Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

== News Release

Release Date: Dec. 14, 2015

Contact:
Sarah Wheeler, Environmental Law Specialist, Portland, 503-229-6927
Joe Westersund, Dry Cleaner Program Coordinator, Portland, 503-229-6240

DEQ fines Certi Cleaners $6,252 for dry cleaner violations

The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality fined Hue Dinh Dinh $6,252 for dry cleaner violations
at his business Certi Cleaners at 4118 S.E. Division Street in Portland.

DEQ issued the penalty for two violations. Dinh performs dry cleaning using the solvent
tetrachloroethylene, also known as PCE or perc, and failed to perform weekly perc leak inspections of
his dry cleaning machine. Dinh also transferred perc into his dry cleaning machine without proper
equipment to prevent leaks and vapor emissions. DEQ also cited Dinh, without penalty, for four other
violations.

DEQ issued this penalty because perc is highly toxic and a hazardous air pollutant. If not properly
managed, perc can cause serious health effects and environmental damage such as groundwater
contamination.

When determining the penalty amount, DEQ considered Dinh’s efforts to address the violations by
sending documentation of completed inspections and repairs to his machine and other actions.

Dinh has until Dec. 24 to appeal the fine.
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Hue Dinh Dinh

dba Certi Cleaners
4118 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202

Re:  Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment and Order
Case No. LQ/DC-HQ-15-130

This letter is to inform you that the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) has issued
you a civil penalty of $6,252 for two violations: 1) failing to perform weekly inspections of your dry
cleaning system for leaks of the dry cleaning solvent tetrachloroethylene (also known as PCE or perc),
which is a hazardous air pollutant, and 2) for transferring perc into your dry cleaning machine without

proper vapor-controlling equipment. The enclosed Notice of Civil Penalty and Order also cites you,
without penalty, for four other violations.

DEQ issued this penalty because these are serious violations. Perc is highly toxic and can cause
serious health effects if inhaled or ingested, and environmental damage such as groundwater
contamination, if not properly managed.

DEQ appreciates your efforts to address all of the violations by sending documentation of completed

inspections and repairs to your machine, among other things. DEQ considered these efforts when
determining the amount of civil penalty.

If you wish to appeal this matter, DEQ must receive a request for a contested case hearing within 20
calendar days from your receipt of this letter. The hearing request must be in writing. Send your
hearing request to DEQ Office of Compliance and Enforcement — Appeals:

Via mail - 811 S.W. 6 Ave., Portland, OR 97204

Via fax - 503-229-5100
Once DEQ receives your request, we will arrange to meet with you to discuss this matter. If DEQ does
not receive a timely written hearing request, the penalty will become due. Alternatively, you can pay
the penalty by sending a check or money order to the above address.

The attached Notice further details DEQ’s reasons for issuing the penalty and provides further
instructions for appealing the penalty. Please review it and refer to it when discussing this case with

DEQ.

DEQ may allow you to resolve part of your penalty through the completion of a Supplemental
Environmental Project (SEP). SEPs are environmental improvement projects that you sponsor in lieu
of paying your penalty. Enclosed is more detail on how to pursue a SEP. SEP documents are available

on the internet at http://www.deq.state.or.us/programs/enforcement/SEP.htm, or by calling the number
below to request a paper copy.
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DEQ’s rules are available on the internet at http://www.deq.state.or.us/regulations/rules.htm, or by
calling the number below to request a paper copy.

If you have any questions, please contact DEQ Environmental Law Specialist Sarah Wheeler, at (503)
229-6927. You may call toll-free within Oregon at 1-800-452-4011, extension 6927.

