/ : r E g : n Department of Environmental Quality

Office of Compliance and Enforcement

700 NE Multnomah Street, Suite 600

Tina Kotek, Governor Portland, OR 97232
(503) 229-5382

FAX (503) 229-5787

TTY 711

February 23, 2023
CERTIFIED MAIL No. 7018 1830 0001 6172 7479

CPI Salem One LLC

c/o Registered Agent Solutions, Inc., Registered Agent
8130 SW Beaverton-Hillsdale Hwy.

Portland, OR 97225

Re:  Notice of Civil Penalty Assessment and Order
Case No. AQ/ACDP-WR-2022-081

This letter is to inform you that DEQ has issued you a civil penalty of $3,200 for failing to
submit a 2021 annual report to DEQ for your electrical power production operation at 5475
Gaffin Road SE, Salem, Oregon, as required by your Air Contaminant Discharge Permit.

DEQ issued this penalty because annual reports are an important mechanism for DEQ to
determine whether sources of air contaminants are operating within the conditions and limits of
permits. Without the report, DEQ is unable to determine the compliance status of your facility to
ensure emissions are within levels that do not pose harm to the public’s health or the
environment.

Included in Section IV of the attached Notice is an order requiring you to submit a complete
2021 annual report to DEQ within 30 days of the order becoming final.

You can pay the penalty by sending a check or money order to the address below. If you wish to
appeal this matter, DEQ must receive a request for a hearing within 20 calendar days from your
receipt of this letter. The hearing request must be in writing. Send your request to DEQ Office of
Compliance and Enforcement:

Via mail — 700 NE Multnomah Street, Suite 600, Portland, Oregon 97232

Via email — DEQappeals@deq.oregon.gov

Via fax — 503-229-5100
Once DEQ receives your request, we will arrange to meet with you to discuss this matter. If
DEQ does not receive a timely written hearing request, the penalty will become due.

The attached Notice further details DEQ’s reasons for issuing the penalty and provides further
instructions for appealing the penalty. Please review and refer to it when discussing this case

with DEQ.

DEQ may allow you to resolve part of your penalty through the completion of a Supplemental
Environmental Project (SEP). SEPs are environmental improvement projects that you sponsor
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instead of paying a portion of the penalty. Further infofmation is available by calling the number
below or at http://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/Pages/SEP.aspx.

DEQ’s rules are available at http://www.oregon.gov/deq/Regulations/Pages/Statutes.aspx or by
calling the number below.

If you have any questions, please contact Jenny Root at 503-229-5874 or toll-free in Oregon at
800-452-4011, extension 5874.

Sincerely,
[— FA—ee

Kieran O’Donnell, Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement

Enclosures

o Peter Susi, Western Region, Salem Office, DEQ
Donald Hendrix, AQ, DEQ
Accounting, DEQ
Evin Feliciano, CPI Salem One LLC, 195 North St., Suite 100, Teterboro, NJ 07608
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BEFORE THE ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF OREGON
IN THE MATTER OF: ) NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY
CPI SALEM ONE LLC, ) ASSESSMENT AND ORDER
a Delaware limited liability company, )
) NO. AQ/ACDP-WR-2022-081

Respondent. )

I. AUTHORITY
This Notice and Order is issued pursuant to Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 468.100 and

468.126 through 468.140, ORS Chapters 183 and 468A and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR)
Chapter 340, Divisions 011, 012, 200, 214 and 216.
II. FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On August 20, 2020, the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) assigned
an electrical power production operation at 5475 Gaffin Road SE, Salem, Oregon (the Facility),
under its previous owner, 5475 Gaffin Road LLC, to General Air Contaminant Discharge Permit
AQGP-0018 (the Permit) as source number 24-9213. The Permit has remained in effect at all
material times.

2. In or about September 2021, Respondent purchased and began operating the
Facility.

3. On October 15, 2021, Respondent submitted an application to DEQ to transfer the
permit assignment for the Facility from the previous owner to Respondent.

4. The Permit authorizes Respondent to discharge air contaminants from processes
and activities directly related to the electrical power production operation, in accordance with the
requirements, limitations and conditions in the Permit.

5. Condition 8.2 of the Permit requires Respondent to submit an annual report to
DEQ by February 15" of each year that includes specific information regarding operating
parameters, excess emission events, complaints, facility changes and site contact information for

the previous calendar year of operation of the Facility.
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6. To date, Respondent has not submitted its 2021 annual report for the Facility to
DEQ.

III. CONCLUSION

Respondent violated Condition 8.2 of the Permit and OAR 340-214-0114(1) and (2),
adopted pursuant to ORS 468A.050(1), by failing to submit its 2021 annual report to DEQ by
February 15, 2022, as further described in Section II, Paragraphs 5 and 6 above. This is a Class II
violation according to OAR 340-012-0054(2)(f). DEQ has assessed a $3,200 civil penalty for this
violation.

IV. ORDER TO PAY CIVIL PENALTY AND COMPLY

Based upon the foregoing FINDINGS OF FACTS AND CONCLUSION, Respondent is
hereby ORDERED TO:

1. Pay a total civil penalty of $3,200. The determination of the civil penalty is attached
as Exhibit 1 and is incorporated as part of this Notice.

2. Within 30 days of this order becoming final by operation of law or on appeal,
submit a complete 2021 annual report to DEQ to: AQ Permit Coordinator, DEQ Western
Region - Salem Office, 4026 Fairview Industrial Drive, Salem, OR 97302.

If you do not file a request for hearing as set forth in Section V below, your check or money
order must be made payable to "State Treasurer, State of Oregon" and sent to the DEQ,
Business Office, 700 NE Multnomah Street, Suite 600, Portland, Oregon 97232.

V. NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A CONTESTED CASE HEARING

You have a right to a contested case hearing on this Notice, if you request one in writing.
DEQ must receive your request for hearing within 20 calendar days from the date you receive
this Notice. If you have any affirmative defenses or wish to dispute any allegations of fact in this
Notice or attached exhibit, you must do so in your request for hearing, as factual matters not
denied will be co;nsidered admitted, and failure to raise a defense will be a waiver of the defense.
(See OAR 340-011-0530 for further information about requests for hearing.) You must send your

request to: DEQ, Office of Compliance and Enforcement, 700 NE Multnomah Street, Suite
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600, Portland, Oregon 97232, fax it to 503-229-5100 or email it to

DEQappeals@deq.oregon.gov. An administrative law judge employed by the Office of

Administrative Hearings will conduct the hearing, according to ORS Chapter 183, OAR Chapter
340, Division 011 and OAR 137-003-0501 to 0700. You have a right to be represented by an
attorney at the hearing, however you are not required to be. If you are an individual, you may
represent yourself. If you are a corporation, partnership, limited liability company,
unincorporated association, trust or government body, you must be represented by an attorney or
a duly authorized representative, as set forth in OAR 137-003-0555.

Active-duty service members have a right to stay proceedings under the federal Service
Members Civil Relief Act. For more information contact the Oregon State Bar at 1-800-
452-8260, the Oregon Military Department at 503-584-3571, or the nearest United States Armed

Forces Legal Assistance Office through http://legalassistance.law.af.mil. The Oregon Military

Department does not have a toll-free telephone number.

If you fail to file a timely request for hearing, the Notice will become a final order by
default without further action by DEQ, as per OAR 340-011-0535(1). If you do request a hearing
but later withdraw your request, fail to attend the hearing or notify DEQ that you will not be
attending the hearing, DEQ will issue a final order by default pursuant to OAR 340-011-0535(3).
DEQ designates the relevant portions of its files, including information submitted by you, as the

record for purposes of proving a prima facie case.

2(z~ [ 2¢23 7/%-«— oL R

Date Kieran O’Donnell, Manager
Office of Compliance and Enforcement
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EXHIBIT 1

FINDINGS AND DETERMINATION OF RESPONDENT’S CIVIL PENALTY PURSUANT TO

OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULE (OAR) 340-012-0045

VIOLATION: Failing to submit to DEQ, the 2021 annual report for Respondent’s

facility, in violation of Condition 8.2 of AQGP-018 and OAR 340-
214-0114(1) and (2).

CLASSIFICATION: This is a Class II violation pursuant to OAR 340-012-0054(2)(%).

MAGNITUDE: The magnitude of the violation is moderate pursuant to OAR 340-

012-0130(1), as there is no selected magnitude specified in OAR
340-012-0135 applicable to this violation, and the information
reasonably available to DEQ does not indicate a minor or major
magnitude.

CIVIL PENALTY FORMULA: The formula for determining the amount of penalty of each

HBPII

HPll
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NON
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violation is: BP+[(0.1 xBP)x (P+H+ O+ M+ C)] + EB

is the base penalty, which is $2,000 for a Class II, moderate magnitude violation in the
matrix listed in OAR 340-012-0140(3)(b)(B)(ii) and applicable pursuant to OAR 340-012-
0140(3)(a)(A) because Respondent operates the Facility under a General Air Contaminant
Discharge Permit and is not listed under another penalty matrix.

is whether Respondent has any prior significant actions, as defined in OAR 340-012-
0030(19), in the same media as the violation at issue that occurred at a facility owned or
operated by Respondent and receives a value of 0 according to OAR 340-012-
0145(2)(a)(A), because there are no prior significant actions.

is Respondent’s history of correcting prior significant actions and receives a value of 0
according to OAR 340-012-0145(3)(c), because there is no prior history.

is whether the violation was repeated or ongoing and receives a value 0 according to OAR
340-012-0145(4)(a), because there was one occurrence of the violation. Respondent failed to
submit one (2021) annual report.

is the mental state of the Respondent and receives a value of 4 pursuant to OAR 340-012-
0145(5)(c) because Respondent’s conduct was negligent. Respondent’s Permit expressly
requires Respondent to submit an annual report to DEQ by February 15th of each year.
DEQ notified Respondent in an April 27, 2022, Warning Letter with Opportunity to Correct
and in a May 20, 2022, Pre-Enforcement Notice, that Respondent’s 2021 annual report was
past due. By failing to take adequate measures to ensure the 2021 annual report would be
submitted timely to DEQ, Respondent failed to take reasonable care to avoid a foreseeable
risk that Respondent would violate the Permit and Oregon law.
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"C"  is Respondent’s efforts to correct or mitigate the violation and receives a value of 2
according to OAR 340-012-0145(6)(g), because Respondent did not address the violation as
described in paragraphs (6)(a) through (6)(e) and the facts do not support a finding under
paragraph (6)(f). To date, Respondent has not submitted a 2021 annual report to DEQ.

"EB" is the approximate dollar value of the benefit gained and the costs avoided or delayed as a
result of Respondent’s noncompliance. It is designed to “level the playing field” by taking
away any economic advantage the entity gained and to deter potential violators from
deciding it is cheaper to violate and pay the penalty than to pay the costs of compliance. In
this case, “EB” receives a value of $0 as any economic benefit derived is likely to be de
minimis.

PENALTY CALCULATION: Penalty =BP + [(0.1 x BP)x (P +H+ O + M+ C)] + EB
= $2,000 + [(0.1 x $2,000) X (0 + 0+ 0 +4 + 2] + $0
= $2,000 + (200 x 6) + $0
= $2,000 + $1,200 + $0
=$3,200
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