‘(}I. e g On Department of Environmental Quality

Headquarters

Kate Brown, Governor 811 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204-1390

(503) 229-5696

FAX (503) 229-6124

September 14, 2016 TIY: 711
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Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of the Northwest, dba Kaiser Permanente
c¢/o The Prentice-Hall Corporation System, Inc., Registered Agent

1127 Broadway Street NE

Suite 310

Salem, OR 97301

Re:  Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment and Order
Case No. LQ/HW-NWR-2016-099

This letter is to inform you that the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) has issued
you a civil penalty of $10,200 for storing hazardous waste at your facility for more than 90 days
without a permit. In addition, DEQ cited you, without civil penalty, for failing to clearly label

hazardous waste, failing to provide adequate aisle space, and failing to perform weekly inspections of
your hazardous waste storage area.

DEQ issued this penalty because improper management of hazardous waste threatens public health
and the environment. To protect public health and the environment, the legislature has enacted
statutes and DEQ has adopted rules establishing strict requirements for the accumulation, storage,
handling, and disposal of hazardous waste. Your failure to comply with hazardous waste rules

increases the risk that the public or the environment could be harmed by mismanagement of hazardous
waste.

DEQ appreciates your efforts to correct the violation by eventually properly disposing of the

hazardous waste stored at your facility. DEQ considered these efforts when determining the amount
of civil penalty.

If you wish to appeal this matter, DEQ must receive a request for a contested case hearing within 20
calendar days from your receipt of this letter. The hearing request must be in writing. Send your
hearing request to DEQ Office of Compliance and Enforcement — Appeals:

Via mail - 811 S.W. 6™ Ave., Portland, OR 97204

Via fax - 503-229-5100
Once DEQ receives your request, we will arrange to meet with you to discuss this matter. If DEQ does
not receive a timely written hearing request, the penalty will become due. Alternatively, you can pay
the penalty by sending a check or money order to the above address.

The attached Notice further details DEQ’s reasons for issuing the penalty and provides further
instructions for appealing the penalty. Please review it and refer to it when discussing this case with

DEQ.
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DEQ may allow you to resolve part of your penalty through the completion of a Supplemental
Environmental Project (SEP). SEPs are environmental improvement projects that you sponsor in lieu
of paying your penalty. Enclosed is more detail on how to pursue a SEP. SEP documents are available

on the internet at http://www.deq.state.or.us/programs/enforcement/SEP htm, or by calling the number
below to request a paper copy.

DEQ’s rules are available on the internet at http://www.deq.state.or.us/regulations/rules.htm, or by
calling the number below to request a paper copy.

If you have any questions, please contact DEQ Environmental Law Specialist Kieran O'Donnell, at
(503) 229-5012. You may call toll-free within Oregon at 1-800-452-4011, extension 5012.

Sincerely,

CW/L. V\/\/\M’\"\/

Sarah G. Wheeler, Acting Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement

Enclosures

ees Jay Collins, DEQ, NWR
Kaiser Permanente, c/o Jim Williams, 2701 NW Vaughn St., Ste. 150, Portland, OR 97210
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BEFORE THE ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF OREGON

IN THE MATTER OF:
KAISER FOUNDATION HEALTH PLAN
OF THE NORTHWEST dba KAISER

) NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY
)
PERMANENTE )
)
)

ASSESSMENT AND ORDER

CASE NO. LQ/HW-NWR-2016-099
Respondent.

I. AUTHORITY
The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) issues this Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment
and Order (Notice) pursuant to Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 468.100 and 468.126 through 468.140,
ORS 466.990, ORS Chapter 183 and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 340, Divisions 011,
012, and 100-102.
II. FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Respondent owns or operates a medical office located at 3600 N Interstate Avenue, in
Portland (the Facility).
2. On August 5, 2015, DEQ conducted an inspection to determine Respondent’s compliance
with hazardous waste law.
3. On August 5, 2015, Respondent stored the following at the Facility:
a. One container of arsenic trioxide waste labeled with an accumulation start date
of April 3, 2015, and without the words “Hazardous Waste;” and
b. One container of arsenic trioxide waste labeled with an accumulation start date
of January 19, 2015, and without the words “Hazardous Waste.”
4. On August 5, 2015, Respondent stored the above-referenced containers in a locked
basement storage cage without aisle space adequate to allow immediate access to personnel or

emergency responders.