Sincerely,

UM, Do

Leah K. Feldon, Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement

Enclosures
cc: Ed Patnode, DEQ Headquarters

Joe Westersund, DEQ Headquarters
Tina Leppaluoto, DEQ Northwest Region

NCPCvrLtrRevAugust 2015
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BEFORE THE ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF OREGON
IN THE MATTER OF: ) NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY
HUE DINH DINH, ) ASSESSMENT AND
doing business as ) ORDER
CERTI CLEANERS, )
an assumed business name, ) NO. LQ/DC-HQ-15-130

Respondént. )

I. AUTHORITY

This Notice and Order is issued pursuant to Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 468.100 and
468.126 through 468..140,,ORS 465 500 through 465.545, ORS 465.900, ORS Chapters 183 and
468A, and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 340, Divisions 011, 012, 124, 216 and
244,

fI. FINDINGS OF FACT

L. Since August 1, 2005, Respondent has owned and operated a dry cleaning
business at 4118 SE Division Street in Portland, Oregon (the Facility). Respondent operates the
Facility as “Certi Cleaners.”

2. At all material times, Respondent used tetrachloroethylene (also known as PCE or
perc) solvent to dry clean clothes at the Facility.

3. On December 27, 2010, the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
assigned Respondent coverage under General Air Contaminant Discharge Permit (ACDP)
AQGP-006 (Permit) as source number: 26-0043-06-01. The Permit was in effect at all material
times.

4. On August 21, 2015, DEQ staff inspected the Facility (the inspection).

5. Condition 3.4 of the Permit and 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 63.322(k),
adopted pursuant to OAR 340-244-0220(1), require that Respondent conduct leak detection by
inspecting the dry cleaning system weekly for vapor leaks while the dry cleaning system is
operating and using a halogenated hydrocarbon detector or PCE gas analyzer that is operated

according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
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6. During the inspection, Respondent was unable to properly operate the leak
detector to demonstrate how to inspect the dry cleaning system components.

7. Condition 3.5 of the Permit and 40 CFR 63.322(m), adopted pursuant to OAR
340-244-0220(1), require Respondent to repair all leaks within 24 hours of detection.

8. During the inspection, Respondent’s dry cleaning machine was leaking at the seal
around the front loading door, the back side of the drum, and the distillation unit door.
Respondent repaired the leaks in September 2013.

9. Condition 4.1b of the Permit reciuires Respondent to measure, on a weekly basis,
the gas-vapor stream temperature on the outlet side of the refrigerated condenser using a
temperature sensor.

10.  Conditions 5.1 and 5.4 of the Permit require Respondent to maintain five years of
records onsite at the facility of the dates of leak inspection and repair, and of temperature
monitoring results.

11.  During the inspection, DEQ requested records of weekly leak detection, repair,
and temperature monitoring for 2015. Respondent did not provide those records to DEQ.

12. At the time of the inspection, Respondent’s dry cleaning machine was not fitted
with closed, self-sealing couplings for input of solvent into the dry cleaning machine and closed,
self-sealing couplings on the vapor displacement outlet that captures perchloroethylene gas
vapors and returns the vapor to the delivery container.

13.  Respondent has operated the same dry cleaning machine at the Facility since
August 1, 2005.

14. On or about September 24, 2015, Respondent had closed, self-sealing couplings
installed in the dry cleaning machine at the Facility.

15.  TIn October of 2013, Respondent purchased 54 gallons of perchloroethylene (perc)

solvent from 3 Hanger Supply Company in California, which was shipped to Respondent’s

facility.
111
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16. Respoﬁdent hand-pumped the perc described in paragraph 13 above from the
drum into Respondent’s dry cleaning machine, and did not use a closed, direct-coupled delivery
system that captured vapors or prevented spills.

17. As of the date of the inspection, neither 3 Hanger Supply Company nor
Respondent had submittgd a solvent purchase fee return form required by ORS 465.505(3) and
465.527, or paid the DEQ dry cleaner program solvent fee required by ORS 465.520 and
465.523, for the 54 gallons of perc Respondent purchased in October 2013. Respondent
submitted the form and paid the fee m September 2015.

18. During the inspection, used perc-contaminated wastewater treatment unit filters
were stored next to the wastewater treatment unit, not in a closed container and not labeled with
the words “hazardous waste” or the date waste was first placed in the container.

1. CONCLUSIONS

1. From August 1, 2005 through approximately September of 2015, Respondent
violated OAR 340-124-0040(6)(a) by operating a perchloroethylene dry cleaning machine that
was not fitted with closed, self-sealing couplings for input of solvent into the dry cleaning
machine and closed, self-sealing couplings on the vapor displacement outlet that capture perc gas
vapors and returns the vapor to the delivery container. This is a Class [ violation according to
OAR 340-012-0097(1)(3). DEQ hereby assesses a $1,042 civil penalty for this violation.

