior significant actions, as defined in OAR 340-012-
0030(19), in the same media as the violation at issue that occurred at a facility owned or
operated by the same Respondent, and receives a value of 0 according to OAR 340-012-

0145(2) (a) (A), because there are no prior significant actions in the same media as the
violations alleged in this Notice.

is Respondent’s history of correcting prior significant actions and receives a value of 0
according to OAR 340-012-0145(3)(c), because there is no prior history.

is whether the violation was repeated or ongoing and receives a value of 4 according to
OAR 340-012-0145(4)(d), because there were more than 28 occurrences of the violation.
Each day of violation constitutes a separate occurrence. The violation first occurred in 1994,
the year that Respondent first acquired the property and was required to obtain a WPCF
permit for the sewage drain hole. As of the date of this Notice, Respondent still does not

have a permit for the sewage drain hole. Therefore, there are more than 28 occurrences of
the violation.

is the mental state of the Respondent and receives a value of 8 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(5)(d), because Respondent’s conduct was reckless. On October 22, 2015, DEQ sent
Respondent a Warning Letter with an Opportunity to Correct (WLOC), informing it of the
permit requirement and giving it time to submit an application. In addition, DEQ sent
Respondent an email on November 4, 2015, reiterating the rule violation and the permit

Case No. WQ/UIC-ER-15-219
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application requirement. Despite the WLOC and follow-up communication, Respondent
consciously disregarded a substantial and unjustifiable risk that its failure to apply for a
permit would result in a violation. This failure to apply for a permit constituted a gross
deviation from the standard of care a reasonable person would observe in these
circumstances.

is Respondent's efforts to correct or mitigate the violation and receives a value of 2
according to OAR 340-012-0145(6)(g), because Respondent did not address the violation as
described in paragraphs (6)(a) through (6)(e) and the facts do not support a finding under
paragraph (6)(f). ’

is the approximate dollar value of the benefit gained and the costs avoided or delayed as a
result of the Respondent’s noncompliance. It is designed to “level the playing field” by
taking away any economic advantage the entity gained and to deter potential violators from
deciding it is cheaper to violate and pay the penalty than to pay the costs of compliance. In
this case, “EB” receives a value of $5,747. This is the amount Respondent gained by
avoiding spending approximately $3,913 to apply for the appropriate WPCF permit. This
“EB” was calculated pursuant to OAR 340-012-0150(1) using the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency’s BEN computer model.

PENALTY CALCULATION: Penalty = BP +[(0.] x BP)x (P + H+ O +M+ C)] + EB

= $6,000 + [(0.1 x $6,000) x (0 + 0 + 4 + 8 + 2)] + $5,747
= $6,000 + [$600 x 14] + $5,747

=$6,000 + $8,400 + $5,747

=$20,147
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