5. On and before August 5, 2015, Respondent had not been conducting weekly inspections on
the locked basement storage cage.

11/
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6. At all material times Respondent has not held a permit to treat or store hazardous waste at

the Facility.

7. At all material times Respondent generated at least 2.2 pounds of acute hazardous waste on
a monthly basis.

ITI. CONCLUSIONS

1. Respondent has violated ORS 466.095(1)(a) and 40 CFR 262.34(a), adopted pursuant to
OAR 340-100-0002(1), by storing hazardous waste at the Facility without a permit for more than 90
days, as described in Section II above. The arsenic trioxide waste is an acute hazardous waste pursuant
to 40 CFR 261.33 and assigned Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) hazardous waste number
P012. This is a Class II violation, according to OAR 340-012—0068(2)(d). DEQ hereby assesses a
$10,200 civil penalty for this violation.

2. Respondent has violated 40 CFR 262.34(a)(3), adopted pursuant to OAR 340-100-0002(1),
by failing to clearly mark containers storing hazardous waste with the words “Hazardous Waste,” as
described in Section II above. The arsenic trioxide waste is an acute hazardous waste pursuant to 40
CFR 261.33 and assigned EPA hazardous waste number PO12. This is a Class III violation, pursuant to
OAR 340-012-0068(3)(b). DEQ elects not to assess a civil penalty for this violation.

3. Respondent has violated 40 CFR 262.34(a)(4) and 40 CFR 265.35 as adopted pursuant to OAR
340-100-0002(1), by failing to provide adequate aisle space in a hazardous waste storage area, as described
in Section II above. Specifically, Respondent stored two containers of arsenic trioxide waste in a locked
basement storage cage and in a location that was not immediately accessible to personnel or emergency
responders. This is a Class II violation pursuant to OAR 340-012-0068(2)(k). DEQ elects not to assess
a civil penalty for this violation.

4. Respondent has violated 40 CFR 262.34(a)(1)(i) and 40 CFR 265.174 as adopted pursuant to
OAR 340-100-0002(1), by failing to conduct weekly inspections of its 90-day hazardous waste storage
area, as described in Section II above. Specifically, Respondent failed to conduct weekly inspections of
locked basement cage where it stored two containers of arsenic trioxide waste. This is a Class II violation
pursuant to OAR 340-012-0068(2)(h). DEQ elects not to assess a civil penalty for this violation.
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IV. ORDER TO PAY CIVIL PENALTY

Based upon the foregoing FINDINGS OF FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS, Respondent 1s
hereby ORDERED TO:

Pay a total civil penalty of $10,200. The determination of the civil penalty is attached as Exhibit
No. 1 and is incorporated as part of this Notice.

If you do not file a request for hearing as set forth in Section V below, your check or money order
must be made payable to "State Treasurer, State of Oregon" and sent to the DEQ, Business Office,
811 S.W. Sixth Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97204. Once you pay the penalty, the Findings of Fact,
Conclusions and Order become final.

V. NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A CONTESTED CASE HEARING

You have a right to a contested case hearing on this Notice, if you request one in writing. You
must ensure that DEQ receives the request for hearing within 20 calendar days from the date you
receive this Notice. If you have any affirmative defenses or wish to dispute any allegations of fact in
this Notice or attached exhibit, you must include them in your request for hearing, as factual matters
not denied will be considered admitted, and failure to raise a defense will be a waiver of the defense.
(See OAR 340-011-0530 for further information about requests for hearing.) You must mail the request
for hearing to: DEQ, Office of Compliance and Enforcement - Appeals, 811 SW Sixth Avenue,
Portland, Oregon 97204, or fax it to 503-229-5100. An administrativé law judge employed by the
Office of Administrative Hearings will conduct the hearing, according to ORS Chapter 183, OAR
Chapter 340, Division 011 and OAR 137-003-0501 to 0700. You have a right to be represented by an
attorney at the hearing, or you may represent yourself unless you are a corporation, agency or
association.