2. From at least January through August 2015, Respondent violated Condition 3.4 of
the Permit and 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 63.322(k), adopted pursuant to OAR 340-
244-0220(1), by failing to perform weekly inspections of the dry cleaning system for perc vapor
leaks. These are Class I violations according to OAR 340-012-0054(1)(j). DEQ hereby assesses a

$5,210 civil penalty for these violations.

o]

3. Respondent violated Condition 3.5 of the Permit and 40 CFR 63.322(m), adopted
pursuant to OAR 340-244-0220(1), by failing to timely repair leaks in the dry cleaning system.
This is a Class II violation according to OAR 340-012-0054(2)(b). DEQ has not assessed a civil

penalty for this violation.
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4. Respondent violated Condition 4.1b of the Permit and 40 CFR 63.323(a)(1),
adopted pursuant to OAR 340-244-0220(1), by failing to perform weekly refrigerated condenser
temperature readings. These are Class I violations, according to OAR 340-012-0054(1)(j). DEQ
has not assessed a civil penalty for these violations.

S. Respondent violated OAR 340-124-0040(1)(a)(B), (1)(f) and (2)(c)(C) by failing
to place perc-contaminated waste filters from the wastewater treatment unit in closed, labeled,
and dated hazardous waste storage containers. The perc-contaminated ﬁlters were hazardous waste
as identified by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Waste Code F002, pursuant to 40
CFR 261.31, as adopted by OAR 340-100-0002. These are Class II violations according to OAR
340-012-0097(2)(a). DEQ has not assessed a civil penalty for these violations.

6. Respondent violated ORS 465.505(3) and 465.527 by failing to submit a solvent
purchase fee return form to DEQ for perc Respondent purchased and imported into Oregon in
2013. This is a Class II violation according to OAR 340-012-0053(2). DEQ has not assessed a
civil penalty for this violation.

IV. ORDER TO PAY CIVIL PENALTY AND TO COMPLY

Based upon the foregoing FINDINGS OF FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS, Respondent 1s
hereby ORDERED TO:

Pay a total civil penalty of $6,252. The determination of the civil penalty is attached in
Exhibit Nos. 1 and 2 and is incorporated as part of this Notice.

If you do not file a request for hearing as set forth in Section V below, your check or money
order must be made payable to "State Treasurer, State of Oregon" and sent to the DEQ,
Business Office, 811 S.W. Sixth Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97204. Once you pay the penalty,
the Findings of Fact, Conclusions and Order become final.

V. NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A CONTESTED CASE HEARING

You have a right to a contested case hearing on this Notice, if you request one in writing.

You must ensure that DEQ receives the request for hearing within 20 calendar days from the

date you receive this Notice. If you have any affirmative defenses or wish to dispute any
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allegations of fact in this Notice or attached exhibits, you must include them in your request for
hearing, as factual matters not denied will be considered admitted, and failure to raise a defense
will be a waiver of the defense. (See OAR 340-011-0530 for further information about requests

for hearing.) You must mail the request for hearing to: DEQ, Office of Compliance and

" Enforcement - Appeals, 811 SW Sixth Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97204, or fax it to 503-229-

5100. An administrative law judge employed by the Office of Administrative Hearings will
conduct the hearing, according to ORS Chapter 183, OAR Chapter 340, Division 011 and OAR
137-003-0501 to 0700. You have a right to be représented by an attorney at the .hearing, or you
may represent yourself unless you are a corporation, agency or association.

Active duty servicemembers have a right to stay proceedings under the federal
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. For more information, please call the Oregon State Bar at
1(800) 452-8260 or the Oregon Military Department at 1-800-452-7500. Additional information
can be found online at the United States Armed Forces Legal Assistance (AFLA) Legal Services
Locator website, http:/legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php.

If you fail to file a request for hearing in writing within 20 calendar days of receipt of the
Notice, the Notice will become a final order by default without furth& action by DEQ), as per
OAR 340-011-0535(1). If you do request a hearing but later withdraw your request, fail to attend
the hearing, or notify DEQ that you will not be attending the hearing, DEQ will issue a final
order by default pursuant to OAR 340-011-0535(3). DEQ designates the relevant portions of its

files, including information submitted by you, as the record for purposes of proving a prima facie

case.

l?!?,’l9 WM%“

Date Leah K. Feldon, Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement
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EXHIBIT NO. 1

FINDINGS AND DETERMINATION OF RESPONDENT'S CIVIL PENALTY
PURSUANT TO OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULE (OAR) 340-012-0045

VIOLATION No. 1: Operating a perc dry cleaning machine not fitted with closed, self-

sealing couplings for input of solvent into the dry cleaning machine
and closed, self-sealing couplings on the vapor displacement outlet
that capture perc gas vapors and return the vapors to the delivery
container, in violation of OAR 340-124-0040(6)(a).

CLASSIFICATION: This is a Class I violation pursuant to OAR 340-012-0097(1)(1).

MAGNITUDE: The magnitude of the violation is moderate pursuant to OAR 340-

012-0130(1), as there is no selected magnitude specified in OAR
340-012-0135 applicable to this violation, and the information
reasonably available to DEQ does not indicate a minor or major
magnitude.

CIVIL PENALTY FORMULA: The formula for determining the amount of penalty of each

HBP"

CLP’?

HHH

HOH

"Mll

violation is: BP+[(0.1 xBP)x P+ H+O0+M+C)] +EB

is the base penalty, which is $500 for a Class I, moderate magnitude violation in the matrix
listed in OAR 340-012-0140(5)(b)(A)(ii) and applicable pursuant to OAR 340-012-
0140(5)(a)(G) because this is a violation of OAR Chapter 340, division 124, and
Respondent is a dry cleaning owner or operator.

is whether Respondent has any prior significant actions, as defined in OAR 340-012-
0030(19), in the same media as the violation at issue that occurred at a facility owned or
operated by the same Respondent, and receives a value of 0 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(2)(a)(A), because there are no prior significant actions.

is Respondent’s history of correcting prior significant actions and receives a value of 0
according to OAR 340-012-0145(3)(c), because there is no prior history.

is whether the violation was repeated or ongoing and receives a value of 4 according to
OAR 340-012-0145(4)(d), because Respondent operated his machine without the required
equipment from approximately August 1, 2005 through September 24, 2015.

is the mental state of the Respondent and receives a value of 2 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(5)(b), because Respondent reasonably should have known of the requirement to
transfer perc using closed, self-sealing couplings to prevent vapor release. Respondent
knows that perc is an air quality concern because Respondent has coverage under an air

Case No. LQ/DC-HQ-15-130
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quality permit, and Respondent is aware of the requirement to test the dry cleaning system
for perc leaks.

"C"  is Respondent’s efforts to correct the violation and receives a value of -1 according to OAR
340-012-0145(6)(e), because Respondent made reasonable efforts to ensure that the

violation would not be repeated by installing the proper closed, self-sealing couplings in
September 2015.

"EB" is the approximate economic benefit that an entity gained by not complying with the law. It
is designed to “level the playing field” by taking away any economic advantage the entity
gained and to c'ietep\potential violators from deciding it is cheaper to violate and pay the

- penalty than to pay the costs of compliance. In this case, “EB” receives a value of $292.
This is the amount Respondent gained by delaying spending $683 to install closed, self-
sealing couplings on his dry cleaning machine from August 1, 2005 until September 24,
2015. This “EB” was calculated pursuant to OAR 340-012-0150(1) using the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency’s BEN computer model.

PENALTY CALCULATION:

Penalty=BP + [(0.1 x BP)x (P +H+ O+ M+ C)] +EB
=$500 + [(0.1 x $500) x (0 + 0 + 4 +2 — 1)] + $292
=$500 + ($50 x 5) + $292
=$500 + $250 + $292
=$1,042
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EXHIBIT NO. 2

FINDINGS AND DETERMINATION OF RESPONDENT'S CIVIL PENALTY
PURSUANT TO OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULE (OAR) 340-012-0045

VIOLATION No. 2:

CLASSIFICATION:

MAGNITUDE:

Failing to perform weekly inspections of the dry cleaning system for
perc vapor leaks, in violation of Condition 3.4 of the Permit and 40
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 63.322(k), adopted pursuant to
OAR 340-244-0220(1).