Active duty service-members have a right to stay proceedings under the federal Service
members Civil Relief Act. For more information, please call the Oregon State Bar at 1-800-

452-8260 or the Oregon Military Department at 1-800-452-7500. Additional information can be found
online at the United States Armed Forces Legal Assistance (AFLA) Legal Services Locator website

http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php.
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If you fail to file a request for hearing in writing within 20 calendar days of receipt of the
Notice, the Notice will become a final order by default without further action by DEQ, as per OAR
340-011-0535(1). If you do request a hearing but later withdraw your request, fail to attend the hearing
or notify DEQ that you will not be attending the hearing, DEQ will issue a final order by default
pursuant to OAR 340-011-0535(3). DEQ designates the relevant portions of its files, including

information submitted by you, as the record for purposes of proving a prima facie case.

ot |4 yolb S Wiaaels, - -
Date Sarah G. Wheeler, Acting Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement
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EXHIBIT No.1

FINDINGS AND DETERMINATION OF RESPONDENT'S CIVIL PENALTY
PURSUANT TO OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULE (OAR) 340-012-0045

VIOLATION No.1: Storing hazard waste for more than 90 days at a facility without a

permit, in violation of ORS 466.095(1)(a) and 40 CFR 262.34(a),
adopted pursuant to OAR 340-100-0002(1).

CLASSIFICATION: This is a Class II violation pursuant to OAR 340-012-0068(2)(d).

MAGNITUDE: The magnitude of the violation is major pursuant to OAR 340-012-

0135(4)(c)(A)(ii) because the violation involved more than 2.2
pounds of acutely hazardous waste. The violation involved
approximately 22 pounds of acutely hazardous waste.

CIVIL PENALTY FORMULA: The formula for determining the amount of penalty of each

HBPH

HP"

HHH

"OH

HMH

violation is: BP +[(0.1 x BP)x (P +H+ 0 +M+C)] + EB

is the base penalty, which is $6,000 for a Class II, major magnitude violation in the matrix
listed in OAR 340-012-0140(2)(b)(B)(1) and applicable pursuant to OAR 340-012-

0140(2)(a)(M)(i) because the Respondent was a large quantity generator at the time of the
violation.

is whether Respondent has any prior significant actions, as defined in OAR 340-012-

0030(19), in the same media as the violation at issue that occurred at a facility owned or
operated by the same Respondent, and receives a value of 0 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(2)(f) because all of the prior significant actions (PSAs) are more than ten years old.

is Respondent’s history of correcting prior significant actions and receives a value of 1
according to OAR 340-012-0145(3)(d); this value is increased to 1 because the sum of the

“P and “H” factors may not be less than 1 unless Respondent took extraordinary efforts to
correct or minimize the effects of all PSAs.

is whether the violation was repeated or ongoing and receives a value of 4 according to
OAR 340-012-0145(4)(d), because there were more than 28 occurrences of the violation.
Each day of violation constitutes a separate occurrence. The violation began 90 days after
1/19/15 and 4/3/15 and continued until August, 25, 2015, the date the hazardous waste was
finally disposed. Therefore, there were more than 28 occurrences of the violation.

is the mental state of the Respondent and receives a value of 4 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(5)(c), because Respondent’s conduct was negligent. Respondent is a highly-regulated
large-quantity generator of hazardous waste, and has a trained Environmental Health and
Safety department at its office in Portland which is tasked with overseeing hazardous waste
compliance at its facilities. DEQ has provided Respondent with technical assistance
regarding compliance issues, including the management of hazardous waste containers.
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Therefore, given Respondent’s sophistication and the prior technical assistance, it failed to
take reasonable care to avoid a foreseeable risk of violation when it stored acutely hazardous
waste at the Facility well past 90 days.

"C"  is Respondent's efforts to correct or mitigate the violation and receives a value of -2
according to OAR 340-012-0145(6)(d), because Respondent eventually made some efforts
to correct the violation. Respondent properly disposed of the hazardous waste on August 23,
2015, twenty days after DEQ’s inspection on August 5, 2015.

"EB" is the approximate dollar value of the benefit gained and the costs avoided or delayed as a
result of the Respondent’s noncompliance. It is designed to “level the playing field” by
taking away any economic advantage the entity gained and to deter potential violators from
deciding it is cheaper to violate and pay the penalty than to pay the costs of compliance. In
this case, “EB” receives a value of $0 because there is was likely a de minimus delayed cost
of properly disposing of the hazardous waste.

PENALTY CALCULATION: Penalty =BP + [(0.1 x BP)x (P + H+ O+ M+ C)] + EB
= $6,000 + [(0.1 x $6,000) x (0 + 1 +4 +4 +-2)] + $0
= $6,000 + [$600 x 7] + $0
= $6,000 + $4,200 + $0
=$10,200
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