These are Class I violations pursuant to OAR 340-012-0054(1)().

" The magnitude of the violation is major pursuant to OAR 340-012-

0130(3) as there is no selected magnitude specified in OAR 340-
012-0135 applicable to this violation and DEQ finds that the
violation had a significant adverse impact on human health or the
environment. In making this finding, DEQ considered the following
reasonably available information: Respondent uses the chemical
solvent perc, which is known to cause serious health effects if
inhaled or ingested. Respondent’s failure to conduct weekly leak
detection resulted in multiple unaddressed perc leaks from
Respondent’s dry cleaning system into the store, exposing
Respondent, his employees, and customers to perc vapors.

CIVIL PENALTY FORMULA: The formula for determining the amount of penalty of each

violationis: BP+[(0.1 xBP)x (P+H+O+M+C)] +EB

"BP" is the base penalty, which is $3,000 for a Class I, major magnitude violation in the matrix
listed in OAR 340-012-0140(4)(b)(A)(i) and applicable pursuant to OAR 340-012-
0140(4)(a)(C) because Respondent operates a dry cleaning facility under a General Air
Contaminant Discharge Permit (ACDP) that is subject to the federal Area-Source National
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) requirements.

“P”  is whether Respondent has any prior significant actions, as defined in OAR 340-012-
0030(19), in the same media as the violation at issue that occurred at a facility owned or
operated by the same Respondent, and receives a value of 0 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(2)(a)(A), because there are no prior significant actions.

"H"  is Respondent’s history of correcting prior significant actions and receives a value of 0
according to OAR 340-012-0145(3)(c), because there is no prior history.

"O"  is whether the violation was repeated or ongoing and receives a value of 4 according to
OAR 340-012-0145(4)(d), because Respondent did not conduct weekly leak inspections
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from at least January through August 2015, and therefore there were more than 28
occurrences of the violation.

"M"  is the mental state of the Respondent and receives a value of 4 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(5)(c), because Respondent was negligent. Respondent’s permit specifically requires
that Respondent perform leak detection inspections on a weekly basis. DEQ annually sends
all dry cleaners, including Respondent, a calendar identifying the weekly inspection
requirements and including designated spaces for documenting inspections and other
required information. Respondent has reported to DEQ in past years that he has done the
inspections. By failing to conduct any inspections for at least eight months in 2015,
Respondent failed to take reasonable care to avoid the foreseeable risk of violating the
1nspect10n requirement and allowmg a vapor leak to occur unaddressed.

"C"  is Respondent’s efforts to correct the violation and receives a Value of -1 according to OAR
340-012-0145(6)(e), because Respondent made reasonable efforts to ensure that the
violation would not be repeated by conducting and documenting weekly inspections in
September 2015, as requested by DEQ in the August 27, 2015 Pre-Enforcement Notice.

"EB" is the approximate economic benefit that an entity gained by not complying with the law. It
is designed to “level the playing field” by taking away any economic advantage the entity
gained and to deter potential violators from deciding it is cheaper to violate and pay the
penalty than to pay the costs of compliance. In this case, “EB” receives a value of $110.
This is the amount Respondent gained by avoiding, from January through August 2015,
spending a half an hour per week at $12 per hour in labor costs for required inspections and
documentation. This “EB” was calculated pursuant to OAR 340-012-0150(1) using the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency’s BEN computer model.

PENALTY CALCULATION:

Penalty=BP + [(0.1 x BP)x (P +H+ O +M+C)] +EB
= $3,000 + [(0.1 x $3,000) X (0 + 0+ 4 + 4 — 1)] + $110
= $3,000 + ($300 x 7) + $110
= $3,000 + $2,100 + $110
=$5210

Case No. LQ/DC-HQ-15-130
Exhibit No. 2 -Page 2 -



